Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ambrose 3 stars

3422 rue Stanley, H3A 1R8 Montréal, Canada

#45 of 134 hotels in Montréal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 941 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant, we will stay there when we visit Montreal from now on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot of place to organize your stuff bu the floor. We handled it fine.

    The coffee and breakfast overall were enough to have me eager to return. We stayed steps from the front desk / cafe, and it was amazing to emerge from our airy/comfortable room, order a coffee and croissant from the super nice and extra professional staff, return to our little haven and feel like the luckiest people in the whole world.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Great location, cosy hotel and delicious breakfast but best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, cosy hotel and delicious breakfast but best of all - the staff. Sweet, professional and very serviceminded. Could not have asked for more. If I ever come back to Montréal, this is where I will stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    bed good, hotel nice, nice location, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the tea selection! was so poor! all kinds of weird 'fashionable' tastes but no proper plain black tea! if you want to cater to international guest (european), include at least a nice darjeeling or english breakfast in your tea list (sorry to say but earl grey is just another scented tea).

    bed good, hotel nice, nice location, friendly staff, otherwise great breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    An interesting experience in a older period Property, in a central location but needs upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities (hand basin, toilet) cracked, taps in shower falling off, very strange stair access, carpets needed cleaning or replacing on stairs

    Friendly staff, central location, clean linen, comfortable bed,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Except we didn't stay longer.

    Kimmi Anne greeted us and answered our questions. She even arranged for a meal delivery. (in French, which we do not speak) Our room was on the ground floor and was amazing! Big and beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and delivered to our room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    A somewhat simple but clean hotel in the heart of downtown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was sparse, and the bed was not the most comfortable in the world. The hotel itself makes a rundown impression. In addition, it was quite a trek to drag our suitcases up to the third floor. If you need an elevator, this is not the place for you.

    A somewhat simple but clean hotel in the heart of downtown Montreal. It is relatively inexpensive and close to pretty much everything. The staff was quite helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    4.2
    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were pubic louses in the toilette. I had to pay one night as deposit, yo stay only ONE night. I will never come back. The stairs need to be clean.

    Some decoration.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    It was the second time we stayed at Hotel Ambrose and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was the second time we stayed at Hotel Ambrose and the staff was really kind and friendly to us. They gave us a superior room at no extra cost. The room was really spacious and light and the bed was comfy. We also enjoyed the delicious breakfast at their charming café/living room and its great location (it's next to Montreal's Fine Arts Museum and to one of the main entrances of Mont Royal Park, and just a 15-minute walk to downtown and the central station. Our room was on the 3rd floor and there's no lift, but the staff offered to carry our bags to the room for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Charming, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was $20 a night- convenient: but expensive. The shower was odd. It was right in the room. You were totally exposed, and it was super tiny, it was not inside a bathroom. I’m not sure if they are all like that, but good to know ahead of time.room service was great- but we asked for extra sugar for our coffees each morning, and they gave us less and less every day. Less than a teaspoon of sugar for 2 coffees. I’m not sure why. Croissants were great- so was the coffee, however, my bagel was super dry and stale. Hard as a rock.

    Charming, great location. Close to station peel. very friendly, helpful staff. Café right in the hotel, so you could order breakfast to your room. The toiletries built into the shower were nice. Croissants and coffee were delicious. Seating areas were nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice location close to the Mount Royal, the fine arts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevators for bringing up the luggage, but the staff could change our room to a first-floor room. No coffee machine in the bedroom. Check-in deposit not possible in cash or with a debit card.

    Very nice location close to the Mount Royal, the fine arts museum, and McGill College. Beautiful building, old but very clean. Sound-proof rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Decent room just to spend the night and get ready for next day. Amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a few individual hairs in the unused towels cold floor, no slippers, be sure to bring your own

    We arrived quite late in the evening and were given a larger room, which was just right for two people, so I imagine standard room would have been a bit too small. The room OK if only need to sleep and get ready for the next day in it The breakfast is absolutely amazing, delicious coffee from freshly ground beans, plant milk options, well prepared matcha, tasty yogurt (dairy - non dairy not offered) with granola, avocado toast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Cute place, but get a room upstairs, away from the cafe, if you want to sleep in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was right next to the front desk and they operate a cafe there as well. As this was a vacation, we wished to sleep past 7am, which was made very difficult with the noise from the cafe. If you want to sleep in - request a room not on the main floor! Due to the age of the building, it creaks a lot, which wouldn't be an issue except that the cafe traffic and the family above us with an insomniac and rowdy child made it really noisy, even in the middle of the night.

    The staff was remarkably friendly and helpful. Cute little place in a convenient location. Parking is available onsite, but beware that it's in the alley behind the hotel and costs an extra $20 per night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    We had an early flight and had to leave the hotel at 4:30 AM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had an early flight and had to leave the hotel at 4:30 AM. The hotel arranged for a taxi but when it wasn't arriving we called the taxi driver who had "forgotten" about the appointment. It all worked out, but hotel should be certain about who they call.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Charming, relaxing, quiet, and super friendly...the perfect little hotel for a weekend in Montreal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is charming and quiet. The rooms are small but very comfortable. The staff is amazing...so helpful and friendly, and will go out of their way to make sure you have a good stay. Also the cafe downstairs is relaxing and has delicious food, which you can even order up to your room!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    We toured the city on a potential College tour
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was warm and helpful. Rooms were lovely in an older renovated brownstone like residence. Parking is an option and we utilized it to no end. Hotel Ambrose is an exceptional place with many extras in a central area to a wonderful city!! We will return. Recycled materials were used and we found that impressive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Small Hotel Treated Guests Like VIPS
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor nuisances - the toilet seemed to be a lottery - meaning that for every three times it worked- it wouldn't work once (mentioned on checkout - which they appreciated); I wish the vent wouldn't always have turned on when turning on the bathroom light - unnecessary noise

    Large Double room; lots of pillows; good easy to control A/C; amazing shower; hardwood floors; good number of sockets for your electronics despite it being an older hotel; the Staff was excellent (notably Izzy) but every member of staff I dealt with went above and beyond the call of duty without even being asked; excellent location downtown; close to Metro; based on price point and location, I would stay here again; IPads made available if you need a computer; alarm clock; phone

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    So many stairs! But understandable that there is no elevator.

    The staff were accommodating and friendly. The food at the cafe was excellent. The hotel had a wonderful history and is kept up really well. So close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel in an old Victorian house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no lift, but it wasn’t a big problem as we were on the second floor. Rooms are not cleant on a daily basis, only upon request.

    Charming hotel in an old Victorian house. Great location in a really quiet and nice area in downtown. There’s an underground station connecting to the main places of interest in Montréal next to it. The room was big enough and clean. The bed was really comfortable. The staff was really friendly and helpful and breakfast was really good. We really enjoyed our stay at hotel Ambrose, it has a very cool vibe!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Great staff who where very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately no elevator available and we had a room on the top floor (our first stop of our holiday so we had to take out all of our luggage)

    Great staff who where very helpful! Nice central location with good parking availability

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in a historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator, and the stairs are steep, so bringing your bags upstairs may be difficult The parking lot is very small, reserve your spot in advance

    Very nice hotel in a historic building. We enjoyed our stay there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    The bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were steep (not for old people with difficulty going up or down stairs). The bathroom is quite small but you got everything that's needed. The room smelt a bit of old smoke in the walls... I assume someone has smoked in there previously

    The bed was really comfortable. Breakfast in bed was available and great. Staff was really friendly. Location was awesome. The hotel itself is very neat and pretty and not as huge as many other building near to it. You feel happy to come back after a long day of walking in Montreal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Charming old Historic Hotel, feels like a oasis in busy town,tucked a way under old trees!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location was great. Downtown but still quiet and green .Taxis are 20 meters down the street, There coffee and teas are just wonderful ,served with a big smile.All the staff is so very friendly and helpful ! loved the small personal hotel feel. will stay there again for sure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    The rooms are cozy with private bathroom and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The rooms are cozy with private bathroom and air-conditioning (you will need it in Summer). The TV is huge and HDMI-ready, so you can connect your own device if you don't want to see their cable channels. The breakfast is amazing, not only the coffee and the croissants, but all the other choices. I would recommend trying at least once each of them. Staff is also very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed too soft. There's no elevator - again, I realize that's a risk you take with older properties, but was disappointed that were on the top floor despite bookings months in advance.

    Nice room. Good AC (always a question mark in older hotels), great shower/bath

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Hotel Ambrose has the Montréal Ambiance you will love.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One caveat though, three stories (plus 15 steps from the street) NO LIFT! But with the helpful staff, wasn’t a problem for my heart patient spouse. Just had to go slow.

    Lovely boutique hotel! Great location for leisure travelers with comfortable beds and relaxed ambiance. The staff is exceptionally helpful and accommodating. We arrived from a 8 day cruise and the staff carried ALL 6 of our bags to our third floor room while we were checking in! What service! They helped to carry the bags back down when we left, couldn’t ask for more!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location with off-street parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost $20 extra for parking, which was not clear when booking. The parking areas were quite dirty and full of trash, but at least were off-street. Kind of skimpy on pillows and towels.

    Great location with off-street parking. Interesting snacks available Friendly staff. Full size bottles of quality toiletries (to use, not to take).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The bed was super comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was super comfy. The cappuccino was the best. The breakfast was superb. We tried the pastries (had to buy a second chocolatin for the drive home), the eggs with soldiers and the Montreal bagel with whipped cream cheese and everything was so good. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Very satisfied and will certainly not turn down another visit here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accessing our room on the 3rd floor involved a few stairs, but I guess the little exercise was good for me Eh!

    It was pretty well placed to access the main city. It was clean, the staff were very friendly and very, very helpful. The style of the hotel was very nice. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, efficient staff and nice café area for morning coffee.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have a kettle or coffee maker in the room however and maybe access to more electrical outlets

    I liked the young staff; the autonomy when coming in after 11PM and or leaving before 7AM.; but overall more than satisfactory.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely property in a great location with friendly, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of stairs - not necessarily a bad thing, just be prepared!

    Lovely property in a great location with friendly, helpful staff. Great coffee and chocolatines in the cafe as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My experience in checking out and confirming the bill was a bit of a challenge and confusing to both me and the staff member.

    The hotel was not your usual hotel and had a french feel to it, making the accommodation feel special. The room had character to it. Climbing to the top floor with our luggage was a bit of a trek

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing for us. There is no elevator to upper floors. So carrying a heavy suitcase may be a problem for some. Staff will help

    The staff is so friendly and helpful. The room was bright and roomy the location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean, restful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are lots ofto ascend from street level, but this could not be reasonably changed.

    The food available in the coffee shop was limited but of excellent quality. The general ambience was refreshingly different from chain hotels. We were older guests, and the staff were energetically helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    A few days in Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs ! I know they warn you about them but still there are a lot of them.

    The cafe which does a great breakfast and the super helpful staff. The room was spacious with a comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Ambrose is a lovely boutique hotel with very friendly staff, and in a great location and fanta
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs were challenging as I had a knee injury that flared up just as I arrived.

    The staff here were very friendly staff, and the hotel was very comfortable. Highly recommend for a solo female traveler.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Booking confirmation confusing: Appears to include breakfast-$10 Value & lunch -$12 value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 101, right next to the dining room: Super noisy starting at 6am, every morning, until 10 am. Pounding of the expresso puck, every time someone ordered a coffee, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Young and hipster atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good.

    Great place, high quality/price ratio - if you get a good room. We were lucky enough to check in at a time when we were given a choice among 3 options, I think it it's quite exceptional so thank you to the staff! :) Very young and nice ambience, reception always manned by very helpful staff, often more than one since they have also a café right at the reception. Good coffee, we had breakfast there a few times. We absolutely loved our stay and would go back when in Montréal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    I have stayed here several times, and each time is great:...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One small thing: they don't seem to have a way to give you a wake-up call if you need one. But that is pretty minor compared with the gazillion great things about this small and cheerful hotel.

    I have stayed here several times, and each time is great: the staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel lobby and the rooms are quaint and yet dignified. The breakfast is great, the location is superb. No reason for me to look anywhere else for a place to stay in downtown Montreal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Would only recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceedingly small room was less than functional due to absence of ANYTHING on which to hang garments. Have never been in a hotel room of any size that had no no closet, rack, rail or hooks for hanging clothes. Also, layout of the minuscule bathroom was quite awkward.

    Window that opened. Location. Pleasant staff and ambience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    I had a very good time at the hotel and fell in love with its breakfast menu.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was quite cozy, but I wish it had a wardrobe or at least some shells to put the clothes on. Safety deposit box would also make it better. Yet these were minor inconveniences, completely understandable given the price.

    I absolutely loved the people working at the hotel - everyone was very helpful, friendly and understanding. Great experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    I’d definitely return but with specific rooms requested.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really didn’t like the superior price for the yucky room we were first given, behind the cafe on cafe floor. It wasn’t what I was told I’d have, which was supposed to be bright and facing the street. We were however moved to a lovely room upstairs and given complimentary breakfasts, so all was well in the end.

    I liked the parking in the back and the good coffee and breakfast cafe in the lobby. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Charming and Too Noisy for a Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was really surprised by the noise level in the hotel. I had booked my room a few months before my stay and requested a quieter room. On two of the three nights, there was excessive noise between 11 pm and 1 am -- this kept me awake and was not ideal. On the third day, the city was turning off the water for most of the day. While this was not of the hotel's doing, I was surprised to learn of this. I had to make arrangements to shower elsewhere, preparing for a significant business trip overseas that evening. While I appreciated being given a complimentary breakfast, I was surprised that the hotel management or owners would not offer some kind of discount that would suit barely sleeping for two out of three nights and not having water for the third day of my three-day stay. That being said, the staff did everything that they could to make me comfortable given things that were beyond their control.

    The staff is very professional, friendly, and helpful. I also appreciate the central location of the hotel and having a cafe on site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are a little bit old. Steep stars.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent location. Good prices and tasty food (breakfast). The room was small but it had all what I needed. No problem with WiFi. I am very stratified with this choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Delightful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked a magnifying glass in the bathroom to do my makeup. I would have liked to be able to control the heat in our room. It was not a problem because the staff turned the heat down for us. We do not like an overheated room.

    Almost everything about Hotel Ambrose was charming,except perhaps climbing 3 flights of stairs to our room.That perhaps could be classified as healthy and worth the climb. The staff were only too happy to carry our luggage up and down. The bathroom was fabulous,soaker tub and all.We really appreciated the use of beautiful biodegradable products,(liquide hand soap,shampoo,body wash,unbleached tissue and toilet paper) The bed was so comfortable,as were the pillows. The small cafe in the lobby was a delight.The coffee,croissants,soft cooked eggs:all perfect.. You haven`t had a doughnut until you try the doughnuts at Hotel Ambrose. The location is excellent.Taxi stand at the bottom of the street. The staff are attentive kind and very helpful. I will be booking at Hotel Ambrose on our next trip to Montreal and very happy to recommend staying here to our friends and family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful hotel in a great location! Very friendly and accommodating staff. Nice cafe for coffee and croissants in the morning. Did I mention the great location?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel with nice staff in an amazing city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located close to Montreal downtown. The room is well furnished, the bathroom is nice and big. Staff is very friendly (I assume, some of them are students from the University). The coffee-room at the reception is just a brilliant idea. The coffee is very good, the cakes are tasty. In the winter season, the price is unbeatable. In the summer, the room has to be booked in advance to have a good price, as Montreal is very popular (of course with reason). There is private parking offered by the hotel, but there are subway stations in walking distance as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    It was a pleasant experience, we will be coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. We only ordered a standard room but had a lovely surprise and got switched to the superior room. Beds were comfy the bathroom with very pretty. The front common area was beautiful with the plants , white and gold theme :).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location and staff really ice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the room for my daughter and the staff rang me to organize payment and were superbly patient as I was in meetings gs and they let my daughter check in even though payment was not yet through. Loved it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great staff, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no bedside lamps in the room, which was supposed to be their highest quality room--that was awkward.

    Great location, great staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, great price, awesome location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slippers for the room would have been a nice touch. And even though the room was pretty charming, some artwork on the walls would be a nice touch. The room was also fairly clean, but I think it could have used a little bit more extra attention on the floors.

    I loved the little cafe at reception. The price offered really good value. The staff also went above and beyond to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I was really impressed. This stay was one of the better hotel experiences that I've had in awhile. I honestly didn't want to leave at the end of my stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    A hidden gem full of character - both ancient and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the room - I know you could ask for a kettle but it’s nice to be greeted with that when you crash after a long journey and your room is on the top floor. The TV remote was unpredictable- I did read the instruction booklet and don’t usually watch TV but was keen to see Olympics. Also while the beds are lovely and clean the floors could do with vacuuming and the alcoves as you walk down the stairs revealed a lot of dust. I was eco friendly and only asked for my room to be serviced once during my stay - walking on grit and stones en route to the shower was off putting. Being a host myself these things are key.

    The staff are super friendly and the hotel is full of character. The upgrades they have made are in keeping with the character of the house and stylish. The breakfasts and lunches are delicious and the lounge or cafe area is very relaxed and welcoming. The location is perfect for McGill, not too far from the Metro and Mount Royal for lovely views and walks. There are museums and art galleries close by too as well as Boulevard Saint Laurent - a very long street with China Town at one end and the Italian Quarter at the other and lots of quirky cafes/ shops and wall art in between. I also love that they are stockists of local artists merchandise - much better souvenirs than the usual e.g. the cushions in the lounge area depict local road signs and transport tickets as well as the five roses flour mill.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Good location, nice bed, icy parking lot, bring your own extension cord
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The parking area and the walkway back to the hotel were icy and slippery. I asked the receptionist to take care of it, and he said he would. No, he didn't. It was a sensitive issue for us since my wife broke her wrist a month ago in a slippery icy driveway. This is a hotel: take care of your property not only inside but outside as well. 2. The room has no easily accessible electrical outlets. The room also has no coffeemaker, teapot or a trash can (there is one in the bathroom) - all easily fixable, one would think. A sliding bathroom door does not lock. Didn't matter for us but might for some other guests. 3. On our second morning, we wanted to have a quick breakfast and asked for two coffees and a couple of pastries. A very nice young lady took our order and then got engaged in a bill-related conversation with another guest and then started giving directions to yet another. Even though there were no orders before us, she was not able to get our coffee going for 6-7 minutes. We had to cancel the order and seek another place to eat. Question: how come she was the only one at the front desk if she was expected to do check-in/check-out, provide concierge service and also sell breakfast, make coffee, etc.? Staff your front desk, folks...

    The room was large and felt even larger because of a high ceiling. Nice clean bathroom. Very comfortable bed. They let us check out an hour late, no problem. In general, friendly staff. They make good coffee, and it's not too overpriced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Amazing, and will definitely come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more easily accessible outlets for electronics. This is very minor though

    Nice bed, good breakfast food— espresso and grilled cheese was excellent. Good location, and beautiful building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and very friendly staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is a little old and might need some improvements. But hey, for the price... Really can't complain.

    Location, location, location, location! Can't beat the price for that location! Staff is super friendly and helpful!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    The room was larger then I expected and quite comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were in the room right next to the lobby so it was a bit noisy. When you turned on the lights in the bathroom the light was bright enough that the entire hotel room lit up.

    The room was larger then I expected and quite comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the meals we ate there (breakfast and lunch).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.8
    Ok. But will not likely return. Not clean enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliess was definitely lacking, musty smell in bathroom. They keep thermostats at what feels like 12.0 C in the hallways, kept way too cold.

    Beds are good but cleanliness lacking. Staff is generally very helpful and friendly. Location is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Charming place for a stay downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water supply broke down a few times. We had a problem with our credit card but the staff wasn't very forthcoming in helping us with this.

    Lovely place. Good location. Charming and cosy. Nice people. Good, inventive and cheap breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    the hotel has a lovely atmosphere that brought warmth to our stay during montréal’s winter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hadn’t realized the parking costs would be so expensive, would have taken that into consideration prior to booking

    bed was very comfy, apartment was charming along with the hotel as a whole.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.0
    Maybe if it was cheaper. Not worth $169.15/day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Found the sink clogged, then the climate control didn't work. Asked to clean the room, made bed, but didn't clean the room. Then there was no hot water for bath or shower. Toilet clogged. Then there was no water at all because the pipes had frozen. That was supposedly the city's problem (it was really cold that day).

    Staff was friendly and tried to help, but didn't know how to resolve issues. Apologetic, offered a different room (declined) and free coffee/breakfast, then promptly forgot to make that free coffee. When it came, the coffee was actually pretty good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Overall, our stay was quite pleasant and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the noise from people on the shared stairs and above our room somewhat discomforting, especially during the 'quiet' hours. In terms of smaller things that could be corrected -- ensuring a thorough cleaning of the room, especially upon a new guest's arrival, and updating the fan in the bathroom so that it is both quieter and not connected to the light source.

    The location is fabulous! I appreciated the charm and unique character of the older building and how it has been updated. Also, it was wonderful to have a small cafe on site.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    I’ll be back to Hotel Ambrose ... thank you!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electrical outlets in the room were a bit sketchy.

    Everything was lovely and quaint. Great location. The staff were superb. I LOVED the avocado toast! Great coffee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Really Lovely and Unique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I believe that breakfast was included last time, but this time it wasn't

    The power went out for a few minutes in the evening but the hotel staff was so reassuring!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    Great $5 Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed is a bit too soft. It's an old house, so sound travels when people walk up and down the stairs.

    Central location but parking was unavailable when we got there at 7 pm. Booking.com did not give an option to reserve a parking space. The $5 breakfast was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice experience in a historical building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom solution not really ideal, it was placed as an additional box in the room. Although it's a historical building there are better solutions out there. The heating system was too weak for the size of the room

    Central location, friendly staff, nice old building

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    A great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me the stairs to the third floor was a bit of a hike - but then that's my age talking!

    The room was large and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and spacious. Most importantly, everybody, behind the counter, behind the cafe was friendly and helpful. I liked the fact that they have a 15 minute parking place in front of the hotel which allows the guest to go in, get registered and find out about the parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Overall it was fantastic. I had a great stay in Hotel Ambrose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overall was clean. The sheets were super clean. The only thing which was not very clean was the floor. There were some hairclips on the floor from the previous guest.

    The stuff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great. The bed was very comfortable. I stayed in a standard room. The shower was in the room which was a little strange yet confortable enough. Since it was an old building which has been converted into a hotel, I assume this was the only way to put the shower somewhere in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Fulfilled everything I was hoping for.
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would definitely stay again. We were visiting McGill and the location was perfect. Close to the school and right at downtowns doorstep. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed the staff, and the beautiful historic site of Hotel Ambrose. I hope we will be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Before we booked at Hotel Ambrose we were aware there was no elevator only stairs, so be wary!!! We ended on up on the third floor and some days after walking around Montreal for hours it was a push to get up those stairs.

    This was my boyfriend and mine's first trip to Montreal together. After driving for close to 11 hours we finally made it to Hotel Ambrose and we were quickly checked in and settled into our room. The next morning we had a phenomenal breakfast at the Hotel. My boyfriend and I are still raving about the flavours. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful if we had any questions. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to be downtown Montreal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Hotel Ambrose is at a very central location in downtown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Ambrose is at a very central location in downtown Montreal. The hotel seems to have been a house converted to a hotel and that gives it a cozy feeling. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly after I had some issues with my car. This was unlike any other hotel I've ever stayed at and I loved it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    We'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At first the accommodation seemed a bit austere, my daughter (age 18) said it was a cool vibe. The staff was warm and wonderful, the location perfect for us. Breakfast/brunch was excellent and I highly recommend the avocado toast. Excellent value - - we'll be back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    The beds were surprisingly comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were surprisingly comfortable. I had two great nights of sleep for my conference which was greatly appreciated. The shower was a little low as my husband is 6'5. However he managed during this short stay, would not be ideal for a longer stay. Coffee tasted great but a little expensive, the grilled cheese was spicy - a surprise with my breakfast coffee., would have appreciated a warning! ;) The croissant the next morning was a do over for sure! Overall, will rebook in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Elegant boutique hotle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't get a on-site parking, thought required. The backup parking is 5min walk, quite inconvenient in rainy days. Check in & out both took us quite long time, suggest to improve efficiency.

    Beautiful building, very near to Moun Royal, elegant surronding area. Facility are simple but elegant. Breakfast needs additional charge but tasty. And I love the smell of their liquid soap very much!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Charming hotel that was a memorable part of Montreal vacation experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were notified prior to our stay that the upper level rooms require climbing up stairs. As the stairs spiral up and can be narrow, the stairs could be a challenge for larger patrons or patrons with disabilities.

    Charming property. Staff was wonderful--friendly and very helpful. The staff at the front desk was happy to recommend dining establishments and assist with reservations; staff at cafe were also welcoming and made outstanding lattes. The room and property were very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Quirky hotel, but lovely to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs. Beware if you have heavy suitcases. Our room needed a bit of TLC ie the curtains had come off some their hooks, and the extracted fan( toilet) was very very noisey.

    Good location. Nice little cafe in reception area, good place for breakfast. Hotel feels very homely and the staff were knowledgeable and very helpful. The hotel is quirky.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    It was very suitable for my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had difficulty with the tv remote Wish it still had a complimentary breakfast but it does have a pastry shop in the lobby.

    Convenientlyl located. Helpful friendly staff. Room was big enough as I was only there to sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: