Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alexander Guesthouse 2 stars

Zähringerstr 16, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

#3 of 21 B&Bs and Inns in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 487 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money, will definetly book this hotel again if I stay in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from the room window

    The hotel was close to many resturants, coffee shops and there was also a super markert right next to it. It was a 10 min walk from Zurich central station. The room was convenient with a private bathroom and the staff were very friendly and helpfull with information and luggage storage before check in and after check out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Convenient base in Zurich, and reasonable for such an expensive city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very warm (though a fan was provided). While we were there the phone system broke and the lift broke, so we had to lug our cases, fortunately down. The 'Guesthouse' is an annexe of a hotel in a nearby street, and that isn't clear from the website, and the directions at the door are not clear enough.

    Location was excellent and the room was clean and reasonably comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Ok, but not more
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room Bed was ok No view No airconditioner Breakfast was poor

    Great location in the city Available very basic parking Free coffee in the lobby in the morning Nice & friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Close to most everything, bottled water supplied.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy street at night, no air conditioner, so impossible to sleep with the windows open. Layout of the room was odd, not much room to walk between bed and tv.

    Close to most everything, bottled water supplied. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Location is convenient within walking distance to the center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is convenient within walking distance to the center, its located in a quiet street. Room is comfortable even if its not so big. Value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Third stay at this hotel. Do I need to say more?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room overlooked the street and is noisy in the weekend (esp on a summer's night). A fan is provided but air conditioning would have been welcome.

    Convenience and the staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was very small and was not working properly. However, when intimated technician was sent to check.

    The reception girl was really warm and helpful. The location is very good. Less than 10 mins walk to main zurich station and just 5 mins walk to river. The room was clean and spacious. Had a comfortable stay and would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Costly but very near to Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room does not have any air conditioner - only fan was provided. It was too hot in Zurich so it was very tough for us to sleep in the night. There were call-girls in the front of the hotel which was very uncomfortable for family person.

    Location is close to Central station for which I paid the huge money. The receptionists were good who helped me whenever required. The hotel is near to good number of eateries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    2.9
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don’t like BIG spiders in your room that you have to kill each night before going to bed and having to call the police because of teenagers blaring music at 11 pm in the park across the street then don’t stay here. Was also no drapes on one window in our room so was woke super early from the sun.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    The staffs are very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small but there are the necessary facilities.

    The staffs are very nice and helpful. The guesthouse locates at another building. He took us there and helped us on moving a luggage. Thanks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice and tidy hotel in central location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady in the reception was really friendly and helpful. The reception is situated in the Hotel Alexander and Alexander Guesthouse was a bit away from there in another building. We were really surprised but happy when our luggage was taken to our room and we didn't have to pull them ourselves :) The room was clean and tidy and we even had a little balcony. I had asked for a non-scented room because of my severe asthma and was happy to find the room odorless! The hotel was near the river and shops and restaurants. It was really easy to walk everywhere. Even the main railway station was in walking distance, so we didn't have to use any taxis, trams or buses :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    the first night, I stayed in a room which is near the street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the first night, I stayed in a room which is near the street, and it is noisy and i can not sleep well. the second night, I changed the room, it was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful location, quiet street,with great service from all staff members
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We chose Alexander Guesthouse due initially to its proximity to Zurich rail station. However, to our surprise it turned out to be in a wonderful location for all the points of interest around Centro Zurich. Located in a quiet back street just off the main boulevard it was ideal for walking to all good facilities including restaurants, museums, churches and the lake waterfront. As testimony to Alexander’s we have decided to return at the end of our European trip before flying out of Zurich.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location and customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't an air conditioning unit to cool down the room at night, so when it's humid it's not as comfortable to sleep.

    The customer service was top notch!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small but it’s ok for a small city in a small country )))

    Close to the central station, new and perfectly clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff who welcome you with water and apples :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    little noisy because the hotel is on a main street and late at night there were noises. the parking is little hard to find

    very friendly staff. we were upgraded to the main hotel without extra charge. very good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location to several restaurants and next door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great, but we booked a double bed and the bed was two twin beds put together. The mattresses slipped easily.

    Great location to several restaurants and next door groceries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    Super central and friendly, but pricey (as is everything in Switzerland!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom. Pricey (as is everything in Switzerland). No tea/coffee amenities.

    Great location and friendly staff. I was able to check in early and they offered to store my luggage on check out. Receptionists are very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Would stay there again next time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Recommendation: since breakfast is not available having a coffee machine in the building would significantly increase the level of comfort.

    Perfect location. Recently refurbished. Very clean. Small details that make a big difference - for example, there is a power distribution box for EU and UK mains cables as well as USB cables.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    We were satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our last day was marred by a blockage of the drains, not our fault, that we only discovered when returning late after a long day of adventure. I walked the block to the main hotel desk to get an inadequate plunger, which of course could not solve the problem. In the morning the porter cheerfully fixed us up using a special piece of equipment. The hotel did all we could expect of them, but it left us rather glum that such a pricey place was not more enjoyable. The lift in the guesthouse is small.

    Zurich exists on a different money scale than any other place we traveled. Sticker shock is potent. The guesthouse was fine, but anywhere else for such an expense the digs would have been luxurious. This was simple and spare but far from Spartan. It's in a great place. The staff was helpful, given that they are a distance away. I don't know that we could have done better in Zurich. The bathroom was nice and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was included and was hearty enough to save us the cost of both breakfast and lunch, which was a big help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Great stay at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was indeed a good value for money. The reception was very helpful and friendly and the hotel is in a good location (center) near the train station, the room was neat as well as the toilet and bath, room was simple but it provided what we needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Location; Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t really any storage space available for clothes, although there was a open closet with hangers.

    The location really can’t be beat. There’s a little market a few steps away with quick-serve food. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was basic, but very clean. The Guesthouse was very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Clean room in a lively part of Zürich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed is just two twin beds pushed together. The beds move apart easily, which may make it tricky for two people to share the bed.

    The rooms are small, but clean and have everything you need to spend a weekend in Zürich. You need to check in at the Hotel Alexander, which is one block away. The staff are very friendly and they can store your luggage before check-in and after check-out. There are dozens of restaurants and shops in walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazingly Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in the centre of everything at walking distance. Rooms are spacious and clean. Bathroom is super neat and clean with all facilities available. They do have a coffee machine at the reception/ entrance of the hotel and a basket full of apples is available at anytime of the day. Everything is perfect and last but not the least the staff is friendly and helpful. I am impressed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Hotel had a very central location and was easy to reach from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The streest surrounding the hotel can be loud at night.

    Hotel had a very central location and was easy to reach from the hauptbanhof. The staff was very courteous and upgraded us from the annex to the main hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    Extremely excellent service, comfortable beds, modern bathroom, good breakfast and great location, c
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Storage space was a little cramped

    Breakfast was vey good. Servers friendly, food good. The concierge desk was extremely accommodating. The location was also great, Good restaurants and bars within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Pleasantly surprised at the high standards and low price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    It was clean and comfy and spacious and modern. It had a central location, friendly staff, great shower, lots of tv channels, excellent beds and electrical outlets for all plug types.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    A bit expensive for what you got but generous with an early check-in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of the room and the price-it could be our exchange rate but it was ridiculously expensive for the type of room

    The staff were wonderful in accommodating us with an early check-in

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic location and really helpful staff = great place to stay in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We checked in early and they allowed this to happen - great stay with free coffee machine at front door and apples to start your day! We would stay here again definitely...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were prostitutes hanging out outside the property at night looking for work. Street noise was easily heard.

    Location was great. Free croissant and espresso in the morning. The staff was helpful with providing recommendations for food and sightseeing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is somewhat noisy and the room rather small.

    Exxellent location in the old town of Zurich. The hotel is in a pedestrian street with plenty of restaurants just outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location, but loud on Friday night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit confusing checking procedure with 2 buildings. Hard to find if arriving by car. We only spent a Friday night, but the noise level from the street was very high. Hard to sleep well.

    Great location. Great staff. Comfortable bed. Good use of space an good bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and no breakfast was included. Zurich is expensive in general, but still I felt the could have been more value for the fairly high price.

    Great location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Very good location, helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Magnetic cards open the main door sometimes does not work. Yes the staff is very helpfull for this problem but the technology must be improved.

    Very good location, helpfull staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    Way over priced student accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor value for money. Booking dot com site indicated the room was discounted 74% which means the standard rate for a single room should be more than 300 pounds which would indicate very good rooms. How ever the room was student accommodation at best. Car park 30 francs Breakfast 30 francs.

    Staff were friendly, polite and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    2.9
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Groups of prostitutes stand right in front of the hotel. Very unsuitable place to live especially with kids. Place difficult to find. Staff made mistakes about my booking and tried to charge me more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As ever with Zurich, very overpriced.

    Nice and clean, small but everything you need. Friendly and accommodating staff. Location is fantastic, 5 mins walk to the main train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good staff, very good hotel, I would come back here if I would return in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very, very small elevator and very narrow stairs. Very noisy during weekend nights. Some strange people in the street in front of the guesthouse.

    Very good guesthouse situated very close to the railway station, in the city center, near most touristic landmarks. The staff is very kind, helpfull and is present 24 hours at the hotel reception, but you can phone them from the guesthouse any time. Wifi is free and works very well. The room and the bathroom are very clean with lots of amenities. Excelent shower, bed and pillows. Many TV channels. There are many shops, restaurant, one supermarket very close the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    PERFECT FOR STREET PARADE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the price is quit high i find

    I've been to zurich for the street parade! this hotel has a perfect situation to enjoy as much as possible of this festival. it's located in a nice animated street near by everything! the personnel is cool and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That staff was very accommodating and the parking area was convenient and was secured well. The area was right in old town, it was easy to walk to shopping/restaurants and the lake! The room was very nice and modern. Wish I had more time to spend in this city!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location, right in Altstadt (or Niederdorf).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property is right over a pub. Loud talking til the wee hours. I slept OK, my partner did not.

    Great location, right in Altstadt (or Niederdorf). Price OK considering the alternatives. They have a breakfast buffet for 17 CHF, which it turns out is quite a bargain. Comfortable room, nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    A value hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guesthouse is operated by hotel Alexander which is more then 50 meters away, so no real front desk there.

    Nice modern room right in the center of Zurich popular night scene, reasonable price. Added a fan to help dealing with the heatwave.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Great room- clean and spacious, but no AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no AC in the guesthouse rooms, and the fan provided shut off automatically after 3 hours (it had a timer).

    The room was very clean and modern. Beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was very nice. The staff was friendly, and the hotel is in an excellent location. We were able to walk to/from the train station, and there were many good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    4.6
    Bad location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad location. a lot of prostitutes in the street of the guesthouse. The room was not ventilated. There was one window close to the windows of neighbors, so we couldn't open it and even when we open it no wind or fresh air. No air condition and the fan didn't work well. We were very disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.4
    The bed had the cheapest possible mattress, it was very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed had the cheapest possible mattress, it was very uncomfortable. The room smelled of tobacco, like smoking bar in the morning (of course I'm not a smoker, so it couldn't be from me). The facilities in the room were bare minimum, not even an electric kettle to make a cup of tea or instant coffee in the morning. It was clean though, and the bathroom was very nice. The reception and the breakfast room are not in the same building, I had to go for breakfast to the other building in the next street. But the breakfast was very nice, and the staff was also extremely nice, professional and helpful, both at the restaurant and at the reception. The location is very good, very central, some 5 minutes to the University and 5 minutes to the main train station. Maybe 15-20 minutes walking distance to the lake. But apparently, due to its very central location I guess, the prostitutes' spot is right in front of the building. I never had any problems neither with prostitutes nor with their customers though, but it was kind of weird. A good thing is that I asked for a quiet room, and the room was very quiet, overlooking the backyard. Maybe that was the reason why I was in a different building, because the main building, the reception and the breakfast are in the small pedestrian street full of bars, clubs etc, so I guess it wouldn't have been as quiet there as in the room I was actually in. In summary, the room was not very comfortable, but it was clean and quiet. The staff was superb. The location is very central, which has it's own drawbacks (prostitutes in front of the detached building, but on the other hand, other hotels in that area would have the same problem, it's probably more about the fact that it's a central area, close to the main train station). The breakfast was very good, with all kinds of excellent Swiss savoury and sweet pastries, cheeses, fruits, cereals and hams. The wifi was poor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    Basic 2 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find when arriving by car. The apartments are located separately to the Hore reception and the carparking facility. Rooms very basic.

    Location is great, Beds were comfy. Staff were excellent in helping park and get into our rooms. But this was a bit of a mission.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.1
    great location , better for one person or a very comfortable couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room is so narrow that they couldn't fit a door for the bathroom ( only a slide door that isn't proof as a bathroom door should be). the elevator is so narrow that we had to send our luggage without us , and leave our baby's cart downstairs.

    the location was great. the staff were very friendly and help a lot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location, value and warm, helpful staff! Made my stay in Zurich extra special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly noisy being above restaurants and bars, but worth it!

    After a mess of complications from trying to stay at a hostel nearby, the staff at Hotel Alexander warmly welcomed me and situation me in the lovely guesthouse. Amazing location, security, shower and just a lovely staff. Provided me with city map, airport shuttle information, and made me feel safe, which was a bonus because I was traveling alone!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.5
    Short Stay at Alexander Guesthouse (1 night)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street outside the guesthouse was quite noisy late into the night. I think there is a bar on the corner or something.

    The room was ready for early check in. The room was very clean and exactly how it looked in the pictures.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.0
    dissapointment, no value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of Alexander ** is next to a street with lot's of hookers. They didn't tell us where to go and when we phoned for help, the receptionist was rude and hung up the phone. When we arrived he laughed about the complain and helped other guests while let us wait. When we were checked-in, we got the wrong bed. We paid extra for a double bed but still got 2 single beds. Luckily, the next morning another receptionist was nice and gave us the money back. the room was basic but it was next to the sigaret machine in the hall so every time they bought sigarets, we heared that. For the money that you paid, you can easily get a 3 star hotel with better facilities.

    the location is situated in the city centre (but there are hookers walking in the street next to the hotel which gives the street not a nice atmosphere). When you are out of the hotel street, it is fine and you walk into the centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Good location, extremely helpful staff, comfortable room at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't know you had to check into the Alexander Hotel first and didn't see the alley shortcut so it was a bit of extra walking.

    Good location, extremely helpful staff, comfortable room at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    5.4
    Huge earplugs mandatory!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No double glazing so you might as well keep the window opended as it will give you the same result. Same thing with the paper thin walls. Might as well move in your neighbor's room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Perfect efficiency hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect efficiency hotel-- no frills, nothing fancy, but comfortable and complete... and best of all, perfectly located (Old Town). If you spend a lot of time hanging out in your hotel room, you might certainly want to go for something larger, fancier, and probably more expensive. But if you like a room that's clean and reasonably sized, with a good shower (hot water and good water pressure) and a closet, tv, and large comfortable bed, this is for you. Couldn't find an english-speaking television statement-- but why watch television?! And the breakfast was expensive (as is everything in Zurich), but the scrambled eggs were tasty and of course there are all the other bread and cereal choices. So-- very good value overall, friendly desk, and when you walk out the hotel you are in the thick of the Old Town, the best part of Zurich to spend a few days.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    Very centrally located within walking distance of city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The building we stayed in was not part of the main hotel and we had to walk a short block to the breakfast which after having one breakfast out was very definitely value for money. The very very small lift but at least there is one.

    A no frills property which we found expensive but this would be relevant to the fact that Switzerland is expensive and Zurich especially. Hence the good grade for value for money. On a world standard no but a Zurich standard yes. The young man on reception was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Location location location...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere of the guest house rather depressing would not want to spend time in the room other then to sleep

    Free coffee and pastry in the morning Great location if one has time to enjoy it

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    Great little hotel in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, but as it wasn't horribly hot during our stay, it was bearable. Would have been nice though.

    Comfortable beds, super clean and in a great location!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for walking all around central Zurich, one block from the river, five minutes walk from the lake and ten minutes from the main railway station Zurich HB. Lots of eating places and cafes all around. Hotel room was well set up, it even had a multiple converter for power for most countries including one for New Zealand, the first time we have seen that in a hotel room in Europe! Good bathroom and good internet. The actual Guest House is the road behind Alexander Hotel, but very short walk through a roadway/tunnel. You need to check in at the hotel in front.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast was great and rooms were too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some street noise at night. A bit awkward to walk over to hotel for breakfast - at least, no rain. It's a small elevator to take us and luggage to higher floors.

    Breakfast was great and rooms were too. The location was very good and front desk people friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.9
    wounder ful location rom main hub station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It have actually two Hotel which may confisuse but if u get any one they will lead you to ur proper booking

    Its a wounder ful location just 5 mineuts walk from Zurich Hub train station.Its called old zurich and nice to see even by walk around it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Location is good, Front Desk people speak many languages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Location is good, Front Desk people speak many languages.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Good wifi, lots of power points
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't included. Check out was in a different building

    Good wifi, lots of power points

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.0
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a very quiet city the apartment has a lot of noise

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean and modern place in the heart of Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No or inadequate fan in bathroom made it very hot to shower in.

    Very clean and modern room. Right in heart of Old Town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean room and bathroom and very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Clean room and bathroom and very central

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, good location and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic

    Friendly staff, good location and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner. Not recommended for families.

    Good for short stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location, clean and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have an air conditioner and a teakettle.

    Perfect location, clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    The location was great, very helpful and pleasant staff, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great, very helpful and pleasant staff, it made our stay in Zurich memorable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    No AC, noise from street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, noise from street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Handy location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    bathroom door has no locking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom door has no locking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    The staff was great,but the room was hot and noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff. Thank you, Anthony, and thank you night manager whose name I did not catch! We slept very well and breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    Hot, No cover sheet, only thick duvet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot, No cover sheet, only thick duvet.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: