Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown Sudbury 2 stars

390 Elgin Street, P3B 1B1 Sudbury, Canada

#26 of 31 hotels in Sudbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 83 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and quiet, and in a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starts too late. I had to leave earlier and missed it. Offering a “to go” breakfast brown bag or something would have been nice. I couldn’t even get a good coffee - no fresh cream provided that early.

    Location was good. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    A good experience for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and facilities were good - bathroom shower had hairs in it (the only downside of my stay).

    Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Complimentary breakfast was fantastic (in restaurant).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable!!Great value for the price!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They could use some more parking area as it is a busy spot with Don Cherry's and the lounge all in the same spot.

    The property was clean and the breakfast was awesome!! Staff was helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay again .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is comfortable and the price is good. REstaurant was fine and the staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel along with booking.com adverstises a pool. There is no operational pool and there won't be one anytime soon so UPDATE your information. We had a child with us expecting a pool..not fun ! There should be a minifridge...we stayed for a week and won't do it again without one.

    The location was convenient. The price was reasonable and the complimentary breakfast was great !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    breakfast and the restaurant staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there were big trucks(beer truck and food supplier) parking for delivery to the bar in the parking blocking my car. I couldn't get out for almost 15min.

    breakfast and the restaurant staff renovated bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved the hot made to order breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask server at Don Cherry's to come over with menus after we sat ourselves with two friends as she was on her phone.

    Loved the hot made to order breakfast!!!! Great pillows and beautifully updated shower! Front desk girl was very nice!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.2
    Not the best place to stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge was shut off in the middle of our stay, there was things missing from our food and snacks we had empty beef bottles in the room and the staff too them win out asking. When we went to talk to the staff they told us they would get back to us but never did the next morning.

    Close to our event

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    Fair to good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Website indicated that there was a restaurant on site as well as Don Cherry's - there was neither. Signs indicated there was a pop machine on our floor - there was not & when I called the desk I was told they didn't know the property so couldn't help me.

    Room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.3
    Alright
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that they advertized for an Indoor pool but then said it wasn't functional for over a year.

    The location is very convenient. Right in the heart of Sudbury.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.0
    Not bad and price was good.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not too bad, got up too late to have the breakfast, and the price was good, just when I got in to check in the young lady at the front did not smile she seemed like she was having a bad day or something, also the deposit was quite high considering the stay was cheaper than the deposit. The deposit amount was quite off a normal amount , it was 160.00 for deposit which I thought normally would have been like 50.00 or a 100.00

    beds were comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    It was not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We miss the full breakfast. The small breakfast was not satisfiying and you had to server yourself. When we stayed before we had a full breakfast served. :(

    the mattress was very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    Would Not Stay Here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel for the pool. Pool was being renovated with no note at time of booking; found out when we got there and was told there was a no cancellation policy, so we couldn't go elsewhere. Very disappointed 4 year old. We were put on the 1st floor between the restaurant and bar, which resulted in very drunk and very loud neighbouring rooms. You could hear them in the lobby, but no one bothered to deal with them until I finally put a complaint in when my daughter still couldn't get to sleep at 10pm.

    Clean room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.0
    It is not stated anywhere that the pool is under renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not stated anywhere that the pool is under renovations. Luckily, the front staff was extremely understanding and let us cancel for free when we arrived to check in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    Okay for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    cook was in a mood so the breakfast wasn't done. we heard plates crashing. Pay him more. Great waitress. tv cable not working and couldn't be fixed. pool closed - was in the fine print, but didn't see it on the main website.

    staff were nice, tried to help but couldn't overcome infrastructure problems.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was delicious.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked it through Booking.com looking for a hotel with a pool but when we got there the pool was under reconstruction:( My daughter was very dissappointed!

    Breakfast was delicious. The rooms were super clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.4
    Aug 3rd
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed, hot tub was closed. Small fitness area. Room was not in good shape. Window sill falling apart Windows are old and probably not energy efficient plus cosmetically gross. Hole in the floor in the corner of the room, may want to fix it. Add rooms to the list of renovations. Bathroom was nice though and up-to-date .

    Easy to get to

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    Great value right downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated and some of the doors to the rooms need a sanding and new coat of paint.

    A very comfortable bed, great complimentary breakfast with a super server. Nice pub in the basement with friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.1
    Restaurant food good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location terrible area of the city Bad parking lot Not a nice entrance move quality inn elsewhere Only booked there because last minute business trip as I usually stay elsewhere in the city. Travel to this city twice month but this time fully booked at my preferred places

    Restaurant food good Room clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.0
    Not bad but not going to return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff ( especially the restaurant staff) were rude and unfriendly. Making us feeling unwelcomed. we were the only ones in the restaurant and still took forever to get stuff (ex. Ketchup for our home fries). Even though they write down all orders, the orders came out wrong. You have to pay for green tea even though tea is included in the breakfast (apparently you can only get red rose tea).

    The closeness of the hotel to science north and other attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    3.3
    Choose another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three cars were broken into overnight and not once did management get in touch with us. The restaurant is closed during the long weekend. What are guests to do? Continental breakfast poorest I have ever had.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Great Place - but location was hard to find in such a large city.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find the hotel in such a large city, since it is off the beaten path. More directional signs should be erected throughout the city to make it easier for visiters to find the hotel.

    Free breakfast offer following the overnight stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice updated place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The updates were not complete, the window and hall door let in lots of noise. The pool was not finished yet.

    Beds were comfy, room was clean, lovely bathroom and towels as well as bed linen. The breakfast coupon was great, the restaurant food was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    7.5
    Disappointed because of the pool and noise from trains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked because it had a pool for the grandson but didn't know it was under construction. Very disappointed. Also the trains kept waking us up so we didn't have a very good sleep. The pillows were to thick for our comfort.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful shower, comfy and welcoming place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the side closest to the train tracks and I could hear trains running all night otherwise excellent stay.

    Beautiful shower, comfy and welcoming place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed for maintenance and I probably wouldn't walk around late a night it's not a very good area

    Bed was soft heat was controlled by a thermostat which was nice receptionist were helpful and friendly free breakfast a very pleasant stay

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.7
    It was pretty good for a Sudbury hotel at the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed work, and had looked as if it was ready to come apart when I was a here. Requested a higher floor for renovated room but didnt get that. Restaurant staff needs a good training session. Some things were Sudbury typical.

    Room size, breakfast was good. The restaurant staff seemed like they needed training on stronger table serving and table manangement but still great food. The views though from the bridge side of the hotel are awesome even from a first floor room being that the hotel is in higher ground. I've stayed here before and will stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    Air conditioner was too loud couldn't sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was too loud couldn't sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Very accommodating.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I didn't like. It was a short stay and not a lot of time spent in the room.

    The room was spacious and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Great staff; super breakfast, and a wonderful housekeeping service
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The advertised indoor swimming pool is no longer in service

    Breakfast was wonderful Staff was excellent ... Super Friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    2.9
    Mold on the wall in the room
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold on the wall in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Should have better signs to property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have better signs to property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Stayed here many times, staff are very friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs an extra garbag can, only 1 in the bathroom.

    Lovely room, very convenient being on the first floor when you have a pet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.4
    it wasn't too bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise of the trains going by

    easy check-in and check-out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    There was a mix-up with the reservation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a mix-up with the reservation. Wasn't in my name. But worked out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    I would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No construction, pool open

    Breakfast excellent, beds comfy staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    I like that the breakfast was real food in a dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like that the breakfast was real food in a dining environment! Very classy. Your front desk people were also super nice and helpful !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Location, friendly staff, very clean, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was the pool was closed for renovations

    Location, friendly staff, very clean, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Closeness to concert venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closeness to concert venue.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Staff very professional and curteous
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Doors difficult to open when carrying luggage

    Staff very professional and curteous

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.9
    Economical clean Value for $
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv too small

    Quality for price was good so was restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.5
    Long term leak in the entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long term leak in the entrance. Totally shabby. The lobby was like a cheap motel, and fixing it up would be low hanging fruit to do.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access signage could be better

    Close to HSN, quiet, comfortable and we'll priced

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    4.2
    Pool was under construction and no one notified me so I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was under construction and no one notified me so I had to change hotels last minute and pay a way higher rate for same day booking. Not happy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Great amenities and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great amenities and location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Excellent service, comfortable, good at problem solving if an issue came up
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All hood

    The location, amazing service at breakfast generally a lovely place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.6
    Close to downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Close to downtown

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    Bed was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.4
    When I was there no hot water and the water was yellow and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I was there no hot water and the water was yellow and elevator was broke down

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    8.3
    Location, friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs an update, carpets are sketchy, sure they are clean but? Should have accessibility to the door closest to our room without one of us having to go through the lobby, possibly using our room key for access.

    Location, friendliness. Well suited for our needs. Having a restaurant on premises, breakfast was excellent, staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    4.6
    Although location is run-down and scary (especially at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel and the room we were in are outdated and were not worth its price $110-130. Toilet was old and you could see a rust all over it. There were no free breakfast, and the waitress was very rude. She literally ignored us for a minute or so and seemed to be annoyed when we ask her if they had a free breakfast. Also she didn't mention that kids eat free (a receptionist did when we'd already left the restaurant). Menu was pricey for the place like that. The worst thing happened when I was taking a shower. Well, they just cut off the water at around 9:30 am with absolutely no advance notice. After I was staying all in soap and swearing to myself for 5 or 10 minutes, they finally gave the water back, but it was all rusty and not suitable for taking a shower. Running it off for 15 minutes did not help. I'm glad it was me in shower and not my kid. The receptionist apologized and even offered a free upgrade next time we stay, but I really really doubt we'll stay here again. So should you.

    Although location is run-down and scary (especially at night), it's close to all major attractions and downtown area in Sudbury. However beds were comfy and I liked a free wireless Internet.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    2.9
    The first room we were assigned to smelled of stale...
    • Family with older children

    The first room we were assigned to smelled of stale cigarette smoke, had no fridge in the room. Upon moving to a second room we discovered there was a thick layer of dust on many surfaces, the bed linen and towels were torn in several places, there was evidence of water damage on several walls, the toilet was leaking and after asking for help at the service desk, the porter tried a few adjustments, said he was going for a wrench and never returned after breaking the chain inside the tank. There was a foul odour coming from the air conditioner when in use. Have stayed in less expensive places in Sudbury that offered higher quality.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.5
    The beds are worn out half the outlets didn't work hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing sorry bad kept up place

    The beds are worn out half the outlets didn't work hot tub is not there the driveway is way bad I will not be staying there again

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.9
    Edward was a great guy, he is who checked us in and directed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A lil outdated The headboards where very oily n greasy like they have never been cleaned

    Edward was a great guy, he is who checked us in and directed us to a location to have a late night snack.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.8
    Our room was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Our room was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    6.3
    The hot tub was a concrete slab.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    The hot tub was a concrete slab.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.1
    The location, cleanliness and price were good.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool was as cold as ice and the walls were paper thin.

    The location, cleanliness and price were good. The restaurant and staff were quite good.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.1
    The food at the restaurant was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There isn't much to do very close to the hotel.

    The food at the restaurant was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.1
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room smelled of stale smoke. Spa gone.

    The bed was comfortable. We loved the pool for the children.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.5
    The room was large and clean and it was quite during the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool was too cold to swim in my granddaughter wouldn't get in

    The room was large and clean and it was quite during the night

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.2
    I had a view of the Bridge of Nations from my hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a view of the Bridge of Nations from my hotel room. It was walking distance to downtown. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.2
    The restaurant was closed had to go out for food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was closed had to go out for food.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: