Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lodge at Weir's Beach 3 stars

5195 William Head Road, V9C 4H5 Metchosin, Canada

#2 of 2 hotels in Metchosin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 32 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    3.8
    Nice place, shame about lack of privacy, cleanliness and the host's poor attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hosting (Marg) is off with certain things I wish I had been made aware of: If you like privacy do not get the room downstairs as there are no nets or blinds on the window and the hot tub is right outside. We had the pleasure of guest walking past in the morning and seeing us in bed! Bizarrely there are blinds on the french doors in the lounge area! The hot tub is also loud and goes on during the night (recirculation) we highlighted our concerns, told it would go off at nine, (rules say ten). Humming of hot tub constant all night, so didn't get much sleep, told marg at breakfast we couldn’t sleep, told us she would look into it, nothing changed. The second night my wife had to leave the room at 1am due to constant noise from hot tub and went to try and sleep in the lounge until 4am before it finally went off. Be aware also the second door on ensuite opens into the dining hall, so anyone in there can hear you in the ensuite. We asked to change room upon arrival due to our concerns around the hot tub and lack on privacy but were told it was not possible even though we thought there were spare rooms. Pillows were greasey and smelly, again when raised with Marg, she stated she couldn't smell it, although she did change the pillows. The first night we were both itchy which we put down to dirty sheets. Oh and there was a pubic hair in the bath when we arrived, lovely. Attitude about booking breakfast. - we arrived at 6pm after a long days drive and wanted to book breakfast (at an extra cost) to be told it was not available as Marg hadn't had time to go to the shops. We weren't even asked what we were hoping for (just wanted toast & OJ). We then drove 5 minutes, 2 miles, up the road for dinner and found a grocery store, where we bought bread and OJ. Disappointed that no effort was made.

    Location is lovely, with a great view across the bay to Victoria The patio is also lovely with walks along the beach and a beautiful garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    We want to stay again and will recommend it to all our friends !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge felt like home, but better ! The host Marge was really lovely and accommodating. Great value for money as we cooked in the kitchen every night and enjoyed the hot tub

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    The room was very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly can't think of anything I didn't like.

    The room was very quiet. I was there just to relax for a couple days. The beach is right at the doorstep, for those that want it. As it was (ctober, I didn't jump in. That said, it is a sand beach that is very clean. Hummingbirds and Stellar Ja6s were in abundance, as we're the harbour seals just off the beach. I will definitely go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    It was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This was the first time we were at a lodge, I rather go to a hotel. I like my privacy. We were unable to go into the ocean because of poison jelly-fish. Would have been nice if there was a pool.

    Breakfast was very good . The owner of the lodge was very friendly. The room was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    very quiet and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very quiet and peaceful. We had a shared bathroom but we never saw the other guests sharing our bathroom. No tv in the room which was fine with us. The room was a little small but it was fine. Marg was a wonderful host and had many interesting stories. A bonus was the very nice roads for cycling especially Rocky point road. There is a good restaurant only 5 minutes away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Clean, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being duped. The ad said the property had all the amenities we were looking for. It did not say "shared amenities" nor did Marg when I spoke with her. Lesson: Be sure you know what "Lodge" really means before you book. Ask specific questions!

    Clean, comfortable room. Remote.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Seeing orcas was a big bonus!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Awkward parking. Tricky most times to back out around the variously angled cars. 2. Our room, although comfortable, was tight to move around and no adequate space to put our belongings and suitcases. With a shared bathroom, even more important to have a shelf or something to park our toiletries. 3. The shared bathroom location proved to be Awkward, and personally uncomfortable with respect to the family in the other room who used it.

    Friendliness of hostess. Lovely, tasteful room decor; beautiful artwork. Well appointed kitchen- much more than just basics. Quiet and peaceful. Lovely landscaping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    We love Marg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love Marg! She was very accommodating to our family. She is a wonderful cook & we plan on returning next summer. We loved exploring the beautiful beach. We felt very comfortable and at ease there. Can't really say enough about our experience ! Excellence 😁

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Mag is very friendly and she made me feel like at home here. The ocean view is amazing. Same as Mag's garden. I highly recommend here. Will choose to stay again next time visiting Victoria.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.6
    Peaceful Place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Like any B&B, and with its close proximity to RV park, it meant sharing the beach and amenities. It didn't pose much of a problem.

    Slept so good! Bed was firm and comfy. There was an aura of peacefulness in the whole place that was very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Nice owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice owner

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    It was really nice and we would have liked to stay longer when it was time to go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really liked the place. Super location, super host, super view, very clean, lovely house and room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    The hot tub was a bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was cold in the house and some of the fireplaces wouldn't turn on

    The hot tub was a bonus!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished we had planned to stay longer.

    The hostess was very welcoming and accomodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic view from our room watching glorious sunrise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view from our room watching glorious sunrise. Very welcoming host.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    A beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All beautiful , nothing we did not like

    Friendly , courteous owner and fellow international tourists who we met along with the beautiful grounds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful views and very grate place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was just perfect with highest comfort. Very quiet and luxuries place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    I wish the price was cheaper
    • Couple
    • King Room with Fireplace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the price was cheaper

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful location right on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location was out in the country with very limited locations to dine out for diner. You had to drive back into Victoria or Sooke to find any fine dining.

    Beautiful location right on the beach

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    10
    Everything was beautiful, I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was beautiful, I would stay there again. Marg, the owner is a very nice person

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    10
    This stay felt like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This stay felt like home. We really enjoyed our time there :) would recommend to every type of traveler, extremely accomadating.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: