Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Novotel Toronto Centre 3 stars

45 The Esplanade, M5E 1W2 Toronto, Canada

#40 of 133 hotels in Toronto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1762 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was out of action during our stay. Our room was opposite the Spaghetti Bar which was noisy at night. Request a room on the opposite side of the building.

    It is close to the city centre and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing - for the price, we were very very happy. There were still renos happening, but all effort was made to not just minimise but remove any inconvenience. We wanted to take the staff home with the pillows, but they are all happy Torontians and just enjoy making their guests happy - lovely crew, every one. Thank you for a brilliant stay

    - the pillows - we wanted to take them with us they were so fluffy - newly renovated property, our room was very chic and a joy to be in - there are some teething probs, in the bathroom, but they know about it and we managed without any effort - there are some very happy eating places over the road - good food, lots of activity and seriously lovely people to meet and talk to - there is a bus coming along the same street to take you wherever

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is undergoing renovations which is not clear on the website. This led to small problems such as no pop machines on the floors (despite signs directing you to them) -- handled by staff giving away free Coke when asked about the machines. More important to me since I am still doing rehab on a replaced knee is that the pool and fitness centre were closed during. You could use the Royal York pool but the thought of parading in my bathing suit and cover-up through city streets was daunting and wearing regular clothes and carrying swim gear would require a locker and a lock, etc., which I was not sure would be available. The proximity to the Sony Centre was essentially on the doorstep so could not be better.

    Staff were very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for visiting Toronto, walking distance to Yonge st, harbour and st Lawrence market. Excellent bars and restaurants right across the street

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out from Centre but an acceptable distance IF rate was better . EXPensive- perhaps all Toronto hotels are Breakfast should have been included at this rate

    V nice hotel Well kempt. Nice staff . quiet room - and can’t blame Them For other v noisy quests

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite expensive but you have to expect that for downtown Toronto.

    We really did like the room and everything was very modern and updated. I did call two times and asked for a room that would not be near any renovations. There were renovations in a room on the fifth floor which is where we stayed but we were at the end of the hall so it did not bother us. The bed was very firm and comfortable and so are the pillows. The shower was fantastic. Everything was very clean and the breakfast was superb although a little bit on the cool side as we came towards the end of the buffet time. They have nice tables with linens and servers to bring you coffee and tea. We would stay there again as it is an excellent location and a very safe feeling street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the cafe was overpriced.

    The bed was very comfortable, the room was spotless and attractive. Although the pool was closed we were offered a pass to use the pool at the Royal York. We did that and it was lovely. We needed to store our luggage for several hours and that was handled cheerfully by the front desk clerks. Altogether a very pleasant experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No luggage trolleys available upon arrival, no in-room movies available.

    Great location, convenient parking, clean, newly renovated rooms, comfortable beds, quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed for renovation but just bad timing on our end

    Staff was very knowledgeable and welcoming and the rooms were beautifully renovated and updated and the location to everything we needed was perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only quibble I would have is the cable package could have been better. Not a lot of channels. Also having to use your key card on the elevators is a little inconvenient.

    The renovations to the rooms was a great improvement. The WI fi is now free instead of paying after a day and worked great. Even the mattress was better. The added mini fridge helped a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed that the pool was closed. We would have expected to be informed of this in advance

    Very helpful/engaging staff. Extremely comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some noise from renovations during the day only.

    The bed was so comfy...made me want to sleep in all day, but with the location there are so many great things to see within walking distance!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Replenishment of teabags somewhat inconsistent.

    The bed was very comfortable and room well appointed and clean Staff helpful and friendly. Complimentary wifi.Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location was excellent and very quite, for being in a major business area of the city. Despite on going Reno's the hotel did a great job on the inconvenient level to the patrons. We enjoyed the variety of eateries and the local St Lawrence Market.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Still some teething problems with the design of the shower. Water is currently finding it way unto the bathroom floor.

    The newly refurbished rooms are designed with the modern day traveller in mind. Plenty of ports for charging electronic devices, spacious flat surface in the bathroom (female travellers needs often overlooked), mirrors and lighting both in the bedroom and bathroom were excellent. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows have set a new standard in what I will look for in other hotels in the future. The location of the hotel made it extremely easy to partake in the all the delights Toronto has to offer. Well done Novotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The website gave no indication that the hotel was being renovated, and that the fitness room and pool were closed because of said renovations. We only found out about the renovations, which were annoying, when we checked in and we didn't find out that the pool and fitness room were closed until we tried to find them. I am not impressed with Novotel's attempt to cover this up in order to get business. In addition, our room was not very clean. The quality of this hotel has gone down and I will not be staying at it again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extensive renovation going on during our recent stay. One afternoon it sounded like a me a road drill inside , it stopped about 5.30. Staff coping well with work going on around them. The workmen were polite and efficient.

    Good sized room with 2 queen sized beds , excellent bathroom and tv. Good eating places across the street. Close to union station with lots to do in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The newly renovated room was very nice, the beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was fantastic, big and very comfortable. After a long flight from Europe it was a very good 2 days to stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price I would have expected a few more extra's. For example, the bathroom amenities did not include a douche cap. Also, there was no minibar and the bar in the lobby was just closing (at 23 PM) when I arrived at the hotel and could not let me have the glas of beer I was so thirsty for.

    The room was nice and big and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV Channel Selection was poor. Fan AC didn't seem to be working correctly, way too hot at night. Too expensive for what you get.

    Clean, big TV, great location, staff were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of construction, pool closed and no one said this upon booking, prices were rediculously high considering the construction, no deals offered upon finding out about renovations (most specifically the hammer drills starting at 8:00am) which were not disclosed even on check in, closed pool and the poor renovation jobs in the room. Not a good place for kids until construction is done.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC loud when on, coffee/tea maker too complicated, door not sound proof, breakfast expensive.

    Everything near perfect - super comfy bed, blackout curtains, excellently placed extra large screen TV, both bedroom and bathroom spacious, very clean, furniture/carpets/lights in the refurbished rooms elegant, St Lawrence Market on the same street, Union Sq round the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    at first we had a room we did not prefer and when i went down to ask for a room change with no questions asked the change with no questions asked they changed our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was terrible . the toilet would not function at all and the front desk said they would send someone up later. there was no hot water at all for showers in the morning.

    the rooms were beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As the hotel was undergoing renovations some facilities like the pool and gym were not available so I thought it was expensive considering that.

    Newly renovated rooms were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No swimming pool. Workmen started drilling at 8.30 am when we were still asleep. We think breakfast should have been included as the facilities were not available

    beds bathroom tv

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    #1-Check in was so slow and after thst we had to go back from the 5th floor to the front desk, 2 times to change the passes because it wasn’t working #2- peaple were walking in the hallway between 2:00 and 3:00 am and talking so loud, loud enough to wake us up at leadt 3 times Breakfast buffet was so nasty, you can have a much bettet food at any restaurant around that area for that price.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot tub and pool were not available during our stay. The internet was very slow. Did not like the fact that we had to pay ($25.50 US) for parking and that the rate didn't include at least a basic breakfast.

    The room was very nicely appointed and the bathroom shower was excellent. The location of the hotel was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The king size room was renovated and very spacious. Room was very clean and good matteress. We will be back for sure. It is few steps away from Sony centre theater.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything that we didn't like, it was all great.

    It smelt so wonderful and clean everywhere, it was so close to everything we needed to go. Thank you for your efforts and time to make our stay safe and memorable. We will recommend you to our friends and family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on the 3rd expecting a gym and swimming pool. Under renovation and they said they told booking.com......we were given the option for a 10min walk to use the facilities of another hotel. Not the same when pay for a hotel with it in. The TV then never worked for 4 days. They gave us the option to use the TV in another room, but couldn’t stay in that room as it was up for renovation soon. They finally sorted ours out and on the last day it went again. We told them in the morning and expected it working when we got back in. No. Told the afternoon reception who said he would sort it. Heard nothing and got fed up waiting. Went back to a bar.... The place is being complete renovated. They told us workers wouldn’t start til 9am. 7.45 they were tapping away on the 12th.

    Cheshire

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no security in the parking area - which you pay for parking - which is a huge issue for safety. This is not a great part of the city and you are left very vulnerable.

    Some staff did try to assist but others made you feel as though you were in the way and inconveniencing them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was renovation construction going on during business hours but It didn't bother us as we were out most of the day.

    The,room was newly renovated and was,well appointed and comfortable. Location was outstanding and value was unbeatable. A fantastic experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not get a printed receipt when checking out, but did have one emailed to me. My debit was initially overcharged, but was corrected within two days. This in a "pain" because for that amount of time my checking account was underfunded. I called the hotel and they told me it would soon be corrected, but still annoying. I know this happens with other charges at other places too.

    Clean, friendly/helpful staff, good location near Sony Centre and the price was right.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool and hot tub were originally to be done with remodeling and reopening April 1. At the last minute we noticed it was pushed back to April 15. Therefore, the pool and hot tub was not open for our stay which was one of the main points of booking there. Did not have enough time to research and book somewhere else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were extremely accommodating and helpful. My original room that we booked for 2 couples was still under renovation. They offered us a free upgrade to 2 king rooms. Amazing customer service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside is parking is not included, at $33/night. We ended up parking on the street overnight.

    The rooms are newly renovated, and interior design was contemporary and sleek! Love it completely!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Incredible price due to renovation going on. We were not effected at all by Reno.

    Perfect location to sightsee. Love the old Toronto feel of the area Short walking distance to all major attractions. Subway station very close to head North to the ROM and blood district

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While we knew there were ongoing renovations, we didn’t know the pool was closed. The 5th floor view into the rear parking garage was not ideal but it wasn’t a big issue.

    Room was neat and tidy, was a great value for downtown Toronto and the location in the Esplanade was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked a room with two queen beds online. When I arrived they told me that due to renovations, there were no such rooms available. I was not happy. They gave me two King rooms instead, and the second room was complimentary. At least they did the right thing after screwing up. Pool wasnt available due to renovations. that kinda sucked too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was offered 2 king size bed rooms (the second complementary) due to renovations. I emailed back saying that would be fine, but disappointed when given a room that matched my original reservation. My daughter was going to have a bath, but decided against that when she saw a couple of short curly hairs in the tub.

    Waiters for dinner and breakfast were extremely courteous and friendly. Meals were very good. Room was very quiet throughout the night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were horrible. The pillows horrible. The hotel was under Reno's and we were not told prior to check in. They couldn't find my reservation and somehow had booked it under my husband when I was the one who booked it. The pool was closed. The gym they had set up whole under reno was terrible. I wanted water one late evening and there was not even a vending machine on location. I asked to towels. Still waiting. I still don't know how much I was charged for the stay. I never received a receipt. Usually one comes under the door. Nope. Honestly I have stayed at this hotel many times. The beds have never been this bad. Felt it was not up to par at all. We are planning a stay in the summer but probably not at this hotel.

    The hotel is close to downtown. Walk to all attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was like a highway motel, furniture outdated, in poor shape. Beds were uncomfortable with terrible mattresses, linen was second rate and 2 pillows only per bed. Not what I expected in downtown Toronto. Arrived at 330, room not ready, housekeeping did not answer calls for when room would be ready. Came back 50 minutes later and there was 1 person at reception with a lineup trying to register, waited an additional 20 minutes to register again. How can a hotel in downtown Toronto on the day of a leafs game with many guests arriving only schedule 1 person at reception. Also 1 printer not working so the receptionist was running around to print. If there was a day manager on duty, he should be held accountable for this poor service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    Staff taking care of rooms were very nice and accommodating. I was VERY disappointed the pool was NOT available and NOWHERE did I read this was so when booking. Price of room way too high with one less very important to me, facility!@@!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and smell of renovations. Plus we were not informed the pool was closed. Discounts should be offered during renovations if amenities are limited!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Construction noise was very unpleasant. We were on vacation, and wanted to sleep in, but the noise was annoying. 2. We did not enjoy the view of the parking structure. 3. One of the reception people that we dealt with was very stiff and not so friendly, not unfriendly but did not make us want to ask him for further advice or help. On another day, the reception person was quite nice and helpful.

    Some small things aside, was a very pleasant facility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none it was excellent

    everything was great I highly recommend this hotel staff was excellent close to the downtown area subway near by. staff was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is centrally located and has large very comfortable rooms. The staff are helpful and the onsite restaurant breakfast buffet was delicious. We stayed for two days and will return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed for renovations and we didn't know before we got there so that was disappointing.

    The staff was friendly and accomodating and the hotel was close to the show we were going to. The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excel;lent bed mattress pillows parts of the hotel are under construction....extreme noise between 9and 5. If your room is away from the noise it is a good place to stay Staff are doing their best to cope. Management should have the good sense to shur down some of the rooms affected by the noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool, no hot tub. Took 30 minutes to check in on a Thursday afternoon. Hotel was under renovations so there was noise in the room from 9am till 5pm. You could not be in the room due to the noise. The room safe was not attached to anything. Only one coffe cup in room. Both door “keys” did not work which required an extra trip through the horrible check in process. Staff was unaccommodating.

    Locatio

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was not good, hotel room design was very modern, not comfortable. There was only one chair in the room, at the desk, one of us had to sit on the bed.

    Location was within walking distance of air canad centre which is where our concert was.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed of renovations of rooms or pool until we arrived. We also had issues with key cards. We had th get a total of 3 sets for a 2 night stay.there was no fridge in our room. Also...we could hear every door open and close near our room.

    Bathroom was nice. Room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was a little slow for some folks. Offered side by side doubles when double not available. Had to decline because one of us is only 12. No adjoining rooms available. And a cot is not a good option!

    The location is the draw! Just walk to EVERYTHING! Rates are reasonable. Renovated rooms are modern and clean with large screen TV. A couple of glitches due to construction so we got complimentary buffet breakfasts. Appreciated the upgrades.Outstanding service from Angela!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge and the coffee maker could have been a bit bigger

    Lovely location near the ACC and restaurants and bars. The shower was amazing, bed comfortable and large, TV screen was a nice large flat screen

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was weak, we had no hot water in the shower and they started drilling into the wall next door in the morning. Staff seemed unaware of the drilling but they did restore the hot water. There was no functioning mini fridge instead there was a cooler but I never found any ice.

    Coffee and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in, we were told that we would be staying in a newly renovated room. Unfortunately, some forgot to tell housekeeping that the work was complete and the workmen had left as the room was quite dusty and still needed some finishing touches. Breakfast was included with our room. Unfortunately “to go” coffee to bring back to our room wasn’t. This issue was taken care of at check out.

    Location was perfect as we were attending a hockey game at the ACC.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small fridge would have been nice and the price of the breakfast included in room price. Also wish all the extra prices were shown up front when you book the room on line.

    The room was excellent, the staff were great, the food was very good, the location very close to entertainment area, restaurants and train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were renevations on at the time from 9-5 which can’t be helped. The pillows were very hard so a selection of soft ones would have been good.

    The room was large, with a spacious bathroom, plenty of storage and a very large and comfortable bed. The location for me was fantastic and walking distance to everywhere in downtown I was going to. It was comfortable to come back to, with easy control of the room temperature and free wifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to have told the pool was closed for 3 months.

    The location for everything we wanted to do was excellent, the staff was so friendly!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room and everything else, when you book 2 months ahead you expect to get the room style you booked. ( 1 room 2 beds, not 1 bed and a cot, which seem like it was from 1960, ) The staff just couldn't care that they screwed up, or take ownership for the mistake. Their answer was well we are under renovation, well how does that become the customer problem when they book 2 months in advance. Also their web site say they are under renovation and it will not affect their services. The pool is closed, but you can walk down the street 3 blocks and use the Royal York's pool, they have an agreement to use the pool there. ( if it was me I would just book at the Royal York ) I am sure this hotel will be great once the renovation are done. also if you are traveling for business it would be good, just make sure you get a room that has been renovated and do not expect much from the staff

    I'm sure that once there renovation are done it will be a nice hotel. The location is a good spot is you want to be downtown and near the ACC.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was major construction at the hotel. On the website it only notes that the pool is under construction. The entire place is. Expect loud hammering noise between 8am-5pm. Not great if you need to work from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    remote didn't work no vending machine ice machine was destroyed dirt on floor of bathroom shabby room air conditioner was broken in lobby bathroom and no papertowel We checked out early

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction and upgrades are always a necessity I understand to keep properties up to date...unfortunately I booked this hotel as it had a pool but it was down during the construction going on during our 5 day stay.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not get the room that I Booked. I booked 2 queen beds and I got a king. Front desk told me they cannot guarantee the type of room when booking. No ice machines. 2 lights did not work.

    The bathroom was nice and we'll equipped.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was poorly made up. Pillows were not placed on the beds. They were all piled on the end table. So the finishing touches on the room were not complete. The fridge is not a proper fridge.

    It was central to everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We look forward to the renovations. The chair and sofa/daybed were a little tired and the room could use a bit of updating.

    Room was clean, large and very well set up, with outlets, lights and mirrors in all the right places. The bed was very comfortable. Appreciated the nightlight in the bathroom - no need to use a flashlight or turn on the overhead light.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking offering is very unclear and pricing variable. Person after me at check in was told parking was $4 /day cheaper than what was said to me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable Fan in room was very loud There was construction going on that was loud and started early in the building

    Staff friendly Clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    convenient location, fast friendly check in ( we were able to check in early after long drive) all staff courteous, comfy rooms, big bathrooms, would definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked, I didn’t realize the pool was closed. I had stayed at this hotel and knew of the pool so had no reason to check the Novotel website. As we had booked the trip for Family Day, I was disappointed to learn the pool was closed as were my kids. Also, as a paying customer of the hotel, I found the price for parking expensive.

    The hotel location was fantastic and allowed us to easily walk to our destinations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noisy. I think there was contruction / renovations going on. That was my major complaint.

    Reception staff were very friendly. Pleasure to deal with.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that you decided it would be a good idea to do construction at 9am on a Saturday morning. We had another hotel guest come banging on our door accusing us of using an impact drill making a ridiculous amount of noise, causing us to get out of bed and deal with him. And when I complained to front desk, all you guys had to say was that it’s listed on your website that the hotel is under construction. Change your construction hours. Obviously I’m not going to enjoy my stay if I get woken up early on a Saturday!!

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our check in was a mess! They gave our friends the wrong room (it was already occupied!) And on Saturday morning there was a loud drilling noise that woke us up, the drilling started around 9am and was still going when we left. We were at a concert and had a late night so the drilling was not a great way to wake up

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Room service" was a pick up service.

    Good service at check in. When we got to room it was very stuffy and smelly. I went downstairs and spoke with the front desk and they were very quick to switch my room which was great. Other than that, no issues

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Novotel Toronto Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: