Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5 stars

1155 Sherbrooke Ouest, H3A 2N3 Montréal, Canada

#24 of 134 hotels in Montréal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 676 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Will surely come again and recommend to othters.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the room could have been slightly bigger.

    The bathroom and the toileteries were of excellent quality. the room smelled good. Ice machine was working well. fantastic location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less construction all over Montreal!

    The service was very attentive and helpful. We stayed in a great room. 1104. We enjoyed their bar service and had very good Sunday brunch. All aspects of our stay was stellar. We liked the more formal amenities of a downtown business luxury hotel but not too stuffy. Less touristy than Old town location. A block from Peel Street Metro with easy access to Old Town and most other areas, 3 blocks from Crescent St activities and museums.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.4
    Random extra charges
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged twice. And my colleagues (3 of us on business trip) got several extra charges, watch your charges, there are random extra charges, e.g. Got charged daily overnight parking, didn't even have a car, and never used parking.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Sofitel Never fails For comfort and Class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If we are traveling and there is a Sofitel in the city, we always try and stay there. This was no exception to our past experience. Amazing service, comfort, and location. All of our needs were taken care of, the room was exceptionally comfortable, LARGE, lovely, and clean, the amenities were first rate, the service and staff were exceptionally accommodating, The daily breakfast is always a treat, especially if you need gluten free options like me, but a treat for any food lover.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    I don't normally repeat hotel stays, but I made an exception for this one. Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Valet parking isn't cheap but that's the norm. No swimming pool. Gym was a bit limited.

    The room was spacious and clean. The checkin/checkout process was very smooth and the staff were very pleasant to deal with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    The room was extremely clean and the Concierge staff went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a superior room, this is there standard size room which is not much bigger than the bed.

    The room was extremely clean and the Concierge staff went out of their way to be helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.5
    Good base for three day trip to Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (4 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower noisy and took long time to get warm. Breakfast good but expensive compared to what can get near hotel

    Bed very comfortable Great location could walk everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Always happy with my stay here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym is very small and not equipped well. However, the MAA club just around the corner has a $15 day pass, and it is excellent.

    I stay at the Sofitel Montreal often. The staff are excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    A fantastic experience. Cannot go wrong with staying here. Great location, amazing rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    Rooms were impressive and large. Toilets were clean and had amazing amenities. Bed was incredibly comfortable. Staff were incredibly helpful and went above and beyond to make sure you had everything you needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    If I not have to be in that hotel I will try another one.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting time

    Nice staff for taking care of my car that much bad experinace with check in and out waiting more than 10 min one person handle all issues other walking around

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.0
    Location of the hotel is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel cleanliness. Hotel staff were not friendly.

    Location of the hotel is great. Right on Sherbrooke street with easy access to downtown and public transportation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely recommend this Hotel to family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little crapped.

    Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Sufficient towels were made available. Staff were very professional, friendly and courteous. Breakfast was extremely delicious and delivery was prompt.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one strange experience where housekeeping called us when we had the do not disturb sign up because they wanted to clean our room? Just a little strange. Also, while the location of the hotel was ok, it was a bit far from the tourist locations and you do have to catch a taxi everywhere, particularly in winter.

    The concierge team was amazing and patient with all our questions about the city and really helped us plan our trip and activities! The staff in general were lovely and helpful also.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    4.2
    Bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude, they made a mistake on my bill and wouldn’t correct it. The hotel was not that central and was expensive for the mediocre rooms. If you are going to pay that price, keep looking. There are many better hotels in Montreal.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.9
    Beds are so comfortable, the a la card breakfats is amazing...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed to modify my stay for just one day and day didn’t accpet . I stayed one night and paied for two nights. The hotel is so expensive to what you get. The gym is so poor. You have better options around

    Beds are so comfortable, the a la card breakfats is amazing and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Our stay was pleasant, comfortable and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smaller than advertised. Rate was advertised on Booking.com with the price being “for two nights” but after checkout, my credit card reflected that the price advertised was PER night- very misleading.

    Accommodations were made for allergy to feathers. Staff were all very friendly. On site bar/restaurant was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was amazing, as was the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast was amazing, as was the bed. Very close to the centre of Montreal, the staff couldn't be more helpful. Room was a good size and was very clean. There was a good range of options for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely, good value, luxury feel with not high cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy mattress, being charged for a piece of fruit.

    Friendly, professional staff, very helpful. Nice room, smallish bathroom but lovely. Bed was so-so, mattress not great. Food and service, lcation were all top notch!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (4 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the service, both in the restaurant & the check in desk should be improved, both in terms of speed & the attitude of the staff

    comfy beds & fine premium linens

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Pampered luxury in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. Everything was spot on.

    This is a luxury hotel where everyone is made to feel special. The staff are excellent in all departments. Our junior suit was excellent. From a food drink point of view the breakfast, dinner, and bar food were excellent with a very relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (4 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    House keeping should be aware of number of people in room in order to provide sufficient amenities (slippers, bottled water etc.).

    Central location. Nice products in bathroom. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Only had an overnight stay but Hotel met usual Sofitel expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major. Check in felt a bit rushed but courteous. My Accord membership was not noted - it was the end of the day so staff maybe had had a hard day

    Bed was super comfy and dinner and breakfast were excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    We had a corner room and it was much smaller than our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a corner room and it was much smaller than our friends rooms and we all paid the same price. We tried changing but they said they were sold out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small too expensive

    We spend a fortune on this room it was extremely tiny - at no time could we both be in. The bathroom there was no floor space the room was too tiny very u comfortable we had a king bed there wasn’t space to move around we certainly could not have anyone i the room room with us to visit It was supposed to be a luxury hotel - our pillows were polyfill cheap pillows we had one that recklessly feather Never again will I use booking.com I go taken too expensive never

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Very classy hotel with excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (4 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent room and very attractive bathroom with separate glass enclosed shower. Top notch door people, concierge, registration, room staff, and hosts, bartenders, wait staff in Renoir Restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Great city to visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed at the Sofitel last year and was given a bigger more quiet room. This visit I received a smaller room and it was a bit noisy.

    Very clean and great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a very central location to tons of attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lounge and patio were under whelming and the service was slow. The breakfast was sub-par and way over priced.

    The room was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    A good hotel for a short stay in Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a larger room .

    Superior Room was rather small but well appointed, clean and comfortable. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful Hotel but not reaching its potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As you can read a lot of positive things about the hotel, but for some reason it doesn't live up to it's full potential. There were to many small errors. First a room where someone had smoked, the second room had a clogged toilet which was not solved by it's personnel after our first call. Too long wait in the restaurant, etc. Small errors but combined it was our least pleasant stay during our trip.

    One of the best hotels in Montreal. Great room, beautiful restaurant, amazing breakfast, friendly personnel, and the list continues. The hotel is located in a beautiful part of the city and if you don't mind the walk everything is within 30 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Our room on the 7th floor/back side of hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wish the lobby and bar had more character. You cannot put anything in the mini frig.

    Our room on the 7th floor/back side of hotel was exceptionally quiet and insulated. Bliss! The suite was worth the extra splurge. Slept very well on the down pillow top mattress. Fresh flowers in the room and a candle were esp nice touches. Beautiful marble bathroom. What this hotel lacks in personality/charm, it makes up for in being a very solid and clean hotel with great staff. We visited our son at McGill and this is an ideal central downtown location to walk to campus/shopping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable room poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed having paper cups for the coffee and tea in room facilities. Could not fit ups under coffee machine to make tea. At the price of the room there should be crockery cups at least and only 2 tea bags per day supplied. Not up to Sofitel's usual standard of hotel. Service in restaurant very average.

    Walking distance to most attractions. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Vanity mirror in large bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Great experience and definitely worthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We might drop one of our own shower towel in the room, but we didn't receive any call or email. Maybe they just thought we don't want it anymore.lol.

    This is the best hotel I've been to. There was a discount when I booked the room. This room is pretty big, the bed is comfortable, and the washroom is neat. There were paintings and photos in the room, and a Bose player which is pretty awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    The heating/ac controls were managed by the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating/ac controls were managed by the front desk. We were not able to set temperatures ourselves we had to make a call. Very odd for such a modern hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a huge party going on in the hotel ballroom, and our room was right on top of it. The music was extremely loud, and we called to complain 6 times to the hotel management that evening - we were unable to sleep because of it. Our complaints were not acknowledged by a manager that evening. The following morning upon checkout the staff at the front desk were not very apologetic either. The overall room wasn't dirty, but it was outdated and the couch in the room was dirty and had cigarette burns on it. Upon check-in they said we would have a 'mountain view' room but this was definitely not the case, as all you could see was the kitchen of the apartment across the street.

    The room was very large. The location is not the best, but easy to get a taxi from there. The gym isn't terrible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    It was easy to discover down town Montreal on foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The brunch experience was awesome. The restaurant staff was very attentive and made me feel cared for. When you are traveling alone, dining can sometimes be uncomfortable. The receiving staff made me feel welcomed from the moment I stepped out of the taxi to checking in and beyond.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Made our stay in Montreal very easy and we loved the location next to McGill and Fune Art Museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were explicit about our breakfast order it was never delivered correctly. Very willing service but hopelessly disconnected.

    The croissants were not good. We liked the bar and the reception area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Great Sofitel hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NADA

    Love love love this hotel. You are given total freedom from check in to the check out. No pressure to get people to carry your bags. They charged my car although at 110V. It is amazing. I will surely go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Gem in premier location in Montreal
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. Very nice hotel, sleek design, valet parking, good reception, great restaurant, even though expensive, 2minutes walk to McGill University, very clean and comfortable bed, pillows, sheets, everything. Bath room is gorgeous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Friendly, efficient, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, efficient, helpful staff. Concierge recommended excellent restaurants for both lunch & dinner. We could walk to restaurants; easily access Le Metro for places further away; and walk into Mont Royal Park. Great location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    Would not choose to stay there again although the personnel and service were excellent.
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our two room suite the bathroom area was approx as large as the two rooms put together - so not the best design I have seen. Free standing cupboards and not purpose built ones! You needed a stool to see the contents of the safe! You had to phone to reception to get them to change the temperature of the air con- one minute too hot another minute too cold!

    The position.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    First class hotel, Heart of downtown Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small which was ok for our honeymoon. No tub in our room. Wonderful shower though.

    Well worth it if you can afford it. Staff was amazing. Our room was cleaned twice a day. Definitely first class.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Excelent overall experience for a reasonable price considering the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that we could tell.

    This hotel is 100% in every way. Great service, great staff, clean and an overall good feeling just being there. Obviously a well managed place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    concierge staff were extremely willing and capable of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beers really shouldn't cost $16.00 plus tax and gratuity. I am comfortable with upcharges associated with nicer places but the lounge prices are punitive. Consequently we relaxed at other nearby sites on Peel Street.

    concierge staff were extremely willing and capable of assisting on terms of reservations and advice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Luxurious Bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price. By the time you add all the taxes, the price becomes too high.

    Everything was lovely. There was soft music playing when we entered our room. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The shower was fantastic as was the view. We liked that we could come and go with our car. The valet were very attentive. When we departed, they had put bottled water in our car and cleaned our windshield for our drive home. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a very good location to walk to many venues. I also liked the toiletries and the Nespresso coffee maker in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice, but sadly not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit cramped, with bathroom doors opening into closet doors. Would have liked a top sheet instead of just down comforter, as room was quite warm. We were under the impression breakfast was included in our package, which it wasn't. Dining room very expensive. Street noise very loud all night.

    Our room was comfortable and clean, but not what I would call "superior". It was rather small. as was bathroom. Bathroom clean and modern, but small, with no place to hang anything up or set anything down(small ledge around sink only). I think it was not a good value for what it cost. The location is good, and staff wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.3
    First Experience at Sofitel - Pleasantly Surprised
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights flickered when dimmed both in the bath and at breakfast, and were quite annoying. Although the check out staff duly noted the complaint, there was no attempt at recompense.

    Location excellent, near McGill University. Bed linens were clean, soft & crisp. Renoir Resto dining was superb with friendly service, although the waiter at dinner forgot to bring a second glass of wine until asked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not get wake up call. Breakfast coupons only for one of us. The staff said the king sized room was booked for only one even thought they clearly saw both of us. Room did not seem to be vacuumed daily.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Golden mile, gold stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a deal breaker, is the lack of a pool.

    Attentive staff from outside to inside. Beautiful touch of ice cold bottled water in our car every time we got our car, and housekeeping was essentially invisible except for the fact our room was in immaculate condition every time we returned (how did they know when we weren't around and to be able to complete their tasks before our return?). Wow!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Location,cleanliness,mini bar at room and most of the stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor fitness and view,unfriendly and rude Mr.Maxime on reception but other stuff very helpful and pleasant.

    Location,cleanliness,mini bar at room and most of the stuff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Sofitel Golden Mile - recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a terrible experience at the Restaurant, found a living insect in my salad.

    Location is excellent, staffs very friendly and the facilities are good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge,William, absolutely made our trip. His knowledge of Montreal and willingness to spend time with me to hash out the perfect itinerary was incredible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in an historic city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The dining room on the expensive side that one would expect in a very good hotel. The strong American dollar is very good for us Americans, not so great for the Canadians.

    Extraordinary help from the concierge staff. Helped arrange a 3 hour tour that is worth taking They have a bar/lounge area where you can get good appetizers/fruit platters/salads.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Staff made the stay exceptional!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City of Montreal doing water line construction! Water shut off for hour or so! Minor inconvenience.

    The staff from concierge to desk reception, cleaners and valet were outstanding!! I font mind paying extra for a hotel, or room service and when I get the quality of customer service I received from the staff at Sofitel, it makes me want to visit there again! Well done by all!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Great Hotel - excellent location - excellent facilities and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That one has to leave at some point

    Great Hotel - excellent location - excellent facilities and rooms - great breakfast selection and always very nice presentation and fresh - Lunch and Dinner also very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last time,when arriving by car. The valet helped with luggage. This time . Had to drag luggage into the hotel lobby. Also. Requested City view well in advance. Was told I would have to wait 30 min. Chose not to.

    Friendly staff. Great location. Restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.2
    Back to the Sofitel because I love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV kept going off Floor was not vacuumed well

    Bed extra comfy.. breakfast delicious ( Continental) staff was really nice and effective.. Room service was quick. Loved it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    6.3
    Sofitel fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I checked in I asked for a quiet room, but was disappointed to discover the room they chose for me was next to the ice machine mechanicals and across from the elevators, when I asked to switch they begrudgingly moved me to a room across the hall behind the ice machine. This is a hotel for young, fashionable people not us middle aged ordinary people who just want a comfortable, quiet hotel stay. I also found the facilities a bit run down for the price. No business center with computer access. Room service prices were astronomical. SofitelI wouldn't stay here again.

    The beds were comfortable. The valet was courteous and accommodating. Excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.2
    Sofitel Show & Tell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was an open air vent directly above the bed that caused a significant draft, which got chilly at night. We'd suggest putting some mesh over it to even out the flow a little. Not a huge deal. Just a suggestion.

    Just about everything was perfect. Staff was helpful. Valet parking was prompt. Had a nice view from our room. Great bed, sheets and duvet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    Perfection personified
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    While the hotel property was just lovely, and in a great location, the staff made our visit perfect, and I do not use that word lightly. To a person, the staff was extraordinary -- well-trained and professional, and above all, thoughtful and kind. We will stay here again, without hesitation.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Top notch staff and awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping wasn't as good. They did not make our baby's bed after the first night, and didn clean one of the trash bins.

    The staff were extremely helpful and always went the extra mile to attend our requests. Location is a big plus.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.9
    Needs renovation and more competitive price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price! Room and facilities really not worth this price, lobby looks plain and not up to 5 star rating, breakfast not a buffet with poor service.

    Location, bed and bathroom comfort.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Great deal for a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, the weather could have been better! Seriously, I don't have any complaints. The rate was spectacular given such a fine hotel.

    Terrific location, beautiful rooms, helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    hope to stay again on another visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we scheduled a wake up call but it didn't come through. luckily we were awake in time on our own.

    pillows are the best! Staff at front desk were exceptionally helpful and pleasant also concierge and door men.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    Montreal Memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were a little small, but well appointed and comfortable.

    The restaurant had amazing lattes, and we loved the hotel's central location. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel. 5 stars well deserved.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed and linens were amazing and Renoir restaurant was fantastic. Super central location within walking distance to many things and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. LOVED this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    Location close to restaurants, shipping, Bell Centre, metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (4 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately only 1 towel was replaced and no house coats were left in the bathroom on our last night. Not sure why there was an oversight!

    Location close to restaurants, shipping, Bell Centre, metro stations.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.8
    Bed was comfy but check- in a mess !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't check in until 4:30 we had to wait in line for two 40 min sessions.Management should have been on top of it with an explanation and maybe a free breakfast or something . Felt sorry for the staff who had to deal with all the it ate visitors They handled it very well

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Two hours after we left the hotel and got gas we realized...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two hours after we left the hotel and got gas we realized that one of the parking people had scraped or front bumper and scratched the side of my Lexus. I do not recommend valet parking. It cost about $100 while were there and have about $2000 repair to be done.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    5.0
    Sorry, nothing we can do....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I first entered the room, the carpet in most of the room was wet, squishy. Leak from bathroom? They had no other rooms. Not a nice stay; not returning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    Sofitel at a luxury price. Sadly, not a luxury experience, except for the excellent staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffeemaker in the room. Astonishing room service prices!! Tired, stained furniture and carpeting - not a luxury hotel expectation Air conditioning in first room was not functioning - after many calls, I was moved - very inconvenient when traveling on business with limited time

    The location and the excellent, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    7.1
    Walk, don't Drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Road construction made access to/from hotel very difficult. I did not know they could squeeze a king size bed in to the room size we had? Very tight. Cafe scores low on ambience.

    Close to downtown, museums by foot. Staff from reception to bellhop all exemplary.. Morning coffee excellent!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Tried the Ritz down the street and they were booked. The Sofitel was half the price and a room was available. Great value. Also while researching the hotel someone commented the rooms were small. Not true! They were on par with most of the nicer hotels.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Our 2 day stay in Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we called the hotel to cancel a traveling companions reservation prior to traveling. both reservations were under my name. the hotel told us there was only one reservation booked. booking.com sent an email saying we were booked for 2 rooms 3-4 days prior to trip. i called the hotel and they said we only had 1 room booked. after arriving at Sofitel 2 rooms were still booked. the miscommunication cost us. the cost of a dinner in the dining room was not a good value.

    The building and rooms were very clean. it is comfortable and in a great location. i would stay at Sofitel again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    Most days while entering the front doors staff were close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most days while entering the front doors staff were close but did not open the doors for us, even going in in front of us. It happened frequently during our stay.That was really bad for such a hotel brand.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.9
    Gourmet stay with average accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Infrastructure not really well looked after. Various light bulbs burned out. A little bit messy behind the reception desk.

    The food side was real (French) good. Breakfast as well as dinner were first class - service included!

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: