Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Résidences UQAM Est This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

303 Boulevard Rene-Levesques Est, H2X 3Y3 Montreal, Canada

Review Score

Based on 374 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.3

  • Comfort

    5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    4.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    5.8
    The worst staff I've ever dealt with. Cheap place, but apparently not worth at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hot inside and the worst staff I've ever dealt with (the receptionist). We spent almost 1,5h in the line to get our room and before this we were sent to two different rooms to check if they're clean. At the end we didn't get the studio that we booked, because it was dirty and they gave us just a double room and refunded the difference in their price. However, we booked that studio a couple of weeks ahead (when the price was regular) but the double room, that they offered us, didn't cost the regular price, it was more expensive (they're charging more if you just come and take a room without booking). In other words, they just cancelled our booking and charged us higher price, even if that was only they fault that the studio we booked wasn't ready. The icing on the cake: the same guy from the reception came to our room with another guest at the second night and was surprised that we were in that room. Looks like this place is very badly organized and have completely incompetent staff. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

    Good localization, affordable price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    4.6
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The staff didn't care about anything. Our room fridge had rotting food in it. They were doing construction on the building and there was no heads up that people would be working right outside our open window at 7am.

    Wonderful location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    5.4
    Excrement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to listen to racist comments from the staff who thought incorrectly that I don't speak French. Being forced to move rooms on Saturday night because of their incompetence. Being double billed for the entire stay and having to deal with it instead of enjoying my vacation. I'm not a high maintenance traveler, but I will never stay here again.

    I liked that it was near St. Catherine and Berri UQAM station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    6.3
    Way too much money for the value. It's bare bones.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi, no air conditioning, no pots pans or cutlery in the kitchen. The bathroom and shared living spaces are not cleaned. I had to switch rooms because the sheets were clearly dirty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we came out to our vehicle around 10 am the next morning 2 suv's had their windows smashed and everything was stolen. Not our vehicle, 2 guests at the same residence. The owner of 1 vehicle and his wife were outside at their suv. The woman said the front desk clerk told them to park against the wall where there is security cameras and they didn't.

    Location Price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    2.9
    Felt overall really uncomfortable and unsafe staying in this location. Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no wifi in the dorm rooms. No air conditioning. Showers had rust, mold, no toilet paper and were left generally unclean. One blanket on the bed, lumpy pillows. Booking.com website does not have a clear call-to-action for customers to report a property. Did not deal with my complaints fairly.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    4.2
    The worst place we have ever stayed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were uninterested and unhelpful. The room was dirty, hair in the shower, half eaten food in the fridge and water on the floor. The shower leaked so badly it flooded the bathroom and ran all the way out to the corridor. There were 4 lights in the room, but only 1 bulb worked! Generally grubby, with unhelpful staff, I recommend you do not stay here!

    The location was good, not much else unfortunately!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    8.3
    The room had a lot of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff wasn't the friendliest. They didn't accept simple special requests. They also were very pushy about check out.

    The room had a lot of space. Adequate bathrooms for the size of the apartment. We were a group of 16 people who rented this apartment during a music festival in Montreal. We had a blast and the room was great. If you're planning to check in during the evening, make sure you add 30 minutes to your schedule as their computer system is extremely slow and the staff is limited at the desk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    3.8
    Underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How small the room was, how late check-in was, the uncleanliness of our room, the lack of toilet paper, soap in the bathroom

    The price and the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    7.9
    for what i paid for, i cannot complain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it took almost 10 minutes per person for check in to be done.

    for what i paid for, i cannot complain. facilities are spartan but you cannot beat the location for the price!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    2.5
    I don't recommend it to anyone!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like anything in this place!!!!it was vey very disgusting, we found dead bug in the room and some hair everywhere!!!! and I booked private studio and they write in their website that you can add one bed in the studio so I went there with my 2 of friends and we were shocked the room is vey small and it was not enough to add any bed!!! and when they gave us one bed i just try hardly to put it in the room and finally we found this bed was broken and there is no pillow and every single time when we need thing from them we had to go to reception from the 7th floor because the phone inside the room is broken!! and we had to wait in long line to ask them any question. Another thing the mattress that was in the room not comfortable and it was like hole inside it, i couldn't sleep all the night my back is hurts me next day:( There is no Air condition and the room was very small and the weather was hot!! we were dying in this room!!! After we talked with them about every thing in this room at morning they refund us the half of price, they were supposed to refund us all the money because we found there the opposite that they wrote in thier website!! I don't recommend it to anyone!!

    The only advantage in this place is the location is near for downtown.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    3.3
    The hotel was unprofessional, uncomfortable, and we felt unsafe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    check in process took over 45 minutes and the initial room they gave us had not been cleaned. Staff was quiet and not helpful.

    There was a parking garage near by for a reasonable price ($13 CAD per day) and the Berri-UQAM metro is close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    8.3
    Really nice place for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shower curtain connection to wall was damaged. Thus bathroom floor flooded slightly. The parking was really a nightmare, no escalator working after the open hour of the university and we should go outside using the same way as cars. When we try to leave the parking, we have some payment problem, no credit card, ticket not working... No wifi.

    Really good price for the location for a little studio. In center of Montreal, with a subway near the place, bus, old city, etc. In the same room, we slept with my 2 children (1 1/2 and 3 1/2 year old) and my wife and it's was OK.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    6.7
    Be prepared to bring your own necessities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No wifi in the suite. Given only one towel each for the duration of the trip.

    Bathroom and Bedroom were clean. Very basic, affordable and minimally accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    2.9
    Had low expections for a residence... NOT that low
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was gross. There was garbage left from the guests before. The sheets were stained yellow and didn't properly fit the bed. The rooms were SO warm that we had to open the small crack in the window and leave it all night/day. We asked for towels three separate times which they replied they were out so we ended up buying our own. During the time of our visit the residence were under construction which woke us up. The staff seemed like they didn't want to be there which made us feel the same way.

    The location was very close to downtown and the berries uqam metro

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    5.0
    Remember it's a residence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds made me sore. Pillows made my head hurt. Also, booking.com charged me 70% of the room on day of booking and when I arrived at the residence, they charged me in full. Still dealing with booking.com on the issue now. Has not been resolved.

    It's a residence. It's exactly what you should expect. Staff were not friendly. Just there. Beds were miserable. Pillows were even worse. We were there for osheaga so the location was fantastic. Other than a festival or other weekend party trip, would not recommend. Also the wifi might be free but it's a terrible modem and only a few people of the couple hundred guests can use it at the same time. And the wifi is only in the lounge. If you're looking for a hostel style stay then sure, if not, go somewhere else.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    6.7
    Affordable for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In an 8 person apartment, the other people you share with make the place disgusting. This is not managements fault, but it's gross and gets really bad.

    Affordable for what it is. Nothing fancy, which is perfect for what we needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.5
    Great location but bring earplugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in a Two-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were not enough kitchen utensils - only 3 plastic cups, 2 pots and a few cutlery - so the kitchen is almost not usable. There is no A/C but there are fans in the room. Due to the location near the nightlife it is extremely noisey from the street noise. It was hard to find due to many similar named streets with east/west or no direction. We ended up in Verdun first.

    Almost on the corner of St-Denis and Ste-Catharine. Walking distance from old Montreal and Chinatown. 2-bedroom apartment with kitchen and large bathroom. Pay for underground parking within a block at a reasonable rate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    3.8
    Check in too late, check out too early, Table very dirty,...
    • Solo traveler
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in too late, check out too early, Table very dirty, curtain not black light, receptionist made mistake charged me extra room payment,receptionists service attitude not good.strong bad smell garbage bin in corridor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    8.3
    Great Value and Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was great. The residences were and easy walking distance from just about everywhere we wanted to go (old port, mont royal, downtown, quartier des spectacles). Check in was painless, and everything was clean, tidy, and quiet. Really great value for the cost.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    6.3
    Great price and location, useless shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny shower where you can't step back and without shower head extension. Result: it is extremely hard to wash yourself anywhere below chest . No good shower screening so it floods the whole bathroom

    Location, price, staff responsiveness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    6.7
    Good location but very basic accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very basic accommodation, these are student rooms but I can't imagine living there for a full year, beds are creaky, no air-conditioning, walls peeling, sink broken.

    Good location within walking distance to center and odl town and decent value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    5.4
    Not good for families. Expensive if you include car parking as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two things I hated in my stay: 1. For parking, I had to pay $30 that were an extra cost. It was a significant amount as compared to daily rent. Adding $30 in my rent could have helped me in getting a much better accommodation with free parking. 2. There were asylum seekers and drug addict type youngsters staying in the random rooms of the hostel. This made me feel this place to be non-family-friendly. Families: please avoid if you can.

    It was in busy city area. So good for someone travelling without car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    3.8
    Acceptable but would not go there one more time.
    • Family with young children
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrom was horrible,the water was leaking from the bath every time we had a shower.The room is small and not confortable.The staff is not interested .Poor value overall for the money.

    The location is excellent and it is cleen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    7.5
    Thanks for opening your doors to us to afford to stay in downtown Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning and Windows hard to open and the fan noisy. Thankfully there was one. The bottom sheets were too small for the bed

    The location was wonderful. The fellow residents interesting and enjoyable. The room was compact but had refrigerator and washroom. It was clean and affordable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    6.3
    Very basic living in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is low income housing for residents of Montreal. Be prepared to share your living space with people from all socioeconomic backgrounds.

    Located in the heart of downtown Montreal, it was always easy to find our way back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    4.6
    Not worth saving the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where to start ? No A/C when outside temperatures were 34 degrees Celsius, ceiling fan only worked on low when turned to high it almost came out of the ceiling, sketchy pillows, very thin towels, shower had no adjustable shower head so when turned on to cool off from the heat- it would shoot water straight out the shower curtain and onto the floor, window only opened about 4 inches. When booking you are asked when you expect to check in, we put 2pm to 3pm and had to wait till 4pm. For around $100 for a tiny room you could provide least A/C or a fan that works or how about everything.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    7.1
    What I like in this hotel ,perfect location close to...
    • Couple
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don't like the room because lot of dusty and need more cleaning ,also they need get new furniture .

    What I like in this hotel ,perfect location close to everything, and also I like staff too ,the guys was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    5.4
    Not bad but not good either.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no wifi facility on the upper floors. We were on the 9th floor, so had to come to the ground floor every time we wanted to use the internet, which was very often. Because of wifi, the reception area is always crowded. The internal phone was disconnected so no communication between our room and the reception desk.This was an inconvenience. There were no soaps in the bathroom, so we ended up buying our own. The bed was not a proper bed.. seemed to be one half sofas joined together, which didn't fit well. Even the bed sheets were not the right size. Came off altogether when we slept.

    Location was pretty good, near the central bus station(greyhound ), and very near information office and hop on hop off tourist bus starting point which is just outside the info office. This suited us fine. The shared kitchen was well equipped with all the utensils, pots and pans we needed. The receptionist/s were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    4.2
    Good Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room. We can't imagine that a student actually ever lives in there. There was not even a desk, just a really small table. No real closet, either. The bad was quite uncomfortable. The matress looked like a single matress with a little addition zipped on. The two parts were not the same size and when two people are sleeping on it, one has to sleep on that uneven side of the bed. The fitted sheet didn't seem to be fitted for that matress, it came off as soon as I even sat on my side of the bed and during the night I always ended up sleeping on the bare blue plastic of the matress. Our room was very hot and stuffy. It was very warm outside when we arrived, but even though it cooled down outside, our room never did. The window could only be opened a small bit. The room and bathroom seemed dirty, the bathroom didn't look as if it had been cleaned before we checked into the room.

    Good Location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    7.9
    Room was sufficient for what I needed - mini-fridge, closet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No matter what booking.com said, there does not seem to be wifi (free or otherwise) at this property. Also no air conditioning (although there was a ceiling fan), and because of the downtown location it was quite noisy with the windows open. So you do get either noise or a very hot room in the summer.

    Room was sufficient for what I needed - mini-fridge, closet, small double bed, kitchenette, and bathroom. Location was excellent, and price:value very good as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    6.7
    OK for a short stay - not so good for an extended stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very small and stuffy. The ceiling fan didn't work properly, so the room got very, very warm. The window only opened about 4 inches. There was no garbage can in the room. We had to modify the shower curtain so that water didn't get all over the bathroom floor.

    The location was great! Very close to metro station and all amenities. The Internet connection was very fast. There wasn't much noise from other guests. There was a refrigerator.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    8.8
    Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms that look to the street (Rene Levesque) could be a bit noisy. Make sure you get an inside room (looking at the interior garden). Rooms have no AC, so during the summer, when temperatures raise, room could be a bot to hot

    The UQAM reseidence east is very well located, close top Berru UQAM metro station and Saint Catherine, where you can find many cafes and restaurants, among other many amenities. The building is safe and there is security 24/7.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    6.3
    Ok for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I rented a studio room for roughly $95.00 for one night. In my opinion it's way overpriced!!! The room was clean enough to stay in, but it looked like it hadn't been cleaned from the previous guest who had stayed in it. The towels provided were finished and thin as paper. The shower curtain was stained and very dirty, and grout in the bathroom had black mold, etc; however the cleanliness was "just" acceptable for a night stay. I wouldn't want to stay there longer than one night. Just beside the residence is Hotel Chrome. For 50 bucks more a night you're better off staying there. There is no parking at this establishment. The only parking is on the road, and good like finding a place! There is a large parking lot located beside the building, privately owned, where one can park their car for $25 for 24 hours, but is not associated with UQAM.

    The location is excellent, right in the heart of all the action. A good place to lay one's head for a night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    3.3
    horrible.
    • Couple
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was overall pretty bad. No air conditioning, the room was small, no microwave and no pan to cook, the shower was made for a midget (no offense to small people but i was really mad), the shower flooded the hole studio; my suitcase was flooded. The bed wasnt even a bed it was a big futon.The wifi wasnt working and it said on the site that they had wifi... They didnt have a parking lot so i had to park in a parking couple blocks away and drag all my things to the place. Overall; i will NEVER GO BACK.

    LEAVING

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    5.8
    CONVENIENT FOR A NIGHT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny room although it must be remembered that this is student accommodation that is rented whilst uni holidays occur. Front office people not very helpful with directions etc to our room but this was after all budget accommodation in an e pensive town. Uncomfortable bed but OK overnight.

    Reasonable priced accommodation at short notice close to town centre and transport. Secure 24 hour reception. Good for overnight I would not stay longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    2.5
    Bad Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found a blood stain on our bed sheets, when we approached the staff and told them the issue, they did not apologise. They took us up to our room and changed the sheet then started speaking French to one another (about the situation) and started laughing. After this, I wanted to speak to a manager, they told me to come back the following day. The following day I went to the counter and still no manager. No one cared and no one wanted to help. THEN The main reason we booked UQAM was because it had wifi- my partner needed this as she had a Skype job interview and she could not make the call because the wifi didn't get fixed for the four days and three nights we were there and there was no urgency or sympathy again when we asked reception. Also on this survery it asked how the coffee was. We never got coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    2.9
    I didn't like anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Room service at all.. Room seize very small .. I asked them twice for three days to clean my room unfortunately no responded.. really bad experience

    I didn't like anything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    5.4
    The staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no wifi in the lobby for 3 out of 4 days !!! One of the nights after midnight , some one just opened the lock door of my suite by mistakes! But terrified me for the rest of my trip ! There was spiders all over the suite and also the screen of the window was not fixed!

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    2.9
    Sorry but the room walls, floor, closet and table were too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All their excuse was that these rooms belonged to students and were to share with other guests as well. Which excuses were no valid for me.

    Sorry but the room walls, floor, closet and table were too dirty. The bathroom was discusting to the point to encourage the visit of the sanitary public office. The dirty smell, etc....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    5.8
    Lower your expectation before booking this option
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - both days, there was no wifi available ?!! - their system for arranging the keys was very confusing. as personally experienced, the key room they gave me did not match the room registered and changed my room finally! - I had three baggage (two heavy ones) and the only access to my room was through a narrow spiral stairs?! Despite very helpful staff, I think the management at higher level needs to decide for the improvement. The building has good potential to provide great service especially considering its prime location.

    The building has lots of potential to become an affordable relaxing residence.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    2.9
    Can't believe students pay to live in res like this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in a Two-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff did not accommodate the booking requests and were very unfriendly. When we had questions about the billing, they had no idea what we were talking about. The room was left with dirty towels and the tub was also dirty. The couches were broken, and the kitchen did not have any mugs and bowls. The Ethernet cable for a wired connection, was broken and the internet connection would not stay connected for longer than 2 minutes. If you want to stay in a dive, this is the place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    7.1
    OK for a one-night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was lumpy. No AC, needed to open window to make the room comfortable, so had to tolerate street noise. Very tiny bathroom.

    Location relative to the festival I attended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    3.3
    It was well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was very rude and impolite. When WE arrived in our room,the shared bathroom was dirty and there were no toilet paper. The wifi was not accessible in the room, only in the lobby. But the biggest problem was the staff and the lack of good customer service.

    It was well located

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    3.3
    OVERPRICED FOR NOTHING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no A/C, had to wait over 20 minutes for the receptionist to appear out of nowhere and by then the line waiting to be checked in was going out the door, the shower was so small and shower curtain was very grimy, only got two VERY small pieces of soap for the entire weekend, shower sprayed all over the floor because it had so much uncomfortable force it kept pushing the curtain out of the shower... I could go on.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    7.1
    Very downtown.
    • Solo traveler
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street is very noisy. The shower is very small and impossible to give a direction of the thin but intensive water jet. No material to cook.

    Very downtown. Open 24/24h.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    3.8
    -The building was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -Overall, I think the building is poorly managed. The building needs to be properly maintained. Particularly if the price is non-refundable. -When you entered the building it often had a terrible odour. - The toilet was not flushing properly. Although, a technician did come and look at it once, the problem still was not fixed when we left. -The elevators malfunctioned. We got stuck in the elevator. Thankfully, the fire dept. did come promptly. We requested a refund/another room on a lower floor. However, we were told there were no rooms available as they had exceeded capacity. The staff did apologize but the elevators stopped working a few more times after that. Thus, we had to take the stairs several times during our stay past the 6th floor. -The showers are also too small. I'm petite and it was really difficult to shower properly. They should have extended the showers the entire width of the bathroom.

    -The building was in a great location. It's really accessible to the Metro's orange line (Champ-de-Mars & Place-d'Armes). We walked to Old Montreal and Chinatown. You could also easily access the green line (Place- des-Arts). The street runs parallel to rue Sainte Catharine. So you can shop and find various restaurants. -Also, the airport shuttle 747 passed the hotel, which was convenient. -The receptionists and maintenance staff were courteous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    7.5
    Private room was a good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No A/C -- not too hot when I was there but could be an issue otherwise. Did have a ceiling fan. Cleanliness was overall fine but a few stray hairs were around the bathroom. This is a uni residence and it feels like that. I am fine with that but if you want a hotel this is not it. They list a 4pm check-in and they stick to that. I tried to get in a couple of hours early but I was not offered the option of getting in and I don't think they do that. No complaints -- but be aware of that. They will hold your luggage for you.

    I booked a private room and everything you need is there -- bathroom, small stove and kitchen sink (as well as sink in the bathroom), small fridge. Location is central -- 20 minute walk from Gare Central train station, 5 minutes or so from the bus terminal (I came in by bus and left by train so have walked to both from the hotel and timed it) and close Rue Ste Catherine, 15 minutes from old city etc. Staff was competent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    5.8
    Not the best not the worst
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's just basic. There's no air con, and the shower is very small with a magnetic strip in the curtain that didn't stick well (so flooded bathroom). The no wifi thing is ridiculous in 21 century and in a residence. It was manageable but would put me off staying again. Staff were ok, mostly students who could speak English but not very engaging

    The price is good but I've stayed in other university residence for just a little more and they're a world apart

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    5.8
    Great price & location - Not clean or comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was pretty dirty. There were stray hairs all over the floors as if they hadn't swept or if so, did a poor job. The layer of dust on the ceiling fan was so thick you couldn't turn on the fan. I don't know what the bed was - maybe a futon layed flat? But whatever it was, it was incredibly uncomfortable (and I am not a diva about where I sleep)... the centre was rock hard but the outside edges were soft. The soft part was only about a foot in width so if you turned on your back/stomach then you ended up in a crack between the two. The bed linen was clean. There was no garbage can which was odd... we had a spare grocery bag so we just used that which was fine. Lots of areas of years of not being cleaned properly grime and dirt, especially in the washroom. We didn't have high expectations given the great price and location so just beware - if you want something cleaner and more comfortable - this isn't the place for you. If you're fine with just having a place to crash in a great location for way cheaper than a hotel (like we were) - go for it.

    Great location for great price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    3.8
    BED BUG ALLERT!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately I got bitten by bed bugs allot. I notified the reception and was shocked that they didn't even care to say that I will be compensated or anything. This is very bad rep for you guys to have BED BUGS at your reaidents!!! Room was dirty and bathroom as well.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    5.8
    good location and quite quiet for such a central spot.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    the wifi didnt work on the 6th floor. it barely functioned in the lobby. the room was functional, which is what I would have expected, but actually not that clean. It needed a thorough vacuuming.

    good location and quite quiet for such a central spot. very little noise between rooms as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2016

    7.1
    Location is a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi not available in the rooms, only in the Tv Room near the entrance lobby. No clean towels or toilet paper available when we arrived.

    Location is a plus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2016

    2.5
    Very poor room, pictures are very different from the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor room, pictures are very different from the rooms. very uncomfortable beds. It was a half way point to stay and rest at, and I was traveling 14 hours to NewBrunswick. Ended up leaving at 4:00am because the room was disgusting, and I couldn't sleep because the bed was rock hard. Would not recommend, the staff were not very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2016

    7.1
    Basic accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived on a very hot day and our room didn't have AC. It was uncomfortable until the ceiling fan and the cool air of the night let us sleep. We were a couple with different schedules but only one key. We had to call to ask the person inside to open the door.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2016

    7.5
    The bed was was was very comfortable and the check-in was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took awhile to open the door to the luggage room. No one was available for almost a half hour. And it's strange that university residences still don't have wi-fi.

    The bed was was was very comfortable and the check-in was surprisingly quick.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    5.4
    Ok, but far from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Far from vey clean, but livable. Check in was a ridiculously long wait where they didn't start checking people in until after 4 pm and only had one person on the desk. Took approximately 40 minutes to get through 8 people ahead of me in the line. Painfully slow and hot. They also didn't have maps prepared to show where the parking was located, so the desk staff had to hand-draw one to explain it. They should be better organized at this point in the summer renting season.

    The only thing this place really has going for it is the location and the price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    4.6
    Inexpensive, but worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sheets never changed; requested twice; changed our own sheets. Requested fresh towels, never got them. Dirty tub, bathroom, kitchen. No forks or dish soap in kitchen. Comical soap. Really hot airless room. Generally grubby. Lots of nighttime street noise.

    Night staff were nice. Close to metro station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2016

    7.5
    Bring extra fans to keep cool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning in building which got uncomfortable at times but for the price we paid, we can't complain all that much. There was no dish soap so we couldn't wash any of the dishes for 3 days. Also, there wasn't enough circulating fans in the rooms(3 rooms+kitchen=2fans?)

    Price was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2016

    4.6
    No AC ; No TV; No breakfast...this hotel is a dormtry for students...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    there is no AC ..only a fan .. also no TV... also no breakfast.. those thing will bother you ..it's a dorm for students not for visitors

    location of hotel good .. close to saint cat Rene street.. all shopping close to you...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    6.3
    Location excellent. Wifi not
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The description said that there was Wi-Fi in the rooms. This was not true; there was only Wi-Fi in the lobby and it's signal was not strong. It was very hot and sweaty without AC.

    Location was great for walking to the sights.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    10
    Great place for a great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have preferred to have wifi available in my room, but that wasn't a huge deal for me, just a little inconvenient.

    The staff was amazing! My spoken French is a bit rusty, but they were great about switching to English if I needed it without any problem. Very clean! I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2016

    8.3
    Cheap price at Hot place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is quite noisy at night. My unit had a ceiling fan, but it is recommended to carry your own fan, then you will make a space much better. Washroom is to be shared, but I had no issue with that. Washroom was fairly clean. Most importantly, you will have an issue with parking. Definitely no free parking around. There is $15 pay parking for a day very closeby, but it is only untill 6 AM. Doesn't matter what time you park, always until 6 AM, very tricky. So I paid $30 for 2 days. But I don't think this is a bad deal. Logically $30 for 48 hours is really good price.

    It was a perfect location to visit old Montreal. Considering money, really clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    7.9
    The price was affordable for people looking to cut down on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All 3 rooms had ceiling fans but it was so hot and there is no A/C.

    The price was affordable for people looking to cut down on lodging expense. The value is great because of the location. There is a kitchen for you to cook / prepare food and there are some utensils and cooking pans provided. It is near the Metro if needed to go to the subway. 15-20 minute walk to Old Port and Notre-Dame Along St. Catherine which is where the night life is.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    4.2
    Not worth it (even if it seems cheap) .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To be honest we should have known better than to book here, but the residences and staffing are not set up to run like a hotel. Check-in time was supposed to be 4pm, but even after being told by staff earlier in the day that we could come back and check in at 4pm, we ended up being told that our room was not ready at that time and they were not able to give an estimate of when it would be ready. By 5pm we gave up, left for dinner and came back late in the evening-- luckily we hadn't been counting on showering or anything upon arrival and could leave our bags in storage there. The shared bathrooms also were not very nice; there was not even hand soap in one. There was no AC in our room. In short, I think they oversell their rooms without actually having capacity to meet the demand (which they are glad to charge for).

    We booked because we were looking for somewhere affordable during a busy summer weekend... but ultimately even at the prices offered, I don't feel I got value for what I paid.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    4.2
    Not a good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was extremely small and water was going on the floor, none has touched the room for reparation in years because even the toilet wasnt working well. When I opened the toilet tank to rearrange the rubber lid, as soon as I touched my finger literally went through the rubber lid and my nails went all black and I hardly touched it. I couldnt believe it. I've been traveling all over the place in other countries that have a lot of poverty and not good conditions and I have never been in a room like this. I am pretty small and I had a hard time to shower in the super tiny shower. Worst place I've ever been. The only good thing was the location. Oh blanket had hair all over and they gave me the room with the washroom floor already wet, probably cleaning lady cant manage to keep the floor dry and I dont blame her because is super hard to keep it dry.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2016

    5.0
    Booking.Com should mention clearly that this property has No Airconditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air condition,No WI FI. We had rented all three rooms of apartment for four nights. No House keeping , no room cleaning even I ask thrice for cleaning of bathrooms in three days but despite many promises by reception staff nothing done . Also find many Bed bugs . Extremely disappointed .

    Only Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2016

    5.8
    Alright. Just.. Meh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in an Eight-Bedroom Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very dark Changed a gay couples 1 bed booking into a 2 bed room. That was a bit of a bummer. Breakfast was terrible

    Relatively cheap. Clean, airco.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2016

    5.8
    Horrible if you want to get some sleep at night.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems to be doubling as a student residence. It was a Saturday night and until about 3AM different groups of drunks were hanging out in the back parking lot making a lot of noise. Couldn't even close the window since there's no A/C and the rooms are tiny.

    The location is good. It's right downtown close to many restaurants and bars. That's really the only thing that was good about it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    3.8
    Paid more for less
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Size, hygiene

    Not as seen in the picture. I've paid less for hotels way nicer, bigger and cleaner. They even ran out of blankets which is weird since it's cold most of the year.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    7.5
    nice position, very close to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bed is not very comfortable, but tolerable.

    nice position, very close to the city center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    8.8
    It was reasonably comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the amount i paid i think i got a good deal. The fan in the room could have been a bit faster.

    Everything was good for a short stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    6.7
    Spartan, functional, great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shared bathroom was not cleaned during my stay. The staff at reception always seemed busy and over worked.

    Room was clean, if run down.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    4.2
    Good location
    • Family with young children
    • One Double Bedroom in a Three-Bedroom Shared Apartment - Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor facility, not so clean

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    5.8
    Cheap but dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hairs in bathroom. Didn't feel like the room had been cleaned at all before our arrival.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: