Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Highway 93, Icefields Parkway, T0E 1E0 Jasper, Canada

#12 of 24 hotels in Jasper

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 959 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    6.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    9.6
    It was in an excellent location by Sunwapna falls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit pricey but all the accommodation is pricey in the area.

    It was in an excellent location by Sunwapna falls. The reception staff (Andrea) was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us excellent travel advice. The restaurant had also excellent service and the meals were delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.7
    The property is about 50 kms from Jasper .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The overall property needs a bit of tender, loving care.

    The property is about 50 kms from Jasper . On the one hand a bit of a round trip to get into town but on the other hand fairly quiet even though it is on the main road. I would think that their main customers are from coach tours doing a stop and shop during the day. Our cabin was OK but bed a bit hard and could do with some modernisation and updating. Dinner was pretty average. Having said that the staff are amazing, knowledgeable and go out of their way to be helpful. As our first night was cold and wet we asked for a fire in our room. The guy who came to do it was excellent even coming back later to see that it had caught and was still going. Also asked for a few extra things such as an electric kettle which he brought over promptly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.8
    Young couple, one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s was very expensive, especially considering no meals were included and it is 55km from Jasper town.

    Good location off the highway. Nice room and dinner at the on site restaurant was excellent. Staff were very helpful regarding check in snd info regarding the parkway route.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful location, fantastic restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We saw shocking cleaning practice, where the cleaner cleaned the waste bin with bare hands and then rinsed the drinking glasses without washing hands.

    Helpful staff, lovely location and very nice food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.1
    Close to the Falls and friendly service in a remote location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dated and needs a little work. Found some prior guests personal effects in the room, a little more attention to detail in the housekeeping department. Overall the room was Clean and Comfortable, no AC.

    Martin was our server, the Butternut squash soup was Amaze-Balls! the Roasted Chicken , tender seasoned well and the vegetables done, but not overdone. Spoke to the gift shop owner and her daughter, so friendly! Felt guilty not buying anything but we were on a motorcycle and had no room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast overpriced for what it was.

    Amazing location, between Jasper and Banff. Good sized rooms. Lovely member of staff checked us in and was really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    5.8
    It is close to sunwapta falls and we saw a bear in the woods...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The drain in the shower was totally clogged.

    It is close to sunwapta falls and we saw a bear in the woods when we walked from the hotel to the waterfall!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.3
    Location as it is at mid point between Columbia Icefield and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not transparent about housekeeping. If towels are not replaced everyday, please let guests know so we can hang them up.

    Location as it is at mid point between Columbia Icefield and Jasper, excellent restaurant and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    8.8
    Cute little spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor tv signal and no wifi but to be expected

    Lovely and secluded, even spotted a bear from our deck one evening. Good facilities and very good breakfast. Very nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    4.2
    Outdated cabins in a good location for the parkway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cabins are extremely outdated. Bathroom borderline horrendous. I’d liken the rooms to a bad 1980s hostel. Definitely overpriced and you’re paying for location only. Kitchen (while appearing to be a full kitchen) has empty cupboards and can’t be used to cook yourself anything. While the restaurant on site was amazingly good, it was high end and a little pricey. There is little option for a cheaper alternate hot dinner (except a cold deli sandwich or a drive up to Jasper).

    A good place to stay if you’re exploring the parkway or falls. Restaurant on site is great - cosy with great food, wine and service with a large open fire place. Staff were helpful and there is free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.9
    Free parking, wifi, nice fireplace in the room, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking, wifi, nice fireplace in the room, very friendly staff. Girl from front desk told us everything about the resort and also what to see in neighbourhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.5
    We were looking for somewhere to stay overnight near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whist a decent enough property this was the most expensive nightly rate we paid on a month trip to Canada. A remote location can be the only reason for this, Happy enough with the accommodation but certainly not the best of our trip

    We were looking for somewhere to stay overnight near the Icefield Parkway and this was ideal. There were also a number of things to see that were close to the property, including of course the Sunwapta falls. The room and bathroom were quite small but perfectly good for a single night. The only viable place to eat was the property itself. It looked OK but we had already had so many similar meals on a long trip we opted for a picnic on the balcony. Typical of the range of motel type accommodation in the region and has all you need for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.3
    It was a long way further south of Jasper than we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mosquitos!

    It was a long way further south of Jasper than we had anticipated but lovely when we finally got there. Staff very helpful and the rooms in the cabins in the woods were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    5.8
    Overrated Accommodation near Jasper
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Picked Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge for our stop-over from Banff to Jasper. Wish we could drive a little bit further.. This accommodation is overpriced. We know it is a summer holiday in one of the Canadian’s favorite national parks but around 250 CAD (incl. taxes) on average per room per night for a ‘2-star motel’ is just outrageous. The price was not an issue; it was the mismatched value that we received. Rooms were small and the facilities overall were disappointing. Staff themselves were fine but room-making policy was so bad (for example, no towel replacements and trash collection). We had high hope for the dinner but again, we were let down; some of the dishes were good but some were mediocre.

    Located near Sunwapta Falls. However, visitors are recommended to just pull your car over the car park in the attraction area (not the accommodation) and have a 5-minutes walk down to the first fall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay at Sunwapta Falls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to walk down a busy road to get to Sunwapta Falls. Can't hear the falls at night like they said you could.

    Loved the staff. They really pampered us. Loved having a fireplace in the room. They would light it for us at our request and kept us well stocked with wood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    7.1
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No means of boiling water for tea. Rooms very close together other families noise could be heard until late and early morning

    Beautiful surroundings warm and comfortable facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    7.1
    Ideal position which is what you are paying for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was very cramped, the walls are very thin and adjoined the staff recreation area, very noisy into the night. On arrival we were "pushed" into making a restaurant booking as we told it fills up fast, the prices were double to what we paid any where else and not particularly that good. One day our beds were not made up.

    Very friendly receptionists, location was ideal for touring Jasper and the National Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.1
    Nice place but worn out uncomfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was worn out and saggy. I had to hold on to the side of the bed to keep from rolling to the middle. The room was expensive because that was all there was close to the Icefield except at Lake Louise which was booked.

    Hotel was 1 km from Sunwapta Falls. Worth the drive or walk to see the falls. The people were very nice. The room was nice with a table & 2 chairs, one end table, closet cabinet, refrigerator, coffee maker, sink and fireplace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable cabins!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't realize the rooms where 1/2 cabins. Nice, but still a surprise.

    Helpful and friendly staff. They'll give you directions and tips to most of the highlights of the area along with a map to remind you. This is a grouping of cabins, not a traditional one bldg lodge. Very Charming!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    I had a lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lodge is really lovely, in total nature. The room was great with everything needed. The restaurant was really nice. The staff was kind and lovely. I just had a great time :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.1
    Traveled half the world , nowhere i had to pay for coffee at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Traveled half the world , nowhere i had to pay for coffee at breafast , here i had to , charging for breakfast no problem but charging for coffee verrrry strange rule and over the top !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    5.0
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too expensive! Restaurant very expensive. Had to get ice from front desk.

    Older facility, friendly staff, close to Jasper, but expensive for what you got.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Great stay for travelling the Icefields Parkway in two days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative to say

    The location is great, very comfortable rooms with a complimentary fireplace, fridge, great shower (good water pressure and warm), very comfortable beds, good restaurant at location for dinner, check-in was easy and there aas a parking space right next to our room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.5
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a bit outdated. Dinner overpriced, but located in the middle of nowhere. My Thai dinner was very good, my husband´s Beef Stroganoff was the strangest combination we have ever seen and swimming in olive oil.

    Location was excellent. Breakfast was good. Walking distance to the falls. Staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.2
    A generally comfortable and pleasant place to stay with welcoming and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needed curtains , and was too bright in the evening and early morning. The noise level was sometimes intrusive. The breakfast menu was a little strange - not the usual cooked or continental choices. The food at dinner was a little disappointing, but the staff were quick to respond and did not charge for the offending dishes.

    The room was comfortable, clean, and spacious; the staff were very hospitable, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    3.8
    Wifi was extremely poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was extremely poor. Washroom was not clean. Bedroom carpet was not clean. TV reception was very poor. No phone in room.Room layout and size was not comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for an overnight stay exploring Jasper and Banff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food in the restaurant and in the shop is overpriced (you are in the middle of nowhere, though) and the rooms are quite dated.

    Perfect for an overnight stay exploring Jasper and Banff. Rooms are clean, confortable enough and the personal gives an excellent attention. The views are impressive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    6.7
    Good place to stay to visit Jasper Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We ate in the restaurant on the first night, this was expensive and odd and we didn't eat there again. Housekeeping was a bit hit and miss over the three nights our room was cleaned once although this wasn't a problem because we spent to so little time in the room. Beds were comfortable once you got over the hard edges.

    The front office staff were excellent, they gave us ideas about where to visit and what areas were open. They also helped us to book a couple of visits. The rooms were a good size with a small veranda to sit out on with a gin and tonic in the evening. Good location for exploring Jasper National Park without staying in Jasper.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location on Icefield Parkway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet didn't flush very well. A little expensive.

    Excellent location on Icefield Parkway. Cabin room a little tired, but adequate. Food in restaurant good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.9
    I would recommend staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from neighbouring rooms, could hear talking.

    Perfect location, restaurant was very nice. Staff very helpful. Liked the board with recent wildlife sightings, not seen this at other accommodation on the trip, when wildlife sightings are a priority on the holiday this was a really good idea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.3
    A lovely overnight stay and dinner at the top of the Ice Parkway following a great day exploring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We would have liked to stayed longer in the Jasper area.

    The fireplace in our room! We were situated at the rear of the property away from the highway so it was very peaceful. The staff were very helpful with information about local sights. The young lady who checked us in was truly passionate about the local area and was obviously very familiar and able to impart a lot of information very effectively. The accommodation buildings where we stayed were cabins split into two units each with sitting area with stone fireplace , king bed and separate bathroom. The cabins are quite old , not large , but the fittings have been updated I would say in the last few years and were comfortable. The property has a nice restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too expensive, also not include breakfast. Wi-fi is too slow.

    Columbia glacier is very close, the cabin surrounding environment is good, morning outside the hut also to see the bear, it is so lucky. Very memorable accommodation experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.5
    Great location surrounded by nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very little choice of menu in restaurant and rather pricey - but other food options over half an hour away; fridge, kitchenette cupboards and sink in room but only coffee/tea facilities

    Friendly welcome from staff and throughout our stay, basic cabins but warm, clean and in the freezing rain we found them cosy (especially when staff light a fire in the cabin), close to Sunwapta Falls surrounded by trees in the middle of the park, easy to find half an hour outside of Jasper; we saw bears nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.5
    Great location for Sunwapta Falls, good dinner and a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only criticism is the cleanliness of our bathroom behind the door was dust and hair

    Location was perfect, staff were well good especially Amber she was a hoot and Lauren our server

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Convenience for travellers and access to Sunwapta Falls. Room was comfortable, and clean. Everything we needed, was available. Excellent meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    6.3
    - Staff at check-in and in the restaurant was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid almost 300 CAD per night and the comfort we experienced was definitely not matching that price. The room itself was clean but there was a strong smell of smoke and moisture. In addition, the cabins are badly soundproofed. You will hear everything your neighbor is doing. On top of that the furniture (incl. the bed) are outdated and saggy. Last but not least the temperature in the cabin was also an issue. Although, we turned on the heaters it was still very cold and therefore not very comfortable.

    - Staff at check-in and in the restaurant was really friendly and helpful - Restaurant for Dinner - Location in the middle of the nature and close to the falls

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing front of house staff, great customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cabin came with 2 medium size beds - we were a couple so would have been more comfortable having 1 larger bed instead.

    Amazing front of house staff, great customer service! Great location by the waterfall, good breakfast although quiet expensive. Good selection of craft beers :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    8.3
    Loved the fact we had a open fire in our room and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They need to provide plates and cutlery in the rooms. They have an on site restaurant which does excellent food but at a cost, as we were staying for four nights it would have been easier to eat in our rooms without spending too much money. The extractor fan in the bathroom is very loud, you could also hear your neighbours.

    Loved the fact we had a open fire in our room and the staff will light & provide logs free of charge anytime for you. And the mountain views were stunning. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the price, and with the cancellation policy your stuck with one night no matter what.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the room could be updated, the price should reflect the value received, not what the market will bare.

    The property is old, not updated, smelled like smoke. We were there one night on our way to Jasper. I would have been better off pushing the extra distance for a better hotel. The price gives the impression the property is a luxury lodge, not so much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is an older hotel but the rooms were nice. There is a greT porch in front of the rooms and we enjoyed sitting outside admiring the view. Sunwapta Falls were beautiful too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.9
    A 1 night stay in a cabin that was ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The priced for the food in the restaurant was high and there isn't a lot of options close by so you are stuck The cabin itself had 2 outlets so you had to take something out to plug something in Also the deck chairs we had to wash off before we could sit on them.

    The location to the falls and to Jasper was good.The cabins were fine for one night but I wouldn't have liked to stay there longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff (we arrived very late but still managed to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was quite short. Small bathroom.

    Friendly staff (we arrived very late but still managed to give us at least a soup and sandwich, despite the restaurant closing hours) Walking distance to Sunwampta Falls Nice private little hat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.7
    Over priced for the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 44a, was right next to the highway. Very dated and cheap. Did not even supply soap in the bathroom. I think hotels need to adjust their rates in accordance with the age of the properties maybe. Cars devalue with age. If we weren't so tired I would have by passed.

    For the price, we didn't like a lot. Staff at reception were friendly and showed us to our room. Restaurant staff were good also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.8
    Staff was exceptionally helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was exceptionally helpful. If we needed something, they wouldn't just point you in the direction, they got up and helped you get it. Food and sight seeing suggestions were spot on as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.1
    A pleasant stay, with adequate facilities and a comfortable bed for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The resort is a little "tired" (our rooms) and could do with a bit of a refresh. There was no option for cooling our room and it was quite warm while we were there. I understand it is predominantly a winter resort and is mostly cool, however there is the need for an option when the days are warmer. We did open the window but had to close it due to the noise from the guests on the balcony of the room beside us.

    The hotel is set in a charming village, which at this time of year was very quiet. The drive to the resort was scenic but takes about 25 mins. The bed was comfortable and room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, true mountain getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I mean, the wifi could be better for the times I'm travelling and I have to work. But it honestly wasn't an issue for this trip in particular. The TV channels were super grainy and hard to watch, but again, that isn't what I was travelling for. I really enjoyed my stay.

    I can't believe I didn't know this place existed until this trip. I will honestly never opt to stay in Jasper again unless this spot isn't available! So quaint, cozy, and quiet. I love how secluded it is! (Be warned, there's no cell service, and the wifi is weak AF, but honestly, that's what I think a mountain getaway should be all about!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The other positive reviews are a fair reflection. Its basic (which seems harsh) but its great. Comfortable and quiet rooms with everything you need. The shop and restaurant are great. Its located just off the icefields parkway and a very easy access to Sunwapta falls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    great location in the middle of nowhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location in the middle of nowhere. Very friendly staff going out of there way to make you feel comfortable. Too bad I only had one night. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing experience - the staff make this the place to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing experience - the staff make this the place to stay in the Jasper area. Remote location is perfect for a true getaway. Matthew, Janessa, Jessa, Touca and Catherine made us feel welcome always. Highly recommend. Room was a pleasant surprise and clean and functional. Not the Hyatt but that is not why you book here. Come for the food, location close to a great hiking trail and falls and of course the customer service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.6
    We loved the experience and are glad we stayed here rather than in actual Jasper.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattresses could use an upgrade and the restaurant was a bit pricey, but you are pretty much in the middle of the rocky mountains so I'm sure having anything delivered there isn't cheap.

    Location was awesome. The staff was very helpful and loved our dog. They recommended a few great local hikes and sights. They even brought us a microwave to reheat our left over pizza from the drive up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    9.2
    Personal is lovely, very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is not good - eat somewhere else! However dinner in the same restaurant was fine.

    Personal is lovely, very helpful. We got a room with a fire place on request at the spot - at no extra cost. Location is great (tons of options for hiking), will definitely stay again when in Jasper. Recommended!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful place with friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities in the room were dated and not super comfortable. The bathroom ventilation was so noisy that we preferred using flashlight at night ( The ventilation worked together with the light ).

    The front desk service was excellent. Location was quiet yet very close to the main road. The vicinity of Sunwapta Falls was an addition bonus. There is very nice restaurant on the premises also with an excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Log fire in our cabin made for a cozy romantic atmosphere. Staff well informed and very enthusiastic about their environment. The manager was leading from the front and was a great motivator, we could see that in action, a very happy crew.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    10
    The best place to stay in Jasper National Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    The best place to stay in Jasper National Park. The staffs were very friendly and we'd to recommend to everyone who wants to visit here for hiking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    Log cabin heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe I am easy to please, I certainly review as I find. I don’t have any negative critic, it’s all good

    What’s not to like. It looked like a wooden cabin had a small veranda and a log fire inside was just amazing, the beautiful Swampta Falls was a short walk up the side road. The gift shop was lovely to look round. We had already eaten so didn’t try out the restaurant, but it was busy so I guess it was good. Excellent position on the side of the Parkway but not noisy. No kettle (oh us brits we love our tea)but one given on request. We spend a warm cozy night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    8.8
    Great spot between Banff and Jasper, especially if the drive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is a tad bit old and the satellite internet is not super reliable. As such, you should expect this to be a disconnected stay.

    Great spot between Banff and Jasper, especially if the drive into Jasper is just a tad bit too far. Also you can stop at a bunch of cool places before getting to Jasper the next day. The dinner at the restaurant was amazing. I had extremely low expectations going in due to the monopolistic nature of the location, but the chef for dinner puts in the work and the food/service was great - on par with Fairmont Lake Louise's Walliser Stube (different cuisine).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    8.8
    very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like in many other canadian accommodations you hear a lot from your neighbors.

    very good place if you don`t want to stay in banff or jasper, it is located right on the highway, but in the cottage you get no disturbance from traffic. 10 minutes walk to hiking trails.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    7.1
    Good place with bad internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi, wifi, wifi. The first room barely has wifi signal, then I asked to change to another room which right beside the main building, but the wifi was still unstable. And remember there's no phone signal in that area. So if you really need internet connection, I would suggest to find another place to stay.

    Always likes this kind of hotel, wooden houses. The staff is very nice, and there's a map right in front of the reception with pins of the animals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    10
    Amazing views, friendly staff, private fireplace cabins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can think of.

    This was such a great find. The individual cabins were comfortable and had their own fireplace! It snowed the day we got there, first snow of the year, so it was so fun to have the staff come and get the fire going! Great restaurant, everyone was very nice. Sunwapta falls were very close and beautiful. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite pricey for a large but quite old-fashioned room

    The staff was really friendly, attentive and helpful! On special request a microwave was provided and the fireplace, which we had in our room, was heated up (free of charge). The hotel is only few minutes away from the Sunwapta Falls!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    10
    Incredibly friendly staff, fantastic restaurant, and cozy atmosphere in Canada's Jasper Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed overnight on the way from Jasper. We were caught in a snowstorm and were so surprised at the wonderful staff, gourmet dinner and actual wood-burning fire in our room that was prepared by a staff member. In a country of friendly people, this place really stood out. The staff was incredibly happy to be there and were willing to make our stay so pleasant and memorable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    7.5
    Good place to stop for a one night stay, convenient as half way down through the parks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the sink being in the main area, would have preferred it all in with the shower and toilet.

    Excellent restaurant, very helpful staff, basic motel type accommodation, washroom area could do with updating. Expensive for what it was, but prices in the park are high.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    9.6
    A peaceful stay, despite the touristy first impression.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In this day and age it was strange not to use our smartphones (even for weather or to check in with family,) but the wifi signal was very weak. We were told that it was because of the mountains, so I can't complain. It seemed unusual to walk through the souvenirs to the nice dining room, bit it turned out that there were many good choices, and friendly clerks.

    We had a sweet cabin among the trees, not far from the lodge, and dining room. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful, and seemed to care about the guests. The food choices, presentation and taste were excellent. The staff was eager to suggest and discuss outings, including the nearby Sunwapta Falls.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    10
    The staff was thorough and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Deli food was a bit pricy for what you could get!

    The staff was thorough and friendly! They gave wonderful advice on hikes to see! The fireplace was wonderful to have. It was an easy walk to the falls!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    4.6
    Over-priced, worn out facility, depressing rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very rustic, run-down room, with broken fixtures. Room didn't warm up for an hour after arrival. Had to call staff to start a fire in the fireplace. Cramped bathroom, badly in need of renovation.

    Staff friendly and dinner in lodge dining room was delicious. Gift shop also had good selection and sale prices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    8.8
    The food at the restaurant was delicious but obviously very pricey because you are in a remote place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The extractor fan in the bathroom was very noisy & the bath plug didn't fit. One of those gas heaters, that look like a fire, would have been very nice.

    We loved the location & we really appreciated the complimentary champagne because we were celebrating our 40th anniversary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    7.1
    The reception staff could not have been more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff could not have been more helpful. They went the extra mile to help us get reservations for the local excursions we had organised through Trailfinders in the UK but needed help to ensure the vouchers could be recognised on the local agents system. Not a straightforward process, thank you once again Sunwapta Falls staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in the heart of Jasper National Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny shower room. For somewhere remote without other options, breakfast or fresh bread and milk would have made a huge difference

    Friendly staff on reception, room was clean and comfortable. Location is perfect for jasper and banff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    8.8
    Very happy guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet service is very poor. The signal is very weak in our cabin, and we need to walk close to the office before it will work.

    The staff and manager are very helpful, and address our concerns in a very professional way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    9.6
    Do yourself a favour and stay here ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay at Sunwapta Falls was one of the best of our stay in Canada this Summer. We were checked in by Lorna who was absolutely amazing. She went through the check-in procedure and asked us what we were interested in, and then proceeded to tell us about all the various options for sightseeing in the local area. She then walked us to our room to show us the facilities and even had a kettle brought over as we don't drink coffee. Had we wanted one, she would also have provided a microwave!! Our cottage was exceptionally comfortable with a small balcony surrounded by trees, and I think that I had the best night's sleep of our whole trip here. We had a wonderful meal in their restaurant that night, and a great breakfast the following morning. The staff in the restaurant were polite and accommodating, and we were a little sad to have only booked for the one night. There is also a shop on site here where you get 10% discount if you're a guest at the hotel. I would definitely stay here again, and can recommend it for future travellers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    8.0
    The mountains and surrounds were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We made reservations for 4 nights of a 30 day vacation. But we only needed 2 or 3 here. Their weren't as many hiking trails there as we thought. We drove to several.

    The food was great! It snowed up on top of the mountains and was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.2
    Food was very good and dining room staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was terrible. Two of us waited in line for over 10 minutes while the woman behind the desk talked to a potential customer on the phone about weather, bears, etc.

    Food was very good and dining room staff was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    My perfect go to place in Jasper!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were absolutely amazing!!!! The service was phenomenal- they actually remembered me from my last trip. I felt like I was a VIP. The food was great - wish I could go there more often.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    10
    The stay was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There could have been more parking available but the location is remote and doesn't allow much parking space.

    The hike to sunwapta falls was beautiful and very close. The staff was incredibly friendly and the location was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    8.3
    Good location in Jasper NP, close by Sunwapta Falls and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a bit far from the hotel room. A bit pricey for what it offers.

    Good location in Jasper NP, close by Sunwapta Falls and Athabasca Falls. Nearby shop and restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: