Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alpina 2 stars

Äussere Dorfstrasse 92, 3718 Kandersteg, Switzerland

#10 of 19 hotels in Kandersteg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 178 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, it hard you have big luggage

    i got upgrade to hotel ermitage (same owner) without additional price. The staff was fantastic. i get free shuttle from station to hotel, vice versa We receive free gondola ticket. Will be back if i have to stay at kandersteg

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, great stay.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. We were warmly greeted upon check in and they were able to answer any question we had regarding the area. Room was spacious and bed was comfortable. the included breakfast was very good and among the best we've encountered.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    As soon as you get inside, you feel like home. Very cozy, extremely clean rooms with the mountain view and the balcony - just what you need to stay in the mountains for a weekend. On the ground floor there is a 'collaboration' room where you can stay with your friends, have some rest and chat. The village itself is quite cozy as well, surrounded by mountains from all the sides. Amazing Blausee is just 11 minutes away by car. Very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed there for New Year's Eve. And if we would definitely book the same guest house the next time we visit Kandersteg.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't a real double bed but two singles pushed together. The decor was a bit dated, though this is typical of mountain villages. The location is easily accessible when coming from the north (e.g. Bern), but if you want to approach from the south like us, be prepared to take a car train, which costs around 25 francs :)

    The room was spacious and super warm even though it was pretty cold outside. The bathroom was nice. Although we visited during low season with almost the entire hotel empty, the staff still put in an effort to make us comfortable and were very trusting. Breakfast was quite basic but nice with plenty of cold options to choose from. The area is spectacular and the hotel is close to the train station. Considering what we got, the price was a steal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old style, it could be renovated, but it is not very important

    We liked the receptionist, I do not remember her name, but she was blonde, and she was so kind. We bought something to eat, and she let us eat and use the restaurant, which was just for breakfast. Furthermore, we were playing until late with the games they have there for clients. Furnitures are old style, but the room and bathroom were so clean!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at this place for two nights. The receptionist was very nice and helpful. He gave us excellent information about the area and what to do. The room was small but with a balcony, clean place. Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was too simple, can provide more options.

    Staff was very friendly to provide the information of surrounding areas and restaurant. The view of hotel is extraordinary. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didn't have air conditioning, which meant the room was a little stuffy when we arrived. However, being in the mountains, I doubt there are too many days where they need air conditioning, so we did understand why they didn't have it. We kept the windows open and enjoyed the breezes.

    The views from the hotel (the entire town, actually) are amazing! The hotel is large and has great balconies from which to view the mountains and surrounding valley. The family room has a huge loft and the kids loved going to bed up there. Breakfast was lovely - fresh breads, pastries, yogurt, eggs, great coffee!! We felt really cared for!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly and professional staff, good breakfast buffet, good location 10 minutes on foot from the station and the closest cable car. Cosy atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expansive but it's everywhere the same in Switzerland.

    Breakfast, location, great view from balcony and very friendly staff especially Katrien, Dani and Freni.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some vegetables for breakfast would have been nice, but otherwise everything was delicious.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great view from the room, excellent location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel owners / staff were welcoming and very helpful, from accommodating our travel needs to providing local advice and guidance. The room we stayed in had a classic wooden Swiss chalet feel but yet retained a clean and modern feel. We had a lovely sleep in this mountain resort ! The breakfast provided was also just what you needed for the days activities ahead.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction new buildings around the hotel early morning is noisy and Parking area is full of gravel. The hotel should be discount roomrate at this time.

    The floor and bathroom are very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    My price from booking.com and price reflected at checkout didn't match up. I'm guessing that's because of Euro verses Swiss Franks.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room, great breakfast, and good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad luck with rain! 😩

    In redouble staff-driving is due to rain and very accomidating! Unfortunate construction in town is my only negative-otherwise 10/10.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no elevator, and unluckily we brought 5 luggages and we stayed on the second floor, so need effort to bring them upstairs... The location is abit far away from train station, I suggest to take bus instead of walking...

    Very friendly staff... The manager drop us with luggages to train station... He is so kind :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, Carry everything by yourself without any help.

    Big room, Not far from station and city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cold water sometimes came hot

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was excellent and cordial. Lovely people.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No escalator

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice room and good breakfast. Definitely recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don´t have any complaints... everything was good :)

    Perfect location to enjoy a weekend of hiking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So clean!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staffs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, big rooms, good breakfast, clean! Loved kandersteg, should spend at least 3 days there!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Very comfortabel property with friendly owners

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is slightly out-dated... But still clean and great service!

    The view was stunning! Although very cloudy, but full mountain view!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice relaxed comfortable hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and location, smell in the room not so great and the rooms are old. I would expect cheaper prices for this quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the kind lady at the reception, the balcony and the breakfast. The hotel is brand new, but the atmosphere was relaxed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I had a comfortable bed and a large room. At breakfast the owner was attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was extremely basic at best. It was located next to a building site with very basic facilities.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and exactly as pictured.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Very friendly staff - Dany was extremely helpful and pleasant. The BEST spot to stay and enjoy the beauty of Kandersteg! Thanks!

    Stayed in June 2017

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: