Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alexandra 3 stars

Via San Gottardo 43, Muralto, 6600 Locarno, Switzerland

#23 of 41 hotels in Locarno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 386 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    A disappointment afterwards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One day after checking out we were contacted by the owner to pay 20 Chf for the coffee pads at our room. As there was no Message on the box with nespresso pads in our room we thought they were complementary. We had to pay 4 chf each. We got no response untill now on our rebuttal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Simple but great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    5 stars for a 3-star hotel. Nothing grand, but they've recently remodeled and really did a very nice job. We even stayed on the top floor with a shared bathroom and it worked out great. And Luigi is very attentive and friendly. The breakfast spread is great and he even takes individual drink orders. Parking available. Not right in the center of town, but just a short walk away. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel , recently refurbished with lift to upper floors. would recommend for proximity to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking limited at the property

    Location to town and lake, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast was excellent. Nice balcony room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Best night's sleep and best shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cannot walk there even though it's close to the train station, it's all up hill, must get taxi or ride bus.

    Very comfortable room, nice design.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    A good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There is not so much ventilation nor furnitures to dry the towels. The main street is a bit loud. It's better to close the windows if your room is heading to this street if you wish to be quiet (especially on the morning)

    The staff is very helpful, friendly and polite. 5* services! If you need any information, they are always doing their best. The breakfast proposes a good choice. The location is very good. A couple of minutes by walk for going to Locarno. We didn't need the car for all the times in the city of Locarno (even for the Lido which is at the limit of the city).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    5.8
    It was so so for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors were cold! The bathroom & the WC were in different locations. Not much amenities in the bathroom. Floor mats were like rags. The pillows were so soft & uncomfortable to sleep on. All in all we didn't get much sleep in the night & my feet was constantly cold.

    Location was good. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Best hotel ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was wonderful and the location perfect! The stay at Hotel Alexandra made our experience in Locarno exceptional!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.5
    The Swiss know beds, very comfy with heavenly feather pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with a shared bathroom, which was as booked, but the shower was below hotel standards

    The Swiss know beds, very comfy with heavenly feather pillows

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Charming Ticino townhouse with very friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location on a busy street on an access road to the city makes it a noisy choice - OK if you keep the windows closed at night. WiFi was somewhat unreliable - the repeater provided to serve the upper floors failed repeatedly.

    Helpful, exceptionally friendly and cheerful staff - you can see and feel that they like their job and their guests - a full 10 points for this! The house itself is a typical Ticino townhouse with a lot of charm and space. There are new windows with very efficient soundproofing - without them sleep would be pretty hard to find, at least in the rooms to the front.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    7.5
    Good location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with a shared bathroom and our room was located just next to the toilets. The walls are quite thin, we could therefore hear everybody in the hall.

    Good location, nice staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.0
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculously expensive room and atrocious decor - indifferent lady at reception on arrival - when we asked politely on arrival f we might have a room on a high floor she scoffed saying we had reserved the day before and she had some guests who booked months in advance so they got the rooms they wanted ! After two nights it was difficult to understand why anyone would book here two months in advance! There was a nespresso machine in room but cost 4SF per cup ! At 250Sf a night for the room that is simply miserly. The room was spacious but atrociously decorated with 1970s orange curtains, yellow walls and ghastly candlewick bedspreads

    Charming gentleman serving breakfast and who dealt with check out

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Why come again but than with badroom and toilet on the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    personeel was in the morning not vriendly and the beakfast was poor koffie good.

    I was expect a badroom for or zelfs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Good. Would go there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite far to walk to the Piaza Grande (15min)

    Newly well renovated room. Very clean! Room was a bit small. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stay for two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one shared toilet 3rd floor (for 6 rooms)

    Recently renovated, very nice staff, clean, good location, parking, decent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything: the staff, the location, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Locarno is Swiss cleanliness combined with Italian life-style
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very committed service staff. Very clean. Beautiful house with little garden and possibilities to go in both directions along the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Staff was great & the hotel was clean, close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great & the hotel was clean, close to the station & modern.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.4
    One day in an attic room in Locarno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    A narrow claustrophobic attic room with shared bathroom for only 120CHF a day. Poor not varied breakfast.

    Location, parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice views from the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice views from the balcony

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful,newly renovated property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice, modern renovated hotel. clean with A/C.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful balcony with a view of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was boring.

    Beautiful balcony with a view of the lake.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    The beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathrooms

    The beds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in Locarno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly welcome, hotel is modern and spotlessly clean. Nespresso coffee machine in room is a nice touch. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old equipment

    Personal are kind They take care of clients

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.7
    Location & Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aircon in Bedrooms did not work - sweltering heat meant unpleasant stay. Rest as expected and good for the price.

    Location & Price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    6.3
    The receptionist was cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The croissants was not fresh, the coffee machine was full of Calc " calcário " we were on the last floor no heating central systemy The heating that they gave us was very bad I had to turn off because was very loud , this means the room was freezing!

    The receptionist was cool.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    6.7
    Small nice clean hotel, not really in the city center (15-20...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We asked for a quiet room in one of the lower floors, but it was not available. Our room in third floor has a wonderful view over the citiy and lake, but still to the road side it wasn't as quiet as we would like to have. Though, it was not a big problem, and we could sleep with open window. Unfortunately the wifi was too weak on the 3rd floor, so we had to sit in the corridor of the second floor as we needed the internet. Another problem we were not prepared to - the power sockets (Stecker-Type J) are not usable for european type D, so I couldn't charge my laptop. It was a bit difficult to find the hotel because the street is very long, but house numbers are obvioulsy rarely used in the Switzerland - there is nothing the hotel can do about, but be sure you look around while search for it. At least the hotel sign can be seen well if you in front of it.

    Small nice clean hotel, not really in the city center (15-20 minutes by foot), but still accessible. Hotel own parking for additional small fee. The breakfast is simple but fresh and good. But the coffee in the morning should be avoided - better drink tee.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    5.0
    Despite only managing to stay one night due to finding it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Having paid for the higher rate with a built-in toilet and shower, it appeared said lavatory and washroom were rather like a bolt on afterthought. The breakfast okay, but sparse in comparison to the norm. The location is on a main artery through Locarno, yet far from the main areas of interest in comparison to other hotels at a similar price point in the centre of the town. There are no elevators and we had to lug all our luggage for a family of three up two flights of long winding stairs. Suffice to say that I found it somewhat tiring and not ideal after an entire days travel with a young family.

    Despite only managing to stay one night due to finding it necessary to switch to another hotel, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We made the booking late at night and arrived at 2230hrs to a door with a note for our attention and instructions to retrieve our room key. We found this very thoughtful and we appreciated the effort. This welcoming approach was reflected in their demeanor the following morning. The owner(s)/Manager(s) were really friendly and polite. If a review was based solely on staff then this hotel would get 10/10 from me. There is ample parking for guests staying at the hotel in a private and covered parking area just off the main road and to the rear of the property. The building is a converted house and guests should not expect the same standards as that of a chain hotel. That being said, the hotel is quaint and the grounds consist of a small garden with seating.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    4.6
    - Location is OK (walking distance to train station);
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Not clean (stains in sheets and towels - we asked staff to change sheets and towels, which they did but improvement was not very big); - Central air conditioning that could not be turned off in room (in theory one could change temperature, but it did not work - in the end we got ill)

    - Location is OK (walking distance to train station); - Building is nice; - Room view over lake.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.8
    Everything about this hotel was fine with me and my family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking is tight. But, parking is tight everywhere in Locarno. I found the special needs guest who complained about any noise / sound above a whisper and needed special breakfast food a bit annoying.

    Everything about this hotel was fine with me and my family. But I'm sure those who need to eat excessively and have a problem walking up one or more flights of stairs would find this hotel difficult.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.9
    The beds and pillows were awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Internet did not work, no elevator so you had to climb 3 sets of stairs, the AC automatically turned off around 11 and it didn't go back on all night so it was very hot!!!!!

    The beds and pillows were awesome! The staff was very friendly! The breakfast was outstanding! Very nice atmosphere!

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    10
    We had a wonderful stay with Luigi and staff at the Hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a wonderful stay with Luigi and staff at the Hotel Alexandra over Easter. This is a little gem. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly. English was no problem. Luigi gave us some excellent advice on tourist attractions to see as we had quite limited time in Ticino. And his advice was spot-on. The breakfast was great, and included a lot of chocolate eggs to make the weekend special. Thank you very much for an excellent weekend.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    7.1
    Nice and clean hotel in an old villa just up the hill from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At the time of our stay they were repaving the road out front which meant their hotel parking area was unavailable. This is by no means the fault of the Hotel; however, the woman working the desk the night of our check-in was not overly friendly or helpful in explaining where alternative parking was available.

    Nice and clean hotel in an old villa just up the hill from the center of town. Hotel manager working in the morning was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    8.8
    Wonderful hotel, friendly staff, very clean, good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattresses need replacing because of a downward slope. There was a bit of mold between the shower tiles and no bathtub. That said, overall it was lovely and clean and friendly and a great value for the price and we would stay there again. Breakfast was pleasant.

    Wonderful hotel, friendly staff, very clean, good value for money, nice high ceilings, free WiFi, old world charm.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    8.8
    very friendly and helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it's all been perfect, but as a word of warning: there are major constructions on the road in front of the hotel; it seems you cannot access the hotel by car right now (no idea how long this will last of course)

    very friendly and helpful staff; very nice old villa-style house; despite being at a larger street it was quiet (but we had the window to the back and it was closed); not directly in old town, but very accessible with bus stop right in front of the door

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.5
    location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bed comfort and toilet was dirty.

    location and staff

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.8
    comfy bed, nice breakfast, helpful personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    comfy bed, nice breakfast, helpful personnel

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.2
    Luigi very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Luigi very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Friendliness staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendliness staff

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Great staff, breakfast, price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff, breakfast, price. Would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    4.6
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only one toilet room and only one shower room for the whole floor !!!

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.3
    Incredible room, high ceilings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was too small, shared with the toilet.

    Incredible room, high ceilings. Beautiful building.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.9
    Good clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good clean and friendly

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location. Value for money. Breakfast included

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    7.9
    Location, price, flexibility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could be noisy from traffic.

    Location, price, flexibility

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.8
    the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the split bed maybe a toaster for breakfast would be good

    the room the staff

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.9
    -receptionists were very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -no elevator - shared bathroom - breakfast was very limited and not good quality

    -receptionists were very kind.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    - the whole house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - the bathroom was very small

    - the whole house - nice room with balkony - very friendly staff - good place to stay

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: