Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Met Hotel 3 stars

411 Columbia Street, V3L 1A9 New Westminster, Canada

#3 of 6 hotels in New Westminster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 450 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good price for Vancouver, comfortable room, location worked well for us (we didn’t need to be downtown), good restaurants nearby, convenient paid parking right across the road, nice old building, good WiFi. The Sky Train entrance was right next door. Very nice seating area on 3rd floor in common area. I’d stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to pick one thing that I didn't like, it would be the view. Nice big windows but no view.

    The location was really nice for walking about New Westminster. All the restaurants are close by as well as the market for shopping. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable. My experience there went above what I expected for the price I payed, well worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture and furnishings in room okay, but dated/worn. The desk and associated chair heights did not match up well-uncomfortable to sit at and write or use iPad on. Also, no breakfast included or readily available, as on-site there was only more of a bar than an eating place.

    Near a decent quay with a walkway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not available early when we needed. The room was dark. The area is noisy. The sink was rusty. There was a rust stain on the floor under the sink. Only one big towel. One of the pillow cases looked like it had old mold stains on it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the view from room 331 wasn't so hot

    the people at the desk were very helpful with directions. the T train line was very convenient to travel down to the waterfront. We loved the food and our waitress at the Met Bar and Grill.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was right over top of the patio for the Pub so it did get noisy at times in the evenings. Parking is always difficult in New West so having to park across the street in the public parking is just a reality, if you are out and about during the day it is difficult to get a good spot.

    The location of the hotel is good with many amenities very close. The room was large and had everything you need.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds felt like you were sleeping on rocks all night. The tv channels weren't very many. The cleaning outside my room smelt like wd40 which was very hard to breathe in, very bad for breathing. Very noisy room too with people in the bar coming outside to smoke.

    The staff were wonderful,.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no window or ventilation to open only a window airco that is noisy and blows hard When you don't use or need the airco the air quality in the room becomes very poor The staff must know this because when we checked in the airco was running on full

    perfect location downtown good parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel STUNK LIKE BURNING PLASTIC!The whole time we were there. There was a LOUD fan or something going all night. I shut off the air conditioner cause it was absolutely disgusting inside! It was black and my daughter and I having asthma I wasn't leaving it on😑 Woke up with the most horrific headache and actually puked before we left the room next day. My daughter did as well. WONT be staying there again.

    The bed was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave in room. Holes in blackout curtains ... room 440. The smokers outside the bar/ grill.

    Quick checkin. Great lounge area outside our room. Large ceilings. Comfortable chairs. Excellent shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find breakfast close by. Addition do a continental breakfast at the hotel would be a nice touch.

    Nice helpful staff. Very unique building and property. Clean and well maintained. Parking while not onsite is easily accessible and close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to use air conditioning in parallel with the heating, which was impossible to switch off.

    The location is literally few steps away from skytrain station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathrooms were not cleaned completely every day (i.e. trash wasn't taken out). The main issue was the room was very noisy from crowds on the street and the pubs. Ear plugs are needed. Parking cost is also not included in advertised price.

    The staff was very friendly and the location was very convenient for transit connections and shopping. Beds super-comfortable. It has high ceilings and some character so that was also nice. Wifi and atmosphere were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sky train and the patio attached to the restaurant were a little noisy, but other than that, everything was great.

    locatjon was great. Close to the sky train so we could go into Vancouver. Lots of food options nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets need to be changed and the water from the shower runs along the wall, and the drywall is totally coming apart and shredding from the water damage. The bathroom fan didnt work (we did let the front desk know, but we were there only 2 days, so it didnt get fixed while we were there). The windows do not open, but the A/C worked to dehumidify the room after we showered. The water pressure is great, but its those skinny low flow shower heads that just spray and kind of sting if you have the water too high.

    Location to the conference center is great. Staff is welcoming and friendly. Very unique top floor hallway with couches and chairs to hang out on in case you dont want to be in your room. With a skylight. Bed is a regular coil mattress, comfortable enough, and very crisp clean white sheets. Room has a fridge, which is always a bonus to me for drinks and snacks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv channels were very limited but if you're not in your room much that wouldn't matter. The noise from the road would bother you if you're a light sleeper.

    The location was good for the purpose of my visit. Sky train takes you right to hotel. Staff was friendly. The hotel was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That part of Columbia street is a little sketchy. I wouldn't feel comfortable to walk in that neighbourhood at night. The pub next door had a very good menu but as a woman alone I felt intimidated by the clients there and decided to have dinner elsewhere. The noise of the skytrain and party people didn't really bother me as I was tired but keep it in mind if you're a light sleeper.

    Staff was very friendly. Mattress and pillows very comfortable. Right next to skytrain station. Free coffee in the morning! Good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is very old and new carpet would be nice, but it was clean. The housekeeper wasn't the greatest. We did however mention this to the front desk and it was looked after promptly. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bar that is attached looked sketchy, judging by the people loitering on the street outside the door. However when we went in the atmosphere is friendly, the food is good and the prices are fair.

    The location was perfect for what we needed. The door to the sky train station is literally right next door. You can cover the city very well with the sky train and its very reasonably priced. The hotel is old but the water pressure was awesome and the beds were comfy, the air conditioner worked fine and it has an elevator also a nice sitting area outside the rooms. Right across the street is a perfect walking area located along the water. There is also a park with water fountains for kids, hammocks, and volley ball nets. The walking and play areas can be viewed from where you park your vehicle. Its not a ritzy part of town so we were wary but didn't have any encounters or problems.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet between hall and bathroom was frayed, accident hazard. Under heat register in bathroom was dirty. Exterior linen needs up dating.

    Staff at front desk excellent. Convenience was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed there for two nights. The room wasn’t cleaned on the second day and the garbage wasn’t taken away. The room and the hotel needs a serious renovation and update. It’s old and is not worth the money.

    The location worked for me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heat was broken or something so it got very hot in our room. The thermostat seemingly did nothing and the windows couldnt open for a fresh breaze. Made it very difficult to sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was right next to the sky train station which was very noisy and hard to get any sleep.

    nice set up outside of rooms. Couches, vending machines, microwave.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little traffic noise from the road but that’s what you get with booking a hotel that’s bang on the main road and next door to a Skytrain station.

    Location and comfort

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    is in the downtown core and there are many unsavory characters hanging round. Also the hotel is the beginning of the gentrification of the area so many old derelict buildings to walk past

    excellent staff and the place is on top of a skytrain station so very easy to get around

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the carpet either had a quick vacuum or missed. I talked to the day clerk about it and he was very good about it

    Location is perfect. Skytrain just minutes away, although paid parking is across the road it was covered and only cost 12.00. The staff are very friendly. The room was on the street side so no issues with noise from the skytrain. 15% off the pib food. The staff at the pub was excellent and the homemade burger and fries were the best I have ever had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was frozen when I arrived as the heat hadn’t been turned on, took a few Hours to warm up

    Great location, right next to sky train. Cozy little units

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two bathroom towels had been used before my arrival and the used coffee bag was still in the coffee machine. Even though the bed was made, I just hoped that the sheets had been changed.

    Quiet and central. Right by the sky train made my traveling to and from appointments easy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit to soft for us and there was some terrible strong odour of womans perfume in the closet i would recommend a carpet cleaning there. Also we would have liked to be able to open the windows as air got a bit stuffy in there (because of the perfume in the closet)

    Location is great and the view over Fraser was lovely. The fridge and the microwave was nice to have .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next door to the trains, expo line. Easy walking distance to local shops, close to the river. Cockney King fish & Chips are amazing, just a block away from the New West station :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the light rail station next door. Area unsafe at night. Arrived 11:33 pm, 3 minutes past deadline having called ahead and said because of the storm I'd be 15 minutes late. I was told that was ok. Building was locked up and after calling the after-hours number on the door I waited 15 min.in the rain on that dark sidewalk. The day receptionist finally showed up. It was nice of him to get out of bed but there should be night staff.

    Nice room, comfortable bed. Heritage building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service from bar/restaurant to hotel. Having to take my ice bucket to the front desk every time I wanted ice. Not enough tv channels.

    The view...the staff. The character of the building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No onsite parking.Paid Parking available across the street and open and it was raining. There really is nothing they can do about that...

    Staff and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the front desk staff went to grab supper without putting a notice and we were waiting there for a good 10 mins wondering. it will be great if she would just put a sign but she's friendly and helpful!

    bed is huge but the bathtub and bedding don't seem to be clean enough, however, you get what you pay for so it's as expected...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was way too low for my husband and me. The air conditioner was mounted in the window and let in sound from the skytrain.

    Close to the pier. Historic location in the process of being updated. Close to the skytrain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting could be better like individual lamps for each bed. We had two queen beds.

    The location was excellent for us - for sightseeing and visit to a relative in New Westminster. Appreciated the roominess, it was quiet. We had a room on the fourth floor to the street view of the water. Location at a sky train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had musty smell but windows don't open. Iron and TV didn't work. Bed comforter covered with slippery material so it slides off during the night. Too expensive for quality and service offered.

    Beautiful historic building, high ceilings, large common lounge on each floor. Good water pressure in shower and tub. Located near transport, river and shopping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very deceiving by the pictures. The hotel is right on the main street. No parking for the hotel guests other than city parking across the street. No parking for loading or unloading the vehicle as a bus stop is right in front of the hotel. The outside, main lobby and elevator are rougher looking. Once you walk out of the elevator it changes for the 4th floor. Not sure about The other floors. The room was decently decorated and clean. Definitely ipdated. The resturaunt is a pub and liquors store. No breakfast available. All Windows have bars installed. Surprised it's rated so high.

    The hotel is Right across from the harbor. Easy access to the walk along the harbor. The price was decent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms not very clean. Bedding had stains on it. Walls had stains as well. And not clean behind the night table. The vent in the bathroom had about an inch of dust and dirt on it. So much I didn't put on the fan. It was so dirty. As was the tile in the tub.

    Staff was great and friendly and helpful. Rooms a decent size and. Good to have a fridge and micro

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside is the bathroom. It is a little tired with mould around the seal on the bathtub.

    Have stayed before and enjoyed the hotel. It easy to get to from the Skytrain and the staff are always friendly apart from the bathrooms the hotel is good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shaun at the front desk was very helpful and a true pleasure to deal with the room was very clean and comfortable .And the location to the skytrain was perfect only a few steps away making for ease of travel very enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pub's crowds were noisy and rough looking. The night was full of police sirens

    Although it was way out of town, the Skytrain station next door was an easy way to get around . Their pub garden was a nice place to eat, and there was a waterfront development with restaurants and markets about 500 yards away

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice spacious rooms with a public seating area on each floor, perfect for reading and relaxing with friends. The hotel is half a block from the river and then it's a four block walk to many restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was horrible. I wanted to leave but stuck it out for the one night... gnarly place in a gnarly part of town

    Not much. Run down place in a grubby area. Staff disinterested and disorganised. Parking across the street and exhorbitant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a drunk hanging around the front of the hotel. He came in the building and went thru the door next to the desk. I was wondering what he was doing there and the desk just ignored it. Not a good thing with a seven year old there. The room had a heater cover off of it. Not a good look. They need to take care of the extra pillow. It is old and needs to be removed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was an extra.

    The young Irish girl was really kind and helpful. Perfect location, the metro station is in the neighbour. The room was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring a hairdryer, theirs wasn't adequate, and outlets were scarce. The train and other noise was quite loud, but we used the rattely AC as white noise.

    Lovely staff and very clean and comfortable. Train station was literally next door and there were a ton of interesting places to eat in walking distance. Nice size room and lots of space and inviting furniture in the sitting areas just outside the rooms. Wi-Fi was great as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We did not dine next door as it did not appeal to us. Street area poorly kept, The front door did not reflect well on the hotel (it is in poor condition)

    Front desk service, room service. and all staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food at their in house restaurant was not that great. And the windows don't open, which was a pity.

    This was our last hotel in a month of roadtripping through Canada. This was, by far, the nicest hotel of them all. Located on the main street of New Westminster and literally 1 minute away from the skyline. It takes a mere 30 minutes to get downtown. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from on the street, supermarket nearby and an in house restaurant where you get a discount for when you're staying at the Met hotel. (I do have to say the things we ordered were not that good) but for a relaxing beer after a day of activities it's great! The rooms were nice and roomy, enough natural light, nice and clean and very relaxing. The staff was very helpful and they did a good job in keeping us up to date and answering questions we had. All in all this is definitely a hotel I recommend staying at if you are planning on visiting Vancouver. It is not downtown Vancouver but you will NEVER find a hotel around this price range, let alone one that is this nice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC very noisy. Rooms to the backside face the Sky Train station which is 30 meters from the window and you can hear every train. Windows insulation is not up to standard anymore, what is one of the reasons for the noise. Also there is a pub in the hotel with outside seating to the backyard and quite entertaining music till late night, if you are a music loving late night owl ask for one of the rooms to the backside, if not try the street side which we could not try out. Unfortunately our daughter dropped a toy below the bed ... behind those curtains there were dust centimeters high from the past decades, I'm wondering if the vacuum cleaner ever reached the area. No parking at the hotel, need to park across the street at a public parking lot but for a fair price (10 dollars a night).

    Hotel is not close to downtown Vancouver but public transportation Sky Train is around the corner. Very friendly and helpful staff, the really was a plus for the overall impression of the hotel. Price was reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    THERE WAS SOME NOISE FROM THE SUBWAY BEHIND..NEXT TIME WOULD GET A ROOM ON THE FRONT STREET

    LOCATION WAS VERY CONVENIENT FOR US. THE ROOM WAS COMFORTABLE

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was really loud. Between being over top of the bar and the people bring very loud on the street outside the bar it was difficult to sleep. Try to get a room higher up and not facing the street.

    Clean, bright rooms, with comfortable beds. Nice common rooms with snack machines and microwave. Microwave and fridge in room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little noisy on the street below as people outside the bar to smoke (I guess) were loudish until semi-late.

    Great water pressure in the shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updated with paint, new bedspreads, the ceiling fan was so wobbly it made aweful sounds. People were allowed to stand directly in front of entrance and smoke while requiring us to walk through the smoke.

    Great old building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front desk/entrance was kind of small. Didn't have a recycling bin within the room. Some may not like the back rooms to be facing the skytrain station and you can hear, barely, the announcements and arrival of the skytrains but it didn't both me at all. It had a ceiling fan that wasn't working at the time. I wished that it had room service.

    There is a skytrain station right beside it and that was very important to me as I used transit the whole time I was there. The room had an air conditioner within it at a very hot weekend. Some could find it a little noisy but it didn't both me at all. My room had a good sized closet with a table and chairs and a nice sized desk. There was a number restaurants within a 10 min walk away. It felt like a pretty safe area to walk around at all times of the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit pokey in terms of the entranceway and foyer and the pub it is linked to is not the most welcoming for business travellers. But the staff are helpful and welcoming and the rooms good.

    Located close to Columbia Station so easy access with bags

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy at night if your room is at the back as the Skytrain track is just outside - however we were warned and could have had a different room.

    Very friendly, accommodating and helpful especially as we were on bicycles. Well situated next to the Skytrain for getting into Vancouver.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking near the entrance for check-in.

    This is an older hotel but clean and good value. The parking is offsite approximately a block away but is free as long as you have the parking pass visible. There is no place in front to park for check in. I had to park in a nearby drop off zone. Staff were very friendly. Neighbourhood is a bit rough at night but staff provided some guidance and also there is a security keypad for entry to the hotel after 11pm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With most hotels offering some kind of continental breakfast, it would have been nice to see this amenity available to guests since restaurants serving breakfast were not in close walking distance (especially for seniors or people with physical challenges).

    The staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. They went out of their way to provide specific information, directions, and recommendations for local sights. The location was perfect for our needs and allowed us to explore additional areas not previously considered. The room was clean, quiet, and everything was in good working order.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attached pub had no access from inside for patrons. Quick run, in Vancouver rain, of 8 meters or so to entry. Old area, opposite buildings showing age and neglect, so river view looking behind them and downhill not great, but may be better once leaves are on trees.

    Historic building. Lots of character. Wonderful staff. Sky train immediate access. Short walk past many shops to Frazer River quay and Market. Great pub with outdoor gardens. Room was very clean, though bathroom plumbing needs updating. Very quiet stay (Mid April). Restful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on the main high street in a transition area between the 'docks' and the 'regeneration' zone of new development condos. Being next to the SkyTrain station could be a bonus or a menace depending on your purpose. The lobby was small and lacked connection to the property's bar-you had to walk outside to get into the bar. Having said that, the hotel provided enough socio-economic balance to merit our stay.

    Historic 1892 brick hotel renovated to have very adequate and spacious rooms. My son loved the view of the SkyTrain Station and the train noise was a comforting bedtime soundtrack. I went to the bar/ restaurant and had some tasty beer, perogies and poutine served by very nice and attentive staff. The comfort of the beds made our stay. After arriving from the UK, we drove to the hotel from Vancouver airport in less than half an hour and the next morning it was only five minutes to Highway 1 which we took to the interior of British Columbia.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is seedy. I booked a deluxe river view room to avoid the train noise as recommended by other travelers. The room was dated and worn. There was still train noise, and the river was across the street so not much of a view. The hotel pub is too smoky to enter. Sleep was a challenge due to loud drunks in the street. The bathroom was clean but old and rundown. I kept my bags packed for a quick getaway in the morning, grateful to not be spending another night.

    Not much - other than it was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy because of the skytrain

    The sky train station was just outside the door.the staff was very nice and although the furnishings were a little rough it was spotlessly clean!val

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was across the street from sky train was very noisy till about 2am. No parking at hotel just a pay parking across the street,my vehicle is 8ft high and the clearance at parking lot was 7ft

    The room was good and the bed was comfotable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since it is an old property, there are few AC outlets in the room. Fortunately, there was an extension cord for the coffee maker that I used for my laptop.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard for my taste but linens and pillows were great.

    The hotel was very conveniently located for my purposes. And I was amazed at the value for the price. The staff were great. Parking was convenient and $10 per night. Ask for a parking pass when you check in. There are multiple restaurants with a block or two, Greek, Japanese, Grill, Subway, Starbucks and the bar and grill in the hotel. The bar and grill in the hotel serves pub type food like burgers, etc. but not breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a bus stop outside and a pub next door and there always seems to be cigarette butts and rubbish on the side walk! The pub was not noisy, and although I could see a platform from my window,the trains are quiet and did not disturb me at all.

    The Met is a quirky Hotel with metal keys for the rooms. Staff were friendly. It is different than the other franchise hotels. There is a sense of history! Situated on Columbia St right next to Columbia St, Sky Train station, and a short walk to New Westminster station(Or hop on the train it is the next stop from Columbia Station) where there is a Landmark Movie theater and shops like Safeway and restaurants. Across the st is the Fraser River.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being a hotel on the street, there was lots of talking outside our window but that didn't bother us too much.

    It was a convenient location to tour around downtown New West and close to lots of restaurants. The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel itself is much more attractive than the immediate neighbourhood

    Everyone I met from the desk clerk to the chamber maid were friendly and welcoming. The room was immaculate, quiet and comfortable. The price was great! I also liked the sitting area on the 4th floor, a nice personalizing effect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave in room the room was very cold even we have the heat in room the bed sheets were not clean

    I ask them to have candles in my room but my demand was not fulfilled

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noise from the trains and subway through the night do detract from a great night`s sleep

    great value, excellent location and the staff is friendly. Rooms are on the simple side but they do the trick. Subway station is right around the corner and the Quay is only a few blocks away.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the skytrain noise because its very close to Columbia station, you just need to sleep after the train stop operating. Or next time I will bring earplugs.

    Pillows are very soft, rooms are clean. I absolutely love this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise between rooms and the sitting area was high and went on for most of the night. It was New Years Eve so expected some noise but the walls are very thin.

    Very quaint, nice spacious rooms, comfortable bed. Great if you want convenient to skytrain and downtown New Westminster and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really well insulated windows, not against noise nor the cold either, or seams the owner doesn't cares Other then that a great place to stay

    Staff and location Clean place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level

    Our room was extremely noisy the window was facing the sky train, it was impossible to get a good night rest! Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear the skytrains running until about 2 am, but not overly intrusive or annoying unless you let it be.

    Bed was amazingly comfy and the room was simple and small but cozy.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: