Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern 3 stars

Kornmarkt, 6004 Luzern, Switzerland

#49 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 381 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Location and the unique styling of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/bath water was very dirty. As if the pipes had rust in them. Hot water took over 2 minutes to come through and was then hot/cold shower.

    Location and the unique styling of the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    it was 2 sleepless nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as mentioned above

    Location is the only good thing but it was noisy because of the bell from Church or some where are ringing every half an hour and we could not sleep at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    It was centrally located in the old city, very spacious room...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was afraid to fall to get out of shower in high bathtub, no grab bar available.

    It was centrally located in the old city, very spacious room with hot tub.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location. Room below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Room decor was too wired. Would have preferred to have stayed in the hotel that I had to check in at. Noise from ally that was out our window was very noisy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    A delight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like - except would have liked another day or two.

    Really lovely and friendly staff. A lovely little hotel in a delightful part of the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    The location of the hotel is top notch but hotel lighting dim & not the most convenient check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting of the hotel felt dim and was unpleasant, hopefully they could adjust this. Not much staff were encountered since the "reception area" was not in the building of the hotel rooms itself but located in another building.

    We really liked the location of the place as it was near the places that we wanted to go. The room was also comfortable and very suitable for partners travelling together and on vacation. The facilities were also just enough for the usual needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to check in and check out at another hotel reception

    Local is in the middle of old town, the shower or very good and the space is good. There is elevator.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    I will be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to ckeck in, because the counter is seperated to other building, if u could fix it,u will get 10 from my comment

    Nice view Good location Good service Nice room and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Cool themed rooms to the last details (stayed at pirate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was in another building. Pirate room was cool, but didn't find bed that comfy. Hotel close to the beautiful clock tower, that says ding dong every hour or so.

    Cool themed rooms to the last details (stayed at pirate room)! Close to all attractions in Lucerne. Clean room. Free baggage storage after check out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Truly magical! Great location in such a pretty town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The little elevator was difficult to fit luggage in and the power points were located in odd places making it difficult to charge everything.

    The location was sensational and the size of the room was a pleasant surprise! Much larger than standard old town hotels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice room in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was going to leave our luggage but it was at another hotel which didn’t seem very secure as the luggage was going to be left in the lobby next to the lift. Decided not to do this and just headed to the train.

    Large comfortable room in a very good location by the river. Easy walk to the train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    2.9
    Worse experience in swiss
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good. No prior information on the check in which was at another hotel. Room had sculptures as decor harboured dust. Bathtub wasn’t draining well. There was no power point near bed.. the one available wasn’t functioning well.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of the bell ringing late at night. But it does not bother you know you are asleep.

    Excellent location. Beautiful surroundings. Theme rooms are amazing. Very spacious room and bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    A great place to say in central Luzern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was okay. It was pricey for us, coming from New Zealand, but reasonable by Luzern standards. We were surprised at people's negative comments and apparent lack of awareness about parking and check-in as these were explained in information about the hotel. Ditto noise of restaurants. Do your homework and check the location on Google Maps - it is right in the middle of a tourist area.

    We liked the quirky decor - we had the Egyptian room at the top of the building, looking out into Kornmarkt. It was a good size, very clean and comfortable. The tea/coffee machine was a bonus. The hotel's location is ideal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Noisy but nice hotel in Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You state that the hotel is situated on "the quiet Kornmarkt Square". No way is that quiet. The noise from the bars next door carries up to the room until the early hours and then you are woken at about 6am with adjoining markets being set up, lorries delivering, tables and chairs scraping on the cobbles below! Very noisy location. In winter, when windows are closed it is probably OK but it was hot and we had to have windows open. Alternative is to shut them and use fan (no air con). We tried both - the fan is noisy too, so take your pick!

    The hotel had really nice, individually designed rooms. Geographical location is wonderful with lots of restaurants and nice shops nearby including in the immediate squares.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    3.8
    Stay away from this hotel. Find a better place!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was really a poor place. Location was difficult to reach. No parking place except expensive valid parking from the nearby krone hotel. Rooms were hot. When you open the Windows you smell the ventilation of the nearby restaurant kitchen. For sure not the room you expect for the money you pay. Worse place ever.

    It is located in the old city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    The staff went an extra mile to help me pay my parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish the hotel was closer to the lake and a train station. Walking to the lake was downhill and enjoyable, but going back is exhausting (They can't do anything about it....I know!)

    The staff went an extra mile to help me pay my parking ticket. The trend of doing that was noted in more than one member of staff (Hats off to all of them). The area is pleasantly quiet at night, with romantic view of the lake (Although it is actually far away from the hotel). The overall experience was good. Parking is opposite to the property with security gate. It feels safe!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Love Switzerland and the mountains and lakes and scenery!!! Will be back!!! + chocolate!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Switzerland is 100% beautiful and gorgeous with the Alps, of course, but this is an expensive country where everything costs much more. If you have a car with this hotel you will need to park a few minutes walk away which can be a nuisance with bags but you will need the exercise after eating the delicious Swizz Chocolate!!!!

    Friendly staff. Great location. Great view out the window to a plaza or square by an old church. Great location with restaurants, shopping for the women, seconds walking from the historic Chapel Bridge. You are in the middle of the old city with this hotel so that is really cool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    3.8
    Good location for seeing Lucene
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I certainly would not stay there again and would recommend anyone considering it to look elsewhere. It is hard to find, impossible to drive to despite what the website says (tryst me, completely pedestrianised. Driving there would mean mowing down several hundred tourists). Once you find the place, there is no reception desk. Just a note directing you to a partner hotel to check in. The hotel is located over one if the busiest restaurants in Europe, with the noisiest staff and zero sound proofing. The shower is actually a bath with a 1970s style tap attachment, with no holder or shower door or curtain. And finally when we went to check out (at the hotel across the square again) the price had almost doubled. Seriously. I'm now working extra shifts to pay for it. So, very disappointed and my advice is, honestly, stay somewhere a little out of the city centre. Or go to Geneva.

    Good location for seeing Lucene

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location, unusual decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better information upon booking on checking in at another hotel close by.

    We stayed in the Arabian Nights themed room, with large figurines, coloured glass lighting, prints. Different, but it did add to the holiday. Small hotel, good sized room, bathroom could do with some freshening, but clean and OK. Check-in was at another, the Krone Hotel, two blocks away, not a problem, but could have been clearer at booking confirmation and Hotel Magic could have had clearer signage as to entrance. Good location in the city’s old town, adjoining Kornmarkt Square, close to Chapel Bridge, riverfront cafes and the quaint little streets and buildings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.3
    Coffee machine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel blocked money on my acount half a year ahead. It was very stuffy room, the window overlooks a courtyard, there were no air conditioning, dirty jacuzzi, mosquitoes. Reception and breakfast are in another hotel.

    Coffee machine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the room was opposite the biggest clock tower in town...24 hr strikes....It was above 2 or 3 restaurants. Those Restaurants start their restocking processes from about 5am and then on market day (Tuesday) the stall holders parked outside and started unloading and building.

    Comfy bed, nice breakfast, close to city life and sight seeing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air con - in early summer it was a bit stuffy at night, we had to leave windows open, which meant we heard bells chiming randomly in the early hours of the morning.

    The location in the middle of the old town square was great, very easy to explore the city. A slight downside was the clock tower directly across from the room, if you like Swiss bells ringing regularly you will enjoy this room unless you'd rather sleep in. The Pirate themed room was interesting, but I'm more interested in how comfortable everything is. The bed was fine, feather pillows a nice touch, shower worked well. Coffee maker a nice bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    Location (y) !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning had to check-in from another hotel called hotel krone. (This information was not provided earlier). Hotel krone was not very far but could be a little tiring if u are alone and have luggage.

    The best location u can stay in Lucerne the room was fabulous. We got us a 'king suite' which was beautifully done and cherry on the cake was a Jacuzzi inside the room!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.3
    This hotel is located within a block from the lake/river...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was probably designed for honeymooners, as it had a two-person tub with jets right in the room. Unfortunately, the tub seems to leak water on the floor.

    This hotel is located within a block from the lake/river area (in the central down-town area). While convenient, the noise at night was horrible (drunk people celebrating all night long). Also, it is bit odd, as you are not actually at the hotel, but about a block away in a building that you access with a magnetic key. Breakfast was at the main hotel, where they had a good selection of breakfast items.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    No Check In Desk ! Have To Go A Different Street Check In At Different Hotel And Return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So this hotel has no check in desk! no notice in the booking or from the hotel, I have to carry my huge luggage walk on the stone road to a different street and different hotel for check in, hotel also has no elevator, really surprise how inconvenient they design for the customer, wont stay here again!

    So this hotel has no check in desk! no notice in the booking or from the hotel, I have to carry my huge luggage walk on the stone road to a different street and different hotel for check in, hotel also has no elevator, really surprise how inconvenient they design for the customer, wont stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.3
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They do not say that the check in is in the different hotel. Parking is very expensive. The cleaning lady did not do a good job. Very thin wall, we heard someone in next room taking a bath every morning.

    A nice surprise was free public transport ticket valid for a duration of our stay. Breakfast was good but simple, same cheeses and hams,... The location was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    WOW! STAY HERE!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower couldn't fit 2

    We were so lucky to get the Honeymoon suite! Wow!!! Best hotel I've EVER stayed at! 3 time more than what we needed. View was unreal as well as the suit! Wished we had stayed longer!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice design hotel right in the heart of Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can get a bit noisy in the evening (nearby restaurants) and in the morning (delivery trucks). Not a big deal, but the reception is located in the Hotel Krone, 2 mins walk.

    Nice design hotel with all rooms having a different theme. Good location for city walks, right in the middle of the old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Perfectly located, beautiful hotel, friendly staff. Definitely would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My overall experience was considerably the best hotel experience I have ever had. I stayed with my girlfriend in March 2017 and was upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite without any charge. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. The hotel is perfectly located on the water and in the heart of Lucerne. Close to restaurants, iconic locations, shops, and the train station. Our hotel room was a huge 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom (with a hot tub and shower) with kitchen and a balcony overlooking iconic views of Lucerne.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.3
    Very interesting concept of the hotel: each room has it is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception and restraunt where the breakfast took place is in another building (not far away, but you need to get clothed in winter to get there). The windows of my room woth the name Aladin was straight in front of old tower with clocks: it is very beautful, but the clock bangs every 15 minutes and every hour they make it loud and at night too... So not good place for sleeping: in addition to the clock Carnival has started at 5 AM...

    Very interesting concept of the hotel: each room has it is own name and the design according to the name. The hotel is in the very heart of Luzern: few minutes by foots to everywhere. The Carnival has started right under the hotel windows.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture could have been better in design and quality. Hotel entrance very small and has no lobby. There could have been better selections at the breakfast.

    Location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    Friendly staff, exquisite room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in/out is done at Hotel Krone which is a 2-3mins walk away. A non-issue for me but for others this might be something to consider

    Friendly staff. Room was spacious. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.5
    the location is great, in the old town and very close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisy area, including during the night.

    the location is great, in the old town and very close to the train station. the breakfast was good and the room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.1
    Great location, but if you seek a good view this is not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - amenities could be increased for the price. - extra 20 CHF even if child shared the existing bed. - insects around. Pest control can be improved. - some problems with the main entrance door. The key sometimes doesnot work. - there is no reception at the Magic hotel. Breakfast, checkin and checkout should be done at the Krone hotel.

    - great location. Close to the Lucerne Bhanhof, right on the shopping street, very close to Chapel bridge. - room decoration was nice. - room was warm and comfortable. - breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    5.0
    We stayed in this hotel for 2 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. There were cockroaches in the room! They would come in at night and we observed it on 2nd day! Horrible! Wish we had seen it sooner to complain the staff. 2. The staff at the breakfast area were rude. Did not appreciate that.

    We stayed in this hotel for 2 days. Best thing in this hotel was the location. Deco looked a lil old. But room was quite big.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    5.0
    Short stay in hotel Magic
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was terrible and there was no control in the room. Made the experience very unpleasant.

    Conveniently located and near the major attractions. Clean room and good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.5
    Location is good , room is clean though not so spacious ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front door key sensor did not work well, tried a lot of times , had to have luck to make it open !

    Location is good , room is clean though not so spacious ; breakfast is a plus with various choices !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.1
    Lovely location, basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy Saturday night/morning, above a night club Extremely hot, couldn't turn down the heating Shame that there was no view from our room.

    Free breakfast was excellent Lovely location in the Old town

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    6.3
    Wifi issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were hot and stuffy but if you opened a window you got all the noise from the square along with the smell of cigarette smoke. A fan was provided in the cupboard which we used but it was still quite hot. The wifi did not work for a day and a half which was not ideal for a stay of 2 nights.

    Room was big & great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location, good size rooms, comfortable bed, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy- the tower bells ring every hour, the walkway echoes loudly. You can muffle the sound of the bells if you close the windows but then the rooms become to hot. Really needs a fan in the room. Not enough power points. The only power points available are being used by lighting for room and appliances.

    Great location, good size rooms, comfortable bed, friendly staff and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.7
    Nice staff, but mind-bending kitschy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many things were off: drapes were quite obviously very dirty at the bottom hem, the bubble jets in the tub did not work, the table on which the coffee machine sat was not stable and wobbled. The minibar was missing several key items. The soaps supplied were of a dormitory variety. The square over which the room looked was very noisy until 3 o'clock with wedding crowds and drinking and hooting tourists. For this reason, it was impossible to have the windows open. The wall mural around the tub was in bad shape and worn out in certain spots. The mural was also not in any way related to the theme of the room and disturbed the decoration harmony of the room. There was a ghastly iguana brass statue, tossed in near the tub to further freak out guests. In sum, this room and its amenities were not worth 290 per night. Beyond kitsch. The massive bell tower in the adjacent municipal building rang annoyingly loud at the quarter hour, half hour and on the hour. Cigarette smoke would come up from the bar below if the windows were open. One just had to have a glass of wine and try to think of something else. I do not recommend the King Room, overall.

    The best thing about this hotel was the excellent reception staff at the Krone hotel where check-in/check-out is done. The room was large and it had a marvelous tub big enough for two. Plenty of hot water. The hotel's location was only minutes away from the best shopping, the riverside walks and the covered bridges.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    3.3
    The worst hotel I'v been to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not coop, there was no parking so we had to pay an extra valet parking fees of CHF 27 per day, no porters available to carry your luggage upon check-in/out, the area was so noisy especially early morning (from 6am) which hinders your sleep as the window should be open (no AC), spiders are everywhere... I don't recommend it at all.

    The location as it is at the center of Luzern city, the room unique decoration and furniture.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Quirky hotel with good character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better instructions prior to check in about having to check in at a different location, we wouldn't have had to move our bags so much! The bed in the 'Pirate' room was fun but creaked a lot which kept us awake when one another moved.

    Great room, really good size so lots of space. The wifi was good too. Great location in the old city and nice breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    6.7
    Lucerne - Lovely city but so expensive and a very noisy hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise - no A/C meant we needed to have the window open but late night noise from tourists and then early each morning very noisy service vehicles emptying bins, setting up market stalls etc. meant we had 4 sleepless nights in one of the most expensive cities we have ever visited.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.1
    Unmanned hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website could make it clearer that you had to check in at a different hotel. We got quite wet walking backwards and forwards in the rain.Got woken up early because of deliveries to the market.

    Jacuzzi bath, nothing else as hotel was unmanned and you had to check in at a different hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    5.4
    Uncomfortable very.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room too small to accommodate guests from two hotels. On entering our room it was impressive it looked like a wonderful l theatre set but this didn't allow for comfort, the only way to view the television was from the bed, but these was no headboard . The only place to sit was a very uncomfortable sofa in a dark alcove, even with every light on in the room it was still too dark to read. The mattress was so hard we hardly slept were so relieved to go home to comfort. Maybe the very young would have survived but if you are older with arthritis and bad backs we do not recommend . Will not be staying there again.

    Breakfast was excellent very good choice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    5.8
    Unique hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were unable to help with problems in room.Very noisy at night time so don't stay there unless you are someone who likes to be up all night.

    Interesting decorations.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    5.4
    Pirate boat bed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like a themed room! The pirate boat bed was not comfortable & no side tables. No kettle facilities. Had to go to hotel around the corner to check in & also breakfast but this was no problem

    Location was good, the buffet breakfast with plenty choice was good. The view from the window was nice, the big clock tower was right there but not loud!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Well located in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located in the old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great location in the old town area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in the old town area. Loved it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Very beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful setting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Magic-Pirate room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, the room decoration is fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there was sometimes foul smell coming from one of the rooms

    The location and the fact that the room was spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that breakfast and check in was in a different building.

    Such a great location with beauty out of every window!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    very well located - very original bit kitchy decor, but nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very well located - very original bit kitchy decor, but nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    It was as nice as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit too try in the room. Need to check in at another place, even it is closeby.

    Like the location particularly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Lotus room overlooking plaza was cool, but needed ear plugs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Provide ear plugs

    Lotus room overlooking plaza was cool, but needed ear plugs because clock chimed all night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed. Nice design for the room. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    The unique style of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The unique style of the rooms. Fantastic. I recommend to ask for the boat room. A themed surprise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.2
    The most bad hotel used in my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most bad hotel used in my life

    The most bad hotel used in my life

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    very good breakfast and nearby a supermarket
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good breakfast and nearby a supermarket

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Good location, friendly staff, modern room and good wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, friendly staff, modern room and good wifi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is far.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    Great location and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.4
    Won't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot. Bathroom really tiny. Shower broken. No views other than rear rooftops.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    The bed is comfortable and the room is big
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be quite hot in sunny days

    The bed is comfortable and the room is big Location is very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Expensive hotel for the facilities provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room, really difficult in such hot weather.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    We got the honeymoon suit, with its own balcony, overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult to get their with your own car.

    We got the honeymoon suit, with its own balcony, overlooking Kapellbrücke.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    The pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower curtain in our room. Broken fan.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    The property was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in a great location. Clean, safe area. We stayed in the king sweet very spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.5
    That was fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main door was little bit tricky n difficult to unlock.

    Room location was lovely n breakfast was so yummy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is in another hotel. Poor sound proofing.

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: