Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of GEC Granville Suites Downtown 3 stars

718 Drake Street, V6Z 2W6 Vancouver, Canada

#46 of 81 hotels in Vancouver

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4082 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the room too light to sleep very well. Too many LED lights glowing all the time. Some noise.

    Excellent location with easy access to downtown, Granville Island and a number of coffee shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite being on 11th floor we could hear a little bit of noise at night

    Room was decent size, location was good, easy access to all tourist sights via bus

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just found it hard to pay the price. So expensive but maybe that is just Vancouver accommodation and we booked pretty last minute so not much choice.

    Was comfy, location good enough, decent enough size room and staff friendly. Also liked that there were water coolers in the corridors to fill up my bottle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled stale and old, and the airconditioning was noisy. The bed was also small and uncomfortable.

    This is a tired old building with very sad old rooms. I think it needs to be gutted and renovated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible cleaning services. Over the course of 3 days/nights, the floor was never vacuumed or swept, I had to ASK for clean drinking glasses, and put the full trash can directly in front of the door so the maid would actually empty it.

    The room was fine and had all the amenities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning of the room at 5 PM... Not in the real city center Maybe a little bit (too) expensive, but this is Vancouver, so still acceptable. You can make use of the kitchen and so you can save on restaurant visits...

    I took this hotel because HERTZ car rental was around the corner - the Canada Metro Line was only 700 m from the hotel - the rent a bike and False Creek were closeby. Clean (former BW) hotel with friendly and helpful ladies at the reception at the time we arrived. Nice rooms (not a perfect view but I only stay in a hotel to sleep...) -> nice view on top of the hotel where you can sit outside and cook your own meals if necessary. Good sauna and fitness room. You can take breakfast/lunch/dinner in (good) resto next doors and get a 10 % reduction. Walk to city (Gastown - Canada Place and Granville Market = +/- 2 km. Check-out (11 AM, but you can leave your lugguage in a safe room. Overall we enjoyed our stay in this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Solid property with very nice staff and my room was very comfortable. I liked that it was close to a lot of places downtown via walking. Nothing fancy, but a great value for the area. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel clearly just went through a “remodel” for the rooms. However, everything else was so dated and dirty. The bathtub looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in ages and the bathroom smelled like a smokers lungs. I did not feel very comfortable staying at this property and should have spent a little more to stay at the Marriott.

    The sad thing is that I can’t really think of anything that I liked about this property. Perhaps they made checking out easy as possible so we could get out sooner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and furnishings were older. Room seemed small

    The room was comfortable, had all that we needed and seemed clean. It was a bargain! Good restaurant right around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great location in the best area of Granville St main eating and nightlife area. Excellent caring customer service from staff with great advice for their city. Great room size and comfort. Enjoyed this hotel very much. Above expectation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fire alarm went off at 7am one morning, had to take the stairs. Room is a bit too dark, and noises in the hallway carry into the room. Gym is a bit awkward as its in the shared rooftop space with the common area.

    Convenient location, clean and comfortable beds. Kitchen, common area on the top floor with nice rooftop views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was quiet and easy access to city central by bus Room very clean , beds comfy and micro wave , coffee available in room. Restaurant access through hotel and food very good, discount for hotel quests. Pre purchased breakfast excellent and filling. Would choose to stay again. Price excellent for location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had suggested this hotel and my friends had the worst room ever. Wrong size sheet on bed, tub didn't drain and was supposedly fixed but was dirty water and didn't drain again on day 2.

    Security - needed a room card to go up to rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If hotel has laundry facilities, front desk should always have the coins ready for the patrons to exchange. Complaints about faulty electrical appliances were not attended to.

    Lots of F&B outlets nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was extra which wasn't specified ahead of time. The fitness center was pretty disappointing, the weirdest thing is that it shared space with a communal kitchen it is separated only by a little room screen. That being said the view from the treadmill was fabulous. Also the beds weren't super comfortable, it was fine for the 2 nights we were there but I don't know that I would have wanted to stay much longer. The fire alarm also went off in our room at 1:30 am and we had to go all the way down to the lobby only to discover it was just a battery issue which they fixed by just removing the smoke detector from our room. There was also no manager on staff at all over the weekend to talk to about our displeasure about the alarm.

    The location was great we were able to walk to most things, and the room was a decent size. The communal kitchen and roof patio were nice, although we didn't really use them it was nice they were there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Less noisy air-conditioning unit. Needed to turn it off at night or we wouldn't have been able to sleep.

    Location was good and handy to have the restaurant next door for breakfast and dinner if required. Breakfast was very good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were ok just a little small. The staff was not friendly at all. It felt like I was intrusive to his time. The most annoying part is that you have to pay for parking. 20$ a night plus taxes. I find that it’s ridiculous. We will not be staying at this location again way overpriced

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One unfriendly male staff member.

    Really enjoyed our stay there a little quieter as a little further out of the city centre but still close enough to enjoy everything. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight smell in the room that didn't go away even with air freshener spray. Fire alarm at 7 am.

    Decent location to things. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a reasonable walk to downtown but the first 4 or 5 blocks are home to numerous weed shops and plenty of their patrons hanging around, many of them after cash.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 12 nights

    This was not the worst place I've stayed, and not the best. Decent sized room, nice bed, but crappy old pillows and bottom sheets that regularly popped off because they were too small. Good location for transportation, and close to False Creek, but noisy on weekends because of nearby Granville Street clubs. Basically ... it's dead average.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They are very strict with a 3pm check in which is annoying when you arrive on an overnight flight and they have rooms available. Unfortunately they did not return my credit card and had to cut it up which was inconvenient but a genuine mistake. Room did not get cleaned until very late each day.

    Good standard hotel with great shower pressure and wifi, located extremely well so you can walk anywhere in Downtown as well as to Kitsilano very easily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy ice machine outside room door. People smoking from crack pipes outside hotel. Rooms very tired. Mattresses collapsing. Power outlets mostly don't work. Toilet would not refill.

    Breakfast in the adjoining white spot restaurant was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had booked was under maintenance so they downgraded our room but did compensate us for the inconvenience

    The cleanliness of the room was good. The location was also good and the beds were comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inner toilet was not cleaned. There was a make up product on the floor from previous guest.

    The beds were comfy and location was good. The hotel was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Idiots smoking in room 9th floor Setting Fire Alarm 🚨 off Not Hotels fault Top marks Vancouver Fire Department

    Staff at front deck Excellent 😇 Helpful, in a whole can’t fault my stay at GEC .Would recommend 👍 Ps Whitspot next door 10/10

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no issues

    clean spacious room, very comfortable beds, small kitchen very well equipped, food market one block down road, handy to Yaletown, good central location either walk or good bus links.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Bedroom very spacious an clean I had to ask for extra toilet paper one day as a spare was not left. Rooms not cleaned until late in afternoon but that was ok as we were mostly out. The White Spot restaurant attached to the hotel was an excellent value an super convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small. The bathroom was dated and the bath was not cleaned properly. I thought they put the wrong pillow on the bed by using couch cushions instead of pillows The windows were high and you couldn't see out. We had people next door to us and you could hear every word they were saying. Absolutely terrible. Not happy at all. Didn't get much sleep that night. We came a little earlier(1HR) then check in time(4pm) and asked if our room was ready and we were told it would cost us $20.00 extra. Even though we were told our room WAS READY. Absolutely ridiculous. Most of the staff was not friendly. Not a hello when you walked in or have a nice day when you left. I think the staff need a lesson in friendliness. It was our last two days in Vancouver and it wasn't very nice in this establishment. Didn't enjoy this stay at all. Was glad to leave.

    It was close to the Glanville Markets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting was dreadful. We ended up plugging in a lamp our selves but the had to get out of bed to turn it of.

    The shuttle to the airport was great, especially at 5 am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better pillows.

    Rooms were clean, pillows were too thin and not very comfortable. Staff were friendly, at the front desk, cleaning staff and in the restaurant attached to the hotel. Would definitely consider staying here or recommend to a friend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good room and shower , comfortable bed , location ok , we used the White spot restaurant in same building a number of times , tasty cauliflower curry. The hotel staff were very helpful , printing a voucher for me and keeping our suitcases for the afternoon after we checked out and more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unhelpful and dismissive at check-in. The room was shabby-peeling paint, plaster patches on the wall etc The bathroom door was covered in a sticky substance The bath tap pipe protruded from the wall The house-keeping didn’t call until 5pm and we were in the room getting ready to go out so it was pointless The room was dirty with dust and hair on the floor that I had to remove from one of my children’s feet

    The bed was small but comfortable The location is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not properly cleaned before we arrived. Also not cleaned properly the next day. The restaurant staff was not friendly or helpful. Would not recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was way too small. We were expecting a "suite" (GEC Granville Suites). The beds were very small, too small. They were not Queen size beds, but rather double beds. The beds were not comfortable for 2 people. We specifically chose this hotel, since it was supposed to be good for 3 people. Our son was with us on the trip. The building is old, and the shower was not clean. There was mildew / mold on the tile grout in the shower. It was a bit disgusting. The flexible shower head leaked / sprayed all over, if you didn't tighten it adequately. The bathroom was also very small. For all of this, we paid nearly US$ 300 per night. It wasn't worth it.

    Good location. Friendly staff. Parking available, but at a cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite dusty, a couple lights didn't work, room is outdated and could use some renovations.

    Great location, walking distance to an event we were attending.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BUT 1/2 HOUR WALK TO GRANVILLE ISLAND. TOO MANY HOMELESS PEOPLE SLEEPING ON THE STREETS OF DOWNTOWN.

    REASONABLE RATE FOR A DOWNTOWN HOTEL. ONLY 5 BLOCKS TO THE MALL.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed needed a new mattress.

    Our room was adequate and clean. If I had to offer suggestions for improving the service, it would be that the check in and check out times need reviewing. Our flight landed in Vancouver about 9.30am and even though we could leave our bags in the storage area of the motel we had to walk around until approximately 3.30pm before we were really welcomed back. Our flight out of Vancouver left at 11.50pm therefore we were left to entertain ourselves for approx. 13 hours prior to flying. The staff were gracious enough but there was a woman in the foyer at the same time as us with a young child also waiting to be allowed into her room and another woman who had checked in earlier but the staff member with the store room key had gone on a break and therefore she could not gain access to her luggage until he returned, some half hour later. The system of leaving a credit card is fine but the full accommodation funds were actually taken from our account by our bank, therefore your establishment had to of submitted the details $603.00 , then we paid again before we left. Really what a waste of time ! To claim the full amount then reverse the fees then claim them again. It's a bit ridiculous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds we uncomfortable, the room was quite small, the bathroom was in poor shape, it was incredibly expensive for what it was. It was a bit of a walk to most things. Half the plugs in the room didn’t work. The chair was damaged. The air conditioner ran the entire time however the room was still warm.

    The only thing about this hotel that I liked was how quiet it was

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your pillows suck and there are only 3 on each bed Price was outrageous for 1 night stay and paid parking on top of it.

    Rooms are cozy lighting great. Very quiet considering business of surrounding areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors were dirty and had to get recleaned before we would take the room. If you used a glass or cup...it sat for days before it got replaced. There was never face cloths. We had to call down for them along with toilet paper and kleenex. I expected better as I've stayed there before. Last time was two nights, this trip was 9. Definitely disappointed. And only one elevator worked for most of our time at the hotel.

    The location is great. Easy walking distance from the train. Close to Granville Island water taxi, near Yaletown and great restaurants everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Housekeeping was poor, beds were made only by pulling over the top sheet and garbage was left in room on more than one occasion in a five day stay. Check in at 4pm is a little late and room was not available until this time (although the hotel did make this guaranteed time, which is communicated in advance).

    Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Discount is offered at the restaurant, to which there is direct access from the hotel itself and there are many stores closeby. All sights are within walking distance and room had tea/coffee making facilities and a microwave.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lamp didn’t work, the cleaning staff did not replace dirty glasses in the morning, anything on the floor was left as it was and money in the room was taken by cleaning staff and they left a note saying thank you for a tip when we didn’t sat the money was for a tip. It felt like a hostel in some ways.

    The staff were lovely, professional and courteous. The microwave, fridge and coffee machine were lovely. Rooms were clean on arrival and bathroom was clean. Room was large enough for two.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 out of 2 elevators was out of service, considering it's a relatively tall building, this could have triggered some issue during rush hour.

    Quiet side of the downtown core, good value of money. Some great restaurants are around. Staffs were helpful when depositing my luggage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the service of our server at breakfast. I did address this with her manager.

    Consiuer was very friendly and helpful. I liked that they had an extra fold out bed for the 4th occupant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really noisy. I had to turn off the heating so that I could sleep. The location is not very good, it is convenient because is close to some parts of the city, but the surroundings are not good.

    Price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in room smoke detector was missing--not cleaned well- coffee mugs had obviously not been washed just wiped, still sticky. Room was not cleaned until 5pm. Could not get wifi -

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The glasses in our room were not cleaned or replaced for use the next day. The noise from the street was horrible - one would definitely need earplugs to get a decent night's sleep.

    The front desk staff were excellent - very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy from the street, even though I was on a higher floor. Couldn't figure out how to work the iPod dock and my old Surface tablet was connecting to the wifi inconsistently (but I believe it was the tablet's fault.)

    Room was mostly clean, modern looking. Fridge and microwave were a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in Downtown, near everything that we wanted to know. the hotel has a White Spot restaurant, where we could have breakfast. The room was nice and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While the room had blockout curtains, there was quite a bit of light bleeding around the edges: it was hard to have an afternoon nap after our long flight. If you don't mind sleeping in the 'not quite dark' (or don't have a long flight to recover from) it shouldn't be a problem.

    The location was convenient - it was 5 minute walk to the water taxi across to Granville Island or the train station and a 2 minute walk to catch the bus downtown. (And, honestly, the walk downtown was not that long, it's just that it was nicer to catch the bus in the rain.) The room was small but had everything we needed for a short stay: a small fridge and place to hang wet clothes and umbrellas. While the room doesn't have breakfast included, there are lots of good breakfast options close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondititioner was loud at times and there was some light coming from the hallway at night, but these are minor complaints.

    Good location in downtown Vancouver. Friendly staff and a nice room with good bathroom and shower. Room was clean and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a location with a high number of drug users, there were about 20 right next to the hotel. The hotel walls are also paperthin, we could hear everyone coming and going as well as a couple having sex all night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was not flushing. Because of this problem. I asked for an upgrade but was refused even though rooms were available. My daughter had to sleep on the floor on a mattress. I was then told the priority is given to people who book directly with the hotel and not through Booking.com. The bathroom was not cleaned properly. We were not allowed to call housekeeping directly. Everything had to go through front desk. Only Chinese people employed in that hotel. This hotel does not deserve even 1 star. You have to ask for basic amenities otherwise they are not provided.

    Absolutely nothing. This hotel misrepresented about the amenities and beds and size in the room including the location. After an eight hour trip from Toronto we had to wait a long time before they got a room ready for us.I asked for an upgrade because I saw the rooms with two queen beds available on Booking.com website. But reception refused to give us the room stating that it was fully occupied. I was told by staff cleaning the rooms that queen rooms were available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Elevator is slow. The other one in reparation during my stay. hopefully they can fix the problem quickly.

    Location is very good! close to downdown. Breadfast is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had virtually no hot water the first day, was better the second day after advising staff.

    The layout of the room was very nice. Having a full kitchen available was very nice (but unused).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    one of the elevators was broken & we were on the 8th floor. we certainly don’t mind taking the stairs, but after 3 days of it being broken, it became a bit of a pain. if you absolutely had to use the elevator, it took forever because the housekeeping had the other one tied up with laundry and cleaning carts. actually had one worker refuse to let me off on my floor because he wasn’t willing to move his cart, so i got to ride up & down twice. not cool.

    great location, nice city view from room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - sad the upstairs kitchen is not publiscised and stocked better

    Staff very helpful. The attached restaurant where we got 10% discount was excellent - simple but deliciious food,good beer and lovely staff. Good position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unexpected alarm went off in the room next door between 4 and 5 am

    Secure underground parking was available at an extra cost and a White Spot restaurant was conveniently located off the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water didn’t come out in the bath properly. The AC is extremely old and noisy.

    They definitely have a good photographer. The place itself way more simple then the pictures

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although the food at White Spot was okay it was over priced. And even though the hotel location was great for catching public transportation the room needed much more sound insulation in the walls, floor and windows. Please get rid of that noisy room heater..wow.

    the location was great for taking public transportation to wherever we went. It was also great to have a restaurant onsite. The staff was wonderful and very helpful with information about the city. The bathroom shower was the best I've had in years!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeoing staff not great, rooms could be cleaner. Location ok... not directly close to main attractions... in the middle of them all so 30 min walk in all directions to granville island, canada place, science museum/chinatownn, english bay.

    Big rooms, helpful staff, umbrella lending ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot fee is 25CAD per day because they have 25% tax on that! The elevator is gross because someone threw out and they just wiped it out. The smell is still gross. The smell in the room is also not good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arriving, mention of where the ice machines are should be told to customers

    Use of small space is excellent- probably the cleanest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Nice and comfortable decor and a good staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee pot had not been cleaned (old coffee in pot) and no coffee available to make a fresh pot ! The room could have been cleaner (hairs in the shower). Maid service did not occur during our 3 night stay. But giggling girls knocked on the door about 4:00pm asking if anything was needed. So bed was not made and towels not replaced. On our final night, we asked for some coffee packets, towels and shampoo, and the Indian maid did not comprehend our request. It had the feel of a hostel or dorm which was not the description online. What are Genius Perks??

    The location was great and the front desk staff very friendly and accommodating. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was incredibly stuffy. The shower ended up putting water all over the floor. Toilet had to hold down the handle for it to flush. Pillows were awful and the bed was noisy. but for the location and the price, it was on par with my expectations.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. I got there early and they helped to store my bag and were helpful on check out. But at about 4 or 5 someone put the invoice under the door and woke me up. close to Yaletown station, and buses to the rest of the city. I lived in Vancouver for a number of years and had no idea it existed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was pretty good for the price, bathroom could have been a bit cleaner but overall was good. Wifi worked very well. Wish they had an information book in the rooms with facility information eg laundry prices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This establishment should not be allowed to operate by the City of Vancouver and should be delisted from major, respectable booking sites. It certainly is not a 3-star hotel! Here’s why: Bed bugs! (Read further down) The hotel is filthy and without management. See pictures of the first room I was initially assigned. It had an odd smell, there was food and hair everywhere, even dirty rice on the bed cover! When I tried to lift the toilet seat, it nearly came off. There were 3-5 inch damage holes in the walls. I felt sick to my stomach and asked reception to assign me another room. I also asked to speak to the manager, but was told there was no manager present. Indeed, over my entire stay, from early to mid April, NO MANAGER was ever present. See reviews on Yelp from guests who also noticed the complete absence of a manager. Upon insisting on speaking with a manager, I was told I could email any pictures or complaints to them for follow up at the main “info” address. I did that on April 5, but no one ever responded or followed up. Shortly after checking into my newly assigned room, the fire / carbon monoxide alarm went off for no apparent reason. The staff dealt with this by removing the device and promising to change its batteries the next day. Later that night, my neighbour’s fire alarm went off!! Due to the very poor sound insulation, I had to wait for it to be turned off to get back to sleep. The next evening, my newly installed fire / carbon monoxide alarm went off AGAIN! Again, there was no apparent reason. The reception staff (most of whom seemed completely clueless) said they couldn’t explain it but that it was apparently the carbon monoxide alarm component going off. Finally, the problem was dealt with by removing the device for the duration of my stay as it seemed to be malfunctioning.

    The location was not bad. The laundry facilities were good to have although the washing machine’s “delicate and cold” setting boiled my clothes instead.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was fabulous! Very cute and cozy. It had everything we needed. I had some troubles checking in (my fault not the hotel), and the front desk guy was helpful, patient and understanding. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was okay but you had to pay an extra 20$ a night. For the price of the room it should have been included. only one elevator was working and the room smelt like mildew and we weren’t able to open any windows.

    Location was fantastic, within walking distance to everything. Check in and out was quick and easy. And staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One elevator was not working. It made things very slow. There seemed to be a wide range of rooms. One night we had tiny little windows and the room seemed small and dark ( Room 502). The next visit (2 nites later) we had a room on the 11th floor with large windows. It was much better. The rooms are in general comfortable but not fancy with wood floors and good bedding. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially the young woman that I spoke to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the two elevators were not working really long wait! Extra blanket in room not clean.

    Very clean comfortable quiet rooms. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our side table lights didn’t work, outlet beside bed didn’t work, bed lights didn’t work, and jacquzzi was being redone or something and it would’ve been nice to have been told at check in so I didn’t waste my time getting my kids into their bathing suits and then they were really upset.

    Second time staying here and the beds are nice and rooms and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was modern, comfortable and clean. It felt good inside the room. the staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. The underground secure parking was very convenient with in and out privleges.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Called for a wine glass at 4pm but house keeping had gone home and security didn’t start until 7pm. Dinner reservation was at 645 so never got the wine glass unfortunately. Elevator was extremely slow - we ended up finding the stair case and just using that. Early check in was granted which was nice.

    Was a comfortable stay

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: