Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Alpenhof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Kreuzweg 36, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#10 of 39 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 292 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Room was very spacious and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very spacious and cozy. Staff was very kind and helpful. For breakfast, it is simple but it has evrything; cheeses, breads, egg dishes(you should order to a staff), coffee, tea, juices and etc. The best part I loved was Eiger mountain view from the terrace. It is nice to have a cup of coffee or food there seeing the mountain and relaxing. At night, I saw a sky with full of stars, which was unforgettable memory for me. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying Grindelwald!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything bad about the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay!

    The location was great for us! Close enough to walk into town but up on the hill to have a great view! Our room was a nice size and we had a balcony to view the beautiful mountains. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was also good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    7.5
    I contacted hotel before check in for 2 days for inquiry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I contacted hotel before check in for 2 days for inquiry pick up service, however they said this service is not available when our arrival which made me disappointed. So, I had to pull my BIG and heavy luggage to the steep slope to the hotel. very tired.... on other hand, the bathroom is too small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent views from this property from a second floor balcony and great customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property really exceeded my expectations. It was a little pricey for the shoulder season but the quality of the room, the bathroom, the furnishings, and most of all, the ridiculous view of the Eiger from the balcony was just breathtaking. It also helped a lot to have free on-site parking. The breakfast was excellent and it was even possible to order omelettes - not a typical option. A great property that I will definitely stay in again if I return to this area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    10
    Me and my brother were there in late march, we found a cozy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The overcooked pasta in the restaurant menu for dinner. But just because we are italian :-)

    Me and my brother were there in late march, we found a cozy and spaciuos double room with a nice terrace and view. We also appreciated the breakfast that had a signficant variety of products both local (fruit jam and cheese) and international (corn flakes, eggs etc). We feel comfortable to advice all of you this hotel in Grindelwald! See you next year 😃

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    9.2
    The rooms were lovely, staff really nice, jacuzzi/sauna...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's up a little hill from main street but near bus/train for all ski slopes.

    The rooms were lovely, staff really nice, jacuzzi/sauna great. Breakfast homely and good with meats/cheeses etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    9.6
    This is a friendly family hotel which looks and feels just like one imagines a Swiss chalet should.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was quite a climb up to the hotel but the train station and bus terminus were nearby. The bathroom was very small indeed.

    The typically Swiss bedroom and cosy restaurant. The owner and restaurant staff all spoke English and could help with excursion enquires. The views from the hotel were excellent and the varied menu meant that we didn't have to go out in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    9.6
    Quiet and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not in particular

    Nice room, sauna, breakfast. The room was quite spacious. We could enjoy the fantastic view of Grindelwald and the mountains around there from the room valcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    10
    Beautiful property with magnificent views and wonderful and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel restaurant food was good, but overpriced for what we got, in comparison to other places we had been in Switzerland.

    The hotel is clean and well kept. The views are incredible, and the staff is extremely helpful. We brought our 4 month old son and when he started getting fussy during dinner at the hotel restaurant, they helped us bring our food upstairs to eat in our room. They let us store our bags there during the day even after we had checked out, and when we went to pick up our bags they gave us a ride to our next hotel when they saw it would be a far walk for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    Amazing view!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view was amazing!!!! Eiger can be seen at the terrace!! The staff were friendly and the breakfast was also good :p Moreover, it is conveniently located - within a waking distance to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little expensive

    My favorite view Great food Wonderful helpful staff Parking was easy and free No bus loads of tourists Clean large room with balcony Wonderful accommodations

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything.

    Everything was surprisingly great! We had a good size room with stunning views. The best we had in Switzerland. Superb traditional Swiss decorations and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    10
    What a view!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, it was all great.

    The view from our room was absolutely stunning with the Eiger and other snow-capped mountains in front of us. We were lucky enough to receive an upgrade to a superior suite and it was very spacious. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, recommending and providing information on activities around Grindelwald.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel with excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just the distance of the hotel from the train station. The walk was steep.

    I liked everything about the hotel. A special mention to the receptionist Ms. Margaret who was very good. We wanted to leave a day early and she refunded us half the amount for three rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic mountain view from the room, upgraded our room to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Television is not working in our room.

    Fantastic mountain view from the room, upgraded our room to suite room, pick-up service, nice breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2017

    9.6
    A great address in Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing we did not like

    We really enjoyed staying at this family hotel which has a warm atmosphere. Staff was very kind, friendly and helpful. Facilities are great, and the room very cozy. The little hut with the sauna is a nice little plus! Just like the beautiful balcony view. Breakfast features quality products, and eggs can be ordered in many ways! We would stay there again for sure.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2016

    10
    Best place to stay in Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved how welcoming the staff was, the check in was really easy, views amazing and location convenient.Floors were heated which was awesome, in short value for money!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2016

    10
    Worth Staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were warmly welcomed by a pleasant young man who gave us lots of knowledge on the area and upgraded us to a newly renovated room. Great view from the balcony . Bed was very comfy breakfast was great . The property even had a washing machine and dryer. Close to the train station and town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    8.3
    Swiss comfort with spectacular view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wall sockets not working (non-connectable) for charing phones and PCs.

    - Most convenient location, i.e., proximity to the railroad station (and therefore to the town center as well). - Great view from the nice balcony where we could sit back enjoying drinking and chatting. - Ample parking space to park free.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2016

    10
    First stay in Grindelwald.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all.

    Location. View from our balcony. Breakfast was relaxed, large variety of food on offer. Free wifi. Room spacious and quiet. Staff friendly and polite.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2016

    9.2
    Great location, close to the centre of town with outstanding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom somewhat dated and a lack of conveniently located electrical sockets in room.

    Great location, close to the centre of town with outstanding views if the Eiger. Pleasant room with large balcony. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great view even on the side patio. Excellent breakfast, very nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.9
    Room view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Same breakfast everyday!

    Room view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    Very very very very large room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Very very very very large room! And the breakfast is also tasty! Love the fried eggs and bacon!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful view. Very comfortable room and great staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, great view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good breakfast, staff extremely helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    9.6
    Can't go wrong here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't go wrong here!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    10
    Couldn't ask for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't ask for more. Perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    8.8
    A beautiful trip and wonderful scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing much could be improved

    Spacious room with awesome views of the mountains and very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    10
    Calm relaxing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Calm relaxing location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and comfortable, pleasant staff, a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    10
    Staff were extremely friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were extremely friendly and polite. Amazing views. Great breakfast. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    9.2
    The view was Refreshing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Almost did not see the small alley to the hotel.

    Parking in front the hotel. The view from the balcany.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    10
    Loved this property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit of a climb to reach the hotel but the view made it worth while!

    Location, friendly staff, our room had a sitting area, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    9.6
    Conveniently located with nice view and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff Good breakfast Comfortable rooms Convenient location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    8.3
    Nice morning meal, and friendly guys.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sightseeing on first floor was a little bit sad.

    Nice morning meal, and friendly guys.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    9.6
    Favorite place in Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in apartment, great view, lots of room, excellent helpful staff, short walk from train

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    10
    View from balcony, Friendly & Helpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View from balcony, Friendly & Helpful Staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    7.9
    Great location, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows in the room. Very uncomfortable

    The breakfast service was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2017

    8.8
    Incredible room and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Suite with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little pricey though

    Best room stay in Switzerland. Breakfast was very impressive.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2016

    9.6
    The hotel is very good as well staff as well food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very good as well staff as well food and location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2016

    9.2
    Overall it was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could not charge our phones as apparently we did not understand that the main switch turned off the plugs.

    We took a lunch bag, which was not good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2016

    7.9
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom smells Bed not that comfortable

    The view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    10
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing view from our balcony and wonderfull staff. Even has a washer/ dryer to use. One of our best hotels on a month long trip

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    10
    The beauty of Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The days were too short , 24 hours is not enough to enjoy it sllll

    The beauty of Grindelwald

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel but overpriced village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grindlewald itself is overpriced - even charge for tap water

    Lovely staff, comfortable room, very clean, nice food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    9.6
    Heaven on Earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard to find hotel.

    Furnishing where very nice. Staff was very helpful and polite. View of Eiger was fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic view, spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    10
    Very relaxing stay in a stunning hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stunning view from the balcony. The comfortable room and good decor.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    9.6
    Very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everyone was very helpful. The restaurant was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    10
    فندق عجيب
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything excellent فندق عجيب اطلالة عجيبة و موظفين اعجب

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast was very good, lot to choose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    price

    Breakfast was very good, lot to choose.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    9.6
    Delightful owners, lovely room, delicious breakfasts,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything!

    Delightful owners, lovely room, delicious breakfasts, fabulous views

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location and view of the valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were not as comfortable as they looked. Many locations in the village, and the hotel's hot tub, were closed due to it being the off season (late April). Breakfast was not included in the price.

    Excellent location and view of the valley. Had it not been snowing, I'm sure the mountains would have been spectacular. Attractive large room with many windows and a balcony.Design and decorations made this the epitome of a Swiss ski chalet.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    9.2
    The view from our hotel room was a amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from our hotel room was a amazing! The staff were friendly, specially asian looking woman and location was perfect! Breakfast was delicious and over all this place was good value for your money!

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2016

    10
    The suite is spacious with beautiful wood furnitures,super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The suite is spacious with beautiful wood furnitures,super clean,warm and cozy. The balcony and bedroom face the Mount Eiger,it's really great to see the pituresque view when you wake up! Breakfast is also very good,with lots of fresh and delocious regional specialties. Instant noodles are also prepared for Asian people,so sweet! The staff here are super nice and helpful,try to fulfill every of your demands and make you feel like home.

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2016

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing. It was lovely.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Ability to print lift pass in the hotel was great. Kindly picked us up from the train station at a different time from usual. The hotel is up a hill from the town, but easy reach of the town and the train station. There was ample parking when we were there. A bus drops you down to the station and back to the hotel morning and evening. Breakfast was a very nice affair. Hotel was nice and clean with good amenities in the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2016

    5.8
    Lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lower storey rooms. we were woken at 6:45 by loud reverberating footsteps as the room was below the restaurant. Ski access. Shuttle bus only ran 3 times per day. Impossible to walk icey and steep road to hotel with ski boots so no option but to wait in the town for 45 mins after pistes closed at 16:30 for the 17:15 pick up. Hot tub needs to be reserved in advance which was great for privacy but wasn't shown on the website and I only worked it out by reading other reviews. We also didn't appreciate being told we couldn't sit at a pleasant table by the window at breakfast as they were all reserved for people who were staying for more than a weekend. Beds were quite hard which gave us a bad nights sleep but this is personal preference

    Lovely staff Upper stores rooms. They changed our room to one on the third floor for our second night which was lovely! I think this would be a great hotel in shoulder or summer season but would not recommend for skiing. Location would be excellent for access to town in summer.

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2016

    10
    Well worth the walk up the hill (although they will pick you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Well worth the walk up the hill (although they will pick you up). Lovely hotel with amazing views, friendly proprietors and staff, and good food at breakfast and dinner.

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2015

    9.6
    A lovely hotel located in one of the most beautiful settings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I was a couple of weeks too early for the ski season. I travelled 20+ hours by plane (with ski gear) to find the slopes were only open in the weekends at this time of the season!!

    A lovely hotel located in one of the most beautiful settings in the world - a picturesque Snow covered Swiss village under the shadow of the imposing Eiger North face!!

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2015

    5.4
    Uphill from the train station, but nice views.
    • Family with young children

    Staff leaves for the night at shortly before 10 PM, we returned from dinner to find that the tv and internet were off, and remained off all night. As I needed to work and also plan our next hotel, this was a real problem. The front desk listed an after hours number to call, so I called it, but the number just routes you back to the front desk recorded message that says 'we will be back at 8.' If we had had a real emergency, there was absolutely no one from the hotel to help their guests. When I mentioned the problems the next day, the guy did not care at all, even about the fact his after hours phone is useless, which he obviously knew. Ridiculously overpriced for their utter lack of service. Unless you like being ignored all night on the darkened side of a hill, go elsewhere.

    Uphill from the train station, but nice views.

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2015

    9.2
    Quiet location off the main road, very friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was a little small.

    Quiet location off the main road, very friendly and helpful staff and comfortable rooms. Reasonable price for this hotel. Great view of the Eiger from our terrace!

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    10
    The best part of the hotel is the quiet, picturesque...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing really. My stay was simply perfect.

    The best part of the hotel is the quiet, picturesque location of the hotel with the backdrop of the mountains behind it giving it a pristine look. The hotel is also located within a short walking distance from the Grindelwald train station. I also appreciate the hotel offering me a pick up from the station to the hotel while checking in and also a drop to the station while checking out. The lady at the reception in the day time was extremely helpful and supportive. For a solo traveler, this was just the perfect hotel to rest and recuperate. I will highly recommend people to consider Hotel Alpenhof as their first choice while visiting Grindelwald.

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    8.3
    Superb position above the village of Grindalwald with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On checking in, told we'd been upgraded to a suite which sounded good, but proved not to be: two rooms, the bedroom at the rear and lounge in front with limited mountain view due to being on lower floor and with roof of hotel entrance blocking what views there was. Hotel only four floors high - able to change rooms for 2nd night to 3rd floor, huge improvement, lovely room with balcony and mountain view.

    Superb position above the village of Grindalwald with wonderful mountain view. Four storey hotel above village, typical Swiss chalet style, beautiful flower display on balconies, etc. Would have given top score other than 'value for money' - but this is Switzerland which is expensive. Owner and staff (especially Rita in restaurant) delightful.

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Had to pay extra 50 Chf per night for bed for my son even though there was a sofa bed in room. Bathroom v dated and shower awkward to climb into.

    Friendly staff. 5 mins. from town centre. Lovely Swiss style room. Great views of eiger etc. Lovely balcony with lots of flowers. We had superior room which is 2 rooms combined.

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2015

    2.9
    I did not like anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I was in Derby hotel before i checked in in this hotel. So i could able to compare. This hotel is uphill you have to walk up and down everytime you wana explore the area. Secondly the room is small, i paid lesser price in Derby and had i huge room. Third, the toilet is smelly. Fourth, the pillow are not comfy, theres nothing inside the pillow, like only air. Fifth, the breakfast is not very good, less options.

    I did not like anything.

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2015

    10
    Alpenhof really a beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect!

    Alpenhof really a beautiful hotel! U can see Eiger mountain through ur windows! The staff's behavior is really nice, it's feel like u r in home!

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2015

    8.8
    Room was large and comfortable with a nice balcony, all made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a little difficult to find a hotel in the beginning, but the location was actually very convenient.

    Room was large and comfortable with a nice balcony, all made of wood. We liked that everything was cleaned, a separate parking was available free of charge. Breakfast was rich and calm.

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2015

    8.3
    Margaret and her husband allowed me to change in the sauna...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Room 204 was a bit noisy beside the road, and the view was not as good as other rooms - I was promised a better one next time! Otherwise all good.

    Margaret and her husband allowed me to change in the sauna room after checking out and returning wet from a cycle ride to collect luggage, and then drove me to the station - most kind.

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2015

    10
    The view from our balcony was magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NO bad experience but be aware that this hotel is uphill from the train station about 2 blocks. So, very close to transport and shops, but whew, practice uphill climbs in advance!! Thus, we generally ate in at night to avoid the mini-hike....- fine dinner menu but somewhat limited.

    The view from our balcony was magnificent. The breakfast was delicious and had all kinds of choice from cereal, to yogurt, to local cheese and meat, rolls and delicious bread, fruit, coffee of course...everything!! (all included in the price!). TV was terrific. Bath was excellent with good amenities. All just perfect. Better than 3 stars for my friend and I. Quiet too.

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2015

    10
    Hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tiny bathroom in room for two people. Need no-slip mats in showers in case of older occupants.

    Hospitality. Personnel. Owners'willungness to listen to requests. Friendliness. Excellent rooms for our family reunion. Lift for 'old'legs. All of us extremely happy/satisfied. Would recommend highly. Pets permitted.

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2015

    8.3
    Location 5 minutes to train station by walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lights in the hallway after 10pm. The path climbs steeply, not suitable for everyone The breakfast was a bit difficult to reach

    Location 5 minutes to train station by walk Nice friendly staffs Big room with large balcony Stunning view Free parking

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2015

    9.6
    Alpenhof was brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately we had to leave after 3 days and everyone in the group wanted to stay. Thanks so much.

    Alpenhof was brilliant! The owners and staff were helpful, attentive and yet discrete and the view over the Eiger from most of the rooms was superb - it was quite magical! The hotel is quite luxurious in the traditional sense and caters for everything including tea and coffee in the room plus a laundry. It is only 5 minutes from town and the railway station.

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2015

    7.9
    Lovely view, good quality, friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Smoking on neighbouring balconies, smoke driften on to our balcontact And into room. No flowers on balcony (june)

    Lovely view, good quality, friendly Staff

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: