Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Amaris 4 stars

Tannwaldstrasse 34, 4600 Olten, Switzerland

#2 of 10 hotels in Olten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 990 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving into an unfamiliar location, the gentleman on the front desk on the evening of 12th June was very helpful and kind. Great example of exemplary service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant wasn't open on the weekend; however (!) we found a good Italian restaurant just a few meters away. Win-win!

    The scrambled eggs were light and fluffy (not dried out, or undercooked), and I appreciated that I could slice my own bread from a nice selection.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like other than gloomy bathroom lighting and the less than supportive pillows Swiss hotels like to offer!

    Great for a one-nighter. Convenient location. Spotlessly clean. Friendly staff. Breakfast included too which is nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not warned there was not gonna be anyone at the reception on Christmas Day. We stayed stranded outside until we figured out we had to call a Swiss security number to get a key access. No staff present in the whole hotel. Same thing at checkout, none around, we basically saw none from the hotel for the whole stay. Honestly hard to wrap my head around the fact they can leave a 4 stars hotel completely empty and guests are on their own, what if there's an emergency? what if someone needs a toothbrush? Honestly puzzled.

    As usual the place was clean, the bedroom was spacious and well equipped.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely kind and professional. We really liked the receptionist. Give him a raise! The parking lots were also extremely easy to reach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was rather cramped and small - I have been in better rooms in this hotel, depends what room you get

    Good location next to train station, good breakfast, clean and modern

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very close to Olten station which is perfect when you're carrying lots of suitcases! Although the hotel overlooks the station (including from my room), I was not disturbed by the trains. Breakfast was good and all the staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in the room was slightly on the small side- but it was offset by the wonderfully deep Jacuzzi bath.

    I am a repeat customer to the Hotel Amaris in Olten, Switzerland. There is a reason I stay here- the location, the staff and the reliable product provided. Simply wonderful and excellent value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the first time in almost 3 years the service was less than excellent. This time we were given a one person bedroom for two people (maybe because the hotel was busy). When asked the staff denied (despite the evidence: soaps, towels etc. all x1) and also a single blanket, which unfortunately means one of us had to sleep basically without anything.

    As usual the place is clean and comfy, despite the drawback (below) the management on the check out date was very understanding and refunded us the cost of the parking as an apology. Usually it's a great place to stay, will try again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    It's right opposite the train station which makes it a bit noisy but when you close the windows it's ok.

    Excellent breakfast, very clean & big room, very good location-very close to city centre, very friendly staff always there to help you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid rooms facing the railway if you're a light sleeper. I didn't sleep much at all this time.

    Fourth visit, it's a superb hotel with perfect rooms and great breakfast. Beds are comfy, TV has tons of channels, and there's air con.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I am not sure how the hotels are rated in CH, as this was not at all a four star hotel not even close to it by any means. The modern standard room was pretty basic. The breakfast was boring since the menu remained somewhat same each day. The beds and pillows were not comfortable at all. Our room which was in the old building had a portable air conditioner which was too noisy especially during the night.

    The staff at Hotel Amaris were exceptional. They always had a smile on their face and was eager to the help whenever required. Ideally located next to the main train station of Olten. Close to the old town and the two centuries old wooden bridge. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Daily room service was available. TV had a smart box which means we were able to watch youtube. Rooms are very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little noise from train station and very quit village of Olten. But within 30 minutes you are in Bern, Basel or Zurich.

    Good service, nice staff, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to breakfast at 9.20am, did not book breakfast in advance what was good because most of the bread (rolls) were gone and mainly everything was already taken. It's not worth to spend 15 Swiss Francs for get nothing .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is opposite the trainstation. While the windows are designed to reduce the noise as much as possible (and they do that), opening the windows means simply noise and therefore needs to be kept to a minimum. I chose the location consciously - so for me that was ok, but it's good to be aware of.

    Excellent rooms, tastefully furnished, good breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff. Everything worked perfectly even the Wifi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains in the bathroom and the glass door made it difficult to have a completely dark room. Could be a problem for sensitive people: the good location makes it too close to the train tracks, so it may be loud.

    Bed was comfy, modern bathroom, nice breakfast, robes and slippers, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very good sound proofing of windows. Our room was on the rear but we could still hear trains at night. Probably worse on the side facing the train tracks.

    Very near the train station (we needed to take a train the following day) Private parking spaces Walking distance to several nice restaurants accross the river

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facing railway is still slightly noisy, ask for a rear room if it's of concern.

    Right outside Olten station, beautifully renovated room (newer rooms are shown when you book), air con, good soundproofing, many UK channels on TV, nice bathroom, decent breakfast including bacon & omelette on request.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for a room that was sooooo small!!! No sleepers in a 4 star hotel???? We needed to ask at the reception! Bathroom also very very small. I was claustrophobic at one point!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good and the hotel is next to the train station (literary) but compensate with beautiful mountain views! Most happy we were upgraded to a bigger room and the wifi is good!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view.

    Big room and bathroom. Electric curtain. Choose the Modern Business Room which is quiet at night but quite noisy in daytime cause it's facing a car park and there were some construction works going on. Coffee maker provided. Free bottled water. Bathrobe but no slippery.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one thing that let the hotel down was a very warm room, and a portable air con unit that was very noisy, sorry to complain. I would use the hotel again, but in the winter.

    The staff, breakfast, and facilities were great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the rooms had fans. The little wall mounted A/C unit couldn't keep the room cool. We opened the windows, which worked fairly well. A fan would've been perfect.

    The location worked well for attending a conference, getting to the train, and walking over to restaurants. The breakfast was reasonably priced, too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly personnel, room very well equipped with everything you want or need: AC, spacious nice shower, TV, balcony, free WiFi, phone with free calls within Switzerland.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    uncomfortable bed and pillows; tobacco smelling room, poorly soundproofed; average (but expensive) breakfast; probably a nice hotel 20 yrs ago

    spacious room; good wi-fi

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning was very noisy (I think it was broken) and not cooling the room down properly. The telephone was also not working and therefore it made impossible any communication with reception. In fact, I could not benefit from the wakeup call. Also it could have been an health and safety issue, should I have needed to call them for an emergency. We had the junior suite, which was great until we realised that it had no minibar. We were given some complimentary water, but only on the first day.

    Excellent location close to the staton and to the University I was attending.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is closed after 11pm and they are not even available by phone. Unfortunately, our key (electronic card) did not work when coming back to the hotel about midnight. They have an emergency number, which we called, from a security company. At the second attempt we could explain the problem (in English), and they suggested us to wait. After 45 min, we called again and they only replied in German, no English, French, Italian or Spanish. We even tried with our poor German, but the interlocutor did not wanted to slow down his speech. About 30 min after the second call, someone (this time English speaker) passed by and open the door for us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shampoo and conditioner were not in the room.

    The location was perfect because my son and I were traveling by train and we could walk to the hotel directly. The room was spacious, air conditioned and quiet with the windows closed. We enjoyed being able to see the trains coming and going but with the sound proofing we slept perfectly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls too thin, one could hear neighbors and train AC kept making strong and strange noises repeatedly, couldn't sleep properly

    Location: extremely close to train station and central

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    even though it was a cool night for july, the room was unbearably hot. the portable AC unit was very noisy and ineffective so i opened the windows but then the noise of the freight trains for half the night kept me awake. after driving a 1000km from england that day, i wasn't happy but it was too late to do anything as reception closed at midnight.

    the staff were friendly, the kid twin room was much bigger than ours.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It got hot during the day and required us to open the windows and thus got noisy(being close to the station)

    Excellent location. Super close to the station - ideal for visiting Lucerne, bern and Interlaken. Visited a food festival in olten as well which was close as well. We used the umbrellas they had for us. Good wifi and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manuela at the front desk was awesome as she took care of our problem with booking.com. We got the suite. Staff were courteous and always had a smile on their face. Room was comfortable and clean. Location is close to train station and Lucerne and Zurich are both 30 mins by train. Easy for us to do sightseeing without spending money in the expensive hotels in Lucerne.We enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's nearly the station and the breakfast is so good. The room is clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the lady at the reception wasnt di lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, friendly helpful staff , very comfortable, great breakfast , superb location. - will be back😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean and good service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was amazing. There was a nice assortment and variety foods and everything was fresh and great quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was pretty noisy

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Great rooms, wonderful breakfast, friendly staff...all simply good and so close of the train station!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV channel froze from time to time

    Very well

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the Train Station right behind.

    Very good international breakfast. Very good Restaurants in Walking distance around. Comfortable bed. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing, amazing staff. Helpful, kind, smiling, honest, generous and with unlimited energy. If only all hotel staff was like this.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    to far from lozern

    the owner and staff were very welcome , helpful and try to reach your comfortable requests .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no (promiced from booking.com )"genius" wellcoming drink. no electric kettle

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of my colleagues complained that there was no air con in their rooms, although I had it in my room. Worth confirming with the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room, clean comfortable and big. Very friendly personnel. The check in / out times are perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great room, very comfortable bed, great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Group
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shocking noise coming from air conditioning unit, even when turned off. Changed room and same problem!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No secured parking Rooms in front have noise of the station

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, can have more parking spaces though

    Very spacious room, comfy beds, extra helpful staff, really felt like true 4* hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel however it would be good that they improve soundproofing for bedroom in front of railway station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room were hotter than expected without any AC.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is the best

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choice of breakfast...

    Very friendly staff..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly service!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Friendly Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    very helpful staff, very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff on reception where very helpful and friendly, also bar staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybde a little train noise at night .....freights.

    Location superb for train travellers. The most friendly staff. Great breakfast and a new room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impeccable as usual. Been staying many times before and will continue staying here every time we're in Olten. Easily the best hotel in the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at breakfast weren't very attentive

    Beautiful rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great, many options, all good!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good, one of the best hotels I have had.

    Good location. Friendly and helpful stuff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like bath very much, but we had shower only

    Comfortable, scilent, relaxing, nice breakfast atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very efficient and friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not Early check in

    The staff is so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is really nice, you can take away coffee!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ask the rooms at the opposite side of the rail ways.

    Available parking places. Amazing breakfast. At 2 steps from the train station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Value only gets a negative due to fall in exchange rate following Brexit

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and efficient welcome, above-average breakfast. My room, facing the car park, was quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise of trains (10 meters away from window)

    Location Proximaty

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noise from train station, flies coming from the outside, elevator

    staff, breakfast, location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real room service (food) menu

    Staff were so helpful and happy!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Amaris traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: