Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel St Paul 4 stars

355 rue McGill, H2Y 2E8 Montréal, Canada

#54 of 137 hotels in Montréal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 422 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instead of just charging the credit card for the hotel, they "held" the amount, so we couldn't charge certain things to our credit card until the day we left when they properly charged it.

    Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was the most spacious I've been in in North America. Excellent turn down service. They were wonderful about our need for a late checkout.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Valet was fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service for simple request like ice bucket and additional pillows and blankets was cumbersome to obtain

    Valet was fantastic However, requesting ice bucket and additional pillows and blankets for the pull out sofa was quite troubling and challenging. Aside from that wait staff for breakfast and valet was amazing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Overall recommend the hotel. Great location, friendly and helpful staff, cozy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our Nespresso machine was broken, never did it replaced :(

    The location is excellent in the heart of Old Montreal! The breakfast was pricey but excellent. Staff is very nice, responsive. Loved the bar for a drink, great cocktails.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    August Weekend stay at St.Paul Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view of our room was facing the back of the building in the alley. Couldn't see anything but our neighbours window. Because of the view the room felt dark the whole time, even in daytime. Parking was very expensive.

    Bed and pillows were extra very comfortable. Clean well-maintained property. Size of the room and washroom was pretty good. Location of the property was ideal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very stylish hotel in fabulous location! Expensive but worth it for a treat :) Traditional looking on the outside but very modern inside, scrupulously clean with lovely comfy beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Great location, wonderful staff, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, wonderful staff, great breakfast. City bikes are a quarter block down and the city is well set up for multimodal transport. We had a great time and the staff was outstanding.The bathroom had a giant tub which was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    One thing I didn’t like is how difficult it was to find the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing I didn’t like is how difficult it was to find the place. I think it would help a lot if they had a picture of the front of the building. Besides that, everything was perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant two night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price, but overall worth it.

    Very quiet and beautiful room with high ceilings and big windows. Staff were helpful and polite. Great location for exploring downtown Montreal, literally steps from the restaurants, shops and bakeries in the old town. Really pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Hotel Suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a deluxe suite and got a better deal using booking.com than the hotel could give us. The regular rates at the hotel are very steep.

    We loved our deluxe room! The floor to ceiling windows, the bathroom was large, the king bed was comfy. We needed a lot of space for an event we were hosting and this suite delivered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Well located, nice roooms and facilites and good staff. The breakfast was very poor for the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, which was very poor for the type of hotel

    Location - very well located. Close to everything. Although the business center is not downtown, where the hotel is, it was a good place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable night’s sleep, liked having nespresso in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the closet didn’t turn off all night. The notch which shuts it off wasn’t registering the door was closed. Also, the rooms are a bit small.

    Nespresso machine in room. The bed had really good support compared to other hotels in the same class I’ve stayed at.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay will definitely book again next time we travel to Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything was just lovely. The staff were great, the room was very spacious and comfortable. The bar had a lovely atmosphere and the food very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    A little bit of Paris without the long flight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no one at the door or in the lobby to help us with luggage when we arrived. My husband -- who was celebrating his birthday! -- had to haul our luggage, shopping and extra boxes by himself. Fortunately, the gentleman who helped us when we left was fabulous.

    Beautiful hotel and lobby. Great room. Very clean. Like the robes. So happy they've changed the fragrance in the lotion! It used to be sharp, intense and masculine. Now, it is a high quality cream with a subtle fragrance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel - Perfect for couples!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel breakfast. Perhaps it’s a cultural thing but it was expensive and super mediocre and just was completely inconsistent with the excellence found elsewhere in the hotel

    We loved everything — the service, the location and the proximity to everything good in Montreal! The guest concierge was phenomenal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Perfect little boutique hotel. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was absolutely lovely. The staff were amazing and the bar / restaurant area had a great selection. It was the only hotel in our 7 week trip that had a doorman (simple, yet welcomed addition) he carried up our bags and always opened the door with a smile when we returned. We even indulged in room service one breakfast which was much better than expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    nice hotel, BUT ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    OK, I've hesitated here on what do write and how to write it. Awesome hotel and I really liked my stay. BUT ... and this really shocked me ... the Hotel charged my credit card three different charges post-trip and there was no effort on their part to reply to my email, nor call me after I left a detailed message with their accounting department. I WAS shocked, and am very disappointed. No excuse to overcharging, and then not replying to my inquiry.

    comfy bed, and spacious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful, romantic winter escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The perfumed lobby was a bit too much especially for someone like me who has allergies.

    The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The area was beautiful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Location is a nice mix of being useful for business and is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the rooms is a little too subdued, particularly with dark wooden floors. It makes it amazingly easy to lose your possessions in the room.

    Location is a nice mix of being useful for business and is on the edge of Old Montreal. Always a taxi available too. Building has character, good bar / restaurant and good size of rooms. Staff are friendly. Service is good and the rooms are clean. All the essentials are done well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    A solid pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a continental basic, fresh but no gluten free or other diet restrictions offered, but lovely staff trying to help.

    Simple design, warm welcome in the lobby. good housekeeping service and charming front desk staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    An elegant hotel well located and stylish without rude...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not much of a view, as well the bathtub did not hold the heat of the water for long, so bath was only about 5-10 minutes.

    An elegant hotel well located and stylish without rude attitude. A charm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful experience, I will absolutely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My shower was broken on the first morning which they fixed later in the day however there didn't seem to be any offer of compensation for this which was disappointing.

    The rooms were so spacious, great design balanced with minimal qualities. The foyer was so exciting and cosy to be in, we almost didn't want to leave to go outside!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    4.6
    Paid 4 star prices for a 2 star room....uhg.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I felt tricked with imagery that wasn't at all correct.

    Don't be fooled by the pictures of the gorgeous old building and the super swanky lobby, once you step out of the elevator to your room its downhill, so weird. I actually called down to front desk thinking that I was on a floor under renovation. Wish i'd paid 50 more to stay at the Hotel Le St. James, cringing that i didn't. Room was beat up, cold and crappy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed a 4 day stay in November
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The exercise room could have used wipes for the machines and weights. Remember that taxes and fees will add about 19% to the price you are quoted.

    A beautiful stone building which has been nicely renovated. It's a quick walk to the Convention Centre and the sights of Old Montreal. The room was very quiet with almost no street noise. Even the HVAC was whisper quiet. I found the bed very comfortable. Used the Keurig and the bar fridge. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. The exercise room had 3 modern aerobic machines (bike, elliptical and treadmill) with free weights and a universal gym. I appreciated the towels, water and fresh apples.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Conveniently located near business as well as the fun part...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have a bit more variety. The interior architecture is a bit dark, and the bar is not cosy.

    Conveniently located near business as well as the fun part of the old town. Great property and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    Overall happy with it our stay but way expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive. Not sure if it's related to the long weekend (thanksgiving). Although we didnt spend a lot of time in the room, the channel selection was limited and no options for renting movies. Not usually a priority for us but we were looking for a quiet evening in and were slightly disappointed at that. Upon arrival there were 2 complimentary water bottles which we drank ( the fully stocked mini bar had ridiculously priced water). The next day we assumed it would be replenished but it was not. At the price we paid per night, they could have provided some more water.

    Amazing location! The staff was very friendly. The room was clean. Got some delicious chocolate waiting for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Great service, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could've been bigger - we had the king suite and after the bed and desk and crib in the corner, there wasn't much room to move around.

    The bed is extra comfy. The staff was fantastic - very helpful with carrying our bags, valet service, suggesting restaurants. They provided a crib for our baby. The food from room service was yummy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the most poorly designed hotel room I have ever seen. The bathroom was huge, but had nowhere to put anything -- cosmetics, etc. This was a significant problem for 2 women traveling together. The bedroom itself was equally awkward. No bedside tables and the dresser was no more than a foot deep. The overall decor of the hotel is cold and bizarre, some peculiar attempt at modèrne that utterly fails. The little amenities -- robes, lovely sheets, chocolates on the pillows -- in no way made up for the practical inconveniences. Definitely two thumbs down.

    The staff on site were lovely and helpful. The location was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    Could have been much more memorable- though location great and façade beautifu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff somewhat friendly and stingy with smiles. Décor in bedroom nothing special- no color or art in comparison to lovely lobby. Mattress too soft- problematic sleeps. Some of the furniture worn out and broken tiles in bathtub.

    The lobby furnishing/color lovely and aromatic with good music. The location perfect at edge of old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    The hotel was located near the old port and walkable to many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathtub didnt seem to hold water that well. But I was too busy to ask them to take a look at it.

    The hotel was located near the old port and walkable to many bistros, cafes, art galleries, museums you name it. It was also very stylishly decorated. My husband thought the beds too soft, but I didn't mind. Breakfast at the adjoined cafe Hambar was delicious with great mimosas, but pricey. Wifi worked very well and front desk had great suggestions for food and entertainment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location and reception staff were wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable as seemed to roll into middle, also layout of room could of utilised space better

    Location was great and reception staff were fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location and quiet place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping was mediocre at best -- only half of the room was re-organized/re-done.

    The hotel was very quiet at night (no street noise); also I enjoyed the modern look and feel of the place. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    V comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was really overpriced for what you get. And no a la carte cheaper options. Also should have real cream not dried coffee creamer packs in the room of a hotel of this price range.

    V comfortable beds. Great area. Jonathan was really helpful on valet. The gym was small but good equipment. .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Classy hotel with great suite at Entrance to historic part of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely no parking - so plan on pre-purchasing their Valet parking service!

    Great location right at the entrance of the historic old town. About 5-10 minutes walk from Metro station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.0
    Bathroom was good and large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive restaurant. Very unhappy to have a clic clac bed vs the 2 double beds that were announced in your booking. That is a dishonnest description of the sleeping arrangements. Expensive for what it was overall.

    Bathroom was good and large.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Neutral Value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very noises, you can hear the room next to you on either side flushing their toilet or showering.... motel 6 all over again... No real options for parking other than valet unless you are good at navigating one-way maze of streets The Hotel advertises a "24-hour" fitness center, but 1 treadmill and some weights do not define a hotel's fitness center. No water, no towels, during our 2-day stay in the fitness center. Breakfast is a "continental" style which was not mentioned on check-in or on the web.

    The front end personnel was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My window view was like a shaft way. The room sometimes felt like a dungeon, but it was quiet, which is what I asked for. A magnifying mirror in the bathroom would have been nice to have.

    Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    3.3
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst customer service I have encountered in an hotel of this category. Our experience at St Paul was beyond disastrous. The hotel staff tried to over charge us for our stay, blaming us for their mistake and their mishandling of the situation, despite hard evidence that we had booked the room for a lower price. It took two weeks after we left to settle the conflict. Another matter were the newly installed electric outlets in the rooms, which make a continuous buzz sound, day and night. It was impossible to work from the room and sleep was difficult. The management did not offered us any compensation or possibility to change room, because all other rooms in our category were booked. Service wise, this hotel barely qualifies at a 2-star.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    A terrifying first impression
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The red lights in the hallway was simply awful. When we arrived I was terrified that we had made a huge mistake and booked into a house of ill repute.....if you know what I mean. Hallways and elevator were filthy. Lobby was worn looking.

    The location was excellent and staff helpful, and the room itself was light and airy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel; central to both Vieux-Montreal and downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gym was small and limited, and this is SUCH a nitpick. It's the only thing I could think of that might've been on the very slightly negative side. And I do mean slightly.

    Everything terrific. Above all - never stayed in a quieter room, ever. And it was located on a very busy thoroughfare! Staff was helpful in every imaginable way. Been to a lot of hotels; this ranks among the very best.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    good location for the Old City
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was pricey at $28 a day. At the price we paid per night, breakfast should have been included.

    Excellent location for the area of the city we needed to be in. In the old city, could walk everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    6.3
    Good hotel and location but general service level could do with some improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television in room was broken on arrival. Staff very late cleaning rooms day to day (meaning we were back from sightseeing when they wanted to clean which was annoying). Cleaning staff very loud and inconsiderate outside our room.

    Rooms nice and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Short stay at hote St Paul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some maintenance issues arose that the hotel tried to address but ultimately weren't remedied. I didn't complain further bc I was only staying for 2 nights.

    Friendly and helpful Staff, room very comfortable, great bed, good toiletries

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.8
    Good overall experience with few details to iron out!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection for in room dining was poor! No free bottled Water in room! in today's market every hotel I go to has free bottled water in room replenished daily. Room was attended to daily while it was cleaned small details were sort of left out. For example jackets if found on the chair was left on the chair rather than putting on a hanger. Bottled shampoo caps left where they were found instead of being taken out and organized. Small details but makes a difference!

    Great valet parking facility and personnel. Room size was good, and location excellent despite the major road work that was going on in the city. Staff friendly and helpful all areas including the Hambar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.5
    Great location, friendly staff, tired/dated interiors
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interiors are very dated - i.e. Early 2000's it was 'the in thing', no just look a bit tired in places. My room was very plain - almost bland, well nothing like they show in the pics! Bed uncomfortable

    Very friendly staff Good location Beautiful building from the outside Handsome, young concierge who was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Room was comfortable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room hallway was dim and carpets were straggly looking. Parking was $28 for valet, and overall not bad since it was only for 1 night that we stayed. Some of the blankets and pillows were shaggy and I don't think that is easy to clean so it turns me off.

    Room was comfortable; bathroom was roomy and clean. Location to restaurants and port was great, though due to rain and cool weather, we opted to leave early for home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    Overall quite pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the hallways was poor and cast a gloomy feel. The decor overall was lifeless. The hotel had no character whatsoever. The temperature in the room was difficult to control, the fan blowing air directly over the bed. Turning fan off stifled the air.

    Location was good beds comfortable. Room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.7
    Not a place to stay if you value your sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly loud bar on the 2nd floor playing bass heavy music until 3am. Was situated directly above on floor 3. Music was loud enough that the furniture was shaking not to mention being able to hear every note/word. Staff seemed completely nonplussed by this and didn't offer any assistance or option to move room. Completely ruined the hotel experience and meant what should of been a restful weekend was turned into one with very little sleep.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Good stay and stylish furnitures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast a la carte room service...we received double the food so double the price...

    The bed was very comfy and the bathub was deep, a lotof room for the long legs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel bar/restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is the hotel isn't great, small buffet, expensive compared to the other brunch places available around the hotel.

    Location was great, the bar and restaurant had great staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.3
    Good location, polite staff, but a shame it was let down by noisy pipes and no customer follow-up.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cold wooden floors in winter. The water pipes in the bathroom behind the wall would vibrate at random times (even in the early hours) and sound very noisy. I complained and was moved to a another room away from the tenth floor. When I asked if I could receive any compensation for the disrupting night, I was told that I would be contacted by the manager, but didn't hear anything as a follow-up.

    Location and friendly polite staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    4.6
    The bed was very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were outdated, had issues with our toilet and fire alarm went off at 1am (wasn't handled very well by the staff on at that time).

    The bed was very comfy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    Hotel St Paul --Great location, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor was so-so. The tv was too low to watch from the bed. It was a little more than we usually spend on a hotel but it didn't feel like we were getting more.

    The staff was superb. The chocolates each evening was a nice touch. The beds were super comfy. It was great having a restaurant attached. The location was awesome! All the restaurants and shops we wanted to see were all within walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful view of the grand trunk building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view of the grand trunk building. Quiet hotel, spacious and comfortable room. Friendly staff. A short walk to Notre Dame basílica, to the old port and to the many restaurants/galleries along Rue StPaul.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    8.8
    Off to Montreal to Celebrate a Birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked a room with an outside view rather than a light well; needs bedside electrical outlet to recharge phone; room cold at first and took a long time to warm up; needs a larger desk and with electrical outlets and light.

    Great location on the edge of Old Montreal; excellent restaurant, the "Hambar". Comfortable bed and large washroom with a great tub.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    5.8
    Snobbish and arrogant young woman at front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snobbish and arrogant young woman at front desk. Horrible room. Zero view. We were upgraded to a better room, but we nonetheless preferred to switch hotels for our second night. Bonaventure is by far a better hotel. Much more convenient. Good staff, great location, and there's underground parking!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    A cool renovation of a classical building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to book 2 nights over new year's eve

    A cool renovation of a classical building. The resto/bar Hambar is excellent. The charcuterie plate is to die for and the staff were all very attentive.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.6
    Very fun, hip hotel on the edge of Old Montreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hallways on the guest room floors were very dimly lit. I recognize this is an attempt at "mood lighting," and while I certainly don't prefer blaring overhead lights, I nonetheless think the hallways were too dark. I would think it would be a potential safety hazard and liability, actually. This is my only criticism, and it is obviously minor.

    This is a chic hotel with a true boutique feel. The furnishings are modern and even a tad funky. The front desk staff were wonderful -- so helpful, not at all snooty or disaffected (which sometimes coincides with "hipper" hotels such as this one).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    6.3
    It's a great hotel, very well located but some rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our mattress was curved and too soft in the middle of the bed; the toilet was not working (the tank could not fill on its own); and there was a water leak on the carpet by the door.

    It's a great hotel, very well located but some rooms need to be updated. Great location and beautiful building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was either dirty or had stains

    Impressive high ceilings, creative decor

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did their job without enthusiasm. The furniture in the lobby was very worn.

    The location was great. The rooms very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The staff offered us umbrellas when it was raining.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff offered us umbrellas when it was raining. We never thought to ask.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    Location good to explore old Montréal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what it is- rooms basic.

    Location good to explore old Montréal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    it is very central located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is very central located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff were fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if it was good, The breakfast was not at the same level of the hotel.

    Position. Staff. Rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    2.5
    I did not like the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Family get-together
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report

    Staff, restaurant, room cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Central location, close to everywhere
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi is not very good, breakfast selection is very limited

    Central location, close to everywhere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.2
    Overrated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overrated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Service was absolutely excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was absolutely excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. Short walk to Old Port, shops and restaurants. Great hotel bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful stay in a wonderful hotel in a wonderful city.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to see some art on the walls of the room and a night light in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel located well for both business and leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public areas could be a bit more.

    The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast is adequate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet took long. Should have slippers as floors get dusty easily

    Turn down service. Decor. Bathroom size. Location to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: