Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Westin Ottawa 4 stars

11 Colonel By Drive, K1N 9H4 Ottawa, Canada

#7 of 56 hotels in Ottawa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 767 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Paid WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    One day in Ottawa Downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The out side look is not good. Car parking was difficult. Less number of valet person for car parkinh. I had to pay for Parliament view room though I am a dog member.

    Location. Staff, room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the room and washroom were very unhygienic, uncomfortable and itchy bed and sheets. Dust everywhere, ac not working properly

    Location was excellent and the fact that mall can be accessed from 3 rd floor, literally few steps away from Byward Market

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel corridors need to be frequently cleaned as there are many visitors getting in/out the hotel.

    Excellent location and connected to Rideau mall through corridor (you can find groceries, shops, drug stores etc). Helpful and attentive staff. Rooms are specious and very fast room dine in service. Perfect for families with childrens.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Pillows not As previous visits,window faces stone wall,pill...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows not As previous visits,window faces stone wall,pill and dirt on floorfromprevious rental. In defence did wait for lower floor room which wasn’t ready

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    the location was very good and closed to Parliament hall and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they don't offer car parking and have to pay bu youselves, also not including internet, that's not good.

    the location was very good and closed to Parliament hall and all heritage sites in 1 kilo distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous service, best location, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    After booking via booking.com I called Jeremy at Westin to ask about restaurants. He arranged booking at our two choices and upon check in he sent complementary cheese & wine to our room. WE received an upgraded room on 17th, overlooking parliament hill, fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Terrific location, direct access to Rideau Centre, fast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for wifi when you’re paying $300 per night is frustrating

    Terrific location, direct access to Rideau Centre, fast elevators, great pool, very good fitness centre, 2 squash courts, one of which also has a basketball net

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location, walkking distance to everything, very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not enough facilities - swimming pool small dirty overcrowded, no coffee shop, no washroom in main lobby (only downstairs and woman's was closed!)

    Great location, walkking distance to everything, very clean (except swimming pool/fitness), nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.0
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Excellent location handy to all Ottawa central tourist and gov,t sites. Very friendly and helpful staff. Like most hotels, air cond. in halls too cold and noisy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Our stay looked just like the pictures!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corner Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the furniture needed some tending to.

    Excellent stay for the price...great views, fantastic location(many places are within 5-10min walk), responsive and accommodating staff. The wow factor is the amazing comfort and view from the bed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    fabulous stay. Will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Parliament View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there wasn't a thing we didn't like. Very good value for your money'

    We had a room with a view of the parliament buildings. The large windows provided a lovely focal and we were hesitant to even leave the room. The bed very comfortable and the sheets wonderful. This is important to me. The room is modern, spacious and very clean. The location is the best in Ottawa for leaving your car parked and seeing everything there is to see.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great service and spectacular view of the parliament.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms took a bit longer to check into but I understood the wait time since all the rooms were booked.

    Great service and view of the fireworks. We got room 1226 and had a spectacular view of the Canada Day fireworks. Definitely would love to go back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    A safe choice, central location and good comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Parliament View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor stuff: Shower-only in bathroom; a few small potential service improvements (eg no shoe kit in the room, no replacement of the laundry bag once used)

    Central location; good bed confort; spacious room; great breakfast; effective service (eg express laundry); easy access to next-door shopping mall; nice coffee station in the room; possibility to rent sport equipment for fitness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    My stay was really great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too warm, even though I set the AC low.

    it was clean and comfortable. The room had complimentary coffee, iron, fridge, safe and TV/internet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    The location was convenient and the hotel was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The comforter on the bed was too heavy, the pillows were not as nice as the Marriotts. The cafe was closed so we couldn't really look at the food for the next day's breakfast, so we didn't eat there for breakfast.

    In the centre of the city. Was attached to the Shaw Centre which was very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Good room clean and comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Parliament View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators were horrible. It took me 20 minutes to go from lobby to 17th floor. I had to wait so long and then the elevator stopped at every floor. I have never seen anything that bad. Completely unacceptable

    Good room clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall, it was a great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Parliament View King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was not impressed with the construction noise across the street.

    It is close to the Parliament buildings, Unknown soldier monument, Byward market and Rideau canal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay and would book with you again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Parliament View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fruit selection was somewhat wanting and since we love our fruit at morning breakfast, it mattered to us. The coffee cups were too small, more suited to espresso than regular coffee.

    We loved almost everything. The one thing we were somewhat disappointed with was the buffet breakfast. It didn't quite meet our expectations. We left the buffet feeling that we'd paid too much for too little.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The bed and pillows were sooooo confy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Parliament View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still a little pricey but worth it!

    The bed and pillows were sooooo confy! The location of the hotel, the room itself with the view on the city and the parliament. We loved lt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Parliament View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have to wait longer to check in. And Bed is not comfy at all. The restaurant in the property is not that good. Too expensive for the poor quality of the food they serve, I expect more because they are more pricey, but they failed. The only yummy is the bread w/butter.

    Mall is inside the property. We have to wait more than 1 hour to check in, they just gave us a bottle of wine for waiting so long. The view from where we stayed is awesome. And the Starbucks is inside the property and my coffee taste perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    My stay was acceptable but I felt the rates/prices very high.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed to book a room late in the day as I had to stay overnight in Ottawa. There were limited choices for a hotel room. I found the room rate over priced. Parking was over priced. I could not believe you charge for wifi. Restaurant was pricey.

    Quiet st night. Room was clean and comfortable. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Will definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no issues at all during our stay. And the amenities that we didn't take advantage of, we would definitely try out next time.

    The bed was super comfy, pillows were great. The most comfortable hotel bed I've experienced. Check-in clerk was extremely friendly and efficient. Access to the Rideau Centre is great! Right downtown in the market, within walking distance of everything you could ask for: shopping, restaurants, clubs, Ridau Canal, NAC, Parliament Buildings. Perfect location for tourists.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Good stay, but so difficult to find an upper level hotel in Ottawa...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Parliament View King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Absence of a mobile/flexible shower head. Only fixed one available.. TV: No possibility to connect laptop to HDMI (locked/captive hotel system) Internet: Slow despite SPG programme. Bedding comfort: OK however could have been better (Westin is known for confortable sleep) - In our case, tendency to end up in the center of the bed at night.

    Good central localisation. Nice view over the city/parliament hill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Will return!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, even at 5pm our room was not ready. We had to cancel our dinner at the Byward Market , although luckily we loved the Shoreclub and they were able to accomodate us.

    Loved the Shoreclub, comfy beds and room size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff and located close to NAC and market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor complaints- real coffee cups in room would be nice. Also coffee filters did not fit coffee maker and water dripped everywhere.

    Friendly staff and located close to NAC and market.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    The teceptioned thst we registered the nigjt of out stay was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everythin

    The teceptioned thst we registered the nigjt of out stay was wonderful ... kind gun and just wonderiful ... Where asked for a room with a view and she put us in the perfect quiet location. We don’t go often to Ottawa and my friend and I just wanted an escape for the night. We were treated so well. And it was very nice to see the hotel cares for animals on an adoption program I thought that was beautiful... thank you for everything highly recommend the hotel although it was a very quiet evening out on the town there pins around for anybody ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    A lovely pleasant experience. Friendly and very courteous staff at all levels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The in room coffee could have been better. It was very strong and I was only supplied with two creamers which did not go far!!!

    Just a lovely place to stay. Location was excellent and having the shopping centre attached was such an added bonus especially with chilly weather conditions!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Everything I hoped for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were amazing, rooms were so clean! The room view was very scenic, loved it. Everything we asked for was handled with aplomb. Will recommend again no doubt!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.4
    Room was nice and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The posted rate was 189 and the final bill came out to $310. There are extras on top of the extras that nobody tells you about. I paid $42 to keep the car there overnight. They were taxes on top of taxes. They should tell you up front

    Room was nice and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, cozy rooms and great views within walking distance to Byward Market
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outside of the hotel (surrounding sidewalk) needed to be salted, there were sheets of solid ice and my partner slipped on the ice on our way to Byward Market. We observed as other people slipped in front of the hotel entrance on more than one occasion.

    The staff working the check-in and out counter were very friendly, helpful and made the check-in process very quick and efficient. There were a few people ahead of us in line to check in and only two staff kiosks open, and we were given free bottles of water and thanked for waiting to speak to someone. The room was very clean and included a bottle of water, Starbucks coffee pods, good quality tea and nice shower products and had a nice view (they allowed us to pick the floor we wanted to be on).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Location, services, Daly's for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was too high! I real,ize it was the last weekend of Winterlude and there was a NDP convention but $344 per night was extreme. Why don;t you have a loyalty price? We like the Westin, but other locations nearby are much less!

    Location, services, Daly's for breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Worst experience ever for noise disturbance, although staff tried very hard and were very responsive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had booked a large university student group and the noise level with parties in the rooms and hallway were so loud none of us could sleep.

    Great pool, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Outside minus 35...inside was just right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking should have in and out priviledge for what it costs.

    Location is great... Nice not to have to venture outside to get to the mall and only a few steps away from many sights and sounds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Beds were comfortable and the room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the floor we were placed on was very very noisy and it took security until well after 1:30-2AM to attend the floor and put a stop to the noise. Perhaps if you are going to allow large sporting groups to stay then you should ensure that people unrelated to the groups are well away or you deal with excessive noise, swearing and general thug behaviour at a much earlier stage.

    Beds were comfortable and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    A lovely stay in the heart of Ottawa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a yappy dog in a nearby room. Its incessant whining and barking was an intrusion on the quiet we expected.

    The bed and pillows were exceptional and made for a very pleasant sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    NOISE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOISE! From 630 am until the maid knocked on the door to clean the room at 9am. Constant doors banging, staff shouting, etc. If you are the kind of person who likes lots of commotion at 6 am then this hotel is for you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have wifi in our room. We called the front desk, we had someone come to our room and then the gentleman that came connected us on the phone to an IT person. This process took approximately an hour to resolve and still we only had it on 2 devices.

    Location is fantastic. Pool, jacuzzi, weight room and squash courts we excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Location location location - especially in winter when the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee machine was spilling over - I was happy to have Starbucks products, but about half spilled out of the machine, not into the cup.

    Location location location - especially in winter when the canal is opened. On Christmas day, most restaurants were not opened and we were happy to try the steakhouse within the Westin premises. Great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    First class establishment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No newspapers available at newsstand. Although some available free at breakfast.

    Central location a plus. Staff were well-trained, helpful and pleasant. Breakfast buffet expensive but filled with a variety of delicious dishes- none of them over-cooked. Restaurant/Bar Tapas and wine selection excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    Generally, I expected better value for money and certainly better level of comfort and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small beds, dated furniture (stained chairs, etc.), the only parking except valet is self parking garage with single exit (you have to pay every time you exit the garage as they don’t offer daily rates). No fresh bread at breakfast (just stale toast). No microwave in room, bathroom amenties are very scarce and basic, but they did offer one small water bottle complimentary for three people - what a treat :)

    Fast check-in/out, quite friendly staff, good (but expensive) breakfast, location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.7
    It was a convenient place to stay, not overly impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I got my bill there were additional charges for 3 movies, my husband and I were there for a function at the Shaw centre and were not in the room at the time the movies were selected. They were kind enough to remove the charges from my bill with out any problem. I also dropped my necklace and reached under the dresser to retrieve it and found food items under the dresser, for a Hotel which is supposed to be high end and for the price I would expect it to be cleaner.

    It was in a convenient location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    A great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Parliament View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    In the heart of downtown Ottawa a great location with the Rideau Centre shopping mall connected to the hotel. Great views of the Rideau canal and Parliament Buildings. The Shore Club restaurant is also within the hotel area a very good place to get great meals. Room was fairly large and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    lovely room with a cacophony of construction that begins at...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Parliament View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is a hoax. The price is high, which would be acceptable, if there was a gleam of quality. But from sawdust toast;scrambled eggs without a taste-flourish to a fruit bowl with mostly melon and white-hearted strawberries,the meal was the poor, distant, unloved relation to something representing a fine breakfast... should I say more? Additionally the layout of the reception area is boggling in that there is a preferential VIP line and a piller that obstructs the other lines so that someone ,hides behind the piller and cuts into my check in line. Not cool!

    lovely room with a cacophony of construction that begins at 7 a.m.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.3
    Over priced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Parliament View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price i paid per night, i would have expected parking to be covered or at least breakfast. I couldn’t believe i had to pay for both on top of a $415 charge per night.

    I enjoyed the location. Quite convenient. The view was really nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    A three star hotel, with great staff, in a 5 star location. Priced well beyond value received
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Parliament View King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Furniture in last 2 visits is grubby and showing its age and wear. Hotel appears in need of some TLC. Only deluxe rooms have bathtubs and require an upgrade to get one; all other rooms are shower only.

    Great staff, good beds and an HVAC system that works well

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.4
    They charged me 80 additional CAD on top of the price...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me 80 additional CAD on top of the price indicated on my booking via booking.com. Had to pay extra for wifi as well. This is unacceptable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    It was a great stay, right next to the canal for walks, lots of stores around and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We usually stay at Fairmont hotels and decided to give this a try instead. We were happy with everything except that there were no bathrobes for children to down to the pool. That has become a tradition for them, but definately not a deal breaker!

    Clean, helpful staff, big room, modern.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Of course, the cost of the parking spot (which is property...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Of course, the cost of the parking spot (which is property of the adjacent Rideau Center) was something of a deterrent. But all in all, our stay turned out to be very enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great Location near sites and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Location near sites and shopping. Comfortable room and our room faces Parliament Hill, great view. We did not use any of the hotel restaurants, so I cannot comment on this area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Memorable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Met all our needs so no negative comments to add.

    Proximity to downtown, shopping, resto. Didn't spend much time in the room but thoroughly appreciated the sweeping views of Parliament hill, the canal etc The welcome tray (chocolates fruit Perrier water)was a very nice touch!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall, no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is overpriced. I'm a marriott member and based on experience and value it makes sense to choose mariott. In the hallway there was room service trays left out overnight and we check in at 3pm... advised the staff and they did arrive shortly thereafter to remove it.

    location was our decision criteria

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    It was a great weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we were leaving, it took us over 25 minutes to get an elevator to the lobby as every elevator (4) was always jam packed. Also having to pay for wi-fi. It should be free throughout hotel considering how much you pay for each nights stay.

    It was a very nice hotel that was in a great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    We were very pleased with it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price!

    We were very pleased with it all. It was a last minute decision to go as the weather was perfect. I use a cane and found the walk to the market easy. Also the restaurants nearby were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location but pricey
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking too expensive We travel often and this is by far the most we have ever paid Restaurant very very pricey

    Location pool spa area Room Bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds lumpy shower didn't drain furnishings dirty and stained ir seating Ordered room service and the soup was cold Asked for a later check out a man came to open the door at noon and apologized for coming in and left

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    You could not get a better location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were like sausages. Long and too narrow. Very strange. Also an envelope was delivered to the hotel for me, it arrived at 9:00am and they only brought it to my room at 11:30pm! I had to call them 3 times and go down to the lobby twice before they finally brought it! The did give me a discount to compensate however.

    You could not get a better location! Right in the middle of everything! Very clean rooms with great views of the parliament buildings from the deluxe rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Self parking causes difficult access to hotel if not found...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Self parking causes difficult access to hotel if not found on the first floor of Rideau center parking. Parking staff did not provide info if not valet parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Enjoyed it very much. Would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator system is not good at all. Sometimes it took 5 minutes to get one. The buttons are on the outside and everyone was complaining about the elevators. One chaimbermaid brought us through to a service elevator to help us out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Memorable
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    The room was excellent, bed amazingly comfortable and the bathroom with the huge shower was a bonus. We had breakfast at the hotel, the food was fresh and presented very nicely, the waitress was very attentive. Loved it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Enjoyable!
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub was slippery when showering....needed a rubber mat!

    Breakfast in room came ON TIME! Car came up fairly promptly! Staff was friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    We had a good visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were there on our 35th anniversary and last year the hotel acknowledged it but not this time. Not sure why?????

    Breakfast was very good, generous portions, room had a great view and the bed was comfortable. Glad to have the hair dryer .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    The bed was so comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fire alarm went off at 11 pm The parking garage was hard to find

    The bed was so comfortable The view was a dream I had a very good birthday weekend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Pampered by The Westin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs more hooks to hang towels- only one in our bathroom and 2 robes please.

    Staff were welcoming, helped us with cab service, a complementary bottle of wine showed up with a lovely note. Room was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Westin is rifht in the middle if 'll the action and a very comfortable hotel to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in the toilet paper was almost empty with one fresh roll in the cabinet. We were there for 3 days 2 nights an no one checked to see about the toiletries etc. We did decline the daily service but didn't realize that meant no one was coming to the room at all.

    The staff were very efficient. We were checked in quickly and also checked out quickly. No hassles and the staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    A great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect and the view was fantastic. I really liked that they provided lavendar oil beside the bed as aromatherapy, very nice. Great choice on the Starbucks coffee too! Definitely will stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    The staff were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no information in the room on local attractions and restaurants. When asked we were given a quick one sheet rundown, but no details. Also, there Was no free WIFI 🙁. The restaurant was expensive (29$ each for breakfast is not family friendly). It is too bad that they did not have a family friendly option. This hotel was amazing, but free WIFI is a must these days!

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was big and clean too. Beautiful pool and terasse and we were so close to the shops and attractions!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    We had a very good time,and it was a nice would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    one head of staff lady,taked to me me in french when I was taking english,not cool.

    bed was comfy,pool was fun,outside deck was cool,safe was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay...can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Parliament View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kids loved the pool facilities! The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. Location was great for seeing the sights downtown Ottawa. The city view from our room was beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ottawa is a pretty quiet city at night. We found ourselves in our room for most evenings so it would have been nice if the hotel offered a greater selection of television channels - HBO, AMC etc. On demand movies are available, but the charges of $18.99 are ridiculous. I expected to pay parking fees, especially in a city, but a voucher for free parking or reduced rates would have been great.

    What a great year to visit Canada's capital city. The Westin is within easy walking distance to the Parliament buildings, the National Gallery and Byward market. The hotel is also connected to the Rideau Centre shopping mall (a typical suburban mall with a few high end shops). Our room had an amazing view of the Parliament buildings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    at the Westin in downtown Ottawa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    exercise machine in my bedroom , they would have changed the room for me but I had already unpacked and decided to stay - silly arrangement , if I want to exercise I can go to the exercise room on the 6th floor

    friendly staff - excellent reastaurants but pricey , very good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Amazing location and great price for an upscale hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive.

    Great views from room - it had huge windows. Amazing location- we parked the car and walked everywhere easily. Lovely touches in the room - bottles of water, pretty soap and a coffee machine made it welcoming and the beds, shower and decor were luxurious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Bed was comfy but small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Parliament View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whirlpool smelled weird and basically had no bubbles. Fridge wasnt cold. No info about hitek in room ie what floor pool was on. Room was hot because drapes left open on west side. Windows not very clean

    Bed was comfy but small.View was good but I paid a premium to be higher than 10..got floor 11

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    The Hotel overall was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a second gym in the Squash section that they don't talk about and which is better than the pool fitness center. I would of like to be told about this one at my arrival.

    The Hotel overall was amazing. The staff is really nice. Breakfast buffet is really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    The Restaurant attached to the hotel "the shore...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurant attached to the hotel "the shore club" was a very big disappointment. We have been there several times before and loved it. This time was very different. Our Waiter payed no attention to us, he came over to our table maybe twice, while everyone around us got the golden treatment. The food was not up to par either.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Hotel does not seem to extend good customer service once your bill is paid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left an apple phone charger in the room. Called hotel and the male who took the call seemed disinterested. He said he would call house keeping and let me know " only", if it was found. I had to press him to take my phone number. Poor customer service in my opinion. Still waiting to hear back!

    Comfortable bed-great view

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: