Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel AM Schloss 3 stars

Bernstrasse 1, 3600 Thun, Switzerland

#24 of 25 hotels in Thun

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 296 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room looked like it was last renovated in the 1960’s. There was no air conditioning so it was extremely hot in the room. The pillows were flat and uncomfortable and the only covers we had were big thick comforters even though it felt like +30 degrees Celsius in the room. Opened the window but the traffic noise from the street below made it hard to sleep.

    The continental breakfast was fine, with a good variety of breads, cheeses, cold cuts with some fruits and yoghurt. The front desk staff was very nice. Close to a bus line to take us to train station (or 15-minute walk).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Not good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My flight was delayed, and when I could finally get to the hotel, the person in charge was asleep and I had to wait more than 30 minutes outside knocking on the windows and calling to the hotel phone, until he finally woke up. Also, there was a very strange insect in my pillow. It looked like a tick, but I'm not completely sure.

    People were nice and the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant - right near castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good with a selection of proper cheese. Desk very accommodating and lent us a towel to swim and gave helpful information about moving onto next hotel in Interlaken - free with pass for local buses. Nice smoking room downstairs so guests don't have to stand in street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    staff very helpful and friendly;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was not comfortable; worn out or too soft in the middle

    staff very helpful and friendly; renovated bathroom (but needs towel rack); location close to restaurants, shops, bus stop

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    Great wifi, just worked.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything smelled a bit old. Clean though, comfortable, so still a good value.

    Great wifi, just worked. No passwords, no landing pages, haven't seen something as practical in any hotel for some time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay, nice view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fixtures and fittings were in desperate need of modernisation. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which we missed.

    The location was great on the edge of the old town, a short hop over the road to the Rossli which was a great bar. There was a fridge. The bed was comfy. We had a nice view of the castle.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, friendly and helpful. Older facility but excellent condition with very good modern upgrades like fast wifi. Centrally located so perfect for walking everywhere in town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    2.9
    Very bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value for money is very bad. The room looked like a very cheap and poor hostel. There were holes in the walls and in the shower, the mirror in the bathroom (and the only one in the room) was just placed behind the sink without hanging it up and our bed tables were two simple chairs placed next to the bed. I actually feel sorry for the tourists going there and for the image the hotel gives to them about our beautiful Swiss country.

    At least the employee during our check-out was very friendly and tried her best to save the situation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Views around the hotel is nice
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in heart of town center

    All necessity at arms length

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    The wifi connectivity was not that great, keeps breaking in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connectivity was not that great, keeps breaking in between...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    Just as well it was one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For what we paid, not the value

    Just a bed for a night only...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Location , staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location , staff very friendly and helpful. Shops n transports by walking distance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Very clean and friendly stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and friendly stuff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.0
    Room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    3.3
    too expensive for what you have
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price was too expensive for the room i got.

    Is really next to the center

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    8.3
    Cleanliness of the facility and the rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleanliness of the facility and the rooms. Comfort level of the room was above expectations. Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was very good.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.7
    Great location and view of Thun Castle from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I had reserved a room with two separate single beds, but we ended up with joined beds instead. I was given a choice to stay in another room with separate single beds, but it was much smaller and without a view, so we went for the joined beds in the larger room instead.

    Great location and view of Thun Castle from the room. The breakfast is diverse and hearty--perfect to preempt long hikes like the one we did to the nearby Stockhorn.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.7
    Friendly staff, good location and a car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of a/c. It was over 30 degrees and so we needed the window open on the night of Thun Fest with rave music thumping until 2;30am. The thump of the rave music was very very loud and when you are tired in that heat .... at a price that was twice as much as a bog standard but equivalent style premier inn in the UK

    Friendly staff, good location and a car park

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    6.7
    Hotel is convenient for the centre and easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was 38 deg outside but alas also inside. No airco but a fan could have been provided for the price, this is not a cheap hotel.

    Hotel is convenient for the centre and easy to find. Renovation has improved rooms.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    6.7
    Room ok, breakfast ok, price ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The heating does not work properly. Room too cold. No thermostat too adjust. Fortunately extra blankets in cupboard. Receptionist said hotel needs renovation. Would be quicker to turn up the heating...

    Room ok, breakfast ok, price ok

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    6.7
    Next to the Castle and the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Next to the Castle and the city center.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.1
    Location of the Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited facilities in the room

    Location of the Hotel

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Electrics installation in room does not look professional.

    Friendly staff very clean bathroom parking in cellar

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    6.7
    Super location near to centre and lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Been here 6 times already so no surprises.

    Super location near to centre and lake. Renovation of the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    8.3
    Spacious room and near to the city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Insufficient staff

    Spacious room and near to the city centre

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    10
    It was great, professional owner and stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    It was great, professional owner and stuff.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: