Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alpina Luzern 3 stars

Frankenstrasse 6, 6003 Luzern, Switzerland

#44 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1156 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We were upgraded to the Hotel Monopol which is a stone’s throw away from the train station. Macdonald’s and Starbucks are just besides the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service.. great location, just beside the train station and few minutes walk to Luzern attractions.. I was also given a free upgrade to hotel Monopoly a 4 star hotel which was just beside Alpina.. Wonderful stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no Room AC and booking hotel in May to Aug is real nightmare when temperature is high. Also the bathroom is just 2 ft by 2 ft and you cant even rotate while standing while taking shower.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a bit smelly due to the old carpet. It was not that strong and didn't ruin my stay at all, but I'd rather not have it.

    Pretty good for short stays. It's located just beside the train station: I had a heavy bag but had no problem to walk to the hotel. It's walking distance from all the interesting points. The hotel also gives you a public transport ticket through the stay, as discounts to many activities (like the boat trips). The breakfast is quite good, although served in the hotel right beside! (BTW, check Monopol hotel, they're in the same group).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Everything Is pecfect. The location Is quite good, where is just next to the train station. We were ungraded to their 4 stars hotel for two nights for free, which is unexpected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is very old and cannot fit for 2 persons with 2 pbig suitcases. No heater or AC, but there's a fan provided by the hotel.

    Close to the train station and most of the tourist area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front door of hotel open at night when there was a lot of bustle.

    Nice hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Quite central and very close to the train station. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bathroom

    This hotel is in the best location!! It's a 2 min walk from the train station, boats, and the buses that take you to the Pilatus. It's in a nice area with lots of nice restaurants near by.The room we had was a good size, had a balcony, and was very nicely decorated. The bathroom was a little small but I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is excellent, just a few minutes walk from Lucern main station. It's very convenient to get back in the room for a short break during the day and go out for sight seeing again. The reception is also able to manage for lending of adapter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff at reception and we had to register at the hotel next door. No kettle and coffee facitilies even though we paid much more than any other hotel we stayed in Europe.

    Very central to shops and train station. Bathroom was newly renovated and bed was comfortable. Staff was very friendly and provided us with a kettle on request.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Rooms are sweltering. They provide a notice saying that they aren't allowed to put air conditioning in the building because it's a historical building. This is an explanation but it's not an excuse. The fans they provide are not a solution. You don't expect to be overheated in Switzerland in March but I could barely sleep it was so hot. Let me reiterate to the mgmt staff who will no doubt post another one of their fairly aggressive responses (check Tripadvisor) defending themselves because they provide you with the notice saying they can't put AC in - this is not an excuse, you need to find a better solution to the problem. Many, many people have commented on this. - It's noisy. I opened the windows to combat the heat and it felt like I was in a nightclub. Also, was woken up by housekeeping staff making noise in the hallway on a Saturday morning at around 8am.

    - Amazingly convenient for the train station - Good, cheap breakfast - Good bathroom - Room was decent for Swiss standards

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets need changing.

    We were auto upgraded to Hotel Monopol. It was very well situated. Just outside the train station. In the middle of the main street. So everything was few mins walking distance from our location. Which was great. There was mcdonalds and starbucks on the ground floor of our hotel. Room was nice and big. Good enough for triple sharing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no water kettle in the room, need to walk to 4th floor to wait and boil.

    Get a free upgrade to hotel monopol and their breakfast is good especially oat croissant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you roomfaces the road it can be very noisy,especially on the weekend. Not so much with traffic but with the noisy hooligans near the train station. What I can't understand why the police does not do anything about it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one thing that began to disturb me while trying to sleep. I became aware, nightly, of a deep, low frequency, rhythmic noise, I would say a bass instrument such as a guitar. The noise was definitely musical and repetitive of typical bass lines. It seeped insistently through the building and was enough to keep me awake. I have no idea how you could find the source, but it was there and annoying.

    A very good breakfast, range of foods.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better to notify the connection of Alpina (Accommodation) and Monopol (Reception desk) Hotels in advance for the guest first time looking for there.

    Great location, very creative and smart combination/cooperation of A and M Hotels. Nice and exotic design and decoration.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in: only found out that check in had to be done in Monopol after arrival in Hotel Alpina.

    Location: 2-3 mins from the train station Breakfast: variety though I prefer to have more fruits Staff: helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small elevator No receiption High payment against quality and services Baby bed cost was 30 CHF for each night i paid total 180 CHF for a very bad a damaged plastic baby bed , was so crazy

    The location only

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The transparent glass panel in the bathroom made us uncomfortable. The safe was very small and could not hold a laptop. Also, there were guests who smoked on our floor and the smell wafted into our room and we could not sleep for one night. There was also a perpetual smell of cigarette smoke in the hotel reception.

    The location was superb and convenient, rooms were clean and spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was quite dated and didn't feel immediately comfortable once there.

    We actually didn't end up staying in this hotel, we stayed at the nicer one that was connected to it. So technically a free upgrade from a 3 star to a 4 star hotel. This was a great location as we came in on the train and it was close to the city centre and all the things you'd want to do there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very noisy, traffic noise, could only sleep with earplugs (asked twice for quiet room).The hotel was very smelly, room was better.Creeky floors.You have to check in and have breakfast in different building.

    Nice size room, good coffee, nice breakfast room.Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Although booked at this 3 star hotel it was closed when I got there and was sent to the Hotel Monopol which is 4 stars! No complaints. [The two Hotels back on to each other] Location right at the Bahnhof & central bus station is great and close to the lake boats and the old town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room did not have a fridge or coffee/tea making facilities.

    Good location, near the train station but still quiet at night. Comfortable beds. Large, modern and clean bathroom. Good quality breakfast. The reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smells and looks very old.

    Very old and tired. The whole hotel smelt like old cigarette smoke. I wouldn't stay here again and for the cost it was a massive rip off.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lots of smokers along the way between Hotel Alpina and Hotel Monopol around 10+ am. Housekeeping always leave all the windows open after housekeeping. One night we're back late and the room was freezing cold.

    Got a triple room and a twin room. Twin room faces the road. Triple room faces the backyard. Rooms are spacious. I can open my luggage fully and still have walking space. Breakfast is served at Hotel Monopol. We loved the plain croissant but they ran out rather quickly. Breakfast staff are super friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Note that in summer they have no air conditioning as the Monopol is located in a heritage building so they can't install that. However fans are provided and windows can be opened.

    Got a free upgrade to the Monopol so my experiences were with them, but they are next to each other and conveniently located next to the train station and there's a MacDonalds and Starbucks downstairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I believe they allow smoking in the rooms. The hall smelled terrible of smoke and the smell of cigarette smoke filled my room in the middle of the night. I had to sleep with the window wide open.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly but it is not staffed all day. The room was fine - average.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature in room was hot but the fan helped. Small bathroom with glass panel which allowed the light to shine in from the bathroom to the bedroom - disturbed my sleep - unusual design concept.

    Good central location next to the train station and boat quays. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the fact that the hotel debited my credit card even before I landed in Lucerne . This is contrary to the Booking.com promise of "pay at property" . They have also debited additional amount as security deposit which is not as per terms of booking . No satisfactory explanation given by counter staff at Hotel Monopol where the checkin formalities were done.

    Reception Staff at Hotel Alpina was very warm and helpful . Room was cosy and comfortable for a single person .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area and pictures online were deceiving for what our room turned out to be. Room was 60 years out of date, bathroom was insanely small, not even a towel rack could fit in it. Even the sink was beside the bed. Loud hotel you could easily hear your neighbour. Breakfast was annoyingly setup in another hotel aswell. I could go on with about 10 other things. Couldnt wait to leave. I feel sick thinking about how much money I blew on this dump.

    Location, and that is literally it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are too large but upon request smaller pillows are available.

    It's extremely convenient to reach from the main train station. The staff are helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are very poor. There are no boiling kettle, no complimentary coffee or tea, not even drinking mug. The toilet was very small and extremely uncomfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The outside temperature on the first two days was 31 degrees and the room very hot, because it had only a fan, no airconditioning. The shower floor was slippery. Our room was on the fifth floor, but we could still hear people talking in the café downstairs. On lower floors this could be a problem on warm days if one wants to keep the window open. The room price is prettyhigh for a non-AC room, but this is perhaps in line with Swiss prices generally.

    The room was big. On the balcony (without chairs) one could see the Pilatus mountain. The hotel is a few steps from the railway station and it is a 5 to 10 minutes walk to the river and the old city. The breakfast in the hotel next door was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew this was an old hotel and were okay with they. The only negative was that you had to go around the corner to the sister hotel for hot water and ice but we understood. the shower was VERY small. It was okay for us because we are thin but if you are not thin, it would be almost impossible to use.

    The location was outstanding. The room was small but clean. The breakfast was fantastic. It was reasonably price for Lucerne. The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please note, bars in the front noisy in the weekends. Some of the rooms in the back are exposed to parking and early mornig garbage delivery cab make it noisy, too.

    Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I actually got upgraded to the other property, the Hotel Monopol. The room was fine (probably what I was expecting in the other property), but they made it sound like I was "lucky." But the room I was put in seemed like a closet they converted to a room....again, room was fine, but the staff made it sound like a huge upgrade.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing but non-availability of air-conditioning in warm summer nights.

    Friendly staff, especially the two intern girls who were very supportive. The location of the property, just minutes from train station and lake was really helpful because we had our entire Swiss stay here and traveled to all the attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absence of air conditioning is a big problem, because, if you open the windows, there is a lot of noise during the night, coming from the nearby clubs and restaurants, The little electric fan in the room, does not help at all.

    Excellent location (close to the city centre and train station), very helpful and friendly staff, a nice atmosphere all together. Very nice and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no air conditioning so we kept window open at night. Franky's bar is next door and noise and cigarette smoke in the alley under the window ran until maybe 2 am...then the construction noise from down the street started a 6 am. Wake-up call request was accurate only 1 of 3 nights.

    The room was decorated in a minimalist style, but seemed to have sufficient storage. Pillows were fluffy, bed adequate. Breakfast at the Metropol next door was enjoyable. Loved being close enough to train station to transport luggage...only a little over 1 block, and about 3 blocks from the covered bridge on Lake Lucerne.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of hotel's own staff after 6pm means everything has to be dealth with the neighbouring hotel. We forgot something at the hotel. Called the staff after a few hours, who were a bit rude in their response (and said they do not know). This part was the only rough part of our stay at Alpina.

    Great location, near the hauptbahnoff/ferry terminal. A super market also near by, and so were all the key touristic destinations. Awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few more facilities (maybe an iron) - tea and coffee making in the room would have been helpful.

    The hotel was comfortable without having the 'extras' like tea and coffee facilities. The electric fan was helpful - I can understand why they don't have air conditioning but the room was very warm. Reception staff were excellent , warm friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I will not likely use Booking.com ever again. Or maybe it was the hotel that charged an extra $50 a night for a remodeled bathroom with a clear window in the shower and no AC.

    Reception staff were very helpful. The relationship with Metropol was not well understood. Very conveniently located and quiet. Good thing that there was a fan in the room. The temperature those days was quite uncomfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No way to get the room dark during the night. Insulation is bad, you hear the neighbours above walking. The bed is too small for tall people (1m 90). Breakfast is ok but you have to exit the hotel and enter another hotel close-by.

    Location is good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot July night and the room was hot even with the aid of a fan.

    Room recently refurbished and bathroom very modern, comfortable bed but I missed having a headboard so I could sit and read my book. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the location excellent if you arrive by train. Complimentary breakfast in next door hotel was also very good .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge in the room but this wasn't essential for me.

    Despite some not so good reviews of this hotel, I had a really pleasant stay. Room was very clean and spacious. The lift is a little old and shaky but it works. Staff were super nice and yes they explained breakfast is at Monopol hotel next door which didn't bother me. Location is fantastic, within 5 min walk to train, restaurants, grocery store, the Bridge and the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning -- room was very warm, plenty of street noise with window open No food services -- free breakfast was at a neighboring hotel as was any ice if you needed it. Shower was extremely small. No shampoo or conditioner provided just one soap liquid for everything. A bit pricey for what was provided.

    Location, location, location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no AC. Provided just one fan in a triple room. One more fan would have made it more comfortable.

    Very close to station yet very quiet. Front desk staff very friendly. Held my luggage till evening as we went to out after check out. Provide a fan during summer when it is hot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor very dated. Very basic room. TV had mostly foreign language channels, did not have BBC news! Room overlooked the street and it became very noisy during the night on a couple of occasions.

    Just around the corner from Lucerne train station. Room was big. It had a safe. Staff were helpful. Allowed us to leave baggage in reception after checkout.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea and coffee making facilities in the room but a Starbucks in the foyer - at Swiss prices. No air conditioning. This meant we had to open the windows and as it was a Saturday night in the centre of town it was very noisey until 5:30am with revellers.

    As an old hotel it had big rooms and a large bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no aircon, so the room was very hot at night.

    Great breakfast, close to the station and provided a better room as our original booking could not be catered for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go to another hotel close by for breakfast. Could be a problem if the weather turned nasty. But the breakfast itself was substantial and fresh. That got the day off to a great start.

    Room was nice and all that I needed.The bed was a bit firm. It was very close to the train station and that was a plus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot room in June with fans, but no air conditioning; noisy pubs on street below loud until very late (only audible if windows are open); price is high (just like everywhere in Switzerland).

    4 minutes from train station or old town; nice views of city and mountain from my room; delicious breakfast with variety; simple yet clean room; great WiFi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we had a unit facing the road, the pub and restaurants were so noisy till late 1-2am. People were talking loudly and noisily... terrible experience. Windows is not entirely sound proof and we had to let it open due to summer heat and ventilation. No air conditioning available at the unit we stayed.

    balcony view was excellent...could see Mt Pilatus. Very near to train station. good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy till very late night due to vicinity of bars and restaurants.

    Hotel staffs very helpful,excellent location very near to railway station.Surrounding full of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small and overcrowded breakfast room. Whenever somebody walks, the surrounding floor and tables tremble. Very bad smell in the hotel's corridors. Very noisy and uninsulated rooms.

    Clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a cockroach in my room and it's bad smell. Even my room is on the fifth floor, it's very noisy at night.

    Location is quite a center of Luzern but there are a lot of trash cans in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It will help if the hotel has a hot water boiler. The guests need to walk to next sister hotel to get boiled water which is inconvenience if u travel with young infants.

    The bed is comfortable, and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great service, friendly staff, fabulous location! Rooms turned out to be bigger than what they looked like in the pictures! At a walking distance from Luzern railway station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is a little bit small.

    Good position, I'm very lucky to be updated to the room of Monopol Hotel nearby when I arrived. There is a bottle of mineral water on the table of the room for gift, it's very sweaty!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think if anything major. Just the small size of toilet in room 449.

    Very helpful reception Staff in alpina, staff in restaurant serving breakfast, breakfast food selection, free water, clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hallways of the hotel were very smoky smelling. If you have asthma, breathing problems I would not suggest it. I always book non-smoking so it was a disappointment. The rooms however did not have an odor, but getting through 5 floors of smoke was not to my liking. The rest of it was great - although I would not book it again due to my inability to tolerate smoke.

    Located directly across from train station was a huge plus. Traveling with elderly. Breakfast next door at the monopol was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Staff communication should be improved. - Same breakfast every day. It is so boring.

    - Very good location - The hotel have free upgrade the room to 4 star hotel monopol and I got it for 3 nights. Hotel monopol is big, clean and value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy. Pillows a bit lumpy. public areas smelt of tobacco smoke.

    Excellent breakfast included in room price. Upgraded to a bigger room with balcony access.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel does not have reception or restaurant - reception and restaurant of the nearby hotel is used for both Hotel does not have parking at all. You have to park on the street with 15CHF ticket from the hotel.

    Comfy room, quiet surroundings, near to the historic center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have trouble to find the reception to collect the key..however has a pleasant surprise they gave a free upgrade to the hotel where we collect the key

    Very convenient, just opposite the train station

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    3 minutes from Luzern station. very convenient to take train or bus, everything is nearby. room was very small, and no AC inside the room. only location was good. We understand this hotel is very very old and there are limitation installing the AC on the building, but it doesn't mean that you cant renovate with people's need and keep building with old standards, we are in 21st Century now.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok except the hotel and sister hotel are in the renovation process when we stay. So for those who stayed at Alpina may not have the reception so you must go to the Monopol for check in-out.

    The hotel is close to the main station. comfortable and large room. Breakfast and the waitress were great and helpful. Even we ask for the kettle, they gave us one is like a brandnew. We guess they just bought it for us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Registration and breakfast at four-star Monopol hotel 1/2 block away...but internal connection existed somewhere if you wanted to beat the rain.

    Fine room...Monopol staff exceptionally good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That whole arrangement that there was no reception at this hotel but you had to go to Hotel Monopol to check in and breakfast was unacceptable. This should be clearly made known on the website Cold or should I say no welcome. No staff on site. Strange people hanging outside and entering building with no entrance card but following you in. Poor room quality as no door to bathroom.

    That whole arrangement that there was no reception at this hotel but you had to go to Hotel Monopol was unacceptable. This should be clearly made known on the website.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no one at the hotel we had to walk to the other hotel to handle our check ins. Bathrooms and showers were too small. Wouldn't go there again. No value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can definitely NOT recommend the Alpina over the weekend for people who are not here for party. Reason is that there is a club on the bottom floor of the house (does not belong to the hotel) from which the music and especially the base is loud even on 3rd floor due to the old house. I was given a more quiet room in the sister hotel "Monopol" during the night, which was quite nice and is recommendable.

    Very helpful staff, especially at night. Just across the street from central station, nice area around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad sound insulation - noise from next door room + rooms' doors just facing the lift door so hear noise when people are coming and leaving their rooms.

    Good location, very clean, professional reception staff, easy check in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing was the extremely close proximity to about 3 bars and a restaurant and it was very very noisy at night until well into the early hours with shouting, screaming and noisy vehicles and motor bikes. The only peaceful night was the Sunday when the bars were closed - bliss.

    Delicious inclusive breakfast at the Monopol hotel. Very comfy beds. Very convenient for sightseeing and transport links.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant smell of cigarette smoke when ever opened room Door also room way too warm despite turning heaters down

    Great location staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room in hotel Alpina was changed to Monopol Hotel, ….and the hotel took money from my card twice...., and did not apologize, nor in e-mails or personally It was said - we canceled the second transaction, and if you have not received the money, it's your problem with your bank. Moreover, the hotel took deposit, what was not mentioned in the conditions of the reservation. So, be careful, booking.com does not provide all the information about conditions. Room is large, comfortable, but with poorly cleaned bathroom, hair on the floor, and the carpet was dirty

    Good location Room is large, comfortable,

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: