Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel & Solbad Altein 3 stars

Alteinstrasse, 7050 Arosa, Switzerland

#47 of 65 hotels in Arosa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 282 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on Monday was not as good as Sunday - no porridge, scrambled eggs or zopf. Shutting the sauna and steamroom at 7 felt a bit early.

    Room was sufficient, pool and sauna was nice. The shared bathroom was between about 3 rooms (not the whole corridor as some reviews imply - looking at the fire map you can see that most rooms have an en-suite). Free welcome drink on the Sunday night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms/furniture VERY outdated, the place definitely needs to be renovated. While the staff at reception was very friendly this cannot be said about the staff at breakfast.

    Rooms are spottless clean so that one feels comfortable. Good location with a great view. Friendly staff at reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was an adventure trip back to the 70ies.... old rooms, outdated furniture and decor; reception staff asked if we needed a ski-room only to tell us that it was closed; at breakfast we had to share a table (!) with another couple in an otherwise empty restaurant; breakfast buffet with only canned fruits; no waiters around to clear empty plates; overall way too expensive for what they offer

    location and cleanliness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Views were absolutely amazing. Location was great for getting to other places in the town especially with the free bus that ran from just down the street from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disorganised and I was really made to feel like a second class guest - pushed to a little room at the back of the dining room at first, and then on the last morning I was not even given a table. The waiters were very rude - I don’t know if it was because I was travelling alone, or because I was not on the package trip with meals included but the treatment was rather odd and uncomfortable. Although it is spotless the decor of the hotel is very old and dated, and feels a bit like a hospital.

    The room was spotlessly clean, views were amazing, and the pool/spa was really great although it would have been nice if it was open later in the evening. Choice of food at breakfast was also great, as was the proximity to the town centre and the ski lifts and train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms extremely hot, heating should be regulated. Furniture and corridors are worn out, renovation much in need. Staff could be more friendly. Breakfast ok, nothing to remember. Check out at 10 am is way too early.

    Great location for a wonderful white Christmas. Staff is courteous. Very nice apero. Very enjoyable spa and pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift is very slow and you have to open the doors quickly when it arrives or it disappears without you and you have to wait again.... the doors needing to be opened manually also means it is difficult to manage luggage in and out of the lift. The lift problem would never stop me from returning to the hotel, but it is good to know about it before you waste time waiting for it and having it go past you because you didn't open the door in time. There was no toaster. I have never seen a hotel with so much bread and no toaster. This really spoiled the breakfast for me and could have an impact on whether I return or not.

    The staff were very accommodating and the hotel has a nice cosy feel, if a little in need of renovations. The Library (complete with grand piano) was lovely, and the spa area was good: quite varied.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing was in English so I had to keep asking what things were. everything was very expensive and no tea and coffee in the room.

    the staff were great. the manager was nice and friendly had a good sense of humour. I had a room on the top floor and felt safe alone

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old and the price for this was just incredibly much.

    The view from the balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are outdated. The rooms are expensive. The food was not good

    The hotel is clean and basic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice Swimming pool /SPA

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the rooms needs some modernization

    The jacuzzi, pool and sauna

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing bad I can say

    the pool and that it's simple. Very nice breakfast. Family-friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Extra costs for example drinks at dinner, car parking

    Helpful personnel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like staying in an old hospital, decor was very old.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    all was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The decor is a bit 1950s. The shower was not very powerful if you had any form of hot water in it. Not a great problem as the showers in the wellness centre were fine.

    Excellent wellness centre. Wide ranging breakfast buffet. We were three of us on a skiing trip and the room was a decent size. Great view from the balcony and within walking distance of the lift.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The reception staff which checked us in was incredibly arrogant and unhelpful when answering our questions, was unable to inform us about ski depot facilities next to the slopes, and unwilling to inform us about wellness facilities, stating that "this is the reception" (even though there was nobody else waiting for services). Other staff was nice, but this was a bad first impression for us. Hotel facilities compare to a youth hostel from the 60's. Rooms without TV, outdated, over-used furniture and musty bathrooms. The only item replaced over the last 50 years are the toilet flushers. On a normal evening the thermal bath is incredibly crowded. Forget the view you see on the pictures. To top it all up: the food's taste (and origins) in the panorama restaurant had been questionable at best.

    The hotel is at a 5 minute walking distance from the train station.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is rather a youth hostel than a hotel. Renovation of the hotel is necesary. They prescribe at which breakfast table one has to sit. Eggs for the breakfast are from the Netherlands. Restrooms are outside of the rooms. For all this, I paid more than CHF 200. I will never come back.

    bed was ok.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Coffee was bitter and the hot milk from the machine is not that tasty (hot water with milk pouder)

    Great for a group of friends. Spa, pool tables, bar, and more inside the hotel... Great buffet in the morning

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I can imagine in the winter it would be much more enjoyable to have a bath rather than a shower but sadly the room only had a shower.

    Fantastic location near the station and lakes and really friendly and helpful staff. I also particularly liked the retro feel to the hotel which made it different to a generic hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    WOW great views, great staff, especially the young lady at the front desk. Great pool and relaxation area. Facilities excellent. Wanted to stay longer but next hotel would not let us out of our booking.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms are not modern, but they are very clean and have great views

    The personel is very friendly. The hotel director welcomed us personally. perfect location,fantastic view from rooms, great infrastructure: saltwater pool, inside and outside pools, spa, minigolf, tennis cort. The food was excellent.We'll definitely come back

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff in dining area wasn't friendly. They asked why we did not select the meal for dinner during breakfast. Simply they did not provide a pen, so how should we pick it Food quality of dinner was below expections for a 3 star hotel

    Solbad is great and well maintained Breakfast offer

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - minimal services for the price - mediocre breakfast - very small beds - old&cheap interior

    - friendly staff - convenient location - spa included

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No boot dryers in ski room. Staff are more formal than friendly. The reception strictly does not open until 8am they will keep you waiting until then.

    So one hotel guest said to me that this hotel was originally an asylum and you'd have to be crazy to stay here again but I think that you'd be crazy NOT to stay here. The reason it is not a 5 star and a 3 star is that the large bedrooms have been kept with their original style of furnishings instead of the usual boutique overpriced room furnishings in other hotels. I stayed in room 405 on the end of the 4th floor with large bay windows with 5 radiators underneath them perfect for drying ski clothing. My room was a double with no TV but strong WIFI. Enough wardrobe space with the safe that stores my 10 inch PC and iPad mini perfectly any bigger eg 13 inch would be too big for the safe. The bathroom was fine but I used the spa one more. Some rooms are room only with shared shower and toilet per floor and those are sold cheaper than the non TV room I had. The rooms with TV and bathrooms cost more than mine. As long as you understand what room you are paying for then you will not be disappointed but if you book via a third party website they may not describe the room contents properly. The breakfast was very good with porridge salted cooked to perfection, excellent scrambled eggs, boiled eggs that you cook yourself but you must write your name on the egg with the black marker pen otherwise someone else may take it. You put the egg in a metal egg holder and dip in in the boiling water tank. Plenty of yoghurts, bread varieties, jams, cheeses etc. a massive room for breakfast/dinner with 14 pillars supporting it my table was 4 pillars down from the middle otherwise I'd get lost! I did not have half board so cannot comment on that. I saw there was a choice of two meals. So onto the spa facilities the indoor salt water swimming pool was a long pool maybe 20 or 25 metres long and was an absolute pleasure to swim in soothing an aches away in the salted water.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was extremely narrow and short. Basically I couldnt sleep at all. Dinner was not tasty, better eat in the restaurants nearby

    Location, you can walk to the ski resort or take a free bus next to Hotel Good breakfast Good Spa

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Outdated deco of the room and bathroom

    - Receptionist spoke fluent English - Easy to check in and check out - Beautiful view - Very nice swimming pool with Jacuzzi, underwater seats, etc - free for the hotel guests - Sauna & fitness room – also free for the hotel guests - Delicious breakfast, very good selection of cold meat, cheese, fruits, bread, etc - Free parking - Very good location, easy to find

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Just a small point that our small dog wasn't allowed into the breakfast room.

    The swimming pool was better than expected, very warm with a lazy river & many different features. The use of the saunas by the pool was great.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No television in room, but made up for by free wifi which is good enough watching on a tablet.

    Good wellness and health facilities. Just 5 minutes walk from the cable car and to free bus travel.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The green and Seersucker material for the bed linen must go, it is well out out date and unpleasant to sleep on. The pillows need to be thicker ask well. TV on the room are now are must, not a common TV room which you would find in Bultins. I did not miss the TV but it help to be able to see the weather and news etc. An update of the common TV, games and may be the bar would help

    The location of the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. For the cost of the dinner, it was creative, well prepared and presented to highlight the disk of the day. There was not shortage for variety and quality for breakfast. Interesting pool and sauna area. The hotel is very clean and well presented

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bathrooms are tiny Beds are small too, people with 1.80 and more won't fit Staff is not very attentive or well informed about anything in town. Some do not speak English or German. The whole hotel has more the charm of a hostel or retirement home. Wifi is very slow The elevator is danger for smaller kids

    Breakfast was okay

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No TV in room Shower was tiny

    Spa was excellent, especially lazy river- we all loved it. Entertainment room was very good - we played video games, ping pong. There isn't much to do in Arosa at night s this was very good.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms and beds were old.

    Location and friendly persons

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Great location, friendly staff and brill facilities. Loved the sauna and pool.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff is extremely helpful and polite. Solbad facility is very comfortable and clean

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Distance from ski slopes

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - staff (unfriendly) - Bad service - waiting for a requested bed took hours - no knowledge about local events

    - breakfast - location

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Hotel & Solbad Altein traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: