Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4 stars

115 Cavendish Square, A1C 3K2 St. John's, Canada

#17 of 24 hotels in St. John's

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 297 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    People at the front desk were friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room with Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not properly stocked when it was serviced. Huge dust clumps behind the desk when reached in to try and find out why the phone did not seem connected

    People at the front desk were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent! Overall we had a great little stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI connection did not work until the morning of checkout. The room service order did not include the coffee we ordered.

    I enjoyed the location. It was close to downtown. The room had a great view of Signal Hill, and the layout was very cozy! Staff was also very helpful. It was easy to get a cab just outside the entrance as well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    overall good stay, day staff was awesome and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (H)
    • Stayed 1 night

    night staff was really ignorant, and not accommodating to guest request, when it was advertised online and in the brochure left in the room, night staff is not a good representation of the actual quality of the hotel.

    beds were really comfy, excellent view and location was great for getting around downtown, day staff was great and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    A good well located hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night one could not turn off air conditioning. Couldn’t sleep. Given a new room and a late checkout for night two. They dealt well with our complaint.

    Very friendly staff and good facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    I have stayed there many times with great service and sadly - this time not at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed for 3 nights. My room was not cleaned even once even though I called down and asked for someone to clean. When at the restaurant on Saturday I had to go to the bar each time I or my quest needed a beverage.

    When I checked out the people at the front were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of time to enjoy the hotel.

    Nice location. Nice friendly staff. Very short stay of 11hours so could not experience all the facilities. Have stayed here before for a longer period 3 years ago which is why we rebooked this property. Not disappointed in that decision as nothing changed. still a great property with great staff. Dinner and breakfast were good. Just wish we had had more time in St. Johns.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside was the food in the restaurants and room service was either massively over or under seasoned!

    The staff are super friendly and made our stay the best! We'd definitely stay here when we return!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't like the fact parking isn't free . Didn't understand why the pizza delivery driver wasn't allowed to come to the room door , instead , I had to go to the lobby .

    Front desk staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Newfoundland is fantastic and the Sheraton a good place to be in St. johns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Details were missing, a light bulb for example that took two employees 45 minutes to replace. The furniture made the room less usable was not arranged to encourage enjoying the view.

    The view from our corner room was fantastic and the attitude of all but one of the employees was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Great scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Staff was super helpful, we had included in our room a breakfast and a dinner buffet. It was great. We walked everywhere in downtown St Johns. Great location close to the harbour, great view of the harbour. Walking distance to Signal Hill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    Ok..won't be back as often anymore!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room - Club Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu has changed.I was a club SPG prefered guest and trying to enter the club lounge was very poor! Made to wait while they looked up your room number....should have an access door or diferent color room cards for prefered guests!

    Some things are ok...bar and staff realy nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Very memorable, loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lobby bar was not open till our very last night.

    Staff was very accommodating, friendly and helpful. We had a harbourview room and it was spectacular we could see Signal Hill and watch the port activity. Location was perfect for walking to the downtown area and bus location access. We truly enjoyed our time on the Rock.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Great stay, will be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (H)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving downtown can be a nightmare in St. John's, so that's the only downside to the location. However, being located downtown allowed for very nice walks around the waterfront. Seems to be a hotspot for weddings, which is understandable because of the beautiful venue, but means it's typically very busy and crowded.

    The pool and hot tub were perfect. The room was clean, comfortable and had a great view. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable and interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have problems working channel changer for tv, directory on desk in room didn't have time went amenities were open and close.

    St john's was lovely place visit and will be back, hot tub and swimming pool was good in hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Will use again - wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Darn pool was not functioning BUT they called me, apologized, gave me access and transportation to a nearby pool! Brilliant.

    Beautiful view, lovely room, and excellent service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Staff in club lounge consistently friendly and willing to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room (H)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed for repairs. Poor communication between booking.com and hotel - several errors. 1. Wrong name. 2. Only booked one room but two reserved.

    Staff in club lounge consistently friendly and willing to help

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.8
    Nightmare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't ready at 2:30 waited until 4:15 still couldn't check in. Left and returned at 8:00pm and was given a room key with the wrong #. Had to return to front desk to explain that key did not fit the door, employee was rude when I told him the key did not work. Quote" well you know it won't fit 501 when your in 401 and laughed. I showed him the tag that said 501 then he didn't say much only that he must had written it down wrong" Check my visa to find I had been overcharged. I called and apparently he had charged me for parking but I explained to him that I was dropped off and didn't require parking, he said that I had parked a Mazda car. Again I explained to him I had not parked a car and that I didn't even own a Mazda car. After waiting on the line for 5-7 minutes he came back and said I would see a credit for the parking in a couple of days, but without an Apology!!!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    4.6
    Good location for walking to. Tourist attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition very noisy, they tried to fix it but it didn't work. Parking fees and breakfast should have been complimentary considering room price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    We will definitely be back to St John's and stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were big with 2 queen size beds and lots of space for luggage. Check in was easy and welcoming. Went and enjoyed swimming with my son and husband and met some really nice travelers from the USA and a mother and daughter from St John's enjoying a girls get away. We were able to leave our car and not worry about parking and walked everywhere! Just a really relaxed environment and super nice staff. Thanks!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.5
    Good views from room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not made very well. There was one complimentary bottle of water in the room but we had to pay if we wanted a second one. Quite a long walk to main restaurants etc.

    Good views from room. Chris gave us valuable advice on places to visit and was very helpful at all times. Good size room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room (H)
    • Stayed 1 night

    - thin walls, we could hear our neighbours CLEARLY - one of the toilet paper rolls they gave us was dirty and moldy! - They will nickle and dime you at every opportunity - they offer one free bottle of water, but it's $3.75 for the second - the breakfast is $20 - no free coffee during the day - it's $15 for parking per night - the pool was small and the water looked pretty cloudy

    - Comfortable Bed - Friendly Staff - generally clean room - great location -decent gym

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    Surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was surprised that there were not any robes in the room. I would recommend fresh coffee and tea in the lobby. Really, for a hotel for that price I did expect a little more bang for my buck....just saying........

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    great staff and location is as good as it gets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lack of anything larger than double beds is not great. double room feels cramped.

    great staff and location is as good as it gets. great lounge with pro servers. pool is great for a splash with the kids.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    I enjoyed St.John's .The hotel was close enough that you could walk to the main streets downtown.
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Room with Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast menu too expensive. i.e.$21 for two eggs and toast!!

    I liked having flavoured water in the coolers in the lobby. The location was good. There was plenty of sitting areas in the lobby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.3
    Lovely cool room, great view,good food, very pleasant bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (H)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ran out of tissues, no spare toilet roll, shampoo not replaced one day. Air conditioning very noisy. Most of all with exception of one male waiter dining room staff brusk, unhelpful and inattentive.

    Lovely cool room, great view,good food, very pleasant bar tenders,great location, lovely lobby enjoyed chess and checkers. Great e

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Amazing! Within walking distance to Sigmal Hill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (H)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could have stayed longer.

    The location is just excellent. Our room had a gorgeous view of the St. John's Harbour. We walked our the hotel front door and hiked to Signal Hill (on foot). Loved how you can walk for only ten mins and be completely out of the city, standing way up on a hill, surrounded by the ocean, in a beautiful country setting!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.3
    Acceptable but not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness- both days I found a hair on pillow that was NOT mine! Hallway dirty and stale odor in room and hall. Also in the resto 11.50 for 2 ordinary takeout coffees - even starbucks is cheaper and better tasting -- really? A bit ridiculous!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Sheraton St John's
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is very slow. Buffet breakfast expensive for the offering, $21 but often out of items, food not hot enough and no chef making crepes or omelets.

    Very comfy bed with four giant pillows. Lovely swimming pool. Very attentive staff. The chambermaid was especially nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Room and staff were excellent did not like that I had to pay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and staff were excellent did not like that I had to pay 17 dollars for parking last time I stayed there it was free parking and was not aware of this till I checked in at hotel feel like I was gouged

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    It's like Sheratons were in the 1980s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the gym equipment was broken or not quite working.

    It's like Sheratons were in the 1980s. I did like it, and would stay again but not for the full rate

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Property was beautiful.
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not friendly and the lady at the customer service desk around 6:30am on July 7th was very rude. I didn't get her name, but should have.

    Property was beautiful. All you can eat breakfast at the Oppidian restaurant was delicious and well worth $21.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.8
    find a better hotel for the $'s
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TVs and converters are far too old - very hard to even change a channel. Two cables had to be replaced to get any reception. Could not change setting on shower head - not functioning and very uncomfortable. Room Service hard to get a hold of - messages not returned for a long time - one occasion to the time that they closed so could not order. for breakfast they try to push you to have the buffet instead of a menu item - easier and more expensive, Expect far more given the cost of the hotel.

    location, beds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Fitness facility - container of wipes to clean equipment was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room (H)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price - more than $450 for one night in the middle of the week is excessive. Bathroom - would have been nice to have a bath mat as well as 2 bars of soap (1 for sink, 1 for shower). Toilet could use an upgrade.

    Fitness facility - container of wipes to clean equipment was empty (at 5:30 AM)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed my stay very much plan on coming back again next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the cost a bit high but the treat was definitely worth it. And plan to share a room with a friend next year to help make it more affordable.

    Enjoyed my stay very much plan on coming back again next year. The staff was helpful, friendly and very positive. The room was very comfortable. The overall atmosphere was upbeat and positive. My son and I volunteer at SciFi on the Rock each year and this year we thought we would stay a night as the Sheraton is a beautiful hotel and it would make being there early in the morning much easier, we are very glad we did!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    5.8
    not Sheraton service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room with Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1.staffs watching me moved two big luggage in without offering help. 2. may be it is almost mid night , staffs seem not expecting you wanted to check-in though you are standing in front of the reception desk. 3. booking .com mentioned the b'fast is $16, but the receptionist told us it was stated in booking .com not the hotel mark price.

    Room maid is very polite and courtesy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Large rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room (H)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet wifi was weak or didn't work, despite the wonderful fact that it was "free". Made it hard to get work done at the hotel or in my hotel room. I had to go out to a café.

    Large rooms. Very clean. Received a room facing the water. Very friendly staff, helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room (H)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking WAY too expensive!!!! Double occupancy with two cars and we paid $30!!!!! Insane!

    Room was comfortable and clean. Facilities were excellent. Beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant and comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    front desk was slow and not very friendly; room entrance was awkward - at an angle so that you always seemed to be walking into the washroom upon entering. could use some updating on bathrooms in rooms.

    excellent location, great view of harbour, very comfortable room - seating for work and leisure and bed, nice seating area in lobby with greenhouse, restaurant, bar and general lobby staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids were overcrowded the pool area late at night. Not sonething the hotel could really help with. Just frustrated when at 9-9:30 and kids are still over running the pool and hot tub area when you are trying to relax.

    Love this hotel. It is always our favourite to stay at when we come to St. John's .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Best view in St. John's , NL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay for parking, no mini fridge or safe in room, coffee machine but had to call front desk for coffee

    View was awesome, kids loved the pool, staff were great and courtyard is beautiful!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Great stay at the Sheraton for the Tim Horton's Brier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room (H)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very comfortable. pillows were great. we were on 6th floor with access to the lounge on that floor. would have liked coffee available at all times but with coffee in the room it was ok

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel, great location.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The prices in the restaurant seemed high.

    The view from our room over the harbour was spectacular. The room was bright & comfortable. The bartender Fabian is a tremendous asset to your hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed talking with him & learning about Newfoundland.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.6
    Great views, walking distance to great restaurants, shopping and night life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room. Lovely reading chair but no light to accommodate reading during the evening. Menu at the eateries in the hotel was very limited.

    Loved the gym, pool and spa. City view from my room was amazing enjoyed falling asleep and waking up to that view. Strolled in the downtown area which was very close. Room was ok.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    other than having to pay for parking it was a nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room (H)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    did not like that you have to pay 17.25 per night for my car as you pay enough for your the rooms and food and drinks. going to stay elsewhere next time i think there are other downtown hotels that you don,t have to pay for parking.Just another cash grab

    staff was very nice and friendly and very clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    3.8
    Wiuld not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in newly renovated room. No bottle opener even after calling the front desk. No fan in the bathroom. Very thin walls. Way over priced.

    Good hotel gym.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel HORRIBLE parking issues
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room with Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay $15 to park our truck in the parking lot! If you don't let the hotel know you've parked and pay the $15 they boot your vehicle and it's more money to get the boot off! Your staying at their hotel and you have to pay them to park in their parking lot!?!? Next time I'll park elsewhere.

    Great hotel and great room and our son LOVED the heated pool!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room (H)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked these rooms 6 months in advance Yet the rooms were at both ends of the building With so much time available could I not get my 3 rooms together. Very disappointing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel but a little too expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub closed. Pillows on beds terrible. Majors renos going on which wasn't known until we got there.

    Very nice room. Hotel clean and staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice rooms, was not impressed with the parking fee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My cousin wished to drop me off in her car at the hotel, but wished to come up for a few minutes to say bye to my wife who was in the room. It appeared we needed to pay for parking. The meter said something like $1.00 for 30 minutes, that would be more than enough time, but I could not pay for only 1:00 worth of parking, it said there was minimum. I think I saw something about 5:00. I ended up hitting the "add more" button 5 times making it 6 dollars in all, so that my aunt could stay for 5 minutes. When I asked at the front desk for a refund, I was told flatly No. This 6:00 parking fee will likely cause me to look elsewhere next time.

    When I checked in, was given a harbour view as there were such rooms available. Thanks!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    2.5
    Extremely poor service!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was argumentative. When our room had not been cleaned after being out for 9 hours, at 2 in the morning they suggested we move rooms. I suggested instead I leave the dirty towels in the hallway and they leave clean towels and coffee outside our door for the morning. This did not happen either. The next day they suggested we were the problem for not having gone out during the day. I told the front desk person when we left at 5 we were out for the evening. It was a somewhat horrible experience that ruined our weekend away. I would not suggest staying here as there are many more options downtown.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Club room food was disappointing for the extra charges paid - breakfast was same everyday and eggs overcooked one day. Evening appetizers were not too special - was advised previous to stay that would be 2 hot dishes every evening - one being seafood usually (only had bacon scallops 1 evening) other nights were nacho chips, (2 nights) potato wedges. May have been more worthwhile to save approximately $80 night and had standard room and bought breakfast out each day)

    staff were amazing - all very courteous and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.5
    My friend and I were late for a function because as we were...
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend and I were late for a function because as we were getting ready the breaker tripped. It took a while for maintenance to arrive and we used different outlets that would not be on the same line and they tripped again.it would have been nice to be informed that you can't have 2 things plugged in at once.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    4.2
    Rooms accessed used and items stolen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Someone gained access to our hotel room while we were out and removed 2 bottle of wine and slept in our bed....complained to on staff manager and he was to remove the room cost and give a free voucher for some other night stay... checked my credit card statement and full charges have been applied..

    location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    4.6
    The Staff needs a complete overhaul
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room (H)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. we booked on line for 2 double beds and when we checked in they had us in for 1 king bed. To accommodate our need for 2 doubles, the staff then moved us from a room with a view of the harbour to a room overlooking a roof and parking area despite us booking the hotel in early June...and they refused to move us again as hotel was apparently fully booked. when someone books that far in advance and pays in full I would expect some additional accommodation 2. they would also not allow us a late check-out for an extra hour as were again ' fully booked"...I fail to see how an extra hour would have been that much of a problem ...it would have helped us greatly plus added to out enjoyment as we could have had a leisurely breakfast in hotel instead of a hurried check out 3. they also did not show the hotel room paid for in full on check-in and tried to charge us for parking at check out even though they said was free at check-in....staff didn't seem to be consistent nor well trained....especially the night/evening people .... I got pretty tired of hearing ' I am so sorry to hear that' from a vacant faced employee and no action to even try to accomodate

    service staff at breakfast restaurant were the only nice and helpful ones in the place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    6.3
    Parking is a problem at this location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room (H)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a problem. Hotel manager would not allow me to leave my car in the Sheraton lot while on cruise even though the hotel was the host hotel for the cruise line and I am a Sheraton member. I expected more. Would not use this hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    6.3
    Nice Pleasant Hoyel but do not stay in room 423
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 423 next to kitchen therefore at 7 am in mornings serving trolleys woke you up. Not good when you get in from George Street at 4am!

    Gym and Pool were Great. Staff were pleasant and helpful Situated at top of hill so long climb home

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff and comfortable accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor quality of bathroom sundry products, shampoo, etc. No safe in the room. For the price would have expected these items as a given.

    Clean, friendly staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    6.3
    Good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room (H)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many small deficiencies which cropped up daily . No coffee one day. Coffee but no cups one day. Fridge not working. No luggage rack in room.

    Good beds. Manager and front desk staff very responsive to problems.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable, convienient and friendly place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room (H)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No robe or slippers. The corridors were getting run down, stains on rugs. Dingy feel in the halls.

    Bed was good along with pillows. Towels, coffee maker, ice bucket etc. All good. Restaurant and bar easy access along with pool. News paper available by elevators. free WI-FI. Good walking distance for shops, etc. Cabs there for rides to sites such as Signal hill etc. or tours available.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    3.8
    Very poor.. Wasn't impressed..way over priced for the night I had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking.. They charged me 17$ for parking?? Like really?? The elevator very slow..there was always a 5-10 min wait just so it could come to my floor which was only on the second level. The pillows in our room were very uncomfortable. We had a very restless night because of that

    Not a lot I was very disappointed. I usually stay other hotels so I figured I'd try another and got very disappointed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    5.8
    could do better as a Sheraton
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they never read the request section, I always ask for a fridge in the room as I travel with young children and I have to keep the milk in fridge but never they did have it ready, and to make things worse this time they said they don't even have a fridge to put in the room and they only offered to take the milk and put it in the lobby fridge and have someone pick it up when needed which is major inconvenience

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location! Great Rates! Great Service! Awesome View!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The vending machines didn't maintain proper temperature as the chocolate bars were partially melted each and every time we purchased.

    Close to everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel on the St Johns waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room (H)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the pillows were soft and uncomfortable but the bed was nice. No fridge.

    The view of the harbour was spectacular! the room was spotless. In room coffee.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Excellent time in St. John's starts here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room (H)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a small frig

    Beds were very comfy staff were friendly and helpful and the maids for our rooms were excellent as we needed more supplies for the family

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.6
    Sheraton provides wonderful home base for our stay in St John's
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room (H)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would hv been so nice for family to be able to go for breakfast each morning. Just not affordable.

    Beds were extremely comfortable. View of St John's Harbour from our room was beautiful. Very friendly staff. Great location to walk into town. Wonderful and relaxing place to stay!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Have never been disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the rooms are very clean the yellow cloth chair in the corner of the room was very dirty and stained. Also, there was a shoe from a previous guest left under our bed.

    We stay at this property every chance we get when we are travelling. We trust their consistency and have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Traditional King Room (H)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find my reservation, put in a king size bed when I had requested 2 doubles as we were a party of 3 adults , rude response when went back to get different room, bill not correct when checked out.

    Bedd

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    A great stay in an outstanding hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we have a squawk about: brakfast is too expensive.

    First, we got a free upgrade. Most thankful. Bed very comfy, staffers very friendly. Scotch very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.1
    Concierge was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room (H)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had poor housekeeping services. Furnishings (clock, fridge) were malfunctioning but replaced promptly when staff were notified.

    Concierge was exceptional. Front staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    6.7
    The man at the main desk was friendly and helpful when the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the lounge on the 6th floor seemed, at best, disinterested. there were no water bottles there, and 2 other people asked for some. It took a third person to ask for the girl, who was not busy, to go and get some. She seemed put out by the task, as she was on the computer at the time.

    The man at the main desk was friendly and helpful when the junior suite I had booked was not available The location and the view were both amazing We all loved the pool and the exercise facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.5
    A Slumbering place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room (H)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general a dull atmosphere, almost sleepy. Sleepy atmosphere, what about injecting some vitality. No place in the lobby to grab a morning coffee or muffing, no music, restaurant and bar tucked away, free local paper, but no Globe and Mail ( reputed to be our national newspaper)Disappointing ! Gym could be updated, and hot tub had maintenance issues while we were there. Our room had a lovely view, but our toilet needed to be repaired. Reported it and it was never attended to... It kept running and I kept lifting the lid .

    The location was excellent, and the surroundings pleasant.Easy to get around. Staff in the bar were very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    9.6
    Beds are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For type and cost of room, extras such as housecoat and bath products were either missing or not high standard. Had to ask for towels each day.

    Beds are good. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant and a fabulous waitress served our group.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Quite Satisfied Overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool was small. Hot tub didn't work one morning - pump was broken. couldn't make a good cup of tea...Coffee maker only...container made tea taste like coffee. Yuck.

    Front desk and housekeeping staff (particularly!) were so friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.1
    Great staff shame about the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Traditional King Room (H)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Adding 19% on top of your bill pushes the price up a lot, the tax rate is quite high, prices should be quoted inclusive of tax. Why can't rooms have have singles as well as doubles???

    loved the location and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Pool and gym area were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.5
    This hotel is in a fantastic location and the rooms are clean and updated. The staff were wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room (C)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    The staff are super friendly and helpful with reservations and tours.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: