Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Admiral Lugano 4 stars

Via Geretta 15, 6902 Lugano, Switzerland

#40 of 45 hotels in Lugano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2730 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Not a 4 star hotel, but value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wardrobe in room, wear and tear facilities/room. Basic breakfast (but sufficient). Definitely not 4 stars

    Very comfy bed, large bathroom, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    5.4
    Bad and unfriendly experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking garage only allowed > 1.95m vehicles. I could not park in the parking and the staff did not allow me to park it on one of the checkin parkings. But they did allow for 3 other cars to park there the whole night. They could have easily fit into the parking! The price is too much for what they offer. Especially when there is construction work going on early in the morning Breakfast was not good except for the fresh eggs and pancakes.

    It is fairly close to the city as well as to the highway. Fresh eggs and pan cakes directly made as you wish Friendly staff serving the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.3
    Just ok. I would not stay again unless it was my only option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators are very small and very slow. None of my adapters fit. When I asked at the desk for an adapter I was told to go down the street to a small store. Store didn’t carry adapter. No wash cloths in bathroom. Room was warm and A/C. Was turned off for season. With allergies opening window was not an option.

    Wifi worked well. Room was quiet. Breakfast was good Parking was fantastic. Underground with a reserved nice size space

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from restaurants and expensive drinks from their vending machine.

    Location closed to bus station, receptionist are helpful except when we arrive in the afternoon the receptionist forgot to mention they have funicular beside them. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    Not 4 star quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I accidentally booked a double for single use instead of a double for 2 people. Instead of charging me the double room price, the receptionist charged an extra CHF30 per night which was alot more then the booking.com price. Pool was extremly disappointing, the walls were peeling. It may have been a 4 star back in the day but this hotel needs some serious renovating.

    Shower head was good. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Great Value for the time of year I was there loved the pool / terrace on the roof. Will definetly re
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast , they had run out of bread for Toast , and it wasn't replenished in the time I was at breakfast, I had scrambled eggs without toast , the eggs were very watery, and the rashers greasy.

    The Swimming pool/Terrace on the roof. Clean large room , great big Tv , Very Good Air Con , A Bath/shower.Well Stocked Mini - Bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Love a buffet breakfast? happy with this one !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An electric jug with tea & coffee in the room was not included.

    The room was pleasant, clean & comfortable. The buffet breakfast was the best. Reception Staff were very friendly & helpful. We liked the Paradiso location close to the lake and a short walk to the Lugano centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in staff are professional, smart and very kind. Spoke English very well. We couldn't believe the incredible breakfast! I can't believe I'm saying this, but their breakfast was probably the best hotel breakfast we've ever had anywhere in the world!! The tour train practically stops in front of the hotel which is very convenient. Lots of restaurants nearby. We're definitely staying here again during our next visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    great breakfast - even tough I'm nit-picky about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    rooms are not soundproof so you hear literally everything what your neighbors are doing. Inside of my room there was a door to the next hotel room. This shouldn't take place in 4 star hotel.

    great breakfast - even tough I'm nit-picky about the food in general. Clean room and comfortable bed. Good location - right next to bus stop and close to local train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Very nice staff and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice staff and helpful location is good bus stop in front of the hotel the cable car San Salvatore right behind the hotel the lake is 5 min walk. Very clean and very nice breakfast also nice facilities swimming pool in the 7the floor with nice terrace and great views I highly recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    The room was very clean and the breakfast was great -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little bare, the elevators didn't always work and our door had a loose lock when we arrived (which they fixed as soon as we told the reception).

    The room was very clean and the breakfast was great - especially the pancakes!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    A great place to stay in lugano. Enjoyed it as a nice safe and resonably priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have USB plugs in the rooms

    Really enjoyed our stay. Staff were great. Rooms nice. Breakfast very good buffet. Enjoyed the sun on the roof and enjoyed the walk into the centre of town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.4
    Nice hotel, let down by an unhelpful manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaking aircon unit which kept us awake. Manager refused to discuss it with me and offerd a 10% discount for a very poor nights sleep.

    Very freindly reception staff who tried their best to help

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    the hotel staff were friendly and smiling all the time and ready to help you ,, excellent location , just 5 minutes walk to the lake and another 10 to 15 minutes walk to the city center , behind the hotel is the Mt Sant Salvatore where you can take the train up to the top . the hotel has a private car park garage that cost 15 Fr per day . the breakfast was good also. not to forget that the rooms has good air condition the wifi inside the room was excellent all in all i had a great stay in Hotel Admiral Lugano

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is in excellent location, with supermarket nearby and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    water flow at shower is extremely slow!

    Hotel is in excellent location, with supermarket nearby and bus stops as well, easy access to city centre and everywhere! Air con is super cool, great for the summer days!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Ok and served a purpose for an overnight stop over. Reception staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know the site says the hotel is minimalistic but that is an understatement. Room was very small with bland boring decor. Roof top pool is in poor condition and very cold. Breakfast was average at best and even the hot items were cold. Parking on site was an extra 20chf. Stayed in better 3 star hotels.

    Convenient location for overnight stop over between Puglia in Southern Italy and the UK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Another great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really love this place, just a couple of tweaks would be appreciated (we're still going back regardless) - more sun loungers on the roof. There's only about 10. - a way to get bar staff to the bar near the pool without just waiting or going down to the reception to ask - Make it easier to book the exact room style you want as there are a number of options once you've visited a few times

    The value for money for the location. Your a 10 minute walk from Lugano centre but the prices are much lower. Parking is easy Rooms are modern and clean Staff are so helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Lovely place, the decor is beautiful, very comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Lovely place, the decor is beautiful, very comfy room. We rented a quad for 2 adults and 2 children under 12. Location is perfect for walking to all sites

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    The space itself .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As Saturday you could allow the pool open in the evening and also a bar on the roof top because it was such a nice space I would have enjoyed a lot more .

    The space itself ... the room was cosy, the area also extremely nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the place was in Lugano as per hotel name suggested but it’s actually at Lugano Paradiso which is the next suburb (1 train stop or 5 bus stops away from Lugano). We caught the train from Zermatt to Lugano Paradiso but the train station does not have a ramp or lift. We had to carry all our luggage down 5 sets of 8 steps. The staff were not very friendly. We were not offered the Lugano free public transport card until requested whilst this was provided in Geneva. The room was dated and not cleaned properly beforehand. There was a glass of sparkling water left in the bathroom.

    Lugano lake is nice. Bus stop and Migros is nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Rooms are comfortable, The location is great if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was mediocre - not a lot of choice especially if you don't like "sweet" breakfasts. It doesn't suit 4 star hotel. It was actually hard to find open shop on saturday/sunday nearby (but maybe I just didn't find the right place).

    Rooms are comfortable, The location is great if you don't want to be in a city center. Swimming pool is ok (nothing really outstanding but that's not the point I guess).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    The worst ever check in Experience in my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst ever check in Experience in my life. The lady was asking money, money and money. I came to know at reception of this hotel if you tell the Brand of your Car then it is automatically considered as bigger car without understanding the model of your car. She asked me to remove the car from existing parking slot to park the car at any other slot which was ridiculous. I am 100% sure if Admiral Lugano will have such staff at reception will loose all his customers soon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.5
    location & cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    high price without breakfast , if you want to have the breakfast you pau extra 20CHF. then they chagre the CHF equal to € like what happened to me , I had to pay 386 CHF for two nights foe two adults & I have only € in cash , the reciptionist told me that the exchanged rate at the hotel is: 1 € =1 CHF while in change offices 1€=1.16 CHF this is to much difference

    location & cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    clean rooms, very good breakfast, close to everything and my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    don't forget to ask for the local card for the area. gives you some good discounts and free transportation around the city

    clean rooms, very good breakfast, close to everything and my kids loved the rooftop pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    it was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tiny little swimming pool on the rooftop was a welcome after our long walk from the main station. despite that no one could swim except the toddlers, but it was relaxing. The room was clean, helpful staff, good breakfast and it was so close to the bus station and also train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Never again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not a 4 stars hotel. Front desk staff not friendly. Room walls are very thin, you can hear everything from the next room. Construction in front of the hotel, very noisy. Swimming pool on top floor is very small and is not in a good shape. Wrong charges in the final bill. Front desk staff was very rude when I asked to remove the wrong charges. Never again!

    Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.8
    Staff was not very friendly, no free Parking though it Said...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very friendly, no free Parking though it Said so on the home page. The room was small and aircon did NOT get below 24 degrees celcius. The Roof top pool and breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    It worth the amount I paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel facilities, as a whole, could be improved / or renovated in order to be in comparison with other 4 stars hotels i.e. the bathroom is so small in size and shower tub is so tight to the degree that it is hard to take a shower !! Whereby I had to change my room!!

    Location comes number one in my opinion, it is very close to seaside equipped with all required facilities and the hotel located in the centre of the city which are surrounding with nice Italian Restaurants and different shops and touristic entertainments.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    We was our third visit to Lugano but would not stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double beds too small for 2 adults and child 8yrs. Were told they were queen size. Not true when we measured. Asked for bigger room which was what I thought we booked but not so. Staff said is booking.com problem. Broken window, no proper shampoo/conditioner, toilet paper roll mounted away from toilet - can't reach, paint flakes in rooftop pool, tv did not work in 2nd room, bedside lights in low position with mattress. Lift small. No tea/coffee in room, not enough hangers in rooms. Was given conflicting information about room prices. Too expensive and more like a 3 star hotel. Lots of construction around the hotel and smell of natural gas. I would avoid this hotel for a while.

    The location was good. The indoor pool is good for swimming. Air conditioning good. Breakfast was adequate but not always restocked. Room safe good but too high to reach. Room was clean. Female staff helpful. Public transport close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean hotel, polite personnell, poor services
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Our room (even though we were a couple without kids) was connected by the next room (through two conected internal doors), and in the days that there was someone in the room nextt to us, it was a little noisy). - There was no opportunity to eat something, appart from the breakfast. - The pool was not something special..

    Very good breakfast. Very good Wi Fi. Excellent bed. Very polite personnel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Location was good.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a problem. The hotel doesn’t have enough parking for the number of rooms they have.

    Location was good. An easy walk to restaurants and the lake. The pool upstairs was also a nice addition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    Worst staff ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff the staff the staff One of my worst experience with hotel staff non of the staff were smiling and they look like they want to say something all the time but they never did, I was given a room then it was given to someone else before they give me the key. Also there was a card that all hotels give to guests for free to use the buses and trains for free and have discount up to 30% in some places around the city which was not given to us and we were not aware about it at all till the last day when someone told us that every hotel should prepare and give this cards at check in for all guests. I will never go back to this hotel at all but I will visit Lugano again.

    Breakfast, location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable & clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were really thin in our room. We could hear the family next door as if they were in our room!!! They finally went to sleep at 12 midnight!

    Comfortable & clean. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Location & comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, actually they are not hospitable and I think they are rude too! Need to teach them how to serve their guests in the right way N show some respect! Parking charge (15 euro/ day), if you wanna one more key for the room they may charge you !!!

    Location & comfort. Breakfast is just ok!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Really good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is by the train stop Paradiso : the location is excellent anyway but it may be. Bit tricky transportation wise. We had to ask for the transportation card for the area (which is free). If we didn't know about it we would not have gotten it.

    Really good breakfast Nice Location really close to the lake Two pools with towels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    Would have been nice if hotel website was updated stating no restaurant services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services were not available due to renovation(?). No restaurant, no pool side bar, no specialty breakfast, no towels at pool, air conditioner noisey.

    Not much

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast 😩
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast isn't control very well ( meat and omlate and cheese ) in same place ( mix smells ). Someone took the spoon of the Honey and lick it and turn it back and when I told the staff they didn't care because he's European guy and i have a black hair 🙄. Anyway I recommend you to have this hotel just to sleep without breakfast.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    Does not feel like four stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owner shouting at his staff at the reception. Room not ready upon arrival despite late arrival - were invited to a drink while we wait...which was then invoiced to our room. Swimming pool on roof is tiny and 90 cm deep.

    Nice terrace for breakfast and quite close to the Lake and the cable car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to the Lake for us to enjoy our one night stay. The room had two beds, which fit the four in our family, however, a longer stay would have been difficult with limited space. The facilities were great, with my kids enjoying the two pool. Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Good standard of rooms, good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I needed an adapter for electric socket, as there are different than in EU, to charge my notebook and mobile. But hotel reception couldn't provide me. That I would expect as standard for guests from abroad. I have ordered a wake-up call, but haven't got. Luckily my phone had still little bit of energy and waked me up, otherwise I would missed my flight!

    Good standard of rooms, good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    Room is ok . Staff at front desk not friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under staff only one person in front desk . To have an extra room key card they charge 10 frank if it lost. No coffee or tea machine even if it mention in the reservation it cost 20 frank to have it

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel a little south of downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No ability to make a cup of tea or coffee in your room.

    The hotel is easily reached by bus from the railway station and is close to the lake shore. All very clean and the staff helpful. The breakfast was adequate without being extensive. We enjoyed a swim in the rooftop pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    3.8
    Not great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff (with the exception of the front desk) were rude, especially in the breakfast room where they tried to force people to sit with strangers rather than use an empty table. Room itself was poorly decorated which made it feel small and oppressive. The shower looks out into the room giving no privacy. Glass screens behind the bed made it difficult to sit up comfortably. Little room on the desk to work. The rooftop pool paint was peeling into the water. Room was only cleaned once while I was there.

    Bed was reasonably comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room without balcony makes it a little bit difficult to open a window due to the design of the room.

    Location great , good breakfast lot of choices. The staff is friendly and service oriented.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    clean but lacks facilities, likely better options available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was advertised as a 4 star hotel but lacked even basic facilities, ie. No kettle, no room service, very simple rooms. Bathroom was quiet dated. Restraunt closed for renovation. Swimming lessons in hotel pool.

    Room was clean and an alright size. Staff were mostly friendly, some a bit stand off-ish.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to rénovation work in dining area(which we were notified of, when we received our confirmation) breakfast room a bit noisy and chaotic, but not due to personnel, who coped admirably under The circumstances!

    The bed was very comfortable! Personnel at reception helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    3.8
    Not a 4stars hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of noise. Heard the conversation of the other rooms. Small room who looks like a prison. Terrasse and pool closed. Staff not friendly. Not a 4 stars hotel.

    The location is far from perfect but ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel in a quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had problems initially registering to the hotel Wi-Fi but this was resolved after deselecting the Wi-Fi network and selecting it again, so just a minor issue.

    Nice modern hotel with comfortable rooms. Good breakfast but limited seating due to space constraints, so it can get busy easily. Quick tip if you are driving - contact the hotel in advance to reserve a parking space as there is free underground parking but it can fill up easily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    It was close to the lake with a very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since we were traveling by train, this was a bit of a hike from the train station. About a 20 minute walk.

    It was close to the lake with a very comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    The location was really good,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can simply hear your neighbors.

    The location was really good, Breakfast was very good. We had a very clean and modern room. Hotel has a lovely looking backyard that we could enjoy having breakfast there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn’t have a coffee maker. Bathroom was outdated.

    Property was conveniently located: a nice 5 minute walk to the lake and shopping; located next to the #2 bus stop directly to/from Lugano Central station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Not recommended due to several negative points.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly front desk staff. Inefficient and chaotic check-in. We were second in the queue and it took 20 minutes until it was our turn. Front desk staff would not greet. We only received 1 key card although we are a couple. Allowed parking time for check-in is 15minutes. We had to leave the parking before we could check-in. Very inconvenient. Lifts are slow. And most of the time already full.

    Comfortable bed and pillow. We had one of the best omelette ever for breakfast. We booked a standard room with kingsize bed for a discounted rate of CHF 130.- including breakfast. A reasonable price for what you get. Anything above would not be worth the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Easy accessibility due to frequent bus avaibility to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room are smaller for a family of four which includes kid of under 16 years and luggage.

    Easy accessibility due to frequent bus avaibility to the nearest station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff should be trained more on the booing.com site It took me a long time to explain why I had to live early

    Good location and very clean hotel The price is good for the worth

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Discovering Paradisio and Lugano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn’t working in our room, but opening the window during the night did the trick Bus from train station only operating a few times per hour

    Large and comfortable bed Clean and modern room Lovely breakfast buffet, lot of pastery

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel. Dirty room. Very noisy as I was able to heard the person of the other room talking and going to the toilet. Pool and terrace closed even if it was 28 degrees in Lugano. Had to wait 20mn for the check in because the person was on the phone. This IS NOT a 4stars hotel. Even a 2 stars is better. I should have read the comments.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.0
    The location was great and staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were ants in our room which was gross. Also, the rooms were sparse ... no iron, liquid hand soap that doubled as shampoo. Conditioner and small bar of soap would have been nice. We had 2 adjoining rooms (family of 5) and were only provided 4 bath towels. For the price we paid, we expected much more.

    The location was great and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay with accommodating staf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was very slow

    We arrived really early in the morning and our rooms were ready so they let us check in. The breakfast was amazing with fresh made crepes and eggs. The location was great-short walk to the lake.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location with mixed service some great, some not so good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were handed 1 key between for each of the double beds! We were handed a key to a room that wasn't ready! I would expect to be able to control my own room temperature at a 4* hotel in 2018!

    Great omelette and a friendly chef

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Great breakfast, WiFi, location and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The greeting staff were not very friendly nor helpful since a problem had come up with the booking and had no internet before room assignment. Had to pay for parking. No coffee machine and coffee in the room.

    The breakfast and the chef were excellent. Location and surrounding were great. Great WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Your eyes and mouth will stay in your debt forever because of the views and the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late at night and the night clerk - Juan from Malaga Spain was very helpful at first, but when it came to get the converter for my Lap Top - he tried to sell me one instead of simply handing.., That was a bit strange.

    The staff and the location and the city and the parking arrangements - all was Swiss style. Do not forget to go up to Mount San Silvester with a tram that costs 26 euro per person but ince up you will understand why. The restaurant on that mount as the view are excellent. Do not miss it. The city is fabulous and the hotel location is excellent. You must do Lugano at least once a year I think if you can afford it (very expensive everything except Hotel in March as it was floor price). If you cant do Lugano every year - do it once - but that you must!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.4
    Terrible experience, not recommended to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soundproof of the hotel was terrible. We were given a room with a connected door(luckily locked!!!) which room was rented by a family with young children who were screaming. Who gives a room with a connected door to a young couple next to a family??? Awful. We called the reception asking a new room, because of the noise, and the answer we got was "i can't change the room".

    The location is decent, the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    It was just excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing that I didn't like, All was great

    The breakfast buffet was excellent. It had everything. You might think that the room is small, but it designed in a way that you feel that it is spacious. Bed is very relaxing. The hotel team was very helpful and they all made the extra mile to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    We have really enjoyed our short stay as a family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking options but there are plenty of parking spaces around the hotel for a fee.

    Great breakfast buffet, clean rooms. As a family of 5 we found the rooms super comfy and decent size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    Overall good stay and I hope to improve quality of the facilities since this is 4 Stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refill of sanitary bag, slipper ( found 1 pair only) and the hotel elevator is small, allow 2 persons with 2 luggages each time. Most of the time we using staircase since we staying at 3 floors.

    The room is clean and cozy, nice design (the room can see through the bathing area) . The breakfast is good, although is a small little cafe but the Chef and staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've heard almost everything from our neighbors and there was mold in the shower.

    Friendly staff and nice room with romantic light. It was a 3 min walk to the lake.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Decent, but expected more for 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Non-existent sound insulation. You can easily hear everything not only between the rooms, but also the elevators going up and down. This is not 4* sound insulation, period. - Speaking of elevators, the time we arrived they were broken (couldn’t go all the way down to the garage), and generally their response was laggy. They need to be changed by more modern and working elevators. - Swimming pool is basic at best, it exists more to get the extra star.

    - Friendly and helpful staff - Nice breakfast - Parking for guests (although not free) - Relatively close to center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    the location: near the lake and within easy reach of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It didnt have a bar to sit and relax in the evening, but this we believe is due to refurbishment. There is temorary building going on from 8am in front of the hotel which meant the windows nedded to be shut to minimise the noise.

    the location: near the lake and within easy reach of the train station. The staff: curtious and friendly The breakfast: very fresh and excellent, freshly prepared omelette by the hotel's chef.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.8
    In good spot however quite noisy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy, I could easily hear what people in other rooms do or talk about. The shower was a disaster, you could not take it without making whole floor of bathroom wet. Restaurant was closed.

    Hotel in a good spot, clean and quite big one. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Comfy beds and a great view from the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive parking. When it is full, they direct you to a public, paying parking behind the hotel.

    Comfy beds and a great view from the room. The breakfast was good better than normal for this region. They do have eggs and pancakes on demand. The swimming pool is nice and warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    Bett
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unter jedem Anstanz Level was sich die Angestellten im Hotel gegenüber Ihrer Kunden leistet. An der Reception wurde 2x Frühstück versucht zu verrechnen (ohne nur ein Wort zu sagen), obwohl man nur eine Person auf dem Zimmer ist. Das wurde zudem 3x wiederholt, ohne verstehen zu wollen, was der Kunde erwidert. Der General Manager versteckt sich hinter der Reception. Das Frühstück Personal bestätigt, dass es sich hier um 2 Kinder handelt, die Frühstück gegessen haben. Trotz dieser Information will die Receptionistin auf 2x Frühstück bestehen. EIN NO GO !

    Bett

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Admiral’s stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, you can order omelette, pancakes or waffles. Comfy beds, had a room with shower window in the bedroom-quite spicy design. Walking distance from the lake

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    Perfekt breakfast, nice modern renovated rooms .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfekt breakfast, nice modern renovated rooms ... restaurant for dinner was closed :-( ... why the pool is not mentioned (pictures missing) - neither the pool in -2 nor roof top pool (open during the summer)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    4.6
    Well “look like” hotel but terible in reality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel show 4 star i think but it was very bad experience...even for 1 night stay i not recomand. Room very small , no any wardrobe where can i put my clothes, shower that everywhere was water go out, small bathroom, but what was most bad was that wall in hotel is not strong so you hear everything from your neighbors, we couldnt sleep because we hear always some noice, also bad was very uncomfortable. Very bad sleeping experience. Price too much high for this room where i could not sleep and do anxthing..next time i prefer try ibis budget for sure it will be batter sleeping. Or pay little bit more and stay in good one.. already 109 chf with parking and no breackfast iam sure you can find batter. Too much noisy place.

    Woman on reception was sympatic and helpfull, car parking available ( 15 chf per day) another thing so bad...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Relatively low price for Switherland and Lugano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not near the city center. Only one chair in twin room.

    Relatively low price for Switherland and Lugano. Very good breakfast. Bus No 1 and 2 stop near the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Admiral Lugano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: