Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Allegro Bern 4 stars

Kornhausstrasse 3, Breitenrain-Lorraine, 3000 Bern, Switzerland

#6 of 36 hotels in Bern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1880 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.8
    nice hotel with nice view if you have a room with balcony
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the cleaning of the room very superficial

    the possibility to have a room with balcony the garden of the hotel and the terace the breakfast the fitness room live music at the bar

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful, modern and only a bridge away from the old centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only on thing...the soft poly filled pillow!!! maybe there had other types but it wasn't on offer.

    A wonderfully airy hotel which served a fine breakfast. All staff were helpful and friendly especially ing the Italian restaurant where we ate twice. the waiting staff were extremely pleasant and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    So enjoyable and convenient that we shall go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the smokers in the garden which curtailed our stay out there. The staff preparing the garden in the mornings were noisy and had a petrol blower to move the leaves.

    We loved the opportunity to sit in the garden.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    It’s location couldn’t have been any better.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Penthouse Junior Suite with Terrace and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about the Allegro Hotel...

    It’s location couldn’t have been any better. There was a tram stop right outside which was complimentary.. The staff were very friendly and highly informative.. The views of the town were also spectacular..The real icing on the cake was a free upgrade to the 7th floor Penthouse with complimentary access to a free fully stocked bar with snacks..It was about as good as it gets !!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Great view from our balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Junior Suite with Terrace and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not know beforehand that there was a Tesla destination charger since booking.com does not tell me, could have spared me a charging stop.

    Great view from our balcony

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    We get a free upgrade of the room which was a very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very expensive breakfast

    We get a free upgrade of the room which was a very nice gesture. Hotel offered us a free pass for public transportation. Great coffee/tee maker in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    If you stay in Bern, I definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The housekeeper could do a better job.

    Very nice modern style hotel. Very convenient location: Tram 9 right outside the hotel to take you to train station (3 stops), and old town. It is nicer to walk to the Bern old town with great view on the road. less than 10 min walk to the big clock (Zytglogge clock tower). If you stay in Bern, I highly recommend this hotel. 4.5 star hotel, but not expansive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel in beautiful Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really loved the hotel. For a reasonable price they gave us a wondeful and large room, with great view. The staff was incredibly accomodating, helping us with our baby (4 months old). The hotel is well situated next to the river at only 10 minutes walk to the beautiful historical center. If you walk on the other direction, you can also explore more residential and hipster neighbouroods. Clean and modern hotel. Breakfast is relatively cheap for Swiss standards and it is quite good (without being outstanding). We will be back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    We truly enjoyed our stay, everything was perfect,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is only one thing which we did not like. We booked the room with breakfast included in the price, but when we arrived it appeared we had to pay for that

    We truly enjoyed our stay, everything was perfect, especially the location. We can recommend this hotel to everyone

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff is absolutely super.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is absolutely super. Anne,the lady who welcome me to the hotel,was absolutely professional and ready to answer to all my questions. Really nice to arrive at the hotel and receive this kind of service!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Hotel location and view from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smokers dominating outside water feature space. Smaller/ cheaper breakfast option would also have been appreciated.

    Hotel location and view from balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Fancy hotel in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being picky the decor was very Andy Warhol, I'm not a fan. The minibar fridge didn't really chill the contents which were very pricey.

    This was a nice size room in a hotel attached to a casino. As hotel guests you get a free drink tocken for the casino if you go. We were allowed to leave our dog in the room alone and given a tag to place on the door handle to let the staff know this. This was particularly handy when our dog needed a rest day and meant we could still go out for lunch. They also provided dog towels, which was a nice touch. The bed was comfortable and the TV had English channels. The hairdryer was a good one that you could actually dry your hair with quickly. The hotel restaurant was very nice, served tasty food, provided excellent service and was dog friendly. The downside was, like everything else in Switzerland, it was expensive. The location is close to the centre of town, literally just across the bridge 100 meters or so and has a very handy tram/bus stop right outside. Additionally public transport is free for tourists. The car park was attached to the hotel, underground with a lift to the hotel lobby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is very close to the old town and has it's own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very close to the old town and has it's own tram stop. The hotel will issue you with a free pass for public transport which we used every day. We are a family travelling with two teenage children. Our rooms were upgraded to bigger rooms with a wonderful view of the old town and interconnecting door. The hotel is primarily for business but we felt quite at home. The only thing missing is a pool. However, we joined the locals for a swim in the river...highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little odd with cheap looking square vinyl flooring and insufficient plugs for chargers.

    Great location and lovely staff. Was happy to stay here

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    A very good hotel in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best choice

    Very friendly staff, they always smile to residents. Very nice restaurant and atmosphere there. A very big private car park, pickup and drop off area there! Very comfortable room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive, but so is all of Switzerland

    Staff were very helpful, the location was great as the tram stopped outside the front door to take us all over Bern. We enjoyed our stay immensely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    The location and the staff are all great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit of noise from some pipes I guess and the room door was shaking when something was shut in other places. Not so disturbing as it sounds.

    The location and the staff are all great. I also think I had the best breakfast. I trully recommend this hotel to everyone looking a hotel in Bern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast too expensive.

    Beautiful big bedroom and bathroom, nice view on the garden. Quiet area, but next to a tram stop. Old city is just 1 tram stop away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    View! Penthouse! Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Junior Suite with Terrace and View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One of the best meals we had was in the outside bar area by the pond, but when we walked in to the empty restaurant the host acted like they didn't have room for us and no one else came for the next two hours!

    We had a penthouse suite. Absolutely worth the extra money. The kitchen just for the suites had bottled water and fresh coffee whenever I wanted . The view from our patio was breathtaking!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyable - Bern is a beautiful and interesting city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Junior Suite with Terrace and View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel description for the penthouses specified complementary drinks and snacks available from the lounge. The drinks where great but the snacks consisted of croissants in the morning and two small bowls of crisps and nuts in the evening.

    We stayed in a penthouse suite which was very spacious and had a lovely big balcony. Overall the hotel was really good with nice outside areas to sit and helpful staff. Great location just outside the old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Bern is a beautiful walkable city and this hotel only compliments it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were too large and made my sleep difficult to impossible. If they had smaller pillows, it would help.

    Great location. Beautiful small rooms but nice bathrooms that were larger than others in this class. The breakfast buffet was EXCELLENT with great selection of items to please most guests. The interior decor was EXCELLENT and the staff very helpful. The hotel is CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN. Even the breakfast buffet dining area is kept CLEAN and tidy during the breakfast. On site parking is a plus. It is pay parking. We parked and walked or used transit. Bern is a very walkable city!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Great for business, great breakfast and gym but uncomfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of the room did not meet my expectations and thought it didn't match with the overall hotel communial areas. The air con was not functioning at all and the lights were very difficult to turn off as there were several different switches for them.

    I really loved the hotel overall. Location, interiror settings, restaurant, gym and the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    The location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great. Very comfortable immaculate clean room. Nice and cosy room. Well decorated hotel with a sensational front little garden in front. For sure I’d stay there whenever I go to this city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    The hotel is really nice! Most probably I will stay here next time. Air conditioning is good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't have anything particular. For this price and compared to other hotels, it was very good. I was not staying in Economy Double Room where it is said that there is no direct daylight. If I would stay in the Economy, I might not like that.

    I stayed once in Comfort Double Room with Balcony and another time in Panorama Double Room. Both room were really nice. There was a view to the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good except the pillows. They need better pillows.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. They also upgraded us for free after we explained to them our stay at a horrible hotel the night before. The room was spacious and welcoming. Breakfast was outstanding!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Its a property more attract to business customer. feeling of leisure is little bit missing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The economy room. the room with balcony are good and nice view too.

    the economy room are big in size but there is no proper ventilation / window. So being in Swiss and you are not exposure to nature then no worth to pay such high charges. location is very good just you cross the river bridge you entered the city center and little more walk you reach old town / Train main station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    A nice place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and the pillows were too soft for me. I had a bad back for the whole week. Quite expensive but suppose it’s Switzerland.

    The location close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit expensive

    Excellent location walking distance away from the city centre, very comfortable room and bed, superb breakfast offer, complimentary public transport pass

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Dont book lowest rates rooms. You will miss a window. Prison-like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sorry, I dont want to repeat what I worte above. I liked the sofas in front of the hotel facing a nice pond with ducks etc. I liked the location. So near to the oldtown. In front of the hotel there is convenient public transport. The carpark is convenient, though a bit expensive.

    Make sure, your room has a window to the outside. The hotels has a number of rooms without window. Take them, if you have experience in prison life. Go for a higher rate, its worthwile. If you were a tourist in the early 1920s in Paris, you will be reminded of the very soft beds they had in some Etablissements. Nowadays we are used to mattresses that cater to health. We slept very bad and suffered from backake the next morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The Place to be in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a litle overpriced as the main cities of Switzerland use to be

    Amazing hotel in Bern! Near to the city Center! If you are by car is the best option in Bern.The hotel has two restaurants, great Cassino and a charming bar with piano which means you have a lot to do in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Pleace !! Helpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some people smoke out in the garden and there are some wide doors kept open. Smoke is can be smelled strong at the lobby area strong some times and I couldn't stay there and enjoy the nice weather

    location is close to transportation station only few steps to the bus. Pleasant place and so quite area very close to the center and only 5 minutes walk. Food is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent overall choice for a stay in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too soft and we could feel the bed structure when sitting on it. For a 4 star hotel I would appreciate a real shampoo instead of those mixed body/hair shampoos.

    The staff were very friendly and hotel location is excellent, just a short walk from the old town. They also provide a free public transport ticket which was handy after a tour day. Breakfast was super good. The fitness room is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Cool and modern hotel, but not really comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was not comfortable for sleeping. Bathroom is really badly separated from the room, so that you can hear everything from the bathroom, no isolation whatsoever. They should provide more power sockets.

    Breakfast was very good, but based on Booking.com "fabulous" rating I expected it to be even better. Especially could have had more cake ;-) The location is amazing, super convenient, tram directly in front of the door! Gym is incredibly modern with really great machines and free weights!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was small especially when it is called a penthouse. The Nespresso coffee machine in the common lobby was always out of fresh milk although the staff brought fresh milk whenever asked.

    View from the Penthouse was amazing. The staff was very helpful all the time. The location is perfect with 5 minute walk to the old city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Modern, clean and comfortable hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern, clean and comfortable hotel. Breakfast is really good (but the dinner not so good as I expected) And it closes the city, close the stress train!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    I was at a Conference taking place at the premises.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was full and sometimes the atmosphere rather chaotic. Nothing cozy about the hotel, but then it's not what it is there for. Pure business hotel and nothing else. Also caters to the customers of the Casino.

    I was at a Conference taking place at the premises. Could roll out of bed and walk to the Conference. Nice clean rooms and a very helpful staff that tried very hard when it got rather chaotic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    The location and room view were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was very disappointing, food was very basic and over priced, I did tell the waitress my dish was over salty, but she did not attempt to rectify the problem making me feel embarrassed that I had mentioned it. I was a little ropy in the stomach department the next day.

    The location and room view were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.6
    Hire new reception manager
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I arrived at the hotel I realized I got a room with a very small window overlooking the hotel lobby. As I have claustrophobia I could not sleep in this room, so I went to the reception to ask if I can have a room with a bigger window not overlooking the lobby. This was my 4th stay at this hotel and every time before my room was meeting my criteria but not this time. At the end of the day we agreed with the reception manager that he will give me an upgrade due to the fact that I'm a frequent guest. He did not mention any additional charge for the room. At the check out it turned out that he charged me 30 CHF for every night for the upgrade. That happened despite the fact I never agreed to the additional payment. When I asked for clarification the reception manager was very rude to me. Trying to convince me that he would never give me anything for free!!! (as if paying 230 CHF for a night is free?) He told me that I'm playing unfair and his way of delivering the message was unpolite and hostile. I felt as if I stole something from the hotel, like a thief that leaves the restaurant without paying. At the end of the day he said he will take off the 90 CHF payment (3 nights x 30 CHF) but he will never do any upgrade for me in the future. Seriously! As if he is giving me mercy for staying at this hotel!. I spend here approx 3000 CHF and this is the quality I got from the reception manager. This message is not about additional payment as errors can always happen. I'm calling out that the reception manager treated me in a hostlie and rude way. I will never stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at the restaurant was a bit too pushy in the evening. At breakfast we were kicked out of the restaurant because they needed to get it ready for brunch.

    The hotel is ideally located, close to the old town. The room was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    Fairly expensive one night stay more or less comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room without natural light. Window facing a wall. Strong smell of air perfume spray in the room. Poor ventilation. Poor interior soundproofing.

    Good breakfast, good food at the Giardino Restaurant. Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Good beds, perfect location, luxuruous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot: central heating that couldnt be switched off. We had to use the airconditioning to cool the room.

    Good beds, perfect location, luxuruous hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location and really nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    another comfy chair in the room.

    Good location just across the river from the old town. Tram stop right outside the hotel. Great view from the panorama room, shame it was cloudy most of the time so only a glimpse of the mountains. Great breakfast huge range of food to suit all tastes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    5.4
    We'll be visiting Bern more often, but we'll find another hotel.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The economy rooms don't have a windows. Ours was very hot (4th floor) without the option to operate the airconditioning. The mattresses really need replacement. We changed room to an "upgraded" version, which was an improvement, the mattresses however were similar quality.

    The location of the hotel towards the city centre. The hotel bar is very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    it was alright apart from the sunlight and stuffy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was stuffy and too warm. In fact I faced the same problem two months ago and even after telling them about it the previous trip, I had the same experience again, even after requesting this time. There is too much sunlight into the room thus preventing from sleeping in longer.Curtains are very see through.

    Excellent staff who are very helpful. Location is good too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.8
    Be careful what room you book
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room did not have a window to outside, just an atrium. Nobody told me this at check-in or when I booked the room

    very good breakfast and nice restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay and great place for the congress I had at the Kursaal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More power outlets in the room would be handy for multiple devices, and don't forget to bring the right plug with you - this is Switzerland! I would have expected a Swiss coffee machine, e.g. Jura in the room for the price paid.

    EVERYTHING - GREAT PLACE, LITTLE EXPENSIVE THOUGH IF NOT BUSINESS.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    wonderful hotel in the center of Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lifts- all made of glass, not for someone who is afraid of heights... The stream from the shower was very weak.

    The hotel is very nice, very centraly located, with a wonderful view outside the windows. They have a small gym, with the newest exercise machines. Breakfast great as well, staff very friendly!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    great location, super friendly staff, comfortably rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. You just have to cross a bridge to reach the old city of Bern. We had a nicely decorated room with a very comfortable bed. It was very quiet. The staff was incredibly friendly. The hotel has a nice restaurant and a beautiful garden.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Clean, functional, comfortable room . Pay a little more to ensure you have a window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot.

    We had an outside room. We had a small balcony , some rooms are internal. . I would not have been happy without access to fresh air as the room was very hot even with everything turned off. We ate in the guarding restaurant and were charged 11 chf for a bottle of water . The most expensive water ever !! Location was a short walk to town and easy access to river run Breakfast was good , staff were lovely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Excellent layout of restaurants and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At weekends the cafe/bar tends to be busy if you choose breakfast in there - but never overcrowed.

    Excellent layout of restaurants and bar. The Italian Restaurant had a cosy contemporary atmosphere overlooking the gardens which were beautifully lit at night. The waiters are just amazing - effiencent, charming and effortless. The interior woodwork on room doors and furniture were a feast for the eyes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Rooms are of good size and look new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioning was noisy and not cool enough. The pillows are too soft and it would be great extra pillows were provided in the closet. The shower gels are great but unfortunately there was no body cream to compliment it.

    Rooms are of good size and look new. Convenient location. Friendly staff and an excellent bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Rooms were spacious, clean and staff were friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay to park 26chf per night, abit over priced if you’re paying to stay in the hotel aswell

    Rooms were spacious, clean and staff were friendly! Good views of the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    The best place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was so good I liked every thing.

    I like everything. Perfect location, very friendly and helpful staff and the room was comfortable large, beautiful view and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    We forgot an electric hair straightener in the room at...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We forgot an electric hair straightener in the room at departure. We made a mail to the hotel the next day and they claimed that nothing was found by the housekeeping:-/

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, we have stayed here at least six times and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all good.

    Always a delightful stay with very friendly and helpful staff. Very good dinner in Italian restaurant. Excellent bar that serves brilliant cocktails and has a great atmosphere. Hotel is excellently situated just over the bridge from the old town. Very good underground parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    Arrogant staff but comfy beds.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception was utterly impolite. We had to take a hotel room in Bern following a problem at our flat (robbery). We live in Berne which surprised the receptionist who asked why we had booked a room. We arrived late and exhausted. The staff was surprised we didn't have a credit card. We tried to explain what happened but they didn't have any empathy. They made us pay 100.- as a caution, telling us they would refund us tomorrow morning. I've never had such a thing in a hotel explained to me in such impolite maners. My husband and I don't have the same surname. We realized the following day that they might have taken us for something else (having an affair or whatever), that would explain their behaviour. But whatever the context or whoever we could have been do in no way excuse their attitude.

    Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    A very comfortable stay and an excellent base from which to explore the old town of Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have benefitted from adjacent rooms with a connecting door, as we had two rooms beside each other. The key cards stopped working several times and we had to take them to reception to get them reset.

    The view from the 4th floor panorama rooms did not disappoint

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Wonderfully perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely wonderful! The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is modern and perfectly decorated, the location is great so you get wonderful views and, they were so nice to us that they gave us an upgrade so we managed to enjoy one of their penthouses! I DO greatly recommend the Allegro Bern Hotel!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Just 3 tram stop to the central train station which is the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness room is closed

    Just 3 tram stop to the central train station which is the the city centre. Very convenience. Doun have to pay for the tram, city tax included. Breakfast 8s very good, lots of choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    The place to stay while in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind! Would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

    We truly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Allegro. The property is very modern with a great view of Old Town Bern from some rooms and is conveniently located on the tram line into Old Town. The breakfast buffet was extensive and despite the hotel being full when we were there, they kept the buffet fully stocked. When we arrived, the rooms we booked were not available due to an issue with the water in part of the facility but the hotel upgraded us to a suite and provided free breakfast as compensation, which we appreciated. The rooms are modern, clean and well maintained. Our bathroom in the suite was enormous! Service was excellent as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Convinced satisfaction!
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    non!

    I felt good and safe in this cozy and clean room. I love the simplicity and beauty of this space. And the young gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant, fresh and professional, perfect! thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Good stay at Allegro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in Switzerland was very high. Our cups were not cleaned and we were there for three days. Seemed strange to be doing dishes for $200/night.

    Design was lovely and modern. Bathroom really upscale. The staff were very nice and especially accommodating when we first arrived. A young man whose name I wish I had gotten went to great lengths to steer us toward the public transportation and local sightseeing that we might enjoy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    I liked the outside restaurant, view, staff, meals and drink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd prefer to have more facilities in the room iron, coffee maker etc

    I liked the outside restaurant, view, staff, meals and drink and liked the breakfast and it's variety and that there is a casino and the staff at the reception was helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Stylish hotel with musically themed areas with great parking close to the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to criticize about the hotel. Food in Berne generally pricey though.

    Friendly welcome! City tax included free tram & bus rides which we used. It's opposite Tram 9 which went straight to the city - 1 or 2 stops - or walk across the bridge. Lovely alcoved streets & characteristic fountains near Bärenplatz. Stylish hotel with lovely "panorama view" of the old town. Well equipped. Would recommend it highly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Luxurious hotel, with friendly staff, and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit expensive restaurant & breakfast. Very small window towards an internal wall.

    Amazing facilities and beautiful design. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.0
    Great location , nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor rooms (no windows in some rooms, uncomfortable beds, no reasonable desk, horrible design), unprofessional staff. Not recommended for business travelers (No food to be found after 23:00, had to ask for an ironing board and got a broken one)

    Great location , nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.3
    Functional hotel , scenic view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (in my room at least) no shutter i.e. morning going through curtains. not good for light sleeper. especially given the price of the room.

    Facilities (i.e. restaurants), scenic view, professional service, business centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, fantastic location for the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding party the night of our stay and there was therefore no room to sit outside in the hot weather and enjoy a relaxing drink.

    Breakfast buffet really good. Location great for getting to the centre of Bern and the free bus pass meant that our old legs did not take a hammering. Really helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Balcony of my room was facing the hospital right beside the hotel, so not the best. Getting up in the morning to see patients on saline bottles is a bit depressing

    - Good location, right across the old town and short 5min ride by tram from Bern Bahnoff to the hotel - Right next to tram stop - Availability of cycle to go around town but unfortunately could not rent them

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    3.8
    Not for summer tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room poorly designed. A/C didn't cool room. Staff rudely said if didn't like room, should have booked a higher priced room. Did give 5% discount on next stay - but why would I stay in a hotel with hot rooms and rude staff. Staff insisted they would put luggage in room upon arrival, but only found one suitcase. They finally located the other 2 suitcases. They had been placed in the wrong room. Service very slow in bar area.

    Breakfast buffet was large and well done. Nice outdoor sitting area for drinks by pond. Tram stop by hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautifully designed hotel, fantastic and surprisingly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C unit vent didn't open so room too hot overnight and one staff member needed lesson in politeness although she was definitely the exception!

    Beautifully designed hotel, fantastic and surprisingly peaceful location and view over Bern, free public transport passes. Breakfast was excellent, terrace outside with lawn and ponds was lovely in the evening. Old city centre of Bern is beautiful and passes allow for free trip up Gurten which is highly recommended. Vast range of high quality shops and centre is sprinkled with little unexpected delights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Great parking and excellent location with a tram stop right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really family friendly as it's part casino-hotel and part business-hotel. No kids menus at the restaurants which are too fancy for small children. That said, the kids did love the fish pond and the public play room.

    Great parking and excellent location with a tram stop right outside the hotel and a quick 1-stop ride into the old town. Lots of restaurant choices inside and they were really good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Birthday weekend in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property was right near the centre of Bern and the trams stopped right outside. The staff were excellent. Very clean and beautiful place.Food and drink expensive but lovely. The could see the alps from our bedroom window,what a way to wake up in the morning. Fantastic short break.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location at a good price if you can overlook the glitzy atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a giant businessman's type hotel with a piano bar and casino. It felt like Las Vegas! Breakfast at the hotel was 26 francs! We ate elsewhere.

    Walking distance across the bridge to the old city. If you don't want to walk the bus stops in front of the hotel - one stop to the historic center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    6.3
    Good place, request exterior facing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was hot so we needed to open the window, not a big deal. However, the window opened to a corridor where guests also opened their windows to. The noise throughout the night of windows opening, TVs, music made it difficult to sleep. As well as one guest smoking while leaning out of the window causing the smoke to come in our room. Request a room facing the outside of the faculty and this place would be fantastic.

    Location, size of rooms, clean, bed

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Allegro Bern traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: