Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Super 8 by Wyndham St Johns 2.5 stars

175 Higgins Line, A1B 4N4 St. John's, Canada

#14 of 24 hotels in St. John's

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 553 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Even though the weather did not cooperate, the people were great and we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait for a table for breakfast 2 out of the 3 mornings we were there.

    We were very comfortable at the Super 8. The breakfast was good and Loretta was amazing at keeping the breakfast stocked and the tables clean. The location was good for site seeing in St. John's and also convenient to the airport to fly home.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.6
    Overall not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - 2nd floor was noisy at 22:30 due to dozens of kids with their parents for a birthday celebration on saturday. Adults were noisy as well. Called the front desk to complain, got an embarassing answer like "they are kids... they'll stop soon..." or something like this. They were quite only after 23:30. - The room phone was unable to make calls directly to the front desk: we had to use our personal phone for the above mentioned complain. - We've got two key cards. Only one was working. Asked to fix it: didn't work. Asked to replace it: didn't work either. We kept using the second one all the time. - No heat in the bathroom - No extra plugs on one side of the bed - Swimming pool at the second floor wasn't as per website description: it's mostly suitable for kids, since the water depth is only 30 cm on one side and about 1m in the deepest side. Also, the website shows a fountain in the center which wasn't actually there at all. Hot tub had a perfect temperature, but air bubbles did not work well: very low pressure and no comfortable water massage. - no towels available in the swimming pool. Had to bring our towels from the room... - No clocks in the swimming pool to be aware of the time - Noisy guests early in the morning leaving the rooms - Housekeeping knocking insistently at our door at 8:30 am while we were still sleeping. We opened the door to ask to come back later: check out was at 11 am but the housekeeper didn't know. - Breakfast: not excellent but it was okay. The coffee dispenser had only a "full cup" option. If you want to fill a half cup, forget it... you gonna spill cofee all over the place (like it happened to one guest in front of us) - When we checked out they didn't ask us how was our stayment and if everything was okay: we would have explained all this rather than write it down in this page. Hope you guys use this review for future improvements of your Hotel. Thank you.

    What we liked: - Soaps dispenser in the washroom - Cleanliness - King size bed - Heat system in the room - Parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.5
    Awesome!! It was a great way to spend our Anniversary and we look forward to it again next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast, when we arrived there was one egg left and it was rubbery and disgusting, the pancakes were also very rubbery and stuck to the plate. Would preferred some croissants, muffins, or something a little different. The lady that was putting the dishes out and taking care of everything, looked very cranky and unapproachable, like she did not like her job at all. It took her almost 20 min from the time we got there and left to bring out a few eggs. The fruit was delicious and this did not ruin my experience at all.

    The extra pillows:) I love the staff at the front desk and the cleaning staff who you pass with a smile. the place is clean, smells great and it was just what we wanted to celebrate our 22 Wedding Anniversary. I would recommend the room with the jacuzzi to anyone. Loved it!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Very comfortable beds and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool never had any towels. The staff were not overly friendly but not rude. The breakfast included was not good, no meat, potatoes or eggs.

    Very comfortable beds and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Our room key did not work many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room key did not work many times. Got to dining room for breakfast at 9:30. nothing left. The toast & cereal were replaced when we got in. There was at least one bus full of athletes & one person working the dining room. We found this to be very poor on managements part. She did do a fine job of keeping up with the demand there but one person on on a very busy Sunday morning ... REALLY! And she was still friendly & happy. Don't know her name, i wish I did. Staff are very good & friendly but how long can they keep up being so friendly being overworked! We have stayed here before, may try it once more ... maybe!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    liked the room size and the beds were very comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like that the price advertised did not include pet rate and extra taxes it was advertised as 248 but we ended up paying 329.

    liked the room size and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointed , but least the beds are very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. All of the floors crack and creak , you can hear everyone on every floor walking . Not much sound proofing. Had no hot water for hours, the vent in the bathroom banged all night from something blowing in the wind. Was not worth the money

    Staff was extremely friendly, tried to help where applicable . Beds are comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was smaller than I thought would be, but there was a hot tub.

    Everything was great. No complaints. Get up early if you want best breakfast.. We we were upgraded to a bigger room with a . Jacuzzi and king bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Ok but most likely won't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing with no bacon or sausage or bagels. Also having kids running around knocking on doors and running around was not fun. Also you should have people checking in the pool area every once in awhile as people don't always follow the rules.

    The staff were amazingly helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Awesome family spot for a weekend night or two away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were excellent - friendly and accommodating. We brought our two kids and puppy. Kids spent most of the time in the pool and we all had a great time. Breakfast station was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and clean hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were very heavy but not hard and I like a hard pillow. Next time I'll have to bring my own. Also the curtains couldn't close and I couldn't darken the room for sleeping.

    Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Everything is always great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. We have been staying every couple months for the last 3 years☺

    We love going for a little get away wknd. Always clean and staff are the best and always very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    3.3
    Our overall experience was not acceptable for thw money we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 305 on night stated above there was a dog in the room across the hall that barked all night. The people above us were very loud all night very noisy hotel at the time did not get any rest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Was close to the Janeway we were traveling for a Doctors appointment
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in a room next to some loud people and loud people above me was after 2:30 am before it got quite. Should of called the front desk to complain but didn’t want to end up moving rooms in the middle of the night.

    Pool was great my daughter loved it especially the whirlpool. She also loves the pancake machine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    3.8
    Swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was snowing, property not cleared, went to check in around 430 had to wait at desk because no one was there. The beds were very uncomfortable, the rooms were not worth the money. The total of rooms said 338$ online but we were charged 416$. Def will not recommend the hotel and will never stay there again.

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful!!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More towels is my only suggestion. They did have the standard number but when you are travelling with kids extra towels in the room would be a bonus... although staff were VERY quick to bring them when we requested them.

    Great family friendly hotel, we were in town for a day surgery for our son and the pool provided great fun the night before so we could all relax. The room was clean and comfortable for us to rest up before heading home the day after surgery.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast could have had a little more variety, but for a...
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool towels could be a little bigger, would use only one, instead of 2 or 3

    Breakfast could have had a little more variety, but for a free breakfast it was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Would have liked it if the pool was open till 11:00.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked it if the pool was open till 11:00.had a long busy day didn't get back to the hotel till 10:00 Would have been nice to relax for a hour before bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    5.4
    Certainly wont be staying again if anywhere else is available
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coverings on the windows did not close properly, as it was on the 1st floor little privacy. Heating didn't work in the room. Fortunately one of the young girls on the desk managed to get that working. Room was cold on arrival. Breakfast was very limited, and I arrived early to ensure there was plenty of choice

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    My room was very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very comfortable and clean. The bed was comfortable and it was nice that they had extra blankets there in the room if needed. There was coffee set up downstairs and the staff was very friendly..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Can't wait to come back.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sometimes if you have someone above you it can get noisy if they are heavy footed.

    Beautiful room and the staff could not have been friendlier. Really thought the parking spot for veterans was an awesome idea seeing I am a 30 year veteran myself.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    We enjoyed it very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was great. The bed was very comfy. The pool was extra fun. The staff were great and easy to talk to. As a single mom of two daughters, we thought this experience was great. My daughter requested a hotel stay and swim for her 16th birthday. We will gladly stay again, hopefully for longer this time 😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    3.8
    It was ok but it could have been cleaner
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have saved money if we called the hotel directly , by booking through bookings.com we could not get our government discount

    Breakfast was fine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Will stay again and recommend to others
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is a bit sketchy on times. Would recommend NOT keeping peeled, boiled, eggs in water -- very rubbery and mildly disusting.

    business suite was awesome! lots of room, good set-up, comfy couch. Bed was very comfortable as well. Nice variety at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    The staff was friendly, the room was clean and comfortable...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor lighting in the room,I prefer more light.

    The staff was friendly, the room was clean and comfortable although the lighting wasn't great. The breakfast had a large variety and was really good. I enjoyed my stay and will visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Would recommend every Canadian visit St. John's. So much history. Everyone is friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was told that someone would help with check in, when in reality there was not someone who could help. We worked at it together, but there was some stressful moments.

    Bed was comfy. enjoyed the separate bedroom set up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Close to Airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Hot Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains didn't close for complete privacy (first floor room and hotel parking right in front of window!).

    Great location ... easy access and close to Airport! Hot tub was lovely ... pancakes for breakfast were a treat! :) (Tim's right across the street!)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic time. Quiet and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t ready when we arrived, even though we arrived after the check in time.

    Continental breakfast was excellent as well as our king size bed and hot tub. 😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    just nice stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The housekeeper in the hotel was very professional and always cleaning the room in excellent way.. for this reason particularly my stay in that hotel was wonderful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Great staff and nice facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst bed (king size) I have ever slept on. Room 211 I believe. Mattress slanted and needed to be turned or rotated. Wrestled with it all night and finally gave up at 4:30AM and left the hotel to get back on the road to travel....

    Great staff and nice facility

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, friendly staff
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weirdest window coverings I ever seen, black out portion could not be completely closed leaving half the window with only a shear and the room lit up as soon as the sun rises. Not good when trying to rest

    Excellent location, staff were friendly, clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Would try the facility again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband has special needs and the shower was challenging to say the least. With the help of the staff we came up with a fairly good solution but there needs to be a lip on the shower stall to prevent the water from going over the floor. My husband slipped at one point but I was able to prevent him from falling. This could be a disaster to anyone.

    The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable. The food was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Ok
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv and tempture

    There was a big Rat out side the hotel running in and out from underneath it when the front desk was told .they didn't say much but weren't surprised earthier so I fought little will be done about it . In my opinion. And you couldn't get any were ner the breakfast in the morning couse of kids staying hotel and it went from 6to 10 maybe they should extend it to longer hours so u have a chance to use the offer of breakfest

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Needs to be updated . Decor is dated and drab..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was dangerous . Floor was wet always and slippy. The hot but was cold.

    The time of the breakfast. The laundry facilities. The vending machines.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Didn't have any meals at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were great , big & roomy very clean .. staff was very friendly .. just found the rooms were very noisy .. you could hear every sound above you ... I love pets but don't think it's necessary to have them in a hotel ... the dogs barking at 8 in the morning was annoying ..... also who knows what germs they're bringing in ....

    Didn't have any meals at the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    The pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool. Water slide is great for kids but the pool is too small and really only useful for children. For adults there is nowhere to swim comfortably.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pancake machine was not very good(similar to plastic cakes). Similar type of machine for waffles seam to produce a much better result.

    The air conditioner was very effective and easy to opperate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Overall the family had a good stay, but we'll probably try a different hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was NOT a swimming pool, basically just a place to slide into from the water slide. Breakfast was disappointing, buffet style with little hot options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are not as warm as other hotels I've stayed (other than one guy), good services but they just seem serious and cool.

    I stayed in Comfort Inn for my first few nights, then moved to Super 8 for my last few nights to join my family who arrived here later, Super 8 is a lot nicer, newer hotel. It's clean, room was spacious, had my own living room, bed was comforty. Good location, it's not at downtown but closed enough to many things since St. John's is not big city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.7
    See above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above comments.

    The swimming pool and waterslide were greatly appreciated by our granddaughter. The breakfast was good with reasonable choices. We stayed two nights at the beginning of our holidays and anther 2 days at the end - at both times and in separate rooms there is a very strong musty/moldy and unpleasant smell in the bathroom. I kept the fan on at all times but this helped only slightly. Other than this our stay was enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable stay in St. John's Super 8, lots of attractions - historical and current.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to do with the hotel, but noisy children above us running the hallway, and up at 6:30 a.m. running around the room above us.

    Ease of registration, staff friendly and professional, room very clean, linens and towels very nice as well, good location - just off highway, close to shopping, bank, attractions. Good breakfast with nice selection of items.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Everything fits
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easy parking, basically everything was ok, except the room was too small for our group. This is not really their fault. The place where we had booked had apparently double-booked and this location was found as alternative by booking.com, so is was not my prime choice for our group, but it was a dry place with a roof over our heads in a situation like this.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel and very friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The pool looked off when we arrived, and we found out it was closed. It opened very shortly thereafter, but the chlorine smell was overwhelming. People who had been in the pool, then used the elevator left a very strong smell of chlorine in their wake. So we declined to use the pool. I know they didn't drain it, so they must have just added very strong chemicals.

    The rooms were great, the breakfast as well, and the staff was very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    It was as we expected it too be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was as we expected so we were very happy with our stay

    It was as we expected it too be. It is comforting to be able to rely on the expected standard and find it to be the case when booking online

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Queen room with sofa bed was great for our family and the...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok, nothing special but ok. Would have liked to see some muffins in the offerings but no such luck. Pancake machine was convenient but the pancake texture was a little chewy. The pool was fun but very unsafe, parents really NEED to monitor your children and tell them to move away from the slide output... seen many many collisions and parents never looked up from their phones!! My 8 yr daughter almost got badly hurt because some kids kept getting in the way of the slide out put... major bruises but thankfully nothing worse. There is no lifeguard so PLEASE WATCH YOUR KIDS!!!

    Queen room with sofa bed was great for our family and the fact that our pet was welcome was wonderful. The pool was a major reason of booking this place and my daughter really loved the waterslide. I loved the hot tub :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable and spacious suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked through Booking.com. No sign of reservation when i got there, even with confirmation code. Luckily enough, I managed to get the same exact room for exact dates. I am thinking it was my reservation anyway, but did not understand why nothing showed on their system.

    Wifi was great. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.4
    I'd stay somewhere else at the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon checkin I was told the Booking.com rate only applied for our first of 4 nights, then it went up by $20/night. Free breakfast was a poor experience more because of the people who were in this large area that seemed more like a communal hall than a dining area. I have travelled a lot and this is my first bad review of a complimentary breakfast. People were barefoot, sneezing on the food. Bad! After that experience, I knew not to even consider going to the pool for a swim.

    The front desk were very accommodating to fixing the room charges. I still don't think the place was worth $139/night The room had all the amenities I needed: fridge, microwave and hair dryer

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Had a good complimentary breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool - you really had to watch older kids and adults using the slide and younger childen swimming in the pool to avoid accidents.

    Had a good complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    The multitude of breakfast options with fresh fruit and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leak in my first room, constant issues issues with getting into my room with key. Thanks

    The multitude of breakfast options with fresh fruit and always stocked. :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    The staff were very accommodating .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very accommodating ... had maps at the front desk to draw out routes to the different places you were wanting to go to. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We rented a movie and I couldn't figure out how to set up the VCR ... one call and someone from the front desk came up and we were enjoying our popcorn and the movie.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Convienent Location, Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water slide fed directly into the pool. Not much room for swimming. Breakfast was complimentary not continental. Not much selection.

    The rooms were good, nice layout. Bed was comfy. The pool had a toddler area which was great for our son. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish the smoking area was not so close to the front door. It was not terrible, but bothersome.

    Not hard to find using the GPS, located about a 7-10 minute drive from downtown. It was quiet, even though you could hear planes from the nearby airport when you stood outside. The furnishing and decor are what you expect. Breakfast is a bit of a carb fest, but the breads were fresh as were the fruit. Being coffee snobs, we carry packets of Starbucks Via to spruce up the coffee and more to our liking. The woman who supplies the breakfast area was great, especially in light of the loads of young people when we stayed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    I would stay there again if I had the opportunity to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything we needed was available. I can't complain.

    It was clean, quiet and filled our need for the last night on a wonderful time in Newfoundland. It was also close to the airport. Because we had a car, we were able to meet a relative downtown for dinner. We really did like our stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Bed and pillows were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool looks a little old school. It could use some updated brighter paint and lighting. The water slide was fun though. Hot tub was warm rather than hot.

    Bed and pillows were comfortable. Waterslide was good fun for the kids and parents!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel, unfortunate experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Hot Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was at 3 we showed up at 4 but our room wasn't ready. Parking was minimal as hotel was full. Fire alarm went off at 9:30 pm waking my 3 month old who didn't go back to sleep until 1 although it wasn't the hotels fault there was no mention of it on check out. Even an apology for the inconvenience of the fire alarm would have been a nice guesture.

    Big room for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    A great place to saty.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather, but I can't hold you responsible for that.

    The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. I think they are your best asset. The breakfast included in the price is great too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.7
    Room was a good size and beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overwhelming smell of chemical cleaning supplies in common areas... I wouldn't eat anything at the breakfast options....something made me very ill.

    Room was a good size and beds were comfortable. Liked that the window could open because otherwise the room would be too stuffy. Shower was good as well. Good location for shopping areas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV could have been brighter, it was dark.

    Great place to stay, super rooms, convenient location, great people, good rates, a pool & they even provide breakfast! What more is there to say? This was our second time staying at Super 8 St. John's and will be staying there many more times in the future.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    The property was located near the place I needed to go.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't good. The eggs were way over done and like rubber because they were sitting in hot water without their shell.

    The property was located near the place I needed to go. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Loved the extra pillows.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Great affordable family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't swim in the pool its only big and deep enough for the people using the water slide and the kids using the splash pad

    Great value for the price....not a fancy hotel but was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also nothing fancy but lots of variety in an easy to access location. We would definitely go back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Another great stay at Super 8
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather was not great but unfortunately no one can change that.

    The location is great, the staff friendly and the place is clean and QUIET. I will always stay there when visiting St. John's.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Excellent,quiet & comfortable.Would stay there again.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    As mentioned,lack of gf free food.Maybe it's available ?????

    Great location.Close to all amenities including the main hospital.Food selection was great for regular people but didn't see anything there for someone with celiac disease ( gluten free ).Not a big problem as we always have our own gf food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.9
    It was surprising pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one problem we were to be moved to a room which could service a cot but there was a mistake made and we couldn't get a cot. But overall it was great!

    The breakfast was wonderful. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    The staff is always friendly and courteous.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the second time that we had trouble with the heat/thermostat in our room. Had to get maintenance to come each time to have heat.

    The staff is always friendly and courteous. Whatever we need, if they can, they will do it or get it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    4.6
    not very impressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hair in the shower. the bathroom was very tiny. there was barely enough room to close the door. front desk was not aware of my reservation which was made march 23 for may 1. i had to produce the actual e-mail of my reservation..screen shot of confirmation and PIN was not sufficient. i was made to feel like i just showed up without a reservation. only after i produced the e-mail did the staff show any friendliness. i felt very embarrassed.

    my room was close to the elevator

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    5.0
    The staff tried to make the situation better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they didn't have a new room ready for us to move to when we got back to the hotel. We had to wait till they found one with heat. Then we had to pack our stuff and we got sleep at 2:00am only to have to get up at 4:00to catch our plane

    The staff tried to make the situation better. Since the stirm was out of their control

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    Can't wait to return for another visit!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor variety for breakfast. HATE the location of parking entrance.... not well located in regards to the busy intersection very close

    LOVED the pool and hot tub.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    5.4
    A very cold night
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat did not work night manger did not know how to fix it. I finally got it working about 5:30 am after arriving around 2:30am. Temperature was 16 degrees when we arrived in room my wife slept in her cloths no heat in living room or bathroom. The day staff graves us a discount big wow they should have did better than that

    Day staff were a good help

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    5.4
    Rooms were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time staying there an again I got no sleep because of others. People on the floor above us using their jacuzzi until 530am an put room was vibrating from their jets. Ridiculous

    Rooms were nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Comfort inn at the super 8.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the pool. The swimming area isn't big enough. The kids coming from the slide going into the pool were constant danger to those kids on the pool at the bottom.

    Friendly and welcoming staff. They seemed to want to help you to make your stay the most positive experience.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    8.3
    Great value for a comfortable stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connection was poor. We kept getting disconnected.

    Great value for a comfortable stay. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is a bonus and greatly appreciated, especially when travelling early mornings.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    4.6
    Dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Hot Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is not one you can swim in it only goes up to your hips and thats by the slide. The hot tub was full of children under the age of 6 splashing around while their parents sat and talked. I swear there was a herd of elephants in the room next to us who continuously ran up and down the hall. The muffins at breakfast were hard as rocks. The pankcakes were good though. There were seed like particles in our bed and there was about an inch of dust on the headboard and the bathroom was full of grime on the baseboards. The room could really use a bit of paint. And a good dusting. Staff were super friendly.

    Bed was good....the 2nd night. The first night there were seeds in the bed clearly it wasnt changed from the last person

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.6
    The pool was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door would not lock and the pool area is in need of an update. Breakfast menu could have a little more on it. The pillows were way to thick.

    The pool was ok. The service was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.2
    Great nights sleep after traveling on plane all day !
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great nights sleep after traveling on plane all day !!! And the front desk gave us an extra hour before checkout since we didn't arrive there until 3 am which was much appreciated 😊

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have expected mugs not paper cups. There was not enough sugar or whitener per pack. When I booked the room it was for two adults and a teenager. For some reason the room only had two chairs at the table. You could clearly hear what the room next to us was saying so we had to keep the tv on or listen to there conversation.

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: