Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence

40 Willcocks Street, M5S 1C6 Toronto, Canada

#63 of 133 hotels in Toronto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 360 hostel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    It was clean, respectable, well maintained residence. Staff were friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did get behind a large group of students (they were blocking the cafeteria entrance) in the morning for the breakfast, and as a result had only a few minutes to quickly eat. Would there be a way to have smaller groups/singles enter the cafeteria through a different entrance while the school kids and teachers have the main entrance blocked for their "morning instructions"? Or could they not block the entrance? Better signage for the cafeteria also.

    The front desk staff helped get the fob working so I didn't have to take the elevator. It took extra time, and I appreciate that!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Great Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price, the breakfast options are better than what you get at some of the 3 star hotels in town. So save up your travel money and book with them

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    It is a good facility for solo travelers.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a good facility for solo travelers. super convenient location inside of the down campus of U of T. I'll be back definitely. saving your money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.6
    Don't go there if you like it clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it was not clean. When I arrived the floor of my room was not clean and when I told the staff they said that I can land a key to the cleaning room and clean it myself. But they also told me that they know of the problem. Also in the shower it was not clean. There were two bandaids on the floor that were still there 2 weeks later when I left. To be honest...it was gross.

    The university Campus in generell is very beautiful and the location was not bad either.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    It is conveniently located. Excellent value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I needed slippers or flip-flops to wash my feet. They did not have them. I had to buy from them from a shop in Chinatown.

    It was more conveniently located than I thought. The breakfast was excellent. I chatted with people from different countries there. The staff is very helpful. When I was checking out they gave me a little piece of paper with all the instructions to get to the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed length was a little short for me, and I wasn't able to shut off the fan in the room.

    Great location. Quiet. The staff was very welcoming & friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor quibbles No ensuite No tv But and it is a very big but could not argue with the price.

    Super value for accommodation Breakfast for 10 Canadian dollars was excellent Very good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    It is a good property we would love to retrun to.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Washrooms are not always in the best of shape. Though the staffs are warm and put lot of effort to maintain, a bit of cooperation from residents would help them maintain consistency across the floors.

    Location is unbeatable. It is right in the downtown Toronto and everything remains just a short walk away. Toronto transit subway station is very close by and can take us all around the city inexpensively.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Can't beat the location if on foot, and the breakfast would be the real reason for returning.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need places to put stuff on in bathroom. The floor plan of the building is atrocious. But you can't alter that. Boo to the architect.

    I just feel sorry for the students. The noise level during the semester must be deafening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in experience was an actual drag - they did not see that payment made via booking.com went through and it took 30 minutes for them to reconcile with their old reservation system... At the check out, we got a knock on the door at 10.30 "to raise awareness that check out is at 11". Screeky bed. Loud air conditioning.

    Spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    This is a good option for cheap accommodation in Toronto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were quite hot (we went in June) with no air con and you're not supposed to open the windows.

    This is a good option for cheap accommodation in Toronto. The staff are great, the rooms are basic but nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    Lots of problems; great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, malfunctioning a/c system, noisy kids disrespecting quiet hours. Dirty, noisy, air temperature blasting cold air or no air or constant loud hissing; carpeting and floor dirty. When I asked for a room change due to noise, they refused, saying they’re all booked. When I asked for the loud hissing noise to stop, I had to endure it for two days and on a hot day they turned off the a/c. When I arrived to find my new room at 3:30pm, the floor was dirty. They told me they are very busy and that is the reason. I watched how they clean- run a mop over part of the floor and ignore the rest. Checkin is strictly at 3pm. I was first in line and it took 1/2 hour, arriving to my room which still wasn’t ready. Then finally in and it was dirty with a broken a/c. Lots of logistical issues with this place. Also, lots of noisy school children slamming doors at night and ignoring quiet hours. The best thing about this place is the location and the breakfast.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    reception was helpful and is almost 24/7
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor furniture, bad bed, this is party accommodation as many students live there, after jet-lag and almost 24hrs traveling I would appreciate some silence&sleep (not possible as in next room young girls had party, sound isolation is poor, you can hear everything). ONE mens washroom/WC for entire floor! In the middle of the room in front of table you have concrete column (very funny).

    reception was helpful and is almost 24/7

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect place for the money but basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The distance between our room and the bathroom was far. We stayed in the room for 11 nights. It was clean when we arrived but didn't get cleaned during our stay.

    I was in Toronto for my son's convocation. We stayed in a two bedroom suite. It was basic but ok. Pricewise you get value for your money. Plus it's an excellent location, close to the center of Toronto.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice place to sleep and sightsee but staying in wouldn't be fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the breakfast was okay, there was little choice for allergens or dietary requirements, a large selection of choice had eggs and also no variety in meat option, pork or pork so had to skip it all together. Another complaint was unless you brought kitchen appliances like pots and plates and utensils you couldn't use the kitchen and for a short stay in the summer that wouldn't be cost effective to buy everything from pots to cups.

    It was a great location made seeing the city really easy. Everyone was nice (they just make nicer ppl in Canada). Was able to grab the tram and a large selection of shops nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No en-suite bathrooms, but to be expected in a halls of residence. A large sticky mark on the bedroom floor, keep your flip flops on!

    The breakfast was good value and tasty

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very busy and no that attentive The iron in the laundry room at my floor didn't work!

    Accommodations looked clean and well maintained Room was easily accessible and washrooms pristine and with plentiful room for everybody to take that important morning shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location and nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was barely sufficient, especially in the room (dust, hair, smell of “closed” building) while the bathroom was better despite being shared. It was not possible to turn off the air conditioning system since it was centralised and it was freezing all day long, to the point that I had to try and cover the air flow to feel a bit of comfort. The bed was squeaky and not very comfortable, but that’s fine with what you pay. Overall, it’s nicer than a hostel and can’t be compared to other sorts of accommodation. Still, a few things could have helped making the journey a way more pleasant one.

    Great location and nice staff. The room is big enough for a short stay and breakfast is fair (for 8$ or 9.74$ all you can eat). Check-in and check out were smooth. Wi-Fi working well throughout the building. Tokens for streetcar/subway can be purchased at reception for 3$ (cash only).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy bed.

    5 Minute walk to Spadina Station. 20 -30 minute walk from downtown or 5 minutes on a tram. Very safe area and helpful staff. Good WiFi and bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    It is just perfect for a short visit toToronto.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is just perfect for a short visit toToronto. Good location. The breakfast is very convinient and you can find whatever suite your taste for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.8
    Enjoyed being in Canada
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was isolated.Needs supervision by the staff .Be prepared to buy utensils and cleaning stuff .Didn't like being in a over crowded kitchen. There were some grumpy foreign students .The Tv didn't work half the time I was there .

    10 mins walk to underground station and 4 mins walk to street cars ( bendy buses ) dirty toilets and bathrooms. The room was not cleaned the whole time I was there .I had to almost beg for clean linen .That was given with reluctance twice during my stay .The kitchen was full of students morning and evening . There were some employed people too . I had to cook my meals at 3 am for the next day .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    It’s mostly quiet and so clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfy... really sturdy. But with this price what can you expect? :)

    It’s mostly quiet and so clean. You have your own dorm which is perfect. Not many ppl in there so I used shower room with no problem!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Safe secure economical and as I expected it would be.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not in good shape not very comfortable

    A great choice for visiting Toronto on a budget. Nothing fancy just a normal dorm room with shared washroom facilities but clean, in a great location near transit, safe and secure and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Awesome Accomodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valves for the aircon were hard to find.

    Great clean room, beds were comfortable and staff were friendly and approachable. No issues with bathroom and common room had Netflix which was awesome! Laundry services were cheap and I would definitely stay again :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Inexpensive, basic, friendly accommodation… but Wi-Fi needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi kept dropping on both of my iOS devices. Had to adjust a certificate setting on the Android device to get it to work at all. Since rooms have vents into the corridor, noise from there comes straight in… and plenty of people were noisy in the mornings. Checking out was harder than it needed to be—my partner couldn't do it, only me, because I had to sign something. (??) My floor (4) was women-only during term time, so there were no urinals in the washroom.

    Great location, student staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were spare but clean. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    The staff and location are great, not comfortable at all but for the price, it was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are terrible. The pillow was flat and I’m not sure the sheets were cleaned very well. Found hairs in them...I would just bring my own sheets and pillow. The mattress was unbearable though, I got up in the middle of the night and slept on the floor because it was more comfortable than the mattress

    The staff was friendly, it was in a great location and it was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    My bed hadn't been cleaned upon my entrance into the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed hadn't been cleaned upon my entrance into the room. The bed had been made, but the mattress, sheets and pillows all had long black hairs strewn throughout. I have bright red hair so i was a bit surprised/disgusted to see it in my bed!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    My stay I felt very safe and the Staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to shopping etc.

    Very secure Property however if you have accessible problems the property is excellent for wheelchairs but need to travel by bus for food etc. Now I have a Service Dog and the Staff indeed welcomed her.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Suitable for low-budget travellers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Three shared washrooms were on one each floor, and one of them was not very clean. One toilet was out-of-order.

    This is a student dormitory being used as an inexpensive hotel during the summer recess. Nothing is fancy, but suffices minimum necessity - a bed in an air-conditioned room. Located on a huge university campus with good access to a subway and other public transportation, many restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location. You get value for the money. I'll be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable. The room and bathrooms were not very clean. The men's bathroom had a broken toilet and shower stall the entire time of my stay.

    Location and value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    A sink in the room would make a world of difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No sink in the bedroom - only one cheap thin towel provided for extended stay - no shelve in public washroom and shower to put up your toiletteries

    the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money in Toronto city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture in the room was quite old and the bed rather uncomfortable, but it is somewhat expected if you stay in a student dorm. It reminded me of my university years.

    The Location was great, close to all attractions either on foot or by a rented bike. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with cold and warm buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.3
    Below standard of Canadian professionals.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just location.

    Just location, quality of cleanness and no of washroom is third class quality. They have only one washroom, on each floor. How can people manage is morning time. one urinal was out of order. No tissue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.2
    Don't book this hostel. It's not safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hostel sells rooms to groups of aggressive teenagers. I was restricted to access the common room with a kitchen as well as the toilets by these groups. The front desk could manage only an extra shift of cleaners to the toilets. No security guard nor the campus police was available during these stay. Really not safe environment. The room was not properly vacuum cleaned at the check-in. The bed was not comfortable, the mattress was too hard. Strict check-in times, the check-in time starts at 15:00 / 3:00 pm. The luggage room can be accessed by anybody. The staff could issue luggage tags and only the staff should access the luggage room. They give you a lengthy explanation that they don't bear any responsibility for lost or damaged luggage. Basically, low price = low cost service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Might be my last stay there. Very noisy, uncomfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from room to washroom was over 100 meters. Doors make a lot of noise when closing (or not quite closing). Cleaning staff forgets how loud the doors are when going in and out of rooms in the morning.

    Great location in the city for the price. Sometimes you just want a room where your things will be safe where you can sleep at night. Strong Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall great value for the money. Can't beat the location. I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Luggage area could have been a bit more secure by having only staff enter the storage area using a luggage tag system. It was self-serve. Recommend locking all your luggage just for peace of mind.

    Excellent location and value. Walking distance from downtown, restaurants, transit. Super easy for using metro to/from airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    good value for the location. don't expect good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the mattresses are terribly saggy. rooms are not sound proof and you can hear the noise when a bunch of teenagers stay on the same floor as you.

    great downtown location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Location of the property is great and convenient. It’s a pleasant stay and good for value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor is not vacuum and cleaned before renting it out. The fan in the room 6008 is a noisy and the temperature is not adjustable.

    The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The public washroom is acceptable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Good cost-benefit very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedroom and the bathroom weren't so clean, you could find some hair of other people inside. Also the towels are very small and there's no change unless you ask them.

    Is very near from the Street Cars and also from downtown. If you enjoy cycling, there's a stop next the Residence where you can rent bikes. The breakfast is available for 8 CAD, but you can also use a common room with a kitchen. The bathrooms are okay and not so crowded.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    The people from the front desk were all very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My towel and pillowcase were not clean and the desk was sticky. So room not very clean. And there were very few restrooms over the entire floor.

    The people from the front desk were all very friendly and helpful..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Decent breakfast, great value for money, good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Constant noise from air conditioning system so needed earplugs. The room light is triggered by motion sensor which is very annoying. One can't keep it on without moving around and at night one needs to unplug the lights otherwise the light will go on every few minutes.

    Decent breakfast, great value for money, good location. Also really liked the "retro" style of the building which seems to come straight from a 1970's movie

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Good for a cheap stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doorstep was damaged and turned out to just be a nail in the floor which my partner stepped on and cut her foot quite badly. The lift never worked going to floor 3, only ever went to 2?

    Cheap place to stay, generally left to your own thing and great location! If you need anything the desk is manned nearly all the time, this is a massive bonus! Free WiFi!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    The location was convenient for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are only four washrooms (two for males and two for females) on each floor with approximately 50 rooms. Both of male washrooms were located quite far from my room (not sure why I was not placed in the other part of the floor). The mattress was very firm. Potentially, it can be a very noisy room. Luckily for me, there were not so many people in the rooms.

    The location was convenient for me. A hot breakfast was OK. It was quiet despite the design of the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    Substantial breakfast although not included rather charged...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One very very very small towel no facecloth no soap etc Air conditioner less than effective

    Substantial breakfast although not included rather charged via booking.com

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Great! I fall in love with Toronto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The place is close to the city center so it is a perfect location for travelers. Staff are friendly and helpful. room size is large enough for solo travelers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay for a week.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The bed was not that good, the air conditioning could be regulated but could not be turned off, the door of my room made a lot of noise when being closed.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent campus and Spartan minimalism
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spartan minimalism for students. If you travel with family I would not recommend to stay on campus

    Excellent opportunity to stay closer to the city center and pay less during the summer. Staff is very friendly, they will assist you during the whole day, except 3-4am, you can also buy tokens for 3 CAD each for Subway metro. How to get there: take UP Express from airport to Bloor-Dundas, then change to green line Dundas West (station is 200-300 meters from the station, ask locals), then go to TTC Spadina and walk 700m to the South. Breakfast is included (standard student's canteen)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Does the price matter?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    old old bed cold cold room, no thermostat, no way to turn it off. irresponsible employees NEVER book the breakfast if you really don't want to pay 8$ each day for rubbish. Don't forget you can not change your room if you book it through booking websites. close to streetcars (1 min) or subway (7 min), but far from beach or downtown.

    cheap price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant, clean and affordable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Try putting up direction signs for the men's and women's washrooms. This would save a lot of walking around especially where there are two women's washrooms on one side of the 4th floor. A few signs on the walls would go a long way.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is University student dorm accommodation. Therefore, fairly basic. Which I knew when making the reservation and for the cost. Excellent value for money. The only thing I didn't like was no en suite.

    The staff on reception where always friendly, efficient, helpful and informative. The cafeteria breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    The rooms are very cold.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very cold. And I've been cold. Whatever I told the hotel. Were neglected. Cooling room cooler

    The rooms are very cold. And I've been cold. Whatever I told the hotel. Were neglected. Cooling room cooler

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    A Lit Time
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Booking.com did not mention that we were only paying for the downpayment. We arrived and we had to pay an extra $100 we were not prepared to pay in order to access our room. - The complimentary breakfast ended at 10am. That was too early for us and we did not get the breakfast we had paid for.

    Great location, safe neighbourhood, solid security.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Close to everything and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there weren't any rooms with just one queen bed but I understand why since it is a dorm all year round

    I really liked that the rooms had big open windows(that you could actually open) and that it was right on the U of T campus and a short walk to Kensington market :) staff were kind as well

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Green retreat, funky restaurants, but still close to downtown for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really wanted a thicker mattress, and I think students who stay would want that too. Would be good to have business services in the dorm somewhere so it was easy to print things like boarding passes and parking permits.

    Staff were incredible, always friendly even with the full rooms during Pride weekend. And location?! How could anything be better? Not too far from the business hub of downtown, but also a quiet retreat into old Toronto with the beautiful green spaces of Queen's Park and the U of T. Loved being walking distance to lots of restaurants, cafes, and the AGO.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    2.5
    Stay somewhere else & Save Yourself
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I booked a room for two nights using Booking (for my sister and with her listed as the guest), I noted breakfast was included in the room rate and that the total would be $108 cad (about $86 usd). The fine print said they would charge part of it almost immediately and the rest within 7 days of arrival. A few days later I noticed a charge about $46 on my account, from the University of Toronto. I waited and waited for the other charge, but it never came. My sister told me when she arrived (at least 12 days later) and paid, they charged separately for breakfast & for the rest of the stay with the total amount coming to roughly $130. I immediately resent her booking confirmation screenshots showing the total amount AND where it said breakfast was included in the room rate. She showed both to the staff and was told it was Booking's fault and to handle the issue through them. As if that wasn't bad enough, after she checked out, they told her she checked out late and that they had charged her a late fee. She questioned them, they admitted they were wrong, and reversed the late fee. Don't do it to yourself, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE and save yourself the headache. I'm now waiting on my sister to send me a picture of her receipt, so I can in turn send it to Booking and see how they handle this situation.

    Nothing once I was overcharged; they said it Booking's fault and to take it up with them. I've booked a lot of places with Booking and I've never had this happen before.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Fine for 1-2 days
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable-old mattress. Breakfast choice was rather poor-pretty much the same everyday, which works if you're there for a day...No veggies at all available!

    Coffee was very good. and the wi-fi. easy to get to via public transport. Quite handy that they sell transportation token at the reception. nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for someone who needs a room at a very affordable price with all that is really needed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much to dislike...once I wrapped my head around it. It's not "dislike", it's more like "getting used to". No TV, having to go to the washroom in the middle of the night....down the hall, etc.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Washrooms were very clean. Very quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    inexpensive downtown option, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They continue to do minor upgrades to the dorms during the summer. Nothing major was going on construction wise, but expect to see things in hallways and notes scattered about for workmen. Hardly a big deal.

    An inexpensive option for being in the heart of toronto. Brings back the memories of school days past. It is nothing fancy but all I was looking for was a safe place to sleep. The included breakfast was amazing. It was much quieter than I was expecting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Great value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    The place was great! better than I expected, the staff were friendly, breakfast was great, the facility was clean, good location, close to transportations, good price for the room and breakfast, I will stay here again when I come back to Toronto.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    I would stay here again, for work or vacation. It's simple but more than adequate. Thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one towel and one bar of soap. I left the soap in the bathroom and it disappeared. One more towel would have been nice.

    Staff are friendly and helpful! Breakfast was a treat! Organic milk!! Laundry was easy. Safety - great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic value for money and great location!
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The elevator was impossibly slow (taking the stairs was almost certainly the quicker option, even to the top floor), and closing the dorm doors from the outside makes a tremendous amount of noise, but otherwise can't fault it!

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful upon arrival. Bathrooms were kept impeccably tidy throughout our stay. Sizable room for the price and excellent location in terms of proximity to the Toronto campus and just a short walk to downtown Toronto. Fantastic selection of well priced restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.1
    Location and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Providing more than one towel and pillows that have more support, and freezer in common kitchen had not been cleaned and had hair in it.

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    It was quiet, There was great security.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Showers could have been cleaner. Hand bar in the shower and a hook on the door for your clothes would have been nice

    It was quiet, There was great security. The staff were friendly. Met some interesting people. There was air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location with great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No room service (as expected) Very loud sound comes out from the air conditioning.

    Nice clean tiny place to have a short term live if you have limited budget. Great location, 1 min walk to the public transit and about 10 mins walk to restaurant. And free breakfast! (better than nothing)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Good location and staff. Ideal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More hooks specially in the bathroom/shower to hang your things!!!!!

    Very quiet, specially on a weekend. Great location...if you also enjoy some walking after a huge breakfast. Did I say that the staff are extremely good and helpful? Better than in fancy hotels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.9
    Less comfort, but far less cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed is far from comfortable- but again, for the price it is hard to complain! Room was hot even with air conditioning on.

    Great location in the heart of Toronto. Can't really beat the cost, and the welcome desk staff were superb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Price was right, room very comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed frame was very squeaky. Nothing close by for early risers to get a coffee and dining hall didn't open until 7:30. Although there is kitchen, unless you brought coffee pot/maker unable to use effectively. Only 1 towel.

    Price and room, private, great windows. Kitchen was available in the common room for the convenience of a refrigerator. The food available for breakfast was very good with lots of healthy choices.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.4
    Good location, but incomprehensible rigidity staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff of the reception have a incomprehensible rigidity. We arrived at 12.30 hrs, but the check-in time was 15 hrs. It was absolute impossible to check in earlier. We asked many time, because we had a long night travelling. Fortunately I went already to 14.45hrs stand in line, so now I was first in line to check in. Behind me were more than 15 people, the last of which undoubtedly had to wait for more than an hour, because it took no less than 15 minutes to get our check-in. College Residence is not a hotel. You stay in the rooms where the students normally stay. There are separate showers and toilets on the very long corridors. There is a ventilation system that is not adjustable, making it much too hot in the room. And we have to pay €65 for one night with breakfast. If you like to visit Niagara falls, stay there for one or two nights. Avoid the expensive daytrip and the hotels in Niagara are much cheaper than Toronto.

    The location is perfect. There is a streetcar-stop 50 meters from entrance, so you can easy reach this place from the airport. How: take from airport first bus 192 to Kipling station, end of the line. Take the metro to Spadina, there change to streetcar, direction Union. For this ride you have to buy only one ticket in the red cardmachines on the airport, see photo.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    4.6
    Definitly an experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in staff told us we needed the fob for after 10:30pm and to enter the room not mentioning the elevator requiring it. My sheets were dirty and had black hairs on them and I found multiple bugs in the beg some living some dead. Centipedes and beetles mainly. First morning was confusing as they surprisingly added breakfast to our order and wouldn't refund but didn't give us the breakfast vouchers. The beds were like hospital matrices and honestly because of the sheets I went to the dollar store bought blankets and statile wipes before even sitting on the bed. On the second night my friend and I got in a little later around 10:15 the night rules are silence between 10pm and 8 am well we had an unpleasant neighbour that yelled at us for being too loud despite trying our best to be quiet and later that night when I went to the bathroom was actually called a "tranny freak" because what was said in our room before she yelled at us was asking if my roommate had seen my binder for my cosplay. I know the experience in the bathroom is not the properties fault it's just all this together made for an uncomfortable stay.

    It was in a lovely part of town walking to it I saw many nice parks and buildings but far from the convention. My fault on distance. I did like how there were some attempts with breakfast by having rice chex and soy milk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    University residence at age 60!
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Your web site (Booking.com) was not clear that there was an $8 cost to breakfast each day. The way I read it, I thought it was free ie included, like in B and B. Plastic cover on mattress. Sheets that did not stay tucked in.

    The cost was great. Bathrooms down the hall were clean. Other residents - college students were friendly (I am in my 60's) Wool blanket on the bed! Windows that opened! Office chairs for each desk (room had two single beds) Close to the subway. Relaxed ambiance. Walking distanc eto ROM. Bata Museum, University Music Faculty building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    The front desk staff are very helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing is, depending on who is staying...can be noisy. But overall, it was fine.

    The front desk staff are very helpful and friendly. The single room is small, but it has a great desk and comfortable chair. It has a great laundry room. The location is great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Great location to stay for Back Campus Fields.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    University residence with not much nearby that was open, restaurant wise so a lot of walking required. Room was too warm and no way to control temperature. No coffee available and a good walk to get some. Dining hall breakfast was good one day, we had coupons included with our room but we could not use second day's coupons as we had to be at the sports field before dining hall was open. But a perfect location for our needs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.1
    Pretty good for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was way too hard, the towel was way too small. They could use better bedding. Needed a night table beside the bed

    It was quiet, the public bathrooms were clean. Had a window that could be opened. I'm sure it would be different if it was fully booked or full of students. I didn't see anyone on the floor or in the public washrooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Location of the accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom which takes me time to go

    Location of the accommodation Privacy of the bathroom(digital lock which is really safe)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Really miss the lovely time in UoT
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really miss the lovely time in UoT

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: