Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection 3 stars

2 Front Street North, L3V 4R5 Orillia, Canada

#11 of 17 hotels in Orillia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 196 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    Overall a comfortable stay. Shuttle to the casino was prompt and not a long trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    “Water front” is misleading. The hotel is a block away from the water. We arrived to breakfast at 9:45 and everything was a bit picked over, not much hot food left. Shuttle to casino wasn’t free. Cost $11 for a yellow school bus.

    The decor was modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location great staff very comfortable bed clean good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a major disturbance during the night but the staff took care of it and us

    Great location great staff very comfortable bed clean good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    The soaps in the washroom smelled really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. The room was a lot smaller than in the photos. The space between the bed and the TV was 1.5 feet. It was so close that I walked right into the TV and hit my shoulder. A large, heavyset person would have to shuffle sideways to get to the other amenities in the room.

    The soaps in the washroom smelled really good. The room was so clean and nicely decorated. I wasn't worried about the cleanliness of the hotel. It was spotless through and through. The room was so clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Weekend at the Champlain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking. First room we received was in the basement had to change rooms. Some staff members need retraining. No elevator.

    It was comftable and quite

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Good for the money, I would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small parking lot. I missed having an elevator. The breakfast was just OK at best.

    The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Great location and good value. Close walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    The free breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient parking at the hotel. I had to park at a nearby shopping mall. I found the front desk staff less than friendly and not to helpful in explaining alternate safe parking spots.

    The free breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    It was very clean, staff were helpful and happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs, parking and little to no gluten free options for breakfast. Also no bottle opener in the room and had to share 1 bottle opener with other guest. The shuttle bus to casino was awful :(

    It was very clean, staff were helpful and happy. The location was great with restaurants and shopping close by. All in all, we would return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Pleasant staff, clean and well decorated, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in front of door from stairway so we heard the door opening and closing. Other than that everything was awesome.

    Pleasant staff, clean and well decorated, excellent breakfast, shuttle service to Casino.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Clean and the breakfast was pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a little sketchy and it was a little noisy, we were stuck in the basement just inside the doors and they were very noisy

    Clean and the breakfast was pretty good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Almost there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room lacked a comfortable chair for relaxing in. Only an office chair for the desk area was provided. The entrance to the hotel is at the back. We understand why, but the whole area is a bit grungy and off putting. It is also complicated to get to the lobby as there are so many doors and stairs to use to get to there and to your room. There is no elevator and lots of stairs. Although there seems to have been a lot of work put into the hotel it feels like it isn't quite there yet and needs a little more attention to detail (cleanliness, front desk) to really arrive.

    The room was large with a nice bathroom, shower and a comfortable bed. Nice TV and good Wifi and the downtown location near the waterfront is great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    It was a pretty good stay, id come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures of the room are very decieving. I thought it was much much bigger than it was but it worked for us.

    The complimentary breakfast was wonderful and the staff was really great, they know how to serve their customers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Very modern, clean and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac was located right next to the bed, which made it a little uncomfortable during the night. Not a big deal... but I woke up with a stiff back and shoulders.

    Very modern, clean and cozy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Old hotel with nice renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the stairs (no elevator). Should add cereal to the breakfast. Not enough parking spots. Has to wait past check in time for room to be ready. Room very small. When getting out of bed, could hardly get around air conditioning unit. Should have a comfy chair to sit on to watch tv.

    The triple blinds were great to keep the light out. Nice and quiet. The bed was comfortable. Huge TV. Location great. Walk to the lakefront park.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Great place to stay for the night and get some work done!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peanut butter should be available for those who ask for it. But can understand if that is still an allergy issue.

    Staff very accommodating and friendly, even helped bring my bag to my room. The breakfast wrap was a nice change to the regular eggs. They don’t serve peanut butter at breakfast, but that is understandable considering the allergies these days! Very tasty coffee!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Excellent ! We will definitely be back for a longer stay sometime.
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our rooms but they were on the ground floor.....I'm sure it was because we only booked our rooms, the prior day. Hopefully our next visit will be planned in advance, and we will get a room with a better view of the waterfront. 😊

    Loved the waterfront location with access to several amenities, patio restaurants, and LCBO, all within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    No elevator in the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator in the building. I did not see anything in the article that there was no elevator. I use a cane and stairs are unsafe for me. If I had of known would have requested main floor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    A OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't really like breakfast, was missing some healthy options, more fruits, but I'm guessing a lot of people would like it either way.

    Good place for a short stay and handy for Niagara Falls. Very friendly and helpful staff, big room, great shower, clean. Very basic, no bar or other facilities. Bit old-ish but no real complaints

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful location in the heart of Orillia! Excellent service and property...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Assistant Manager offered excellent service regarding an incident in the basement and quickly remedy for us to enjoy a great 3 days at your property. Thanks again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean hotel near the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - dislike the way so much disposable items used which are then thrown away. Why can't they use proper crockery and cutlery?

    Location near the harbour was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    All great except no blow dryer or shower hose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m happy I brought a blow dryer because there was none in the room. Not sure if they supply if you ask though. No shower hose. I take a shower with a hose.

    Love the renovated room, complimentary coffee, and water in the room. Very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    I would happily recommend this hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is too bad they do not have an elevator for persons with physical problems. I presently suffer with hip problems and it was difficult to go down two flights of stairs however the staff was quick to assist with luggage. They also compensated me for the inconvenience and advised me to request a main floor room in the future.

    The hotel is beautify decorated and gives you the confidence when you enter the lobby that your room will be the same. The staff are very welcoming and registration is very quick and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful new room, really comfortable beds, decent price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful new room, really comfortable beds, decent price for what you get, I’d recommend it to anyone!!! Friendly helpful staff, restaurants very close, I will stay here every time I’m in orillia from now on!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Location by the water was great for walking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location by the water was great for walking. Shuttle to casino was great added touch! Staff was friendly, room was nice a bit small but we were on the lower level.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue when we went to check in. We weren’t registered. Staff had to try and remedy the situation And luckily they had a room available. However, the room was very small. Not what I had booked. So we were disappointed in that. We had tickets to a concert and it would have been very upsetting if we had to miss the concert because we didn’t have a place to stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The room was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very nice. Very up to date and clean. The location was perfect for out purposes. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall just a great experience!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    I would return to this hotel on another visit to Orillia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    An elevator would be handy for those going to the second floor.........

    An excellent king size bed........ ultra modern renovations ....... good hot breakfast .... close to the water

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Great B&B with super friendly staff - you are guaranteed a great stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great - no complaints !

    The staff were really friendly and very helpful - the room was lovely and very ,very clean. Very comfortable bed. A lovely little hotel. A great experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful room with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was amazing. Booking.com had lost our reservation and staff bent over backwards to help us out. Not only were we put in a staff favourite room, she took 20 dollars off the booking.com price which then covered our shuttle fee to Rama. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Bed comfortable., however it was hard to regulate heat/ac...either too hot or too cold. Bathroom..no counter space but cute. Very small room for the money. Breakfast- average...mostly cold...one highlight..just brought out hot sauages. No decaf coffee. Went for a walk after dinner down at the water. Young man started to talk to me, kept insisting I come over and talk to him...a little frightening...I thought he was high on drugs...left quickly. Overall staff was very courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall, very enjoyable experience, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    as a short person i found the bed a bit too high and also found the pillows too soft.

    Very friendly staff, clean room, good breakfast, stated continental but includes hot eggs, sausage, hashbrowns.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Other then the bed it was great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the bed was very uncomfortable for myself and my mother. The sheets and comforter were great and fluffy and soft and kept us warm but myself...I couldn't sleep from the pain in my back, I can usually sleep on just about anything but this make of bed. My mom also mentioned that she was sore in the back as well when she woke up which was too bad because I had a late night and was looking forward to having a good sleep in the comfortable looking bed...

    The Room was immaculate!! Very clean and quiet. The staff was very accommodating!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    But yes I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is out of the way for the casino and the breakfast wasn’t very good.

    The bed was amazing, the rooms were updated and very clean. Staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    I was charged on my visa but paid by debit unfortunately I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged on my visa but paid by debit unfortunately I still haven't received my refund back to my visa which is an inconvenience. I enjoyed my stay but not use to not having an alarm clock in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    We will definitely book again next March but, ask for a room on the upper floors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were placed in a basement room which I believe was referred to as the first floor. Found it very claustrophobic and dark. Room was very small.

    Very friendly staff--especially the front desk and housekeeper. Room was clean and updated. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    No complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    The staff was very friendly - the hotel was close to everything we were able to walk to the shops and the waterfront enjoyed the winter carnival - the shuttle to the concert on the Friday night was a bonus especially since we do not know the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, great location & awesome staff ready to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredibly nice and helpful. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was provided in the lobby with a nice variety of food & the coffee was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Overall excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wished there was a mat at the front door of the room we took our snowy. Boots off and it left wet foot prints everywhere and our socks got wet

    Staff were very helpful...super comply bed and pillows slept like a baby

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.4
    I would not visit this hotel again and would not suggest it to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the breakfast at all ... it was really bad choice. Did not like our room - it was practically in the basement, so that the small window was right at the ground level. It was quite cold outside and it was cold in the room, cold reflected from the window and the bed was under the window... Nobody told us this in advance, either nobody asked if it is OK for us to have a room in the basement. Corridor was not clean beacuse of snow. And finally, a cleaning lady came to clean at 9 pm !!, banged with the doors in the corridor and started the vacuum cleaner... Had to call to the reception to stop this. I have travelled 20+ years and I have never seen anything like that before.

    Location was really good, in the centre of the town and many eating places around - sushi place next to the hotel, also a bar right around the corner. Parking was easy, right in the courtyard. Loved the house, nice building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    Room was clean but too small if you had to stay a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a huge snowfall but they never cleared the sidewalks or parking lot for the time we were there.

    Room was clean but too small if you had to stay a few days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    The room was gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was lacking and we ended up going elsewhere to eat. Also when the staff suggested taking the shuttle they failed to mention that it was a school bus.

    The room was gorgeous. It was a little small but very usable. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and informative. We were in Orillia for a show at Casino Rama and I would stay here again if I was to come for another show.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable! Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could've have used a microwave, clock radio and bigger garbage cans in the room.

    Room and hotel was newly renovated. Looked great! Breakfast was excellent. Everything was close like LCBO, pub and tourist area. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Overall excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be much better if there was an elevator

    Staff and rooms were great. I was not happy to find a pair of socks left by previous guest. Makes you wonder how well rooms are really getting cleaned.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures in the internet were deceiving Expected a suite got a regular room But the staff offered a voucher for another stay. Very pleased afterwards Parking was confusing as it's shared with restaurant and was packed

    Bed and soap

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Great service! Loved the new rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit confusing at first until we asked. Will be a lot better once the elevator is in!

    The room was great - extra large bed and lots of room to move around in the room. Everything was new and that's always nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice updated bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt like I was in the basement of a house and without lights on it was pretty dark in the room . The flooring is not carpeted which I prefer in a hotel . The door was difficult to lock. I see that the renovations are going on and they did their best to accommodate the guests .

    Nice updated bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Great downtown/near waterfront location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping needs to work to improve consistency.

    Newly renovated room - great bed & linens. Included continental breakfast & few hot items a good value. Very attentive & helpful front desk staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Awesome stay at the newly renovated Champlain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok, as I know they are waiting for the kitchen to be finished to serve a proper hot breakfast. Kudos to the staff who tried their best.

    Clean and renovated. Close to everything.the lake. Shops. Restaurants. Comfortable bed. Good size room. Very quiet. Staff was super nice. We will definitely stay again. Nothing really bad to say about this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    It was very enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No front door check-in parking and no elevator up to the room, however those are not possible because of the building design and location.

    The room was very modern and very nice! We really enjoyed it. It was very similar to an upscale New York hotel room! The staff were very friendly and accommodating!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Everything about the Champlain Hotel was perfect from the renovations to the room cleanliness to the staff to the price couldn't ask for any better I would recommend it to anyone

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Newly renovated, beautiful rooms, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newly renovated rooms, I suggest the superior king room, large tv, very very clean, washroom is really nice with walk in shower. Great helpful staff, wouldn't think twice about staying here again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Rooms were new and modern
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    hall ways are loud, sound carries, didn't sleep well as a result of hallway noises. Carpet hallways would juristically reduce this noise.

    Rooms were new and modern

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    4.6
    In hind sight, based on price paid, would've driven home after concert at casino. (2 hrs)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited..discount given off next stay instead of discount on THIS stay. Walls were thin and other patrons were extremely noisy till 1:30 am.

    Bed was comfortable and was king size instead of queen (booked). Washroom was upgraded and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Room was quiet and clean. Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small. No 'full breakfast' included.

    Advertised as including full breakfast. Not true. Offerings for breakfast was much less than normal continental breakfast. 'Includes full breakfast' should definitely come off their website!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    A reasonably priced hotel in the centre of Orilla near shopping, boat cruises and the boardwalk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator There was only 1 chair in the room

    The hotel is steps from the waterfront boardwalk. The duvet was excellent. The walk in shower was an advantage for we 80 year old people. The staff were friendly and attentive to our needs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    The weather was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The name is misleading, it is not on the waterfront. The first room we were offered had a window that was a few feet from a brick wall. The second room overlooked the a/c on the roof. The breakfast buffet was pathetic. The renovation is underway, although the rooms were OK the hallways were substandard.

    Good location for access to tourist sites, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyed the town of orillia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Breakfast was all packaged food. Not a good variety of tv Channels. Room was smaller than expected. A little pricy for what the hotel offeres

    Nice room, comfortable bed, large tv. Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    From Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From Booking.com I had the confirmation for reserving 3 rooms but at the hotel, they only had it for 2 rooms. ( not sure why Booking Com has not reserved 3 rooms). The lady at the reception was very helpful and managed to find one extra room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    The hotel has the potential of becoming a very nice place to stay! We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the place and parking coming in by car.

    The newly renovated room was beautifully done, the bed very comfy, and the bathroom classy. Although still renovating and apologetic regarding the breakfast buffet being sober, the staff went all out yet to provide a good and enjoyable breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Champlain hotel 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a little odd but no real issue and the rooms did not have a phone.

    I really liked the layout of the rooms, the rooms were modern and clean and an overall good experience!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Overall - lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed very comfy Parking a bit of an issue - no space - advised I could park in Loading Zone of pub, got a nasty reception from them when we went out on Sunday morning Couldn't get connected to Wifi A suggestion - would be really nice to have another chair in the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Staff , in particular Sandra were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small but comfortable - could hear people after leaving bars and the crossing sound for the blind. Fan was either on or off - could not have on low to drown out background noise

    Staff , in particular Sandra were very helpful. Sandra found my First Choice number and made sure I signed up for the bonus night. Sandra was very attentive at breakfast - making fresh coffee and egg omelettes

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.4
    Lack of storage for clothes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renos being done. Loud constant banging back door. Not much sleep to be had. No dressers. No drawers. No hangers. Living out of a suitcase putting on wrinkled cloths sucks.

    New beds etc

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    A great trip in a lovely hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better. The hot choices were a bit like airline food.

    The hotel was near to the lake which had a great walkway and was also central for restaurants and shopping. The staff were also very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it was perfect

    The room was really nice, fantastic bathroom, staff very helpfull and friendly. Will certainly stay here again and recommend to famil and friends!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator working and had to carrying luggage in the stairs. I've machine broken. When I called the front desk told me the night before there was a shuttle to Hotel and it wasn't available. We had to take taxi for $50. Usually the hotel shuttle is free. Frustrating! Breakfast was awful not worth $30 extra.

    Clean and close to town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.6
    A Building site with small rooms and dire breakfast -very disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was undergoing a major refurb and it was a nightmare as it looked nothing like the photos on your web site. very disappointing and we we charged the top price with no discount or mention of this before we arrived, no elevators, no ice machine, cardboard boxes everywhere on the corridors, builders walking in and out all of the time, dirty carpets owing to workmen , noise during the daytime from bulldozers outside and workmen inside fitting out rooms, poor breakfast in fact the worst i have ever seen, just a few buns and coffee that was it!, so we had to go out and pay for ours- again very disappointing. The rooms are tiny and look nothing like on the photos, nowhere to hang clothes, no draws - really badly designed room space . If it wasnt for the kind receptionist who managed to get us a refund on one of the rooms for one night i would feel even more aggrieved but still felt like we had been ripped off. would never return- and dont be fooled by the photo shopped pictures - it is nothing like that in real life.

    Bettie who was on reception was very sympathetic to the fact the hotel was undergoing a full refurbishment and tried to get a partial refund for our stay as it was like staying in a building site

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    Quaint. Good location. Fionns next door is a plus.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice machine on ground floor, especially since it’s all stairs based.

    Bed actually was comfy! All the recent upgrades were very evident. The suite bathroom and shower were very nice. Little details like the USB chargers were a nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful newly renovated rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was only a soft opening so top floor was the only available place to rent. No major complaint except the advertised breakfast wasn't available and elevator didn't work. I know though, once they are fully up and running it will be an amazing little get away.

    Brand new room, really nicely renovated. Beds were comfy and the staff were all pleasant. It was also perfectly located by the water front and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    Ok but not great
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not waterfront fronts on old parking lots ,street noises for some rooms,breakfast ordinary.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Stairs only no elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs only no elevator

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Loud music.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music. Bar next door. room was very clean and modern.but small

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    no elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator stairs to get into hotel and had to carry luggage to 3rd floor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and convince
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    could be cleaner but nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was too small the corridors were dirty

    breakfast was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    so pretty / the bathroom / the room it was like a expensive suite / the breakfast was amazing lots to choose from

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: