Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpenrose Hotel and Gardens 3 stars

Kirchgasse 72a, 3812 Wilderswil, Switzerland

#10 of 23 hotels in Wilderswil

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 487 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    3.0
    I have stayed in mountain huts that were cleaner, felt more comfortable and most certainly safer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What makes this a 3 star hotel? The filthy carpet throughout? the walls that have not been painted in years? or is it the warped, wet ping pong table sitting in a corner of the yard? The staff is overworked and it shows. So of course they are rude. The one woman checking us in was also waiting tables in the restaurant. The kitchen is in the basement and the smell of grease raised up to the upper level rooms. My biggest complaint is the lack of adequate safety and building code application. Our balcony was made of cement, cracked down the middle and clearly leaning. The railing was barely attached. The ceiling fire detectors looked like they hadn't been touched in years. But the big, red, clunky fire extinguishers certainly made me feel better......I don't think I could even lift one if I had to, let alone use it. Not to mention that there isn't a straight wall or floor in the place. If there was an incident, this place would fall like a house of cards. This place is a death trap and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. This is my last experience with Booking.com.

    The coffee and the gardens.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Close to public transport and the hotel provided travel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room; shower/toilet cubicle was very small but still okay. Some noise from adjoining rooms.

    Close to public transport and the hotel provided travel cards for free bus/train in local area; close to Interlaken city. Breakfast was good with mountain views. Restaurant meals for dinner were great and good prices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in South African owned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to add.

    We're a family of 4. Mom, dad and 2 children above 25 years of age. We booked a family room. The room was divided in two parts, which really helped. It was spacious enough for the 4 of us. The location of the hotel is great, and the views simply amazing. To us the most important was a clean room, clean bathroom & good restaurant for dinner. Upon our arrival we met the owner, who was also a South African. He quickly showed us around, and gave us some ideas of things to do the afternoon. He didn't have to do this - but it did make us feel very special and extra welcome. The hotel is literally not even a minutes walk from the train station. (When I booked the hotel I was scared this would be noisy, but it we weren't even aware of the train station. We had a early morning trip to Jungfrau, and would miss breakfast. The receptionist organised a packed breakfast for us, which we picked up early the following morning. Our dinner in the restaurant was so much fun - we had cheese fondue, and some other traditional Switzerland dishes & wine. The property is well looked after, and even has an amazing garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay with family, wonderful gardens, helpful staff, good food, ideal location for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny en-suite clearly forced into room many years ago. Needs painting. No lift but the old people I was with managed ok with their walking sticks. Can hear the people above walking around.

    Great staff, very helpful. Nice pub and restaurant. Good value and varied menu. Lovely gardens. Typical breakfast. Traditional building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Excellent Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel with an amazing garden. Excellent location, 2 mins walk to the train and bus station. There is a supermarket nearby too. The hotel was very clean, and room service was available on daily bases. Breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.3
    Decoration in the room, cleanliness in the bathroom, view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome in the reception was absolutely not ok, she was rude and also the personal who serves the breakfest was extreme rude. She was just waiting to pick up everthing away as soon as it comes to 09.30 am when breakfast time is finished.

    Decoration in the room, cleanliness in the bathroom, view of the nature from the window, the location (5 min walk away from train station was perfect), supermarket 5 min away nearby. The restaurant next to the hotel building was really nice. The lady who served was quite friendly and the food was delicious and being prepared with love for our kids.. even 1 portion spaghetti was devided in 2 services and prepared for them really nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    The garden is nice but we couldn,t enjoy because it was rain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small and dated.The batroom is very small with wallpaper .You pay the hotel like for 5 stars and get 2 stars.

    The garden is nice but we couldn,t enjoy because it was rain.The salon is also very mice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast is good, you can have as much as you want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff gave us the wrong keys when we checked in, and that's after we were settled down in the "wrong" room and he told us. So we had to repack our stuff and move to the new room. That was an absolute nuisance!

    Breakfast is good, you can have as much as you want. You can also see the snowy mountains on the balcony or the garden behind the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location in Wilderswil
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast didn't offer any hot food option.

    The hotel garden is very nice.The hotel is very near to Wilderswil station from where the mountain railway goes up to the Schynige Platte, a great excursion.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good location, comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    this hotel is very good, a little pricey as is a lot of Switzerland. It is an older property but our room was very clean and comfortable. Nice view, great location. Hot tub located in a quiet garden, clean, we had all to ourselves. The breakfast was not good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Except for the wooden roof, the stay was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except for the wooden roof, the stay was excellent..hotel staffs were so friendly..since the roof of the room was wooden, if the people staying in the room above walks it makes a disturbing noise the floor below

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Great place close in the Interlaken region
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quadruple room contains a bunk bed.

    The hotel’s proximity to both Interlaken and Wilderswil station(trains for Schynige Platte) is of great advantage. Also, it has a fabulous garden with the view of Jungfrau. The complimentary visitor card from the hotel provides free train ride to Interlaken and big discount for popular tourist attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Alpenrose separate yourself from the tourist traps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owners and staff. The restaurant meals were outstanding with ingredients straight from the garden. We were very happy we didn’t stay up in Grindelwald as Alpenrose was quite , relaxing and well priced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.2
    Will not be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room Location on Ground Floor with chairs and tables placed outside our window and other guests sitting there talking loudly until late at night. The towels were old and so thin as to be useless Tea tray in the room had paper cups and only 3 tea bags and 1 milk. Very difficult to get any service as the reception area was deserted most of the time.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Everything was Just More than Perfect !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely Nothing !!

    We loved this hotel. 2 mins from wilderswil train station. Check- in was super easy although we were late. This was our Best Stay Ever in switzerland. We are definitely staying here again. Spotless clean, Rooms are good size, Bed is so much comfortable. Staff is always active, espcially the gentlemen in the evening at the reception was so enegertic. Breakfast is super tasty. I over-ate in the breakfast. Garden at the back was so pretty, we did a photoshoot and View of the mountains from the room was a true beauty. Keep it up guys !! Great Service !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    It is located just 100 metres from Wilderswil train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel does not has an elevator. We didn’t mind that because hotel staff helped us for carrying our luggage to our rooms.

    It is located just 100 metres from Wilderswil train station. Staff is very courteous. You can get very nice views of mountains from the windows/balcony of your room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    My kids and I spent 11 nights in four countries, 7 different...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My kids and I spent 11 nights in four countries, 7 different lodgings (none were hostels) in all. The Alpenrose was, by far, our favorite! Wonderfully accommodating, peaceful, comfortable, and clean. Lovely, quaint furnishings and ambiance. Relaxing, welcoming atmosphere, everything, even breakfast, exactly as pictured online. The view from our room, ever-changing with the light, sublime. Sleeping with the windows open is a treat here. The adjoining restaurant is fantastic - everything from the decor to the service (we wish we'd spent both nights dining there!), and oh, the fondue! Really nice experience overall. I really miss Wilderswil, and will definitely spend more time at the Alpenrose next time we get to Switzerland!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Great option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have no lift and The room is a bit simple and not that big

    Excellent breakfast, amazing location, very friendly staff and nice view from the room. We do really recommend this accommodation. It is 2 minutes walking from the train station and they have a very nice týpical restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.3
    Nicely situated very close to Wilderswill Train Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift in hotel and there are 3 floors. The wooden flooring is also noisy. Almirah was broken, Night lamp bulb was fused... Not worth the money spent for stay.

    Hotel is nice, breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    5 min drive to Interlaken and a short drive to Grindelwald.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    5 min drive to Interlaken and a short drive to Grindelwald. Great location with the train just steps away. Satisfying breakfast and great restaurant on site. Jacuzzi, gardens, and a drink from the bar :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    I come to this area often so I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One small chair in the room and one on the balcony left no option to sit comfortably to read or eat a snack. Sitting on the bed in the evening was uncomfortable.

    The breakfast had variety: hard boiled eggs, toast, juice, cereals, and Nutella! The room was respectfully shabby and the beds clean. The staff were lovely and spoke English, French, and German.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic stay with a superb view from our hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Property does not have a lift so it would be helpful to check before hand if you want any lower floors. It took us a day to adjust to the beds but then after they were pretty comfy.

    The view outside our room was just Fantastic. Having a cup of coffee (yeah they have an electric kettle) from our Balcony helped us kick start our day almost perfectly. The WiFi at this hotel was seamless and we were very impressed by it. The morning Breakfast was really sumptuous and for the first time I have seen colorful eggs in any hotel. The station is just a 2 min walk and connects to Interlaken and other places quite frequently.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Staff was friendly and nice, breakfast was good, bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was friendly and nice, breakfast was good, bed was comfortable, overall me and my friends liked everything about the hotel. the view was spectacular

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great price, nice breakfast and comfy beds. Everything was very clean. Enjoyed the breakfast and the restaurant for dinner. We were on the top floor and our room was very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went there for a leisure trip. The staff was friendly and they helped us with information. The room was clean and cozy with an amazing view. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just perfect

    We were arrive in the morning, and our room was ready, the staff let us checked in before 11am, and they were really friendly. Good location, 2 mins by walk to the train station, easy to go there even with luggages. And they give us free transport tickets to Interlaken by train and bus. The room not big but with everything we needed, good view outside the balcony. Breakfast has a lot of choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is quite old, so there is no elevator.

    Fantastic view, nice and very helpful staff. Breakfast had great selection. We had dinner at the restaurant, and the dishes were very tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Alpenrose Hotel, Wilderswil, Switzerland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Gorgeous quaint century old property, beautiful grounds, great scenery, very knowledgeable english speaking staff, very clean and tidy hotel, great food, free parking, great wifi everywhere in hotel, close to all amenities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable stay, lovely area to explore and lots to see. Definitely will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in time of 3 p.m was a little late - most hotels are around 2 p.m.

    We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will definitely be going back. The staff were friendly and welcoming and we think that we got really good value for money during our stay. We really loved the idea they had a family room, as this is not always available at other hotels and allowed our daughter (15) to sleep in her own bed in our room. Stunning garden and outdoor area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Room was warm n cozy with an excellent view of mountains and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little disappointed as we got twin bed against expectation of a double bed which I indicated while booking. To add to this I found a small bug creeping from bed on day 1. Although that was only single instance in my three day stay but it made me to inspect the bed before jumping into comfort. The wooden flooring was somewhat creaky, which irritated me specially at night, when it’s pin drop silence.

    Room was warm n cozy with an excellent view of mountains and backyard garden. A good and healthy breakfast to start off the day and I like the welcoming nature of staff. Although it was in Wilderwil, it felt it’s part of Interlaken due to good/frequent bus and train connection . Hotel card for travel was handy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    Nearer to Interlaken ost + positive Negative goes on.. Rooms are not good, not worthy for amt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not good Bed n cot was worst Flooring is wooden roads which make hell lots of sound while ppl in even other room walk . Very much annoying

    Near to Wilderswil train station. Nearer to Interlaken ost

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good place to visiting Interlaken area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beakfast could bu upgrated with some warm food.

    It was near to train station and bus station. It was located in a nice village which accessible from Interlaken. It is near to the mountains and lakes. The price and quality was good. The restourant was so nice. The breakfast sareved in very good condition.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice tradition and confort place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    —-

    Philip and his wife were so kind. We had dinner together like family. Philip cooked a delicious dinner and served for his family and me. I met with some of Swiss caltures in that house. There furnished with some tradision and old accessories. Also Philip take me from house to train station and retun. It was nice experience for me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast, the people were really nice and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corner of my door had a square whole that looked like it was cut out by someone so I could hear sounds from outside. The mattress was kind of old so I could feel the bed frames

    Great breakfast, the people were really nice and kind. The room and the bathroom was also great.The location is perfect, a walking distance from Wilderswil station. I had a great view from my room which made my stay even better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    The hotel is right next to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right next to the train station. Make sure to get the swis visitor pass at the front desk so you can use the train for free to go to Interlaken (which is a 4 min train). Comfortable bed and an awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    They should concentrate on restaurant only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and no elevator.

    There is no service nor any one to help luggage for upper floor. Managment is very strict even small request of guest bothers them.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    A memorable stay in Switzerland. Highly recommended!
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were comfortable, room was very clean and tidy. The hotel provided kettle which was uncommon in hotels in europe. Our room offered a nice view to the snowy mountains. The hotel was excellently maintained despite the ‘century’ age.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Great location in the centre of the village 2 mins walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the centre of the village 2 mins walk from the station. The hotel includes a pass for the local buses and trains. Great value. Pity i didnt have time to use the jacuzzi in the gardens. Definitely coming again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in a steeped in history hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to old wooden walls, the air in the room was very dry.

    Very nice, century old hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast room is a gem. Old, decorated walls, high ceilings, mountain views. Good variety of breakfast items. Our room was big, the bed comfy. The chef of the onsite restaurant knows his business. The food was excellent. We will come back. For sure!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Location is great within walking distance from Wilderswil...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator in the apartment need to carry your luggage walk up the stair

    Location is great within walking distance from Wilderswil train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Will recommend to all friends and family until I can come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved this place! It was my favorite hotel from the entire vacation. Very quaint and cozy. The bathroom was great and the shower was even better. Great view of the mountains and loved the gardens in the back. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Clean and confortable room and bathroom! Great cost x benefit relation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast ist simple but fair!

    Friendly staff, very clean and confortable room and bathroom. Big room, new and confortable bed and matress. Great cost x benefit relation! Totally recommend and would book again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Wilderswil: where the heart stands still
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our request for halal meals was ignored as well as for a later checkout time 12 o clock . Also there was no facility for leaving luggage to be collected later. So we had to lugg it around town and that meant we couldn't enjoy the scenic setting or all the activities offered by this lovely town.

    The ambience , location and hearty breakfast . Rooms and linen were fresh and squeaky clean. Bathroom tiles on the wall adjacent to the bath run were all cracked and no toileteries: toothbrush soap there. There was a slight misunderstanding in initially locating the booking and later about the room rate. Otherwise a pleasant stay. We received free travel.on busses passes. Which was welcome surprise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Easy to public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was slightly small especially when we had a large suitcase, but not a big deal

    Easy to public transportation. Very nice and helpful staffs. View to the garden and Swiss Alps was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.8
    OK for a 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com says "there is a large car park" but in reality it's max. 10 places in front of the hotel, you cannot reserve it, so if there is no more available, you can park your car at the train station and pay for it!!We had to pay in advance for the room without seeing it - normally you pay upon departure. Electric kettle was missing from the room, the hairdryer was broken into parts, room was too small and the restaurant menu did not correspond to the one on their official website - choice was much smaller so we decided to go to another restaurant nearby. After mentioning our concerns to the young receptionist, her first offer was an aperol, then her other proposal was to leave the hotel and we can get a refund (in high season after 8p.m). This attitude is outrageous from someone who works in the hospitality industry. It was ok for one night. I wouldn't recommend this hotel, all these small issues make you feel unpleasant during your stay and I know from experience that you can find better hotels nearby

    The hotel has a big and beautiful garden, the view is amazing to the mountains and it is really close to the train station (3min by walk) - not relevant for us because we arrived by car

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    4.2
    Never again at The Alpenrose in Wilderswill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather shabby, tiles in shower cracked, some Staff not nice and they looked like they did not have any interest in their job. Parking very limited especially if you had dogs that slept in their car cages. It was expensive compared to hotels comparable in France. The hotel needs renovation work since you can hear those people above you on the next floor. Chinese guests appeared rude and without manners especially when they bumped their breakfast chairs into you and when they were noisy late at night. Will not be staying there again that is for sure.

    Breakfast good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.8
    Never again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Uncomfortable bed. No air conditioning On our breakfast morning many tables were uncleared and plates left on tables.Very appalling!!!

    We like the surrounding of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    5.4
    Not great accommodations for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was so tiny you couldn't turn around in it. Also, the wall covering was linoleum. The sheets were clean I believe but threadbare like the towels. For the amount of money we paid it was overpriced for the room. The hotel restaurant was expensive for what you got and had very little variety of food.

    The location was a block from the train station and you get free transportation. The breakfast buffet was good with a lot of variety. We rode the trains everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    beautiful hotel in a beautiful country
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints!

    The people working at the hotels were so friendly and accommodating. The view from the back garden was amazing, we had a grey meal for dinner and the breakfast was very good. We took a train from Bern to Interlaken and then Interlaken to the hotel. It was so easy and amazing that were didn't have to take a taxi. The hotel was in a lovely neighborhood and near a supermarket as well. I would love to stay here again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.3
    Lovely outside Interlaken
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator if you have luggage with 3rd-4th floor is be nightmare.

    Breakfast is great. 5mins walk to train Wilderwil station. 1 stop to Intrrlaken. But you should know train is operation until 10pm. Then you can not hang around town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    Good place to stay between Interlaken and Lauterbrunnen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shutters/blind and thin curtains so we woke up early with the sun.

    Perfect location by the station with a lovely mountain view. Friendly staff, clean, nice breakfast, free travel to Interlaken.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    We surely will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location to visit Jungfrau Region. At a few minutes walk from Train Station with direct connections to Interlaken Grindelwald, Lauterbrunnen, Schynige Platte and Jungfrau Joch. Friendly staff giving you an "at home feeling". The histrocial building give the hotel a special athmosphere. The hotel has a nice garden with plants, flowers, fruit and vegatables. We surely will come back to Alpenrose Hotel & Garden.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    6.7
    Basics are there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not confortable. Too soft. Room wasn't soundproof. Hard to stay asleep in the morning when people star moving around corridors.

    Basics are there. Breakfast was ok. Free parking and close to the train station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful room with a superb view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No where to get a good cup of coffee close by in the morning.

    This is a really lovely small hotel in a typical Swiss village and only a short walk from the station. The owner upgraded our booking on arrival into a garden view room, which was just delightful. The antique furniture was lovely and the view out into the garden and up to the Jungfrau mountains superb. We enjoyed the breakfast each day and even though the hotel restaurant was not open in the evening there were other dining options that we could walk to. We walked into Interlaken one afternoon, stopping at the Rugenbrau brewery on the way - enjoyed the mulled beer! Also had a wonderful day when we took the train up to Kleine Scheidegg to enjoy the close up views of the alps.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    Good location close to station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great, coffee was not so good.

    Good location close to station. Friendly staff, dinner was excellent. Chef was very friendly and checked how the meal was. Soap in the bathroom was nice too. Wifi was great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Good hotel for Alps mountain trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi signal was quite weak in my room.

    Room price is quite cheaper than standard price in Interlaken. Nice and beatiful garden. Hotel's restaurant was ok, the taste is good and the price is reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    nice and efficient staff, good facilities, close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice and efficient staff, good facilities, close to the station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    3.8
    Not good clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    feel at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no idea

    location super. lovely staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    Garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows and bed uncomfortable. Very hot room.

    Garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Really nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Lovely views, great service and restaurant. Free travel around for the day. Nice rear garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, stunning mountain view.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old stile,dark bathroom

    Good location, stunning mountain view.Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Everything was just fine, we enjoyed the place, good food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just fine, we enjoyed the place, good food, wonderful garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    fresh air to consume
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no elevator is provided very uncomfortable for the adult (older persons)

    Location is easily to go to attractive places.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Very nice and quiet location with an amazing view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and quiet location with an amazing view from the balcony of the room, the staff is friendly and always ready to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is good. Near to train station Room is basic but comfortable. Breakfast is provided but rather basic. Value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice atmosphere in breakfast hall, good buffet which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room we had was a tad too small, carpet in the room.

    Nice atmosphere in breakfast hall, good buffet which was constantly being filled up.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Out class hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out class hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little old fashioned but ok.

    Good location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Location was superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was superb!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location, nice breakfast and rooms have a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift

    Excellent location, nice breakfast and rooms have a great view. Easily accessible if we go by car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had lugg my bags to the 2nd floor - no elevator

    Very friendly staff, nice location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    View!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 power socket with flat face (acceptable for standard European adapter).

    View!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast options were not very good

    Location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: