Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Ottawa 4 stars

33 Nicholas Street, K1N 9M7 Ottawa, Canada

#26 of 55 hotels in Ottawa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1983 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.1
    looked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I saw that there was a continental breakfast on the website from booking.com when we went to eat the morning of, we were told that was discontinued a month prior. I only booked the reservation 2weeks ago. this is one of the reasons we picked this hotel.

    looked the location. did ask to be close to Carleton University. we ended up close to Ottawa University instead. not a big issue for us.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Well located hotel, with comfortable room, free WiFi and friendly staff. What else do you need?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Well, my room didn't have a nice view... and I didn't like the lighting system and the size of the desk (I needed to work with my laptop in the room). But I could manage it...

    Well located hotel, near a shopping mall and the Byward Market. It was a very spacious room, with great shower and a perfect sound isolation. WiFi worked perfectly, and the swimming pool was a real treat. The staff was very friendly and helpful to accommodate my needs regarding the period of my stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    6.3
    location
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking. I parked underground and next day morning the our sun grasses were stolen. Speaking to the counter, they avoided responsibility because parking lot is not own.

    location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Best location in downtown Ottawa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Powdered coffee creamer for our in-room coffee curdled - all 3 mornings - we kept trying!

    The location! Walking distance to Byward Market, parliament buildings, etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parkade below is a public parkade and very expensive

    Everything else. Breakfast is fantastic, location and service is great. I would go back to this hotel first when revisiting Ottawa

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are not comfortable. The cleaning lady just comes in the room in the morning without knocking. The parking is very stresful to find, not enough space and very expensive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable and only had a blanket. If you wanted to sleep under a sheet you were directly on the mattress, gross.

    Very close to the University, which was the reason for our stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative was the noise from the heavy hotel room doors banging closed. For a light sleeper, it's a disruption every time other guests go in or out of their room during the night. It'd be great if they could put felt pads on the doors to muffle the sound.

    Very clean and comfortable. We had a king bed with white bedding and a huge bathroom with two shower heads.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.7
    Convenient Ottawa
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not 100% clean. Found a ( used?) contact lens on the night table from the room's previous occupant. The staff was prompt in disposing of it and sanitizing the night table but I did not expect such an obvious miss by the staff. Carpet in the hallway was bunched up in places and needs to be replaced or adjusted.

    Loved the location. Close to everything downtown and Parliament and other attractions. Room service was prompt and the food was excellent. Very well equipped gym and pool. In spite of fun the cleanliness fax pas, I would consider staying there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    Overall good.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like that when I came back to my room all my stuff was in the lost and found. Housekeeping thought I had checked out and left stuff behind.

    How close the hotel is to mall. Byeard market and university

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    I would stay here again, Great location to the Byward Market, the Rideau Centre and other interests.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room With 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that I didn't like was that there were no snack machines on any of the floors. The restaurant was "reservation only" and no little shop to get a bottle of water or snack if you didn't want to go out.... I was there during the tornado and felt trapped in my room with no where to go within the hotel to eat or grab a snack.

    Room was very clean and newly renovated. The bed was extra comfortable, I liked that you could switch off the lights right from the bed so that was a bonus. Room was on a corner so there was no noise.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    We stayed in the hotel from the 23/08/2018 to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the hotel from the 23/08/2018 to the 26/08/2018. The room and service of the hotel is good, but we are really unsatisdied with a unreasonable extra charge. The charge on the credit card is 68CAD higher than the final price revealed on the reservation。At the first,the hotel staff said it was caused by tax. When we checked with them again, they found the extra charge is caused by the security deposit. Although it has been nearly a month since our stay, we are still struggling with getting the hotel to release the security deposit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.5
    Excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My soy latte in the Albio was substituted with almond milk. I wasn’t informed about the change until it was made. Plus it was not made well. I didn’t drink it. Our kettle leaked but Arman is going to fix it :)

    That we could open the window for fresh air. The coffee in the room was great with decaf option. The chair that adjusts to Our height was excellent. Pool was great/clean. Room was clean clean.Thank You

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Well located hotel, with comfortable room, free WiFi and friendly staff. What else do you need?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mini fridge was not cooling enough! But I was PROMPTLY served with a different one. Amazing.

    Everything! From the very friendly and courteous staff to the accommodations. Clean (impeccable), quiet (soundproof) comfortable, spacious, functional room. I loved the shower and the fast WiFi. Hotel nicely located next to the Byward Market and Rideau Mall.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    espresso coffee provided with the breakfast provided with...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was a must smell from the ventilation system and the door to the bathroom did not close all the way

    espresso coffee provided with the breakfast provided with room, a small thing which would go a long way.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    A business hotel in the very heart of Ottawa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A business hotel in the very heart of Ottawa. Walkable distance to main POIs - Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal, Byward Market, restaurants, bars, shopping malls. Even the city of Gatineau on the other side of the river is just 1.1 km when crossing Alexandra bridge, a fact that could turn into a nice promenade. Clean facilities, really polite front desk staff, fast check-in/check out process. Room was clean with everything necessary for making this stay comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Disconcerting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recommend parking your car at the Novotel as the car park is high theft. We were vandalized as were other vehicles. Some of the management acknowledged this while others were indifferent. Our holiday was ruined. yes we are responsible for our valuables but when the hotel is aware of this ongoing issue they need to inform and communicate this to their guests. In knowing this I would have made different choices. The trust was broken and communication is key. To pass the issue onto the owners of the car park only reiterates that your concerns were not heard. Sorry is not enough.....

    The hotel is great. Location is fantastic......staff super......however.....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the beginning they put us in a rotten, old, smelly room. We found even some belongings of previous guests. They have refurbished floors and old floor. I insisted they move me to the refurbished ones, they even have the same price.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Centrally Located
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like having to have my keypass with us at ALL times or we didn’t have access such as elevators, especially the floor to floor access,and no access to the main public washroom without Room Key! I didn’t get to spend much time at the pool because it was quite the walk there, not really well indicated where to enter the pool once in the hallway, and there were many unsupervised children constantly yelling and jumping in the pool and so It wasn’t so relaxing!

    Great friendly atmosphere, centrally located to all tourism sites!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay at Novotel Ottawa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking charges for this hotel were insanely expensive. The amount of space per vehicle was totally inadequate. The door to the bathroom had a squeak that was very loud and annoying.

    Room facilities were good, very clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Staff very friendly and efficient. Location to downtown Ottawa superb.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    The room was clean and well furnished, like the rest of the...
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't any parking price reduction for gests. This kind of details makes you feel part of something, a bit special and in return, with a little effort, the hotel appears to their clients more deserving than others. Unfortunately that hasn't been the case.

    The room was clean and well furnished, like the rest of the hotel. The staff was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small compare to Novotel hotel in Montreal. I request for higher floor but they said that it all taken up. However the reception told me that I have to pay extra $20 per night for higher floor which I think they should not charge me

    The room is spacious and clean Good kocation

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Good location close to it all, could not ask for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved it all.

    Comfortable bed, clean hotel in a VERY good location close to everything, I could not have asked for me. My 2nd stay with them and more than likely my goto hotel in Ottawa based on location and how good the staff is.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.2
    Moldy air conditioning and dirty carpet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was very moldy. It was like putting your head in a washing machine where you have forgotten a wet load of laundry for 5 days. Created head ache, joint ache, and by the morning chest stuffiness. Did not sleep all night because if it. Normally, I would have called right away to change room. However, when I registered and asked to change level for more quiet (always request this when I book and was not respected and they denied I had requested it!!!), I was told that was the only room available in the hotel as they were fully booked. The carpet were dirty. The sheet smelled as if from hospital laundry. The night before I had slept at the Montreal airport Sheraton for almost half the price and five times the quality. I have used Novotel in the past in Europe and was super impressed(even extended my stay). This location did not meet the standard!

    Bathroom was modern. Restaurant staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, in a very lively area in downtown Ottawa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, in a very lively area in downtown Ottawa with plenty of restaurants, cafés, shops, supermarkets, etc., as it is just a 5-minute walk to the Byward Market area. It's also a short walk to most of the city's places of interest such as the Canal Rideau, the Parliament, the National Gallery of Cananada or the Notre-Dame Cathedral. The facilities are new and modern, the room we stayed in was big and spacious and the kingsize beds were very comfy. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have thought breakfast 2person it was only for 1person . We paid extra Parking limited time Maxium pay We have to check out sharp 12noon. If we extend we have to pay $10 for each hour

    Breakfast is good Location is good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Great after a forced upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On my arrival the elevator to the carpark was out of order and the room that was initially allocated to me was not clean.

    The upgraded room was excellent and the staff, restaurant and office facilities were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric outlets closer to beds would have been more convenient.

    The beds were very comfortable. Front desk staff were very good and handled our complicated three-room family booking very well, especially Troy who went out of his way to ensure our stay was enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    good location - you can reach center in 10 minutes walking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is narrow for even crossover and not very convenient, but applicable for the center

    good location - you can reach center in 10 minutes walking, helpful and kind staff, clean and nice room, comfortable beds, nice breakfast, tea and coffee makers, wi-fi is good, possible late check-out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Modern and comfort which located in the middle of city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV's setting located a upper space on desk above. A bit disturbing from TV's sound and TV screen when you use to work on desk.

    As expected Novotel brand provide a modern and comfort which located in the middle of city. Excellent location that just few minutes walking to the heart of Ottawa like Parliament of Canada, Canal, and Byward Market Area. Staff performs very nice and responsible. Room facilities are very functional and friendly. Wifi connection very fast Bad was very comfort and good to sleep. Wash room and shower place clean and provide a comfort experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room With 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t get the breakfast. It was disgusting! The lounge manager was an unpleasant fellow the food was cold and tasted awful. There was no coffee and it isn’t organized on top of all that. Further we were charged 22.00 for literally 1 bite of food that’s how terrible it was. They were not accommodating at all, breakfast was to be included and then the extra charge - the morning after the stay was AWFUL!

    The location was amazing! It smelled clean (like a new car) but the carpet in the room was wet. They allowed us to check in with no additional fee at 12:00pm

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Very satisfying experience/comfort for myself and mentally disabled brother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very loud and disturbing noises outside of hotel - fireworks? Difficult to find hotel first time by car - made wrong turn [no directional signs for hotel] and had to inquire of people on street. Note I do not have GPS in my car.

    Ease of parking; friendly attendance by front desk staff; efficiency/clean work of housekeepers [i left a tip]; high quality of in-room coffee; ease of access to Byward Market and Rideau Centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    value money for good room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    swimming pool smell give Caroline to corridor of rooms in 5th floor.

    good location ,very helpful and kind staff and comfort room. cross to Rideau Mall and center ( good for shopping )

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff and although the rooms are very compact...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and hot tub are connected and sharred with another hotel. Too crowded and packed with noisy, splashing children .

    Very friendly staff and although the rooms are very compact they were very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the $$!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room With 2 Double Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls. Didn’t realize i checked in to an old folks home, not aloud to talk in our room without people complaining. Definitely not returning there. Not worth what they charge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location. easy access to Ottawa attractions, restaurants, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mixup with reservation having booked through Booking.com. However it was resolved.

    Great breakfasts. comfortable room and beds. Enjoyed the swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Our room was recently renovated so the bathroom had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was recently renovated so the bathroom had a wonderful rain shower and the bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean and modern. Location is very close to The Byward Market and right across from the Rideau Centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location and overall a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No freezer in the mini bar fridge, unable to keep my ice packs frozen during the stay. No help with parking and luggage at the entrance, could be quite inconvenient for drop-off and pick-up. Underground parking costs $28 per day in the hotel building or CF rideau mall across the street. But you can always find some municipal lots around at more reasonable prices.

    Unbeatable location at the heart of Ottawa, right across rideau mall with walking access (10-15mins) to biz area and major attractions (parliament hill, canal, national gallery, Ottawa gallery and byward market). Friendly and helpful staff, clean room and comfy beds. Good value for money as compared with similar hotels in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Good stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was supposed to bw included and was not. Accessible through the facility but 28$ a day. So was disappointed. In Ottawa, I believe that people working with the public should be able to speak in both official languages. Front desk clerk spoke only English.

    Clean room. Facility 5 to 10 minute to parlement, byward market and accross the street from the Rideau shopping center. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Would i go back probably not
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra cost for parking my rental plus my daughter vehicle and not enough parking spots for the price it should be inclusive not much of fridge and safe froze up and expensive parking and expensive restaurant.

    Nice hot tub.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Two night stay in Ottawa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No valet parking, no help with luggage, flickering pot light in the room. I had dog food out for my pet and it attracted a swarm of ants. I told front desk about it when checking out. Worst poutine I’ve had to date; was not fries just quartered roasted potatoes and salty gravy with cheese curds. A lot of large groups staying there, sports teams, etc. Hallways not air conditioned so it felt like walking through a sauna.

    Location right across from CF Rideau shopping center and Byward Market, walking distance to Parliament buildings, museums and Rideau Canal, price, pet friendly, room service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Location was great with small children for visiting all of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room With 2 Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is expensive, not a lot of designated spaces and older so not easy to park SUV's or larger vehicles Pool is shared with Les Suites can be busy at times and far walk from rooms

    Location was great with small children for visiting all of the sites. Great for shopping beside Rideau Centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    In spite of the upmentioned the hotel is nice ,rooms are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet on the 4th floor was very dirty. Main lobby with a minimalist design and not very clean is leading your thoughts to something not very reliable. We also found one of the bathrooms dirty.

    In spite of the upmentioned the hotel is nice ,rooms are clean and comfortable. Situated in the middle of everything, walking distance to the Parliament and Rideau Chanel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff were friendly at check in and check out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra for parking upon arrival.

    Staff were friendly at check in and check out. Room was clean. Location was excellent to parliament building

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Overall a nice hotel, clean, modern and well located downtown and across from Rideau centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattresses were awful. Getting to the hotel was tricky- on a corner and many one way streets

    The room ( 2 double beds) and full bathroom with tub and shower were a nice size, very clean. Great pool and hot tub. Nice big TV.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    The location was unbeatable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was unbeatable. With a major shopping centre right outside, Byward Markets a few minutes walk and all downtown attractions (such as parliament hill and the canal) within walking distance, I think you would be hard pressed to find a hotel with a better location. Staff was very helpful and room service prices were actually reasonable to our surprise. We also got a free room upgrade which was a bonus!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room With 2 Double Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room was poor as well mirrors were only in bathroom and a very narrow part right outside of bathroom, making it a bit congested in morning.

    Included breakfast far surpassed my expectations! Wonderful pastries!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Great get away lots to see and do, byward market is a must
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tours could be set up through the hotel

    Room was clean, nice bathroom location was great, vehicle stayed in the parking garage until we left, location of hotel is excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Great city to visit and a Great hotel to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were well pleased with everything.

    This was our first trip to Canada and we enjoyed the city and the Novatel very much. The location is great to walk to the Market, to the Shaw Centre, the Canal, and to Parliament Hill. The room was wonderful. Nice shower and comfortable bed. We would stay again!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    As a male the bathroom toiled to urinate was annoying with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a male the bathroom toiled to urinate was annoying with the cover of the toilet having to to use one hand to keep it up. Air conditioner was on its coldest and the room still seemed sub par not even cold. Bedroom looked way bigger in pictures.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Great location - just outside Byward market and a stone’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - just outside Byward market and a stone’s throw away from a shopping mall that had every store you could need. Short and scenic walking distance to Parliament hill and the Ottawa river. Surrounded by various restaurants. A very comfortable stay with amazing, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to tour the cityand shop at thr Rideau Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking garage was very confusing...not enough posted exit signs and it would have been helpful if we'd been given a parking pass...had to use the help button to have someone raise the bar.

    very convenient location very comfortable beds great breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    The stay was good. Room adequate and quiet. Annoying details needed fixing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Double Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were some annoying details that needed fixing. The heat/cool thermostat did not work. The room was either too cold or too hot. There was no information in the room regarding Hotel details. There were no drawers to put clothes in.

    The location is superb if you want to be downtown Ottawa. The Hotel and restaurant were clean and provided reasonably good service. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom door... It's sort of a glass door! Why??? Go only if you're comfortable with your partner knowing that you're pooping! :D

    Excellent location just by the Byward Market. Restaurants, bars, and a mall just across the street. Rideau Canal and Parliament only few steps away. Staff is amazing. Rooms are wide and clean. Hotel has a decent pool, regular fitness room, and a great bar! Perfect for couples.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh room only had a standup shower, I wish there was a tub.

    The hotel is very nice. However you could tell that the price was inflated for the long weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were very friendly and answered all our tourist questions with a smile. We were upgraded to a newly refurbished room which was excellent. Location is very central and made for easy walking to attractions. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive at $28 per day.

    If you book the newely renovated Next Generation rooms: decent sized rooms with a comfy bed and soft pillows, clean bathroom with a nice rain-shower and just 2 blocks from monsterous choices of restaurants and bars in ByWard Market and a 10-15 min walk to Parliment Buildings and Rideau Canel. If staying on the 9th floor you may find the ice machine a little loud, but it didn’t bother us too much. Overall a great stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    The location is the most convenient in Ottawa .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is the most convenient in Ottawa . I think that for tourists , it’s just the best place . The staff are very nice and very efficient. The breakfast was very good . Next voyage to Ottawa , Novotel on Nicholas street is where I would choose to stay . Thanks !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Maybe during breakfast someone can come around and fill up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe during breakfast someone can come around and fill up your water since there very small glasses. Also warn people that there swimming pools are closed on certain dates.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.3
    will never stay here again....not worth the money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was not queen size, (as were shown in pic) very small for two adults. we were travelling with our 13 yr old son. the floor which we got was totally like a cocoon, the fourth floor was like a dungeon.. all surrounded by other rooms. we were not able to open our curtains even as WE WERE ALL SURROUNDED BY ROOMS....AND EVERYONE CAN LOOK INTO YOUR ROOM, WHEN YOU HAVE THE LIGHTS ON.. SO NO PRIVACY AT ALL.... we stayed for two nights. the lighting is so bad, it was not even possible to see your face in the mirror provided in the room. every time my wife has to go to washroom for makeup or she has to even wait , coz if I or our son was using the washroom. so she could get ready. so bad lighting. will never stay there again or even recommend this hotel to any one. pls donot use there pool, as it is shared one with les suites hotel... and there were no towels in the pool area.. and the pool is so small for such TWO big hotels.....there is so much construction going on in downtown area.. it was so difficult to get to the hotel...

    NOTHING...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice machine near our room purged in middle of the night. Woke us up. Continued purging ice for several minutes. Also, would have preferred on site parking.

    Bed was comfortable. Room recently renovated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel because of the free breakfast and swimming pool and free parking, only to arrive and find out it’s 30$ a day for parking , swimming pool was closed down during the time I was there , and when I entered for breakfast at 830 half of the stuff was not available. Bed was hard. Had to call many times to get room cleaned. Problem when checking in. Only thing good about this hotel was he location, and the manger was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Pool was closed and "inclusive breakfast" only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed and "inclusive breakfast" only included one person which they don't tell you until you go to the restaurant , other than that great staff beautiful room. Good overall experience .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    It was a nice hotel but the bed would deter me from staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was firm and uncomfortable. Woke up with a sore back. Not enough healthy small options for breakfast. I could only order the oatmeal. I would have like yoghurt.

    Gym facilities and excellent location. Hotel itself was modern and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    Room dissatisfaction, not value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ROOm 317 , not rénovés I guess , not worth more 100$ ... shower took m for ever to figure out how to turn on and off , no cream and room very dry , wasn’t capable to open windows for fresh air , pillows to thick . Reception, pool gym was amazing... so really expected more about room

    Parking , reception, staff , gym , pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Housekeeping does not respect the Do Not Disturbe sign!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to sleep in so I put the do not disturbe sign on the door. The cleaning lady barged in at 8:45am! Scared the living daylights out of me. When I told the front desk staff about it, she just said sorry and brushed it off. Didn’t offer me any type of consolation.

    Great location Int the heart of the city. The majority of things to see are within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Love-Love-Love
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During this visit, the room I had was too close to the side of the dumpsters. Unfortunately that sound woke me up. But it was not too disturbing. Simply was not ideal. However, Since I was able to check in early, the noise was a minor issue, in favour of the customer service received.

    + The vibe + The overall design + Comfortable beds, room layout + Walking distance from everything ... And the Albion Room resto is amazing. Drinks are prepared by knowledgeable staff and the fish & chips remind me of a dish I have in Scotland. (I would stay there every time that I am in Ottawa if I had the same rate.)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Our first visit, but we will return to this wonderful hotel. Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient to the Byward Market area and Rideau Center. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Very clean, comfortable room. Nice fitness center and pool too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    The room was recently renovated and very modern and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of parking should have been included. It was a very large extra expense. The room service food menu was also very small. Breakfast options would have been ideal.

    The room was recently renovated and very modern and cozy. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a little pricey, but the in and out privledges were worth it. There was a fire alarm at 4:30 am but thankfully it was false.

    We were upgraded upon our arrival to a junior suite. It was lovely and the bed very comfortable. Loved the large shower and Nespresso coffee :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    We were pleased with our stay, found the room and linen very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the bathroom fan did not function while taking a shower and the ceiling surrounding the fan has peeled paint which is an inappropriate feature considering the rate charged per night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    Likely won't stay at another Novotel hotel based on this experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - bathroom door didn't close - no heat in bathroom or working fan - pillows were lumpy - fire alarm went off at 4:30 am with evacuation of hotel (second Novotel hotel stay for myself, second fire alarm evacuation) - small room - poor view - curtains didn't close properly

    - king-size bed was roomy and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall was good, especially the staff but only issue was Breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The issue with breakfast was that on the website I was told it is included in the price I was paying. But when I attended the lady charged me $66 for 3 people. I think it is not ethical to avoid being clear that certain things are not included. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    I will definitely stay here again. Hopefully they have provided a teapot the next time I'm back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are not that big and the coffee maker. I was expecting a teapot or a microwave since I drink tea a lot.

    Perfect location.... staffs are very accommodating and helpful..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    almost perfect except for the tea/coffee maker..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Two Double Beds (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee maker was small and we have to heat water several times for 2 cups of tea...we were expecting a tea pot and a microwave just like the other hotels...

    The front desk staff are very very helpful and welcoming. They even provided us with a packed ice for our stuffs that needed to stay cold until we get home without even requesting it. We requested for a late check out. They gave the first hour for free and the next hours for CAD$10 for each hour which is quite cheap... The location was perfect. I will definitely stay here again and will even recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: