Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Place D'Armes 4 stars

55 St-Jacques Street West, H2Y 3X2 Montréal, Canada

#10 of 134 hotels in Montréal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 992 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Great location in the heart of Montreal. Amazing restaurants in the hotel and nearby. Everything you could hope for in a hotel at a great price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at this hotel before and I came back this time with my wife. The hotel, the staff, and the location (near Metro and Old Montreal) are fantastic. Will definitely come back to this hotel if my meetings are held in Montreal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, the details on Booking.com don't indicate that the hotel is spread across 4 buildings and has 170 rooms. We generally prefer smaller, boutique properties for their warmth and personal attention and, understandably, we didn't feel much of that here. The staff were polite and helpful, but in a detached, impersonal way that is quite common with large, busy properties. Our Two Double Bed Room was in Tower 1 and it was much more basic in look/feel than the various smart pics we saw on this site. I think our expectations were also raised by the large number of gushing, perfect-score ratings we read here. All things considered, and given the high level of taxes and even cold breakfast not being included, I would have been happier to pay at least 20% less for our experience across three nights.

    Superb location if you want to be in the heart of the Old Town. Short walk in every direction to many of the historic sights, lively streets, wonderful cafes/restaurants and the waterfront. Also less than a 5 minute walk to the Metro station to facilitate access to other parts of the city as well. Lovely terrace to spend a part of the evening if the weather is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is the most fabulous hotel we have ever stayed at! The staff were super attentive, friendly and professional. The hotel room was great and was larger than we expected. Bathroom was very nice with the soaker jetted tub and the huge shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop patio should be given first service to those who stay at the hotel, as opposed to those coming off the street. We were disappointed to know that we had to wait for a table for two, while others we knew were just off the street (we heard them speaking about not staying at the hotel, etc.). Perhaps we will be able to enjoy it the next time we stay.

    The staff, ambiance, and location were perfect! Our one bedroom suite was absolutely stunning! It had all the amenities, and more. Ample room for a couple, and even a family. Bed was very comfortable, shower was with a rain-shower effect. The food in the restaurant was amazing! We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Two Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location for getting to shopping area and cruise terminal. Also close to very good restaurants. Breakfast was very good also. Not included in hotel room price, but saves looking for food when you are tired and hungry on first day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Two Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet was lifted up a bit and we tripped over it a couple times. Price of valet parking, no self park option.

    Beds very comfortable. Shower was amazing with rain shower head! Chocolates on pillow at night with turndown service. Thankful for staff that's bilingual.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff was phenomenal, and the location couldn’t be better. The hotel is walking distance to restaurants, shops, the port, and numerous historic sites.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing - there was no complimentary bottles of water when we checked in (we thought the bathroom one was complimentary but it wasn’t and we were charged, however found out on chrck out that there should have been complimentary ones on each bedside table but there weren’t)

    The staff were very attentive, the room was modern and clean. Facilities were all great as well, including the common lounge areas with free tea and coffee, terrace bar on top of the building and the restaurant food and setting was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Two Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Location was perfect for us - close to St. Catherine street and the cruise terminal and the cathedral. Great restaurants nearby and the staff was very helpful. Ben went out of his way our first night there to explain room details, getting around and just overall helpful. Did get to enjoy the rooftop patio which was a bonus as the weather was questionable, but turned out fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room blinds didn’t shut so well so let too much street light in

    Bed comfy, gym fantastic, front desk staff and courtesy car staff excellent. Hotel comfort wonderful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room blinds didn’t shut so well so let too much street light in

    Bed comfy, gym fantastic, front desk staff and courtesy car staff excellent. Hotel comfort wonderful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing about this hotel that we did not like. Everything was wonderful.

    Amazing staff and room! This was one of the best hotels and places me and my boyfriend have ever stayed at. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone! They treated us like kings and queens and we will plan to come back to the hotel 100%. The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was incredible. Location was great we could walk to old Montreal or walk to the metro to get everywhere in the city. Valet parking!! This was one of the best features as we have had issues in the past with parking because we always bring a truck. They had a great staff for valet and you can just call down and they would have your vehicle at the front by the time you got down. I only have good things to say about this hotel and would suggest this place to anyone who is planning on going to Montreal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you love great service (over and above), great food, fun yet relaxing atmosphere, beautiful rooms, great location to Old Montreal and downtown...if that is your thing....then stay here. Price is a bit more than regular...but worth every dollar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, everything was really good. They forgot to do room service one day, but after we returned for dinner they had our room cleaned up — a little weird, since it was around 8:30pm... but they fixed it :p.

    The location was excellent. Walking distance to a notre-dame, museums, many many good restaurants and cafes (in the old downtown area and Chinatown), and the subway. I also enjoyed the complimentary water, coffee and little chocolates :). (And hot chocolate in lobby). The hotel in itself is very charming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was situated at the front of the hotel directly opposite a nightclub which did not close until 3.30am. The noise disturbed us every time. The garbage collection of bottles crashing an hour or so later just made the situation worse. We spoke to staff who said that they did have problems with the club and at times had to call the police.

    Staff were very helpful and the room was very spacious and clean. We had a suite with a soaker tub.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was a flawless stay from the moment we walked in the front door.

    The location is perfect...next to Notre Dame and everything old Montreal has to offer, and a 2 minute walk to the Metro to get to other parts of the city. The staff is phenomenal, the rooms were clean and comfortable. It’s an absolutely fantastic place to stay in Montreal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 3 nights. On day the house cleaning services did not come and we needed towels. Would have been nice just to have the towels even if they didn’t do the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was fantastic.

    Upon checking in we were early to arrive, instead of making us wait until checkin time they upgraded us to a larger room and allowed us to check in right away! The valet staff was so friendly and attentive, they left waters in our car when we were leaving. The room was incredible, very clean and the location was perfect. We couldn’t have had a better stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a small room (little space to unpack a suitcase for example).

    Stylish look and feel (‘loft’ style bedrooms). Warm welcome from staff. Modern rooms. Excellent hotel restaurant options. Fitness centre. Location in the heart of the old town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was offered a well-priced upgrade to a room with a balcony, but there was so much snow on it that I couldn't step outside...it was a bit disappointing that it wasn't cleared at all.

    The bed was very comfortable, and the room was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was beautiful but it was not cleaned on Wednesday or Thursday. The room service dishes were left in our room for two days... This and unchanged linens, disappointed us. It was the only blemish on our stay.

    Reception staff and valets were gracious, sincerely kind, and very helpful. They went above and beyond our expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Two Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping was not up to standard. We arrived and changed rooms from a standard twin to a superior room with a king bed and sofa bed for the kids. We were told the twin room was very small. I had to ring housekeeping to ask them to make up the sofa bed, on arrival the staff member looked at me and asked me if I wanted him to make up the bed - ah, yes please, you are housekeeping. (I did help him anyway). I asked for 2 additional bath towels and was given 2 bath mats. The following day only 2 towels were left (when obviously there were 4 people in the room), no toilet paper, coffee capsules never replaced in 3 days, empty beer bottle left from the previous night.....very disappointing.

    Staff at the front desk & concierge were lexceptional on arrival and throughout our stay, they couldn't do enough for us to be honest. The hotel is an amazingly beautiful building and is a great location close to the old town. Unfortunately, the housekeeping team really let the hotel down.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lighting a little dim

    Nice big clean rooms Old town location close to attractions Wonderful restaurants and shops close by Concierge service is excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of mini bar was on the more expansive side we thought. It wasn't exactly a good sell when we knew there was a battleship across the road and a nice bar downstairs with great food.

    In overall, it's been a fantastic experience for us. We spent only 3 days in Montreal and we were very happy with the choice made. The staff's were courteous despite the extreme weather conditions, they were extremely helpful especially with valet parking. We've been offered to take up a much more modern addition of the hotel with only extra 10 dollars. The room was clean, nicely presented and overlooked the old Montreal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not enough heat for the room but i knew that it was too cold at that time, -27 C degree. We were uncomfortable and asking for help. They gave us a small heater but it was not enough warm.

    The hotel is so nice. I like the style, decor and furniture of this hotel so much. Location is very near to Basilica Notre Dame, tourist area and Old Montreal. Just 5 minute walk to subway and China town. I also like the bathroom and the new, beautiful massage bath tube. Relaxing in hot water after a long cold day is supper.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a beautiful hotel located in the heart of old Montreal. It was a walking distance to many great restaurants, music venues and clubs. The staff were helpful and went out of their way to facilitate the return of my wallet that I left at the airport. We booked a junior suite which was well worth the money. The spa was excellent and can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable but we were not thrilled about the length of the pillows: too long. That’s my only complaint but we still had a restful sleep.

    Our room was upgraded upon arrival without any prompting. The staff was extremely helpful, kind and attentive, not to mention generous. The room was beautiful with gorgeous bathing facilities. Comfortable, quiet. Excellent dining on site.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got away for Christmas and asked concierge for suggestion. He said almost all are closed but many restaurants were open and people walked around.

    My room was roomy, high ceiling. Lots of mirrors everywhere. Amenity was great. Mattress, pillow, comforter were all clean and super comfy. Hotel staffs were all nice and pleasant and helpful. Although super cold and snowy, we walked a lot because of the great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can think of anything really, it was perfect

    The hotel, the location, the staff, the restaurant, the room; this has been the best hotel experience in our life.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners left dusting/cleaning rags in room and turndown was very poor as bed left rumpled.

    Hard to keep an ambient temperature as had to change all the time

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect, staff was extremely pleasant, helpful and professional. The spa in the hotel is very nice. The junior suite was lovely and the bathroom was huge. Brunch was excellent and dinner at Kyo was outstanding.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much

    Within the hour prior to checkin we had been parked by a restaurant in Montreal and our car was broken into, luggage and ipads stolen. Upon arrival at the hotel we relayed our problem to the staff. They stepped up and helped us with the police report and and all else that we needed. Olivia at the front desk and her comrade stood by us all the way. Beyond the call of duty. Aside from the obvious, the room was superb, the cleanliness 5 star and all involved deserve more than a simple applause. A great place to stay. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in shower was tepid, light came in through blinds every morning as no curtains in room

    Bed was huge, location was excellent, room upgraded free of charge

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Two Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so clean and beautiful. The Japanese restaurant from the hotel was delicious. This hotel is ideal for a business travel, they even printed a last minute presentation! The service to the room is exceptional and their hot chocolate was the best in ages!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was construction/other incredibly loud vehicles outside of our room, unfortunately, but the staff apologized and we didn't care too much. The beds are relatively stiff as well, so if you're one to get achy on stiff beds, maybe look elsewhere?

    The staff was INCREDIBLE! I've been to multiple 4 and 5 star hotels in my life and the service here was actually memorable! The location is insanely top-notch, you're literally across the street from the Notre-Dame Basilica and about a five minute walk from the hottest tourist areas.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor was dark, and the lighting wasn't really sufficient. Needs charging plugs beside the bed.

    Huge bathtub for two people, with jets. Spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to the pool would be the only negative over the 3 nights

    Ideally located in the centre of Old Montreal. Very helpful staff and the 701 Brasserie was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One cannot be unhappy at L'hotel Place D'Armes!

    The location was excellent, right in the center of Montréal's history. The restaurants on the premise, La Brasserie and Kyo' were wonderful. Very classic and yet modern. The hotel room was also lovely. Lastly, the staff was excellent about helping us improve our French and providing recommendations!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee only available in lobby at 6:30 am. Would have liked it earlier. Not a fan of Nespresso in room (and machine is loud). Towels were old.

    Rooms were beautiful. Quiet hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Two Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tap in bathroom slightly broken. Shower a little wobbly on the wall

    Lovely spacious room.very clean and fresh smelling. Bedsand pillows very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small. The view was awful-HVAC equipment

    Location was great. Bathroom lacked storage space. Wonderful shower and bed. Could have used more coffee in room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Two Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle service was unexpected and appreciated. We booked the hotel to attend a venue a 15 minute cab ride away ... the hotel offered to shuttle us to our destination instead of calling us a cab.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff should have used a vacuum daily to pick up lint, hair and other debris off the floor in the bathroom as well as the entire area. This problem was addressed to the front desk staff.

    Overall a most pleasant experience!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging 6$ +for a bottle of water seems steep? No tea making facilities and no milk for the Nespresso 'coffee'. Expensive films

    Huge room great shower helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Two Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. except that due to the weather on previous days the bar on the terrace.

    The hotel is great, Locate in the center of the city is close to everything you want to see in Montreal. in the center of the night life it is the best place to stay when going to this great city. The personnel at the hotel are very friendly and ready to help you in whatever you might need, you can ask Mary she knows everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a little impersonal and offhand especially in the bar/brasserie.

    Superb room with stylish decor and excellent location for historic Old Montréal. Metro station nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The aura of the hotel, was excellent, the rooms were perfect, the staff were superb, & friendly. I loved this place & will come back again & again. Everything was perfect..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a regular coffee maker vs the expresso machine in the room.

    Bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up. The multi jet shower ( I dubbed the car wash) was awesome. The room was spacious with large flat screen TV. We were in the newly remodeled section of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping, while clean, missed leaving face clothes, tissues, etc. Coffee pot in lobby was consistently empty. Restaurant 701 on property was understaffed and uncomfortable.

    Room was large and very comfortable. Location was perfect for walking and using Metro. Parking lot across the street was nhandy and reasonable, considering location. Japanese restaurant downstairs was superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I would recommend is to have small bedside reading lamps.

    The staff was welcoming and helpful. The room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable. Valet parking was a breeze. The best part was the location - easily walkable to many sights and to the metro.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was not firm enough. Turndown service in the evenings was a bit erratic. The lighting in the room was quite dim.

    Location was absolutely wonderful - just across the plaza from Notre Dame Cathedral. A delightful area to walk around, shop, gaze, and dine. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was excellent! Room could have been cleaner. First time I have ever been in a hotel room that had no chair other than desk chair to sit in. For almost a thousand dollars for two night stay . . a simple chair is not a stretch. Centrally located, architecture in neighborhood is STUNNING! Comfortable walking shoes a priority to get out and dig it. Taxes are crazy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About half the staff just don't care about anything. Promise to offer services and don't follow through, don't pick up the phones etc. For example - neglecting to put champagne on ice after we requested it ahead of time. Service wise well below the cost. Felt like staying in a beautiful holiday inn service wise.

    Location, room and hotel beauty

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting turned away from the rooftop bar: Hotel guests should have priority over non-guests to get into the rooftop bar. Not enough coffee: provide pods for two cups of the same coffee. Didn't like sharing the elevator with staff moving carts of food to the rooftop bar.

    great bed. terrific spa-like tub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Two Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superb staff! We tried 2 of the 3 restaurants and they were excellent. The spa is lovely. You are right where you want to be in the heart of Old Montreal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great as it is in the heart of old town and relevant attractions are a short walk. Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Loved the rooms with exposed brick walls, plus bed was super comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent. Absolutely superb. We were upgraded into a large King room in the new building that had just been opened a few weeks ago. It used to be a bank. It’s a small walk through a few turns to get to the building but you are in the hotel all the way. We were on the 5th floor. Very quiet and very few rooms on each floor. Very modern looking room. Stainless fixtures, very large rain shower, roomy enough for a party. Super comfortable bed. Not much of a view, but we only slept in the room. Very good front desk, good services. We never ate at the hotel and cannot comment on their restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Two Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little noise in the morning by house keeping staff.

    Location was great. Needed a ride to the train station, and the hotel guy said, "I've got the courtesy car right here, I'll take you." Fabulous. Enjoyed the area. Great restaurants a few blocks away on a town square. History was good. Took hop on/off bus on a tour. The hotel had real "class".

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without a doubt, out of the close to one hundred hotels we've stayed at in Canada, Place D'Armes is by far our favorite. I'm not sure what the "standard" suites are like but we chose to upgrade slightly to a Premium King room and it was stunning. Huge, clean, immaculately decorated. It fit in with the Old Montreal atmosphere perfectly. We didn't want to leave the room. The service was excellent as were the on sight amenities. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was directly across the street from a nightclub that stayed open until 3 am. Some of the revellers hung out in the adjacent parking lot until 4 am.

    We had a large beautiful room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New building is a little way from the main facilities.

    The hotel has extended into a fourth building and the new renovation is beautiful - functional and stylish. Restaurant options are great! Staff could not have been more helpful. And the hotel is in a great location (across the plaza to the basilica) and very accessible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed and pillow were sooo comfortable...king size bed was roomy, the comforter was very fluffy and cozy. I really liked the bed! We were there for a wedding, which was amazing! All in all, we were very happy with the hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the door key cards -- ambiguous instructions the toilet seat was impossible to raise and leave standing--tended to fall down ...

    The high ceilings, the availability of staff for assistance in problems large and small, the convenience of restaurants, are all excellent! The card-door keys posed the biggest difficulty as the instructions for the exact position for a swipe were not that clear--though the less one thinks about, it the easier it seems to be... The restaurants were nice, but maybe understaffed as some people I saw had to wait quite a while for waiters' attention, but an additional server or two would probably have sorted that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    As they are very ... hum ... pro-active, wanting us to be as happy as possible, they called our room 1h after we got in offering to help in finding a restaurant ... interrupting an intimate moment. Another hour later, a knock at the door did the same damage, to offer free water and chocolate. Make sure you put the card "Do NOT disturb" if necessary. (-;

    Pool table near the lobby. In the room, nice shower for 2; hide-a-bed in front of fireplace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon arrival the room was not ready. Twice we left early in the morning and came back after 2pm only to find our room uncleaned. I recommend calling the maid service in the morning to let them know you want the room made up.

    Location is superb, spa is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid 400$+ per night for a tiny room. We wanted to treat ourselves but it ended up being a mediocre room for a tonne of money! Would never stay here again.

    Brasserie 701 was delicious. Location is great. Building on the outside is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the room. The ceilings were very high and three walls were brick. The room was very large with a sitting area and dining table. The staff was very nice and helpful. Plus they were very kind to the kids.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Two Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful integration of old and new (wood and brick) with simple elegant design. Very helpful front staff, pampering turn down service- with chocolates in eve and nespresso for a perfect on demand expresso in am. We are veteran travelers and we were very impressed with all aspects of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I do not recommend this hotel. Lasting bad memory after I was charged *without permission* post-trip for an extra night due to a technical fault between booking.com and Hotel Place D'Armes. I'm not upset with the technical fault but that I had already communicated the issue at the time of checkout but was still charged over £400 because the issue had not been escalated by the reception staff. This charge felt like an illegal charge, essentially felt like theft and having to rectify it after a nice trip left me with a very unpleasant memory. Oh yea, and even if you pay >£750 for three nights stay in this hotel, you don't even get a free basic breakfast. No class there, you pay through your teeth, whether you want to or not. Nice to feel like they care about your experience!

    The bed was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast - a lot of room for improvement here. Gym is small for such a big hotel and hated the fact that they had carpet covering the floor which is really not hygienic considering how people sweat when working out.

    Location was great. Lovely rooftop bar and had a big room. We had booked a room with a double bed and requested an extra bed on booking.com for our 7 yr old. When we arrived at the property very late in the evening, booking.com had apparently not given instructions about the extra bed and the hotel told us the room we had booked was too small for an extra bed. Not sure why booking.com let us book this room. Our booking.com confirmation showed 2 adults and 1 child but the hotel showed us their booking & it was only for 2 adults. That said, the lovely lady at reception upgraded us to a really big room to be able to fit the extra bed so that was great service!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price too high for a room to sleep in. Lot of stairs to get to the elevator for our building

    Convenient location in Old Montreal. Lots of facilities nearby. would have been cheaper had I booked through Expedia which I certainly will next time. Parking a problem, cant park your own car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost impossible to find the hotel because of all the road detours, roads blocked off, one-way narrow streets (that are also blocked off). Breakfast for two people was $50 (Coffee, crescent, cheese, and fruit).

    The hotel room was very small but comfortable and elegant. No window to open, however. Elevator to get to the room is also the service elevator.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Two Double Beds Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was worn.

    The room was a little worn, very small and the beds had to be remade. The staff worked quickly to remake the beds. However, did not feel the room quality was worth the high cost per night. Location is good and close to historical sites and shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly nothing!!! Everything about the property was exactly what we needed.

    The staff was extremely accommodating in every request that we had. The room itself was AMAZING and unlike any other hotel we've stayed in before. We enjoyed the area quite a bit and walked around to see the sites. We had a food tour of Old Montreal that started minutes away from the hotel which was perfect. They had a complimentary car (by request/availability) that took us to our dinner reservation. And lastly - the rooftop bar was a lot of fun!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Place D'Armes traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: