Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Canada hotel reviews
  3. Ontario hotel reviews
  4. Ottawa hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Lord Elgin Hotel

Reviews of Lord Elgin Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

100 Elgin Street, K1P 5K8 Ottawa, Canada

#19 of 62 hotels in Ottawa

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1908 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price we paid was more than 200 dollars a night, tax included. So, at the time of booking, I asked for a room on a higher floor, away from hallway noise (vending machines or elevators) and, if possible, with park/street view. After booking, we received an instant reply saying: "We're happy to let you know that the property has confirmed they can arrange this for you. There will be no extra charge for this request." All is good, we thought. Guess what? After arrival, the room we got was #205, first floor above de ground, facing the back of the building, overseeing huge (and noisy) commercial grade air conditioning units. Thanks, Lord Elgin Hotel. Outstanding first impression.

    Great location. Haven't tried breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    8.3
    Great historic stay in the middle of downtown and great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fitness room is just ok but the main issue is the ancient AC system that spat out warm.air

    Great historic stay in the middle of downtown and great staff

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    10
    Great location, good accomodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a faint ticking sound (clock) behind my headboard.

    Room was a good size. I stayed there for the Ottawa Marathon and the start line is directly in front of the hotel! Great location - also an easy walk to Parliament and other attractions.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    7.1
    Location was convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room and bathroom we tiny! I slammed my elbow into the shower door just trying to use the toilet. I feel like I got the left over room, and absolutely no view. I had to keep my blinds drawn cause there was an office rooms straight across that I could see into.

    Location was convenient. I wanted somewhere I could walk to all the highlights, and I could and did walk successfully to all I wanted to see.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    9.2
    Location and ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slight confusion with our booking on arrival, even though we had Booking. com document. This was probably due to inexperienced check in chap.

    Location and ambience.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    8.8
    Great location in a fantastic city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a classic vintage hotel, therefore the rooms are small for the price. Breakfast was disappointing.

    We were in town for the Run Weekend and the location could not have been better.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    9.2
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Towels too small and not enough of them. More can be obtained from reception but the size is still an issue.

    Excellent location near government buildings and tourist attractions. Great airy room (park view). Convenient parking located across the street at the city hall - free on weekends and holidays and I believe $22 thereafter for 24 hours. We basically had 3 days for $12!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not sure what to say as we had a wonderful experience. The only thing would be that you could hear the other bathroom's flush their toilets - not much of a problem.

    We were impressed from the very beginning to the end. Loved the front desk staff, location, bed, decor, and price.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    8.8
    Loved it! Short walk from Rideau Center and great view of Confederation Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our experience was really good. We did not know it had valet parking so that was a little confusing at first. My husband had to go inside, check-in and find out. (We may have missed this info when we booked)

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    4.6
    The only good thing was it was in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For such a basic two double bed room, I felt that the price was far in excess of the accommodation. There was nothing extraordinarily special about the room to make it as expensive as $800 for a two might stay. Am very disappointed in what I got for my money

    The location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    10
    Affordable luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to get our vehicle pulled up when checking in due to the amount of traffic there. That was it. The rest of the time was fantastic.

    The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable. My daughter loved the pool, the hot tub, and the pancakes. Overall the value couldn't be beat. She'd never been to Ottawa before and she can't wait to come back!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    10
    Good value for the price, very clean and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As above, the restaurant was not up to the overall quality of the hotel.

    The Grill was very noisy, not full but a large table of celebrants. Service was very slow and hamburger was soggy and not good value.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    10
    We will never stay anywhere else in Ottawa!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic location! Fantastic value! Staff were beyond amazing! Our vehicle was broken into prior to arriving at the hotel with our rear windshield being smashed. The staff cleaned up the glass and put plastic on the window to make sure we could get home - all without being asked and without charge! It is these acts that put the Lord Elgin above all others!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    10
    The peaceful corner in a crazy, insane business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything I didn't like.

    I liked my room, plenty of space and lots of natural light. I loved the shower, the water pressure was great and the showerhead was high enough for me to wash my hair without bending over.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    5.8
    Mixed feelings .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mixed feelings . Great staff but room was outdated. I paid in total over $400 for one night incl parking. My room heater was broken and didn’t warm up even after two hours. The maintenance attendant had to bring me a portable heater. The bed was flat and uncomfortable. The marble bathroom however was gorgeous! Staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    10
    Everything except bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have never been in a bathroom with such loud flushometers You could even hear one in an adjacent room This was totally unacceptable Especially in the middle of the night

    Everything except bathroom

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    9.2
    The service was prompt and accommodating from the front desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was great but overpriced for a basic room. The hotel restaurant was average with little options for dietary restrictions.

    The service was prompt and accommodating from the front desk and valet.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    4.6
    Crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room we were given smelt like feet. They said they already had four or five complaints about the same thing!!! Nice way to start off the checking in!The pool was dirty, hazy, a water cup floating,way to much chlorine, I skimmed a clump of hair out with the net, and the hot tub was so gross!!!!! with a brown foam scum on the top!!! The towels in the pool area were as rough as sand paper and then when we showered off at the room the towels there were as rough as sand paper there as well!!!! Very very disappointed looks like a nice place but those little thing you pay top dollar for are not there at all !!! Actually I feel ripped off!!!

    The bell hop/concierge was a great guy, helpful new his stuff!!!!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    6.7
    Location is second to none.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smells a little bit of damp (it was raining and to be honest it’s an old building so it’s not surprising). The swimming pool is more of a small leisure/family pool (no lanes etc.).

    Location is second to none. Bathroom is clean and mordern. Staffs were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    7.0
    Walls are very thin at this expensive hotel, we had excess...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls are very thin at this expensive hotel, we had excess noise at 1AM, then 3AM, then 7AM from room next door. After our 2nd complaint it the hotel staff said we could switch rooms which was kinda too late, our day was already ruined. The one thing is the staff said they sent someone up. We didn't here anyone come up and knock on the door to confront them about the noise. We heard phone ring next door which they didn't pick up. No other action was done by staff. No compensation was directly offered. Manager gave us her card to call her next time we came to stay?

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2019

    10
    Excellent! Those special touches made our stay there the best!
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No issues at all.

    Vlad, the concierge/bellman made me and my group feel right at home. He gave us all water when we checked in, recommended a great restaurant for dinner, helped with luggage, directions, and he checked on my husband while he was waiting for me to return from a meeting. He was so respectful. He really made the stay extra special for us all. Then, because I was there for a GG award, it was amazing when your management and staff lined a red carpet for us as we stepped onto our motor coach to be transported to the ceremony...we loved it!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    10
    This location is clean, staff is wonderful, on several bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This location is clean, staff is wonderful, on several bus routes, within walking distance to the main attractions, lots of restaurants to choose from. Great location! I always enjoy my stay at The Lord Elgin.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2019

    6.3
    Uninspiring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel was tired and bland looking despite having had (apparently_ a recent refurbishment) with no interior redeeming features. Just unimpressive for the money Also we asked for a no smoking room and it was obvious that someone HAD been smoking in the room as the air was stale. We asked if we could be moved and the answer was a flat No.

    Starbucks on site Small pool and adeuate fitness room Location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2019

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very nice and polite but when I checked in, the woman that helped me with my reservation was not very nice ( maybe she had a bad day but the rest of the employees were amazing).

    Great location! Loved it. It was clean.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    7.1
    Great location, friendly and prompt service from all staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was a little dirty upon arrival. Housekeeping would knock on the door and open it immediately, tho not much, and when told "just a second" while getting up they'd just leave. Called valet for my vehicle, waited a half hour (seemed a little busy so I was extra patient) but when i inquired how much longer they "forgot" to go get it, but did so immediately. Basic internet is almost unusable, for a proper modern day connection you'll have to pay $10 per 24hrs. Parking is only through valet, which will run you $35/day. Don't see why buying a ticket to their garage to come/go as I pleased & be able to easily get a forgotten item from the vehicle without waiting on valet isn't an option. Heard the pipes rattle in the wall whenever the rooms next to ours would use their wash room.

    Great location, friendly and prompt service from all staff.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    8.8
    Overall sufficient stay, some improvements need to be made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were expecting a little more quality overall for the high price and high ratings.

    Staff were professional. Room was clean and well maintained. Close to lots of great places to check out in Ottawa.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    8.3
    Great location, beautiful and clean, great amenities, pay for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was underwhelmed by the room, it was relatively small and did not have a queen bed. This could have been my mistake for misreading the description of the room. Also was not aware that parking was extra due to valet only. Luckily city hall parking was free during our stay. I suppose I was expecting a bit more for such a nice hotel, but got a great deal so can't complain.

    Great location, close to downtown. Good food at the restaurant, and a Starbucks inside.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    9.2
    Very comfortable nice courteous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first night was excellent the second night we had loud guest take the room beside us and kept us awake. After several complaining phone calls to the front desk things did get better and the next morning the loud guests were charged for half of our night stay and we paid the other half.

    Very comfortable nice courteous staff.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    10
    overall very nice hotel, with reasonable price. Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the pool water is a bit too cold

    the location is excellent. Hotel room is very neat and clean, obviously upgraded decoration and furniture, very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    6.3
    Good location but the room left something to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not sound proof at all. Was woken up each morning by people in the rooms near us and by people in the hallway. Everything could be heard loud and clear. The gap underneath the door was too large. This probably did not help the sound proofing but also let in a ton of light during the night which prevented the room from getting completely dark. The bathroom was too small. It was hard to get in and out of. Impossible for 2 people to get ready in at the same time.

    Location was great. bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    7.1
    Great location but not a warm or friendly staff. Customer service did not seem to be a consideration
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was average. Mistakes were made upon our arrival with the reservation billing. The level of service was not what I'd expect from a hotel of such perceived quality.

    The location was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    5.8
    Single queen bedroom for couple plus 11 yr child
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a room for my family: 2 adults, one 11 yr child and ended up on a single bed room. The bed was a queen size. I don't know if the error was from Bookings.com or the hotel itself but they were unable to move me to another room and my son had to sleep on the floor the first night. Some staff was extremely helpful and got us extra blankets for him to sleep in. Parking was expensive

    Staff was great but policies are very strict

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    9.6
    Our stay was great, we booked very last minute (like the day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only hiccup was the parking was VERY expensive. $40 for the night. Now given it is valet parking so i understand but I find this too expensive, as this cost almost a third of our room price. We were able to get the price reduced as no one mentioned this price to us at check in. If you're planning on bringing a car I would actually recommend parking at a lot nearby and save the cost.

    Our stay was great, we booked very last minute (like the day before) and were able to get a sale rate which was great. We checked in late and the staff was very friendly and was able to upgrade our room which was nice. Great location, walking distance to the market and lots of cute restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    10
    The customer service is always above par;
    • Couple
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My only disappointment is that they no longer allow pets. They were always so good to our dog, and treated him with as much respect as any other guest. I wish they would reconsider that rule.

    The customer service is always above par; they truly care and want to help. My husband had just been discharged from the hospital so I requested some extra pillows at almost midnight. They knocked on our door less than ten minutes later with SIX (!) pillows, asking if there was anything else they could do to make him more comfortable. Nothing is too much to ask. As someone who works in customer service, this means a lot to me.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2019

    9.2
    See answer below.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a ridiculous survey which you've sent to me at least five times - it's like you're desperate for feedback however I don't have enough options to accurately respond to most questions. For example, with travel companions, I can't identify going with siblings if they're NOT under 18. When I registered and paid for the room through booking.com, at NO POINT did I actually receive an email from you indicating the payment and receipt of my room. When I got to the Lord Elgin in Ottawa they kept saying that they COULDN'T TELL met the rate because I paid for it through you. No email no communication at all. It all seemed a little unusual and uncomfortable. Not sure if I'll use booking.com again. The hotel was great.

    See answer below. Not keen on booking.com at all!!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    9.6
    It was a real treat to stay in this iconic Ottawa institution.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were too thick.

    Loved the view, the pool, the original features & architecture, fresh flowers, central location, and the fact that it’s not been bought out by Fairmont or some such monster.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    6.7
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You would expect the architecture outside to be similar inside but it looked tired. Maintenance not up to par. Windows very old and lots of cold coming through them and not well insulated but the staff was top notch therefore we still had a great time. If it wasn't for them we would have been very disappointed. Starbucks café at hotel was a nice plus as well.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    5.4
    Not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The small room with drafty windows (closed but felt open based on drafts and noise). 3 pillows only, should be 4 especially when only 1 bed in the room. Too small for the price.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    9.6
    Great location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good.

    Great location and facilities. Starbucks in the lobby. Porters were very helpful and friendly - makes a real difference in arriving and leaving.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    4.6
    Terrible experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything could be better. First of all they put me , my husband and my son in a room with a single bed, cause they said Booking.com sent them just 2 adults - not true. I had to pay extra for a bedroom with 2 queen size bed. Swimming pool water cold - my son got sick. Parking a mess, a lot of cars parking in front of the Hotel, you had to wait 30 minutes on the street to get in with your car and wait more 15 minutes to get out with your car. Bathroom with a loudly flush toilet, horrible. Never more!!! Expensive Hotel for a terrible service!

    Only the location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    9.6
    The bed was amazing.
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was amazing. Mattress especially comfortable. Also the restaurant was excellent. The manager got me a bowl of soup after the restaurant had closed which was all I needed to make my evening complete.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    6.7
    I liked my room. My view and the location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot tub was out of order. For some reason my room did not get cleaned on the Sunday. Restaurants the salads were overdressed and a little overpriced.

    Lord Elgin is conveniently located to all Winterlude activities

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    6.3
    Lord elgin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy heating fan in room. Not notified of Whirlpool not working. Over cooked Scallops and shrimp skewers at Grill 41 restaurant. Way too expensive valet parking. No microwave in room.

    Friendly staff. Location. Easy upgrade to front of hotel. $30.00 for 2 nights. Gluten free meals possible at Grill 41.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    7.9
    The only criticism I had is the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only criticism I had is the noise. Walls are thin. On our floor lots of screaming kids early in the morning and lots of slamming of doors. Other than that great hotel and great location. Beds really comfortable

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    10
    The staff were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My family loved everything about it except that the hot tub was broke but completely understandable as nothing lasts forever lol

    The staff were awesome...the room was excellent

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    5.8
    Staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room size, very small for cost of room. The parking is very expensive and no other choice close by. Access to check in is difficult as no parking truly available at front of building. No continental breakfast included

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.5
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lack of parking is quite inconvenient. We did use valet parking but it is extra money per day.

    The location of the hotel is great and close to historical sites and shopping. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    6.7
    The location was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating in our room didn’t work. There was no fitted sheet on the bed only a flat sheet. The hot tub was closed for maintenance, they did however give the option to go to a sister hotel. This was not an option for most though seeing the very cold weather and having wet hair do not mix well.

    The location was beautiful. Has great historical value.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mid February cold outside and looking forward to a hot tub but it was not working xnd the pool was freezing. No sauna either. The bathroom was crowded and tiny.

    Location, location, location. Best place gor skating ghe Rideau canal bar none. Free parking at City Hall across the street was a great option over paying $30 a night at hotel too.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    9.6
    . bed comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    . room coffee seemed old / stale. . coffee brewer needs a cleaning. . suggest that the LE provide proper coffee cups / mugs instead of the grungy paper variety.

    . bed comfy . room clean & quiet . efficient & friendly checkin staff . excellent conciege . excellent location . enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay in a prime location. We had a lovely time at interlude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet service is quite slow. Please offer tea in the room as well as coffee.

    Very quiet room with a lovely comfy bed. Heating system kept up warm without being too drying.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    8.3
    Overall we had a great stay at the Lord Elgin and in Ottawa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We paid for an upgraded king suite with high speed internet, but we found the internet to not be very good so wasn't fully worth it.

    The location of the hotel was great. Short walk to the Byward market, the mall, and other major attractions in downtown Ottawa. The room was nice and clean and the staff were accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    8.3
    Great location, clean rooms, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The valet situation could be advertised better. Most people outside, including us, were not sure where to park, if there was a lot or not, etc.

    The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Willing to tell us about free parking nearby, were not greedy and cared about customer experience.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    8.3
    Beautiful property, friendly staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You could hear absolutely everything from the room next to us. Every cough and snore. Maybe it was just our room but it was pretty bad.

    Beautiful property, friendly staff and great location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    9.2
    The Lord Elgin is steeped in history as well as in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not applicable.

    The Lord Elgin is steeped in history as well as in a fantastic location with Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and many shops and restaurants a short walk, or in the colder months, an even shorted drive away. Staff were friendly and willing to help wherever possible making this stay an even greater pleasure!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    8.3
    Overall a pleasant stay. Location is great. Staff very helpul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was overly firm and was not comfortable - felt like sleeping on a box spring.

    King room size was good. Very clean. View of park was beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    7.5
    Great stay at this central hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was noisy. You can hear the toilet flushing in rooms around you and you can also hear water running. Every time a door closed it’s was quite noisy.

    Great stay at this central hotel. Terrific for exploring Ottawa with its central location. The hotel was comfortable and the rooms in good condition. It’s not a luxury hotel but it was ideal for a short work trip. Very enjoyable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    Exceeded our Expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was All Wonderful!!!

    This was Christmas 🎄 gift n a getaway together being a tourist in Our Own City ! We loved the 2 nights at Lord Elgin ! Definitely will return 😀😀

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    8.8
    Historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated facilities

    Historical appeal, excellent central location, nearby free parking on weekends, nice fireplace in the lobby, Starbucks on site, room with beautiful park view

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    6.3
    Sub par
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom door in our room, which was a sliding door wouldn’t close. Rooms are small for price. Staff and customer service experience was mixed. Staff at restaurant attached were rude and ignored tables - had to go to bar to get to go bag after asking twice and even he was irritated We asked (West 45 or something) and food was terrible. Valet staff were kind! Front staff were kind in my experience but rude to partner.

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely space, lots of charming detail. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water from the sink was either really hot or really cold, unless I was VERY exact with the positioning of the faucet lever.

    The check in process was easy, they were friendly, the common areas were very handsome, and the room was pretty comfy!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Great spot and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Personal preference: bed could have been slightly firmer.

    The location, price, and recommendation from my sister led us to book a room, which was clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The staff were excellent, friendly, helpful, confident.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    We liked everything about the lord elgin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything about the lord elgin. Exceptional clean rooms and the staff were friendly and very helpful. I would definitely recommend the lord elgin to anyone staying in ottawa.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    Great stay. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We wanted to rent a movie but they didn't have any movie channels. And we wanted to order food in and couldn't find any flyers for restaurants. No worries though.

    The whole place was great. All the staff go out of their way to help you.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    8.8
    Clean comfortable and all you really need at a reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar was a disaster. One foot from door. Scotch was very expensive and only 1 ounce. Never again. Served in a kitchen glass! No class or ambiance.

    Clean comfortable and all you really need at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.1
    Dinosaurs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Advertising COMPLIMENTARY "high speed internet with streaming capabilities" is ridiculous. 0.1Mb/s is not high speed. It is a bit higher than dial-up, which was 20 years ago. And half the time I could not connect to the hotels wifi at all. This is in front of the parliament in the capital of a G7 country!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.2
    When we return to Ottawa, we will be staying at the Lord Elgin Hotel.
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking cost. I think that it would be an advantage to the hotel to include this service because I believe that people who stay will properly tip the valet service.

    The hotel suited the purpose of our visit. The central location of the city of Ottawa enabled us to enjoy our visit.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    6.3
    It was a nice hotel and good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too small with a King Size Bed...and the room was dark...

    Location and view were very nice. The staff were friendly and check in was seamless. Valet parking was ideal. Great modern bathroom!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.6
    A fine hotel staffed by great folks in an outstanding location within easy access of everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You negotiated a fabulous rate ! The room was tremendous value for the money. Gym was modest but fine. Staff were excellent. You felt like you were special.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Family Getaway - easy walk to Parliament
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were not a lot of family friendly restaurant options close by.

    The hotel had our room ready early, as well a Birthday card and treats for my husband.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were comfortable, rooms were very clean. Bathrooms were nicely updated with plenty of towels and toiletries. Location was within walking distance to lots of tourist attractions and shopping. Would definitely stay at Lord Elgin next visit.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    5.8
    Good facilities, poor value, poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had coffee to go from Bar and Grill in the morning. Two coffees for $10 seemed a little steep. Coffee was tepid and very bitter. We never finished it. When checking out I mentioned this to the front desk who said they could not reverse the charge. I'd have to go to the restaurant and get them to reverse the charge. A $500 stay .....what poor judgement not reversing the charge at the front desk, expecting me to go and to the restaurant to make my case....this is NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.6
    We were very comfortable in our room and all the staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really would have liked a microwave.

    Bed was comfortable, housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful, proximity to places we wanted to visit, view from room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is a nice central place to stay, but if you are on a budget would recommend staying elsewh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tiny room was not worth the price. Could have at least included daily newspaper and continental breakfast.

    We were not given free crossants. The location is very central and close to all the sites. Room and bathroom are very clean and bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    9.6
    In overall was a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant in he hotel need improvement in the food. Not much variety for breakfast and quality oy of food.

    The location was very good near or short walking distance of tourist attractions.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: