Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ambassador 4 stars

Saflischstr. 3, 3900 Brig, Switzerland

#3 of 16 hotels in Brig

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 452 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic view and great room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a further walk from the train station than indicated and the end of walk was an uphil walk. This was really the only negative so take the bus (6 or 8) from the train station(free with Eurail .

    Great room with balcony and view of Lake Lucern. Breakfast was fantastic, they made eggs for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    See above!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of thing...

    What an absolutely charming find! We had no idea what this hotel would be like, other than a little online info, and knew nothing of Brig itself. BOTH exceeded our expectations. The Hotel Ambassador was just lovely, with a good sized, clean room, with a great view. Our evening dinner at the Hotel was delicious. Brig itself appears a beautiful little town, with a great shopping district and many opportunities for refreshments of all sorts. The views from anywhere are simply stunning! We want to come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Excellent as usual
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We keep coming back here because it is such a relaxing place. The restaurant is excellent. We ate there every night. The staff are welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stop over in Brig
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably other rooms have a better view than ours had (parking view). The accommodation was a bit expensive.

    Pleasant atmosphere and very helpful staff. Ambassador Hotel is a good place to stop over. The room was quiet and comfy. Excellent reception and good communication with the staff. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    A coupke of nights experiencing Glacier express.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom could have been a bit bigger (I'm 6'2" with long limbs!!).

    a very nice compact hotel providing all you would expect from a 4* property. 5 mins walk from te train station and also town centre. Great breakfast. Staff really nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    A very enjoyable week in a good location for touring in Oberwallis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One small point of criticism was the layout of our junior suite. Not very practical to place the couch in a position where it is impossible to watch the television.

    Friendly atmosphere, good facilities and restaurant. A bonus was that we could receive British television channels, not only the usual BBC World, which is mainly pitched at Asian viewers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    well situated for skiing in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant quite pricey, ok for food, but not for water (mineral water CHF 12 per bottle)

    well situated for skiing in the area. Very good restaurant. Comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Great Hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the whole stay was brilliant. Staff could not have been more helpful. Nothing was any trouble for them, service was quick and efficient. Hotel itself has a very good relaxed feel and is well decorated. The room was extremely comfortable and clean, with a super confort bed. It's as well located in a great position, not far from the station and easy to be reached. In the morning I enjoyed a delicious breakfast with a wide international buffet to suit all the tastes. Definitely a place where I'll go again..!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Exquisite cuisine for dinner, breakfast was great, polite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To me the mattress and the pillow were a bit too soft but I have lower back issues so I guess it's just me. My companion liked them.

    Exquisite cuisine for dinner, breakfast was great, polite and friendly staff, close to the railway station, awesome scenery around the place. Would definitely stay there if I happen to be in Brig again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Loved our stay highly recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really enjoyed our stay if we had time would've stayed an extra night. Room a good size Breakfast really good and restaurant a very high standard Staff excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little warm one night & the Dyson blower couldn't cool the room enough.

    Staff was super-friendly and helpful. Room was huge so there was plenty of space for the 4 of us. The beds were comfortable. Cute hotel. Close to the train station & restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    The best hotel of our holiday with excellent service, facilities, food and welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hairdryer button needs to be pressed in constantly when in use, but not a major issue

    Staff helpfulness and expertise, great food, very comfortable bed, quality of fixtures and fittings in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Would recommend this hotel to any holiday makers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little warm but the weather was extremely hot.

    Would recommend this hotel to any holiday makers. The meal in the restaurant was the best of our 4 weeks in Europe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Brig is a lovely little town to visit with the Hotel Ambassador a great place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant prices are high, and wine! A good time to turn vegetarian and wowser!!

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with transfer to the railway station. A short walk to the main shopping and eating area but a lovely little town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    The hotel staff were absolutely lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff were absolutely lovely. They were very accommodating, friendly and informative of all the area and it's events. Their restaurant was superb. The food was of excellent quality, deliciously well presented and the wait staff were remarkable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Excellant Quiet Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel was close to the railway station and was in a quiet area. Check in was easy and the staff friendly. There was a complimentary coffee maker in the room and a universal plug adaptor fitted to one of the sockets, enabling you to charge items without the need for your own european adaptor. There was a reasonable selection of items for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Well located hotel with extremely friendly helpful staff. The excellent restaurant is a bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the minute I arrived to the minute I left everything that could be done to make my stay a happy one was done. All the staff were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The scrupulously clean room was compact but so cleverly designed it felt very spacious. Excellent bathroom and good shower. Brilliantly comfortable bed and I slept really well. The restaurant was great and the food delicious, this also applied to the breakfast with a really large choice. The hotel is well located and only 10 mins(or less if you are a brisk walker) to the train station. I could not have enjoyed my stay more and can highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel that deserves top ratings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing. We had a very enjoyable stay.

    Very close to railway station - 5 minute walk - but in a quiet side street. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast provided a wide variety of food of excellent quality. Room was large, very comfortable and very clean, obviously recently refurbished.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Near station with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unsure how to make a cup of tea. I could have asked but didn't so can't complain

    Comfortable bed, quiet room with beautiful view. Breakfast was excellent with a big choice and good quality. Close to station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.9
    A wonderfuf and cost effective find in Brig.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice to have a double-bed, but cramming it into a cozy single room was not the best idea. Sidling around became old really fast.

    Just a short walk from the train station which is a key feature if planning travel to Zermatt and other side trips. The staff was exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    The owners Stephan and Grazia are always excellent hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is nothing not to like, that's why I go back every year

    Staff are excellent, always attentive, and make your stay an experience . They all work as a 1st class team. Chefs are brilliant. Food magnificent. Awarded Gault & Millau for highest standards.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    The highlight of my 4 day Swiss train journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a top end restaurant with prices to match.

    This is a very special hotel, within easy walking distance of the station. Lots of period railway memorabilia and 20's decor to match. Fabulous and very popular restaurant. Recommend booking in advance as they were only just able to fit me in. In the same family now for 3 generations, current owner very dedicated, and takes time to make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    All round Swiss efficiency
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even in September, our room was hot with windows shut and noisy with them open - and a bath would have been nice although compact ensuite perfectly serviceable.

    Well-placed hotel with parking. Efficient and multi-lingual staff, and a nice room. We thought the restaurant expensive but other eating places are close at hand. Top marks, though, for the provision of gluten-free breakfast rolls for our coeliac sufferer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    Very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning, and it was 30 degrees + when we were there. Quite noisy when the windows were open, though in fairness the roadworks which began very early were not the fault of the hotel. The bed was quite 'bouncy', which meant you could feel every move by your other half!

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Good central location for exploring the upper Rhone valley, and within walking distance of the railway station if required. Nice room and bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.3
    Expensive for the facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room did not have air-con or a fan. The street noise was too loud to leave the window open, so it was very warm and stuffy during the night.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The hotel is very close to the train station, restaurants and cafes. The staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    Ideal for a stopover or longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good as it gets. First choice for another visit.

    Small, smart Hotel with character. Clean,bright & comfortably furnished. Outside dining in enclosed garden. Quiet side street a short walk to railway station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    We dine at the restaurant, and we had an extremely tasty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We dine at the restaurant, and we had an extremely tasty house special spinach soup, the lamb, paella and the roast beef, what a wonderful evening, love it very much and our beds were comffy, would come here again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the pillows were a bit lumpy but really that's only a matter of personal taste I guess.

    It's location was perfect. Close to train which meant day trips were easy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.6
    Great place in an idyllic small town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a family run business with a warm, cozy, friendly feeling. Location was good, 5 mins from train station, yet quiet. Food in the hotel restaurant was very good but pricey, to be expected for Switzerland. We spent a night there before taking the Glacier Express the next morning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    good food,great view of the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    good food,great view of the balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Ive stayed there previously. I will come back agaain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good

    Quality establishment. Great breakfast. Close to station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.5
    Excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    Relaxing.
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could not boil a hard egg NO BATH

    central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    A perfect place to stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A perfect place to stop over. Quiet comfy room. Excellent reception. Short walk to everything in town and to the station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff and the restaurant is fantastic !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff and the restaurant is fantastic !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic little Swiss gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t notice any A/C. I could be mistaken as I didn’t need it.

    Super-clean room! Friendly/ helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    one morning before leaving to realize an...
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    one morning before leaving to realize an aletsch-glaciar-tour, they served a very early breakfast - thanks!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice receptionist and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice receptionist and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    STELLAR!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! What's not to like!! Everything was perfect! Close to train & old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Good location & staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given the hot weather, I wish there was a table fan in the room.

    Good location & staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Nice room, receptionist very helpfull and friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room, receptionist very helpfull and friendly .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Good family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small bath.

    Large comfortable spacious room. Convenient for town. Excellent restaurant. Friendly staff. Convenient on site parking,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Brig
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable room, great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Top Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.2
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.6
    Great stay at Hotel Ambassador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast, intimate feeling hotel. Did not try the dinner but it looked like a very popular restaurant. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous Hotel. Excellent food

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming. Lovely venue and location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    If you're staying in Brig, the Ambassador is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and linen were excellent. Position relative to the train station was very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    a home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nicely kept hotel - close but not too close to the train station. great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice and clean, reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean, reasonable price

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People in room could be heard moving things and walking

    Friendly staff, nice breakfast, comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    everything = they even let me have an early breakfast to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nil

    everything = they even let me have an early breakfast to catch an early train

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.1
    Great location, small toilet, typical city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit noisy from traffic around

    Great location, small toilet, typical city hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.3
    Convenient stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs in entry

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Perfect room, good service,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Perfect room, good service, easy access

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    10
    Excellent staff, thoughtful and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, thoughtful and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    The food was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was fantastic. Great room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    10
    The staff were so friendly, the room was large and had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were so friendly, the room was large and had a great view of the mountains, the breakfast was great, we had a great dinner in the restaurant the staff again were so friendly. it was a pleasure to stay at this Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    10
    Great location, close to the train station;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom was a little small but it was fine.

    Great location, close to the train station; large, modern room (except the bathroom maybe); a safe, free coffee, lots of English channels available, international output adapter in the room, comfortable bed. Nice breakfast too.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.6
    Very comfortable bedroom with nice touches like a coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast bacon and scrambled egg could be warmer although the plates were warmed !!..running out of croissant on my second morning.

    Very comfortable bedroom with nice touches like a coffee machine, bottled water and an adaptor in one of the electric sockets.A tag on the room number that unlocked the hotel front door, the bedroom and the room safe. Brilliant staff not least Phillip and Tobias with great service and personality,looking forward to staying again later this year.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    A nice and quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A nice and quiet hotel. Clean up-do-date single rooms. Kind and polite staf, great dining restaurant with classic France courses like duck 'organge.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly greeting and staff, extremely clean room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a small single room and the bathroom was very small, but it fit my needs.

    Very friendly greeting and staff, extremely clean room, enjoyed the great coffee machine at breakfast! Charming hotel!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    10
    The bed was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing could've been better. Great place to stay

    The bed was awesome The view was awesome The staff was awesome The pillows were awesome The breakfast was awesome

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff, very easygoing, very nice room, generous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is a bit pricey but for Switzerland I guess it's ok. It would be nice to add a sauna to warm up after a day in the mountains.

    Friendly staff, very easygoing, very nice room, generous breakfast, very good location.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    8.8
    Location is perfect on a quiet street just a couple minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing in particular. The breakfast could have been better and included some made-to-order eggs or an omelette, which you usually can get at most 4*s in Switzerland, instead of the pre-prepared scrambled eggs. It was comfortable, but I wouldn't call it luxurious as some 4*s in Switzerland can be.

    Location is perfect on a quiet street just a couple minutes from the train station and old town. Room seemed newly renovated and was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    8.8
    Good location, easy walk from station, comfy bed with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very limited products in the bathroom, decor only ok for a 4 star hotel, no 'extra' facilities or lounge

    Good location, easy walk from station, comfy bed with good tv, staff helpful. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    10
    Hotel Ambassador is an absolute gem.
    • Family with older children

    Hotel Ambassador is an absolute gem. From the minute we walked in the door we knew we'd love it here. It is very close to the train station, just a short walk. The friendly staff speak very good English and can't do enough for you. They upgraded us from a standard room to a deluxe room which was more like a mini suite with a separate lounge and desk area. The room was very large and clean and had everything you could possibly want, including Pod coffee maker and all the little extras like toothbrushes and shavers. The heating was great and can be turned down easily if you don't like the room so warm. The bed was so comfortable, we had the best night's sleep. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and tho it was expensive (this is Switzerland) the serves were very generous and service was faultless. Breakfast was included in our rate and they had a huge range of fruit, cereal, yoghurt, bread, bacon and eggs, and coffee and tea. I so wished I was staying here longer, one night just wasn't enough!

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    6.7
    The closeness to the railway station and the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lack of contact with the Internet at a hotel which used to provide the service. I do not expect to have to carry a computer around.

    The closeness to the railway station and the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    Good location - convenient (with parking) and within easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing comes to mind

    Good location - convenient (with parking) and within easy reach of the town centre. Dog friendly (allowed in the breakfast dining room). Quiet, clean and very comfortable rooms. Hotel staff were wonderful and especially so in returning an item we left in our room (and posting it so promptly) Good breakfast. Good wifi

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    8.8
    The restaurant is excellent, both food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you want a room with a mountain view you will be disappointed. This hotel is little bit of traditional urban paris surrounded by other buildings.

    The restaurant is excellent, both food and service. The reception staff arranged for extra assistance for my disabled wife to and from the station.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.1
    - Close to the railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Never managed to access the free wifi - no air cond and had therefore to open windows while while working at the desk later at night, which made arrive 'hordes' of midges and mosquitos. After closing the windos, it took me more than half an hour to kill them all - Waiter at the bar-restaurant very unfriendly and not arranging. Did not allow to sit outside on their terrasse just for a drink, but inside in the bar it was very hot and humid; thus had to go to another restaurant in town

    - Close to the railway station - quiet location - Staff at reception very customer minded and knowledgable

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    6.3
    Location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No A/c and room was quite hot! Breakfast choice was quite limited. Suitable for business than leisure - no entertainment for children.

    Location and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.8
    Charming hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No aircondifioning for hot weather. (It was very hot!) Restaurant, although excellent, expensive.

    Charming hotel in good location. Excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.5
    Hotel Ambassador Brig is located within walking distance (5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We happened to visit the week summer came to Switzerland (possibly the only such week) with temps as high as 32 C. The room was hot. This hotel offers air conditioning only their junior suites. We were offered one right away, but declined because of the significant difference in price.

    Hotel Ambassador Brig is located within walking distance (5 minutes max with luggage) from the train station, near a Migros and a Coop (3 min) and again 3 min walking to the small town square. The standard room was spacious, clean (which is no news in Switzerland) and came with a charming balcony, a Nesspreso machine and refrigerator. Breakfast was excellent. The restaurant on premisses offers an impressive menu. My wife was accommodated easily with her dietary requirements (Ciliac). I tried the local specialty, the Cholera pie, which was amazing (don't be put off by its name)!!!

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ambassador traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: