Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sylvia Hotel 3 stars

1154 Gilford Street, West End, V6G 2P6 Vancouver, Canada

#26 of 81 hotels in Vancouver

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1070 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a bit odd in terms of layout, but it is an historic hotel so that is understandable.

    Loved this historic building - such charm and you can't beat the location - wow! The view from our room of English Bay was stunning and it was very quiet at night - first time we've had a restful sleep in Vancouver!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable. Loved being able to open the windows, hear the rain. The location was so convenient, we were able to walk and explore the area with ease. The exterior was just as charming as the inside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, but could open window. No mini fridge or safe.

    Rooms very large. Staff very helpful. Excellent location, near English Bay, Stanley Park and heaps of cafes/restaurants in Denman Street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a beautiful old hotel with all its charm. Fantastic location overlooking the "beach" & cycle path which you look out over whilst having drinks or dinner from their beautiful bar & dining room. The bed was super comfy as well & the staff so helpful. Great area for sightseeing, we would highly recommend. Karen from Sydney Australia

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WIFI was not reliable.

    The staff are helpful. Especially Katie, she has provided us a lot of assistance; booking for airport taxi in Vancouver and even in Honolulu; advice on the places of interest and discount vouchers etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff on departure was rude, unhelpful, very disinterested.

    The staff on arrival were friendly and very helpful. Good atmosphere, big room. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We understand the architecture, but the a little-too-overcozy toilet didn't really fill the bill. We were actually disappointed that the house telephones/cab telephones were actually updated new technology----we were actually looking forward to "dialing" a cab. Given this day and age, we imagined this is not that difficult to achieve. Lack of a fridge was a problem, with the only ice machine available on the main floor, the bathtub became our refrigerator during our stay.

    There's something about staying at a historic hotel. The ancient elevators and photographs were a very nice touch --- it gave us a sense of belonging to past visitors. Proximity to the beach and Davie made it easy to find sustenance. Overall accommodations were fine, but, again, we only stayed one night. Staff were very helpful accommodating our bicycles, check in, check out was uncomplicated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in need of a bit of modernisation.

    The warm ambience of the restaurant and foyer area...a taste of yesteryear and the meals are very nice. In an excellent beachfront location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room color, it would be very pretty in a light grey.

    The room size was large and comfortable. Your beds were so comfortable. The staff was outstanding. Your location on English Bay was just perfect. Your hotel was one of the highlights of our trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirtiness Everything was cheap stuffs. You would say it was going to fall apart The bathroom was really not good I had ask a top floor I was on the 2 floor

    Location Nice beach park very nice environment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would prefer a better choice of teas such as English Breakfast andwe are a bit particular about our coffee. We have trouble adjusting to North American tastes.

    We loved the ambience of The Sylvia and the location was beautiful over English Bay. While some distance from areas such as Canada Place, bus and taxi travel was easy. The dining room was very agreeable with great views just above street level.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room could have been larger and equipped with refrigerator. Would recommend a higher floor ( we were on floor 2. That being said everything in the room was in good repair and very clean.

    fabulous staff-great location- restaurant/bar outstanding and excellent service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms need updating, no fridge in the room or tea making facilities. Bar manager was a little off on how he dealt with us on one occasion.

    Room was a good size and very clean, staff on the whole were very pleasant. The location was ideal for what we wanted to do.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice to see a lower price for our third day.

    This was a combination business/pleasure trip. My wife's birthday. And the train was going to arrive very late. I called to request a bottle of wine for my wife. The staff not only supplied a nice bottle of Sylvia wine, they also wrote a very nice birthday card, which she has kept. It was a great way to start her birthday travels as well as end a very long day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying $18.00 per night for parking!

    We loved the location and the history of this magnificent hotel. We will stay here again. The food was also delicious and so was the entertainment. What a delightful hotel, we enjoyed looking at all the pictures and just walking around the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spendy for what you get but for a fun one time it was okay.

    The history of this hotel and its location across from the beach are what makes this a great stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    This hotel is in a great spot on the waterfront. There were lots of cafes and restaurants close by and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It was good to have a car park for the hire car too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite warm indoors even with 2 windows open all night.

    Historic photos on the walls and the architecture. The coffee shop and the liquor store were close by. The trails for walking and biking are great and of course Stanley Park is right there. So beautiful and it didn’t feel crowded and congested even for a busy Sunday. Perfect for beach lovers, cyclists, and those who love walking in a spectacular setting with a laid back vibe. Loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is so many things that made the stay so enjoyable and I’d have to say this! “The best way to experience it is to go!” I Will Be Staying AGAIN!!!!

    What wasn’t to like about this Majestic piece of Vancouver’s History! Plus, after living in Vancouver for over 30 years it was a delightful added plus to living here! It’s a wonder I’ve always said “I wonder what it’s like staying in there?” Wonder No More! Amazing and the only better experience is the Company I was with! 😇💗😇

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was hoping for a water view as it was a special anniversary but did not get one. The second floor room we had on Pendrell Street at the back was ok but early morning, like 5 am, we had the noise of delivery trucks and doors slamming, etc while suppliers came to the hotel. Also people talking right on the street and it is like they are in your room. But again, for a small, quaint hotel in a neighbourhood where people live and walk and talk, it was fine.

    The food we had in the bar was good, although a little overpriced. But it is downtown Vancouver, it is to be expected I guess.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Almost no facilities in the room. Just a bed. Nice to have a refrigerator!

    Excellent location - bus station just in front of the building! Loved the neighborhood!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Haven’t stayed for quite awhile and expected the rooms to be a bit more updated. The wifi kept dropping and was slow.

    Great location. Love the lounge for happy hour. Rooms were quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little earlier sign in time than 3:00

    The bed was very comfy and I enjoyed the fact that you make most of your food, like the bran muffins, at the hotel. I remember the Sylvia Hotel being the tallest building in the West End when I was growing up. I like the bit of European flavor and the relaxed atmosphere. It's still my favorite hotel in Vancouver. Kind regards, Elizabeth

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is really relaxed. The bar lounge serves lovely food and drink and has a great view over the beach. Live music in the bar too. It's close to Stanley Park and close enough to the city. Staff are really helpful and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really! I stayed on two occassions during my time in Vancouver only small gripes were the cleaning team started way too early on some days. Also on first check-in nothing much was explained to me in the way of facilities so had to ask.

    Location was excellent, right next to English Bay and a short walk to the Seawall and Stanley Park. You can walk into downtown in around 15mins but plenty of bars and resturants close to the hotel itself. Rooms were a decent size, if a little outdated but its fitting with the history of the building which I liked. Staff were excellent and helpful and the on-site resturant/bar great for all meals of the day and good value for the quality of food. Overall experience was great for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were horrible , soft and saggy. Bad pillows too. For charging that much should have better beds and pillows

    Location, history of building and large framed photos. Restaurant overlooking English bay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra pillows would be nice

    Location is excellent. Restaurant/bar popular and good. Staff excellent. This is a historic hotel, there really should be a category for these.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We love the Sylvia. The location is superb and the character of the hotel has been beautifully preserved. We were placed in an ocean view room which was spectacular. To lie in bed and see the ocean and listen to the lap of the waves was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somehow our booking wasn't handled correctly. First we had two rooms in separate parts of the hotel. Then the two rooms were not big enough for our party of five, so we had to move again, and was charged more money. There's also spotty wifi and no temperature control in the individual rooms.

    The location and price were great. It's a very historic building right in a fun part of Vancouver.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate at the restaurant 3 times and staff was too busy too look after us completely each time. Food was great, especially dinner. Great view.

    Booked a queen room but asked for a view at check in and got double beds and corner room with view on 6th floor!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Sylvia Bar staff seems slightly overwhelmed at times.

    The Sylvia is a simple and gorgeous historic hotel right on the English Bay waterfront. This was my first stay there, for a staycation, after decades of meaning to stay at the hotel, and it was an absolutely lovely experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My friend treated me to dinner and the server was rude. When we left he said finally and knew we heard. It is not fast food. He had shaved sides and long hung over fringe. Seemed to be on an upper.

    the nostalgia old world feel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It ended up being slightly more than I had thought. It's aging. We got a suite that did not have walls separating the living room and bedroom making it difficult with a toddler at bed time.

    The location is great. We love the history. The staff were very helpful and polite and friendly. We love the restaurant. Less money than other hotels I the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely hotel with loads of history, be prepared for the vintage feel. The rooms are not luxurious but they are comfortable. Dining room and lounge staff are excellent and the food is delish! Such a beautiful view over English Bay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bread they use for toast in their restaurant is very poor. Need some serious multi-grain bread. The used to offer 'organic' eggs but have stopped. We appreciated that.

    We stay at the Sylvia all the time. Some rooms are better than others. The location is hard to beat--on English Bay right next to Stanley Park. The bar and lounge is very low key and pleasant. Prices have gone up meaning we won't visit as often as we would like.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Note that there is a significant high season/low season price fluctuation. This is an historic (read OLD building with a gorgeous ivy that grows up the side of the building. I LOVE it, but this aspect could pose challenges for people with allergies. There is a bit of a musty smell in elevator/certain hallways- again, it doesn't bother me but for some it could pose a problem

    Superb view of English bay from hotel bar/restaurant. Friendly Staff, I stay here often.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old building. It smells like an old building. Not a lot can be done about that. After the first 30 minutes our smell sensors adjust.

    The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person next door could have put down her phone once in awhile and not talk so loud 😜

    The late riser breakfast, the amazing location. Always restful, always a treat to be here. We've never been disappointed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older bathroom with dim lighting. No refrigerator in room. On site coffee mediocre. Breakfast mediocre. However, hotel close to good local coffee (Delaney's) & good dining options.

    Excellent location!!!!! Friendly staff. Nice view. Comfortable bed and nice sheets!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The location was very good. Our room was a good size with amazing views of the park and partial view of the sea. The staff were very friendly and so helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return to the beautiful city of Vancouver and stay in this little gem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoy it all.....it is unique in a city where most hotels are huge, impersonal and almost all the same.

    I first stayed here over 50 years ago....my family lived in England ,stayed at the Sylvia when they visited and we all stayed here for my wedding in 1968! We don't come often as we live in the Fraser Valley but enjoy a city stay and always stay at the Sylvia. The fact that pets are welcome is a huge plus and a glass of wine in the lounge at sunset is hard to beat!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a bit cool in the room, but there was a small portable heater for us in the closet.

    The staff was great, including when we stopped in at the bar and when we went to the restaurant for Valentine's dinner. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here 3 previous times with the american express promotion. Feel a little betrayed as each visit we have been in a tiny room with with the outdated and old bathroom and a slight musty smell. We have still loved the ambience and the staff and the hotel itself but had no idea that these rooms were sub par. now we know better I will not be using the the amex promtion again.

    room was spacious and clean, the location of the hotel cannot be beat

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sylvia Hotel. Location cannot be beat - right across the road from English Bay beach and close to everything. This historical hotel is totally charming with nice spacious rooms that are old but updated. Extremely comfy beds, and everything you need. Staff are friendly and efficient. We enjoyed a nice breakfast in the dining room/bar with a spectacular view. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was outdated with spotty internet connection which didn’t encourage me to stay and enjoy the amenities of the hotel.

    A charming hotel in close proximity to all the things you need to enjoy your time away from home. The staff were exceptional and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is a hidden gem in the city. I'm a fairly frequent business traveler and to find an superb city hotel is a rarity. Every part of our two night stay was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I received a wake up call at 7:00 am which I did not request. I set my own alarm for 9:00 am and I could REALLY have used the extra sleep.

    The views of English Bay and the historical aspects of the hotel itself.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too hot and I could not easily find how to adjust the heat. The lights in the bathroom over the sink had to be turned on/off on the light itself - not a big thing but since you asked.

    The service / staff / food in the dining room was terrific. The location was excellent. We walked to the wee ferries to get to Granville, walked to the Aquarium and walked to Espana on Denman for tapas - perfect. Plus sat and watched the sunset and enjoyed all the action of people out strolling and biking and jogging at the end of the day. I liked the funky vibe. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a thing.

    Excellent location, easy walking distance, even to downtown. Great views from the restaurant and good breakfast menu. Friendly staff. Hotel is over 100 years old but in fine repair.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like where the toilet was situated in the bathroom. Had I been a bigger or taller person I don't know that I could have used it.

    The room was actually very large and the bed was very comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming, storied hotel, friendly staff. Rooms are a little small and basic, but the bed was comfortable, everything worked, and the location is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception staffs are all very nice and friendly. There is a underground parking at the hotel as well. The hotel is classic and unique even it is a little bit old but i kind of like the warm atmosphere in the hotel. And you could enjoy the view of English bay from the hotel restaurant. Street full of restaurants is just 2 minutes walk away from the hotel. Recommend Fatburger, big and juicy burger worth a try! The hotel is near Stanley park I even got a visit from a lovely and harmless raccoon. He was kind of knocking on my window as i left my yogurt and strawberry next to the window. What an experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! The remote wouldn’t turn the tv off, so we unplugged it. We told the staff at check out....no big problem! That was honestly the only thing!

    Everything was wonderful! The comfort of the room(bed etc.) The friendliness of the staff and willingness to meet our needs. The delicious food! It was a fabulous time in a beautiful, historical hotel! We just love it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an excellent location in downtown Vancouver, right on English Bay. It was so quiet. We enjoyed the lounge in the evening and the restaurant in the morning. Both with terrific views. Other restaurants and stores are nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we can think of.

    The staff were delightful. We had a fish pie and a beer before an early night, having just arrived from UK - lovely. Rumour has it that the rooms are small, but ours was big and comfortable. The hotel is very old and displays some very interesting old photos and the like. All in all an excellent way to start our holiday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older building so it smelled like it. Felt a bit dusty and the rooms are average. Honestly rooms could be labeled at “motel” level but the location and esthetics from outside the building, lobby area and historic features what makes this hotel cost as much as it does.

    LOCATION

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access by public transport a bit complicated. Getting a compass or day card requires a 10 minute walk. Buses 5 & 6 another 5 to minute walk

    Not a large modern building like most in town. It's in a nice location with sea view. Nice square with statues and wild geese grazing on the lawn, Morton Park. Bar & restaurant on site. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was some construction in an adjoining room and in the stairwell that was very loud and distracting, though it was only during the day so we were only minimally disturbed. It still would have been nice for the desk staff to warn guests on the days it was happening. The building shows its age, so lacks a few modern amenities, but not a problem unless you absolutely need central heating, an exhaust fan in the bathroom, and charging points near your bed.

    Fantastic location! Just steps from English Bay, Robson Street, Stanley Park, and well-connected by public transit. The staff was friendly and attentive. The room was lovely and you didn't get a lot of street noise even though we were on the 2nd floor. The building itself is iconic and full of history.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The staff was wonderful and very helpful, the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable, food was beyond fantastic and the view ..........doesn't get much better. its within walking distance or a short water taxi away from attractions that could keep you occupied and loving it for days.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction noise during our meal was not fun. Newspapers delivered to the door would’ve been nice. Also room service menu was not obvious.

    The room was more modern and spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small fridge, wine glasses and bottle opener would've been nice :)

    The staff treat you like a guest in their home rather than a customer! Great food!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel doesn't have the same charm inside. Looks old requiring maintenance. WiFi was terrible.

    Location is excellent. Staffs are very kind and helpful. Hotel is a heritage building, instantly liked it seeing from the outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No desk in the room, noisy from inside construction?

    Location on English Bay, restaurant, steak quite possibly best I’ve ever had, parking, comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view was of buildings and parking areas but we could have asked to be on the water side.

    The location was excellent for: acess to the biking rentals, views of the bay, walking along the shoreline.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can think of anything really. The decor is dated but that is part of the charrm. Like going home.

    Its a fine old hotel with a really killer view of English Bay. The lounge is comfy and the restaurant is superb. Very pet friendly and not just the staff. The other travellers love dogs too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi was slow and not great in the room.

    Location was great! Staff have a button to push for taxi service within 5 to 10 minutes. Friendly and helpful staff. Bar, restaurant and other services available, good food and atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their pillows could be upgraded. Some of the bathrooms need some upgrading.

    Staff is great. Location for cost is excellent. This is not your fancy, modern highrise hotel. It was built in 1921 it’s a beautiful classic hotel, great restaurant and bar overlooking the water.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view of the water, walking the seawall, proximity to restaurants and bars as well as the ambiance of the lounge at the hotel, excellent food and great service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a grand old dame in need of some modernization. That said it’s well run with great staff and lovely reminder of an older and more relaxed era. I love it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor water pressure when taking a shower in the morning but we just waited and took a shower in the afternoon when most people were out and about.

    We are glad that we booked the kitchenette for our stay. The room was very clean and spacious. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, utensils, small appliances,stove and good size refrigerator. The king size bed was very comfortable. We felt as though we were staying in a one bedroom apartment rather than a hotel. Perfect location for shopping,beach combing,walking,bicycling,restaurants or just relaxing. Once there you don’t need to use your car since most everything you need is within walking distance. Our dog had a great time too! Love that they are pet friendly. Staff were fantastic so friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room was a litte blah -- could have had more character in the decor.

    The bed was really comfy and as I said before it was so quiet in my room. Also the views from the dinning room and bar are great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First room on the 7th floor was old, no thermastat to control room temps. Very old bathroom. Waiters in the restaurant and bar would leave a bill and not return in a reasonable time. I had to find them to pay. Bar was the worst. Wait staff need to "take care of the customers"

    After voicing complaint about the old room we we given, the second room was excellent. Staff was very accomodating about changing rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything .

    Location , Location , Location. , easy access to everything. Live Music on Wed.& Thursday . I was there for 5 days and I am so happy to have chosen the Sylvia Hotel . The very best.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a bit dated (on 2nd floor), but comfortable beds and very clean.

    Great old hotel rignt across from English bay at south end of Stanley Park. Easy walking to Granville Island and downtown along mostly residential streets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction started in the hallway before 9:00am on Jan 2nd.... It was a little loud for a bit and we were clearly awakened

    We arrived early and it was very busy, however the staff greeted us and still found a way for us to check in early . We were there to do the polar bear swim. They even upgraded us to a room with a view :)

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: