Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St. Eugene Golf Resort Casino 4 stars

7777 Mission Road, V1C 7E5 Cranbrook, Canada

#4 of 17 hotels in Cranbrook

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 371 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    We probably will not return. What you get for the amount isn’t worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was poor. To come back to our room after 5:00pm and it was still not done is unacceptable. My inquiry was met with no apologies but that they’ll get to it.

    Location and buildings are beautiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Really beautiful location and the honouring of history very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there are few venues onsite during the week for food and what is available has short hours. Facilities ie exercise room and pool were mostly out of order equipment and the pool was no operational

    Really beautiful location and the honouring of history very well done. Rooms are good but nothing over and above

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    My husband and I were thankful to be there to celebrate our 30th anniversary, very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all pretty amazing and enjoyable. However, the restaurant was very busy, I think there was a conference or something, so we were sent to the golf club restaurant instead.

    The cultural atmosphere, and the history of the building. I like the indigenous people are turning this negative history into a positive, healing way to provide for their families and community.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent Value if Reserved in Advance....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sliding glass door to balcony needed to be cleaned; otherwise cleanliness was okay. We were in a newer part of the resort, behind the main building and close to the golf course. At this building, the parking lot for non-handicapped is a bit remote from the rooms; best to unload at the door, then transfer the car to the parking lot.

    This hotel/resort offers excellent value if reserved well in advance. Rooms are "generic modern"; nothing to write home about, but pleasant enough. Excellent A/C was appreciated during heat wave (32C). Bathroom/shower fixtures could use updating. Good for golfers, and casino on property. Nice balcony. Didn't do any meals here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Cranbrooks best kept secret
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything was excellent, however shortly after we left Amex alerted me that they had charged an additional $400 to my card. I called them and they never gave me a good reason why this had happened. As of this writing it has not yet been reversed. Although they did say it can take 24hours.

    I love the place, the food was excellent, and I will come back as soon as I can. I also won $700 in the casino.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Great but spoiled by ants!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants in the room. Left an open, partially empty juice can on the counter. Before drinking the rest the next day I poured a little in the sink. 30 dead ants came out! Gross!! Told the desk...ho hum, no shocker.

    Nice facilityon the

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place to stay tucked away from town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower cap, kettle, or tea in the room. The sheets on one of the beds smelled a little musty.

    The grounds and the building are beautiful. We spent some time looking around and exploring. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great sleep. I would have liked to have more time to spend here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Had been curious about this place for some time, and really enjoyed experiencing it first-hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, really

    Loved the old mission building, and all the historical photos and the Interpretive Centre. Wish All the photos had had informative captions. Liked the way the residential school history was presented, and the spirit of reconciliation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    It was very beautiful not sure we would go again. I expected more ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I called couple of days before arrival to confirm they were very rude on the phone. The pool was very dirty full of black flies. Looking at all the photos I thought we would be staying in the main building but that was executive suites only. A bit disappointed

    It was a very beautiful area the staff was very friendly food was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    housekeeping staff super friendly and helpful as were casino deli/bar staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    casino hotel entrance covered with cigarette butts!

    the casino deli is a great menu and good value, found to have much better variety than main menu. Terrific staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    It was quiet and conveniently located to Cranbrook and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was meeting someone who flying into the Cranbrook Airport so she signed up for the complimentary airport shuttle. The flight was delayed a little bit, but neither of us thought too much of it - flights get delayed all the time, right? But when her flight landed and she went outside to meet the shuttle, there was no one there. I don't know if they forgot about her or wrote off the pick up because her flight was late, but it was frustrating for her to have to wait after having been on a delayed flight and or me, who then had to go and pick her up.

    It was quiet and conveniently located to Cranbrook and the Airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside would be the lighting in the hotel room. Could have been a bit brighter!

    Our family and friends had a most enjoyable 90th birthday celebration for our mother, which included dinner in the restaurant (the Ktunaxa Elk Osso Bucco was the best I've ever had!), casino, a good night's sleep and a great breakfast buffet in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    I love st Eugene’s and would recommend it to everyone. It was our second stay in in under 3 months!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was so looking forward to the jetted tubs and the weren’t functioning the whole 4 nights we stayed there. I wish I would have been informed about that before my arrival. Or even when talking on the phone to the resort prior to our visit. Also... I had expected a microwave in the room to heat up leftovers or coffee... that is an important asset to hAve in every room

    Love the pastoral region... so beautiful. And the staff was all so very kind and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Great place with an interesting history on top of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My pet friendly room was far from the main building and near the casino.

    Everyone was friendly. Even employees in the hallways. People were very helpful. Close to the airport. It was winter so rates were good for what I needed. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs outside at entrance were slippery but signs were posted warning you.

    The facility is situated in a beautiful location in the valley with the snow capped mountains. It is the perfect winter wonderland.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    We have stayed many times in the summer.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed in the quality of food.

    We have stayed many times in the summer. Like the location in the summer not so much in the winter due to poor road conditions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit disappointed with the speed of service in the lounge. It was not by any stretch a big deal. Perhaps just because everything else was so amazing. (And maybe because I worked in the food & beverage industry for years.) It took a few minutes to get menus. (4 other tables were already seated and in various stages.) We waited about 15 mins to place our order. Only about 20 mins to get 1 plate of food. About 5 mins later my friend's food arrived. I wanted another drink less than halfway through my meal, but I couldn't see a server. 20 mins later, our server came back and asked if I wanted another drink. I said no it's ok, I'm finished eating now anyway. She said ok, and took my friend's empty plate away, but left mine. Our server did not return. 15 mins later I stood up beside our table, hoping maybe our server would see me and come over. A different server asked us if we wanted our bill. Perhaps our server got sent home? Maybe we should have been passed on to another person? Maybe if we were wearing name brand clothes we may have gotten more attention? Not sure. Either way, the food was good. Veggies were fresh and tasty. Steak was cooked as requested.

    Beautiful old building with a lot of history! The front desk staff was warm, polite, informative and knowledgeable. The outdoor heated pool and hot tub were amazing!! It's quite incredible to be warm (in a bathing suit) outside when it's -20°C. It was perfect after a long day of driving. Good food in the lounge. Clean rooms with beautiful views. Should you stay here? Yes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't aware that breakfast was an extra charge and no included with the room.

    The food and staff were amazing!! The architecture was phenomenal!! I loved the history of the bulding shown everywhere!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    This was a happy discovery and we will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the steam room and outdoor heated salt water pool and outdoor relaxation hot tub. Food and service excellent. Quiet and super comfortable room. Free shuttle to and from airport was a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    Convenient to airport.Good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was poor Dust ruffle doesn’t cover mattress Carpet had a few bits on it Room getting a bit shabby

    Food at restaurant was excellent Staff friendly, shuttle to airport convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    A peaceful place to spend Christmas. Great ambience and beautiful setting..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Very friendly and helpful staff for check-in, check-out and restaurant/bar. Really good value (last minute booking) and didn't need to pay in advance. Excellent, affordable Christmas Day menu with attentive server who helped with wine selection. Room was spacious, comfortable and well-stocked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Amazing stay! Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful historic property, well exceeded our expectations and even better than other stays we have had at Fairmont hotels. Breakfast was fantastic, very high quality ingredients and super fresh. We booked last minute chasing the snow at Kimberley, and very glad that we did! Highly recommend, great value, we will definitely be back!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.3
    The coffee pot didn't work for me that says it all
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom lights flickered each time I turned the lights on. The room was cold. Couldn't find an extra blanket. I'm older and found the bed to be to hard. Causing me to cramp up. I woke up every 20 minutes when the heater would kick on. The bathroom was cold. My husband wanted some snacks like chips and couldn't find any. And I could not log on to the wifi so I couldn't check the weather as their was a major snow storm and accumulating snow,

    Didn't try the food was fasting. Was very clean. Staff and security were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    price and staff was good
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    do not charge for a microwave, it should be part of customer service. coffee in the morning was too weak I stayed a couple of hours past check out time and the charge was more than the room stay the night before - terrible

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful heritage building with many great amenties in a scenic convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love the quiet, out-of-town location and mountain views. Beautiful heritage building and grounds; comfy, clean, cozy room; outdoor pool and hot tub was great! Really enjoyed the delicious breakfast at the St. Eugene Smokehouse. Can't wait to go back again soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    The staff was very nice and helpful when I got lost.
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is too easy to get lost when you first get there. The biggest downfall was no microwave. You come to expect Microwaves these days in a room. And they had them FOR EXTRA. Which wasn't cool with me, I only had a cup of soup to microwave so ended up harassing the front desk, which is probably staff working to accommodate management's cheapness. Not a fan of that situation.... Plus as a light sleeper the fan kicking in and how easily you near people in the hall messed up my sleep a little more than I expected.

    The staff was very nice and helpful when I got lost. The outdoor pool is great in the winter

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stay. Short drive to the airport. We stayed to avoid driving in a snow storm.
    • Group
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything.

    The food exceeded our expectations at the smokehouse lounge. Excellent kale salad and steak sandwich . Nice staff. Very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Serene Surroundings and Excellent Restaurant
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in guy very courteous, helpful and thorough. The restaurant food and service were superb. I got to swim outside with snowflakes falling on my face.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing location yet short drive to the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater was really noisy and kicked on and off all night. I finally had to opt for doubling up my blanket and turning the heat off so it was pretty cold in the morning. I should have brought ear plugs.

    Food was great. Hot tub / heated pool with salt water outside during winter was a treat after a relaxing massage at the spa. The scenery was gorgeous and the Christmas decorations were very tasteful and festive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    Location to airport great, excellent shuttle service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room temperature very difficult to manage. The room was cold when I arrived, and took nearly 3 hours to warm the room up. Interestingly, there was a couple at the front desk when I was checking in, asking for a space heater as they'd been trying to heat up their room (also in the 'extension building' where I was booked). Dining room was closed (despite being early evening) and was told that only service was in bar/lounge area. Seating in the bar was NOT comfortable for dinner, and food was mediocre at best.

    Location to airport and shuttle. Shuttle driver was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    A beautiful building - they have done an amazing job of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful building - they have done an amazing job of blending the old with the new and the design pays tribute to the history of the place in a very respectful way. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful - we loved our stay there!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Good value But poor planning by staff on room selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hockey team of 18-19 boys put beside us which was an adjoining room. Not smart by staff. Very loud. Very late. No fault of the team just poor planning by staff

    Casino. Lounge. History of property

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    The hot tub and pool was open until 11 which was great as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little lumpy and breakfast was so so.

    The hot tub and pool was open until 11 which was great as we needed a break after a long drive. Service was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Since most of our vacation was spent siteseeing, this location was a nice change of pace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attendent checking us in could have been a little friendlier. No smiles, but efficient. Wait staff were all very nice and friendly.

    Loved having the golf course right next to the hotel. Hadn't golfed in years but rented clubs and played 9 holes. Also enjoyed some time in the casino after dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    A Great Place to Stay and Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a great resort. The grounds are beautiful - clearly well looked after. The casino is small but fun. The biggest asset is the staff - they were all wonderful, friendly and frankly funny. And for me, I think funny is good - it means the staff is enthusiastic and not just going through the motions. I hope we have the chance to return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    4.6
    No response to request clean up of bird droppings all down...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No response to request clean up of bird droppings all down our window, sliding screen and deck railings. Detracted from overall cleanliness of the property, Aside from walking around small grounds, facility was secluded and away from opportunities to walk more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    Once is enough, room not great except bathroom was not clean and carpet had stains everywhere .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks like they used a builder / contractor that was learning, toilet was 4 inches from side wall and toilet paper dispenser was on same wall, rolls of paper jammed into you which made it almost impossible to use. Cheap sandpaper like paper products and small threadbare towels provided. Both hot tubs are broken (pumps for jets broken) asked and was told they are now just relaxation pools no plan to fix! This could be a nice place but it is not!

    Going to a different hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful historic building and grounds!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If other guest would acknowledge and adhere to the 11:00 quite rule.

    We enjoyed our stay with the exception of the inconsiderate people and children who were so loud in the hallway. Adults speaking so loudly and children close by in the hall at 1:20 in the morning. A pretty rough sleep. But the food was amazing in the lounge and the staff and grounds were awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice rooms and all around nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaint at all.

    This was our second stay at the resort and this time we got a free upgrade and stayed in the main building. We were really comfortable and really like the facilities and the staff is very nice. It was all around a good experience to stay here and the rooms are very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Unique opportunity to get away, relax and get soaked into the nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because the food is so good, it is a very busy place (especially for the weekend that we stayed). The waitresses work so busily to accommodate big tables. They were attentive but there were just not enough people on the floor. It was good that the manager also helped. Wish that it was less chaotic for big groups to be around! The hot tubs were filled with bugs that also wanted to take a hot bath (coz it's an outdoor tub), but we were provided with a net on the side to scoop them away as needed.

    Because the booking.com system didn't reflect the number of traveling children, I phoned the hotel and they were flexible enough to give us a room with an extra bed with no charges (=free upgrade). Thank you so much! The dining room has great choices with food for brunch and dinner! We love the smoked meat, sous vide cod and kids' meal! We were able to live on the top floor of the main building, looking at the moon thru the window from our bed. It's beautiful scenery to see the teepees out in the field. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. We like to watch the CBC documentary that gives us some insights on the Aboriginal experience in residential schools. It was educational for us to see how this place is significant to reflect the value of Aboriginals' values in our daily lives outside of the reserve. It is such an unique experience to relax on the reserve!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Would love to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A brochure, or better yet, a short video made available for patrons to learn about the history of the mission would have enhanced our stay. This was an important part of the reason we chose St. Eugene's.

    Such wonderful things are happening today for a place with such a dark past. Well done to all those with such great vision and tenacity!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    A very relaxing time for girl friends to connect and get away from our busy lives ie jobs family and the hustle and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING

    Quiet and beautiful perfect place for a wedding as we viewed during our stay pool was warm and very enjoyable staff were very helpful and friendly as I did get turned around as the hotel is very large and beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Staff, food and drinks (including pricing) were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cappucino machine was not functioning (so we were told), yet I heard someone steaming milk with it!!!

    Staff, food and drinks (including pricing) were amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Lack of information and not very knowledgeable front desk staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lack of service provided to upgrade or choices of room because we booked thru booking . com. Was told we would have more options if book direct with hotel

    Golf course, lounge restaurant and casino

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed this wonderful, historical property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant lacked enough wait staff. In room coffee was poor quality and no coffee offered in lobby area!

    Beautiful property and well maintained! Fun to have casino for entertainment!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and the grounds were beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found the rooms to be a little bit small. We didn't overly enjoy the food in the restaurant.

    The staff were very friendly and the grounds were beautiful to walk around. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Destination golf resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi was free but not secure to each room No microwave in room

    Beautiful, unique property Room and beds were comfortable 3 restaurants and good food Very accommodating staff in pro golf shop Good driving range (didn't get to play full round) Safe and frig in room Heated outdoor pool, gym and spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.0
    Never Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled really bad. Bed was not comfortable. Mosquitos everywhere. Several in our room. We had to park a long ways away. Felt that our vehicle was not safe. Did not like the restaurant.

    Nice soap products.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    A pleasant surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been move history about the place. Would have liked to seen the rooms in the old part

    The staff were excellent. Very friendly. Love the history.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.0
    Need to fix the Hotel parking and distance to pack luggage
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor directions to front desk Very poor hotel parking. There should be exclusive Hotel parking closer to the hotel when you have luggage. The Casino visitors do not have luggage, therefore could park further away. I literally walked over 1 km with luggage, ridiculous.

    The Casino and Golf Course provided things to do that was immediately accessible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Peace in the Valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing negative I could see was the hallways where the rooms are is looking a bit rundown. Not major.

    The scenery was absolutely beautiful. It is off the main highway so it is peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay if you don't expect a whole lot from golfing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both jacuzzi's did not work but we're hot. The golf course was nice but very dry with very little signage compared to other courses we golfed at in the area.

    The staff was very friendly. The food was really delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Vist beautiful St.Eugene in the Kootenays!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building and the grounds are stunning, nothing like staying at a regular hotel. For a special occasion or just to get away this place is spectacular. The bed and bedding was all very comfortable. Liked that there is a min fridge and safe in each room. Air conditioning was excellent as it was a very hot day. Stayed there as we wanted to go to the casino and were traveling with 2 small dogs so we took turns and it worked out well. We did not dine on this trip but have stayed here before and the dining is excellent. Very close to Cranbrook to do some shopping as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    The grounds and landscaping are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a group of loud, drunk, and swearing golfers in the pool who were spilling their canned alcohol into the pool, blasting music, and totally disregarding that my 6 year old son was there. They were joking about swearing in front of the boy. There was a ring of dirt around the pool like a dirty bathtub ring. I think this is where the golfers bathe after a long round of sweaty golf. Lets just say, we were hoping it was a salt water pool, because the water was salty, and hopefully not from their sweat.

    The grounds and landscaping are beautiful. The patios are lovely. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    This hotel is amazing, I'm so glad we booked to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like

    This hotel is amazing, I'm so glad we booked to stay there. Location amazing, hotel wonderful, room was spacious with a huge king size bed. Restaurant was fabulous, I complimented the chef on my meal it was so good. Will definetly stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Good but frustrating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price. I always receive special offers for St. Eugenes and when i try and bòok these specials I am told they are not available. The staff tell me that there are only very few rooms available on the special rates. Why bother sending me offers unless the hotel is willing to deliver?

    Close to casino and golf course. Different options for restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyed our stay to a degree but would not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chairs on patio were old and decrepit, coffee machine was plugged and had to be replaced, had to walk to main lobby for coffee while they found us a new pot.

    Bed was comfy, fairly quiet, clean and enjoyed patio even though it is quite small!@

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced, bring your jogging shoes for parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible lay out. Have to walk a half mile for parking. Food was extremely overpriced for a very small portion. Not very family friendly, more for the " high class". Mass confusion at front desk for check in.

    Good history with building, decent view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    St Eugene Mission, Oasis of peace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My 1st stay there was no holiday , I got stranded in Cranbrook because of weather...Act of God! The dinning room menu was amazing, the quality of th food and the presentation just Yummy. Since last year they have change completely, the food is good but nothing so say about it. I don t expect a burger at dinner time. They use to have lamb with a coulis and good dessert and good service! I still miss my Good Old Mission "dinning room

    The room was great, I am at my 4th stay there, Oasis of peace! The birds,flowers and the essence of the wild roses just put you back on your feet after a long stressful day

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    So Beautiful I will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were clearly understaffed. I called back after we left the next day and nobody answered after 10 phone calls? ..... If they could up their staff ratio it would go along way

    The location is gorgeous. The atmosphere perfect, golf amazing, club house staff stellar. Food real good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Best place in Cranbrook.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most staff was great. One staff housekeeper did not like his job and made that clear- all other housekeepers were excellent.

    Great staff. Excellent location. Great facilities and good dining.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a picturesque setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because of the historical aspect, it was a bit of a maze getting to the lodge from the main building (where our room was), but once we figured it out, it was easy. There was good food in the lounge, but expensive.

    It was a picturesque and large historical property just out of the city of Cranbrook. We went for a wedding, and the hotel was in a lovely valley of the Rocky Mountains, for wonderful views. We stayed for 3 nights, and there was a pool, a challenging golf course and a casino. The food and facilities for the wedding were superb. Although it was a 5-hour drive for us (although there is an airport there), it was relaxing, and we would go there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.3
    Thursday evenings, they have introduced a new wine tasting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thursday evenings, they have introduced a new wine tasting event. If you enjoy wine, it's a great way to sample various varietals, along with in house cheeses, bread and crackers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.7
    Wires crossed
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk tried to put me in a cheaper room when I checked in I had to prove my room type through the confirmation email I was sent. Communication breakdown from booking.com with the hotel is the excuse I was given. Embarrassing moments at the front desk. Clerk was condescending and a bit rude telling me I would have to pay more for the deluxe room booked online!

    Good dinner from the restaurant although my instructions were not followed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.1
    Birthday Weekend
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better communication via website upon booking or @ front desk. We were unaware of renovations & limited menu? Also, we were there for a Birthday weekend (March 12) We had a Birthday coupon with NO EXPIRY which was declined @ front desk & Guest Services. We also had another incentive via email which could not apply when booked through Booking.com! Plus email was sent after we booked. It would have been nice to have received the email prior so we could have used towards our stay.

    Room & food were good! Casino was enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.5
    Always enjoy staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was pricey.

    Always enjoy staying here. Restaurant a little pricey for my liking but it is convenient to be able to eat and drink without having to drive anyplace afterward. Casino was not busy at all when we were there so all machines were open

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful area to stay with lots of history. A treat staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue which was discussed with the front desk. The casino food f old is limited but tasted okay. The prices are high at the casino pub since the food is served in a styrofoam container. The soup was great but very expensive for the amount and what it was served in

    The mission is a wonderful place to stay with the history and surroundings

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    3.3
    Had mysterious charges added to my account - I've...
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had mysterious charges added to my account - I've attempted to gain clarification and they either told me they would get back to me (which they don't) or not respond to email

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    St. Eugene is a gem.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the fact that this hotel is all the way in Cranbrook area where I will probably not frequent. Nothing else to dislike. The place was a gem!

    I loved it there! Staff were very professional and friendly. I was pleasantly surprised about the entire experience. The room was clean, comfortable, and ccmpletely secure. The casino was right next door but because they required room key to get to the guest area, it felt very secure while the convenience of the casino next door made it feel similar to Vegas. Also, the lounge and restaurant were open late so we did not have to travel anywhere else after checking in after 10PM. There was also a deli in the Casino that was open till midnight.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    8.8
    Impressed with the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our breakfast experience was not good. We waited too long to be seated and for for our waitress to take our order, as well as bringing a second cup of coffee. In defence of the waitress, she was run off her feet and we acknowledged this. We chose not to eat at the hotel because of that experience.

    We had a great room, on ground floor, very quiet with a nice view of the mission's main building especially in the evening with the lights on the tepees and building.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    6.3
    The stay was good, but they didn't wow us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty glasses left in room after cleaning and not replaced, dirty coffee filter left in coffee machine, didn't replace the bath mat after they cleaned the room. Basically details that a 4star hotel should take care of 100% of time. Tried calling property day of booking but no answer for over an hour of trying. Front desk staff were polite but didn't go out of their way to welcome us or provide any insight to the facilities. It felt like we were working harder than they were to get information about their facility. Again, not the level of service I would expect from 3 star, let alone a 4star hotel. Decent service, but didn't come close to wowing us which is what we expected given the ratings of the hotel online.

    Awesome beds and very quiet rooms. Food was very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    5.8
    Wouldn't come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering it was a long weekend, seemed the resort was very under staffed. We waited 40mins for a breakfast sandwich. Arriving to eat at 9:30am and leaving at 10:30am. Elevator had food laying on its floor and women's change rooms had a broken used condom the entire weekend. There is no microwave. Bathroom light switch and top of fridge had a sticky substance all over it. Fridge wasn't even on and our food we had in there went bad and was thrown out.

    2 hot tubs and heated pool. Food was good too!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    This is as good as a European getaway in Canada!
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The new coffee pots they have in rooms are very tempermental and we do not like espresso so did not get a good cup of coffee in morning. That's it, loved the rest.

    The staff are very accomadating. The hot tubs were very comfortable this time. Last time we were there, they were too cool. Food is awesome. The views of mountains are spectacular and golf course is amazing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.3
    Overall good, some pluses and minuses
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driver, receptionist - so solemn. Low on basic room amenities - toilet paper, tissue, no extra blankets.

    Nice location. Beautiful historic building. Appreciated quick e-mail response from staff - info was useful and accommodating. House keeping staff unavailable - so Gordy, who filled in, was very friendly. Thanks!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.3
    Other than one staff member, our stay was great. Food was excellent. Will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The angry miserable bartender in th saloon on the evening of December 29th. It was plain to see she was miserable iwith her job. She was very mean spirited and treated her customers with disdain.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: