Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Motel Des Pays D'En Haut 2 stars

1140 route 117, J0T 2N0 Val-David, Canada

#6 of 8 hotels in Val-David

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 311 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Super value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coat hooks and toilet paper holders would be nice inclusions.

    Super value. We had low expectations at this price point but it was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Overall it was a good stay. For the price it is a good deal.
    • Family with young children
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room smelt like smoke even though it is a non smoking room. The washroom and shower were a bit old and outdated. Also, you have to ask the front desk if you want a hair dryer

    The room was nice and cozy with a cottage feel to it. There was a fridge and a microwave which was great. We had a really nice electric fireplace that really warmed up the room. Nice tv with quite a few channels. The bed was really comfy and the wifi had an excellent connection. It was also nice to have a light free breakfast each morning. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    The bed was soft, the room smelled good and had nice rustic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee could have been stronger.

    The bed was soft, the room smelled good and had nice rustic wood furniture. The free continental breakfast was good and had fruit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    Location, breakfast included, staff was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath and Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms weren't so clean. Dust on the floor, hair that wasn't ours, and whenever we used the hot tub something came out of the holes, making the water bizare, as if it was leftover crease from other clients.... expensive for what it really it is.

    Location, breakfast included, staff was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    Not the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flies all over the breakfast! The breakfast was quite basic in the first place but it was made a lot worse with an infestation of fruit flies. The owners acknowledged the problem but didn't do anything about it. Revolting!

    It was the cheapest accommodation we could find, we're on a tight budget! Rooms are alright, very dated but had the amenities you'd expect to find in a hotel room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    Family friendly motel with great pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was basic with bread, bagels, cereals and fruit. Coffee and juices were great. Adding yogurt and cheese to the menu will make it better. Suites need modernizing.

    Family friendly motel with great pool. Staff were professional. Linen and bedding were very clean. WiFi was great. Beautiful trees and flowers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    The bed was comfortable and the linens were of good quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toasters took way too long to toast the bread and there was a long wait for a new batch of coffee. They need to invest in better quality toasters and an additional coffee maker. My TV did not get any stations and as it was late before I realized it I couldn't call about it. This should be checked when the rooms are prepared for a new guest. The room had a bit of a humid odour.

    The bed was comfortable and the linens were of good quality. Fridge and microwave were in good condition. The staff were very friendly and the room was pretty clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    The room and the breakfast were good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Regular Quadruple Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They lost my reservation and we didn't get the room I booked, with 2 double beds. There was one double, one single, and they brought in a cot.

    The room and the breakfast were good value for the money.The bed was comfy and there was a heated outdoor pool with hot tub.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Good value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Regular Quadruple Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets lining the verandas were shabby and grungy, downgrading the appearance of the motel.

    The staff members were very friendly and helpful and the coffee very good. Perfectly adequate breakfast, readily available Wi-Fi and an unexpected heated pool with a lovely view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Good value, no frills, short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Regular Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast area is a bit small when everyone is in there and we could have done with getting more info on activities etc. from the admin. These are not heavy criticisms though.

    Good value, no frills, stay for a night or two. Well located so easy to get around and explore the Laurentians.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.4
    Shower did not work, except that all ok
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did not work!! I consider this as a really major problem. With taxes, paying 90$ and not being able to take a shower is really not worth it :(. I wish they would have considered giving us a rebate when we told them instead of just saying oh ok we will have to repair it :/.

    Staff was very nice. Confortable bed, good cofee at breakfest. If the shower has worked it would be great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.3
    We didn't need more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone was not working... we were told someone would come to fix it but no one ever came. We found hair in the bath so we cleaned it on our own and there was dust behind the headboard of the bed and behind the nightstands.

    Very easy communication with staff. Got a fireplace and a gigantic jacuzzi. Close to everything. Access to a fridge and microwave.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.3
    Great for the price: causy, clean, extreamly pleasant staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Regular Quadruple Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very basic: coffee was great, juice, fresh fruits, toasts, peanut butter, jam, some cereal. No any eggs, meats or chees.

    Staff was super welcoming! Amazingly pleasant sisters! We had to contact them number of times and they were extremely helpful! Beds are so great - we slept like babies! Very clean and spacious room with extra hide a bed with set of bedding. We came with two little kids for two days and had enough space for four of us. Had a very comfortable stay :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    my opinion,,,a little too expensive for the place, the breakfast was minimal,,,no eggs.

    The room is comfortable and quiet,,,no noise from outside even if it is just beside the road. the bed and linen was excellent,,,the decor is old but clean. Ah,,,The receptionist has a big smile and is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    7.5
    Room was clean all in it's place no complaign.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Regular Quadruple Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pool should be take cared more the grass surrounding and to clean the water of the pool more often

    Room was clean all in it's place no complaign. Breakfast is continental they could add croissant another sort of breads, yogourt and boiled eggs and the most important the coffee , they should come and ask if we like to have more coffee even if we were late it means just for another 10 minutes they could of done more coffee. In all it was family and friendly place even my pet was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    4.2
    Friendly Small Business
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Regular Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The grounds were in disrepair. The furniture is old (no flat screen!)

    The owners are young and we like to encourage small business.The friendliness of the owners eager to please. Old but clean. and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    5.8
    not good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was uncomfortable,the air conditioning barely worked and the complimentary breakfast was nothing to write home about.

    the therapeutic bath was nice. The room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.9
    This will be a future Trans Canada pit stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garbage bins by the main office and the bathroom needed a spring cleaning.

    Comfortable clean bed , the pool provided an end of journey exercise zone and the price was excellent .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.9
    Good location for very cheap so adjust your standards and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Regular Quadruple Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could definitely use some improvements but again, it was super cheap so I don't feel it's really fair to complain.

    Good location for very cheap so adjust your standards and expectations. Very friendly staff and overall quite nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.4
    The room was not finished.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath and Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not finished. The bathroom had wires sticking up out of the floor. My he paint job was pathetic. If you are going to paint...do a good job....perhaps they're re not finished and we're going to put up crown moulding...who knows. ...I rathervpay a little more and gets room a whole lot better!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    3.8
    Not going there anymore unless they clean up the place....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Regular Quadruple Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold everywhere in the room,very bad smell....pool not clean not heated like it said on the add, breakfast was only bread, bagel Apple oranges

    Staff was nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    6.3
    Ok for 1night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Removing the spider webs in the room and outside near the air conditioned ,very dusty in the room.The grass was not cut,knee high weeds,pool was dirty ,huge open crack on the side of the pool. Not one chair had moved and every thing is scattered all over. No up keep on the grounds at all,beer caps mixed in the stones and other junk, a paving job would do some good as the road in is very bumpy.

    Bed very comfortable ,sheets towels very clean,staff was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are nicer than the photos. Breakfast was more than expected. Great value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Regular Quadruple Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outlets loose in walls and hard to access, not the cleanest,(especially under beds)

    Cute property, nice staff, nice little breakfast area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.7
    The price was unbeatable and it was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are shoddy and cold, especially the floor.

    The price was unbeatable and it was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    We had a nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud noise from the heating system,They should repair the sidewalk and stairs not secure dangerous.

    Close to every thing, clean room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    Quiet, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Facilities are old but adequate

    Quiet, comfortable and clean.Pleasant staff. Stayed5 nights and breakfast was always the same.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice owner. Good and clean room. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.5
    The place was very good and the bed perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath and Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was very good and the bed perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    Ok for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs repair.water leaks when you have a shower. Needs updating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.6
    Rooms were moist, showers were disgusting and the pool was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Regular Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were moist, showers were disgusting and the pool was very dirty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    biking Petit Train du nord
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    windows do not open, breakfast too white (no dark bread)

    young owner very kind and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.0
    location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Regular Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tidyness

    location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    I love it ... will stay it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath and Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can lost but that is the gps problems

    The beg and the spa was amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Handy to skiing destination, economical, clean, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Regular Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Handy to skiing destination, economical, clean, comfortable and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Definitely worth the stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath and Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should update the pictures on the website they did not do justice as the place looked amazing when we got there, super friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.9
    Good budget motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Regular Quadruple Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the bed Poor breakfast (well for the smsll money we paid for the entire stay i suppose it was ok,, no big complain )

    Price and staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.3
    A fair price and quiet convenient location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Regular Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Free breakfast. Pets friend

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    5.8
    Good bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    about 30 flies and other bugs flying in the room

    Good bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.1
    Clean and recently painted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Regular Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovations on room and bathroom weren't finished

    Clean and recently painted

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    6.3
    The bathtub in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath and Fireplace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not consistent for the high price of the room. Doors not wind proofed.

    The bathtub in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    7.5
    We found out the motel in last minute with a nice price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The smell of the room is not pleasant... will need some fresh pain

    We found out the motel in last minute with a nice price. The place is clean. The room is good size.staff is excellent

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    5.8
    Value for money and staff was very freindly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was broken and there was a spider hanging in the bathroom. The ceiling had insects on them. Having said this, the staff was very freindly and a comfortable room. It says 22 miles but actually is little farther from Mont Tremblant.

    Value for money and staff was very freindly.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Large room, quiet and the staff was very welcoming and tried...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no shower in the room.

    Large room, quiet and the staff was very welcoming and tried their best to accomodate clients. Very good breakfast in good company.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    I liked that santas village was just at the corner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds are extremely uncomfortable i woke up both mornings with back pain... One morning no hot water, barely any tv channels...

    I liked that santas village was just at the corner

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    9.6
    The fireplace was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dated bedspread.

    The fireplace was lovely. The tub was huge. The staff was sweet as can be and there is a set mirror on the ceiling! Exceeded our expectations for the price.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    7.5
    the location was excellent for our purposes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    cold floors, not enough extra blankets for the beds the mirror suspended from the ceiling does not make the motel feel like a place to bring a family

    the location was excellent for our purposes the room was very clean, the beds were very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    8.8
    The location was spot on in Val David, easy to find, near a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was very simple, hot coffee and tea, cereals, bagels and bread. No protein, so wasn't enough to fill us up before a day of riding, and started at 8, around the time we wanted to be arriving at Tremblant.

    The location was spot on in Val David, easy to find, near a lot of excellent local restaurants. We arrived after 11pm, didn't realize the front desk was open until ten, but called up and they came down and let us check in anyway. Excellent room considering the price!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.6
    I loved the fact that the staff allowed me to borrow a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was great.

    I loved the fact that the staff allowed me to borrow a kettle and anything that i needed.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    10
    Great friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    5.8
    cost efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is a spa tub but no shower - can be incovenient

    cost efficient

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again if we ever traveled in that area.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    10
    the room was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    problems with wifi

    the room was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff. Very accommodating. Good location. Nice continental breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    6.3
    Personnel was very nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cigarette smell even when i requested to change rooms. Mould in bathroom.

    Personnel was very nice and friendly. Location and surroundings was super.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    shower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    7.9
    The staff was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff was very nice!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    8.8
    atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    7.9
    staff eager to please.
    • Family with older children

    Could air bedspreads

    staff eager to please.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: