Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Juniper Hotel & Bistro 3 stars

1 Juniper Way and Mount Norquay Road Box 3449, T1L 1E1 Banff, Canada

#12 of 46 hotels in Banff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 580 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didn't get to stay longer.

    With the town of Banff being under construction (in many places). And parking at an all time low. The Juniper was heaven.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know Banff is going to have inflated pricing but for $300+ a night I really expected the suite to be better equipped. No fridge, no space to get ready beside a little rim by the bathroom sink, and the shower was very old and basic. The in-room setup was no better than a Motel 6, definitely needs a renovation.

    The hot tub was really nice and the bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothings.

    The hotel was just outside of Banff but close enough to Banff and the highway. Great view of the Banff Springs hotel with snow capped mountains in the background.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report.

    The location, views from the rooms and restaurant, and the quality of the food are outstanding. Food was so good for breakfast we also ate there for dinner and had one of our best meals in Canada. Exceptional! I will definitely stay here again if I come back to Banff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound proofing of rooms, I can hear other guests walking on hallway and closing/opening doors as well as voices outside balcony. Breakfast menu limited and on the pricey side.

    Good location with scenic views. Room and bathroom was clean. Good breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed that the hot tub was not working and there was no communication prior to our arrival.

    Room was a good size and the tub/shower was very good. It was nice to see the deer walking around the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would’ve liked to have a Bbq there as there is a hot tub, you can have a fire and a ice machine. That would’ve made our stay unreal!!

    Loved the hotel, great location, friendly staff and would come back to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator, not handy if you have infants and luggage Restaurant only serves pricy chic breakfast (15 dollar ex per dish ), no basic / budget option close by The beds in the rooms with double beds are quite small, fitting in two adults in one bed is a challenge

    Nice view from the restaurant, located in nature. Nice rooms with all the essentials you will need Kind and helpful staff Free parking lot in front of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded and the room was big enough we had 3 week old baby with us so a cot was provided too. Ground floor was great walked out in the morning to deer on the grass how perfect!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noise from upstairs guest might due to its structure limitation, but it’s not that annoyed

    free parking, the view, you should try their bistro even breakfast is not included, it’s truly tasteful, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff all over halls like cleaning equipment all day everyday. No elevator. Resurant was way over priced and not a great selection.

    Amazing view and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is shaky when your partner moves. Our view wasn't on the lake, wasn't as expected. I chose this hotel mainly because they rent bicycle, however, though the weather was great and sunny, I've told that it's not the season yet. Apr 26

    The staff were super nice, and the food was awesome but pricey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We love everything about this property especially the view and the staff. The breakfast is the best I have ever had at a hotel. Will only stay here when in Banff again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a better view from the room last time we stayed. Also, the bathroom was cleaner first time we stayed here.

    This is our second time at the Juniper. I love this location, just outside the city, with a beautiful view off the mountains and surrounded with trees. The outside hot tub at night will melt away all the aches from the day's trips. Awesome breakfast with an amazing view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the Bistro and half of the rooms is amazing. A wonderful place to relax and enjoy Banff. Our dogs were welcome and also enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor cleanliness. cigarette butts on the floor, was piss on the walls and floor in the bathroom.

    The view was excellent, and staff was professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very noisy with old A/C unit blowing, whirring and wining constantly right outside the door. Very noisy. Luckily I packed Ear plugs. Also the hotel is a bit of way from town. And if you walk it is along the highway with no sidewalks, so you end up taking a taxi.

    The hot tub was awesome and if you can get in there by yourself it's great to relax and admire the scenery.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reached hotel arround 10 PM and heating was not working and the room was cold as hell. They gave us a room heater to warm the room. We were wearing coats amd snow boots in room.

    Room was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The Inn was located in a very quiet part of the valley, the view was breath taking and the rooms were roomy and comfortable. The staff was cheery and welcoming, over all we had a very good experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need better pillows and sound proofing between floors.

    Best views in the valley. You get the views guests are looking for when they book at the Banff springs hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main floor can be a little noisy with guests above.

    Total gem! Mountain View is spectacular. Bistro food is top notch. History of the building a bonus. An absolute delight. Number one on our list of places to stay around Banff right now.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and so were the beds, it had a laminate floor that got wet with the snow and there was no mat at the entrance of the room or by the beds to dry the shoes on. There is no microwave in the room. The bathroom is small with very small tub.

    This is the hotel in Banff closest to the ski resorts of Sunshine and Norquay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bistro right in the hotel had amazing food and really good hours so you could visit at almost any time. The view from the bistro and the hotel was breath taking and really added to the overall experience. Staff were really friendly and always willing to help if there were any questions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed on the bottom floor with our two dogs, Iago and Rory. We were a little worried that we would get turned away when they saw the size of Iago (180lb Leonberger), but they loved him to death and welcomed us with open arms! The bed was very comfy, the room had a mini fridge and the hot tub was 15 steps away from our room with one of the best views in Banff. Only critique for the room would be a smaller bathtub than usual, as well as the promised welcome package for the puppies was not there. The Bistro has the best food we have probably ever had. The choices were eloquent and perfectly prepared! Great service as well. Very friendly bistro staff :) Thank you for making our getaway special... we will be sure to return with our puppies again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a bit of a wait for check-in. Received complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and spectacular mountain views at the bar for the inconvenience.

    Breakfast and Lunch at the Bistro was well worth the cost. Excellent front desk service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views of the valley overlooking Banff were superb. Beds were also comfortable. Room had a fridge which was helpful. Staff were friendly. Great value for the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bistro was excellent,food and service amazing.Hotel is located on quiet and peaceful place with breathtaking mountain view.Staff professional and very polite.Not a single bad thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far out of town to walk. Cant walk in across highway overpass without some difficulty eg animal grill. But cab ride small. It was winter and sometimes temp inside got too warm

    Good value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Should NOT be in charming Inns of Alberta. Nothing charming about the room. Needed painting, needed more pictures and color. Very drab and ordinary. The furniture ALL needs to be replaced, most of it belongs in the dump. There were no robes or wine glasses and the toilet paper was the cheapest money could buy. Very disappointing. As I said good for families going skiing.

    staff was very friendly, view and location was beautiful, beds were comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the added furniture in the room could be updated in the near future. It’s clean none the less but definitely dated. And the bathroom tile and grout could definitely use some elbow grease. I was also really annoyed that we were emailed about the staff Christmas party the night before so it was clearly to late to cancel and go somewhere else. We like to dine in where we stay and not drag our toddler around when it’s nearing bedtime. -we were told the front desk could help us order in (Not the point). We were also given “free rides into town and back” but I am not going to unsafely put my child in a taxi when I can drive and have him properly strapped in his car seat. Would have been nice to have been offered some money back for the inconvenience.

    The room was quite large, it was just outside of Banff so as you can imagine the view was spectacular in the morning! The balcony was such a nice feature early in the morning to! We had breakfast in the bistro and it was really good (children’s choices weren’t our usual however).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a mile away from the town center, so if you like quiet it's great, but isn't really convenient for walking. The terrace for dining at the bistro is all snowed in during the Winter, so wouldn't recommend you guys eating out there lol. Super cold outside. Stay inside, and enjoy the view from the huge clear windows.

    OMG the bed, sheets, and pillows are amazing! Super comfortable, breathable, and cool. Love sleeping at this hotel. One of the best in the area. The Bistro has an amazing view of the park too, food is spectacular. They have the Juniper Benny, that comes with Bison Mozarella and Braised Rabbit. Exotic! My friend ordered that, but I ordered the Shakshuka :P

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed here many times and never been disappointed. Everyone is very friendly and always ready to help. Remember taking the ski out from Mt. Norquay and staying there as a child when it was the Timberline.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink is clogged, took 10 minutes to drain small Amount of water. Surprised why staff won’t notice when service and cleaning the room

    Good location and have mountain views

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was a little spendy so we didn't eat on property.

    The staff was GREAT! Loved the bartender and the wonderful fireplace in the bar and the front desk staff ! THE BONUS was waking up and seeing a moose outside our window!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like, that we couldn't stay longer!

    We traveled to the Juniper as I was surprising my papa (dad) with a trip to banff and the staff was fantastic, friendly, and kind. The bistro for breakfast was unbelievably delightful, as was the staff. And the room was affordable as well as stunning. Thank you for showing us the most respect, and kindness for our trip and for helping me really spoil my papa. He really and truly deserves it. We will be back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The orginal room assigned was "cleaned" but someone had used the bed. Poor quality inspection.

    There was a room problem. I was given a different room with no major concerns.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    More lounge space to view the mountains aside from the paid bistro area would have been appreciated. A bit noisy- could hear sounds from next door and hallways (we were located close to Bistro on the ground floor). We thought we booked a room with a view but ended up on the ground floor facing the parking lot.

    Great quiet location just outside of Banff town. Very clean, view from the bistro side is stunning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is located slightly outside Banff and there can be some road noise which didn't disturb us.

    The room was ok but that's probably because we had been spoiled with some exceptional rooms on our trip. The room has direct access to an outside seating are with stunning views which was lovely (with a friendly Chipmunk sharing our patio!) The meal we had in the restaurant was very good but the highlight was the breakfast - the best we had all trip, though not the cheapest - the Juniper Benny with Rabbit was so good I had it twice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very clean and the bed is very comfortable. My family and I had a great stay. The location is great as it is close to town area. Strongly recommend to those who plan to visit Banff especially for the family with kids.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was very expensive (though it seems that everywhere in Banff is expensive). The hot tub could be a little less hot.

    We loved the beautiful view, ease of access off the highway, the friendly staff, the comfortable bed, and the delicious food. The cost of the room was reasonable. Also the hot tub was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of this hotel is around 20 min walk away from Banff town centre, and there was no bus to connect. I walked to downtown from this hotel but did not find the path was walking-friendly.

    The facilities of this hotel was awesome. The room decoration was really like a home. There are lots of art works in the public area, and I especially love the "bear" in the lobby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What didn’t I like well this was my last chance to see a bear 🐻 before we returned to the UK 🇬🇧 and sadly not a sight of one, not even a moose. Plus the Aurora was seen the previous week along with a moose. However none of this was the fault of this lovely hotel.

    Great location on the side of the highway. Lovely room 2 large beds. Good views from the hot tub across Banff. The receptionist’s were very helpful. A kettle was produced on request. Canada seams to only have coffee machines, that doesn’t quite do it for us Brits. Was a 4 minute drive into the centre of Banff, excellent nights stay on route to Calgary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Substandard accommodation. Very lound ventilation in (bath) rooms, in addition generator next door (utility room). Asked twice about this and front desk staff did not show any flexibility. So ended up sleeping with ear plugs, which are needed also because of the highway noise. Prices on Banff level, but with no sound proof insulation not worth a cent.

    Only nice thing about this is the bistro / restaurant. Great staff, good food. The person at check out (night manager ?) was showing concern and empathy about the noise problem in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a decent slog into town although walkable and if inclined the hotel offers bikes. Rooms are a bit small.

    Lovely hotel just outside of town. Comfortable room, nice bed and really lovely staff. Nicely decorated and given the prices in Banff, pretty good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was that while sitting on the balcony you could hear the highway traffic. But the property and what it had to offer was well worth that 1 thing!

    The service at the restaurant was extraordinary! Staff was friendly and knowledgable. I traveled alone to have a retreat, peace and quiet & this was the perfect antidote. It is within walking distance of downtown and the bike trails are s convenient. I highly recommend staying here to anyone!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    style, clean room with super beds and amazing view :-) Super restaurant in hotel. We love it! STYLE HOTEL

    Room with view and amazing wellnes wirpool close from our room.. :-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just outside the busyness of Banff, while still being within a 5 min drive. Great views of the mountains. Clean, comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. We arrived early and they were able to get our room ready for check in within an hour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included in rate. Rooms were dated- CD discmans were still in rooms :) There are no elevators, if you need that!

    Beds were amazingly comfortable. Hotel was quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit snug for 4 people and the bathroom didn't have nearly enough space to hold personal toiletries for 4 people, something I would expect in a room with 2 double beds.

    Restaurant food was excellent and wait staff was attentive and responsive. The bartender even made me my special drink.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complimentary water in the fridge is a must, and could do with vending machine for water and sodas and fruit drinks etc

    Quality of the restaurant dinners, and the amazing mountain views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices are crazy in Banff. This hotel, considering the location, was ok. But still pricy!

    The staff was awesome! We got an awesome room, a private balcony and an incredible view on the mountains! It's one of the most beautiful places in Canada. The hotel is not in Banff village but a little bit outside in the woods which makes it even more calm and inspiring. Banff was just a minute away and very beautifull! In the morning my husband went for a walk in the trails accessible just beside the hotel. They used a lot of natural mats to build and decorate the building and it looks amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The deluxe queen room was small, the interior facilities were limited. Not worth the price. The restaurant was over priced. Two soups, two appies a beer and two desserts gave a bill of over $100. Meh.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person working the front desk wasn't too friendly. Felt kinda awkward checking in. Bathrooms in the rooms are very small.

    Location is amazing. Hotel overlooks the town of Banff. Great views. The restaurant has amazing breakfast (try the French toast!!!! You won't be disappointed). The staff at the hotel restaurant were extremely friendly and accommodating. We LOVED the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. One of our party is partially handicapped and elevator would have been much appreciated as the assigned room was on upper floor. We did get some help with baggage from front desk clerk ( a female).

    Convenient. Out of main part of town so could escape the crowd. Good location for access to local ski run. Room was clean but nothing special and apparently had not been updated in years. Looked more like a outdated ski lodge with cost priced at something more up to date. Front desk staff were excellent. Restaurant very good with wonderful view from outside terrace. The resturant was the high point of the stay. Otherwise, a pretty average place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator but front desk staff will carry your luggage upstairs.

    This place is a gem. Close to the bustle of Banff but tucked away. Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Great shower/bath. View incredible and our dinner in the bistro was exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the forest fires kept us from really enjoying the scenery, but that wasn't the hotel's fault. Plus, I forgot my favorite jeans in the room (again, not the hotel's fault). Other than that, our stay at the Juniper was flawless.

    The accommodations were great and the meals in the restaurant were fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not in the town but close. Easy to go highway, but you have to drive to go anywhere. Food is good there. So, you don't need to search around for food. fair for the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Just outside of Banff town, which makes parking very easy and convenient to get around. Room is spacious and clean. Very good view of Banff town and the mountains from the hill. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't go all the way to Banff to be out in the middle of no where. To best enjoy your stay make sure you book a hotel that is downtown.

    Nothing. Don't stay there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to the highway rather than in Banff. Parking lot view. Forgettable part of visiting Banff. Next time would look for place near the shops and great town of Banff.

    Convenient location if want to be right off the highway. We had a parking lot view. Two queen beds upon request. Free parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went into 4 different rooms where the a.c didn't work it was very frustrating dealing with that for hours when they called the repair guy it took him 2 hours to come and than he just clicked 2 buttons that we already tried and it didn't work ... we moved to another room that also didn't work and another again that didn't work than the last one finally had ac we got in the last room at about midnight and had to leave very early the next day so we weren't pleased at all, we wish our stay could've been easier and more comfortable.

    The breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maid servoce in AM a bit loud while cleaning other rooms. Slamming of cupboard doors...somewhere down the hall.

    Restaurant on site - great food and lovely patio. Nice to get away from busy Downtown Banff to find good food, dining and service. Thank you to all staff.! :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Hotel claims to be pet friendly but you aren't allowed to walk the dog anywhere on the property the nice grassy area has " no PETS" and the planted areas have "stay off".. 2. Stay on Banff Avenue where everything is- this is too far from everything- you may THINK you want some quiet time away from the hustle and bustle but once you get to Banff you will regret staying at Juniper, it's really just a motel away from everything you want to do and there's not much parking in Banff.

    We had a place to sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator ( no big deal though) front office staff nice but perhaps seemed a little annoyed by a couple of questions I had. Road noise from highway 1 not really blocked by windows

    Open and spacious room. Comfy bed. Great location, on the other side of the highway so away from the hustle and bustle of Banff.short 3 minute drive to main Banff, and 2 minutes to Tim Hortons.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bistro had limited menu and was overpriced. Lack of elevator would make difficulties for some. Bedding storage trollies left in hallways made them appear cluttered.

    View from room was spectacular.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom, old furniture, cheap shower head. The wall and furniture need a repaint or replacement.

    Mountain view, free parking, professional restaurant server, lots of pillows. we requested quiet room and got accommodated. Requested late checkout, front desk was willing to extend complimentary to 12 at noon. $25 from noon to 1pm. Front desk was friendly upon checking in. Free parking right in front of building, very safe. You do need a car to stay in this hotel. We got a good price $125/n with two double beds since we booke early. For the money that we paid, it's a nice stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid $40 per person for just a mediocre Mother's Day brunch. The pastries were overcooked and hard, not a great selection of hot dishes, and some of the fruit was brown. I was very disappointed with the value and quality of the food for the price we paid.

    The hotel room was small, but clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and the area surrounding the hotel was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction of the hotel relating to noise transference. You maybe aware of other patrons around you if they are busy.

    The hotel is on the edge of town. Easy taxi access. If you plan on having a hire car this is a very good hotel choice as it is two minute drive into town. Request room with view. Ground floor rooms town side have exit door direct from room outside to spectacular unobstructed mountain views behind Banff and beyond. If you can get over the fact your at town edge, for the views and peace, it's worth it. Very affordable comfortable accomodation. In house restaurant serves good quality appealing tasty food. Although not an extensive menu, what is provided will cater for everyone's needs. Obvious attention to quality and presentation. Staff are attentive and polite. Check in, check out easy, correct and prompt. I would not hesitate to rebook this accomodation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed staying at Juniper Hotel and appreciated the help from the reception staff, who advised us on best hikes to do around the area (and most importantly, what shoes to wear / how difficult they were etc.) We paid extra for a mountain view room; the view was indeed amazing, however the room also faced the highway so it was a bit noisy, as you can hear cars and tracks passing by all night long. It is worth it for the balcony views though. The outdoor hot tub is amazing! We had dinner at the bistro one night, which was really lovely, however it was a bit pricey so we skipped the restaurant on the following morning / evening. Don't stay at this hotel if you want to be able to walk around Banff easily - from Juniper you do need a car to get into town. We loved being in a more remote and beautiful setting.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bistro has amazing food and an amazing view with great service . The staff at the hotel and bistro were fantastic . We had to bring our dog last minute and they told us it was no problem . Very helpful! We love being right by town but not in town.. and there's trails you can walk right from the hotel. We always go back to the juniper if there is room there. Best hotel !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only stayed one night and they had a private event there so I couldn't have dinner or drinks there. noisy rooms, very basic at low value for money. didn't seem to care about putting visitor 2nd. breakfast was a basic buffet, poor quality for money.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a car which I would definitely recommend to be able to see all the Banff area has to offer. Banff town is walkable in 20 minutes though.

    Spectacular views of tunnel mountain and sulphur mountain from the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, small beds, not very clean, wanted to go to the bar for a drink at 8.45 and was told it was closing at 9 so couldn't go in! Very close to motorway so noise from traffic.

    Great views from hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like all about my stay! My room was on the first floor and I got the view to the parking place (not the best view), but it definitely changes when I got visit by four deer just outside my window!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young reception staff when we checked in was really not that great. Not super friendly, not super helpful. Room was not ready at 2.45pm, they did not offer to help with luggage etc etc we were not impressed. They just could not be bothered

    nice food, nice staff in restaurant, comfy rooms, good wi-fi

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: