Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alpina

Zentrum, 3825 Mürren, Switzerland

#6 of 15 hotels in Mürren

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 856 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Excellent place to stay in beautiful Laterbrunnen Valley. Fantastic views from the rooms (facing the mountains). Great restaurant, excellent breakfast. Nice, helpful staff. Very good location for a trip to Schilthorn. Many trails nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our room with a balcony overlooking the alps! The hotel is a five minute walk from the train station. Very gracious staff! Delicious breakfast! We loved our family room which was actually two rooms across from each other but very private. Nice set up for families. Hiking was great. Town was quiet since no cars are there. Wish I could go back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike....Perhaps fruit for breakfast to accompany yogurt would be a good idea.

    Stunning location with terraced area overlooking the mountains. Excellent staff. Comfy beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is great with spectacular view. the staff are nice and very helpful. the breakfast is very good. the room is spacious as well as the bath room. The hotel is clean, safe, tidy and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot and stuffy and the blinds are see through so the light would come in very early in the morning and wake you up.

    The staff were very helpful, Roger even came to meet us at the station and walked us to the hotel at midnight. Which I think was extremely thoughtful and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That I had to leave!

    I liked the location, the price, and the view the best. The location was central, the price very affordable, and the view spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not change a thing about this property.

    We loved everything about the the property. The proprietors couldn’t be more welcoming and helpful. As we were only in Murren for 1 day, the staff helped us plan our day to make the most of our time in Murren. Our accommodations were perfect. We were traveling with our 2 teenage daughters and prior to our stay, thought I booked one room but ended up with 2 adjoining rooms with a terrace running the length of both rooms....overlooking the alps...so breathtaking! Breakfast buffet was fabulous. As our teenage daughters slept thru breakfast, the staff encouraged us to bring them food to go. Sad to leave.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just be aware there two types of rooms with balconies, view and street side. The mattresses were firm if this is a deal breaker for you. I want to emphasize that we enjoyed our stay!

    The hotel is a family business and the owners care about your visit. The mountain view balcony was terrific when the sky was clear or without low hanging clouds. The village was a delight, small and quiet, especially in early June. The breakfast was great as compared to a typical US ‘continental’ breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t see any deer! I thought we would see atleast 1. 🙁

    Breakfast was simple and delicious. The views were breath taking. It was an easy location to get around the entire mountain. Great for avid hikers or a leisure stroll.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is excellent! The staffs are very nice. The hotel close to the train station. The view from the room is so beautiful. The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near Mürren station. Pleasant staff, clean rooms. Rooms are a little cramped. Restaurant is average but you’re not in Mürren for the food!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We lived our stay at the Hotel Alpina. The view from our room was amazing and the staff was so helpful. We really loved the breakfast buffet (I’ve never been to a place where I could boil my own egg, so it was fresh and just how I liked it). The location was great and it wasn’t very far from the Gondola station so we didn’t have to lug the bags far. The town was so clean and I’ve never seen so many flowers. We took advantage of all the hiking trails. The prices at the restaurant were about the same as everywhere else, expensive, but the food was amazing. Everything that we had was delicious, and we even had the cheese fondue twice. We definitely had a great stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls everywhere in Europe thinner than the US, here no exception. But overall fine. Also I couldn't get the shower to have hot water so note that the shower handle must be swung fairly hard to the left. Spent two days without a shower! But my fault for not asking how to work it sooner. Ask any questions early; they're very accomodating.

    Great mountain view, bed very comfortable, wifi good, great location, would recommend for anyone looking to visit the Schilthorn or stay in the region. Staff very friendly. Highly recommend would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cars allowed up to the village, you can either take cables or trains up to the mountains.

    The "Grand" amazing view of Jungfrau mountain range over across the valley down under from the balcony of the hotel!! Great choice of breakfast (with nil extra charge) Beautiful little neighborhood/village upon Murren Comfortable and spacious rooms You might have a chance to excite yourself up with parachuting activities in the valley in good days or take another few cables lines up to Gimmelward or Schilthorn to enjoy more views of swiss alpine! Warm pool service (free of charge, limited time - check out from counter)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anyone who writes something negative for this hotel and staff would be lying! We will definitely be returning to this hotel...

    No complaints, staff over and above friendly and accommodating. Needed to dry clothes and laundromat was closed - they dried and folded them for free! Had to check out very early and they packed a lunch for us!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator but the owner offered help to carry one of our heavy suitcases upstairs.

    The hotel was close to the Mürren train station and the cable car. It was right on the edge of the mountain with a nice view of the valley. The amenities were good and the room was clean. The hotel owner packed lunch for us as we had to skip breakfast and check out early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of other guests banging around during the night ( this is not the hotels fault). The breakfast was ok however the same loaves of bread were used for the 5 days we were there.

    The view was fantastic, the staff were very helpful and accommodated any request and the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The covers didn't fit the bed and the beds had ledges above them which made you panic that you were going to bump your head! Not a major thing though.

    Great location in the heart of Murren with friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take care that you can only reach this village by gondola + train ;)

    Awesome view from the hotel. It's worth the extra money to get the mountain view room. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have quadruple room with mountain which actually was just 1 bedroom that had mountain view but the connecting room has street view. A bit pricey.

    Great mountain view. Location is great, 5 minutes walk from the train. Clean room. Friendly staffs. Breakfast is okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good, I think the only thing that could get improve is having more peole serving during breakfast time because they always look like rushing and if someone needs to checkout they do front desk job as well. I recomend people to checkout the nigbt before.

    The breakfast was nice and views are amazing. The bed was very comfy and warm. The rooms are also veey clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There should have been some free tea/coffee + kettle in the room. If you request, they will charge you for each teabag.

    We love the view of the mountains from the balcony of our room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really enjoyed our stay. Staffs are helpful and very friendly. The rooms are specious and the mountain view is amazing. Breakfasts are included, not too many choices but everything is fresh and delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. They made you feel at home. The view is breathtaking. The food was very good. My daughters and I especially liked the Rösti Alpina at dinner and the strawberry jam at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is not what we are accustom to. unfortunately 1/2 of our stay the fog was so thick you couldn't even see any of the views, the mountain that's RIGHT NEXT TO THE HOTEL isn't even visible (which of course there is nothing you can do about it but we were so looking forward to that view).

    great location, easy walk from train, easy location to explore. front desk staff very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have got some problem with the double-bed, because we got a different bed as booked, but it was solved finally on an acceptable level.

    We have got a dinner, what was excellent (the quantity and the quality). The location is also perfect. :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds have a footboard so you get stuck between the headboard and footboard which is not very comfortable. I am 6.1 / 186cm which is average. Interior a bit dated but that’s the charming part as well.

    Staff was outstanding, super nice and helpful. Dinner is really good with not only Swiss dishes. Kids, regardless age, are welcome. We really felt at ease, almost home like.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower temperature fluctuated.

    Great location, most of the staff were really charming. Accommodation was clean, simple, and everything we needed for our stay. I'd definitely consider going back here if I were to go to Mürren again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the bed could be a queen mattress instead of two singles put together then our stay would have been perfect.

    Friendliest hotel staff I’ve ever seen. They bent over backwards for us and made us feel at home. The included breakfast was a great way to start the day - munching on croissants overlooking the beautiful Jungfrau. We wished we could have stayed longer! Hopefully we can come back someday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was wonderful. The staff are fantastic and so welcoming they could not do enough for us. Agri, Cecilia and Maria wentout of their way to make our stay fantastic. We were a day late because of avalanche problems in Zermatt but did not penalise us and accommodated us an extra night. Just wonderful would highly recommend to stay there in Murren. Thank you Agri for all your help we really appreciated it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long day of traveling, my 3 year old and I arrived at the hotel at 3:15pm but we were ask to wait till 3:30pm to check-in.

    Big bed. Room with balcony and mountain view. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift for taking your luggage up the stairs and that is all I could fault them with.

    The location was prime, very close to the station which we loved especially as we had the grandparents with us and as Mürren is a car free resort you cannot or do not want to walk to far from the station in snow with all your luggage. The resort is nestled high up in the mountains so you are almost always guaranteed some snow if you are looking for some. The staff and management were exceptionally well prepared for all nationalities and catered for all languages. The cleanliness of the rooms were exceptional and the views from the balconies breathtaking. The portions and quality of the food were well balanced for the price. We would love to stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Frankly there was a thing that made a very negative impression which was not directly related to the hotel but had an impact. I was unfortunate to have developed a bad cold and as we arrived at the cable car station in Murren, there was no pickup service from the station and our only offer from the hotel was to 'call a taxi' which is one rusty van going back and forth on a one minute ride asking for an extortionate 20 francs!!! I think this mentality of catching the customer in need and banging them in the head is ridiculous and of questionable ethics.

    cute hotel built right at the edge of a mountain wall, with breathtaking views. The hotel is clean, pleasant and feels cosy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great. This is a cosy and relatively small hotel that perch on a mountain with incredible view from the room. It is really a good choice for the money it takes and will definitely give a great and memorable experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small it was single beds pushed together but this was only a small thing would not stop be going back there

    Location was class people were very nice but have to say I would stay there again and would recommend it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front desk plus the people in dining area were very very kind. They would go the extra step to make your stay more pleasant. Helpful peopl that will treat you like their own family.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that we're complaining, just logistics.....all the food had to be transported to Murren up a cog railway, and the prices of the food had these reflections.

    The staff were probably the most friendly that I've ever come across in a hotel, and very helpful too. Our breakfasts were awesome, for the space that they had. The beds were very comfortable, and the room was cleaned every day. The balcony, over looking the Alps, was a bonus. Such breathtaking views!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too short a stay!

    Breathtaking town of murren! The schilthorn is a must see! Hotel alpine is awesome! Fantastic! Must see, must stay there! Unbelievable views from rooms, terrace and restraunt. Fantastic staff! Great food and service!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Great Location, at the edge of the cliff - View of the mountains from the hotel restaurant - Food at the hotel - Staff is very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet could be better, a bit too old.

    The breakfast was excellent. Staff are friendly and provide useful information. Great location. Easy to find the hotel when arrived in the area. Reasonably priced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator, (but they brought up our luggage--thank goodness)

    Large breakfast, impeccable view --none can rival. get a mountain view and you'll go back like I have for many years.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Step up to small bathroom meant a fall for me with an injury to arm. Bathroom in this room very small and shower sprayed all over the room even with a shower curtain. Bathroom really needs to be repaired as the bathroom door showed previous water damage and mold.

    Beds are European...no box springs. Comfortable for me, but not if you have back problems. We had corner balcony room....BEAUTIFUL views! Well worth the extra $'s....but room is very small. Bread in morning was wonderful as was the service at front desk and dining room. They go the extra mile! Ate one evening in dining room and food was good and atmosphere great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was very good. It was an easy walk from the station with super friendly staff at reception and in the restaurant. The breakfast was delicious. Traditional Swiss. Room was small but comfortable and very clean. The view was spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer happiness is number one! They really wanted to know if we were pleased with everything and genuinely listened. We were pleased. Breakfast was excellent. Beds very comfortable. Great views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuffs were friendly but it was rather mechanic than heartfelt. This made the difference between good and excellent service.

    Amazing view from the balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the zone is care free, have to take the train & cable car to the hotel and it was sooo hard to find the instructions to get there and when we called the hotel they were not avle to dirext us properly either.and this cost about Euro24 up and down (per person)which wasn't even included in the hotel price and was not told of.

    The location was beautiful and the view was very pretty & friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No problems of any kind.

    Excellent location, a 5-to10 minute level walk from the train station or 10-to-15 level minutes from the other end of the village and its cable car up from the valley below. Rooms on one side the hotel (and the dining room) have jaw-dropping views of the Lauterbrunnen Valley far below and the Jungfrau across the way; rooms on the other side overlook the street; both sides are quiet. My "single" room actually had two single beds and thus more room than my sister's single-bed single room, enough indeed to spread out my stuff so I wasn't tripping over the suitcase at every turn. Good Wi-Fi reception in the room, good water temp and pressure in the small bathroom (no counter space for my toiletries, unfortunately), comfortable bed. But no elevator, and I was on the third floor ("second floor" in local terms). Very friendly, helpful front-counter staff -- maps, timetables, suggestions, etc. Also provided daily weather reports for those considering whether to spend the money to take the cable car up to Schilthorn. (The cable car station also has a live-feed camera from the top of Schilthorn so you can judge for yourself whether it's clear enough to warrant the cost.) Dinner in the hotel restaurant is very good and reasonably priced (for Switzerland). And of course there are other options elsewhere in the village, all within easy walking from the Alpina. Breakfast, included in the room rate, is modest but adequate - coffee or tea, breads, cheeses, some fruit, yogurt, hard- or soft-boiled eggs. But you'll find it difficult to eat at the Alpina because you'll be staring out the window at the views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some staff more welcoming than others. Room seemed a bit more dark and tired than photos on the website.

    Views from balcony (valley side), restaurant, and outside terrace were magnificent! Small fridge in room was handy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the warm friendly staff, especially Aggapina (I am sure I spelled wrong) she was helpful and very nice! Loved the breakfast and a perfect location and amazing view!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food otherwise. We dined at the restaurant for dinner and it seemed like the dishes came out of the freezer. Definitely not worth the money.

    The location and the staff was great. The balcony mountain facing rooms were awesome! The free breakfast was above average for a hotel stay- really enjoyed that piece.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The view from our window/balcony was of stetchelberg where we stayed the previous night. We were above the clouds looking st the magnificent mountains

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service was absolutely amazing! My husband and I traveled with our 1 year old and they were so helpful in guiding us what hikes to do. We also had dinner at the restaurant the views were astonishing, besides the views the food was great and they have a little section for kids to play which was so wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, comfortable beds, very clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate dinner at the restaurant and the food was delicious. Excellent breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small but well designed so there's enough storage space.

    Great location. We chose the half-pension option so had a pre-determine dinner each night. Very good. Bath tub was a plus!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing really to complain about

    I loved the property! Stuff was very friendly and helpful. Location is amazing - short walk from train station. Half of the hotel faces astonishing views of the mountains, really one of the kind. So try to request mountain views. All together, it is a great deal! Location and views are so worth it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be large will be more fine

    Good service and definitely delicious food though not much food but that's enough for my stomach...unfortunately that was a rainy day in murren ...so pity when I on the top of the mountain...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Remember to take your Swiss adapter, and only one plug socket in room.

    Location stunning, cable car to get there, so budget this cost and car parking into your visit. Views amazing. Staff very helpful. Bathroom dark and small but shower power was lovely! Food perfectly acceptable. No hesitation in recommending.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Breakfast was very crowded and manner of serving staff wasn't friendly. -The room issue. However, it's been sorted for the second night. Understand that it wouldn't guarantee any request. But, at least a closer look would be a nice touch especially, reservation that been booked ages ago for special occasion.

    -Superb location with the view to die for. Pay a bit extra for mountain view as you'll be there to admire it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Can't think of anything really that we didn't like at the Alpina.

    After a gap of many years we were able to spend a holiday at the Alpina and were delighted to see that the next generation of the Taugwalder family are carrying on the tradition of excellent service with helpful, multi-lingual staff members. The hotel has basic but very clean and comfortable facilities, no frills, but even so it has a very quiet refrigerator (empty, not a minibar) in the bedroom for guest use, TV and hairdryer. Most definitely it has the best location in Mürren with magnificent views down to the Lauterbrunnen Valley and across to the Eiger and Jungfrau. The panoramic dining room makes the most of the view and eating the great breakfasts here is a real treat. There is a good selection on offer, eg. three types of cereal, a good selection of cold meats and cheeses, yogurts, fresh fruit, bread rolls and loaves, croissants, boiled eggs, three types of fruit juice, teas, coffees, etc. The lack of light pollution in Mürren makes star gazing on clear nights a magical experience. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usual the Breakfast.

    Both Maria and Jessica made the stay more pleasant with their smile and friendly personality. I had the corner room, the balcony had part view of the mountains which is great. It is a short walk from the cable car station. Not as commercialized as Grinderwald, which is fantastic, you dont see hoards of tourists. The only time you see them is towards the afternoon going up to shcilthorn and coming back down.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but we got fitter going up 3 flights of stairs.

    The view from the room balcony was amazing and the lady in charge of the breakfast room very friendly. The wifi was efficient and location unbeatable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very simple but it is extremely clean, good showers, comfortable beds. I would stay again. Roger on the reception desk was lovely and very helpful with giving me information about the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my balcony was phenomenal. I think the mountain views at this hotel are probably the best in town. The staff here are very kind and helpful. There was a fridge in the room which came in handy. The closet/wardrobe was large. Breakfast was fine and served in a dining room overlooking the mountains. My bed was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to comment here, was very satisfied with the property.

    Staff was extremely helpful and friendly; morning breakfast was very good. Views from dining area and rooms was astounding. Very clean, rooms reasonable size. We enjoyed lunch and dinner here on several occasions and food was very good, plentiful and timely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so comfy and view was amazing! Staff were very helpful, not a huge choice for breakfast but very nice. Evening menu very tasty. loved how the windows in the bedroom open right out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't see an elevator. Also almost missed the last tram of the evening, which is the only way to get to the hotel!

    LOVED the location on the edge of a cliff! From our balcony we could see paragliders floating by, some very close! We also really enjoyed the waitresses who took it upon themselves to make my wife the perfect drink. The fact that they spoke so many languages and that they were so friendly was a real plus. A woman named Jessica from Peru was most memorable! The entire staff was very friendly. Full breakfast buffet (even with color-coded egg holders for cooking eggs) was delicious. Separate rooms for parents and kids behind a shared door was icing on the cake. Wish we could have stayed longer, but alas, they were fully booked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We always stay at the Alpina when in the Murren area. It takes a little effort to get up there, but the views are spectacular and the access to hiking is priceless.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a fan in the room? Some way to circulate air in room

    Room was amazing. Both the view and the quality of comfort were exceptional. Staff was friendly and breakfast included was a major plus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personnel was very friendly and helpful. View from the balcony towards the mountains is amazing - a room facing the mountains is highly recommended! We also ate at the hotel restaurant every day and liked the food and service very much. Hotel was easily reached from the railway station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty phenomenal location right on the face of a mountain. Great view. Very cool little town. Lots to do nearby. Reasonably easy to get to despite being a pedestrian only town. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotels is relatively old, but still clean and nice.

    Really great location with a great view if you get a room with view towards the mountains. The restaurant is also very nice and the service is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were extremely small and hotel needs a bit of an update.

    The view from the room is what made this hotel special. We stayed in a quadruple room with our 11 and 13 year old children. One room had a regular bed and the other was a sofa pullout; we were disappointed with the pullout for the money we paid for the room. It is a very basic room, no frills, comfortable and clean beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee could be better in dining room. Pillows were awful but I guess I'm spoilt at home. Little choice of English speaking programs on tv. Would be nice to have coffee making facility in the room.

    The view was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware you need to park you car ( if your driving) down at Lannenbruner take the gondola up to to a train then train to Murren. Kinda cool but a hassle if you have lots of luggage

    Scenery was fantastic. You need to get on the mountain side for that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trucks driving by early in the morning. Most rooms quieter than the one I had this trip.

    Great location. Friendly, helpful owner and staff. A great place from which to explore the beautiful area. My favourite part of the Swiss Alps.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: