Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Universel 3 stars

2300 Chemin Sainte Foy, G1V 1S5 Quebec City, Canada

#90 of 104 hotels in Quebec City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1793 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not impress room is not up to date extension cord to plug lamps fridge etc....view from our room poor .for the price I would not recommend .Was dissapointed stayed the night before at Lindbergh what a differences I would recommende that place prices lower breakfast included...accommodation up to date

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    my telephone room didn't work, and at least I thought you should put a bottle of water since there's a coffee machine and coffee in the room. I asked for a no smoking room but I smell smoke in my bathroom, guess it is from another room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would have been nice if they changed our sheets at least once during our stay. The onsite restaurant says they begin room service at 11am, but when I called to order I was told it didn't start until 4pm. As our room overlooked the pool it was very noisy between 9am and 10pm daily, especially on the weekend when kids were constantly running up and down the hallways.

    The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the room was huge! The pool facilities were very clean and well kept. Onsite massage therapist was incredible too. The location was very close to a lot of wonderful restaurants and a grocery store which was great considering we had a fridge in the room. We were only a 10 minute drive from Old Quebec and it was an easy drive, so made for a much less touristy stay, but still with easy access to a lot of tourist activities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one bedside table and lamp due to the layout of the room so not easy for two people to each read in bed. Lamp was not very bright either. TV remotes not working well. Loo seat wobbly. All reported to reception.

    As a tea drinker I loved having a kettle in the room. Good shower. Comfy bed and pillow

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no parking. We book the rooms without knowing they would be separated from the hotel. At the beginning it wasn’t a big problem but when there is no parking it is not nice at all to walk ten minutes to go to bed.

    It was close to the Albert Rousseau college were our show was.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We rented a "Deluxe Room". The front desk staff and manager were not very nice. No smiles. I did not feel welcome when we arrived. They gave me the impression that Booking.com customers don't deserve as good treatment as regular travelers. When we arrived at our room it was very hot in the room and the A/C was not working. We requested a room change and were told it would cost extra. We were given another room, but the bath tub plug was broken... so.. no relaxing bath. The door to our balcony did not close properly so the noise from the pool area was quite disturbing. About the only good thing about our stay was the pool area, which was quite beautiful!

    The swimming pool and decor in the pool area was beautiful. The balcony in our room was great. Cleaning staff was very helpful. The room was very large and nicely set up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and hotub should be available to adults over 18 from 10 to midnight. Could not go in the time allowed because too much kids. I was dessapointed...

    Alot of space in our room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise the heater made all night, the fact that the washroom door would lock and you needed a quarter to open it. The bed was uncomfortable and sheets had stains on them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not the room we were expecting, the beds were not comfortable the bathroom door was to close to the toillet bowl the shower curtain was broken and ripped and the curtain pole was also broken! We could not sleep we heard everything out of our room ! And also for the size of the hotel the pool is wayyyy to small it would get crowded very fast ! We will not be going back to this hotel ! Thank you

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we booked through bookings.com was actually a studio room at another building called UNILOFT near the hotel (Don’t be fooled!). It was a in a very sketchy location and had to walk outside in the cold after checking in. My wife and I were not comfortable with it so we decided to book another room within the hotel. My wife was looking forward to a spa but could not even contact anyone from the spa place.

    The location was not too far from the main attractions

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool We were staying at the loft We had to cross over at - 35. For a Nordic spa they did not have a nice bathroom with locker room. Everything was in the hallway on a separate floor. Too many people and kids hogging the pools and the sauna It was nasty I did not go in the water. Never returning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s located just a few minutes away from old Quebec and there are a lot of restaurants near the area (the shopping center as well). The check in is super fast and the staff if very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internal noises echoed with hard flooring.

    Unilodge room was clean, comfortable and well organised. Facilities for self-catering. Close to very regular bus for travel into city. Handy to bar, restaurants, shops. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were horrendous. Most uncomfortable I've ever slept on. Only 2 handicap parking spots that we could find and usually they were full.

    The size of the room was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hallways end entrances to the rooms could be better marked and lit. The rooms are tight together. The busloads of teams that stayed there.

    Location by the university and hip neighborhood. The pool, spa room was neat. The connected Boston Pizza restaurant. The easy, free open parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. The bed made a lot of noise, the bathroom was very small, the heating was noisy, we could hear the toilet flushing of the suites above.

    The location and although I did not try it, the pool area was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been more friendly.

    Accessibility to Old Quebec City. Also clean and quiet room. We were in the studio rooms with some kitchen amenities which we liked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is 15 minutes by bus to Old Quebec City. Take the city bus number 807 across the street.

    The pool and hot tub was really nice. Rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to old Quebec would be nice if closer. But traffic not an issue...about 20 min drive. Parking once you get there is crazy though. But worth the drive to unwind at the hotel.

    Amazing!! Has a Nordic spa and tropical pool area to enjoy. Feels like you are at a resort. Our room overlooked the pool area with comfy chairs and bistro set. We had a king size bed and seating area. A pull out couch too. A jacuzzi tub with doors opening out too. Loved it!! Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The noise from the Pizza place near the accommodation - but this was due to the lack of consideration from other guests rather than the hotel staff/management. When that particular crowd departed it was bliss!

    We stayed in the Unilofts which were more than adequate for our needs. There was coffee maker on site, microwave, kettle, hot plate all necessary implements to cook and eat in our studio apartments.The rooms were cleaned daily with provision of fresh towels and face cloths.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was small and got crowded quick. The bathroom had cob webs behind the bathroom door and in the room around the ceiling. We requested a microwave for the room due to my medical condition that requires me to warm a mask for my eyes. We were told they would try to get one but until then they told me where I could use one. Then upon leaving we noticed there were microwaves not being use in a storage room in the basement.

    Staff was friendly and happy to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet of our room was very dirty. Dusty. We even saw a bottle of water behind the table, which tells us that they're not cleaning properly.

    The pool and the jacuzzi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything

    The room was dirty the corners around the tub had build up the bed was as hard as a rock we booked the room for 3 there was enough coffee in the room for 2 the pool area was nice but small the entire hotel smelled like dirty pool water. Do not go there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the room small, TV/cable limited channels and several poor quality. No view from our room, too white in the room felt as if the kids would stain everything. Weird smell in the halls

    3 big pillows per bed, bed was comfy, atrium/pool was well done and inviting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in Quebec city to celabrate our 30th wedding anniversary :) We took an AML boat tour including dinner and fireworks :)))) Our stay was perfect Thanks again, Johanne & Richard from Hawkesbury, On

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not have windows to the outside. Very dark and dreary. The old style air conditioner was so loud it kept us up all night.

    Location was good. Pool and hot tub looked good.The size of the roim was large.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the Parking, my bumper cover was stolen during my stay, and my brand new vehicle has been scratched.

    Everything, especially the Manager.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Queen Bed with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kichenette not equipped and not clean Bathroom fan and air condiontioning horrendous noise Not renovated as they advertise

    pool Hot tub Bed Room size

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    not enough staff to accommodate us when we arrived, also we're requesting extra toothbrush, soap . cup and coffee but wasnt able to provide it

    the location is nice and easy to locate

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old. One of the bed mattress was broken. To adjust the temperature of the bathroom water faucet it was difficult. The bathroom was very small.

    The pool area was cool for the kids! It's why we choose this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine did not work properly, wifi kept dropping out, the smell of chlorine was overwhelming and no breakfast available unless we went to Boston pizza which was overpriced

    The location

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a small kitchenette which was nice because we wanted to be able to prepare a light breakfast for ourselves before our day. The room wasn't huge, but it had more than everything we needed! The building is separated into two, so we were apart from the main hotel. We stayed in the 'lofts'. At first we were nervous about that but once we saw the room we were very happy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV has standard definition signal, would be nice if it was HD. Also most of the channels have to be ordered. However this was a minor issue as we weren't there to watch tv. The window could have some thicker curtains to prevent people from seeing inside your room. Only an issue on the lower floors.

    Loved the location and facilities. It was great that parking was right in front and there was a boston pizza right next door. Also having a pool was a nice surprise. The room was an adaquate size and fit our needs perfectly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No information in rooms regarding tv channels. We had to have our tv reset as only 7 channels, all french when we arrived. Beds slanted to one side or the other. Cleaning staff did not replenish shampoo, tp, soap, coffee and tea until the day before we left, so we had to ask daily for things we needed. No printing availability for check in for airport to get paper boarding passes.

    Staff very friendly, quiet atmosphere. Pool area, sauna, whirpool and cold small pool well used. Boston Pizza attached was a good assist. Could have been a restaurant that would have provided breakfast for greater need of those staying there, although both Starbucks and Tim Horton's short walk away. Restaurants in mall food court good bang for buck, expecially Thai. Computer in lobby for emails, etc. Great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lofts are situated in a separate building and some of them are in the basement, unfortunately ours too. At the moment of the booking that wasn't indicated, so we were a bit disappointed. The cleanliness of the facilities could be improved.

    The location is great to visit Québec with a car, the city center is easily reachable within a 15 minutes drive. The bed was comfortable and the room big enough for a couple of days. The spa is perfect for relaxing after a lond day sightseeing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist gave me initially a room without window or balcony. It was like a big elevator. I told him I can not take it. He said I can give you another room but with extra $40 per night. I rejected and when he saw me trying to contact booking.com and search for another hotel he told me I found a room for you as another customer changed her reservation. But the hotel was completely booked. Also air conditioner was not working properly.

    Location and price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning staff who checked us out was EXTREMELY rude as we only spoke English she refused to even look at us. Don't get me wrong; we didn't come here to watch tv, but if this is important to you, be prepared to have 4 channels Our room 435 was such a bad room anyone who walked by our door would make the entire bed move as the floor was quite weak. Metal door kept slamming and waking us up

    Nice concept with the pool and hot tub with the lounge and the birds. The gentleman who checked us in was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked from the hotel universal website showing hotel amenities, pool....but we're surprised at check in when we were directed two doors down on a rainy day to their 'loft' accommodation in a completely separate building. Though our reservation did say studio loft, we had no idea it was in separate building. Ice machine didn't work.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not a spa at all. Its a family hotel. Kids everywhere and very loud.

    The bed was sooooo uncomfortable that we literally could barely move each morning! I even tried the pull out couch which was not any better! I was ready to sleep on the floor by day 4! Never again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dislike giving g a bad review, however the owners/management of this hotel need to take a close look at their rooms and the cleanliness. TV broken, ironing board broken, sink cracked, headboard had rip and foam exposed, wall paper coming off the walls, mildew forming on tiles in shower, overall cleanliness was poor and there is no room ventilation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had no closet was dingy old and tired despite an attempt to upgrade the small bathroom. The hallways were dingy old and smelled.

    Boston Pizza and the pool area were fine. Eveything else was subpar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were very hard; building had an artificial sweet smell which made you wonder what they were covering up.

    Good water pressure in the shower. Staff were all pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not within walking distance from Old Quebec City.

    I loved that the floors were laminated in the room, not carpet. Bed was very comfy and the hotel offers free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not ready by the four o'clock check in time. Had to wait about another half hour. Also when I booked the room, it said that breakfast was included, but apparently that was not the case.

    The staff were helpful. Explained how we could get a bus downtown, to save money on a cab. It was nice having a Boston Pizza on sight. It was hepful that hotel and restaurant staff were able to speak English, as we didn't speak any French.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was too small for the amount of people in the hotel. It seemed to be the size of a backyard pool. One could not feel comfortable or swim when there were more than 10 people in the pool. The windows could be replaced or fixed as our windows in our rooms had no locks on them and the screens were missing. So if you were the right size anyone could enter your room at any time, although they would have to be small. Our grandchildren were able to crawl through them to the walkway outside, so if you have small children it would be a worry. They need more parking, if you did not get back before 7 p.m. you were lucky to get a parking spot. One night they had people parking in the driveway at the entrance to the hotel.

    Staff was very friendly and would use English or French. Location was close to shopping and lots of choices in places to eat. Short drive into Old Quebec City. Was quiet at night and comfortable beds. We were there for 3 days and room was cleaned and bedding changed everyday. I felt quite comfortable going out for a cigarette at 2:00 a.m. Front desk personnel were always present no matter what time of day or night and no rift raft hanging about inside or outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't specify on the website that the room we booked was not in the main hotel building.

    Nice studio apartment style rooms (in the uniloft pavilion portion of the hotel)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room, very little noise insulation, we felt everyone around was using our bathroom. It was in bad shape, holes in the wall, paint coming off. It looked as if it was in the middle of a renovation.

    Lots of parking space. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i reached after a really long drive front desk ppl first said there is mno booking under my name then after the argument they find the room. Biggest issue is the language only find 1 person who is really speak and understand english. When my stay is over staff came up at the door its 11'o clock i got small kids and when i ask the front desk for time extension they simply said only 1 hr in a rude manner 12 means 12 not 12:05

    Hotel itself is excellant but the front desk staff is most vulnerable i have ever face no courtesy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean, the room was dimly lit, the bathroom was poorly lit with only one light, which went out the morning we checked out, the a/c made a constant ticking noise through the night, the room had no carpet, only hardwood, and had not been mopped or thoroughly cleaned in quite some time as evidenced by our blackened feet, the beds were hard, and we feel we got a worse deal going through Trivago to book (which directed us through booking.com) than if we'd dealt with the hotel directly.

    We liked nothing about this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! The experience was awful and the treatment incredible rude. They didn't let us use our CAA card to get a discount they have because we booked through booking.com. We asked for help and nobody couldn't but the manager said I was suppose to insist and ask for her. She was extremely rude and unprofessional. Nobody wrote our issues so there was no record of all the problems we had night we arrived and the other nights. We stayed 3 nights but everything was booked so we had to sucked in and let it pass.

    Nothing! The experience was awful and the treatment incredible rude. They didn't let us use our CAA card to get a discount they have because we booked through booking.com. We asked for help and nobody couldn't but the manager said I was suppose to insist and ask for her. She was extremely rude and unprofessional. Nobody wrote our issues so there was no record of all the problems we had night we arrived and the other nights. We stayed 3 nights but everything was booked so we had to sucked in and let it pass.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room after cleaning was ,very dirty The cleaner forgot trush and it own drinking bottles

    Very good location Good restaurant variety walking distance Bus station to the old town nearby Excellent indoor pool and spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be friendlier. Room did not look anything like what was depicted on the website. Bathroom was moldy and disgusting. Had to call housekeeping a second time after they did not respond after one hour to our initial request for additional blankets (there were none on the bed). The kitchenette had none of the equipment listed as available to use.

    The reception area looked nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not have an adequate supply of towels and would not leave enough for the four of us, they did not have enough pool towels, the facility was not very clean and the staff was not friendly or accommodating. The pool and hot tub were very small and the sauna did not work properly. Although the rating came up as a 4, it is more of a 2.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic and tired. More like a dorm than hotel. Not even any pictures hung in room, nothing like the pictures.

    The pool was unique my kids liked it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing I we didn't like except that the hairdryer and the bathroom fan in our weren't working but other than that everything was perfect!

    Amazing hotel with great amenities!! Plus you don't need to go far for a pool or place to eat or for drinks!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Property is not maintained at all In 6 nights the room has been cleaned up only one time after I complain to reception Have to turn off air conditioner during night time because it is so loud that no one can sleep All faucets are faulty and leaking Doors are creaking and very hard to close Oven has a wrong size of burners so everything you put on them stays on angle Hotel has a very good pool (small but nice) unfortunately saunas didn't work infra red one doesn't work at all and the regular one has bare wires close to the switch (located under the heater! ) so it a bit dangerous to turn it on

    indoor pool is good to have

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was only moderately clean , fixtures in room and hallways were in poor condition ,broken window in door to lower lobby,bed was terribly uncomfortable

    Boston pizza in same building is good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Queen Bed with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, modern and clean rooms. Friendly staff with speedy check in and check out. The spa area was lovely. After walking around Old Quebec, it was a quick and easy drive to the hotel. It was vey pleasant relaxing in the spa area with a glass of wine and pizza right from Boston Pizza on site. Would stay here again if we visit the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were super hard and uncomfortable. Bad lighting everywhere including in the bathroom. The bathroom was tiny with no counter space. Also didn't find the shower and tub the cleanest. Super disappointed for the high price. It looked so much better on photos and thought it be nice for our anniversary since I paid over 300$ for one night! I would never return or recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our rooms was not ready - no shower curtain, toiletries and staff slow to respond when we called the desk. Also had a plugged toilet so one bathroom virtually unusable.

    Pool and hot tub area very nice, good restaurant in hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No continental breakfast, no microwave unless you want to pay extra, the beds hard uncomfortable, the spa/pool area did not offer any adult time (was NOT romantic getaway as advetised).

    Location, bus right out front takes tou straight to Old Quebec.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very large--2 queen beds and opened onto a "courtyard" where the pool and hot tub were and that had 2 cages of birds. BUT the bathroom was small. You had to close the door to access the toilet. The sides of the tub were high to step over to take a shower also.

    I was mostly interested in the Old City and the hotel is on the bus line that goes directly to the Old City. Depending on traffic, it is a 25-40 minute ride. I also liked that it is across from Laval University so there are eating places and a mall nearby to cater to the students.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Queen Bed with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar in the hotel was noisy the first night. The room that I booked was occupied so we stayed in a different room the first night.

    Kitchenette in our room. Pool and hot tub. Location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room with Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our second time at Hôtel Universel. It's a really easy 15 min. bus ride to the old city on route 807, so leave your vehicle in the hotel parking lot and avoid parking hassles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We used the Boston Pizza facility attached to the Hotel. While the food and service was great, prices seemed a little higher than we are used to at this restaurant. I paid over $6 (and tipped $2) for 2 cups of coffee (pre breakfast) and then learned coffee was free with breakfast lol. While parking was ample, we initially found it tricky to access the property approaching from the west. This could have easily been resolved on my part by studying an aerial view (google map) of the property prior to arrival.

    A great Hotel for a family with kids. The pool, hot tubs and sauna were not just a great amenity, they were very fun for the kids in the botanical garden like theme. The staff was very friendly and accommodating as our ability to parle en Francais is limited. However, this was not an issue. We will definitely use this property again when traveling through Quebec City and would recommend it to our friends with young kids.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very hospitable. not much of a welcome. Answers to questions were very vague! Dampend the spirit of a holiday!

    Pool was nice! Room was neat.beds were big!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small bathrooms with no counter space. Old building with leftover cigarette smell.

    Pool area was unique but very crowded and overly chlorinated. Good location. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Queen Bed with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath was clogged when we arrived and a certain toxic product was eventually put in it to resolve... staff was polite, but not warm or nice :( the Smell of the chlorine from the pool that we needed to pass in order to access our room was quite awful.

    The room and the bed were bigger than advertised. Staff responded promptly to all our requests. Strong wifi, easy parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Building UNILOFT
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a hotel room there thinking it was in the main hotel however we were put in the unilofts which was pretty much a basement apartment. They didn't offer us compensation or anything.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room air conditioner made funny noises and tried to change rooms but front desk clerk had a great deal of difficulty figuring this out. Feces smeared near poolside both days we were there. Front desk clerk seemed unphased and unapologetic when we informed them, uncertain if there was a language barrier?

    Proximity to restaurant choices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given wasn't clean. The bed hadn't been made, the bathroom was dirty, floors were dirty and there were partially full drinking glasses in the room. We were told the cleaning staff had gone for the day as well. We waited for over 30 minutes and were offered a room for one night and then told we would have to move to a different room for the second night. We told them no - we didn't want to move so they allowed us to stay in the same new room room for two nights. It was a bigger room and very close to the pool (patio door to the pool) so we liked that. We asked that our our room be cleaned the second night and we again noticed the cleaning staff didn't do a good job of cleaning.

    Spa/Pool was fun for the kids. They liked the sauna and hot tub as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service - they have a menu book suggesting they provide room service. I tried to order food from my room a few times as I felt unwell a cuouple of days and the restaurant never answered. At that point the staff at the reception was not helpful either.

    The ambience was nice. Staff members were mostly cheerful and friendly with a couple of exceptions. Rooms are clean and comfortable. They have bus stops right outside the hotel which makes it easy to commute to the city center. Good food served at the restaurant at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After the first night, we were not given any more coffee nor clean cups nor plastic drinking cups. House cleaning was below standard.

    The hot and cold spa.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    less staff always busy counter and tv programs was not working and the working ones was in French....no english channels

    television channels was not working when complain they said can not do anything...parking always full as well ..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Television/ Cable channels were not functional. TV was unable to catch many channels. Kids were bored as there was one Disney Channel and even it was not working. If you come late at night, tired after a long trip, searching for a parking spot is a hassle. Please allocate parking spots to everyone at the time of room reservation. So that they can park at any time at the designated spot.

    Staff was quite friendly. The hotel of location is ideal, as it is centrally located and you can move anywhere easily especially the old city is not far away. Washrooms were clean with all the requirements, beds were comfortable and a nice view of window in the parking lot with abundant sunlight was also the best.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Universel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: