Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alfa 3 stars

Hauptstrasse 15, Birsfelden, Birsfelden, 4127 Basel, Switzerland

#44 of 56 hotels in Basel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1347 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us a tram card. Staff was great. They even out a bag by our door for the next days towels, coffee, etc. since we had a do not disturb sign up. Very thoughtful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I desperately needed WiFi and couldn’t do my work. I paid for two nights but left after one as I required a good connection to work on during the evenings so I could explore the city during the day.

    The staff are amazingly kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Balcony and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is a bit out but OK.

    Location. Not far from town. Plus a free tram card, and tram station is just in front of hotel. Car park is at doorstep. Our room is spacious, bathroom as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is located near the tram and bus stop so there is a noise in the room. Staff was ok, but not friendly at all. Many things are available (like hairdryer or bathrobe), but only upon a request on the reception desk.

    Nice small hotel, quite spacious room, very clean, breakfast was good, better than average. Easy and fast to get to the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can only comment on room 42. The shower / Toilet room was ridiculously small. I have never been to a hotel with such a small shower / toilet room. I am only 173 cm tall and weight 72 kg but I had extreme difficulty manoeuvring around and the space by the wash-hand basin is barely wide enough to be able to raise your hands to come your hair.

    Had Car parking available (most important). Is in a good location in Basel and Hotel is easy to find. Staff were most helpful and pleasant. Good clean decoration throughout and a comfortable restaurant. Hotel has a lift but no air conditioning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    facilities are getting old accessories in the room shower has no lighting

    good for business travelling nice local swiss breakfast good staff right next to tram no. 3

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Hotel staff gave us a couple of free ticket which can be used for public transportation in this area. We could go to city central of Basel by this ticket. Also parking was free of charge at this hotel and it was very easy to find the location. So, this hotel is good for the tourist especially who come here by car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom and no iron in the room, however this is typical of most European hotels so it’s not surprising.

    The staff was extreamly pleasant and very helpful. The restaurant in the hotel was very good and well priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have liked better pillows as the bed was comfy but pillows awful but that could just be our taste, but we did ask for extra pillows and they were put straight away in our room

    Hotel was very well located on tram route 3, it was very convenient for getting around basil easily. The buffet breakfast was also a bonus and very tasty with helpful cheery staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite with Balcony and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel took payment from my card without asking or confirming this would happen, leaving me with Swiss Francs I didn't want to take home.

    We had a suite on the top (7th) floor which was extremely spacious and well equipped. 5 mins on the tram, which is directly outside the hotel, into Basel City Centre. Considering how expensive Basel is in general the hotel is good value for money and it is well worth taking advantage of the free continental breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little bit dated ( but good powerful shower and bathroom clean) A little bit out of city centre ( but good frequent service from trams)

    Good breakfast included. Very convenient for tram stop. Good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a small room with outdated furniture. I think there is one picture of similar room. Now I don't mind staying in a small room with outdated furniture as long as the room is clean. However, the cleanliness of that room was not up to the standard – our room was dusty, there were stains on the chair and the mugs provided for a coffee were dirty as well. I would give this place only 2 and a half stars for that reason.

    This hotel is a good place to stay when you decide to spend a few days in Basel. It is located a bit further outside the Basel city but with free public transport (the hotel will give you the pass on your arrival) and an excellent connections it makes it very easy to move around. The tram nr. 3 stops only a few meters from the hotel and if you want to go to the city centre, the tram stop is literally in front of the hotel. (To go to the main train station you will need to take 2 trams. Tram nr. 3 and tram nr. 8,10 or 11). Comfortable bed, warm room. Continental breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only missing fridge in the room but they help you to keep your stuff in their fridge.

    Nice and comfy room, good variaty of TV channels. Very comfortable to go around with the tram that has the stop right in front of the hotel. Very good value for the money you pay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was one of the best places i ever stayed :) Clean, friendly, easy to access, comfortable. The river is just at 3 minutes distance. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A little too warm in the room!

    Love this hotel..tip though..take a topmost room courtside as the trams start early.. well positioned for a walk accross the Rhine into Germany .. tram stop outside.. been coming here for almost 20 years.....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated hotel in dire need of upgrades...old bathroom, tired rugs, noisy all night traffic in front of hotel.

    Location and front desk staff. Also, the tram pass given to guests was terrific!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of minor things could be improved such as: - a double-sized mattress instead of two mattresses on a double bed - a better sound insulation - the hotel was near a tram stop which was great, but it also meant that light sleepers like me would get woken up earlier than normal. - include vegetables for breakfast

    This was a small-ish hotel a bit outside of Basel's city centre, but the tram stop was literally in front of the hotel and it took about 5-10 minutes to get to the centre. On top of it, we got a public transport pass (which yo umay get in most hotels in Basel), which meant we didn't have to spend any money on transport! The hotel has it's own restaurant, where we only had breakfast (included). The coffees were nice, and the breakfast was a cold buffet - this is usual for the continent, and there was enough variety of pastries/cheeses/meats etc. but something warm would be nice too (you could cook your eggs). There were no vegetables for breakfast, which I personally missed, but other than that it was tasty and plenty for us. There is a restaurant nearby called Casablanca, which hasn't got many reviews online, but we went anyway and were nicely surprised - the food was tasty, the oven-baked pizza was very good, portion were quite big, and the price a lot cheaper than anywhere else (and food is expensive in Basel)! Opposite the hotel is also a sauna, which we didn't go to, but it might be of interest to others. Back to the hotel - the room was nice, nothing extravagant, but functional, and we even had a nice coffee-machine with a couple of coffee pods available for free. The bathroom was quite small, but the shower was working very well. The lightning in the room made it cosy. Overall, my boyfriend and I had a good experience for what we've paid. Distance from the city centre was great, transport was free for us and it meant we could get in and out as much as we liked, which was really what we wanted.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for double bed but ended up with 2 single beds pushed together.

    Really liked the friendliness of stuff. Me and my partner come to the hotel just few minutes before midnight and the check-in procedure was done perfectly with the smile on the face. Also the room was cleaned every day perfectly. Locality of the hotel is very convenient - the tram stop is literally opposite of the hotel and the line goes directly to the city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located in a rather drab suburb, so no romantic evening strolls or scenic views from the windows.

    A good sized room for three, very clean, good facilities in room. Breakfast buffet adequate and plentiful, but nothing special. Friendly staff. Like at most hotels in Basel, you get a travel card that gives free public transport in the local area and reductions on some attractions. Tram stops right outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could be changed was the information about the tram stop at booking.com it was not st. Jakob on line 14. We had to walk 25 min from there to hotel, which I am not complaining because we walk by the river and it was an amazing view. The correct information is tram line 3 , Baron stop which is right almost in front of the hotel.

    For the price I paid it was beyond what I expected...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful and professional. Rooms were cosy, clean and equipped with coffee makers and hairdryers. Hotel was easy to find and situated in nice neighbourhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only "downside" comment would be that the bathroom was very small. There was quite a high step up into the shower tray, which might be a problem to some, but otherwise, everything was very clean and well looked after.

    The staff were excellent, very kind and helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable - the pillow was so comfortable that I did not need my own, as is often the case! It was good to have a coffee machine in the room, along with bottles of water, both or either are not always available in hotels. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, and lovely coffee. We would not hesitate to stay here again, should we venture to Basel or further into Switzerland.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no small fridge in the room to keep drinks cool, and no air-conditioning.

    Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Free public transport with tram stop opposite hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture in my room was worn out and had stains on it (I.e the armchair). The walls are rather thin so you hear the people in the next room.

    The hotel was easily accessible and the staff were friendly. I received a tourist card for free use of public transportation in Basel. The hotel is very neat. I had a quiet room with a view to the courtyard. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you enjoy dinner at the hotel, you may go there before 7 PM.

    The location is quiet a good place to go Museums. You can take tram 3 in front of the hotel to go central city area which has several good Museums and a beautiful city hall. If you transfer tram 6, you can visit another good private museum (Fondation Beyeler).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were welcoming and approachable. The coffeee was excellent and the breakfast staff were quiet and unassuming but efficient. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room has no air conditioning. Was just off summertime and we found it a little cool. Could be a problem in summer or winter.

    Good location. Quiet. Bus and tram right outside. 5 min into city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is near old city. There is a station in front of the hotel and you can use tram. The hotel is only 3 or 4 stations away from old city. The staff gave you a free metro card that you can use across the city. There is a private park of the hotel. Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad to say about this hotel. It absolutely met our expectations.

    We stopped at this hotel on my way from Italy back to the UK. The hotel was very easy to find and it was located very close to the main motoway. We arrived very late, around midnight and were accomodated very quickly. The room was spacious, the area was very quiet. The parking located on-site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very easy accesible by car . Very friendly and helpful staff . Very good breakfast . Tram station just in front of the hotel - 15 mn to the center . Excellent value for money - No chance to find better one ion Basel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nobody to help us check in because we arrived late in the evening.

    Very close to the river. Basic but okay to stay when you are traveling to Italy for example.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon. Rooms felt very stuffy. Needs better ventilation or aircon.

    Great location. Very easy to walk or get tram into city centre. 5 minutes walk to swimming in river 😀

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were here in the summer and the room was so hot, too hot!! We knew that the hotel did not have air con although hoped that we might have been given at least a fan! I did not sleep well as a result which made our stay less enjoyable.

    The breakfast was good and parking easy (+ free) Staff were friendly and it was useful having a supermarket across the road. Considering how expensive it is to stay in Switzerland this hotel did offer good value for money. I would describe it as a no frills hotel. There was a tram stop outside the hotel to get into the city which was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention

    Clean, well equipped room. Friendly staff, free public transport tickets, tram stop in front of hotel. Own parking. Quiet. Well stocked breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were not informed that the hotel's restaurant was closed for our night's stay, not good as hotel is out of town. Fortunately the member of staff on the desk was very helpful in showing us where there were restaurants nearby, a shame only one was open. Also it's lovely that there's a coffee machine, but no ettle so tea can't be made.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, parking was easy. Free vouchers for the tram were extremely useful. Room was clean and airy. Location was right by a tram stop into the city. Basel is a lovely city, especially the older part by the beautiful cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a shame the hotel restaurant was closed, but we were made aware of this in advance, so not a problem.

    Stayed 2 nights at this hotel, a week apart, at the start and end of a cycling trip. We were able to unpack our bikes from their bike boxes on the first night, store them at the hotel, do our trip and re-pack the bikes on the last night. The staff were very helpful, especially George, who also had a good deal of local knowledge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning in our room

    In-room espresso machine with complementary capsules and mineral water. Decent breakfast offerings (great whole-grain croissants, yummy fruit salad, eggs, cheeses, etc.) Very good Italian restaurant nearby. Tram just outside the hotel (and free tram-passes thanks to the hotel!)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and looked nothing like the pictures

    Hotel was on a main road which was very noisy, local yobs hung around tram stop outside hotel until early hours which kept residence awake with the loud music they played and shouting. When we phoned down to reception to complain we was told that they could not do anything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no A/C in the room and it was really too hot because the room was all the day in front of the sun. Moreover, the rooms are in front of the road and there was a lot of noise all the night (drunk people, tram, traffic, music...). We did not sleep!

    The place is confortable and easy to go with public transports straight to the center. The staff in the kitchen was really nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The prize for an outdated room and hotel, more like a train station hotel !! totally outrageous prize during ArtBasel yes but no air conditioning, old sheets and towels.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A fan or even an aircon would have been fine. The afternoon sun did really heath up our room. Our advantage was that we usually live in a tropical country. WiFi had been out of order.

    Very nice staff. The free coupon booklet for free usage of public transportation, reduced fees for museums and other attractions was worth at least one night's rate of our stay. Breakfast buffet had been excellent. The tramway stop just outside of the hotel had been very convenient. Less than 10 minutes of free ride to the city's centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was excessively hot, could not open a window due to traffic and tram noise below. Only a small fan was provided. Also pillow was terrible, far too soft. We were lucky to get a parking space as the car park was really busy.

    Location was right on a tram stop to get to the old town and we were given free travel passes which was a bonus. Car park was free (if you can find a space). Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very noisy, we were obliged to open the window since there was no air-conditioning. The room was not clean and the breakfast was very poor.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a.c. in the room which we were aware of going on. However did not impact our ability to sleep.

    Bed was a very good size and extra comfort. Breakfast was a really good selection with amazing croissants. Staff were very friendly and accommodated our awkward check in/ check out times (very late and very early)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi broke down just after arrival and didn't function for rest of stay. Staff offered no solution nor appeared particularly worried about it. In general reception staff did not have a friendly attitude towards guests. No fridge or mini bar in room

    The room was large and comfortable. Parking was free.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -The breakfast is decent but nothing special

    (I've paid 180 CFH for 2 nights in a double room, breakfast include ) -comfortable bed -good sound insulation of the windows (First I was afraid because of the big street just in front of the hotel, but finally the sound insulation is okay) -You receive a ticket for free transport during your stay, it's very nice because basel is an expensive town -wifi correct -2 bottle of water for free everyday -proximity of the tramway, very convenient

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not so large, the bathroom is clear but seems old, it needs to be redecorated, wifi doesn't work well

    Breakfast was nice and rich enough, hotel room is not so new but seems clear, the bed is large and comfy, the tram stop is in front of the hotel and it is free, there is a free parking area at the back of the hotel,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area was a bit worn down. The restaurant prices were quite high (normal for Switzerland, though).

    The room was nice, the staff was friendly and helpful. We received a public transport card valid for the duration of the day. It was very handy, since there is a tram stop just in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't have a beer in the bar when we arrived at circa 11pm Nice coffee machines in room, but no instructions on how to fill machine, so couldn't use it. Facilities dated

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would be good if there was 2 tear menu ie one for snacks etc and one for restaurant. Quite noisy hotel sounded like all the chairs and furniture were being moved a lot. No air con so I guess in summer would be very hot

    Hotel is good value for the rate very clean and comfortable. Tram stop just outside so easy commute. Breakfast staff very pleasant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is only a small note, not really a negative comment: what was served for breakfast was delicious and always fresh, however I would have appreciated some fresh vegetables too (tomatoes, cucumber etc)

    Very clean room, comfy bed, the tram station is right in front of the hotel, old town is only 5-10 min away by tram, you get a ticket for free public transport during the entire stay, the hotel has its own parking lot where you can park for free, free Wifi

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be sure to ask for a courtyard room if you are a light sleep. The front facing rooms are on busy road.

    Fantastic links to the city centre with the Number 3 tram stop right outside the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Balcony and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was showing few signs of crustiness, but still good. Breakfast was just on par.

    The Family room on the 7th Floor was great for our ovenight needs. And the tram Access to town was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good. Parking is practical. Large bedroom. Would recommend the ones on the courtyard. Tram to centre of Basel is just In front of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was terrible, what was meant to be a single double bed turned to be a twin bed combo quasi-glued together, mind you of a different height

    tiptop location, in front of a tram station which means well connected to old city Reception was collaborative parking is free and quiet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tram station is right next to hotel, which is convenient on one hand, but noisy on the other - trams keep travelling through all the night. If your windows overlook main road, you gonna here it all night.

    new, well furnished clean facilities, warm inside. Free drinking water, towels provided, room cleaned every day, good breakfast (continental, with Swiss products)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water kettle was not provided in the room.

    People at the property are really nice, there is enough parking place for cars, rooms were clean and tidy, close from city center and there is a tram station just outside.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of anything that we did not like.

    Easily accessible by public transport. Clean, hospitable and comfortable. Good selection available for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows were too soft but didn't stop me sleeping well.

    Very pleasant and helpful staff. Room clean with comfortable bed. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary water and toiletries daily. Adequate continental buffet breakfast. Free wi-fi and transport pass for Basel. Tram stop right outside hotel with frequent service, very easy to travel into and around Basel. Surrounding neighbourhood quiet and I felt safe walking alone at night. Plug adaptor available at reception.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soundproofing on window facing the main street could be a little better, but it's tolerable.

    Clean, comfortable, convenient. Free parking, easy access to the motorway, tram to the centre stops directly outside.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Balcony and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furnitures are a bit old. Need changed with newer ones.

    Very good price compared to similar Hotels in the city center Big XXL sized room with coffee maker and minibar Good breakfeast was included

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Felt stitched up as Booking .com price quoted £362 for 4 nights , but had to pay £390+. Even withthe fluctuating pound sterling to Swiss CHF is not correct.I can only conclude Booking.com miss quoted the price and payment window or the Swiss are rich for their shrewd tatics. NOT A HAPPY GENIUS!

    Resaurant set meal very price wise and quality compared to many other places in the area. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Private parking available, nice and comfortable room. Upon arrival, we were given a two-day ticket for each one of us for the public transportation. Nice surprise!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a bit soft, I had a room at the front (no 54) and you could hear the street noise a little (but it did not stop me sleeping), but if you want quiet, ask for a rear bedroom.

    Really nice (unexpected) bonus to get a free Basel transport card when I checked in. Staff warm and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite with Balcony and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot food options - literally only self boiled eggs in offer that made the breakfast a little disjointed.

    The seeded croissants were a dream - also liked the selection of cereals, - although slightly limited.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location~ tram station is in front of the hotel~ easy to travel around to xmas markets Free parking Clean room Breakfast is included. Simple breakfast which keeps u full~

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    this is one of the best hotels. very cozy hotel in a very cozy town. the staff are very polite. gorgeous room. Breakfast is very delicious. quiet. easily accessible by public transport. happy to recommend.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    I chose it because I was travelling by car and I needed a hotel with parking as it was on the outskirts of Basel. The hotel gave us a pass for the tram which was very convenient: the stop was just outside the hotel. The breakfast was a buffet and was very rich.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very cold. Nobody helped me in heating on the room with a room heater. As Indians, our food habits are different. But the options of food was very limited. Especially breakfast. There was no water kettle to make tea. We normally drink tea in the morning. The coffee machine was not working

    The location of the property was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast selection. Staff could be friendlier. Place feels dated.

    Spacious room. Good location with tram stop right outside. Only 10-15 mins from Basel train station

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was limited and one of the breakfast staff members was not very helpful.

    We had a quiet room facing the back of the hotel and off the busy street. The hotel had free parking but limited (we arrived late and took the last spot in the lot). Free passes for train and buses and discounts for entrance to museums. It was conveniently located across from the train stop. Cable TV had many English, German, French and Italian stations.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price raised from 400EUR to 465EUR which I booked via Booking.com Too expensive for such rooms. Room was cold.

    I like personnel, they were eager to solve my problem.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly old-fashioned and tatty bathroom. Staff were a little rude at breakfast.

    Easy check-in; they accommodated us checking in late. Nice simple clean room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, facing the street and trolley route was noisy as we had to have the windows open due to the warmer weather.

    Great breakfast! Good location on trolley route, stop in front of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Furnitures are old in the room, it would be better if they changed with newer ones. (View my uploaded photo). - Breakfast is not really rich compared to the other hotels I stayed so far - Shower cabin is just small - Soft pillows that you might need an extra one.

    LOCATION: This hotel is situated on almost 18 minutes distance from Mullhouse Airport. Public transportation is for free for tourists in Basel. Do not forget to request your free mobility ticket when checking-in at your hotel. It is valid for 30 days. Basel is not a very big city, so you can go any places/attractions etc. from Hotel Alfa by public transportation. TRANSPORTATION: You can easily go to this hotel from the airport. There is no direct bus or tram line to Alfa. Here is what you have to do: Outside the arrivals, take the bus line 50 to get to the Basel Bahnof Central train station. (If bus driver asks you about the ticket, just show her/him your confirmed reservation). Then take the tram #10 and get off after 1 stop at the Aeschenplatz and take tram #3. After 5 stops, get off at Baren station right in front of the hotel. HERE ARE MY (+)’s: + Very good price compared to the ones in the city center + Free parking + Tram station in front of the hotel + Couple restaurants and kiosks nearby + Helpful and friendly staff + Coffee maker and minibar + Safe box in the room + Tv channels of many countries + Wifi works just as god + Restaurant inside is open until 10pm + Comfortable double bed + Room was cleaned everyday. Free toiletries. + Although trams passing by, it is really quiet when you close the windows

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alfa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: