Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge 2 stars

Highway 93, Icefields Parkway, T0E 1E0 Jasper, Canada

#12 of 24 hotels in Jasper

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 999 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very basic and old. The shower was absolutely terrible, the water current was too weak. Felt like the room was way overpriced for what it should have been, but since it's the only accommodation between the Columbia Icefield Center and Jasper they can allow themselves.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location right next to Sunwapta Falls is very good is you wanna stop for the night on the way to Jasper.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable but quite expensive place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms looked old fashioned. Bad wifi connections. Quite expensive for what you get. Traffic noise in the morning and early evening.

    Fire place in the room was great. A reasonable place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was perfect in every way--the room, the food and location. Our room overlooked a beautiful wooded area. I had a very peaceful time in the morning sitting right outside our room. The restaurant food was excellent--the best we had in the Canadian Rockies. The mushroom soup was amazing. The location is perfect--right off the highway, but walking distance to the falls. We followed the front desk's recommendations for the remainder of our time in the Jasper and were so pleased!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Thanks for this lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is really bad but that’s because it’s satellite WiFi and they don’t have a choice.

    We were warmly welcomed by the personnel and given a small tour. The room was very nice and cosy with a fireplace. The attached restaurant was delicious and the waiters were friendly. Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.4
    Very expensive. Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very expensive. It is secluded so their resturant is the only option for dinner. The dinnet is very expensive and not worth the money.

    There is a fire place in each room. That seems nice and they will light it up for you no extra charge. Unfortanatlly we did not neeed it, so we did not get to enjoy it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked very old, the fridge made a lot of noise and the TV had bad reception. The bed wasn't good either. Way too expensive in my opinion.

    We booked this hotel for it's location on the Icefield Parkway . We had dinner in the restaurant which was nice. There is also a coffee shop and gift shop. Staff was friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Bad price/quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very overpriced accomodation ! Old cottages, when we arrived there heating was switch off and there was very cold. Odor at the room.

    Very nice place, close to Sunwapta falls Pleasant personal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    The room was clean and we loved the fireplace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and we loved the fireplace. The location was good, it was right next to Sunwapta Falls and we managed to take pictures during sunrise. It was an enjoyable stay. Although it was not in the amenities, we were happy to find that there was wifi for this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not very big: with the luggages open it was a bit "packed".

    Great restaurant and food. The service was amazing! Everybody from the staff has always been very kind and helpful to us. There was the possibility to use the fireplace inside the room and a dedicate person from the staff can light up the fire for you. Also breakfast was very good and there was plenty of choice. Our room was quite and clean, the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    In the middle of nature, kinda pricy though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pricy and quite far from Jasper, which is the first - and only - town you can to go to for provisions, activities and (other) restaurants. The accomodation can provide those too, however. Rooms were a bit cramped with a very small bathroom.

    Located in the middle of nowhere, right in the centre of Jasper National Park., so very quiet and peaceful. Very close to the Sunwapta Falls, Unique nature experience. Despite the fact that there was no cell reception, they still had an internet connection (via satellite). Restauant was good, with a small store next to it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location for the Icefields Parkway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lodge style accommodation with thin walls. There was a family with young children next to us that were reluctant to sleep most nights. That said the room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed.

    Check in was really good. The lady took time to describe some of the local attractions we might be interested in

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Good unique location and basic but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The soundproofing is not fantastic and as it is close to the main road, it could get noisy with huge vehicles racing down the road at night. Other visitors who return late can also be heard clearly - from parking their vehicles, to opening/closing of doors and murmurs of speech. For the price, the room condition could be a little better, BUT then, it has a unique central location, so I could see why the price is what it is.

    The location is superb to us, as it is one of the few (or only?) accommodation in between Jasper and the Lake Louise area. So it works as a good resting/pitstop for the night if you want to take your exploration along the icefield parkway slow. The staff were helpful, informative and friendly and the rooms are decent in size and clean. The facilities were basic and suited our needs for a one night stay. Overall, it is a comfortable stay at a decent place with a unique central location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Restaurant served a very good dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive for the room, but there are not many alternatives on this road.

    Restaurant served a very good dinner. On of the only hotels between Jasper and Banff, and therefore ideal if you plan more time for the Icefield Parkway. Chimney in our room was extraordinary.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was certainly not worth what we paid. The bathroom was very small and the sink was in the main room where the bed was. The mattress needed to be replaced as you sunk to the middle.

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Easy walk to the falls, all the staff from check in(Danny)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy walk to the falls, all the staff from check in(Danny) to the restaurants were over the top friendly and helpful. Both Dinner and Breakfast was well above expectations especially the dinner fine dinning with a fireplace. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stay during our journey from Jasper to Banff. Our cabin had a fireplace which was lighted by very friendly staff. We had a little kitchen which was basic equipped.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    The fireplace made the difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant of the lodge is trying to serve fine dining but unsuccessfully. Too expensive for being the only option in the area, like the gift shop. Although I looked for a fire extinguisher pretty well in the room, I couldn’t find one. Good we didn’t have troubles with the fireplace.

    When we arrived the staff welcomed us showing us the room and giving us some good suggestions for Jasper and surroundings. Every room has a real fireplace and it’s super nice having it lit at night with the sound of the wood popping.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location, clean, good breakfast, but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place to put luggage for short stay, no place to sit and spend time with friends, no sitting area in the lobby or the room

    Good location, clean, good breakfast, but expensive

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.4
    Old room with old facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old room with old facilities. When I checked in, the bathtub drain was blocked, and It take me more than one hour complain and change to the other room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    This place near Jasper is away from the tourist crowd with good food and a nearby waterfall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chef at the restaurant was more innovative here than chefs at the other places we stayed in the Canadian Rockies. The rooms are old but brought up to date and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice cabins in a handy location for an early morning visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people in the room were rather noisy but luckely they adhered to the quiet after 22pm.

    Nice cabins in a handy location for an early morning visit to the Columbia Icefield. Check in staff was extremely helpful and provided lots of info on things to do, trails, important and up to date route info, etc. the bonus for us was the option for dinner. They had a great Thai vegetable curry and a creamy butternut squash soup. Yummie!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Although you can't get cel phone signal in the road...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late and we were very tired. The pipes (the water running through it) are very noisy and it disturbed us a little bit. No cel phone signal, but I must say I knew about that before.

    Although you can't get cel phone signal in the road Banff-Jasper, there's a wi-fi in the hotel. Not great speed of course, but it helps.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Staff was very nice and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated. Not very clean either. The toilet was clogged from the very first flush. The ashtray outside was full of cigarette ends.

    Staff was very nice and attentive. They have is a lot of information.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location. Would be better if the rooms can be renovated a bit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washroom neccessaries are kinda old. Still in working condition but definitely need repairs. Far away from other restaurants and groceries.

    Location. Right beside a fall. Easy to get to other view points.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.0
    We were 45 minutes away from Jasper and that fact was not included in the online information and the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very old. Bed was uncomfortable and the cabin was so old that the floor was noticeably slanted! The room was depressing.

    Food and staff were very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Splendid Rocky Mountain flavor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from Jasper

    Short [mostly] trail to Sunwapta Falls trailhead and subsequent trails to upper & lower falls.Halfway between Jasper & Columbian Ice Field.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and an idyllic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little on the small side but fine for a short stay. More problematic was the way the sound travelled, particularly through the floors - for some reason the person above seemed to want to move all the furniture at 2am, which made it hard to sleep.

    Stunning location, with a beautiful relaxing view from the room. The waterfalls themselves are awesome - do take the time to walk down to the lower falls. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The restaurant is very good, and quite upmarket - not your standard burgers & ribs joint.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    staff very helpful, drinking tap water had good taste, easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant was expensive, portion sizes small wifi did not work no mobile reception in area 50 mins drive from Jaspar

    staff very helpful, drinking tap water had good taste, easy parking, comfortable beds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Decent accomodation located on Icefields Parkway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is located at Sunwapta Falls, not in the town of Jasper (like our navigation system told us with the address given). It is actually 55km from the city centre of Jasper, which was quite a surprise for us. We had to ask the information desk in Jasper how to find out way to the hotel, because the address provided drops you off in the middle of Jasper, while the lodging is located on the Sunwapta Falls on the Icefields Parkway, a 45 minute drive from Jasper and all of its facilities. The wifi is outdated and barely worked, but they immediately told us that at check in (fyi: I could not send pictures through email or via whatsapp from my laptop, it worked a little better on my phone).

    Nice and clean family friendly room. Very friendly staff which upon check in gave us a map and a whole bunch of good recommendations of what to do when in Jasper. The lodging was in a quiet neighborhood and only a 10 minute walk from the lovely Sunwapta Falls. The room was decent, but not additionally large (a little extra room to put multiple suitcases would have been nice). Free parking was offered around the lodging.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Location is awesome, can walk to two sets of Falls after...
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money, quite small room for big price tag. Realize it is remote but still pricey

    Location is awesome, can walk to two sets of Falls after dinner! Room looked out into the forest, staff exceedingly friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice location, in the middle of nowhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was high for accommodation and restaurant prices. As it’s a 100 km round trip to Jasper if you wanted to eat somewhere else.

    Nice location, in the middle of nowhere. Very quite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly, kind, informative and even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly, kind, informative and even upgraded our room when we mentioned it was our honeymoon. Great location near the falls. Open fire in the room!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location to wind down and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a little bit of a drive from Jasper, but the views are great and the scenery and intimacy of the location made up for the distance

    Location was great and staff were extra helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Stay at this excellent location with access to great sights and wildlife within short drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet is poor (somewhat expected at middle of nowhere). The quality and size of the cabins are very basic for the price (too high even compared to Alaska and many national parks in USA and Latin America)! The restaurant and cafe are also way over-priced. One advice is to bring your breakfast and snack supplies from Banff or Jasper. The extra cot for the kid was really uncomfortable.

    The location is the main strong point of this place. This is one of very few places to stay in between Jasper and Columbia Ice-field. Staying here allows you to explore the great wildlife and all the views of glaciers and mountains in this stretch of Icefield Parkway during 7am-11am time-slot when they are most beautiful. The staffs at the cafe, store and particularly at reception areas are very welcoming and have tons of useful local information about main sights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    The room was clean and in a fair size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very expensive!! We had dinner at jasper and breakfast in our room.

    The room was clean and in a fair size. The staff was great and friendly. Although we excepted bad WiFi it was ok after two days without one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    the girl at the reception was quick to organize a change of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    when we wanted to go to bed we discovered that our entire bed was full of black pet hair. we were told that the hotel is pet friendly and apparently the duvet and the decorative cushions were not changed after the previous person and his pet, so when they were put on the clean sheets, all of the hair fell on the clean sheets.. we complained at the reception

    the girl at the reception was quick to organize a change of all the bed sheets, she was super friendly and helpful and we got a free breakfast for the inconvenience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Travelling back in time of accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is over aged. The worsed, the small double beds, not queens as advertised. A super noisy ceiling fan in the bathroom and a sink forcet loosing the finish just rounds it up. Also they charged 3 month up front for the stay. Not cool.

    The staff tried really hard to make up for all the negatives.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    I loved style of this Lodge and the location in the middle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely loud fan in the bathroom, noise from other rooms, prices in the restaurant (both dinner and breakfast)

    I loved style of this Lodge and the location in the middle of nowhere, there is a nice walk to the falls, it was great to sit outside of the apartment and relax; rooms were very clean, staff was extremely helpful and smiling, food in the restaurant is very good but expensive, internet was working pretty well

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old fashioned, but comfy. Pretty expensive, but nice value.

    Beautiful location right by Sunwapta Falls and on Icefields Parkway. Comfy lodge-like rooms. Nice breakfast. Close to Jasper.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Handy overnight stop on the Icefields Parkway if travelling from Canmore to Jasper
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be useful to have some basic kitchen equipment in the room.

    The food in the restaurant was exceptional. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They made a point of explaining what to do and see in the area. It was a good overnight stop on the Icefields parkway from Canmore to Jasper

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.0
    A beautiful spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Units should be soundproofed. I had to wear ear plugs to bed to block next door occupants’ noise.

    Loved the lodge where we ate and the beautiful location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Cosy feel and great location on the way down the Icefields...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant on site seemed to be trying too hard to be fancy which I don't think suits the style of the property. The prices also seemed a bit much but having said that it was very nice food.

    Cosy feel and great location on the way down the Icefields Parkway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of tour buses rock up so we had a hectic breakfast experience but that's only due to the great location! Not all the rooms have the fires in we read about but we did get a good price for our room!

    Location is fab! A great stop along the icefields parkway with the added bonus of the waterfalls!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    A bit pricey, great location, but do book the restaurant in advance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too cramped and very hot, with a single noisy and inefficient fan. Bedding was blanket and covers, much less comfortable than a duvet.

    Lovely location and restaurant, well worth booking ahead to be sure you get a meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good one night stay at Sunwapta Falls Lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food at the restaurant was not really tasty.

    Staff was super nice and friendly. Location to Sunwapta Falls was ideal. Very quite and nice lodge. It was perfect to go enjoy the Falls before all the crowds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Ok room, but price too high for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is too high for what you get. The room is basic and looks old (though functional), yet we paid more than for any other B&B or guest house during our trip through BC and Alberta.

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was wifi in the room though that was not advertised. They said they don't mention it because the reception isn't excellent, but it seemed more than fine to us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    good location, good food, rooms could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room and the weather was unusually hot, and even though it was cold outside at night the room didn't cool down. Poor sound insulation from adjoining rooms. My wife found the hair dryer ineffective.

    Good location for exploring the many tourist attractions near Jasper. Excellent recommendations from the reception staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    It was in an excellent location by Sunwapna falls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit pricey but all the accommodation is pricey in the area.

    It was in an excellent location by Sunwapna falls. The reception staff (Andrea) was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us excellent travel advice. The restaurant had also excellent service and the meals were delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    The property is about 50 kms from Jasper .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall property needs a bit of tender, loving care.

    The property is about 50 kms from Jasper . On the one hand a bit of a round trip to get into town but on the other hand fairly quiet even though it is on the main road. I would think that their main customers are from coach tours doing a stop and shop during the day. Our cabin was OK but bed a bit hard and could do with some modernisation and updating. Dinner was pretty average. Having said that the staff are amazing, knowledgeable and go out of their way to be helpful. As our first night was cold and wet we asked for a fire in our room. The guy who came to do it was excellent even coming back later to see that it had caught and was still going. Also asked for a few extra things such as an electric kettle which he brought over promptly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Young couple, one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s was very expensive, especially considering no meals were included and it is 55km from Jasper town.

    Good location off the highway. Nice room and dinner at the on site restaurant was excellent. Staff were very helpful regarding check in snd info regarding the parkway route.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful location, fantastic restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We saw shocking cleaning practice, where the cleaner cleaned the waste bin with bare hands and then rinsed the drinking glasses without washing hands.

    Helpful staff, lovely location and very nice food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Close to the Falls and friendly service in a remote location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dated and needs a little work. Found some prior guests personal effects in the room, a little more attention to detail in the housekeeping department. Overall the room was Clean and Comfortable, no AC.

    Martin was our server, the Butternut squash soup was Amaze-Balls! the Roasted Chicken , tender seasoned well and the vegetables done, but not overdone. Spoke to the gift shop owner and her daughter, so friendly! Felt guilty not buying anything but we were on a motorcycle and had no room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast overpriced for what it was.

    Amazing location, between Jasper and Banff. Good sized rooms. Lovely member of staff checked us in and was really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    It is close to sunwapta falls and we saw a bear in the woods...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain in the shower was totally clogged.

    It is close to sunwapta falls and we saw a bear in the woods when we walked from the hotel to the waterfall!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Location as it is at mid point between Columbia Icefield and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not transparent about housekeeping. If towels are not replaced everyday, please let guests know so we can hang them up.

    Location as it is at mid point between Columbia Icefield and Jasper, excellent restaurant and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Cute little spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor tv signal and no wifi but to be expected

    Lovely and secluded, even spotted a bear from our deck one evening. Good facilities and very good breakfast. Very nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.2
    Outdated cabins in a good location for the parkway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cabins are extremely outdated. Bathroom borderline horrendous. I’d liken the rooms to a bad 1980s hostel. Definitely overpriced and you’re paying for location only. Kitchen (while appearing to be a full kitchen) has empty cupboards and can’t be used to cook yourself anything. While the restaurant on site was amazingly good, it was high end and a little pricey. There is little option for a cheaper alternate hot dinner (except a cold deli sandwich or a drive up to Jasper).

    A good place to stay if you’re exploring the parkway or falls. Restaurant on site is great - cosy with great food, wine and service with a large open fire place. Staff were helpful and there is free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Free parking, wifi, nice fireplace in the room, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking, wifi, nice fireplace in the room, very friendly staff. Girl from front desk told us everything about the resort and also what to see in neighbourhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    We were looking for somewhere to stay overnight near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whist a decent enough property this was the most expensive nightly rate we paid on a month trip to Canada. A remote location can be the only reason for this, Happy enough with the accommodation but certainly not the best of our trip

    We were looking for somewhere to stay overnight near the Icefield Parkway and this was ideal. There were also a number of things to see that were close to the property, including of course the Sunwapta falls. The room and bathroom were quite small but perfectly good for a single night. The only viable place to eat was the property itself. It looked OK but we had already had so many similar meals on a long trip we opted for a picnic on the balcony. Typical of the range of motel type accommodation in the region and has all you need for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    It was a long way further south of Jasper than we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos!

    It was a long way further south of Jasper than we had anticipated but lovely when we finally got there. Staff very helpful and the rooms in the cabins in the woods were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Overrated Accommodation near Jasper
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picked Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge for our stop-over from Banff to Jasper. Wish we could drive a little bit further.. This accommodation is overpriced. We know it is a summer holiday in one of the Canadian’s favorite national parks but around 250 CAD (incl. taxes) on average per room per night for a ‘2-star motel’ is just outrageous. The price was not an issue; it was the mismatched value that we received. Rooms were small and the facilities overall were disappointing. Staff themselves were fine but room-making policy was so bad (for example, no towel replacements and trash collection). We had high hope for the dinner but again, we were let down; some of the dishes were good but some were mediocre.

    Located near Sunwapta Falls. However, visitors are recommended to just pull your car over the car park in the attraction area (not the accommodation) and have a 5-minutes walk down to the first fall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay at Sunwapta Falls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to walk down a busy road to get to Sunwapta Falls. Can't hear the falls at night like they said you could.

    Loved the staff. They really pampered us. Loved having a fireplace in the room. They would light it for us at our request and kept us well stocked with wood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No means of boiling water for tea. Rooms very close together other families noise could be heard until late and early morning

    Beautiful surroundings warm and comfortable facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Ideal position which is what you are paying for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was very cramped, the walls are very thin and adjoined the staff recreation area, very noisy into the night. On arrival we were "pushed" into making a restaurant booking as we told it fills up fast, the prices were double to what we paid any where else and not particularly that good. One day our beds were not made up.

    Very friendly receptionists, location was ideal for touring Jasper and the National Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice place but worn out uncomfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was worn out and saggy. I had to hold on to the side of the bed to keep from rolling to the middle. The room was expensive because that was all there was close to the Icefield except at Lake Louise which was booked.

    Hotel was 1 km from Sunwapta Falls. Worth the drive or walk to see the falls. The people were very nice. The room was nice with a table & 2 chairs, one end table, closet cabinet, refrigerator, coffee maker, sink and fireplace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable cabins!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't realize the rooms where 1/2 cabins. Nice, but still a surprise.

    Helpful and friendly staff. They'll give you directions and tips to most of the highlights of the area along with a map to remind you. This is a grouping of cabins, not a traditional one bldg lodge. Very Charming!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    I had a lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lodge is really lovely, in total nature. The room was great with everything needed. The restaurant was really nice. The staff was kind and lovely. I just had a great time :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Traveled half the world , nowhere i had to pay for coffee at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traveled half the world , nowhere i had to pay for coffee at breafast , here i had to , charging for breakfast no problem but charging for coffee verrrry strange rule and over the top !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive! Restaurant very expensive. Had to get ice from front desk.

    Older facility, friendly staff, close to Jasper, but expensive for what you got.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Great stay for travelling the Icefields Parkway in two days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say

    The location is great, very comfortable rooms with a complimentary fireplace, fridge, great shower (good water pressure and warm), very comfortable beds, good restaurant at location for dinner, check-in was easy and there aas a parking space right next to our room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a bit outdated. Dinner overpriced, but located in the middle of nowhere. My Thai dinner was very good, my husband´s Beef Stroganoff was the strangest combination we have ever seen and swimming in olive oil.

    Location was excellent. Breakfast was good. Walking distance to the falls. Staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    A generally comfortable and pleasant place to stay with welcoming and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needed curtains , and was too bright in the evening and early morning. The noise level was sometimes intrusive. The breakfast menu was a little strange - not the usual cooked or continental choices. The food at dinner was a little disappointing, but the staff were quick to respond and did not charge for the offending dishes.

    The room was comfortable, clean, and spacious; the staff were very hospitable, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    3.8
    Wifi was extremely poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was extremely poor. Washroom was not clean. Bedroom carpet was not clean. TV reception was very poor. No phone in room.Room layout and size was not comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for an overnight stay exploring Jasper and Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant and in the shop is overpriced (you are in the middle of nowhere, though) and the rooms are quite dated.

    Perfect for an overnight stay exploring Jasper and Banff. Rooms are clean, confortable enough and the personal gives an excellent attention. The views are impressive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Good place to stay to visit Jasper Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We ate in the restaurant on the first night, this was expensive and odd and we didn't eat there again. Housekeeping was a bit hit and miss over the three nights our room was cleaned once although this wasn't a problem because we spent to so little time in the room. Beds were comfortable once you got over the hard edges.

    The front office staff were excellent, they gave us ideas about where to visit and what areas were open. They also helped us to book a couple of visits. The rooms were a good size with a small veranda to sit out on with a gin and tonic in the evening. Good location for exploring Jasper National Park without staying in Jasper.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: