Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpina Hotel 2 stars

Hauptstrasse 44, 3800 Interlaken, Switzerland

#48 of 51 hotels in Interlaken

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 155 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AWESOME STAFF and Nice Breakfast.......easy walk from train station and into town....If you have a car it is also easy to get to......The Rooms were extremely clean, Just a Great Stay to be Welcome there. The Restaurant attached was really nice to stop for a drink, great service...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is about 20 minute walk from the two railway stations. You need a bus to reach the hotel, and from hotel to city centre.

    The staff was quite helpful. Views from rooms very good. Individual balconies in some rooms. A quite place where one can just relax.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic. No fridge, limited toiletries, small shower.

    The staff were friendly. Good location and views. Free city bus pass. Liked the breakfast- good cold choices of hard boiled eggs, cereals, yoghurt, bread, rolls, chocolate croissants, lemon cake, meat, cheese, tea/coffee, juice/water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that dramatic to report that I didn't like apart from the fact the rooms upon entering had a very funny type of smell. Also their shower/toilet in the hotel room is very very small so there is no chance of you to keep your clothes in the toilet as they will get very very wet.

    The staff were AMAZING! They really accommodated well for our needs and were very helpful when it came to our requests. Especially allowing us in the garden/outdoor area up until a very very late time. Overall i would highly recommend this hotel for anyone thinking of visiting Interlaken. Everything is walking distance from Restaurants to excursions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff attitude is absolutely poor. It was heavy rain last night in interlaken ost. We forgot to take the umbrella outside. So all of the clothes got wet during the day. And we just would like to dry our clothes in the room. And the staff says we broke the rule of the hotel. She was going to charge us CHF 200 because we dry the clothes in the room. The rule was doesn't make any sense for us. I'm pretty sure the staff has check and control the customer room every morning. Is like no privacy. So, I would strongly recommend that I wouldn't living this hotel again during the holidays. Extremely poor service hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old property, extremely small bathroom, everything was pretty run down.

    Location wasn't too bad and local public transportation card was provided for free. Fair breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My son got bug bites in the room instead of helping us they told us to leave the hotel and said they would refund our money we were helpless we had to take some other hotel at sky high price as we had no choice our whole day was wasted

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small

    Room too small for double bed room allotment..no fan and bathroom is very very so small..totally this property is waste..waste of money and happy hours

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no better place than the alpine at interlaken

    The owner is a happy wonderful personality and if with God's blessings I ever get a chance to visit the place , I would just make sure that I stay at Alpine only

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy on the day we checked in looked annoyed. When we arrived the hotel, we did not see a receptionist. After looking around and calling, saying annoyingly that he was sleeping., He did not smile and when we asked the boiling water, he seemed unpleasant.

    The room is clean The restaurant is good with is nice decoration The lady- the owner I think is very friendly and kind. The transfortation is convenient. The breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ensuite was a bit small and fan was noisy.

    Ideal spot for us - we were able to walk into the city area, had a great Irish pub just down the road and a bus service close by to the train station, also a bike shop next door if you needed to hire a bike. Great view of Jungfrau.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Felt racism abused at the restaurant. An Indian couple and we were set aside while the other tables are almost empty.

    Breakfast was simple, but OK! View on the balcany was wonderful !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff was very rude, i was not treated well with a baby. For a dirty napkin i was charged 5 CHF extra where the owner came to my room and banged my door for a dirty napkin asked for 5 CHF. My whole stay was a stress in Interlaken. Breakfast was not good at all and no kettle in the room I had to go to reception to collect warm water. Owner and her son was too commanding over everything. I felt i was in a Military Camp. Always scared what next

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled like cigarette smoke because the previous people smoked on the balcony.

    Decent breakfast with friendly staff. Great location with a free bus pass for your stay. Amazing view from the top balcony if you get a double room with the private bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the walls in the room we were in were a bit outdated and needed to be cleaned. And breakfast wasn't that great.

    The hotel gave you an old downton abbey kind of feel which I love. Perfect location. The keys to open the doors were even like the old lock keys! I loved it! I'd definately come back!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is way out of town. Smells a bit musty, spotty Internet. Making the reservation thru booking.com was a nightmare. No way to contact hotel directly and when you do they do not respond.

    We had a triple Room which was great, nice staff, good rate with breakfast. If you book thru booking.com don't expect help in changing the reservation.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All... :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking from station to hotel.

    The staff were lovely. Fabulous view from room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hospitality is to be Appreciated

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strange smell in the tiny bathroom. Looks old and smells old.

    Ancien atmosphere. Nice aerea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Friendly staff. Excellent view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was too small

    The staff was kind

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly less value for money

    Helpful staff and good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    check out time is too early

    owner is friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    extremely friendly owner and extremely comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    coffee making facility would have been ideal

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the edge of town, with bus transportation close by. Very good breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds, and noisy air fan in the bathroom

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard to find the hotel/

    VERY helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old and uncomfortable bed and furniture.

    Helpful hostess and good breakfast. Parking available at all times at no extra cost. Shower and bathroom were good and clean.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    1,First of all the place was really hard to find the hotel and when we arrive no one was in the hotel, 2,we had to wait in front of door around 10minutes, after we enter she looks so angry. 3. What she told us was funny we have to pay fee when we "check in" it was first time to ask to pay because i do not know when i will leave. → i feel that i can run away without paying.... 4. The host was so rude and her atitude was really bad.... i never go there again

    Hot water~~~ Price was a little bit cheaper than others but i can see why it is cheaper

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Toilet was too small; however shower improvization needs appreciation in a 3x3 ft sq area.

    Location/breakfast was good. Staff were pleasant and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast could've been better(more varieties) definitely.

    Worth every penny. It has all the basic amenities you'd require in a hotel. Outside view from balcony was very good. Believe me - It may not seem so , but it is a walkable distance(even for a pregnant women) from Interlaken Ost Bahnof. A bus stop is nearby operating between 0700-1930 Hrs. Respectful, cheerful and Helping owner at the reception all day.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the hotel is not close to the train station. We have to take a taxi about 10 minutes for going to the hotel 12 CHF, and on the way back to the train station 16 CHF.

    Warm welcome clean and comfortable. the hotel is very nice to pack a breakfast buffet for us even we could not have at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We got the same breakfast daily with no changes only that wasn't good

    The hotel was good and the location perfect From the hotel to the bust stop is just 7-10 min walk There is self laundry service also available near the hotel which was good The staff was good and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First approach of staff was negative. I was told that I don't have any booking with them for that day. I was surprised as we travelled a long way from Berlin and it was surprised to know about booking status. They were not flexible for few minutes of checking in early. We were about 5 minutes late and the lady brought the condition paper and showed that to us about the breakfast time. We didn't feel comfortable living in this hotel. We went to the hotel at about 12 midnight after visiting places in Interlake and staff were not there. We waited outside about 10 minutes ringing the bell.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hotel confirmed with Booking.com for a twin bed room. They did not give us and said that they did not confirm. Only gave us last night after we sent complain to Booking.com

    Only the owner was nice person.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was against the wall on one side which meant that it was difficult to get in and out of. We had to climb over each other!

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Also having a balcony was good.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was small and cramped and smelled weird. Exhaust fan was also disturbingly loud but was still usable.

    Space of the room and view out the windows

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was currently renovated - a bath and a toilet were installed and the smell from construction materials was terrible, but the stuff did not reacted and refused to change the room. The windows were closed and the toilet door was open everyday instead (for ventilation i guess). The breakfast was poor as well. В отеле идет ремонт, нашу комнату видимо отремонтировали совсем недавно - установили туалет и ванну, из-за чего в комнате постоянно неприятно пахло строительным запахом (клеем может быть). Работники отеля отказались поменять комнату, кроме того каждый день во время уборки закрывали окна и открывали дверь в уталете для проветривания. Завтрак совершенно не вкусный.

    Near the bus stop, free public transport ticket for hotel guests, stuff speak English Рядом остановка автобуса, отель предоставляет бесплатный проездной на транспорт, работники говорят на английском.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. They spoke English and didn't seem annoyed that we couldn't speak German. The hotel was super cute and a little off the beaten path so it took awhile to walk to either train station but the quality of the experience was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is good and quite vintage.Well I like it!

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    n/a

    Good Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    "Bathroom". Bad value for money

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good staff members

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was excellent and the service was excellent. I strongly recommend this hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower is not good.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The receptionist was very cooperative and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bathroom is too small. Very basic.

    Good staff. Provided useful and correct information. Packed our breakfast since we left early in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very helpful and the view off of our balcony was beautiful :)

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room service was horrible....

    Near to bus'stop... 5 mins to Interlaken West by bus...

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was a very small hotel with very tight rooms

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    not much

    Breakfast was looking good and delcious too. Specially, pink Rose was impressed k.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing is good about this hotel. It is a very basic hotel with high pricing.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    too small bathroom;

    free parking lot;

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    None

    nice staff and great location.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room size

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Every things

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Family with young children

    Staff courtesy

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff very nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In our room the beds were not comfortable and there was a strange smell.

    Good location, bus cards, free WiFi, friendly staff.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: