Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alfa Zermatt 2 stars

Obere Mattenstrasse 18, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#192 of 317 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 437 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very clean, but a bit squeaky and the matress could have been better.

    Great breakfast and spa. Very friendly staff. The views of the Matterhorn from the balcony, breakfast room and spa are simply spectacular.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Loved the view and breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty basic but had everything we needed. Only one little cake of soap for 2 people, 3 nights seemed a bit tight.

    Fabulous view of the Matterhorn from our window. Great breakfast, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay with great staff and good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed isn't that comfortable, and it can get a bit cold in the night. The water flow of the shared shower is a bit small, but the water is indeed hot. Both of the shared bath and washroom are pretty clean and accessible. Nothing major.

    The young lady at the front desk is very nice and helpful. I mentioned to her I was leaving too early in the morning to make it to the breakfast, and the hotel actually took the effort to pack me sandwiches and drinks and delivered them to my room. I appreciate their thoughtfulness very much. You can relax in the little yard of the hotel with a view of matterhorn, which is really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms. With one even smaller toilet on each floor. Local taxi drivers charge a fortune to take you around the town to the hotel, when it turns out to only be a couple of hundred feet from the station

    Great clear view of the matterhorn at the front of the building. Nice choice for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    It is 5 minutes walk from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is 5 minutes walk from the train station. You get a great view of he Matterhorn from breakfast each morning. Everything in town is walkable from here. Mahler friendly staff and totally safe for the solo traveler.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Summer Days in Zermatt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked the location...in the proximity to the train station as well as the view from the breakfast table. Additionally, the staff was very friendly. Overall, the stay was very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Worth to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I totally love this hotel

    Location near by train station and city you can walk 5 minutes and the view is wondetful, you can see Matterhorn from the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved the town, position of the hotel and specially our room number 31. Numbers 21 and 41 would be s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room.

    Without doubt the best 2 star hotel I have ever stayed in. Comfortable room with the most sensational view of the Matterhorn as we lay in bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    +location is great(walk 5minutes to Zermatt Sbb Station;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair dryer

    +location is great(walk 5minutes to Zermatt Sbb Station; 2 minutes to Train for Sunnegga Funicular) +staff is sweet,kind ->I took early train and the staff provided a simple breakfast to take away 1 day before

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was superb! The room and bathroom were clean. And the location is great, very near to the station. I will stay in this hotel again if ever I would visit Zermatt in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    We had a wonderful ski holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable with a great view of the Matterhorn from the balcony. Meals were delicious and plentiful and staff were always polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    It was ok at the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Single South Facing room was too small and there was always a musty smell in the room (I had to use my own fragrant spray every day.) The downstairs entrance hall at the Alfa smelled awful some days because it seems they are using Moth Balls (i.e. Naphtalene) in the downstairs toilet. I never used it because the Naphta smell was too strong to even go in. I especially came down and used my own fragrant spray in the entrance hall and downstairs toilet on two days, just to try and neutralize the obnoxious Naphta smell for other guests. I reported it and I am sure they will fix it.

    Breakfasts at the Metropol were always very good, and the view from the dining room was fantastic. The cleaning and restaurant staff were highly efficient and very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Super friendly and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic convenient location very near the Sunnega lift, easy walk to everywhere. Very friendly staff who are so helpful. Delicious buffet breakfast, plus access to the spa in the Metropol makes this a great place to stay and good value too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    2.9
    Not Hotel Alfa at all! Stuck in Maryland apartment 15 mins away (too far for children to walk!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony - Bachstrasse 100
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com advertised this as a room at Hotel Alfa (which is near the station, skischool drop off and near where we our friends were staying). However when we arrived we were sent to an apartment 15 mins outside of the town. It was a real pain to walk with small children in ski boots each day. There was no cleaning and no Wi-fi. We had to pay extra each time we used the hotel’s pool.

    Comfortable beds and view of Matterhorn from balcony.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Thrifty budget hotel for those who want to ski and party! Great Breakfast and comfy spa facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could be bigger. Bigger fridge for wine (but one could always use the window sill). The shower stall was a bit small, but manageable.

    We knew coming in this was a budget decision, but it was the right one! Cozy hotel right next to the Metropol, this is no frills! A place to sleep, shower so you can enjoy your day on the slopes. The beds were comfy and the shower hot. The breakfast at the neighbouring hotel, was amazing. For also 15 francs, you get entry to that hotels sauna, steam room, pool facilities with a window view of the matterhorn!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    The room was comfortable and clean just as described.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable and clean just as described. We received a kind welcome and all of the staff was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Breakfast offered a variety of choices and all was fresh. Overall a great experience at Hotel Crystal and I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Zermatt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.0
    Great location but very heavy used hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room with the shared facilities on the floor is close to terrible. Old, stinky, very small. Pictures are better than the reality. However I slept one night good but not sure if I could stay longer.

    Location is superb - close to the train station, few steps away from Sunegga lift. Shuttle bus stops. Staff is as usually very nice and helpful. Breakfast at the Metropol hotel is more than just good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Surprisingly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is a bit outdated, but I suppose that's the part of the deal. Common bathroom is small and I wish it had a shower rather than a bathtub.

    Could not imagine it to be that good for the price they ask and due to the fact that it's in overly expensive Switzerland. I think the owners really care and do what they can to make it comfortable. Small things, like clothes hangers that are "real" and not permanently attached to the rails like in most of the hotels, or a really nice and comfortable table they managed to fit into a very small room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Great value and welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Quiet location off the main street with pleasant gardens, staff could not have been more helpful, and breakfast was great. Sunny balcony gave views direct to Matterhorn. Didn't have the chance to sample pool and spa on this visit, but would happily return to this hotel when next in Zermatt

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.0
    Decided to move to another hotel with full facilites included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linked to next door Hotel Metropol for breakfast and facilities but required payment on top of room rate if were to use the warm pool/sauna. Suggest to include for a more pleasant stay.

    Location not too far from Zermatt train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfy budget option for single travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building was a little old and decor was dated, but given the price and location it really wasn't a big deal.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was lots of space outside and in the lounge (plus in the more modern sister hotel next door) to stretch out and make plans for the day or to just sit and relax.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    It was everything we hoped for and more. Highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom (which was for our room only) was across the hall. Just a little inconvenient but perhaps this is the norm for a 'garni' (B&B).

    All the staff was so friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was a phenomenal spread. We asked for a room with a Matterhorn view and it was terrific. The dining room also offers great views. And the rates were very reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay for solo travelers on budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the rooms and the lift in the annex building would need renovation, however the price/what you get for it ratio is reasonable taking into consideration price levels in Zermatt - some items in the buffet breakfast were offered in very small amounts e.g. smoked ham or mozzarella only couple slices for all guests. Once taken it was not replaced immediately or at all

    - very helpful and customer oriented staff - great location - quiet place - very nice buffet breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Okay but older building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Alfa is okay but was an older facility. All the promo photos were taken in an adjacent building which appeared to be a more modern building.

    Exceptional breakfast. Staff was fine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing place. Nice room with balcony and view on the Matterhorn. Friendly personnel. Great breakfast buffet with lots of choices. A hotel you want to be in Zermatt

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Couldn't be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect. You will have great time if you stay nights here in zermatt. Particularly, all staffs in the hotel are extreamly kind and gentle. I will defenitely stay this hotel again next time, period.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Hotel Alfa Zermatt is showing its AG
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room shown on Booking's website is NOT the room I received! I would suspect it existed somewhere on the property? Our room was comfortable for two nights stay, but just don't expect what you see on the website :)

    Good location, hotel was okay albeit pretty aged. The Staff was helpful and knowledgeable of local points of interest. Overall I was satisfied with the accommodations

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Out-dated hotel but great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could get serious splinters from the balcony railing! The room and furniture are pretty ugly but if that keeps the price down then three cheers. From what we could tell it had the same advantages as all the other hotels ie amazing view of the Matterhorn. We would stay here again.

    This is true value for money. We had a top floor room with a large balcony and a wonderful view of the Matterhorn. Room 41. The hotel is quite dated but if you don't want to pay through the nose and probably get as good a view of the Matterhorn as any other (and much more expensive) hotel room, then stay here. It's not luxurious inside but we didn't care. For a cheaper hotel, it offered lots of English TV stations which was very surprising. Close to everything. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    Well the location was perfect from the train station and fundicular to the top of the mountain to see the glimpse of the Matterhorn. Patricia and waitress in the restaurant were very helpful with everything. Check in is next door at the metrópoli hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.9
    It's small but great location and facilities overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in the shower room wasnt even warm. It was freezing when I took a shower at night.

    It's small but great location and facilities overall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Very simple, friendly and Personal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pretty smell of "Mottenkugeln" that i had to get Used to.

    Very simple, friendly and Personal. Extras in a very fair Kombi-offer (breakfest, Wellness etc)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    The breakfast was good and the waitress (I didn't get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room looks muggy Furnitures are outdated Do not like the bed

    The breakfast was good and the waitress (I didn't get her name) is very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.8
    I needed a hotel after finishing the Haute Route;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is a reason this was the cheapest option in Zermatt: it was pretty gross. Fine for what I needed, but definitely not worth anything more than I paid, probably even less actually. But it served the purpose for one night.

    I needed a hotel after finishing the Haute Route; this was the cheapest one

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Spectacular breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely spectacular complementary breakfast at adjacent hotel (Metropol) that had everything you could ever want AND floor to ceiling windows with a perfect view of the Matterhorn. Staff were very helpful and accommodations are great for budget travelers who want a private room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa costs extra

    Located close to the centre of Zermatt , the hotel has a fantastic view of the Materhorn and valley. It's super clean, the staff are professional and the breakfast is excellent. There is a great swimming pool and spa facility available for an additional 15 CHF a day and I spent a good three hours relaxing there. Overall great value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay with breathtaking views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a lovely little hotel with very pleasant staff! They were all very friendly and helpful with chargers and instructions. One of our rooms with the Mountain view was well worth it and the smaller room had a shared toilet which was super clean through out our stay. The included breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    There is a hotel taxi to and from train station at only €2.5 per trip.Advise to book if carry a luggage. It was wavied for me. Will come next time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Once again at Hotel Alfa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single beds are short and too soft.

    Excellent breakfast. Perfect location. Garage for bikes. Allowed to leave my bags downstairs for the day before taking the evening train.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really tiny and relatively old and the shared toilet smelled strange - no ventilation. Just be aware that for this price there are bound to be some drawbacks.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the location is convenient and the wifi worked flawlessly. Breakfast is served in the 4* partner hotel and therefore much better than what you usually get in a hotel for this price - there are eggs made to order. Moreover, the breakfast room has a Matterhorn view. It's the perfect hotel if you don't plan on spending much time in your room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    4.2
    Never back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty smal rooms whit really bad smel,not clean enough;staff are smily but not so helpfull,no value for money you pay;always use your calculator when you want to pay in other currencies ...!!!

    Location was not bad and breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    Relatively cheap, but expensive if measured per square metre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room, the shared toilet and the shared bathroom were all tiny and old. This is the poorest equipped hotel of the dozens I have stayed at in Switzerland. Would expect the owners to refurbish the place significantly in the near future.

    Good location, close to the Snowboat après-ski bar and the Zermatt Unplugged tent. Staff were also friendly and helpful. Price was one of the cheapest available in Zermatt too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    It was good for me and I'll be going back next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving and saying bye bye

    The whole stay was so so good.the restaurant window view from your table was amazing at breakfast which had wonderful fine food.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.0
    Great location near train station and near the ski lifts and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really poor. The pool use cost an extra 15€. The shared bathroom and shared shower room were tiny. Handicap people could not use.

    Great location near train station and near the ski lifts and near ski rental shops. The complimentary breakfast next door was excellent. Great views of the sunrise on the Matterhorn. Couldn't have been more idyllic. Photos won't upload (some server error when I tried)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    4.2
    Dated apartment lacking facilities, Next to noisy railway line.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony - Getwingstrasse 30
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appartment is dated 1960s. No lights outside at night. Bang next to the railway line 20 metres. Noisy all night. It was not attached to the hotel 200 metres away. Check in was at the Metropole hotel?Long delay to get picked up from Zermatt station. No Ride to the Station on return. No Kettle toaster microwave pillows. Had same towels all week. When it came to paying the bill extras were added unforeseen. In spite of dispute they took money from my account anyway. Don't actually think the appartment belongs to the hotel..........

    T V had plenty of channels

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Reluctant to write a review in case more discover the gem of Hotel Alfa Zermatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bed was very hard and creaky. We rented rooms on two different floors. The two parties on the first floor complained of hard, uncomfortable beds. The parties on the 2nd floor loved their beds. Maybe the first floor is due for new beds soon?

    The staff is perfectly helpful, friendly, and warm.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.9
    A bit too simple but not too expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small and very simple & old.

    The breakfast available at Metropolitan Hotel is very good. There's a great view to Matterhorn from Metropolitan's restaurant. No noise from outside the hotel. Near the train station and the main Street.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    Breakfasts, served in building next door, were very good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A luggage rack to more easily access the suitcase , instead of on the floor in a small area, would have been helpful.

    Breakfasts, served in building next door, were very good and in lovely surroundings. Staff were always helpful and pleasant. A view of the Matterhorn from our window was fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Alfa is a traditional small hotel, which because of its fantastic location and great staff, punches well above its price range. So really no dislikes, when you compare what you get for the price you pay. If you want more, you can book-in at the Metropol.

    Great location. Right in the center of the village. Fantastic views of the Matterhorn. Close to the shops & mountain railway station 10 mins walking. Best breakfast, because you take it in their sister hotel next door, the Metropol. The staff and the owners who are normally there, are always helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.8
    There are so many choices for breakfast, food is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space is too small and I found the bed too small for me, I usually sleep a single bed and feel comfortable...The bed cover is too thin so I got frozen in midnight, but maybe it was my fault because I thought I've turned on the heater but it didn't really on. Be sure to switch it to the end (auf) till it can't be moved anymore, so it works first. Then the room was really warm. The shared toilet is really too small I have difficulty to enter and close the door, although I have a regular figure, sometimes I just hurt my feet because I didn't have enough space to move.

    There are so many choices for breakfast, food is very delicious! The staffs are very friendly and helpful. I didn't have a hair dryer in room, when I asked they found one to give me and let me bring it back to room. Close to the city and the river.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    5.0
    Budget hotel, needs refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Going up and downstairs to the alpha hotel. Reception rarely manned in Alpha but the twin hotel under the same management is always well staffed and well maintained.

    The location is not far, The breakfast in the twin hotel is good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel with Matterhorn view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is very accessible from city center in a quiet neighborhood. When we arrived in Zermatt we did not realize that the hotel had a shuttle driver waiting for us, a pleasant surprise. Breakfast was yummy, excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.2
    Perfect for budget traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in a good location and close to the gonergrat bergbahn station. The single room is pretty small but comfortable. Perfect bed and blanket. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.8
    Room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Pillows were inadequate. Nothing else to complain about.

    Fantastic view of the Matterhorn from the rooms. Liked having the balcony to sit out on. Lovely breakfast in comfortable dining room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    Best cheap hotel in Zermatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - rooms are tidy and clean but do look old. -in one of the rooms TV didn't work ( not a big issue for me though) -could benefit from new bed sheets and towels. Clean but they look used -not the best mattress -morning/night one can hear noises from other rooms. Spent 3 nights in 3 different rooms and this is quite a general overview. Even so, for Zermatt standards the price was good and I will definitely stay here again.

    -very close to everything - supermarket/train/cable cars/ restaurants/ etc.. -very friendly and helpful staff, especially at the reception. -the breakfast at the hotel Metropol next door is amazing comparing with what you get in other hotels. -soap/shampoo and clean towels + bag for dirty clothes in the room. -sink in the room -balcony with both river and Matterhorn views -very good value for money regarding Zermatt prices -Reception staff is very nice and kept one of my bags for 3 days while I climbed Monte Rosa. Found it in my room when returned. - good WIFI everywhere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    9.2
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows and beds aren't great, but they're acceptable for the price.

    Everything in Zermatt is very expensive so the free breakfast next door is a great deal. Good location. Very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    5.8
    Good price I guess but needs updating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a place I would stay more then one night or just a last minute stop over. The rooms are the size of a closet and so are the bathrooms down the hall. The place could use some serious updating. If I were not headed elsewhere the next day I would be pretty upset if that was the only place I stayed in Zermatt. The decor was very old but you get what you pay for and if you are looking for a cheap place to stay and aren't picky then it's the place for you.

    It was affordable for Zermatt but if it where anywhere else I would say it's over priced for what you got. Breakfast was included which really helped in the affordability and the experience! It was good too! Without breakfast though the place would be a rip off.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    good breakfast, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is a bit of bad smelling in the room

    good breakfast, good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    Behaviour of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything too much compact.

    Behaviour of staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast is wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are stairs to reception!

    The breakfast is wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Value for money, excellent view of the Matterhorn from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no easy access to the front door.

    Value for money, excellent view of the Matterhorn from the balconies of upper floor rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room needs refurbishing and replace bed which is old and uncomfortable

    excellent breakfast at sister hotel next door, good location and inexpensive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    A clean room with excellent views, easy access to the main street. and great customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was an older room, very clean but dated.

    Beautiful view of the Matterhorn. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice place n friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place n friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was really Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds, aweful..... very loudy and not comfortable.

    Breakfast was really Good. Specielly croissants and scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Politeness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice on path outside occasionally

    Politeness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    I like this place a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Great value and very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Retro feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Retro feel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Look forward to going again reasonably priced in expensive resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I liked it all

    Proprietor and staff friendly and helpful.Breakfast in Metrapole excellent.very sunny balcony hot hot bath.Old fashioned and lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    best hotel in zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    best hotel in zermatt

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast choice. Friendly staff. Good location. Use of spa for small fee a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.7
    location and staff wer good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was really uncomfortable and should be replaced.

    location and staff wer good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Value for money is phenomenal great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager is a class act, very nice man. Swimming pool facilities are phenomenal. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Great well-located apartment - perfect for a couple or family with 1 child
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony - Bachstrasse 100
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen could have been better equipped - perhaps a toaster or more modern grill

    The apartment size. It was big and warm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    very good place to stay and breakfast is good with great view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Cannot even fut in 2 person with that kind of small lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old lifgt too small

    Right infront of mount mettherhorn

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: