Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mount Royal Hotel 3 stars

138 Banff Avenue, T1L 1A7 Banff, Canada

Review score

Based on 9 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    10

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant. Perfect location. Fantastic staff! Oh and free parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was fantastic, clean, well designed. Jamie at the front desk was amazing! Loved our stay. Be sure to head up to the roof to check out the spa and bar :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful rooms, comfortable big beds, guest robes are a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still a few renovations going on. One spa looked like it needed a clean.

    Beautiful rooms, comfortable big beds, guest robes are a nice touch, great location for shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little expensive

    The hotel is completely renovated inside and everything is brand new

    Stayed in July 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    8.8
    Staff helping out in lobby were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Construction noise in lobby. Bad attitude of male clerk behind front desk.

    Staff helping out in lobby were excellent. A great location. Nice accomodations.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    6.7
    Beds were comfortable with new linens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Windows were not cleaned. Facing parking lot where there were many tour buses, which caused significant noise with engines running. Hot water tank was unable to keep up with demand at one time. TV was analog with poor quality.

    Beds were comfortable with new linens. Room was a decent size. Provided closet with iron, iron board and hair blow dryer in bathroom. Staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    4.6
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was dirty, elevator for the way to get up to the fourth floor was really weird. Front desk was not very friendly. And the restaurant entrance in the lobby made for a crowded lobby

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    8.3
    Really like the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing that I can think of right now,

    Really like the location. The staff is really friendly and always right there to help. Rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    5.0
    Right down town so no driving anywhere, ever thing was with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room had no window that opened, the air conditioner would not come on only the fan. So the room was hot and stuffy slept with out covers and sweated all night and this was in April. Can not image it in summer and we paid good money for this.

    Right down town so no driving anywhere, ever thing was with in walking distance. looked down on main street and had a fairly good view.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    5.0
    Check-in was pleasant, location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was tiny and the shower was cold. Noisy at night. Thankfully we were only here for 1 night. Would not recommend this hotel.

    Check-in was pleasant, location was good.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    9.2
    Best location in Banff for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found the pillows too thick. The bed was soft. My husband liked it, me not so much.

    Best location in Banff for our needs....Shopping. Mathieu at the front desk was amazing. The view from our room was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.2
    Best situated hotel in Banff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Majority of window views in the hotel capture the busy street or the majestic Rockies...mine captured a shiny new air handling unit? Say was that an Engineered Air model??

    Best situated hotel in Banff

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    front desk should know about the Jasper travel. i.e. there was not a single place to get a bottle of water or to pump gas from banff to jasper. they should educate people that before they leave they should have enough gas in the vehicle and food and drinks.

    everything

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    9.2
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a little tied but generally clean. Great central location on Banff's main street. Walk to restaurants etc.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    5.4
    The location is hard to beat for Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are very warm (despite turning the AC on and leaving a window open). It is also very noisy on weekends with all the bars letting out at 2am (even Sunday night). The one thing I forgot about this hotel was that parking is terrible and very few spots, i had to park over 2 blocks away.

    The location is hard to beat for Banff.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    10
    I liked the location of our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I liked the location of our room. Great views. Friendly staff. And I like that we have the option to save resources and not have the rooms cleaned if we don't want to while we were there.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    6.3
    Very friendly and helpful front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was not clean at all. Staff at the restaurant could have been friendlier and more accomodating

    Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Affordable room rates

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    7.9
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Some areas were dirty. The rooms were very warm even for winter. Made it uncomfortable to sleep. We met a few people in the hallway that said the same thing. But we found this with other hotels in Banff. Need to bring a fan.

    Location was excellent. HavingTony Roma's restaurant is great.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    5.0
    There are dirt under the cushion on the chair, a lot, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are dirt under the cushion on the chair, a lot, which makes me doubt the cleanliness of the room. The sound proof of the room is terrible, I can't fall asleep because people were talking so loud in the hall way even at 3 am. I can also hear people walking upstairs. If you are travelling with your family, I highly recommend you find another hotel.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    6.7
    There was no parking upon arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no parking upon arrival. We drive around for an hour trying to find a space to park. Staff was not helpful, resourceful or accommodating. Not a fun way to start the weekend.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    The staff were friendly and allowed us o check in early as...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Maybe just the lack of parking, but it was OK as we found space on the street.Nothing, will refer friends and family to go there.

    The staff were friendly and allowed us o check in early as our room was ready. That was much appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    8.3
    Ideally located right in the centre of Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some rooms can be a slightly noisy when located close to (presumably) the heating machinery in winter.

    Ideally located right in the centre of Banff.And reasonably priced considering the location.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    8.8
    pickup point of buses going to Lake Louise is just behind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    pickup point of buses going to Lake Louise is just behind the hotel. location is right in the middle of the main road. magnificent views of the mountains

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    8.3
    The location was great and the staff were friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Building did show it's age in how it was a bit noisy with all the partying people are doing in surrounding venues. Not a big deal, just enough to remind you that you are in the middle of Banff.

    The location was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was fun to stay in a historic building right in the middle of Banff. High ceilings, decent beds, hot tub and sauna were great as well.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room cleaning was poor and didn't even change the empty toilet roll. Didn't make the beds. Left the wet towels on the floor. But that was the only downfall of our stay.

    Great location. Great view. Great staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    8.8
    Mathieu was very helpful and courteous during our check in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Mathieu was very helpful and courteous during our check in and moved my daughter + I to a quieter room. He was also there for check out and very kindly gave us a hot drink while we waited for our ride!

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    9.6
    Great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Avoid a room facing Banff Ave as the drunks are loud and late.

    Great service. Having the restaurant on site was awesome. The location is the best in Banff.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    5.0
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Glad hotel is getting renovations. Walked into our room and the closet trim fell on my head and then the door fell off. We had to prop it up for our stay. Bathroom had no bath towels which I didn't realize until I went to grab one. Had to dry off with a hand towel. People in the next room partied until 4:30 am and banged on each other's doors. Called front desk at 2:30 am they came up but it didn't help.

    Location is great. Second time I've stayed.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    5.0
    In the heart of Banff avenue close to restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dirty carpet and bathroom. The windows didn't close well so we could hear the noise of drunk young people outside till 3am. Plus the next door room was hosting a party. Reception said they can't tell them to stop any noise till 11pm.

    In the heart of Banff avenue close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    7.9
    The Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls are very thin and you hear a lot form neighboring rooms. But then again it is an older building. However I do hope that when reno's are done that some soundproofing will happen at the same time .

    The Location was great. The beds were fantastic, staff super friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    5.8
    The room was clean and the location is the reason we choose...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed here in the past, however, this time was loud from people partying. We stayed on the third floor and the noise at times was unbearable. Upon checkout when I explained this to the young man at the desk I was told young people come to Banff to party and this weekend was worse than usual. We will not book with this hotel in the future. I do understand people like to have fun...but not at the expense of another's weekend away. I would not recommend this hotel if you are seeking for a quiet relaxing weekend.

    The room was clean and the location is the reason we choose this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.6
    Love the location, right downtown and above one of the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds weren't all that comfortable. We had a great view this time but last time all we saw out of our window was a wall. You have to ask about room view when you get there.

    Love the location, right downtown and above one of the best clubs to go to "the Sasquatch".

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.1
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Got a noise complaint at 930pm... Apparently quiet time is all day, not after 11. So don't go there if you intend on doing anything but watching tv.

    Perfect location

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hallways/ceilings outdated 4pm check in

    Great location Modern upgrades Lovely view Super clean Vouchers for omitting room service Convenient parking

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    6.7
    The location is very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bath tub and the sink are not draining properly. The carpet is dirty and worn out.

    The location is very convenient. We made a noise complaint and it has been dealt with really fast.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    6.3
    The location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room was small, lamps and outlets did not work. Rooms next to us were noisy well past 1am. When we called the front desk, they mentioned they "knew about it" and would send up security. Nobody came, the party went on. Housekeeping came knocking at 8am. Awful view

    The location

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    5.8
    There was a beautiful view outside my window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room Instayed in was different from the one I stayed last time because I paid the discounted price of 139. Dirty carpet and strange smell. I was very close to the elevator and ice maker, the noise was not particularly pleasing.

    There was a beautiful view outside my window.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.3
    Wifi connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff are so busy especially the front desk they didn't even explain the facilities available on site. After we checked out, she just gave our receipt and immediately accept the phone call and ignore us. Need the staff to be trained more in customer service

    Wifi connection

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.1
    Location was key!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Looks like they have upgraded some furniture and the bedding but the carpet is old and stained. It needs to be replaced. For the price it shouldn't not look that grubby. Also the TV quality was very poor not that you would visit for the TV but at night it would be nice to be able to make out the shows. No breakfast included in stay was a disappointment considering the cost per night.

    Location was key! Front desk staff very friendly when checking in and free parking is always great.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    6.3
    Hotel locates in the shopping centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed was too soft let you down through the night. and did not give your spine the support it needs. My back felt pain next day.

    Hotel locates in the shopping centre.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.9
    Location was right in the thick of the small town activity...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was right in the thick of the small town activity which we appreciated as we were on foot. Great location! staff was helpful and accommodating!

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    5.8
    Location of the hotel is very good, right in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Carpets were not so clean, staff was ok, no breakfast was included and the one available in the hotel restaurant was pretty expensive.

    Location of the hotel is very good, right in the heart of the city.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    Lovely and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms were repainted and the crown molding and other touches were maintained but the furnishings don't represent the time period of the beautiful hotel. Staff advised that the carpets were being replaced.

    Lovely and helpful staff. Free parking behind the hotel. The architecture of the hotel is so representative of the Banff I have always known and loved.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    6.3
    The air conditioning!
    • Family with older children

    Our toilet in the bathroom was basically under the vanity so you had to sit with knees off to the side...pretty awkward!!! No fridge....when you pay over the top for your stay there should be a fridge!!!

    The air conditioning!!!

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    6.3
    Out of the hotel.
    • Couple

    No air conditioner, noisy fan...window between two walls overlooking garbage bins which needed to be addressed. Booked three months in advance and very disappointed.

    Out of the hotel...a beautiful place to visit.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.6
    The location was great, very central and convenient to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was great, very central and convenient to everything downtown. The free parking available at the hotel was great. We could walk everywhere and they allowed us to leave the car parked at the hotel, all day, even after we checked out

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    5.4
    Centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sink was too small. Toilet had the wrong seat and lid. Loud buses and large number of people congregating right outside guest windows in the early morning.

    Centrally located.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    6.3
    Location nice to be in the heart of downtown Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Tub had scum film, carpets were dirty, walls so thin you hear all the guest up later than you, but they provide earplugs.

    Location nice to be in the heart of downtown Banff.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    8.8
    Close to all amenities, free parking, very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathrooms are a little outdated and badly laid out, but clean and the plumbing works fine.

    Close to all amenities, free parking, very comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    5.0
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No refrigerator No housekeeping Walls so thin, you can hear your neighbours snoring. They even give you earplugs for free........

    Location. Downtown

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    7.1
    Absolutely adored the location.
    • Couple

    The plumbing, was noisy, and would back up our sink and toilet - from other rooms. Could hear every sound out our door and were surrounded by families. Little to no parking due to a bus lot.

    Absolutely adored the location. Loved the old original architecture. Really comfy pleasant stay for the most part.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.1
    The location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms looked rough. They need some touch ups done. The bathrooms are extremely tiny.

    The location! You can't beat to convenience of being in the heart of downtown

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    5.8
    We loved the location, central to everything in Banff
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms were old and dusty. Carpet is ripped and peeling up all over the room and hallways. They need some serious updating. AC didn't work so our room was 23oC all week.

    We loved the location, central to everything in Banff

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    2.9
    We had to change hotels after two hours of staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to change hotels after two hours of staying here. One of the most filthy hotel rooms I've ever seen. Stains on carpet, stains on bedsheets and the shower was covered in black coarse hairs.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.5
    Room was quiet and hotel location excellent to access...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking for hotel was limited and room numbers exceed available spots. There was no phone, or ironing board in the room on arrival. The lamp plug was intermittently powered and room lacked accessible electrical outlets for phone charger and laptop use.

    Room was quiet and hotel location excellent to access downtown.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    8.8
    Loved the relatively quiet of being on the back side of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We came back from skiing at around 3:00pm and our bedroom hadn't been made up yet, so we just told the fellow who was cleaning across the hallway not to bother that day. It would have been nice to have our room cleaned earlier.

    Loved the relatively quiet of being on the back side of the hotel. Loved the new upgrades, paint, carpets etc

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    4.2
    It's right downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was like a broom closet tucked on the inside of two hallways with a window facing a brick wall. When asked if we could change it-- they said no. Just seemed to be a sketchy old hotel that the owner seems fine putting zero money into. Lots of weird, dirty looking people wandering around. Would not recommend.

    It's right downtown.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    6.7
    Free WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a bit too soft for us. The room temperature was hard to control - hot and cold. Couldn't open a window.

    Free WiFi Location was great Staff was very nice Clean Facility.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    8.8
    Convenient to downtown locations,friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wheel chair access at the front of the hotel,rear access only,no wheel chair access to the restaurant either. I'ts time to join the 21st century!

    Convenient to downtown locations,friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Insufficient space in the car park so had to park on a gravel side street Mattress was terrible - clearly no investment in a long time Felt very expensive for what is a tired hotel in need of investment

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    10
    It is very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is very central. That is excellent for people like myself who don't drive. It was the first time traveling since my husban's passing and the Mount Royal Hotel made it very enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.2
    The friendliness of the staff both checking in and out was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of the staff both checking in and out was fabulous. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever stayed in. I will be returning and I have already recommended this hotel to friends who are planning a banff trip.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    7.1
    The amount of noise outside of the hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The amount of noise outside of the hotel room. And the fact when I told them I was travelling with a baby they didn't warn me my room didn't have a fridge for his milk

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    9.2
    Centrally located, lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom could have been a bit bigger. Seems like the king size bed came at the cost of a bathroom that was larger than 2 square feet

    Centrally located, lovely hotel. Very simple, not many bells or whistles but you can enjoy everything the town has to offer all within a block or two.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    7.5
    Looks clean: bed, bathroom, hallway, carpet;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location of the toilet is awkward. Can hear neighbor's noisy party, and conversations from the hallway. Didn't find a "bootboy" to clean my boots before entering the hotel.

    Looks clean: bed, bathroom, hallway, carpet; Most time it's pretty quiet.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed sheet pulls off easily. Toilet was at an odd angle in the bathroom making it awkward to get onto the seat.

    Great location. Bus for Sunshine Village picks up in parking lot and lots of great restaurants within steps of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    7.1
    The location is good, the rooms are pretty clean, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The building is older - the walls/ceiling/floor are very thin, you can hear EVERYTHING....hence why they provide you with ear plugs.

    The location is good, the rooms are pretty clean, and modernized. Overall you get what you pay for, nothing fancy - if it's just a night to have fun in Banff this is the PERFECT spot to stay!

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    7.5
    This is a great location with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Didn't like the torn up Black chair by the elevator on the second floor. It doesn't cost much to throw a chair there. It was not rustic feeling it was just old and torn up.

    This is a great location with children. Didn't have to continuously look for parking. Free parking and everything is right there. Room was spacious for 2 adults and 2 children. Very dog friendly as well.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.5
    Like the location and the comfort of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Frontliners not so friendly nor accommodating

    Like the location and the comfort of the room

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location and friendly front desk staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location and friendly front desk staff

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    7.5
    Hot tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Reno's but not much you can do about those.

    Hot tub

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    8.3
    Great location, of course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wished we could open the windows.

    Great location, of course.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    6.3
    Mildew everywhere in shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mildew everywhere in shower. Gross! Lots of noise at night.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    5.8
    The location
    • Couple

    The bed was really soft and uncomfortable

    The location

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.9
    Location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A mini fridge in the room. We had no where to keep our drinks or leftovers :(

    Location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    9.2
    Big rooms and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Big rooms and perfect location.

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: