Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alexander 3 stars

Niederdorfstrasse 40, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

#50 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1335 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    The best place to stay in Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best place to stay in Zurich... centrally located (near the main train station), exceptionally caring staff, spacious rooms and wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    great room in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing, the room was great in every way.

    the location on a pedestrian street just two blocks from a street car was excellent. the room was very comfortable. there was a good-sized grocery store next door and a gelato place and several other restaurants within a minute's walk. A street car line was only two blocks away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Hospitality and well appointed room. We had a late night train to catch and we were offered the use of their dining room for tea/coffee. Commendation to the General Manager/ owner for running such an excellent hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments

    The hotel has air conditioned rooms which are very helpful and make the rooms comfortable particularly during the summer time with heat wave. Nice breakfast and friendly staff at reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    A convenient location in a clean hotel with good air-conditioning near all amenities - rm#205
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and knowledgeable staff Complimentary water/apples and chocolate Location near the old town historic sites Location for walking to small supermarkets, cafes and restaurants within 5 minutes or less and train station within 10 min. Hotel and room was clean with modern european decor Lot's of outlets(swiss sockets) in the room including 1 permanent charger for other plug types Airconditoning Auto sensor for lighting up floor when needing to go to the bathroom at night Bathroom with adjustable shower wand Breakfast room and variety of food and beverages secure room with key card elevator

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.6
    Way overpriced for the product
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room small. Breakfast very basic. Expensive.

    There is no real garage had to pay a lot to park in a terrible borrowed garage far away could not get the car out until I left the city paid for nothing. They should not advertise they have parking. They don’t

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The staff were really friendly and helpful - giving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and helpful - giving restaurant recommendations that were perfect for our family. The triple room was a good size for two adults and two small children. The hotel was in a great location - easy for transport in and out of Zurich and to explore the city. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, helpfull and friendly staff from reception and cafeteria, clean and quite. Hotel experience gives additional value to our Swiss Vacation. Quite price though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed gave me a bit back pain in the morning

    Great location, near everything. Friendly and accomodating staff, decent and modern rooms. Free water and apples are a big plus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice and clean Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed 9 nights and it was perfect located directly in the old town, very close to the main train station, lots of bars and restaurants directly on the strip. My room was located towards the garden and it was very quite Besides in the hall way it was very loud sometimes especially in the morning. The isolation is not that good in the hall way I liked the coffee and croissant early in the morning at the entrance since I did not have time for breakfast that was convenient Staff was always very friendly and helpful Would stay here again Room is quite small but perfect for 1 person

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel which was most suited to our needs for this short trip to Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As we stayed for 2 nights expected our room to be serviced , but this didn't happen other than the change of towels we requested.

    Lovely hotel , very central jut a short walk from the station. Very clean , comfy beds and lovely view form our room of the old town. Breakfast was a little disappointing , particularly the Gluten free options for my daughter but the staff were all delightful and tried their very best to help with any requests made.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Perfect Zurich base
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smooth, fast and relaxed check in and check out. Clean and thought fully equipped rooms with all the things you need after a long journey - fridge, international charging port, complementary water. We asked for an iron and ironing board when we checked in, they were in our room within minutes. Good breakfast with fresh bread and strong coffee. Location is terrific, really cool area, lots of cafes and restaurants right beside the hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Location was good but only choose river view room, staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no view from the room, it was just facing the back lane, no tea coffee in the room

    Location was good but only choose river view room, staff was very nice and helpfull

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    A very comfortable place to stay in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been a little more engaging.

    Excellent location, small room but enough. It was great that the our room and other peoples room were available when we arrived early in the morning. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Finally a great quality/price option for Zurich city stays; will re-book here again and again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the middle of the pedestrian area of a large European metropolis, obviously city sounds should be expected by anyone who books here. But the windows are very effective and the a/c works very well for those who prefer a silent night. So not a real negative, here. Just a flag.

    Location, Location, Location. Great breakfast, fast friendly service at check-in and check-out, lovely breakfast with a smile, very good bed and linen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a lovely comfortable and exceptionally clean room, this hotel is so well located being only five or so minutes from all major locations and the staff are happy to help with anything you may need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Hotel in a perfect location and fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is continental which i am not too keen about since I prefer English style breakfast with sausages, eggs, bacon etc. You do get scrambled eggs and soft/medium/had boiled eggs, but I prefer full English.

    I had the room in attic and it was very comfortable with separate rooms for shower and toilet/sink. Internet connectivity is great since this was a must for my business trip. They also have fantastic selection of TV channels with German, French, Spanish, Italian (RAI & Mediaset) and British channels (BBC, ITV). You can also borrow for free an internet device to use outside the hotel whilst sight seeing. Parking is also available at a nearby building behind the hotel (CHF30pn). Staff are fantastic and friendly. I might need to return into weeks time and will definitely stay there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    The location was fantastic! The staff was so accommodating, we needed extra pillows and receive th
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fantastic! The staff was so accommodating, we needed extra pillows and receive them within five minutes! Needed a cab to the airport... done!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.8
    The hotel is not suitable for vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are impolite,they said Booking.com always know about no A/C in the room.

    The hotel is not very close to the train station, it takes 15 minutes to walk and there is no air conditioner in the room.The staff are impolite,they said Booking.com always know about no A/C in the room.The breakfast was very poor, not exactly where the reviews were.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Great experience at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location with access to all the best tourist activities in Zurich. Close to excellent restaurants and shopping. Easy walking to all areas - centrally located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location in the city center of Zurich
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Perfect location in Zurich. The hotel has reserved parking slots in a underground car park (extra fee) near the hotel. They have 24h front desk and the staff is very kind. We also liked the breakfast, it was rich and tasty. In our room we had a variety of electric connection standards, satisfied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    A welcoming and comfortable hotel well located in vibrant old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel and staff were outstanding and the rooms were small but very well designed to respond to expectations. Beds comfortable windows especially fitted for air and street noise, warm towel racks, a safe in the cupboard and excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Great personel, the receptionist was really helpful, giving...
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite noisy neighbourhood, however it is usual for any location in the city center.

    Great personel, the receptionist was really helpful, giving usefull advices even without our questions. She was very polite. Location was very convinient and the room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Like and come back soon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duvet was not the so soft. but for 2-3 night all ok!

    Price = Expectation 100%. Very nice staff that gives all support and WIFI device is SUPER PLUS! I am happy with this stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    I will stay at this hotel when I visit Zurich next time. It has become my regular.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is just a personal view. Not a negative point. Room are very clean, modern and comfort. but I would like to see a little bit improvement for the design side.

    Small hotel but the quality of staff is 5 stars ! well done.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very nice and helpful and went the 'extra...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very nice and helpful and went the 'extra mile' to help or guide us with any requests or questions. The Gentleman at the front desk was exceptional, although I forget his name now.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    No Disappointments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small but that's pretty much the way it is in Europe.

    Great location, very good breakfast, super clean, first rate staff, no disappointments.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Perfect place, but it's not luxury or romantic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect place, but it's not luxury or romantic. Small, very clean, very rational, very nice staff, excellent location. Great to see and feel Zurich.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good. Perfect. Fantastic.

    The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The stuff was very friendly and helping. My next time in Zürich I will stay in the same hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    We had a very enjoyable stop over stay at Alexander which ticked all the boxes for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff , little extra touches like umbrellas for the rainy weather, morning coffee and croissants at reception, big bed, gave us an extra room when our room wasn't suitable, easy to find from the railway station, clean and well thought out comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    good location for short city trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather small room towards the busy pedestrian street - too noisy to sleep with window open.

    Perfectly situated - everything of importance in walking distance, very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast choice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and pleasant place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small. Great for me on this visit as I was traveling solo but had my Mr traveled with me it would have been quite tight.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice place near everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed everything that we experienced in our short 24-hour stay.

    The location was fabulous. Super close to the Main Station and near everything we wanted to do while in Zurich.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    I advise Zurich visitors to stay in it .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is very close to train station and tram. The recitation was very warm ( Reni ) and her colleagues. The hotel had water and apples for guests. The room had chocolate on the pilo that was touching. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom. Breakfast was ❤️

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Small but well furnished hotel in a perfect location in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small but well furnished hotel in a perfect location in the heart of the old town, with a very friendly staff. Room is comfortable. Very good breakfast. Keep up the good work!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in a lovely city. Well done
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Excellent hotel in a perfect location in the old quarter of Zurich. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was perfect with a view over the Main Street. Was a little worried that noise would be an issue as we were close to bars and restaurants. But to be honest no noise at all. The hotel was very clean and must have been newly renovated / decorated. Overall we were very impressed and would certainly return. I had a twin room on the first floor and would ask for this again if available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    Location,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel in general. Room did not give a clean impression. Room did give a cheap dilapidated impression. Extremely uncomfortable bed, small synthetic pillows. Decoration if any dated. Breakfast was not good.

    Location,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Close to City and the Trains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room didn't have a AC and it was a warm day, but staff helped us with a fan. Breakfast was very average and had lots of room to improve.

    Walking distance from the Station and easy to access from the city center. Very Friendly front office staff and Bell Service. Good location and lots of restaurants and cafes around. nice Spacious room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.6
    Not at all aligned to expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I received was not at all as the room pictured on reservation. Actual room tiny, with a tiny bed in the attic with barely enough room to stand up in the middle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast staff were very friendly and incredibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff were very friendly and incredibly efficient. The coffee was fantastic and the breakfast buffet, which was included in the rate, was excellent. The location was close to the old town and five minutes from the railway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Small hotel with great location and super staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were several restaurants and bars nearby and with the windows open it was a bit noisy, but our earplugs took care of the problem for sleeping.

    The staff at this hotel was wonderful. Friendly and helpful. Let us into our room early and helped us find Swiss plugs after loaning them to us first. Hotel has excellent location near the train station, sights, and river. We had a corner room which was nice for the view, light, and cross ventilation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Small but very nice room in a really great location with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint would be that the bathroom wasn't 100% clean.

    Small but very nice room in a really great location with tasty breakfast. Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    great location!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i wish the hotel room were bigger. The table is not big enough for two people to use two laptops simultaneously

    great location! 50 meters away from the canal, 5 minutes walk away from the central station!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed our short stay in Zurich and would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning in the room was poor. The room never cooled.

    On site breakfast was a great option and was good. The staff during breakfast was very helpful and polite. The hotel location was very convenient, therefore would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent Location & Breakfast, very new and neat.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Part of town might be a bit noisy, but I guess that's the trade of for the good location.

    Very good location, close to everything, also excellent breakfast. Very new and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Very good location, easy to reach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is quite small, bed is not that comfortable.

    Very good location, easy to reach. Room is very small but quite clean, and quiet as well. Breakfast is good, staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    The location of this hotel is very strategic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower is very small.

    The location of this hotel is very strategic. It is very close to Zurich river and there are plenty of restaurants and bars around the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    The hotel was very central, location was perfect. The room we had was quite as wished but really sma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extra small with no central or local ventillation, all we had was a fan, which was very load. On a hot sommer night, not so optimal. The price was generally O.K., but we would have wished for more comfort.

    The hotel was very central, location was perfect. The room we had was quite as requested.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Because of street noise A block party , we were moved to a courtyard room no 311. No acorn but a fa
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise

    The location was within walking distance f train and all shopping and lake ferries. Rooms were small but refurbished and excelllent. Breakfast incl and great .booking requests were met .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Location is excellent, close to train station, right on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is excellent, close to train station, right on the main street of the Old Town so surrounded by restaurants but with easy access to the river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.1
    overall good stay for the visit to Zurich. close to train for easy get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the restaurant next door smells up some of the rooms. i had to change rooms because the fan from the kitchen was blowing into the courtyard outside my room. Rooms are very small

    breakfast was good, bed was comfortable, staff was very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay , excellent location, close to everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    comfy beds- friendly staff - free umbrellas to use for the rain (it rained daily!) always coming back to clean rooms and nice pastries for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Good to stay for a few days in the city center of Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room was very small (even for bigger room) - Towels had very strange and uncomfortable smell - Bed was uncomfortable for us: very soft mantras and small pillows. - Not very quiet in the evening (but not super loudy)

    Location is great, in terms of close to trainstation and other public transportation, also in walking distance to lake and main central streets and attractions. Breakfast was good, (basic, but good). I liked different selections of cheese. Ventilation was working good. There is no many facilities in the room, but up on request you can borrow kettel with cups, ironing board and so on. There are many restaurants nearby as well as mini supermarket (bigger one is in walking distance too)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The map on booking.com was not oriented with the direction north at the top. Thus we got lost and walked a long way in the wrong direction.

    The location was fairly close to the rail station, making it easy to take the train to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.9
    Great little gem in the center of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was rather small especially if you have large luggage. There should be a mirror near the table to do make up

    Bed was comfortable and room was clean . Breakfast was simply but nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    3.8
    Marajuana for sale and loud drunks next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were poeple sing and smashing bottles and loud talking all night. This hotel was disappointing because the garage was impossible to find without help and very impossible to maneuver around in and also required that you put your car in an elevator. Also the garage was locked so no way to access your car. They tried to charge twice for the parking fee. I was all over Europe with a rental and this hotel was our worst experience by far of the entire trip.

    The location was bad due to noise of bottle smashing all night long!!! This was the only bad night of our 16 night trip, and the only night the the three of us did not sleep at all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location, Nice rooms, clean, good breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows and duvets not very good No kettle to make tea/ coffee Mediocre toiletries and flimsy towels

    Good location, Nice rooms, clean, good breakfast and Excellent service, reception staff friendly Wifi Excellent Comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    perfect for what I wanted local trains and close to venues of interest
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably being approached by local prostitutes at night time around the hotel.

    No Complaints The hotel was centrally located for my means and I enjoyed the surrounding areas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Great surprise! 5 star quality in the middle of Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids could open the window very easily and there was no protection. I think it's very dangerous. Maybe try to improve that!

    Lovely hotel, booked at the last minute but wish I could have stayed longer. The rooms were brand new really nice. Great location might look dodgy at night with the naughty clubs around, but it's really in the middle of everything!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect relation quality/price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really helpful staff that will solve all your questions. The perfect option for stay in Zurich. In the city center, close to the main station, great staff, new and clean rooms, nice breakfast...I would come back for sure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Great small hotel in Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com lists airconditioning, but only fans were available. Room was very hot & not possible to leave windows open during night because of noise

    Great location in centre of Old Town. ( although also meant a little noisy at night but we expected this) 5-10 min walk from Zurich HB station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    I would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    Wonderful breakfast! The scrambled eggs were made often so they were fresh, not too hard. The muesli was obviously fresh and not bought ready-made. The breakfast staff knew my name and room number without asking after just the 1st breakfast. The staff at the reception desk could answer all my questions about where to go and how to get there. My room was kept clean and the air conditioning worked well. The location of the hotel was near the train station, shopping, etc. Sorry I can't rate bars and entertainment, but I don't go out much being alone and an older lady. By Zürich standards this room was great value for the cost.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    No brainer. Great hotel, friendly staff, super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the agents at the front desk said openly that they cannot make any concessions (e.g. allowing me to park the car for longer duration) because I made the booking through booking.com instead of direct. I told this agent that they should not advertise their hotel on booking.com in that case because for me, as a customer, it is super frustrating for the hotel agents to rub it in my face every time that they cannot help me because they have to pay some commission to booking.com!

    Friendly staff, great location, allowed us to park the car for a longer duration

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Very well located, great room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very well placed so that we could reach around the city without wasting time - especially since we had a rushed stay. The receptionists are very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Can't beat the location right near the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't beat the location right near the train station. On Niderdorfstrasse, a lot of restaurants and has that old world feel. Switzerland is expensive but the abundance of everything nearby makes up for it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Zurich is a nice city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Good service from hotel staff, very helpful for explaining us about the airport ticket and how to activate when arrival at the train station. Provided umbrella service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Helpful staff and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was adequate but very small for two people.

    Located on a quaint pedestrian lane in the old city, the Hotel Alexander is within walking distance of the train station, cathedral, and Kunsthaus art museum. Breakfast was good. Best was the staff. We both had come down with miserable colds. When I asked the breakfast attendant if I could get two coffees to take to the room and then come to breakfast later, she obliged by giving me a tray, cups, and pots of coffee and hot milk. Yes! That was a good start to the day for us sick people. The next afternoon when I asked the desk clerk where I could find a cup of herbal tea in the neighborhood, she lent me an electric tea kettle and told me where I could buy teabags (nearby Migros store).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    4.6
    there was so much noise outside of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was so much noise outside of the hotel. People drinking and partying to all hours of the night and the hotel would not do anything about it. we did not have one good nights sleep. it was awful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Food staff etc very good position also for getting to the station. Plenty of cafes and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just that ceiling

    The room had a sloping roof and when I went to open the window I hurt my shoulder on the sloping ceiling because of the position of the bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Great location, close to restaurant, train station, tour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to restaurant, train station, tour bus depot. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were compact but very comfortable. My second stay, and recommend highly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Briliant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise, on the steet side, but some festival was underway so they have a excuse for.

    Staff is extremely kind, perfect breakfast, and all are ready to help on any task asked from.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Super local hotel with incredible friendly staff, great for travelers/sightseers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small. Beds made noise when we turned over.

    Stayed here as a last-minute option after our Airbnb host turned out to be a super unfriendly money-seeking woman renting out dirty overpriced rooms. Bottom line, great place with a super local location, perfect if you just use the hotel to sleep and rest and are outside the hotel most of the day like it was in our case. The staff was incredibly nice and accommodating. Did unfortunately not make use of the complimentary breakfast. We booked a room with 2 twin beds and asked at check-in whether a double bed would be available and got a free upgrade, pretty sweet!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful small hotel in excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift was so slow.

    I traveled with my parents and a sister. They were so happy in this hotel! Breakfast was very nice (I mean compared to other Swiss hotel) and staffs were very kind and helpful. A beautiful small hotel in excellent location!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    nice breakfast and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit noisy

    the staffs are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast has sufficient choices and everything in the breakfast is better than I have expected. Love the abundant selection of bread spread! It is also conveniently located (close to train station and tourist spots) and it has a lot of restaurants around to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, amazing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet could have been a little faster and the restaurant next door didn't seem to be open. These really aren't complaints though.

    The little extras were the best part - breakfast was delicious, coffee and tea anytime, a fridge stocked with reasonably priced drinks, very friendly!! The location is very close to everything you want to see, but it's tucked enough away that it is very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alexander traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: