Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Fairmont Palliser 4 stars

133 9th Avenue Southwest, T2P 2M3 Calgary, Canada

#18 of 100 hotels in Calgary

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1003 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Paid WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were celebrating our 40th anniversary. The staff was very nice, and the hotel left a lovely card and plate of chocolate strawberries. The room was lovely! Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room on the Gold level was close to the trains, which came and went ALL NIGHT LONG. It was very noisy and I found it hard to sleep despite the beds being one of the most comfortable in the world.

    The pool is beautiful, a little on the cool side but in a spa setting with the soothing music, it was very relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the service, the rooms, most comfortable bed ever. Great coffee in the room. Fantastic overall experience at a very reasonable price point t

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Gold Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything wrong with the Palliser, but be cautious when booking with booking.com that you are booking in the correct currency and if you are able to fully cancel your booking.

    The “Palliser Pillows” are the best!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff ! Upon getting out of the car at valet, my elderly mother lost her footing and before she knew what had happened one of the valets caught her before she hit the pavement. She was stunned ! They made sure she was ok, got us some bottled water and carried our bags in to reception. I love how The Fairmont goes over and above in their service ! She won’t stop talking about this place for a long while !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was one of the renovated rooms on the third floor so just think the shower door (water leaked out a lot) and a broken lamp bulb at the headboard should be checked . But beautiful relaxing decor in a beautiful hotel

    Excellent location! Walking distance to all of beautiful downtown Calgary . Bed very comfy and delicious 'in room' breakfast Welcoming staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always love my time at the Fairmont Palliser. From the moment I check in, with such friendly reception, to such beautifully renovated rooms. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property/furnishings seem a bit "tired" and could use a re-fresh, to bring it to Fairmont's standards. Not all guests would appreciate the "historic" feel of the place.

    The historic ambiance of this classic property, located in the heart of down-town. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Signature Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkin terrible. I called fairmont directly and there server was down so I left a number to be called back and no one did call. So I called booking.com., picked the room. And when I got to the fairmont your company bookednthe wrong room. We ended up with a rundown old with a view of an alley and bldg. very disappointed.

    Beautiful hotel. Lounge was great and great food and service!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of the toilet paper was poor, especially for a Fairmont property. The majority of the staff were not in their best form. The bell staff did not appear to want to help lift bags up the front steps, the wait staff at breakfast did not even offer water, kept rushing us along and the presentation of the breakfast buffet was lacking.

    Comfortable bed and warm room. Fairly good afternoon tea and only wait staff that seemed to enjoy her job.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    I've stayed here before and consider it a treat! It was my partners first time and he loved it. Cozy and comfy. Gorgeous old hotel. Perfect walking distance to everything you need!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stingy with soap for high end hotel. One to share between sink and shower Unacceptably noisy fan in bathroom which comes on automatically with light Small room Dark lobby More expensive than Hyatt which is much more spacious modern and pleasant

    Location great staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room service options were quite pricey, even for basic eggs, so we passed on that. A more reasonable price would be great, especially since there is also a $4 delivery fee.

    I loved the finishes in the hotel and our room. Just beautiful. I also like the express checkout options, and how wonderfully friendly the front desk clerk was!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything!

    The beauty of the building, staff’s professionalism, while exhibiting warmth and hospitality! The location was perfect as we enjoyed the stroll to the theatre!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facial I had in the spa was amazing! The beds were really comfortable. They also sent a slice of cake to my room as we were celebrating my birthday which was a really nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we walked in, we experienced a wonderful warm welcome throughout, from checking in, room information, local knowledge, it was a seamless experience and one of the best stays I have ever had in a hotel. Our room was superb, we used the pool and spa facilities which were spotlessly clean and lovely and relaxed. This hotel has a first class feel at all times and we felt treated like Kings. It has that extra special something that quietly leaves you with an amazing memory of the experience in the most subtle way. Thank you Fairmont Palliser and all your fantastic team, you are simply brilliant and we will return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were comfy , room was clean and the most important all the staff are so friendly and accommodating! From the Valet... to the Front desk... to the server in the restaurant and the cleaning staff in the hallway. Can't recommend a Fairmont property any more!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the bed, even though is wasn't as spacious. The gym was nice too, but nothing exceptionally. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located right in the city center so it is easy to explore everything by foot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s too costly for us to go more than once in a very long time. Parking is expensive but no surprises.

    The staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly. We appreciated being able to open a windows for fresh air-hotel air can be so stuffy. It is a beautiful building and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A stunning piece of history - a beautiful building. The staff went above and beyond with their friendliness and, an important detail, it was most comfortable hotel bed we’ve ever slept in - usually nothing compares to our bed at home however we both agreed this matched it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was nice, we had a suite as our daughter was with us. I was shocked and disappointed that upon returning to our room (after 11pm)the sofa bed was not set up and I had to call to have it made up. No turn down service at all, what do you go to a Fairmont for if not the old school attention to detail! Also had to make several calls to get my car from the valet for our very early am flight.-- someone is asleep at the wheel over there!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no shortcomjngs

    Stylish old-fashioned CP hotel, in excellent location with good food and bar. First class breakfast with proper freshly squeezed orange juice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant did not offer many vegetarian options and when we went to check out the Sunday buffet the hostess was only able to point out potato options.

    facilities were top notch!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I tried to switch to a better view room.The front desk said that they would call me back.But I never recieve a call.The carpet is smelly. One pair of slipper is $10. The washing room is too small.I called the front desk and had to wait long time to get someone to answer it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub was not hot enough. Many complained at the pool about this. It was sad.

    The staff were all fantastic all the counssiers staff were amazing and educated on where to eat what to do. Tatianna. The valet staff Rai. Front sesk and any staff member that you encountered.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfortable beds with a view of the Calgary Tower. We were welcomed by the staff from the Valet parking, front desk staff and concierge staff. Each staff member was ready to help and were knowledgeable of the hotel facilities as well as local attractions and restaurants in Downtown Calgary. The pool, steam room, hot tub and workout facilities were clean and had everything well stocked with everything you need for your comfort and grooming needs. Overall staff and facilities were above and beyond expectations. Excellent value for a luxurious weekend getaway!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking for registration was non-existent. Required to follow signs to parkade. Once in, had to find the Palliser entrance. Poorly signed. Required a handicap parking space. Entered Hotel on Level 4, followed signs to level 3 which was idenytified as the Palliser. Notwithstanding we had a handicapped individual with us, finding the registration desk was a nightmare. As a Fairmont President's C;ub member I was disappointed. I am also a Marriott Gold member and will stay there during our next stay in Calgary. I have never had such difficulty accessing a Hotel.

    Calgary Tower food was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not helpful. We tried to eat at the restaurant, but were told it was not yet open. We were given no help about open hours or menu and were directed to a large noisy bar. Later in the day we sat down hoping for a cup of coffee, but left after 10 minutes of being ignored. The low point was having pushed the button and waiting for the lift to arrive we were brushed aside by a staff member who ushered in two people and followed them in to take them to the penthouse! We did manage to squeeze in after them. Door men were irritating and difficult to get away from,which was a marked contrast to the indifferent staff inside. The floors and shower could do with some cleaning.

    Bed and pillows were excellent and bath towels were large and fluffy. Lobby looked glamorous. Not too expensive for a big city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There. We’re no downs except it could have been warmer because this hotel is right in the middle of town and a stroll would have been awesome.

    The ambience. The Christmas spirit throughout the hotel and the relaxing warmth of the lobby and restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gift shop/ convenience store on premises. Private functions in reception area very loud! Everything else was wonderfull..

    Upgraded to Gold Floor ! The room was large and comfortable.It was great..the breakfast was lovely and the Gold Lounge was a real treat especially with the delicious canapes and honour bar. The staff were very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I were verbally assaulted with homophobic discrimination at the public pool. We brought the staff and management to the scene and they did not try to course correct or advocate that this type of language and discrimination at the Fairmont. We left that night feeling small, unimportant and unsafe. We have yet to be contacted by anyone from senior management. They referred to our experience as an “inconvenience” to us.

    There were beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    e like everything about the {a;;user especially the sense of history/

    We love staying in the Fairmont Palliser when we visit our children in Calgary. We find that after a day with children and grandchildren the Fairmont is a fabulous place to retreat to and unwind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice but the decor was a little outdated. Breakfast did not exceed expectations and was overpriced for the quality.

    Comfiest bed ever!! Amazing cocktails. Very lovely staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty pubic hair everywhere in the bathroom it was disgusting and the sheets were either brand new and never washed or heavily startched. I had skin irritation and couldn't sleep because of it.

    Location and the sale price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is disgraceful that a hotel of this standard charges extra for wi-fi connection, which is offered free by more modest establishments. This is petty and why it does not receive full marks.

    The in-Room service was prompt and excellent. A very good position in Downtown Calgary.it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com said we had a meal plan included in our stay but when we arrived we found out that it was untrue, very disappointing to have had that happen. But the hotel staff were an excellent help for the issue at hand.

    The staff was extraordinarily friendly and knew my name. Everything they did for us was far past my own expectations, what they did made the one night even better for the two of us. The food was exceptional and all the accommodations were well suited to the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was way to cold, that’s the only complaint we had.

    The hot tub was awesome, and the bedroom was very comfy. They brought a crib up for our little one.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not up to service level expected of Fairmont hotel. Encountered alot of snags (nothing major but they added up)- when I arrived to room there were no complimentary bottles of water in room & safe needed to be unlocked by Maintenace. Next day couldn’t brush teeth shower or flush toilet all day because water supply was switched off (I received no notice) from 9-5. Ordered room service but sent no sugar with coffee and another time the wrong item was delivered. Asked for late check out but key card was deactivated. Internet was spotty. For my inconvenience they offered complimentary wifi. Nice gesture.

    Beautiful hotel, very spacious & well located

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the halls when there was any was very loud.

    Bed was very comfortable, I liked that you got extra towels, the bathrooms floor was heated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cold breakfast food, sometimes a tad under/overdone.

    Decent (upgraded) breakfast and lounge area. .. quiet. The food in this upgraded service was sometimes not fresh, nor a varied as it could have been. But we had good time being taken care of by this place. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very annoyed with Booking.com in that they claimed, very clearly, in the pictures illustrating rooms at the Palliser, that breakfast was included. It then turned out, after booking, that breakfast was $31. a person. Booking.com was using deceptive advertising, but don’t seem to be accessible for someone to question them.

    Very good service, comfortable bed and room, very pleasant ambiance in lobby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold and being older building can hear everything next door. For the price of the room having to pay for the internet is ridiculous. Food and drink prices. Wow! What ridiculous prices.

    Bed is very comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was too short; there are so many great restaurants, theatre options and lounging spots near the Palliser that you really need more than a day.

    Comfy bed, fabulous pool/hot tub/spa area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived at the property and checked in we were asked if we wanted to upgrade which included getting their wi-fi. Which I didn't know that wasn't included in the booking. Which that isn't a big deal don't need the wi fi that bad but they wanted another $80 for this. Once we got to our room it definitely wasn't what was in the pictures. When we went into the bathroom there was urine in the toilet and there was a used facecloth balled up on the counter.

    I loved how comfortable the bed was and the sheets were soft not like other sheets that are usually hard and not comfortable. The staff was good to deal with.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is quite expensive and doesn't seem to have "normal" items we would have enjoyed like sandwiches or pizzas. The bathroom had no counter space or storage for makeup and beauty supplies.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Pool was very nice, loved the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were on the small size and bathroom was really small. I know its an older hotel but it was a combination of dated and modern in the rooms which I didn't like. There was valet parking but it was expensive and had to pay for WIFI which we didn't, also no coffeemakers in our room.

    Service was exceptional and they were very friendly. We didn't eat a meal here just an appetizer and it was good. Pool and hot tub were really nice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Signature Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way that you payed.. they keep take money even when they blocked a deposit from your card they think you will runaway... no WiFi unless you are members .. the guy in the reception need to take some courses how to deal and welcome the gust

    Signature room good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Gold Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very large bathroom was spoilt by having the sort of tiny bath you find in a Travelodge. The room safe, whilst large enough, was mounted upon the wall. This meant playing Tetris with our multiple cameras, tablets etc then closing the door quickly before everything fell out.

    This is an amazing hotel, you feel that you have gone back in time and joined the aristocracy. Do yourself a favour and book a gold room, this gives you breakfast and early evening nibbles in the penthouse, with views of the Rockies in the distance. The only thing missing from the room was George Clooney, to work the Nespresso machine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Are room was right beside the elevators so it was very noisy not only because of the old crickety elevators but the people getting off. Is very overpriced no free wifi movies to rent are $20. Rooms are small. Only showers in standard rooms.

    The Oak room restaurant is delicious and there is a lot of history through it the building because it is over 100 years old.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Gold Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used valet parking and even after 20 minute ahead call, had to wait extra 15 minutes outside on cold street waiting for car to be brought out.

    Was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the room was super weird. The tv was off at an angle and not at the end of the bed. Made it uncomfortable to watch. We had someone come to the door and they could see right into the bed from the door because of the layout.

    Paying for the upgrade was worth it for the food in the gold level lounge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Gold Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a king bed on booking.com and got a queen once we where there and staff would not change it.

    Every thing was great, staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Man disappeared with our bags for probably 40 minutes. It was disappointing because we were starving and wanted to go eat after check in. Towels and robes provided are very rough on the skin. A lot of hairs on the sheets. WiFi costed $15.... Per night. We literally stay at other hotels and hostiles and they always have free WiFi. It's just strange nowadays.

    The room was clean and the atmosphere was pretty fancy. High ceilings, marble ceilings, well kept. It's right in the down town and beside Calgary tower so it's great for tourists. Parking kinda sucks but if you're ok walking around, it's a good value for the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Palliser. Started our trip to Banff here and it was the perfect beginning to our trip. So much so, that we booked it for the way out too! Great location, excellent service, and all around a very positive experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small and awkward. Tub water level shallow. Shower difficult to adjust. Never did get hot water just warm. Signage from and to the parkade was terrible. Upgraded to a room that had a brick wall as the view. Hate to think what the view was from the standard room. One very rude staff member and one very nice one. I was meant to stay two days, but left after one. Won't go back.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very annoying there's no free wifi in your room. You have to pay for it (ridiculous!) Only the lobby has the free wifi. My bathtub faucet was not working properly and I had to wait for the maintenance guy to fix it. It was not a big deal, but for a hotel like this I did not expect it. Parking is not cheap.

    You can expect a nice standard for any Fairmont hotel you go to: the lobby is nicely decorated, the room is clean and spacious, the bed is extremely comfortable and the swimming pool/ whirlpool are nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi access $15 a day - what year is it, 2007? Ridiculous for a hotel this expensive. Lots of rooms (including ours) facing railroad directly behind hotel. I'd say pick a cheaper hotel and spend the extra money on a nice dinner!

    Very centrally located, clean, nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay an enormous sum of money for breakfast after paying not an inconsiderable sum for the room. We went across the road.

    Walking into the vast and beautiful reception was stunning. I loved this hotel. It was comfortable and although opulent, not at all stuffy. The pool was wonderful and its position virtually next to the Calgary tower and main shopping street perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was directly above the train tracks and a bar so we got to hear trains passing by and patrons yelling and music playing until the wee hours of the morning.

    The bed was lovely and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a pet and it was very difficult to find a place for him to go to the bathroom. Had to walk two blocks to find a very small space of grass and it was late at night when we arrived. Hotel isnt the most pet friendly for this reason.

    towels very soft, room atmosphere and decor was elegant but yet felt homey

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two weddings were booked at hotel so they were loud after hours. Our room faced south over looking main railway tracks, trains went by almost every hour.

    Very elegant hotel, rich history. Good location close to downtown.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot say ONE THING wrong with this hotel - it's a beautiful well run establishment with phenomenal staff

    The concierge really took care of my husband (he has severe COPD) and she took him and sat him down and gave him water while I checked in - when we left she had a car take us to our car all no charge

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark. Not enough lights. For a high end hotel you would expect a little bit more in the rooms. The towel rod was broken in the bathroom.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was below average even compared to some other 4 star hotel chains like Holiday Inn, Marriott. Room was way too small and I felt uncomfortable. The room door opens to the room bed and bathroom door a foot away from the bed??

    Front desk staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't honor the booking.com price or its booking.com that makes up their own price?! We booked 2 rooms through booking.com price we were given was $365 which was great. When we arrived we were given a different price ($615) and told it couldn't be refunded once processed! What are we supposed to do when I had a party of 9 and we had all traveled all day! Needless to say I paid it but then promptly had a pleasant chat with the manager the following morning! I did get my money back and was charged what I was quoted but I don't feel any guest should have to go through that! Either booking.com needs to be on the same page as the hotels or vise-versa!

    Comfy beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing; our stay was great!

    The beds were very comfortable and the room was well appointed. All the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We especially liked the breakfast buffet which had a great selection. Would recommend the valet service as it was very convenient!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing :)

    We booked last-minute and the hotel was very full, so we were upgraded to Gold status and enjoyed access to the penthouse lounge and its spectacular continental breakfast. This is a top-notch hotel and we enjoyed their usual high level of service for a fraction of the cost.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little cramped, toilet was too close to the door and toilet paper was behind the door. Maybe a few more feet bigger bathroom would’ve been better.

    Good place for the price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Gold Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite several floor lamps and table lamps, the room still felt a little dark. There was a window, giving onto a narrow courtyard and other windows opposite us, so we tended to keep the curtains closed for privacy.

    As usual the Fairmont lives up to all expectations and more. We were in Calgary for the Stampede, and the Fairmont provided us with comfy padded chairs, front row on the sidewalk, directly in front of the hotel, for watching the opening-day Parade. We stayed for 10 days. The staff was wonderful, the bed extra comfy, the bathroom perfect. The architecture is stunning, all that marble and sense of history is inspiring. Afternoon Tea is served in the salon (you must reserve the night before). It is expensive, but such generous servings that you can get a substantial boxed lunch of left-overs for later. Breakfast was included in our price and excellent. Also substantial and delicious hors-d'œuvres were served every evening. Service was outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long way parking, noisy right elevator, head board right light not working, non sense and so much small closet, bath tab old damages now and simple breakfast not included in ..so no encouragement to come back in hotel.

    Only the lobby atmosphere, nice view, and beautiful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the front desk staff to be so so in their welcome's and smiles compared to what I have received at the Hilton. My room got chilly at night but they have already cut off the heat so no way to warm it up.

    Location for evening dinners and walks around DT. I love the history and architecture of the Hotel, very beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really that welcoming. We were upgraded, would hate to think what our original Deluxe room would have been like. We were grateful but not the best room we have stayed at in a Fairmont chain

    Comfy bed and very central

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower/tub combo, while nice, was a bit cramped size wise. The wash basin was a little small to accommodate toiletries. It was also a bit unusual to have a large frosted glass in the bathroom directly in front of the shower and toilet.

    The room was spacious, bed was very comfortable. Larger than expected flat screen tv, in-wall safe large enough for larger laptops (usually a problem in most hotels). Exercise room was better than many places. Only used room service once, but the food was very good. Check-in/out was fast and easy. I used the spa in the hotel for a massage, and while it was a pricey massage, it was worth every penny.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gold breakfast could have been better. Not good value for the money. Complementary water in the room on arrival would have been nice.

    the bed was very large and comfy as was the bathroom. it was nicely designed and decorated with easy access to the elevators.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairmont Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Giving a room which might be cheaper does not mean give room with broken stuff should have a look completely. small lights on beds(reading lights) were not working in both rooms I saw as I changed rooms and changing toilet paper and whole handle comes off. Standard rooms should given the attention like the special or other rooms. The elevator is little scary, Plus a lil disappointed that there is an internet charges for wifi. suggestion to provide free Wifi

    it was good but should also take care more of the rooms which are less expensive. Otherwise Great Staff, Cleaned, great location, Just to make a lil effort on the standard rooms as well. Otherwise loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Fairmont Palliser traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: