Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Viger 2 stars

1001 Rue Saint-Hubert, H2L 3Y3 Montréal, Canada

#110 of 134 hotels in Montréal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1413 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not even have air conditioning. It was piping hot inside the room. When asked they told the AC will be available only from June 5 and asked us to keep the windows open for air. We didn’t even sleep. Very disappointed. Not staying here anymore.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a very very old and outdated facility with old, tall and somewhat crooked stairs at the front as well as inside. Bsthroom was very tiny with leaking faucet but very clean and supplied with all necessary toiletries. We could not find air conditioner but luckely it was not hot outside and windows could be opened with no mosquitos flying in.

    Staff was reasonably helpful and overall friendly. English was not perfect but they tried their best and it did the job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was extremely spartan, better to skip it and eat out. I really don't know why they even bother. There are no options. One croissant, one coffee or tea, one juice that you pick up on a cheap plastic tray at reception desk. Breakfast room accommodated around 6 people forcing most to take their tray back to their room. And this is only served from 8 to 9.. One of the smallest doubles I've ever encountered. Don't look for a lobby. The carpet in my room was mended with duct tape!

    Nicely located between two metro stations. Walking distance to port, old town, gay village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly .. they helped me out during my stay although I chicked in arounf 3 am in the morning but they were waiting for me and having everything ready.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed only for 1 night, hence it was OK. However the property is very old & doesnt have elevators. Inside space is also low. Although property location is excellent..15min, walk to Notre Dame & old port. Parking is roadside as well so difficult to find a spot.

    The property location is excellent. However its a old property,hence doesnt have elevators. Travelling with elderly persons or kids not a good idea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and One Single Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan in the room, justa because I am used to sleeping with one on.

    Great staff, location, and value. Not a super fancy place but it is nice and gets the job done well. I would.aray there again and recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is great and the staff is always nice. Not an expensive or luxurious hotel, but if you are looking for a place to just sleep and spend most of the time outside and on a budget, this place is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there's no overnight receptionist at the front desk. You have to call them but they are relatively quick to answer and meet you to provide you with whatever it is you need.

    The room was VERY clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - no sound insulation between rooms and hall whatsoever, could hear my neighbor breathe and understand all conversations. Had a room with door between rooms, didn't help. - unfriendly staff. - nice extra touch, a reminder in text that the wifi was slow bcs you cannot expect more of such a place (it is a 2 star hotel, ehm..) - overall state of the place is very sad, rust, quick fixes, barely liveable..

    That it was cheap. But that is no excuse for the above

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the reception gave me a hard time because i did not speak french... i am brazilian and she had visited brazil without speaking portuguese... so i think it was a little bit too much!

    It was cheap and well located

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room with Two Double Beds - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I met office desk girl.she was behaving like we are beggers.. She was rude.in the room only one plug point.inside the room too cold.we asked to heat because we had 8 months baby. They said ...we can not put heat.we asked please plug in fridge. She said i don't have time.i will send electrisian.what time.. It will take long ....i had about booking.com.its great.. But now i didn't recomend anybody.

    I met office desk girl.she was behaving like we are beggers.. She was rude.in the room only one plug point.inside the room too cold.we asked to heat because we had 8 months baby. They said ...we can not put heat.we asked please plug in fridge. She said i don't have time.i will send electrisian.what time.. It will take long ....i had about booking.com.its great.. But now i didn't recomend anybody.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    a lot of hidden fees, and the personnel is promoting the parking and the free breakfast services as if they were decent. First, parking is not free, you have to add 20$/day on top of your room fees just for parking. Then they say there is free breakfast, which actually is nothing more than 1 super small sized coffee, another super small sized orange juice and a muffin from tim hortons brought there. That is all they offer for breakfast, they offer no accomodation for allergies, they offer no buffet, and it is really terrible because when we were looking online we filtered for parking and breakfast only to be surprised with this hotel promoting services it litterally is not offering. I feel I was scammed, I only stayed one night and could not stay any more as the room was smelling, you can see mattresses in the hall ways every where and it was a mess. Bottom Line? Would sleep in my car rather than there, at least the air is clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with Two Double Beds - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night desk clerk was rude, the TV didn't work . The beds were hard as a rock and the 2 pillows they provided were like half a pillow total. Breakfast was ok

    Location was great and the water pressure in the shower was amazing. And that's it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room with Two Double Beds - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if they can update some things in the room since some of them are a bit rusty.

    The location is perfect. We pretty much walked to our different destinations and they weren't that far.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at Hotel Viger on 2 separate occasions in the past month. My only disappointment is that the hairdryers didn't work in either of the rooms I stayed in.

    The room was very clean, the windows could be opened for fresh air, there was a small bar fridge and the bed was very comfortable. The location is excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room with Two Double Beds - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better if just 2 people, not 3. Beds little bit hard.

    Good breakfast (croissants, marmelade, juice, tea/coffee). We stayed just 2 nights, place was cleaned after 1st night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room with Two Double Beds - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The continental breakfast is only one croissant and a bottle of orange juice. Don't expect too much; you will likely have to eat breakfast at one of the nearby restaurants.

    The place was extremely cheap for the amenities and facilities that it offered. The size of the two double beds and the perks of cable television were great. The location is also prime; it's very close to the center of downtown so restaurants and St. Catherine street and tourist attractions are minutes away in terms of walking - it's great if you don't have a car since you can get by on foot or by bus/metro. Highly recommended for tourists staying for 2-3 days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected more of the breakfast. It said that a continental breakfast was included but I only got a muffin, a coffe and orange juice. A muffin is not a breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    My partner was sick and really tired when we arrived around 1am, driving from Ottawa, and we had both recently lost our wallets so no picture ID, just my temporary driver's license and her passport info page on her phone with her picture and name matching the credit card used to pay the room. But that wasn't enough for the clerk and I asked him if he could let her in the room to sleep while I went to withdraw some money and it was a resounding no. Maybe he was following orders, or even the law, but it seemed a little stubborn.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's great to be close to China town and two metro stations! The accommodations are basic but it is great value, especially with a mini fridge in the room and with breakfast included. I will be back for sure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is dirty and the facilities is too old. Beddings and sheet smell like old and not freshly laundry. The staff are not that friendly and helpful. This place is not really good of the amount you paid. You can find a better hostel or hotel with the same amount of money you paid.

    The location is the only thing is good in this hotel in the heart of the Old Montreal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled like smoke! I had to open the window for several hours. The no smoking law needs to be much more strictly enforced. In general there is a problem with the kind of clientele you have coming here. You have many students who are here to party which includes smoking and getting drunk. In the room next door the students made quite a bit of noise, talking even at 4:00am. Its a shame because the hotel facilities are fairly decent. Other problems included a toilet was that very reluctant to respond to the flushing mechanism. There were also 2 large stains on my carpet. If you can't get the stains out replace the carpet! The hotel has the potential to do much better, without drunk students!

    The TV worked and there was a full range of cable channels. There was a plentiful amount of soap and shampoo. The room temperature was good, and the windows opened easily. The room fridge was working well also. There was also a landline phone in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a really tiny room and no wifi in there, breakfast is just a croissant.

    Nice location, walking distance from everything. Fine hotel to stay short term for that money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged us before checking in from the credit card which is not mensioned in Booking when we reserved the room. They had to return the amount to the credit card which takes a couple of days and let us pay cash .

    I like the small daily breakfast with coffee,the available microwave in the mini kitchen,the calm location in a busy area,the sunny two windowd in the room wich was in the second floor facing the national library; and not to forget the helpful stuff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't get me started. First, the TV did not work & I was promised to be fixed but was not. Then the room smell like old wet carpet, the breakfast area is dirty. This is a crappy place.

    close to downtown, then only good thing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is only a piece of croissant and a cup of coffee which might not be sufficient for an adult.

    Temperature inside the room is perfect, not so cold nor so hot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a plumbing problem, and they were able to change my room for the second night. The beds were comfortable and I was able to sleep well both nights and wake up rested in the mornings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny (it was hard for two people to move at the same time) and dirty. Especially the bathroom. I don't think an oversized person could close the door as you have to squeeze between the toilet bowl and door to close it... Also the bathroom was extremely dirty, if it weren't for my last day I would have postponed my daily shower to the next location. oh yeah, and breakfast as already written from other guests.. one (bad) croissant, coffee and o-juice per person.

    We could leave the luggage with the reception staff after check-out, convenient on the last day of our vacation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator-many steps.

    This was definitely an economy accommodation. Clean with the basic necessities. The location and staff were excellent. The rooms are small. Excellent security. There are no elevators and many steps. Breakfast included coffee, orange juice, croissant, jam. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no T.V. remote and the T.V. would not without a remote so that wasn't great. Also the drawers were all broken and they give you a paper bath mat for some reason. A paper bath mat does not do a good job of picking up water, especially when the water leaks under the shower curtain onto your clothes and stuff.

    It was really cheap so if you only need the place for sleeping it's worth staying in but if you're spending any meaningful time there I would not recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was small and cold, the bed uncomfortable. We could not access the wifi and we did not get to have breakfast at 8:15, even though we had selected breakfast, because everything was already gone.

    Well situated and cheap ($). Staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything OR, but windows did not open and the conditioner was very noisy. Between the conditioner and the corrugated plastic in the lower pfrt of the widow were gaps, so tthe room was a bit noisy because of the traffi. I strongly recommend this hotel (clean, nice rooms, good location, helpful staff), but check the windows and ask for a room with windows looking on Viger street only.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped room, minimal breakfast, skimpy towels

    Close to metro, walk to old town, free parking, green space across street, fresh air or AC, clean room, friendly staff, refrigerator, very fair price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Street parking, not enough of it. They have a notice at reception offering paid parking with a parking permit but when asked about it they said it wasn't available and directed me to a parking lot three blocks away that doesn't allow pass out privileges, making for very expensive parking if I wanted to drive the friend i was meeting anywhere. Will choose a different hotel with better parking if I visit Montreal again.

    The staff where friendly and helpful for the most part. Checkout was easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    Find somewhere else. This hotel is junkie central. It's in a sketch part of town, and the people outside are genuinely scary. There was a junkie who was checking in to the hotel, which is when I decided to leave and find a different place. The manager was a decent enough person, but you do NOT want to stay here. It is SUPER SKETCHY.

    Physically, the hotel itself is pretty bad but not totally terrible. It's not somewhere you would want to stay, but it's a budget hotel so you know what you're getting in to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi rarely worked in the room. The bathtub wouldn't drain, and I had to skip showering on the second day. The room smells moldy, as is the air blown by the window a/c. Nothing about the room feels very clean or fresh - the duvet, curtain, carpet... I saw something crawling across my bed, might be a roach but I'm not sure. Nor was I keen to find out. The other day a giant fly circled around the light making huge noises. The room is so small an average-sized American would have trouble working around the bed. Besides you can hear anything your next-door neighbor does.

    The location is good, and some of the staff had been friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like anything except the position of this hotel. The room didn't have an openable window. No fresh air could enter the room therefore, I let you imagine the smell. The bathroom was crumbling, the sink was DANGEROUS to use because it was visibly detached from the wall and literally dangling fom it. The walls and the bed linen were dirty with CRUSTY visible stains on them. It is obvious that whoever runs the business does not have any care or attention for the structure and the rooms.The walls haven't been painted in a long time and this can be visibly and easily proven. Our room was connected to the one on the other side of the wall through a door that was not even locked. The neighbor guests could enter? Probably. We had to put a chair and a table in front of the door to try to avoid this. The room had carpet on the floor. Extremely dusty and visibly stained. The pillows and bed linen strongly smelled of tobacco. Only one out of two bedside table lamps worked. For this price no one expects a luxurious hotel but at least a decent one... This one was not even so.

    Only the position of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet speed is good, but was not working inside my room. I had to talk to family in the corridor. Hard to find a parking lot. The hotel does not have its own parking lot and Montreal/Quebec have a hard-to-understand street parking lot scheme. There is a parking lot relatively close to the hotel, but it is expensive. The young guy/staff in evening shift is friendly and helpful, but seemed to know nothing about the city, as he didn´t know anything all famous/tourists places and streets I asked him about (maybe he is new in the city or in the job). I would suggest he study more about the city and places as all my questions were common tourist/guest questions ...

    Good location and cost-benefit

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was so-so, the facilities were outdated, the bathroom was not in the best of shape, and the room just looked beat up. The "breakfast" was one croissant and a cup of coffee, so don't expect much. However, the hotel was cheap, so you get what you paid for.

    It was a very cheap hotel within walking distance from the downtown.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i wish they have more options for breakfast

    Croiisants were delicious, front desk attention the best, all the personal were really nice thanks for that! the room was really clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room with Two Double Beds - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See previous comments.

    Continental breakfast was very skimpy. Room was small and A/C did not work. Parking was on the street. Tourist info consisted of a map!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old, dirty, no kettle. Horrible internet - there was none in the room, just in lobby. Not safe parking for $25 in couple blocks. I would call that meal a breakfast. I wouldn't stay there again.

    Location - close to downtown and the port

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better. No butter with the croissants and drinks were served in plastic cups

    The price is very good. The hotel is located in the centre and close to public transport. Wifi was good and air-conditioning worked very well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room with Two Double Beds - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aside from street parking only, everything about my stay here was fine. I did, however, note the following curiosities: the room was rather narrow with barely enough room to walk between the foot of the bed and the wall. Despite the room being "#245" or whatever, which sounds like "second floor", it was located on the third floor. Getting to my room involved a rather sophisticated journey of going down some stairs and then up some others.

    I liked the size of bathroom and the shower had pretty decent pressure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have been nice to have a small sofa... but price was right1

    LOCATION WAS PERFECT. and that was important to us... hotel could use updating... but we were there to site see, and spent little time in hotel. I would go back again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walking up high stairs.... noise from other rooms.

    Bed comfortable... stairs very high for older clients.. easy to change to other room.; close to metro station (2 blocks) walking distance to old Montreal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-fi was sketchy and kept cutting out. I wasn't the only one having problems. The Breakfast, while OK, was meager (a croissant with jam and a cup of coffee). An ashtray/bucket of sand placed at the bottom of the entry stairs would go a long way to cleaning up the sidewalk in front of this charming house.

    The location was superb for Montreal. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the water was hot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is not a dislike but rather room for improvement. A rubber mat for the bathroom as at times it can be slippery when wet. Awesome place.

    The room were spacious enough to do what you want to do and the environment was at your disposal where you can keep it cool with the a/c or just the fan. Provision of towels were awesome and you could not get a more hygienic accommodation that this.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a semi-basement room and that's what we got. The view from the window was of a derelict back alley, so, although it was warm, we did not want to leave the window open because of who or what could have got inside. There was a connecting door to the next room, which meant it sounded like we were sharing our room with our neighbours. I would go back there, but I'd choose a room on one of the higher floors and make sure there was no connecting door.

    Hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from the centre. Room and bathroom were clean but small and looked like they had recently been decorated. Breakfast of orange juice, coffee and a croissant with jam, collected from reception, fills a hole. We got what we paid for.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't connect very well, there were no cups/glasses in the room to be able to drink water and the breakfast could have been more complete

    Staff was friendly, location was good and the price was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in the basement. you couldn't rest cause you could hear the people on next door talking the wifi wasn't working at all. When I asked the lady why the wifi wasn't working she told someone was using Netflix that's not an excuse!!! Definitely I am not returning back at this hotel!

    I didn't like nothing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room wasn't standard but had all the amenities. Nice family-run business.

    Spare but comfortable room. Family run and there is brisk business. I liked the area, Montreal has much to see and the hotel was within walking distance of the waterfront.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub doesn't drain while you are showering so you are standing in a foot of water the whole time. The wifi was horrendous in the rooms but worked well in the lobby. The room was very very small but good enough for one person.

    The staff was very kind, honest and attentive. The room was always cleaned to perfection. The location was perfect for getting to and from places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and run down. There was a tissue shoved into a hole in my wall and the air conditioning was duct taped to the wall. Staff were unfriendly especially the female staff at the front desk.The cleaner was very friendly though so big props to her!

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The were parking spaces in the street, but you couldn't park there early in the morning. However, it was not written anywhere, and the hotel staff didn't tell us anyhting, even thouhg we asked them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. Door was too close to the bed. Had to carry the luggage. No plug outlets closer to the bed. Too many steps had to carry the luggage all the way to the room.

    Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist told me as I was leaving that breakfast was included even though my voucher stated "no meal option" - he didn't bother to mention it on arrival. Nor did he offer to help with my suitcase up two floors, like most gentlemen do! The towers in my room were not changed - the wet one on the floor not removed - the bed not made. I couldn't open the window but had to rely on the noisy air-conditioner.

    It was close to St Catherine St food centres and Latin Quarter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a fungus in bathroom (on many places of a ceiling) which was repulsive. WiFi was really slow (but it was).

    We were there only for a night (from about 10 pm to 11 am) so I can't say too much. Bed was comfortable, WiFi was available (but really slow), croissant with orange juice and coffee is always something for starting a day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was small, and we did not mind that, but there was no fridge inside the room which i did not like.

    The location was perfect near from everything in the down town and just near the old city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast consisted of a croissant, a jam and a coffee/orange juice per person. Door was hard to lock.

    Central location, nice room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms in this hotel are quite small, though the queen room we occupied on this stay was less cramped than the one we had last year. The shower stalls are a bit claustrophobic and difficult to maneuver in, and the building is aging - there were a couple of loose risers on the staircase and the handrail wobbled alarmingly. The layout is a bit strange, too: in order to access our room we had to go down a hall, down a few steps, up some more steps and through another door to a hallway - bit of a rabbit warren. The included breakfast is really just a croissant, a packet of jam, a cup of coffee and a cup of orange juice, but is enough to get you ready to go find yourself a proper brunch in this city full of excellent restaurants.

    Our second stay at this hotel - the location and price cannot be beat for exploring Montreal by foot, bike share or the Metro, as it's handy to everything downtown and very close to the old city and arts districts. The staff are courteous and helpful; the beds are comfortable; the coffee at breakfast is quite good; the wifi was more than adequate. We appreciate the owner allowing us to park our motorcycles next to the front entrance so they are under surveillance from the hotel's security camera, and since we don't go to Montreal to stay in a room (it's just a place to sleep at the end of the day), we are grateful to have an economical option in the heart of this wonderful city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    45 minutes before checkout i got a rude phone call from the younger woman working there she rudely asked if i was staying an extra night and i told her no, i am getting ready to check out and she said "okay, hurry". Then worst of all and i would like this to be looked into, but an older German couple were checking out before me and the woman asked in German for a glass of water. The attendant then spent the next 20 minutes yelling racist comments to the German couple about how in Canada we speak French or English. It was so bad i tried to film it. For this reason due to the very very racist and terrible comments I will never stay at this location again and i think they should be banned from your services.

    The location is prime

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn around the edges (old building) and quite dark with very small room.

    Within walking distance of old town. Super clean except the area around the window which was absolutely filthy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a little sparse and the lack of natural light means you won't want to spend a lot of time there, which is fine if you're there to see the city anyway. Definitely a good value.

    Excellent value for the money. Rooms are pretty sparse, and only had inward facing windows, but the bathrooms and bed were immaculately clean, and, like I said, the price was very competitive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast place is inappropriate and does not adequately meet guests' needs

    The person who attends the porter during the day is rude and uncaring, has no concern to please visitors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are over filled with not needed and not in working order furniture. They place was slightly (very slightly dirty - a stain on the blanket and a pee drop on the toilet seat. They really need to update the curtians and the bedding style reslly out of date And the shower was absolutely horrendous we did not shower there at all (we used our friends hotel to shower in instead

    I liked that we weren't bothered we had our quiet space Parking wasn't far away is 15 a night behind a government building its a very quinte place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room, as advertised, was amazingly small. Be prepared to not really be able to move much and to have to use all available nooks and crannies to stow things. The bathroom also was small and not designed for large people. The rooms with two double beds were likely much more spacious feeling and might be worth the extra money. There is nearby parking for $15/ 24 hr but you MAY be able to find suitable parking on the street. But study the parking signs closely and know your days of the week in French as Montreal is VERY big on handing out parking tickets! Again, spotty at best wi-fi in the rooms. It has a fairly funky sense of decor, most would say dated, but that didn't particularly bother me as I was prepared for it and everything I saw was overall clean enough despite being not fancy.

    The affordability, the location, the quirkiness which gave the place character. I did not expect anything resembling luxury and was prepared for the bare bones nature of the place. However, it was clean, felt safe more or less for being near downtown, and staff was pleasant enough. It was surprisingly quiet . The tv worked well. The wi-fi was good in the ( very small ) dining area but NOT in the rooms. The bed, though only a double size for my 13 yr old granddaughter and myself to share, was surprisingly comfortable. The air conditioner fortunately worked very well without being distressingly loud. And, again, the affordability went a long way in helping us like this place which probably went for less than half the price of other B&B's in the same block. Do be prepared for continental breakfast only, and that only served between 8 and 9. But they deliver what they promise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredible bad experience. When we made the reservation, it included the parking in the service. Because the area is not secure. At the time to arrive, at midnight, the person in the reception said the hotel doest have that service, and the only park was not closer. Then the same person start to use a rude language, I was with my family! then, we decided to move to another hotel, in the middle of the night and very tired after a long travel. But the worse is they apply the charges to use the hotel, using my credit card, when we even estayed in the room!!! Awful, and I had to pay for weather the storm! :(

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    was in a basement room, smelled a little musty and wi-fi didn't work down there. no remote for the tv. their parking lot is $15/day, street parking is limited and must pay and/or move by 8-9am

    helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was terrible which made it very difficult to make plans. Electricity sometimes cut out as well.

    Location was great. Staff made everything straight forward.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely tiny. Unable to open two suitcases at the same time. Had to drag suitcases down the stairs and haul them up myself as no elevator and no offer to help. Tiny corridors. Great for a quick stop but I couldn't stay here for any length of time.

    Excellent location in the heart of downtown. Easy to get to old port and saint catherine street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not a real breakfast; a single croissant from Costco, a small Styrofoam cup of juice and the same of coffee, served to you on a tray at the front desk is not what travellers hope for when the information for the hotel says breakfast included. As well, we rented two rooms and the second room did not receive housekeeping for our entire three-night stay, even after the sign was placed on the door requesting it.

    The location was perfect except that streets around it were blocked off during our entire stay and we would have liked to have been informed about this before we came. Rooms are very dated but clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room with Two Double Beds - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped bad rooms. Very old and poorly maintained. There aren't much facilities to begin with. Parking is a long walk away, almost a block.

    Location is good. Everything else is mediocre to bad

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't book rooms at the basement if you have no choice but staying at this hotel, the second day of my stay I saw a RAT in my room. I told the lady ( she was really nice) at reception and she said that that is because of the construction around the property and open window! (The room had a sealed window). Any way she changed my room with a room at the third floor. I didn't like it at all staying at that hotel I spent my time mostly at my friends places and just going there at nights for sleep. At the first place I made a mistake booking this hotel, and called booking.com to change my booking or cancel it and because it was not a free cancelation booking, so it Didn't work and I had to go. Wireless is worthless! Especially at the third floor no way to get it.

    Friendly staff, clean bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room with One Double Bed - Semi Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of the hotel reflected in the price. Worked for travelling on a budget. We only stayed in the room to sleep, not the most comfortable, but again worked out. Rooms and bathroom small, tight for two people, but clean. Continental breakfast very limited.

    Great location. We were able to park for the weekend in paid parking lot then walked everywhere all weekend. Close to Old Port area, and easy 20min walk downtown to Entertainment district

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Viger traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: