Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Plaza Hotel 4 stars

405 Victoria Street, V2C 2A9 Kamloops, Canada

#11 of 48 hotels in Kamloops

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1336 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    My stay at the Plaza felt like a jump back in time with all the comforts of the present.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the tv had a few more channel options and that the room was easier to cool down. It took me a little while to find the light switch for the bathroom which ended up being located by the front door but I had fun trying to figure it out.

    The inside of the hotel has been beautifully restored. My room was spacious and comfortable with an exceptional amount of plug ins. I did not have to search once for somewhere to plug in my electronics, hair tools etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions I had.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Well located, was more modern and well fitted than we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had no main light, only the two bedside lamps, which we found strange and a bit dark but not a big problem for us since we stayed one night, arrived late and left early.

    Well located, was more modern and well fitted than we expected. We had forgotten/not realised breakfast was included until we checked in which was a useful surprise since we were leaving early and it saved us time and money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Room was clean and location is in the Center of Kamloops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold and outside it was cold too. Aircondition was not working. We told it to the stuff at the reception on the next morning. Only comment was that it is outside cold, that should be the reason. Had Breakfast and it was terrible. It was complete cold and lot of things were empty. Plastic cup for orange juice is for me not acceptable in a hotel. Furniture is old, that was o.k. , but to repair a toilet seat with tape is no way, replacement can not be so expensive.

    Room was clean and location is in the Center of Kamloops.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.0
    Pleasant and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we both had in our rooms was the poor lighting level.

    We liked the staff, they were very friendly and helpful. The location was ideal for us. Parking was easy. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Well restored heritage hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Plaza has been lovingly restored and it's a real pleasure to stay there. So much better than faceless modern hotels. The staff were great and the lady on the desk went out of her way with advice on where to go and where to eat. Thanks!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.9
    Stylish hotel in Kamloops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the only hotel we stayed at in Canada where you had to pay for parking. 8 dollars to park on top of paying for the room was a bit excessive.

    This was a lovely hotel - old building but modernised facilities, nice room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice building, good lock within the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very loud as the door has a huge gap to the floor. Lots of cracking noises at night from pipes and loud fridge. Breakfast mediocre at best

    Nice building, good lock within the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Only there for one night and really enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leisure facilities are not on site but this is a hotel with history.

    What i would describe as a hotel with "character". The lift is nearly 100 years old and there is a warning about "horseplay" which causes a breakdown will result in an additional charge. Quite right too! Staff very friendly and well positioned. Live music in the evening and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Very central and the rooms were good and large bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the restaurant one night and was charged twice on credit card. We contacted hotel to have it reversed by phone and twice by email to management without a response , I suppose we will need to take this up with our bank on return home, very unprofessional.

    Very central and the rooms were good and large bathroom. We asked for a large bed but was given a standard bed. The lift is very small with a maximum number of guest allowed at one time due to loading limit which as a joke for the lift was loaded with tour bus bags which doubled the load limit. Be aware that this is a tour bus hotel as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    A very interesting hotel a worth a stop over if moviegoing on great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice stay, staff very helpful a old but very interesting hotel, the queen stayed many years ago and has still got good standards . Very good stop over hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Plaza hotel kamloops. To recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked this hotel very much. Good location downtown Kamloops. Very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast good but cannot be compared to A Swedish one😊 Free transfer to the station in Kamloops. Price worthy indeed. 9 out of 10 Åke and Kerstin from Köping Sweden

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heritage hotel well renovated . Oldest elevator in Kamloops. The hotel has a lovely old time feel about it but is comfortable in every way. Rooms are a little small.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Unfortunates sercomstanse.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, the room was noisy and cramped. I had to call downstairs right away because there was no bath towels. We needed some refreshments and the vending machines didn't function correctly. It was just not a good stay that night.

    Pleasent staff, clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is clean and provides a good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is situated next to power transformer which hummed all night which made it difficult to sleep soundly.

    Check in and local advise from desk absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Great location, very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very helpful staff. Room was comfy and the breakfast was good. Perfect for a one night stop over, would stay again if I’m in Kamloops.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    I cannot speak for the area(we didn’t stay long enough) but the hotel was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and milk in the room. Nitpicking really.

    The staff, particularly the lady who was on duty when we arrived late on 23rd August were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. A very pleasant environment all round!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Old world charm in heart of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle was pokey... hardly enough room to turn around.

    Old world charm. Good range of food at breakfast. Convenient location in centre of Kamloops, just a short walk to Riverside Park and shops.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was included and it was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building, we stayed at 4th floor and the building shakes time to time when the train passes near by. I first thought it was an earthquake. Only one staff at the reception even at the busy time of check in and out. You need to wait for quite a while when there is people in front of you.

    Breakfast was included and it was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    We didn't realize till we arrived just how perfectly located this place is. .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Location fantastic. Good value hotel. Staff went that extra mile.. Kind lady on front desk arranged for English Premiership to be on (discreetly) in bar at breakfast so my husband could watch his team... Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel for short stay in Kamloops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With the long history of the hotel, the space of the lobby, lift, and guest rooms is cramped. Parking would cost the extra 8 CAD per day.

    The location is good. Just in downtown center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Location in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main cooling installation very loud. Hard to sleep. Parking near the hotel is payable. Advice. Pay the parking inside the hotel not at parking machine. (inside 8 CAD at the machine at least 30 CAD), Hotel does not refound at the machine payed parking.

    Location in the city center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    - Great breakfast (included)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room was a bit small - Elevator is tiny + only one - Parking is in a public parking lot

    - Great breakfast (included) - Great view of downtown - Liked the toiletries provided - Good location - Cool, historic building

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Good place to stay on route to Kelowna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choices a little limited.

    Central location - Near local attractions. Lovely member of staff in bar who gave recommendations for local places to eat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for an overnight in transit from Jas per to Vancouver.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bizarre town. Not much to do.

    Really comfy bed. Room was modern and very clean. Great lift. Installed 1928. Great position in centre of Kamloops. Easy parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Location- it was a charming hotel - great bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carparking was not included although you did have a discount if you paid at reception rather than at the machine in the carpark

    Location- it was a charming hotel - great bar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, clean, modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay, could have been better. Air con system was poor, so room was very warm in the height of summer.

    The hotel has been renovated to a very high standard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    We loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning a bit loud but needed

    It has all the charm of an old building but beautiful update.. we really loved it.. even the tiny elevator .. I had forgotten my jacket outside on porch but they mailed it promptly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    HOTEL WAS GOOD FOR WHAT WE NEEDED AND ALL THE STAFF WERE HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    DOWNTOWN LOCATION AND PARKING. RIVER ACCESS A PLEASANT WALK. ENJOYABLE IRISH BAR CLOSE BY. ROOM NICE AND HIGH, ALTHOUGH RATHER SMALL. BREAKFAST GOOD AND STAFF VERY HELPFUL.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Knowledgeable, helpful staff, great location, free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything - don’t expect 5* luxury, this is a genuine lovely, clean, value hotel, with bags more character and old-fashioned charm than a newer chain.

    Knowledgeable, helpful staff, great location, free parking. Lovely old-style hotel, super value for money, clean and comfortable. Fab shower!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    One of my favourite ever hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was perfect.

    We loved everything about this hotel. It is a little gem! It was so nice to be in a hotel which wasn't part of a chain. Loved that they had retained so many features from the original. It was spotlessly clean and the staff were always busy, dusting, hoovering and making sure the guests had everything they required. Breakfast, which was included was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say there's anything I didn't like very comfortable stay

    lots of restaurants within walking distance , nice lounge down stairs great staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    This is absolutely a gem - great location downtown with easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is absolutely a gem - great location downtown with easy access to restaurants, cafe's and bars. Hotel must have been newly renovated and everything is absolutely in top!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer, the bed was tiny and unable to make coffee as nowhere to plug in machine unless put on the floor, l didn’t want a coffee machine on the floor.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Great short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast choice.

    Very well located hotel in the town centre. Easy walk to the park on the river, and to bars and restaurants. Good bar with live music the night we stayed. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Great historical hotel right in the middle of downtown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cool and historical building with a lot of character. The location is great, walking distance from Riverfront Park and a huge selection of restaurants right on Victoria. The breakfast buffet food was fresh and good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable few days, hotel and surroundings excellent, particularly the park and walks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning/ventilation system was very loud, which meant sleepless night hence change of room as above.

    Rooms comfortable but had to change rooms (see below). Staff on duty during the night very helpful and passed on details to Irene as promised. Special thanks to Irene who went the extra mile to solve the problem despite being very busy with other customers that day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    We were right down town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Night desk clerk did not know there was a great late night coffee house with live music, one block from the hotel. We wanted a coffee after 09:00 in the evening.

    We were right down town. Close to great dinning and walking. It was very quiet. Found a great after hours coffee shop with live music just one block from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.5
    Nice hotel but could be better for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are pretty small. I booked a twin room and the single beds were tiny. Worst of all there were no pillows just x4 cushions and they supper uncomfortable. I could not get to sleep. In the end I got the spare blanket and put a sheet over it using it as a pillow. Raised it with staff the next day and they said I could have called down but it was 12am and didn't want the hassle after a long day Parking is an extra $8

    The location is good as it's downtown. The breakfast was not bad had Greek yogurt/ fruit/ cereal and some hot items The staff on day shift all seemed friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel for one night, different to most in Canada, wouldn't want to stay more than 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were put in an end room on the 5th floor and it was tiny and very hot. We didn't have enough room to walk around our luggage and there wasn't even a chair in the room. We were using this as an overnight stay for an onwards drive to Jasper so we didn't complain but the room was a lot smaller than those in the pictures - I think this was just bad luck being at the end of the property. The lift is incredibly slow and only fits 2 people with luggage so check out was a bit painful. In addition there was only one member of staff on check out duty so we waited about 20 min as someone was (wrongly) disputing the bill. The breakfast in the morning was awful and wasn't worth sticking around for. Help yourself buffet with 2-3 choices, would have been better off finding a Tim Hortons on the way.

    The hotel is in a good location with parking just around the corner. Everything was clean and tidy and the rooms were nicely decorated. It's in downtown Kamloops so you can walk to restaurants nearby. The lobby area of the hotel is very nicely decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for a short stay, reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny but the hotel is old so that is expected. Disappointed with the breakfast selection, no cereal and I am a creature of habit.

    We were just passing through Kamloops and this was a great place for a one night stopover. Cheap rates and breakfast included. Front desk staff helped with places to stop on our trip back to Vancouver.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    As it turned out we had booked the Honeymoon suite which was tastefully decorated in period style, the bed was so comfortable, it was a great stopover point on our way to The Okanagan Valley.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    I wish I could have fit one of the pillows in my suitcase!!!! The beds made the hotel worth it.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors BANG when they are closed, and quite often throughout the night I was awoken by people who weren't quite respecting the quiet time hours. Hallway noise was an issue. I asked for parking validation but didn't realize there was a fee until it showed up on my bill. I would have liked to have been informed beforehand.

    Incredible beds and pillows. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent complimentary breakfast buffet. At 41, I was absolutely THRILLED to get carded buying wine at the small liquor store on the main level!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice room but not sufficient light, and not-so-great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite dark in the room, even after putting all the lights on. The staff were not particularly friendly at reception (evening staff). The breakfast was sub-standard. Being vegetarian, there was a bag of bread (toast by yourself), mixed fruit, and plain yoghurt on offer with tea/coffee where we had to ask the waiter for cream because very few were provided. Typically breakfast includes hash browns, beans, mushrooms etc. which is great for vegetarians. When food was running out, the waiter was least interested; they looked understaffed - one lady appeared to be running the show and looked very tired.

    Comfortable beds, and good facilities in the bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Good stopover on the way from Jasper to Whistler
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one slow lift which was a bottleneck at peak check-out time. Small room with no chest of drawers. Parking is in local car park in restricted area and you need to check in to get the permit to display. This needs clearer explanation in advance, as fortunately I stayed in the car while my husband did this but another couple arriving at the same time ended up with a parking fine in the 5 minutes it took them to do this. Perhaps a permit could be sent out in advance.

    Great location in the centre of town. Period building which has maintained its character despite adding air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understaffed at breakfast..one poor girl trying to do everything. Very noisy people in room next door ..at midnight we asked staff to do something...nothing was done.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Kamloops a bit of a disappointment after the Rockies but a good stop off point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overlooking internal courtyard was dreary. Hard to identify the hotel from the car even though we were close.

    Lovely breakfast spot and food. Helpful staff gave local driving instructions. Convenient parking. Friendly bar part of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Very happy with our stay in The Plaza Hotel Kamloops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area wasn't very nice.

    Beautiful hotel. Full of character. Friendly staff. Very helpful. Everything we needed was there for us. Very pleased. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.0
    So-so.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photo of Deluxe Queen room implied there would be two wing chairs in the room, but there was only one. When I asked the front desk about this they blamed the incorrect photo on the booking company! Also, the recycle bin in the room was full of bottles/containers from a prior guest! The shower had several opened containers of shampoo and of conditioner, along with a couple of unopened ones!

    Location right downtown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed the stay and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, we kept having to ask for missing items like hot water for cup of tea, milk, waffles, cereals, we had to ask for them as none was out and we was asked what cereal we wanted and the waitress took our bowls to the kitchen to fill with requested cereal, seemed to keep everything to a minimum.

    Location, bed very comfortable, room clean and looking fresh.staff helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t feel comfortable wandering about around the location in the evening, although it might just have been me.

    The restaurant/bar was very nice. Live music on the Friday evening we were there too. The breakfast selection was very good with the option of ordered bacon. Staff friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    The room was clean and hotel was well orginized, it is in an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed's ended up being fairly hard, as well as we were not warned about the VERY expensive deposit. *There was also no ice buckets

    The room was clean and hotel was well orginized, it is in an excellent area for night life, and was over all comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall satisfied:) great location & staff & well appointed cozy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the food has changed since the restaurant/ lounge closed down & reopened .. I was disappointed in my salmon dinner !! No comparison to the salmon dinner I had there in 2016.

    We always stay here when traveling through!! Love the quint & coziness of the old hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Forget the chain hotels in Kamloops-The Plaza is the way to go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Plaza was our favorite on this vacation. This historic hotel has been renovated and maintained to keep its charm with modern comforts. Staff at the front desk were super, offering area history and info about pubs and cafes popular with locals. Give this hotel a 10+!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    We found a gem of a hotel in Kamloops that we will definitely stay at again!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There really isn't much to complain about. If I have to nit-pik, the hotel was a little drafty. It didn't really bother us, but to some, it might. Also, the riff-raff outside after dark are a little bothersome. Not really the hotel's fault, and they're just small-town homeless folks, who are harmless.

    Everything was awesome! The room was a decent size, the decor of the room, and the hotel, were just to our liking. The staff were very nice and accommodating. The free breakfast was one of the best we have ever had! Will definitely stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room. Scrambled eggs hard, bacon cold and the setting very gloomy, all black and no windows to look out of. Had to put kettle and coffee maker on floor in bedroom as no sockets higher.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location in building full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was a little noisey

    Building has plenty of character being an old building from the founding days of Kamloops. Good location right near the town Center , service friendly rooms clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    It's okay but I expected more, and it could easily be more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good bed, great linens, hardwood in the bedroom. Tiny shower. Worn carpet in shared main stairwell, tiny old elevator. Breakfast standard hotel buffet fare in an uninspired huge banquet room, complete with massive round banquet tables, with loud golden oldies music pipes in. Too bad. A little effort to bring that standard up would go a long way. So so experience.

    Good bed, great linens, hardwood in the bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Stay was ok .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not very good , not much choice. Towel was dirty and lighting in the room quite poor. Electrical outlet in bathroom not working . Very poor lighting in bathroom

    The room was relatively clean but very small. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    It was nice to be well cared for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view - we looked into an alley.

    The whole experience was very pleasant. We had our dog with us and they were very accommodating by offering a dog bed. The hotel is beautiful with a bit of history. It is in a nice area of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit small.

    It is a very nice historic hotel - newly renovated. Exactly in the middle of Kamloops’ downtown. Plenty of restaurants in the walking distance. The bed is very comfortable. The breakfast is actually quite good - hot and cold options. There is a swimming pool close by which you can use for free as a hotel guest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Friendly helpful staff but that’s about all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to begin; pokey room, even pokier bathroom - nowhere to put anything just a basin, everything was old and rugs were threadbare, the elevator was tiny and had a sign saying it was the oldest in town, bed was small, mattress was lumpy, ....

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. They could not have done more to make our stay a good one. It was the staff in particular the lady on the front desk that moved our stay from ordinary to good. She moved us because the band which was terrible might have kept us awake. Parking was good and the breakfast adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value, Great location and Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom/bathtub needs updating. Room was dark, more lighting needed.

    Lobby and entrance classic appearance with a high end appearance. Rooms updated but still held to the history of the hotel. Breakfast was great. Food was excellent and the style of the breakfast buffet was good and overall is a great idea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Other than bath experience, exceeded expectations.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I needed a hot bath the evening I stayed; bathroom looked great, but 3 x I had globs of brown/black mud come through the tap into the bathtub. Have to assume it was safe because of water treatment, but it turned the bathwater a brown colour, so I didn't stay in very long.

    Bed was very comfy. One floor up from street level, but good thick blinds kept noise and light out. Was able to open window for fresh air. Was pleasantly surprised by included full breakfast next morning...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.0
    I would recommend the Plaza and would stay there again.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying for parking. Not a deal-breaker though.

    I liked such a lot about the Plaza Hotel; it's central location, helpful staff, well appointed and clean to name some. The Plaza has obviously been renovated fairly recently from previous reviews so if you are wondering about the discrepancy in reviews that is probably why. The breakfast was good and I have a restricted diet and was still able to eat some of what was offered which was refreshing! We were only there for one night so I didn't have time to see the pool. Just be aware that the room size is small as a result of the age of the building and if you are looking for a more spacious room then the Plaza may not be the place suitable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is too small. There are no stacker were you could put stuff, except above the toilet, and I do not want to put my tooth brush or contact lenses above the toilet in case it falls down. View was not that nice as well.

    Nice and clean room, front staff was very friendly, perfect location of the hotel and close to every restaurant or bar within the city. The room was nice, bed very comfortable. Breakfast was really good and a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    A fantastic heritiage downtown hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing here that I didn't like. I could not complain about this place in any which way.

    I like everything. The breakfast is always one of the best I have ever had in any hotel. The staff are great, the rooms are great and it is a fantastic heritage hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall it was a pleasant stay and a great price!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little older and the bathroom was very tiny, making it hard to get in and out of.

    Great customer service at front desk and during breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the 2nd time we had noisy neighbors in the middle of the night. Had to call front desk to have someone speak to whoever they were to ask them to be quiet. Fortunately they quieted down. Noise coming from the bathroom is loud. Had to close bathroom door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms on the small side.

    Irene at the front desk was fabulous. Hotel is old but is restored beautifully. Location is right in the middle of town. Lots of restaurants and pubs. Breakfast was included. Buffet style. Very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Left us a very good impression of Kamloops and we will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complimentary breakfast was way beyond expectations! Good job! Loved that a liquor store was attached to the same building and was so easy to get a bottle of wine to go with our supper. The location was excellent as we were able to go for a walk in the park by the river after supper.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    I like the hotel and it I am ever in Kamloops again- I would stay there.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a step down coming out of the bathroom and I fell because I forgot it was there. Any older- I'm almost 70, and that could have been nasty...

    The bed was very comfortable, I slept well in the room as it was dark and quiet- I was able to cover easily the few appliance lights . The lobby was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator had issues, and a out of order sign on it for awhile. Chose to take stairs most of the time.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Lots of history in this old hotel. Clean and comfortable. Walking distance to great restaurants and concert venue. Breakfast was great. Good Value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Luxury accomodations for fantastic price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit hot and hard to cool down.

    A renovated historic hotel in the downtown that has the look and feel of a much more expensive facility. Very comfortable and very well appointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Cozy historical hotel makes for valuable stay for downtown excursions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Customer service was very good. The desk clerks were pleasant and helpful. The bathroom was clean and updated. The bed was comfortable and dressed with decent bedding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Nice Hotel for a night in Kamloops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get an extra fee for the parking lot next to the hotel (public pay parking)

    Nice Hotel with historic ambience. Nice clean rooms and comfie bed. The breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: