Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4 stars

645 Howe Street, V6C 2Y9 Vancouver, Canada

#16 of 81 hotels in Vancouver

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 539 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Paid WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Old, but classy. Incredibly slow internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The in-room wifi was incredibly slow until I called up and inquired about it. They sent a technician to set up a wifi router inside our room and that helped a bit. He explained that the whole block and the Four Seasons across the road all suffer from the same terrible internet. That's nice and I empathise with them, but for AUD$407 per night (including taxes) I expect to be able to at least stream Netflix from my laptop.

    Very professional service from the staff. The room was old but quite classy and comfortable. The location was very centrally located with many great restaurants and shopping areas close by. The sauna and steam room in the men's change rooms on level 3 were very nice, although it would have been better if they had mixed sex facilities so my wife and I could go together. I think they only have a steam room in the ladies.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Wonderfully comfortable and clean and the staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above.

    Wonderfully comfortable and clean and the staff were lovely. Only one lift working the whole time we were there which was a bit of a nuisance and they added additional fees that were not explained to an already large bill. Would recommend but double check the price!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parts of the hotel looked old and really dated. The buttons in the elevator don't light up, causing a lot of confusion as to whether or not the elevator would stop on my floor or not. The carpet in my room was stained and the bed was not very comfortable.

    Good location. Staff was friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    nice place, good location, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 elevator was out if service, but staff did their best to help us use freight elevator if necessary pool was closed for chemicals the only time I had a chance to use it. May I recommend doing this after the pool is closed at night.

    excellent staff, everyone helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service .Extremely slow response to our request. Slow lift service.

    Friendly helpful staff. Room very clean and comfortable. Central location close to train statio for access to airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    dissapointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has two elevators , one not working to service 18 stories . Also my key did not work on multiple occasions , had to go back to the lobby / concierge each time . Long wait for elevator . Whirlpool not working , lockers actually filthy , weight machines broken . Run down hotel !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts need updating too slow and long waits staff did warn us about this

    Great location and staff were very pleasant and went out of their way to assist

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool disappointing.

    Good size room with comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facility. Great location. Have stayed here previously and would be happy to stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Good until the last moment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is incredibly slow and only one seems to work (10 minutes wait in the morning). However, this is only a minor point. Our stay was fine until the very end. When we left we had 4 bags between us, there were 2 members of staff at the front door and neither went to open the door or paid us any attention - although they clearly saw us struggling. One just turned away and walked towards the concierge desk. I'd offer to hold a door open for free if I saw someone with bags, but for a hotel that's nearly 500CAD a night, it ended our stay on a very low note gives the impression they don't care and doesn't really encourage you to come back.

    Excellent location, minutes from most of Vancouver's main sights. Big room, clean, good quality tolieteries. Shower and bath. WiFi worked well. We slept well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    We’d stay there again, compared to The Fairmont where we’d stayed the week before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts - terribly slow and jerky.

    The location, the staff, the bed, the size of the room and bathroom, the restaurant and the restaurant staff, the concierge was excellent as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a beautiful king room with a balcony upon arrival. It was my husbands birthday and the woman at the front desk nicely gave us the upgrade. The room was beautiful, the bed comfortable, and the location is right in the middle of everything. The food at the restaurant in the hotel was also fantastic. Just a great place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    2 days post a long cruise to see the city and wind down was made more enjoyable by staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a thing. It was all good.

    The restaurant/bar staff was fun and the front desk staff were very helpful and professional. The room was spacious and spotless. The coffee in the room was wonderful, better than any I have made in-room!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    beautiful hotel. great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    lots of stains on the carpet.minimal toilet paper in bathroom

    the front desk staff were wonderful. very polite. offered a free upgrade (which we didn't want/need.) we asked if we could stay on a high floor and he put us on the 17th! it was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location and great room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators are slower than some.

    Location is incredible but room was very quiet. Room had both a bathtub and shower. Very spacious rooms. Excellent pool and hot tub. Close to SkyTrain and buses. Tons of cupboards/drawers to store items.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 9:55 pm and the restaurant was closed. Bar open but no snacks at all available. Understandable but we didn’t want to go out for food and would have loved the bar to have an appy or two available.

    Very friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Excellent location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Would definetly go back to stay, a very classy place at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was offices and hotels.

    Room very classy, not just a box. Staff on door felt genuine, desk staff very pleasant. Bat woman trying to close the gull wing door on her batmobile was good for a laugh, takes all sorts!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Super happy with my stay here. Will definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In town for a concert. The room was lovely and staff were attentive. Literally two minutes walk to the rail, Pacific Shop.Centre and conveniences (ie liquor store, Starbucks, pharmacy, food etc) and an easy walk to entertainment venues.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall, very pleased with staff and property.
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some of the electrical outlets didnt always have power, including for coffee maker, and the location of outlets inconvenient and scarce to charge phones and laptop.

    Bed and pillows comfy. Staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Were looking forward to using the whirl pool and was very disappointing when we went to use it and it was out of order. Would of appreciated being told at the time of booking or at least check in.

    Very comfy bed. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    It was a good experience right in the heart of the city
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed that the hot tub was not working at the time of my stay and that there was no sauna

    The room was great big tub, patio, coffee machine and pet friendly. The staff was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, beautiful king size bed, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was quite weak and made it difficult with no cell phone access with being international guests.

    Perfect location, beautiful king size bed, very clean and the spa was a great luxury

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Convenient downtown location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like a lot of older hotels it has some signs of wear and tear or older fittings for example sort of a flimsy shower stall but it was all very clean and well kept

    Awesome downtown location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Really welcoming hotel in centre of downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was slightly chilly and I couldn’t work out how to get it warmer. The thermostat was so small and diffficult to read.

    Best thing was how friendly and welcoming staff were. It was really nice to be welcomed by all staff especially concierges and front desk staff. Rooms were spacious as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.4
    Unpleasant stay for terrible service
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk agents were helpless and unfriendly. At check in, the front desk lady had no greeting and acted like I owned her million dollars. There were two of us in the room, but there was only one set of towels. When we asked for more towels in the evening, the front desk had no idea where the towels were and asked us to wait til 7 a.m.. The front desk agents did not know the wifi code and send me to bell man for it.

    I like the cleanliness of bathroom and carpet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Easy walking to everything, good service, nice amenitites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was not overly comfortable. The chairs in the room were not meant for comfort - we definitely could have used an armchair or a small sofa. The shower was also not designed for larger people - the stall is at a weird angle, so the shower head only covers one shoulder. If you are a larger person, you cannot stand directly underneath the shower because of the weird angles. Also, the price of parking is ridiculous - $40 a night plus tax. And that's not valet! We were not told the price until we checked out. The parking garage is also extremely tight.

    The door staff and valet are wonderful and extremely helpful. They were always very friendly, eager to help, smiling and very pleasant, even thought they were very busy. We also liked the temperature in the hot tub because it was hot, and that there were complimentary towels and ice water.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    Love this hotel. Will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    City view, but not an issue for us.

    We like the furnishing in the room, old fashion charm yet convenience added with new items...Lighting great ! Classy, spacious bathroom. Location is good. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    excellent location near Vancouver City Centre Skytrain...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Weird policy with room precharging - just take note, that your card would be precharged +100 CAD/night for extras (okay, money you'll get back, but considering two weeks stay and card would be precharged for 1400 CAD more????? - never seen such crazy policy nowhere before, normally can imagine those let say 100-200 CAD, but this is really too much)

    excellent location near Vancouver City Centre Skytrain (Canada line) station, basically all Vancouver attraction within approximatelly 15 minutes walk. Bed is comfy, wifi efficient

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend it, but ask for a higher floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there had been bathrobes in the suite and we’d had a better view. 4th floor-view of brick wall of neighbouring building.

    The staff were very kind and courteous, the bed pillows were so comfy!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Chique, quiet large rooms, well designed, great outside environment
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A garden with tall trees and a heated pool 7 floors up in the centre of the Hotel was a delightful surprise. And because the rooms all face inwards onto this garden, the rooms are super quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    The king size bed was super comfy and the room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the elevators was super shaky and many times felt as if I was experiencing slight motion sickness. Luckily for us, the next day they closed the elevator down to be repaired. Unfortunately, there was now only 1 elevator for guests.

    The king size bed was super comfy and the room was spacious. Stayed on the 16th floor. The staff was great and friendly. Also, they delivered a complimentary newspaper to our door in the morning. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is great. Everything was just good and there is nothing to complain. My room was in good condition and I really like the view from my room on the 14th floor. Great experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    Boutique hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is nothing negative I can say about the hotel as it reached all my expectations and had a very nice and comfortable stay. I would consider staying there again for its location and comfort next time I visit Vancouver.

    The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is one of the smaller hotels within the vicinity, making it more cozy and personal. For its size, it offers a lot of services like a 24 hour bar/restaurant, gym and pool. Rooms are well-appointed and offer views of the city. It is within walking distance of restaurants, shops and other areas of interest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    One of the best in Vancouver.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was a bit slow and one of two is vibrating when stopping. A bit scarcely.

    Location is very good and staff are very friendly and welcoming. They upgraded me to the suit. The restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful weekend with full sun, and the Met was the perfect place to relax at the end of the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the elevators was a bit iffy. Very shaky and a bit frightening.

    Bed was very comfy, and the bathroom was huge and well equipped. Location is perfect for walking around downtown Vancouver.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Room is dated. Plastic Water Pic shower head - come on!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change my flight so only stayed one of two days booked. Hotel was not near full occupancy but I could not get reimbursed for unused second night

    Easy access from airport train and central downtown location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is excellent for downtown and west end tourism.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It didn't detract from our stay, but I was surprised the room was shabby - the carpet was lumpy and stained. We couldn't adjust the heat up or down, but only there one night so just lived with it.

    Excellent downtown location. The pool was great and the fitness center was well equipped but both rooms were dim and no way to brighten.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Probably wouldn't stay there again unless desperate for a hotel room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got there and it took 30 minutes to find my reservation. I had the confirmation text and email and the manager wasn't very helpful. This delay made us miss the beginning of our concert and my favorite song. They didn't give us the room we payed for which was a suite with a balcony. We got a standard room with no balcony and were told it was subject to availability. I didn't want to put up a fuss when we called since we were now running late. But we paid for a suite I understand there were no balconies left but give us the right room. The bathrooms were so dirty with mystery stains on the edges of the counters. I should of taken pictures.

    The location was central and the bell boys were super friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    It was a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevators were really bad another set of guess did the same thing I did and picked lessor of two evils. Found hair in bed and room had a slight swell.

    Staff extremely nice. the best was the valet.He was an older gentleman and was so sweet. I actually saw him run for my car which did bother me that he felt need to run that fast for my car but appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Met and would stay here again if I were to revisit Vancouver.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free Wi-Fi was not reliable. It often would not work or would be slow.

    The location is incredible and super convenient. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We were able to check in early and also get late check out (1pm). The beds were quite comfortable and bathroom was spacious. The indoor hot tub and pool were well heated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Central location, yummy restaurant, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms were spacious and bed very comfortable. On sight restaurant was great, food was delicious and very friendly and knowledge staff at dinner service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Great Hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel held a pending payment for the 4 nights as well as taking the payment. This restricted my Credit card by about $1100 for over 10 days until it was released. That was the only downer !!

    Great location, the staff were excellent, the room lovely. We luggage from the cruise terminal. No drama there. Loved it !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    The staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we did not like about the Metropolitan Hotel.

    The staff was very helpful. Room was very comfortable. Excelent location for all we wanted to do in Vancouver.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    The location is perfect, easy access to the metro, to buses...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, people at the reception should have been much more nice and kind, they were a bit cold and not precisely helpful. The concierge was better. The internet was not perfect. I think this hotel is a bit overpriced.

    The location is perfect, easy access to the metro, to buses and walking distance to main attractions. The bathroom is very nice, and having the newspaper at your door is a great detail.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    It was a good base to go around and see Vancouver.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Insufficient information about deposit the hotel was planning to take off your account on hold

    The concierge was very helpful in supporting our stay and even after

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Just a wonderful hotel. One of the nicest I've stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    Hotel located right in downtown, a short walk to the on/off trolley. Concerige couldn't be more helpful. Restaurant was great. Bathroom large and very well set up with fluffy towels and toiletries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Perfect location with a bit bigger room than others in the same price category. Quiet rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is in a perfect location for everything we wanted to do. Perfect location to catch the train to the airport. We arrived via Ferry from Victoria and bus which dropped us at the door. The Diva Barman was friendly and so were the front desk on arrival and the doorman and concierge at all times.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.7
    Hope they update this one soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shopworn carpet and furnishings. Very poor elevator service. Windows were very dirty, could not appreciate the view.

    Great central location, steps away from Art Museum, shopping, restaurants. Valet service very prompt and efficient. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel near Canada Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel is only four blocks from the harbor and a very easy walk downhill. There are two restaurants on the way and many at the harbor. Beautiful spot!! The room was to die for and very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    very nice hotel, very well kept
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only thing i didnt like about this place was that i couldnt connect my iphone to the speaker because the speaker had an old iphone dock

    everything was clean and classy, although the decor and facilities are old but they are very well kept and clean and i didnt mind the classic look at all!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Room and bathroom size were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall needs some updating. Most hotels seem to be a little more modern

    Room and bathroom size were great. Opting for separate shower and tub was worth it. Pool and gym are nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location but a bit outdated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It felt outdated. Pool looks like from 1960-ies with strong chloor smell. Elevator feels like from 1950-ies and bounces, not for those with fobies. Breakfast ok, very basic, nothing fancy and hunger goes away when there are little flies sitting on a piece of bread.

    Excellent location. Overall friendly staff. Not too much noise, a clean bed, decent shower and wifi works well in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    The location and service were great, and friendly staff members makes me feel at home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First, wifi was not very good. I had difficulties in connecting wifi in the room, and had to connect again and again whenever I moved even in the same room. second, the breakfast menu was so limited, I loved the staff members' service at the restaurant, but I think the hotel needs to include more in the main breakfast menu, as I have never seen there was no eggs in the breakfast buffet.

    Staff members were so kind and helpful always, so I was really satisfied with their customer service, and the location was great, so I was able to go to National gallery, nice restaurants and big shopping mall by foot. I love to stay again if I go to Vancouver.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Great Stay !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great great location ,,, your can walk everywhere !!! very clean and large size rooms . Found the staff was all very helpful with taxis, breakfast and dinner locations . I would highly recommend this hotel for business and pleasure .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Loved the pool and hot tub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the pool and hot tub! Easy to walk everywhere downtown. Hotel was the right size as easy to use and great access to Canada Line from airport. Bathroom was large and bedroom very nice. Wished we had had more time to spend there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin bed room and was told they didn't have them. When I showed them the booking form they miraculously found one. Mini bar and water not replenished during stay. The lifts were the slowest in history and waiting times were ridiculous but our room was up high and access to stairs difficult. Never stayed at a hotel with worse wifi. Despite complaints there was little they did or appeared could do about it. This is a hotel selling itself as modern but creaking at the seams.

    Girl providing cleaning and room service was pleasant and funny.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    In the heart of a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was very uncomfortable and pillows were not up to standard. When you turned off lights some of the electric sockets no longer worked. When trying to charge phone overnight very frustrating.

    Location wonderful, staff helpful. VERY quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Had a very lovely and an enjoyable tension free stay here. Happy with our choice of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Iron and ironing board in the room. Good quality Towels Very comfortable mattress Extremely courteous and helpful staff Use of Business center for free Free coffee and tea

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location. But check price..Very sensitive to events
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive, internet in our room was.at best average. Requests as per booking are not guaranteed..Quite a few guests had this issue.

    Location, clean and good service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    A most pleasant stay at the centrally-located Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just one thing: The price that we pay should be a little more 'precise,' i.e. if possible, it should include the taxes, etc. I didn't know that it didn't come with the breakfast, which was very sad. So, my mom and I just ate out most of the time (plenty of good restaurants/fast food places nearby) or brought something in from the previous night.

    Excellent location (two blocks away from the famous Robson St., 1 block from big department stores and in fact Pacific Centre is right across!!, plenty of diners nearby within 1 block, 1 7/11 about 2 blocks away (with at least one poor homeless man) & 1 block from the Art Academy with a Monet Exhibition--too bad I didn't have a chance to attend it!), excellent room with everything imaginable (including morning newspaper delivered to the door room!) with spacious & clean 'washroom,' excellent fitness with a good pool & hot tub (too bad I didn't use the pool & tub) + good sauna & steam room, very helpful concierges (Rob & Doug were extremely informative & efficient), efficient front desk staff AND good in-house restaurant named Diva. What more could one ask for??

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Great downtown location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom lighting could have been brighter.

    Fabulous location for shopping, eating and sightseeing - everything pretty much on your doorstep. Easy to get to from the airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    We felt pampered!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is expensive but downtown Vancouver is pricey so it can't be attributed to this hotel.

    The pool was divine....it felt like a luxury location with the atrium above. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful...that includes all departments.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Hotel stay near cruise port
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Who told was pricey, however, expected to pay due to downtown location

    Location was right downtown, very close to the cruise port. Was able to walk to the cruise ship from the hotel. Hotel also one block away from a subway station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was looking right in to other buildings. Not allot of privacy when the curtains were open. I guess that is expected from inner city apartment

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Location of the hotel couldn't be better. Very clean room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Good location, nice staffs, comfortable bed. I will return next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like all of staffs. They are nice. And the bed is comfortable.

    The staffs are friendly. When I requested an extra bed. The hotel provided it for free. It was surprised.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    if my wife and I visited vancouver again would be happy to stay at metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cereal bowls were a little on the small side , I guess it's what you are used to

    staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble good location clean rooms except for a little indiscretion when we arrived in the room,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cant think of anything.

    I liked that the staff was friendly and helpful. They had a very nice breakfast. There was a small but lovely patio option on the street level. There was an intimate lounge space although we didn't use it. The location is superb. We were a group of 22 friends, 11 couples, leaving for 2 weeks in Alaska, so our departure could have been chaos with the number of people and the amount of luggage but doorman made our departure seamless. Our room was lovely and comfortable. The staff was very professional and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Cozy and comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is well-located. The room is neat and comfortable. There are lots of channels to choose from on TV. Despite its relatively size, the gym is equipped with basic work-out facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Restful sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator took too long so we tried to take the stairs but the door to get on the pool floor was locked with keypad.

    We felt special to be upgraded to a king size bed and i loved the layout of the bathroom (so luxurious) and the presentation of the meals at the restaurant were gorgeous (our server Mandy was super friendly)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Clean and convenient. Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is expensive for breakfast and service poor. Plenty of eating choices nearby. Great family Vietnamese cafe down the hill, inexpensive hearty and wide choice of Viet and western, do not be fooled by looks. Good service, went back a few times.

    Location, easy walking to Gastown and to the Cruise Terminel. We walked down hill rolling our baggage to the Terminel, easier then the traffic congestion by taxi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Responsiveness of staff to questions/concerns. Location made it easy to get around the city. Close to restaurants, Canada Place, hop on hop off bus, etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Great downtown Vancouver hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We arrived tired and travel weary after driving around British Colombia for ten days. We arrived early, around 1-00 pm. Absolutely no problem, our room was ready...thankfully. The reception staff were delightful, and the porter was very sweet. We had a rest and then headed out for some lunch. There are plenty of good restaurants around. We would recommend this hotel and we would stay there again if ever we return to Vancouver.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    The Metropolitan offers excellent value for money before departing on cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find fault. Served purpose for stopover before cruise.

    Very nice hotel with excellent value for money. Close to waterfront , so handy for linking up with cruise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Still our choice in Vancouver!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's all good!

    This is at least our third stay at The Metropolitan. It is stylish, has attractive and comfortable rooms, is close to the cruise ship terminal at Canada Place, across the street from 4 Seasons at half the price with a very responsive front desk. And the restaurant/bar is a nice onsite feature. We arrived in the morning from our ship. They were saving an upgrade for us, but we really needed access then as I was recovering from a cold and needed to rest. The upgrade wasn't ready yet, so they gave us a standard room, but sent up yummy chocolates as an apology. Location is great. Near Art Gallery of Vancouver and many excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator/building was a little noisier than would have been preferred.

    Service was great (staff accommodating) and the place was very clean. We were in a spacious suite on the top floor. Fantastic location and the best price downtown for the night we were there. Breakfast at the Diva was very good. We had an excellent experience and we would consider going back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Bed was extremely comfortable and the location convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely comfortable and the location convenient for our visit. We found the Diva restaurant reasonably priced with great service and delicious food.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: