Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lord Elgin Hotel 4 stars

100 Elgin Street, K1P 5K8 Ottawa, Canada

#20 of 56 hotels in Ottawa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2020 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Hotel and surroundings all enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our fault we should have mentioned we are in our 80s and our room was a block from the elevator. We looked on it as part of our exercise a couple of times each day. My husband uses a walker but we managed alright

    The warmth and helpfulness of a particular woman at the front check in desk. We didn’t get her name; we should have asked

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay zero
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed everything about our stay! Especially grateful for the 12pm checkout as there’s always one last thing you have to see the morning you leave!

    This hotel is so close to everything you need to see and do in Ottawa!! We are returning visitors and will continue to stay at Lord Elgin on future visits.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Lovely, wonderful hotel, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It just makes me sad that pets are no longer welcome here. I will be staying here less than half the time I usually do, because I often travel with my dog.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Can’t wait to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the best location in the downtown. There are so many great places to eat on Elgin St. A teddy bear was in our room to welcome our young son. Very thoughtful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Had a great time. Can't wait to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from our room was non-existent, and because they were booked solid, we were unable to upgrade. The front desk did try her best to get up a room with a better view but nothing was available.

    Excellent service. From the bellhop at arrival, to the concierge who offered us cold bottled water to combat the extreme heat, to the very helpful and friendly front desk staff, to maintenance, to the waitress in the restaurant. our every needs were met. Thank you Lord Elgin.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Walk to Parliament Hill and surrounding landmarks. Bars and restaurants close by. Staff friendly and welcoming. Only stayed one night, so didnt use facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful we had a great weekend from start to finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was great nothing to not like.

    Staff were very helpful. I needed Tylenol and staff went out and bought it for me. At check out I asked about it and they said it was complementary. Room were great. Pool was wonderful. I have nothing but praise for the way we were treated. Location was great close to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Couple
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little bit pricey. We had valet parking at $30/day

    Great location and great view of Confederation Park. It is near everything in downtown Ottawa. The staff was excellent. They were VERY polite and helpful. Even though it was pricey the valet parking was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Not as luxurious as other hotels in Ottawa for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were surprised at the finishes of the hotel, not as elegant as expected. No bathtub. No guest parking included, pool was in basement.

    Staff was super nice and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing stay in Ottowa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning was noisy. The hotel staff advised to either request another room but check on the same issue before moving, or turn the conditioning off and open the window...and let in all the street noises. Also, the room door allowed a significant amount of light from the hall in around all 4 edges. The pillows were small square things. As we only stayed 2 nights we decided to accept the room for what it was.

    Location was good and outlook from the park view room was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Love Ottawa and galleries and museums, hotel fine,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good sized room, WIFI worked, could adjust temp. easily, great location, valet parking convenient, expensive...... same room cost double on Tues compared to Sunday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area should be cleaned up. Pool itself is quite cold where the hot tub is very warm. Had a room in the back and was still noisy.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, quality service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricy for the size of the room, but quality service as soon as you step inside the hotel.

    Great location! 5 mins. walking distance from the Byward Market, Rideau Mall, Parliament Hill, and the Rideau Canal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Would not hesitate to book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool could have been a bit cleaner. TV signal kept cutting out, doesn't bother me but it did upset my son.

    Very clean, comfortable rooms. Great location and Starbucks on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Great comfy hotel in a great area, close to the attractions.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Basic internet included, which was ok for basic use with emails and simple web browsing, but you'll need to spend CAD$10 extra to get a decent internet connection capable of any real world use. Breakfast ok, but overpriced for what was on offer, particularly when there are plenty of other places nearby offering great deals for breakfast.

    Excellent location, close to the major attractions and entertainment areas. Easy to walk to local restaurants or get to see what Ottawa has to offer. Comfy rooms and great beds for a great nights sleep. Nice large screen TV and good to see that the quality of the picture feeds were good too with a wide variety of premium channels included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    totaaly enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were amazingly cordial and helpful - rally impressed. Restaurant was expensive, but the food was great - best clam chowder but it is a mea in inself

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    its ho-hum
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is just a usual hotel room; basic. We were there for a mother's day weekend. It would have been nice if there is a small token for the mothers but there was none. Poor communication with booking.com and staff. We included breakfast for the package when the restaurant called the reception they say it wasn't. It took them a while to sort things out.

    The location is close to the parliament and the mall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Great staff,the room was amazing, the hotel was beautiful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways were really cold compared to everywhere else.

    Great staff,the room was amazing, the hotel was beautiful, location was close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel whose decor and fashion has kept up with the times especially internet and wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too short a stay . I would have loved to try out your pool . Maybe later in the summer we could stay longer . The buffet breakfast was fabulous - lots of choice which my wife loved and me too.

    The room was lovely and very compact rm823 It would have been nice to have a chair other than the desk chair to watch tv rather than sitting on the bed .’ The bathroom was great The valet service was amazing and not having to worry about parking was great . We just walked to Bytown to meet family only 10 mins Having v Starbucks is great for a quick snack

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Location was perfect for us...short walk to the market and almost across the street from the NAC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was across from elevators and the traffic and noise carried into the room

    Room was very nice and bed was comfortable.Bathroom was very clean and modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    I'm not sure how to sum it up. The room was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The television kept cutting out because they use unreliable satellites like it's still the 90's and the mini-fridge took forever to cool what was put in it.

    The bed was adequate and the park view was nice. The staff was friendly too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    It was a relaxing getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have loved an earlier check-in time to have more time to walk around the city.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and attentive. We forgot our stroller in the car so the valet went and retrieved it and brought it to our room. The buffet breakfast was delicious with a wide selection to choose from. We wanted to see Ottawa on foot and this location cannot be beat. We definitely hope to come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly whether at the reception or...
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly whether at the reception or room service. My mom couldn't figure out how to use the coffee machine she asked for help, they did within few minutes. The bed and pillows were super comfy Room and bathroom were very clean 👌🏼👌🏼👌🏼

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Best Hotel Stay Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing we did not like here.

    The staff were great and very concerned with providing an exceptional experience. They even offered bottled water when first greeting us as we pulled up. Best experience we have ever had! Love this place, and hope to be able to stay here again if ever traveling to Ottawa again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way the shower is set up you have to stand in it to turn it on. It is an odd set up. Also, small detail, but the seams in the crown molding in our room were not finished. Surprised at this especially for a nice hotel. Maybe all rooms werent like this.

    Very nicely decorated. Location is excellent. Staff is very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    my room was very noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my room was very noisy. First placed in a room directly opposite ice machine and coke machine which made loud noises every 5 min. the whole bathroom would shake. They agreed to move me to another spot , nevertheless, I found soundproofing poor. On the otherhand, hotel is beautiful, room size is great. Staff is wonderful, particularly the bell boys!!! If I do come back, which I would like to do , I will make sure to ask for the quietest room they have. Location is the best!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay extra for high speed wifi and the regular speed is almost unusable.

    Staff was very friendly and accommodating when we were accidentally charged extra for the wifi. Bed was very comfortable, room was spacious and clean. Location of this hotel is within walking distance of the Parliament buildings, Byward market, the mall, etc. Very convenient as we did not have to drive anywhere during our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    excellent weekend away in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water temp was a bit difficult to control -even a slight change in the faucet made it go from warm to burning hot.

    Location was perfect, staff was friendly, pillows were extremely comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Was amazing and loving my family and I had a blast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not about the hotel but the city closes to early jejejejejej

    I love the location the staff the room and over all this is a great hotel ohhhhh pool was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    The location is ideal for business or a tourist, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue with the Booking.com booking at check in, that was not in my control, and the staff member was rude and insulting. I did report this the next day to management but a simply apology was all I received. If this happened to others, I feel it could have escalated easily.

    The location is ideal for business or a tourist, and the staff were overall helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, good business centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet package included in the room cost was basically unusable. I was not pleased that it cost extra for average wifi.

    Friendly staff, good business centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect stay! Service was great from beginning to the end of our stay. Fantastic location in the heart of the city. The room and view were amazing! A++

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast at the hotel's restaurant is quite expansive for the food quality, especially if you order an À la carte breakfast. Aldo, the view I had from my room was the vent system of our or the next building. We had to pay an extra to have a city view

    Really nice clean room with a nice scent. Also the staff is really nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good and comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird smell when you enter the room, like enclosed. Expensive parking and extra charges on bill for room. (Different taxes)

    Very friendly staff, helpful! Well located downtown, walking distance to everything. Clean room, comfortable beds and nice bathroom with glass door shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Elgin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We decided to stay a third night and asked to have our stay extended. We were told at the desk that we had go through the booking agent that booked our room initially. We contacted the agent and he booked our room and called the hotel while I was still on the phone, however later that day and the next morning when I checked for confirmation, the hotel couldn't find it on the computer. However, they were able to confirm that we would have a room for that night.

    The room service breakfasts were excellent. The location of the hotel was very convenient for walking to shopping and other events.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, but expected more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Grill 41 breakfast buffet is just ok. The hot food was actually cold. The swimming pool wasn't very clean so (ick!). The bathroom in our hotel room had nowhere to hang anything! There was 1 hook for all the towels (we were a family of 4) so we had towels thrown all around the room to dry.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Elegant and clean hotel, perfect for a family trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was a bit on the cold side and the hot tub was broken one day, but overall very clean.

    Clean hotel with friendly staff in a prime location. Hotel had a nice historical feel to it. This place would be perfect for any type of traveller, families with kids included. Although restaurant is a bit upscale for the kids, there are many restaurants in walking distance. Staff went out of the way to make us comfortable. Hotel had a few amenities: Starbucks, pool, gym, restaurant, gift shop. A quiet hotel within walking distance to many of Ottawa’s features. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Very nice. Would highly recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the dining room staff were friendly but slow service and eggs came out warm instead of hot.

    the room was clean and presentable. Been was alittle soft for my liking. Gym and pool need updating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Why look anywhere else in Canada's Capital - Ottawa?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, the price may be dearer than certain others but 100% worth it. You get what you pay for.

    The check-in staff were some of the friendliest we've ever met. Helped us with all info on Ottawa, Plus Winterlude festival, where to eat and even information on surrounding cities like Montreal and Quebec City. Right in the heart of Ottawa, five minutes from Parliament Hill, right opposite Winterlude, close to plenty of bars and shops. The room was spotless, two huge double beds (the comfiest ever!), coffee machine in room, Starbuck's in the lobby and Tim Horton's around the corner. TV with plenty of channels including Ice Hockey and NBA. Really nice bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only had valet parking. No other option, had to park across the street in the underground public parking.

    Great staff, clean, good view from room of confederation park, amazing location, close to everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    We loved our visit to Ottowa and our stay in this hotel. It was and ideal spot for our family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the location of the hotel! Our room faced the park and we were able to walk through every day. It was a perfect way for us to get to the canal. We stayed with children so this was better than walking on streets. We also loved the view from our room. There was parking over the weekend at City Hall, which was convenient and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    We'd definitely stay again, especially for Winterlude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were well decorated and modern. The beds were very comfortable. View from our room over to Confederation Park with the Rideau Canal beyond that was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    One of the most memorable weekends of my life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff is exceptional. Location across from Parliament Hill, Confederation Park and Rideau Canal is phenomenal. Winterlude is a must visit in February.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    The property had a lot of charm but I might have to try another hotel for my next trip to Ottawa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mattress needed to be replaced, it had some deep pockets in some areas. The pillows were wafer thin and I guess because I had one of their smallest rooms, there was no sofa-like chair. Watching tv had to be done on an uncomfortable bed propped up by thin pillows. I tried using the desk chair but that wasn’t really working for me. These were minor issues but still caused my stay at Lord Elgin memorable for the wrong reasons.

    The location was central to the majority of all the attractions and the staff were super friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Great location friendly staff excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking. Staff very helpful but I always prefer access to my car but this is to be expected in downtown hotels.

    Location was perfect for seeing Ottawa. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Starbucks in lobby. Also try the Scone Witch down the street. Good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Best hotel experience so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing whatsoever

    Everything was exceptional. I honestly couldn't find anything wrong and after staying in many hotels across Canada for work and leisure this was my favourite. Thank you to Chantal for the champagne surprise. I our food was also amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a historic building and in a very central...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main hall areas and corridors are a little worn out and have seen better days. The same with the common toilet facilities. Sound isolation between rooms and bathrooms is not great but I think this is a common problem in north American hotels.

    Nice hotel in a historic building and in a very central position. The beds are very comfortable. Staff was very nice and gave me an early check in which was much appreciated after a long intercontinental flight. Free Wi-Fi is more than sufficient for emails. The rooms are renovated in a classical style.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Very pleased to see the old girl looking so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon could have been thicker, eggs could have been creamier.

    Really liked the new bathroom and shower, particularly the corner basket for shower supplies.enjoyed seeing the

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel and a super winterlude experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very cold. Fire alarm went off in The middle of the night... No fault of the hotel but inconvenient.

    The room was beautiful but a little cold. Great view of the interlude activities. Staff helpful with skate rentals, suggestions of restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    I would happily stay again at the Lord Elgin hotel.....it is a wonderful home-away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the pillows to be flat and small

    The staff were all wonderful and very friendly and welcoming. I also admired the historical elements of the hotel that were preserved ie. the original mail chute

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    It was the best hotel I ever stayed at in the Ottawa area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a great place to stay. The only pet peeve I had was the stores and the pool area closed a little too early so later night hours would be much better

    It was the best hotel I ever stayed at in the Ottawa area. Perfect location great rooms comfy bed with a nice sofa and coffee table and also had a great pool area. Bonus was great staff and very well mannered

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    This hotel was great in all areas, staff were friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool water was too cold and the air should have been set to a warmer temperature in the pool area and change rooms.

    This hotel was great in all areas, staff were friendly, rooms were clean. The fire place in the lobby was beautiful. Perfect for going to winterlude.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of proper chairs would be nice to have a place to sit in the room - not have to use the bed as seating.

    Location was great The staff were helpful The rooms are clean and functional as a hotel goes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    An elegant hotel in walking distance of tourist sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most important to me is a compfy bed and pillows and cleanliness. We were not disappointed. We had a tasty meal in the hotel’s restaurant and not overpriced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    We would most definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air quality/circulation in our room seemed poor, couldn't open the window to get fresh air. Bed was too soft for our liking (personal preference) but clean.

    Location is excellent. Customer service in hotel industry today is often fair. This hotel must be commended...all round the service was absolutely outstanding, especially front desk staff named Sarah she was above and beyond our expectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, modern room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest in the room next to us flushed the toilet in the middle of the night and it was very loud! So loud that it woke us up.

    Bed very comfortable, nice modern room and bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    I should have reported it to staff -- but didn't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in room 833 had a long dent at about the 1/3 mark on the right side, nearest the washroom. It meant having to sleep only on the other side. That made the one overnight experience uncomfortable.

    Breakfast buffet and service super!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Great Place😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time they were re-doing the swimming pool and hot tub. There was no hot water in the morning because they were working on the boiler. Hotel staff did give us a heads up as well as a 50.00 discount.

    The property is located close to Parliament Hill, Rideau Center and the By Ward Market. It is a historical building with beautiful woodwork. The small bar is quaint. Star Bucks is located in the building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and hot tub were under maintenance which was disappointing. Not the hotels fault. Booking.com did not note this when we booked.

    Room was clean and hotel was very quiet despite it’s location. Our room was well appointed and everything was in good working order. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Best weekend stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their pool was closed but they gave us a key to go use the pool at the Residence Inn around the corner.

    The staff is very welcoming when you arrive and they help you in any way possible to make your stay better!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Fun, Sweet, and Comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ZERO

    The staff was lovely and helpful. Enjoyed our stay quite a bit even though it was quite brief. The front desk upgraded us to a king size suite for $25 and then called as soon as we arrived in the room to see if we were satisfied. It was great. Also lost a small personal item that the searched for immediately. Would love to stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    All of the staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All of the staff were lovely. A few were beyond exceptional. Trang was the most supportive and kind front desk person I have ever met! She helped with so much and had such a lovely attitude towards me and my little girl. Vlad, who is a valet, again was the most welcoming and affable person - a gentleman. All the valets were lovely. The cleaning staff were also very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    We still had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been going to Lord Elgin almost every year for 13 years. Sometimes two times a year. The staff have always been great and helpful, but the girl that checked us in was a little unprofessional, she would say no problem and would look at her colleague and roll her eyes, or blow a long breath out. Thankfully she was not there most of the trip. Everyone else was great, but it was the first time in 13 years a staff gave me a feeling to be somewhere else. Menu change of grill 41 was disappointing. Ours kids love to order in at least one night and the prices and menu was nothing that appealed to us for 4 people. We were just there in March and the menu was good even down to the choice of desserts.

    Great location to everything; shopping, park, restaurants, movies. They still have a good breakfast buffet. Services are good. Pool a bonus, especially with the kids.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, really made us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, really made us feel welcome. When we mentioned we were visiting on honeymoon they really went above and beyond to make sure we felt welcome over the Christmas period.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable. Friendly people at the hotel and a good sized room with a fridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think if you were allowed to check out slightly later that would have been a little better. Also deposit was a bit high.

    The bed was comfortable with no bed bugs. It was generally very quiet which I liked

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    The hotel has a lot of traditional charm and the staff make this a very welcoming destination to sta
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Valet parking was the only option for this hotel and it was expensive. However, it was very convenient during the cold winter weather to have valet parking service availabe.

    Overall, the service was excellent. The front desk staff quickly accommodated my last minute request for a room with a bath which was truly appreciated. The concierge staff was timely with retrieving my car from valet parking. Having the "Green" option to reduce daily housekeeping service was an excellent way to conserve resources. This was a very comfortable hotel and centrally situated. I will stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Will definitely return in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of breakfast could definitely be a few dollars lower

    Stayed over the Christmas holidays. santa left stockings on our room door handle and a lovely gift on our side table. The room was cozy and the bed was perfect. The staff throughtout the Lord Elgin very very pleasent, always smiling. Valet parking only, was a nice bonus. The Restaurant on site is excellent :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    5.8
    4 star location, but 3 star service and 2 star appliance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No appliances found in the room, I have to call for toiletries and slippers. No bathtub, which is crazy for a four star hotel. Most important, I booked a room with park and city view, but we were set to a room with only a back window towards nowhere.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Great service, great hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was upgraded to a better view for no charge. Staff remembered it was my birthday during the stay and delivered a birthday card and cake to the room. Great service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like that we couldn't just go to our vehicle and get stuff out our selves. We were caught off guard that it was valet parking only. So we hadn't packed accordingly. We had to ask the valet to get stuff for us, We would have preferred to get our own stuff. However the valet gentlemen were excellent and would get anything for us and put us at ease about it. It should be more clear in the booking so people can plan for that.

    All the staff was so friendly and helpful. Made us feel very welcome and at ease. The view from our room vas very nice. The location is excellent for walking to some museums, the mall the canal, parliament buildings. Loved our stay hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice clean room and modern bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO nice bar/lounge; restaurant felt like being at an airport: poor menu; polyester table linen; TV in restaurant Room service grapefruit juice was grapefruit "cocktail" No bathrobe in room.

    Nice clean room and modern bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and comfortable hotel for Ottawa business trip
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast buffet was disappointing for a 4-star hotel; SODEXHO food service provided POOR QUALITY: croissant/pastries inedible; powdered eggs and mystery meat sausages; portion control via small dishes is annoying

    very comfortable beds and spacious rooms very friendly and helpful staff - especially concierge and doormen dining room dinner menu was very good and the dinner food was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    A relaxing getaway after an extremely tough year...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loud holiday parties and the accompanying noise that travelled up through the air vents! TV signals that kept cutting in and out from time to time!

    Tasty smoked salmon! Delicious french toast! Good roasted potatoes! Comfortable bed! Great city view!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.8
    Good hotel but doesn’t justify the price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what I have paid I would expect a better hotel. This one is likely to have a full renovation sometime soon. Don’t stay in rooms 708-09-10, there is a noise problem which will not let you have a proper sleep.

    Location is good, staff is quite helpful and nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    11 out of 10. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not have been more impressed with the staff and the service at the lord elgin hotel. They were by very professional, courteous, funny and helped to make our stay excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: