Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of University of Toronto-New College Residence-45 Willcocks Residence

45 Willcocks Street, M5S 1C7 Toronto, Canada

#56 of 133 hotels in Toronto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 418 hostel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared washroom. Kitchen doesn’t have any plates, pots, utensils. Limited control of room temp.

    Location—the neighbourhood, its proximity to trains, market, and shopping areas. Very helpful staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms could’ve been slightly cleaner.

    Great location. Excellent price. Quiet building because University was done. Easy access to the street cars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money. Less than a minute from front door to streetcar. Decent breakfast buffet. Single rooms available with no huge surcharge. Luggage room available after checkout before airport with no charge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly the place is basic as in students uni but a good place to get head down, breakfast including, very close to local attractions including CN Tower 30-40 min walk or Tramline offers excellent service to downtown Toronto

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air conditioning was very noisy. As my room was on the 8th floor the windows could not be opened. The bed is not the most comfortable but it was adequate. only one very thin pillow provided. There is also a desk and desk chair. I did not use any of the other facilities in the building but there are also common rooms etc.

    Excellent breakfast buffet. Good location. Nearest subway 10 minutes walk, other public transport closer. A good selection of shops/restaurants nearby. About 20 minutes walk from downtown areas. The room was clean, bedding and towel provided. Air conditioning worked adequately. Excellent value for money given location and facilities. Bathroom facilities are shared. They are clean and not too busy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are 'very' few great deals on accommodations in the heart of Toronto, and this is an exception. There is no 'second best' for the price you pay here - in fact, the nightly rate for a private room is the best private room deal in Toronto. Rooms are clean, comfortable, air-conditioned, and full of natural sunlight. Your only problem will be extending your reservation - these rooms book FAST!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to luggage room is public! Not good for social activities if you are alone and want to make friends!

    You can stay in clean and comfortable room!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no kettle in the kitchen to boil water.

    Considering the price, it is a very good place to stay a couple of nights in Toronto. Everything was clean, window view was magnificent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe more cleaning in the bathroom

    It's very cheap and have an amazing ubication because you have TTC transport in front of the school and the girls are kind, you can buy TTC tockens, the room was so clean and they give me a room with a window. In fact, if you don't want to keep your luggage when you're out you can let it there. The breakfast was so delicious you have many options for eating i love scrambled eggs, french bread and bacon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The LONG wait to check in. Would have been nice to have at least a sink in the room. It’s like walking in a maze trying to find your room and elevator. So confusing. Quicker to take the stairs.

    The price. Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Air conditioning in my room was weak, there was really no point in trying to use it - Nothing in the kitchen such as pots, cutlery, dishes, dish soap. Literally nothing

    - Good wireless - Great location – close to downtown and transit - Comfortable bed - Nice sized room, could easily fit my rented bike in the room and still have plenty of space to move around - Fridge and microwave in kitchen/lounge area - Very clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my dorm, the sockets were not located near the bed. The weather happened to be extremely hot in Toronto at the time, and the air conditioning was not strong enough( I’m mindful that a heat wave is quite rare). The location is pretty decent considering the price, but it’s still about a 30 minute walk from the centre. The toilets and showers are reasonable, but not excellent. Once again, the decent price makes this property a good catch.

    Extremely good value for money. The dorms are fit for purpose.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Cleanness of the rooms. I booked two rooms and they were unprepared to guest anyone. Floor was dirty and the room it self smells bad. - the bed was disaster I feel bad to the student who live there. I wake in the morning I couldn't move my neck without feeling pain. It was a nightmare. Good think is the food in the morning it was good.

    Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the 8th floor mens where the sun hit most of the day. Hot as hell in there and AC his barely worked. Know this when booking

    I didn't know breakfast was included. Hmmm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was dirty on the day of my arrival. Every morning between 7.30 am 8.00 am I was awake because there was a lot of noise in the hallway i think it was the maids

    I loved the location everything was next door, the train station Spadina, the tranmway and it's a 30 min walk to the biggest mall Eaton.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really, the only issue was that the Air Conditoner in the bedroom and the common areas did not work. My bedroom reached 32 degrees celcius in the evening and the kitchen temp was about 34 degrees. So it was pretty hot! But, for the price, I would still stay again.

    The price in that area of the city - in ANY area of the city - is purely UNBEATABLE! There was excellent security in terms of a key fob that only let you access your own floor. The rooms are pretty quiet, albeit extremely basic. The bed was comfortable enough. It is right across the street from a major street car line. It was fairly quiet too which was surprising. I would definitely stay here again, by myself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Toilets weren't cleaned very often. Wifi was okay for most of the time, but was really slow one night. Fair bit of street noise, although that was covered up once I discovered the air conditioner.

    Decent view from the top floor, friendly staff. Room included a desk, chair, wardrobe (with 3 shirt hangers), and bed. A variety of places to eat within walking distance. Air conditioning included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I wish I had known when I booked that bed linen and towels, whilst provided, would not be changed or cleaned during my stay. This is fine for a weekend but I was here for eight days and laundry was not top of my to-do list.

    One of the best value places I have stayed in a long time. It is better than a hostel in terms of facilities and not having dorm rooms, but still incredibly good value for money. It is really conveniently located on streetcar line 510 and is within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning was not working in the room on the first day but was fixed the following day. The temperature in the common areas like bathroom and kitchen was really cold. (Especially the kitchen which was freezing for some reason). Breakfast was decent but could include more veg options.

    Good location and good price. Breakfast is $10 and they offered gluten free bread.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is only for one person.

    Clean functional room with common bathroom and showers. This is the university dorm. The breakfast was good and there were several food options available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The linen was not as clean as expected and the showers' water pressure wasn't great. Moreover, my room faced a busy street, so the sound of cars and streetcars was disturbing during the night.

    The property is at walking distance from Toronto's main attractions (15-30 minutes) and the streets surrounding it are filled with beautiful architecture. I always felt safe walking around at night. If you're used to dorms, you won't have any issues with the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that sometimes the elevators got stuck. My room itself didn’t have a functioning ac unit so I had to keep the window open all the time and sleep with no sheets.

    I liked the friendliness of the staff and the value of the room and location for what I paid. It’s just what I expected - a college dorm room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stingy room's interior, like in monastic cell. Only one, but big washing room at the floor. No free parking places, all for fee.

    Good location, not far from downtown. Very green area of Toronto university. Good views through the windows. Very good open buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Brunch provided was amazing. There was a 24 hour supermarket just blocks away and there was a three story book store also nearby. Public transportation was directly in front of the property

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were a little gross but it's a dorm so it's to be expected.

    The location was perfect! It is within 30mins walking of all the major attractions. 30min may seem like a lot but there are plenty of restaurants, shopping, and sites to see along the way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The restrooms were not always very clean (mainly due to the behaviour of guests to be honest). The décor is pretty basic and spartan.

    The area was very quiet (Toronto University), but near the lively Bloor Street, where you could find lots of bars and cafès, and not too far from highly-commercial Yonge Street. The price of the room was very competitive. Near Spadina underground station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The signs on my floor gave directions to various spots: restrooms, kitchen etc. They did not include the elevator, so the first time I needed to take the elevator down, I had to wander around until I found the elevator.

    The buffet had peanut butter.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Washroom/toilet facilities and kitchen were filthy with toilets (4 in the block) routinely left unflushed and kitchen facilities untidy. Cleaning staff seemed to do their best but perhaps sensors/auto flushers need to be put on toilets, this was not a one off problem it persisted throughout our stay. Realise this is the fault of the guests not the accommodation provider but it really was pretty gross and unhygenic. Staff at front desk seemed aware of this ongoing issue. Staff at front desk need to receive better training on accommodation facilities/phone system -- staff very polite and tried to be helpful but clearly some training gaps when they were asked about issues with phone system and the odd other issue that popped up during our stay

    Comfortable room with good air con and plenty of space

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms were ok - but shared and dorm-style (remember college?). The parking was somewhat expensive both on street and in the underground garage.

    The staff was very helpful and the views from our rooms were amazing. It gave us an idea of dorm living at the U of T.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location on campus with easy access to public transport. As befits students' quarters a bit Spartan but well worth the price. University also offered access to cafeteria for daily breakfast. Ideal for limited budget.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The security around the place is good, you have a keyfob to access the building and your room. It's within walking distance of the ROM and there are a couple of restaurants around. The room is basic, but it's all you need if traveling alone and only need to have a safe clean place where to spend the night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I agree with a previous review that the location of the key pick up should be posted on your website. I only found it because I asked someone. I agree also with the review that said better signs posted for the location of the bathrooms should be done..

    clean, quiet, good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers need to be repaired (all three showers were dripping, tiles are yellow because of time and smell of damp).

    A good value accommodation for a couple of days. Good breakfast. Staff is very friendly and always ready to help.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very smiley , window has been lift closed, so the room smells disgusting as if someone stayed in and did not take shower for ages. It is not as been shown during the booking. I would not book it again even for free, and would not recommend it to anyone.

    Nothing apart from friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washrooms were probably the worst i have seen around the world. Totally disgusting and unusable!

    The bed was perfect and very clean. The view was exceptional. Location even better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom area was not clean. Bedroom floor was un mopped and sticky. Bathrooms were unclean. (including the showers. I often stay in universities accommodation and found this one the most un clean and cell like.

    Friendly office staff and good food. Rooms need work

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in is done in the building across the road - it's not a massive nuisance but it's not clearly stated when you arrive. The kitchen is free to use but there were no utensils or crockery when I stayed, which meant I could not cook.

    Quiet and tidy building. Laundry facilities are cheap. Good location. Spacious Rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived by car. Night parking was free but you had to get up at 7 am to get a ticket. Car park house was almost around the corner so I changed my spot. Price was a little too high.

    Nice and clean private room. Perfect accommodation if you don't need so much comfort. It's a good idea to rent those college rooms to tourists. I never lived in a college so you get a lovely feeling of being a student ;-) Staff was also very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom plumbing was poor with slow draining sinks and shower water temperature that was not consistent. We could not imagine how busy the bathrooms must be when there is full occupancy.

    This is a basic accommodation at a good price - no luxury or aesthetic value! When we found the check-in across the street from 45 Willcocks, the staff were young and friendly. As it was a Saturday night there was sufficient on street free parking on Spadina, just at the corner of Willcocks until Sunday at 1pm. From our windows we had great views of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a fantastic room on the 8th floor with an amazing view of the city from my huge window. Room was clean and comfortable, internet was fast. Walking distance to the ROM! No complaints; I'm very happy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washroom facility was far from the room and was dirty. Breakfast was in another building and wasn't the greatest.

    The price was great for a one night stay and the location was where I needed to be.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed about 6" to short (I'm a tall guy, 6') "Shared bathroom" should read "communal bathroom" Some confusion (on my part) re public transport tokens, staff need to explain better, maybe a handout that explains what to do; on one rail car the token machine was broken, no one told me I could buy day or week passes, which were much better for my needs

    Friendly staff, very quiet, walking distance to everything (in several directions), easy access to public transit, functional room setup, luggage storage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathrooms were not cleaned. It sounds like nobody was taking care of it (same hair at the same place in the shower everyday) whereas I saw some cleaning people in the building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were thin and too easy to hear through. I had some trouble sleeping because of this.

    The overall facilities were nice and location easily accessible. Great bang for the buck.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its safe and comfortable! Also a very great location for people who need to get to the subway. If I ever need a place to stay, this is where Im coming

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect. Bedroom and bathroom are sooo clean. It is located in downtown. So you can walk anywhere even in night.I felt like staying at hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should have kitchen and maybe a integration place. I didn't like the way a woman knocked my door and said that I had to go out the room (I was on time)

    The room is pretty good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining hall hours were unclear. Offered decent and ample breakfast buffet, but I probably would have skipped buying cafeteria tickets and gone for other more interesting, more flexible options.

    Accommodations were simple (maybe even Spartan), but wonderfully practical. Downtown, ROM, Koreatown, Queen St W, and more all within walking distance, plus a bike sharing station for longer reach in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly sparse for the price but undertandable as a dormitory. Getting there late in the evening could be a mystery.

    It was secure. Location easy to get to by street car IF you knew the streetcar number and the cross section to get off. Thus perhaps phone ahead so keep a note of the phone number. I was coming from Union Station. Clean bathrooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality and cleanliness could definitely be better. Bathrooms were filthy and the beddings had hair and dirt trapped in. I itched all through the first night. The 2nd night was better because I requested new beddings.

    Price was ok compared to other accommodations around the neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were on the hard side. 30-40 minute walk to/from downtown. This is literally a dorm so you have to share the bathroom with the floor (but there is a guys and girls).

    Down the street from Chinatown. Bus stop next door to get to down town/harbor front area and you can purchase bus tokens at front desk. There is also a bike share port right on site to rent a bike to easily travel around the city. A good, affordable place to leave your luggage and spend the whole day exploring the city. Free wifi across campus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms were very basic (although functional). There are huge number of signs giving orders on how to behave - my understanding is that a lot of school groups stay at the university outside term time and those groups seem to need a lot of instructions. The air conditioning worked well but was controlled centrally, meaning that I didn't have any way to make the room cooler or warmer.

    This was a fantastic option for visiting Toronto: the location in the city's centre was superb, the room was air conditioned and comfortable (with a huge window, giving a view of the Toronto skyline). The breakfast, although not included in my room rate, was good and more than plentiful. The wifi worked well all the time. The whole building was clean. The staff were friendly and incredibly helpful and informative. The cheap laundry machines were a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Linens/towel/soap provided but bring your own for actual comfort.

    Standard dorm setup. Decent size, air conditioned. Ended up a ways from the bathroom but in spite of being almost entirely booked it was not crowded. Cement walls, good sound-proofing, so even when there was a party down the hall did not bother me inside the room. Laundry facilities (coin), common kitchen/lounge area. Excellent location, easy walk to interesting shops and transit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't very current. The concrete walls felt a little cold, but overall for a one night stay it's fine.

    The view of the city skyline was nice from the room. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Also very personable. The location is downtown so there was a very nice atmosphere. Close to Starbucks and a few restaurants/pubs (within walking distance) about a 5-10 min walk from the #2 green line subway. Lots of streetcars in the area as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Would be great if reception could offer laundry detergent, especially for short/medium term visitors.

    Great location for University of Toronto and Fields Institute visitors, cheap laundry option especially useful for long-term visitors. Reception sells TTC tokens which is very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Bathrooms could do with a bit of an extra clean

    Good basic student accommodation. Nothing exceptional. Clean room. Fast WiFi around the whole university campus not just the location of the accommodation which was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The washrooms probably need a bit more frequent cleaning. But it really is more of a responsibility of the residents.

    Even though I was living in a dorm, it was very peaceful, and everyone respected the quiet hours, meaning peaceful sleep every night. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly as well. You could even buy tokens at the front desk, which is useful if you wish to avail public transport. Plus, the area is super nice, right in the middle of the UofT campus, which has several interesting places to see; it's a perfect area for breezy evening walks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to figure out where the bathroom and kitchen were. I wish they would have provided a little map of the floor.

    Very clean, good location and great price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi in the room was terrible. I think it depends on how far your room is from the wifi machine. Anyway, I asked them for this problem and they gave me an appointment to check my room. but on the day when they are supposed to come to my room, they didn't show up and I could't be heard any apologies about this.

    It's located in downtown. So I could feel what Toronto feels like walking around the city on foot every day and the view through the window in the room was also awesome and nice. Every morning I could wake up with spreading sunshine from the huge window.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no coffee available anywhere onsite, paper towel dispensers in the shared washroom would have been nice (there was only one hand dryer). The plastic mattress was a little uncomfortable.

    Staff were friendly, great value, felt secure (security staff onsite, key fob to outer doors, elevators, etc), access to an iron was handy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Pretty happy with it.

    It's a personal bedroom with shared toilets. I like this more than hostel with shared bedroom. And it's very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a kitchen but nothing zero equipment so the kitchen is basically useless. Far from downtown 30 min walking and 25 with public transportation.

    Safe close from Chinatown Lots of students in the area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was close enough to everything that you could walk and public transit was right outside the main doors. Staff was nice and the room was clean and quiet. Wish I could have checked in a little earlier but the staff said that wasn't available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms were outside of the room. The walls of the room (concrete) Old sheets (looked clean but had stains) No additional blankets No hot water boiler and cup (for tea in my case)

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1- Pillows are not comfortable 2- Other floors are not available with your key (issue when travelling with friends)

    1-Clean 2-Quiet 3-Fresh (manual air ventilation) 4-Close to public transportation 5-Laundry room (important for business trips)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Remember that this is a university dorm. The shared washroom is a typical dorm washroom with shower stalls at one end. You get a plastic cup, a bar of soap and a threadbare towel.

    For a university dorm, the room was large. The location was very good and close to where my meeting was held. I appreciated the air conditioning. And it was very inexpensive in a city where hotel rooms are very expensive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The roll-down blinds are made of a perforated material that let the bright sunlight into the room in the early morning for the east facing rooms.

    Clean facility with helpful, friendly staff at the desk. Good security and very close to transit stops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged 51.98 Cad by bookings.com for this property rental for a night. I booked many times through this website and never had to pay additionally as a rent when you reach at a property. What is the meaning of showing price at booking.com if that's not final? I had to pay 25.99 Cad 50% more at the counter to access, its cheating when you already paid and had nowhere else to go, people charge you extra buck for nothing. Either, booking.com need to return my excess rent amount or UoT ethically.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Cleanliness of the room and the bathroom, was not thorough enough. In the kitchen, the microwave oven stank.

    Location of the accommodation, good public transit, great variety of food at breakfest.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are not comfy! I feel sorry for the poor students which have to sleep on them during there studies. Also the drains in the bathrooms on the 8th floor smell which is slightly unpleasant though doesn't effect your stay greatly also don't waste your time using the tumble driers as they blow cold air.

    View from the 8th floor looking East was good and there is a kitchen and washing machine to use. The breakfast isn't bad worth getting for ease and convenience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy double booked my room and said they would inform me when they refunded me (haven't yet) Bed was uncomfortable and I could sleep anywhere

    Location was brilliant! Price was very reasonable as well!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was additional payment in the spot while I thought that I was done with payment through the site

    Compare to the price, the quality of the room was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress very thin. Air conditioning unit incredibly loud. Communal bathroom privacy very poor.

    Price and location. Useful for a night in the centre of town on a tight budget.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking in not convenient and its underground. Parking on street is only for 3 hrs. The washroom/ showers is old and run down. The room smelled musty but was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washrooms were too far from my room! Not convenient at all!

    It was located in u of T campus where I had a meeting so the location was perfect for me.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: