Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Moraine Lake Lodge 4 stars

P.O. Box 70, T0L 1E0 Lake Louise, Canada

#2 of 10 hotels in Lake Louise

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 73 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about this property. The views, the gorgeous room, the bed, the restaurant. It was so comfortable, spacious and there was a high attention to detail with fixtures and decor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    The lodge is riding on its great position and good dinners. Otherwise it is overrated and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch required queuing with day visitors at a cafe facility for cold sandwiches as the stove was broken for weeks. Tea time was poor as was breakfast choice and quality

    Great setting with excellent dinners. Rustic comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place to stay for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately breakfast service was chaotic and we had to ask repeatedly for missing items.

    Beautiful location and lovely accommodation. Loved the log fire. Guided walks were excellent as was the evening talk we attended. The food was of a very high quality and the menu varied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    We stayed at the private cabin with a king bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much place to dine around this area. The restaurant downstairs is the only option which is a bit pricey. Reservation needed. (Food and service were good though)

    We stayed at the private cabin with a king bed. Perfect room with a perfect view. Enjoyed our evening by the fireplace every day. There was a bottle of red wine in the room as a complimentary. They also offer a lot of activities to do. We've joined guided hiking, afternoon tea, and free canoeing. Especially, canoeing at the morine lake is a 'must do'. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Loved it. Hope to return soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was exceptional.

    Wonderful & comfy lodging w/large, great soaking tub. Excellent dinners & great setting in dining room. Breakfast buffet was superb w/many choices. Provided a nice card w/champagne for our wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    The visionário of the Lake from our cabine Window esse a deram.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Canadians Sleep too early.

    Specialy the colour oficial the Lake Moraine, the mostrar beatiful in Canada. JJ the manager (?) ego received us. The quality of the cabine. The Donner quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    The log cabin was beautifully designed, both spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitresses at breakfast were so grumpy we thought. The hot food was only lukewarm and the water for the tea was only warm so it was impossible to make a decent cup. Bit disappointed with breakfast to be honest although the choice and the dining room was good.

    The log cabin was beautifully designed, both spacious and very cosy. Loved the log fire and the view from the cabin. The complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch. Very friendly greeting on arrival.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Best place I have ever stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a touch too expensive

    Wonderful lodge, excellent staff, great location and very private. This lodge was perfect and allowed great access to moraine lake, yes it is expensive but it was worth the cost to me

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Overall it is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't like the limited choice for lunch - 1 deli, where the food is prepared first thing in the morning for the whole day, all the visitors to the lake go to it and the prices were high.

    Overall it is amazing. The views are spectacular, the trails are great and the cabins were cozy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    A perfect picturesque location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location Food excellent Staff very friendly and nothing was a bother and they were very professional It was our anniversary when we were there and they went out of their way to make it extra special Would certainly recommend it for a couple off nights to get pampered in Beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Luxury at 6100 feet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moraine Lake is very busy. The tour busses and camper vans arrive early every day during the high season. Don't expect solitude.

    One of the best views in the world from this property. Great trails nearby, canoeing, friendly staff, and tasty meals. The Lodge provides guests dedicated parking so you don't have to fight for a spot. Loved the stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.1
    Best part was the location which was wonderful, right on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly tired, particularly bathroom which needed updating.

    Best part was the location which was wonderful, right on Moraine Lake, utterly beautiful, with amazing hikes and mountains surrounding you. The Lodge was a perfect base for the Lake and mountain setting. We had a lodge right on the lake, so best room of the hotel for position. Restaurant dinner was delicious. Staff were delightful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    This is paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception and check in/out a tiny bit clunky...but no big deal.

    Moraine Lake is one of the most beautiful places we have ever visited. Being able to stay at the lodge (open only June to October) is a privilege allowing you to have the idyllic surrounds to yourself when all the day trippers go home. The lodge is very comfortable and designed to take in the magnificence of the place whether sitting on the little balcony, gazing out the picture window from beside the fireplace or in the dining room. There are wonderful walks from the lodge but some are challenging...the resident naturalist does guided walks three times a week. The young staff were lovely. Unlike most other places, the gift shop had really good merchandise! If you can, stay at least two nights. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    An amazing stay in the Valley of the 10 Peaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfection is difficult but this Lodge gets close however, a small table in the room would be very helpful for putting the kettle and coffee machine.

    We liked the hospitality, the quality of everything, the amazing location, the restaurant - dinner and breakfast. In fact we really couldn't fault it. It a more expensive place but absolutely value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    This could be heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't imagine that anyone could improve on any aspect. I only wish I could afford to stay longer.

    Excellent food, the best staff I have ever dealt with in a hotel, and a truly unique location with breathtaking views. I especially liked the lack of cell phone service and no tv. A good book in front of the fire is always preferred.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Like a postcard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very pricey, but you're paying for the location. During the day, bus loads of tourists arrive, so it can become a little crowded.

    Getting the lake to yourself in the evening was excellent. The complimentary canoeing was great fun too. Food was excellent, although again, pricey. Complementary tea/coffee/cookies was a great touch. We'll be back!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    Just loved everything about the Moraine Lake Lodge!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was just wonderful. The room was decorated perfectly and everything they offered was just great. We went to a talk on Grizzly bears given by Nadine which was informative and FUN. We also enjoyed our canoe trip on the lake. Wish we stayed longer!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    9.2
    There will ALWAYS be a reason to come back! Breathtaking beauty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cabin is small and that would be my only negative - the bathroom was compact but efficient and there was not much walking room between the king bed and the wall.

    What a location next to one of the most photographed lakes in the world! It was such a treat to wake up and look out the window and see those mountains and the beautiful teal blue lake. The fireplace was well used during our stay (in late July/early August) and it made the room even more cosy. But did I mention the sitting area and fireplace??? My favorite spot to keep warm and read while my teenage son slumbered away in the mornings. Would definitely recommend and I will come back again to enjoy the lush landscape and the great staff. The cafe was great for grabbing coffee and sandwiches before our hikes. We ate the first night at the restaurant. The food was excellent but too expensive to make it a habit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.2
    Great stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall facility is overpriced as everything seems to be in the Lake Louise area. The crowds are also pretty overwhelming during the day.

    The facility and location are excellent. We ate several times at the restaurant and the food and service were very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    Breathtaking beauty on your doorstep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms offered coffee and tea making facilities but there was nowhere convenient to use them.

    Wow! We were surprised to find that this was the only option for staying right on Moraine Lake, and so glad that it was. The location is stunningly beautiful and once the day visitors have gone, those staying at the lodge have it all to themselves. Our room (Room 5) had a stunning view of the lake that looked like a photoshopped postcard. The rooms were finished beautifully with a log fire and a real sense of privacy. The restaurant was expensive, but the food was superb. Guests have complimentary access to canoes and the Lodge offers free evening information sessions about the local wildlife, and guided nature walks as well. We particularly liked the peace and quiet of this location which made the most of the natural surroundings. This lodge would not suit those looking for loud music and 24 hour entertainment.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and cabins. The guided hike was fabulous

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Our experience was delightful and one of the most memorable parts of our vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    You cannot experience Moraine Lake in a more stunning way. This property is excellent and stunning. Incredibly clean and luxurious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    4.2
    disappointed
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were far too small and of below average fitout for the tariff charged.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Superb location , the Lodge we had overlooking the Lake was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to improve on during our stay

    Superb location , the Lodge we had overlooking the Lake was just awesome....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -0-

    Cozy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    A bit small room but very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit small room but very comfortable. Everything is awesome!! Next time i'll be there, i will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Breathtaking view from the room, helpful staff, outstanding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breathtaking view from the room, helpful staff, outstanding location Overall stay was superb nothing to complain

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful spot Moutain air
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vending machines. Poor and expensive selections in dau restaurant

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Comfy bed and lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many tourists coach loads turning up at 7am

    Comfy bed and lake view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    So nice to be there in the morning and not have to fight the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very pricey!

    So nice to be there in the morning and not have to fight the crowds for parking. Also, the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Fabulous!!! You have to go!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely fabulous lodge. Fantastic location, scenery, staff and food. Awesome!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.2
    A truly unique experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    My "Happy Place".
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was PERFECT. The view was PERFECT. The staff was PERFECT.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Courtesy of staff, spectactular views, the Canadian Rockies at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location - beautiful! Cabin #18 was great... Dinner delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    View - was wonderful!!!!! Staff was very friendly!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful views, excellent access to hiking trails. Forget Lake Louise, stay here!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Worth the price for a special occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible scenery; terrific staff, delicious food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.1
    Awesome location and loved complimentary wine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are way off a $700+ a night service. Really disappointing after what Canadians elsewhere offer

    Awesome location and loved complimentary wine!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.8
    Nice place and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Cabin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed at queen room is too soft.

    Nice place and location

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: